Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: AustinPowers on April 25, 2024, 06:53:55 PM

Title: Have many countries have GAABoard members travelled to?
Post by: AustinPowers on April 25, 2024, 06:53:55 PM
Just for a bit of craic , I thought I'd start this.

So, I'm  interested to  find out  how many countries in  the world  GAABoard members have  been to.

Maybe between us all , we've travelled to  every country?

There are  over 200 according to Wikipedia , so I'll start  with the A's and  the B's.

Just add which of  these you've travelled to:

Afghanistan
Albania
Algeria
Andorra
Angola
Antigua and Barbuda
Argentina
Armenia
Australia
Austria
Azerbaijan

Bahamas
Bahrain
Bangladesh
Barbados
Belarus
Belgium
Belize
Benin
Bhutan
Bolivia
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Botswana
Brazil
Brunei
Bulgaria
Burkina Faso
Burundi
Title: Re: Have many countries have GAABoard members travelled to?
Post by: dec on April 25, 2024, 06:58:17 PM
I have been to East Germany, Czechoslovakia and Yugoslavia amongst others.

Won't be going back to them any time soon.
Post by: RedHand88 on April 25, 2024, 08:18:32 PM
Australia
Austria

Belgium
Post by: pbat on April 25, 2024, 08:18:55 PM
Australia
Austria
Bahrain
Post by: Blowitupref on April 25, 2024, 08:24:27 PM
Austria and Belgium
Post by: HokeyPokey on April 25, 2024, 08:46:35 PM
Canada
Croatia
Czechia
England
Estonia
France
Germany
Morocco
Netherlands
Poland
Portugal
Spain
USA

Post by: armaghniac on April 25, 2024, 09:06:21 PM
Albania
Austria
Belarus
Belgium
Post by: Puckoon on April 25, 2024, 09:08:05 PM
Title: Re: Have many [A & B] countries have GAABoard members travelled to?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 25, 2024, 10:19:48 PM
2 from the above list, boasting  ;D
Post by: Orior on April 25, 2024, 11:04:26 PM
Austria
Belgium
Post by: lurganblue on April 25, 2024, 11:06:56 PM
Yeah just Austria for me out of that list too.
Post by: Capt Pat on April 26, 2024, 12:14:40 AM
Australia
USA
UK- England Scotland and Wales
Spain
Netherlands
Italy
Hungary
Slovakia
Croatia
Serbia
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Romania
Thailand
New zealand

14 in total
Post by: Truthsayer on April 26, 2024, 01:48:23 AM
Have been to a few countries but from above A & B... zero. Never even heard of some of them!
Post by: GAABoardMod5 on April 26, 2024, 01:57:47 AM

Algeria
Australia
Post by: Never beat the deeler on April 26, 2024, 05:47:41 AM
Australia
Austria
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 26, 2024, 06:54:14 AM
Andorra
Austria
Bulgaria
Post by: Rois on April 26, 2024, 07:12:03 AM
Andorra
Australia
Austria
Post by: Taylor on April 26, 2024, 08:25:52 AM
Zero from that list.
Nil.
Nada.
 :-[
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on April 26, 2024, 08:28:51 AM
Australia
Post by: tyrone08 on April 26, 2024, 08:53:15 AM
21 countries
Post by: RedHand88 on April 26, 2024, 09:07:18 AM
Some people are really showing off!  ;D
Post by: tyrone08 on April 26, 2024, 09:16:37 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 26, 2024, 09:07:18 AMSome people are really showing off!  ;D

Lol well the question was asked. Just to clarify thats out of all the countries not just the A &B lol
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on April 26, 2024, 09:23:14 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 26, 2024, 09:07:18 AMSome people are really showing off!  ;D

Some people can't understand simple instructions.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 26, 2024, 09:25:34 AM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on April 26, 2024, 09:23:14 AM

There are  over 200 according to Wikipedia , so I'll start  with the A's and  the B's.

Just add which of  these you've travelled to:

As a reminder

But there might be one or two missing from that list
Post by: lfdown2 on April 26, 2024, 09:28:02 AM

Andorra
Australia
Austria

Brunei - Not sure I can claim this as a 'visit' but I flew home from Australia for the AIF in 2010 and back via Brunei, spent 12 hours in Brunei airport, which would make Belfast International look like Times Square, a dry country too so no pints, that was a depressing layover!
Post by: tyrone08 on April 26, 2024, 09:33:55 AM

Yes i understood the original instruction. Sincere apologies for cutting to the chase. It would be far quicker just saying how many countries people have visited rather than having a 100 page thread to get to the answer
Post by: Keyser soze on April 26, 2024, 09:54:14 AM
200 Countries, Wikipedia is full of shit.
Post by: J70 on April 26, 2024, 10:12:29 AM
None of the listed AB countries for me.

I've been to Aruba though.
Post by: armaghniac on April 26, 2024, 10:14:35 AM
Quote from: J70 on April 26, 2024, 10:12:29 AMNone of the listed AB countries for me.

Aruba, Jamaica, ooh, I wanna take ya
Post by: lurganblue on April 26, 2024, 10:16:42 AM
Quote from: lfdown2 on April 26, 2024, 09:28:02 AMAndorra
Australia
Austria

Brunei - Not sure I can claim this as a 'visit' but I flew home from Australia for the AIF in 2010 and back via Brunei, spent 12 hours in Brunei airport, which would make Belfast International look like Times Square, a dry country too so no pints, that was a depressing layover!

Definitely counts. Stick a pin in that one
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 26, 2024, 10:19:10 AM
Quote from: J70 on April 26, 2024, 10:12:29 AMNone of the listed AB countries for me.

Yeah thats one, only recently knew it as a friend (soon to be ex friend at this rate) is clogging up a whatsapp group with pics of the place currently!
Post by: Tatler Jack on April 26, 2024, 11:03:14 AM
Of the AB countries:

Albania
Armenia
Australia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Belarus
Belgium
Bolivia
Botswana
Brazil
Bulgaria
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 26, 2024, 11:09:52 AM
Lads that would follow the national football teams would hit some of the obscure venues Id say
Post by: AustinPowers on April 26, 2024, 11:36:25 AM
Update - Countries in bold  have been travelled to

Afghanistan
Albania
Algeria
Andorra
Angola
Antigua and Barbuda
Argentina
Armenia
Australia
Austria

Azerbaijan

Bahamas
Bahrain
Bangladesh
Barbados
Belarus
Belgium
Belize
Benin
Bhutan
Bolivia
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Botswana
Brazil

Brunei
Bulgaria
Burkina Faso
Burundi

PS - If you want to add  other countries , as well as A and B, you can do so, and I'll fill it all in later

Save you having to  go back later.
Post by: Aristo 60 on April 26, 2024, 11:40:36 AM
Andorra
Barbados (island hop only)
Brazil

The further East I've been is Malta and happy enough with that tbh.

But I'll be in Clones on Sunday. Yes Sur!

Post by: AustinPowers on April 26, 2024, 11:41:58 AM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on April 26, 2024, 11:40:36 AMAndorra
Barbados (island hop only)
Brazil

The further East I've been is Malta and happy enough with that tbh.

But I'll be in Clones on Sunday. Yes Sur!

Aye, as long as  you set foot in the country, that will do!
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on April 26, 2024, 12:10:58 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on April 26, 2024, 09:33:55 AM

Yes i understood the original instruction. Sincere apologies for cutting to the chase. It would be far quicker just saying how many countries people have visited rather than having a 100 page thread to get to the answer

That was in jest btw...and yes I'd agree on just having one list.
Post by: AustinPowers on April 26, 2024, 12:27:24 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on April 26, 2024, 09:33:55 AM

Yes I think you're  probably right.

I had thought doing  it by continent but  it's all over place (although I'm  thinking  along the lines of international football qualifying ). I mean , did you  know Cyprus is technically in Asia?  No, me neither 
Post by: andoireabu on April 26, 2024, 12:51:41 PM
America
Iceland
England, Scotland and Wales
Portugal
Spain
France
Germany
Italy
Holland
Croatia
Greece
Turkey
Malta
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 26, 2024, 01:08:16 PM
Does sitting on a train, travelling through a country but not setting foot on it, count?
Or transitting through an airport?

I'll leave out flying over its airspace!!

Post by: Blowitupref on April 26, 2024, 01:26:04 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on April 26, 2024, 11:36:25 AMPS - If you want to add  other countries , as well as A and B, you can do so, and I'll fill it all in later

Save you having to  go back later.

My full list and traveled to every county on this Island of Ireland.

Austria
Belgium
Canada
Croatia
Cyprus
Czech republic
Denmark
Egypt
Finland
France
Germany
Greece
Hungary
Italy
Luxembourg
Malta
Monaco
Morocco
Netherlands
Norway
Poland
Portugal
Romania
Slovakia
Spain
Sweden
Switzerland
Turkey
United Kingdom (England,Scotland and Wales)
United States
Vatican City
Post by: AustinPowers on April 26, 2024, 01:33:04 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 26, 2024, 01:08:16 PMDoes sitting on a train, travelling through a country but not setting foot on it, count?

Aye, technically you had both feet  in the country.  As well as the rest of ye  ;D

Airspace, nah.
Post by: maddog on April 26, 2024, 01:49:08 PM
Of the A-Bs Austria and Belgium
Post by: armaghniac on April 26, 2024, 02:43:20 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on April 26, 2024, 01:33:04 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 26, 2024, 01:08:16 PMDoes sitting on a train, travelling through a country but not setting foot on it, count?

Aye, technically you had both feet  in the country.  As well as the rest of ye  ;D

Airspace, nah.

How about if the plane lands, but you do not get out?
Post by: Keyser soze on April 26, 2024, 02:47:25 PM

Not a country.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 26, 2024, 02:54:39 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on April 26, 2024, 02:47:25 PM

Not a country.

Its always a grey area

In January 1986, Aruba seceded from the Netherlands Antilles, becoming a constituent country of the Kingdom in its own right. In October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles was dissolved and Curaçao and Sint Maarten became the newest constituent countries of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

Post by: AustinPowers on April 26, 2024, 03:57:36 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 26, 2024, 02:43:20 PM

Airspace, nah.

Well, the tyres of the plane  would have earthed  you to the ground , so we'll count  it

I did that once  on the Isle of Man.  Never actually  stood on the island , but I'm claiming I've  been there
Post by: armaghniac on April 26, 2024, 04:36:12 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on April 26, 2024, 03:57:36 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 26, 2024, 02:43:20 PM

Airspace, nah.

Well, the tyres of the plane  would have earthed  you to the ground , so we'll count  it

Grand, that's another half dozen.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 26, 2024, 07:35:43 PM
GB - England, Scotland and Wales
Russia
Spain
France
USA
Canada
Post by: PMG1 on April 26, 2024, 10:57:13 PM
Australia
Austria
Bahamas
Barbados
Belgium
Bulgaria
Post by: PMG1 on April 26, 2024, 10:59:34 PM
Australia
Austria
Bahamas
Bahrain
Barbados
Belgium
Bulgaria
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 26, 2024, 11:00:34 PM
A lot of people have been to Oz. On paper it's a place I'd like to have visited but the getting there is very off putting for someone who hates flying. How many 1 hr flights would it take?!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 26, 2024, 11:18:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 26, 2024, 11:00:34 PMA lot of people have been to Oz. On paper it's a place I'd like to have visited but the getting there is very off putting for someone who hates flying. How many 1 hr flights would it take?!

Break it up with stays in Dubai
Post by: armaghniac on April 26, 2024, 11:21:35 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 26, 2024, 11:00:34 PMA lot of people have been to Oz. On paper it's a place I'd like to have visited but the getting there is very off putting for someone who hates flying. How many 1 hr flights would it take?!

Go business class.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 26, 2024, 11:23:47 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 26, 2024, 11:21:35 PM

Go business class.
It's a fear thing rather than legroom although much better than I was. Have taken Diazepam in the past.
Post by: RedHand88 on April 27, 2024, 11:54:19 AM

Depending on route its 25-30 hours all in to the east coast. Look, its not nice, and it takes a few days at least to adjust to the complete reversal of night and day, but you get there in the end.
Airlines are very good and look after you as much as they can with the adjustment by making it look like night time in the cabin when it should be night time etc. But it's strange seeing the sun rise then sink 3 or 4 hours later.
Post by: grounded on April 27, 2024, 01:57:45 PM

There you go!

https://madventure.co.uk/london-to-sydney-overlandtour/
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 27, 2024, 05:40:15 PM
Quote from: grounded on April 27, 2024, 01:57:45 PMThere you go!

A lot of people have been to Oz. On paper it's a place I'd like to have visited but the getting there is very off putting for someone who hates flying. How many 1 hr flights would it take?!

There you go!

[/quote]That's just the job but there doesnt appear to be a return leg. And I don't think I have enough annual leave to cover it.
Post by: Rois on April 28, 2024, 07:25:29 AM
Flew to Oz once, delayed honeymoon. Pilot announced "this is an emergency descent" when we were over the Indian
Ocean. We were fine, but for a few mins I thought it would end up differently.
Post by: marty34 on April 28, 2024, 07:38:03 AM
Imagine going to Oz on a boat all them years ago   :o
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 28, 2024, 09:07:51 AM
Quote from: Rois on April 28, 2024, 07:25:29 AMFlew to Oz once, delayed honeymoon. Pilot announced "this is an emergency descent" when we were over the Indian
Ocean. We were fine, but for a few mins I thought it would end up differently.
Thanks for that Rois  ;D
Post by: JoG2 on April 28, 2024, 10:03:09 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 27, 2024, 05:40:15 PM
Quote from: grounded on April 27, 2024, 01:57:45 PMThere you go!

There you go!

[/quote]That's just the job but there doesnt appear to be a return leg. And I don't think I have enough annual leave to cover it.

I met a couple in a backpackers place in Noosa, many years ago,chap a teacher from Magherafelt who'd taken a year out and travelled to Australia overland (most of the way, a flight maybe from Bali to Sydney to finish off) . Civil folk, canny mind their names
Post by: seafoid on April 28, 2024, 11:29:55 AM
Austria
Argentina

Belgium
Benin
Brazil
Bulgaria
Post by: clonian on April 28, 2024, 02:30:29 PM
Andorra
Belgium
Post by: Keyser soze on April 29, 2024, 02:00:17 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 26, 2024, 02:54:39 PM

Not a country.

Its always a grey area

In January 1986, Aruba seceded from the Netherlands Antilles, becoming a constituent country of the Kingdom in its own right. In October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles was dissolved and Curaçao and Sint Maarten became the newest constituent countries of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

There is SFA grey about it. It is not a country.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 29, 2024, 02:12:24 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on April 29, 2024, 02:00:17 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 26, 2024, 02:54:39 PM

Not a country.

Its always a grey area

There is SFA grey about it. It is not a country.

Keep your hair on lad
Post by: Minus15 on April 29, 2024, 09:59:17 PM
Bahamas
Bulgaria
Post by: Itchy on April 30, 2024, 07:40:00 PM
Have been to a few far flung places,

Korea
Namibia
Meath

Korea and Namibia were nice
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 30, 2024, 08:09:23 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 30, 2024, 07:40:00 PMHave been to a few far flung places,

Korea
Namibia
Meath

Korea and Namibia were nice
I'd like to visit the Skeleton Coast and all those massive sand dunes. I remember a lecturer talking about the diamonds lying about in the sand!
Post by: AustinPowers on April 30, 2024, 09:22:06 PM
Update - Countries in bold  have been travelled to

Afghanistan
Albania
Algeria
Andorra

Angola
Antigua and Barbuda
Argentina
Armenia
Australia
Austria
Azerbaijan

Bahamas
Bahrain

Bangladesh
Barbados
Belarus
Belgium

Belize
Benin
Bhutan
Bolivia
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Botswana
Brazil
Brunei
Bulgaria

Burkina Faso
Burundi

Keep your countries coming , be it A and B ....or C to Z.

I'll update the list  as it progresses.

We're up to  59* countries so far.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on May 01, 2024, 12:28:46 AM
If you want the whole list, I think that's my lot.

Australia
Austria
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Croatia
Czech Republic
England
Germany
Indonesia
Ireland
Japan
Malta
New Zealand
Poland
Qatar
Scotland
Slovakia
South Korea
Spain
United Arab Emirates
United States of America
Wales
Post by: dec on May 01, 2024, 12:52:02 AM
Austria
Belgium 
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 01, 2024, 04:51:05 AM
I'll go to the opposite end of the spectrum

Zambia
Zimbabwe
Post by: AustinPowers on May 04, 2024, 06:27:41 PM
65 so far.

Here's  C and D countries , or  just add any  others if you like

Countries in bold have already been mentioned:

Cabo Verde
Cambodia
Cameroon
Canada
Central African Republic
Chad
Chile
China
Colombia
Comoros
Congo, Democratic Republic of the
Congo, Republic of the
Cook Islands
Costa Rica
Croatia
Cuba
Cyprus
Czech Republic

Denmark
Djibouti
Dominica
Dominican Republic
Post by: armaghniac on May 04, 2024, 06:44:53 PM
Cambodia
Canada
China
Croatia
Cyprus
Czech Republic

Denmark
Post by: PMG1 on May 05, 2024, 12:05:04 AM
Canada
Chile
Costa Rica
Croatia
Cuba
Cyprus
Czech Republic
Denmark
Dominican Republic
Post by: red hander on May 05, 2024, 12:39:45 AM
Anybody been to Moldova? Or Serbia? Georgia? You certainly get around following Ireland.
Post by: GAABoardMod5 on May 05, 2024, 02:15:22 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on May 04, 2024, 06:27:41 PM65 so far.

Here's  C and D countries , or  just add any  others if you like

Countries in bold have already been mentioned:

Cabo Verde
Cambodia
Cameroon
Canada
Central African Republic
Chad
Chile
China
Colombia
Comoros
Congo, Republic of the
Cook Islands
Costa Rica
Croatia
Cuba
Cyprus
Czech Republic

Denmark
Djibouti
Dominica
Dominican Republic

C and D...only Canada

and Cork
Post by: pbat on May 05, 2024, 07:57:52 AM
Cambodia
Canada
Denmark
Post by: Olly on May 05, 2024, 10:52:41 PM
Rat Islands
France
Post by: AustinPowers on May 08, 2024, 11:38:18 AM
C & D Update:

Countries in bold have been visited :

Cabo Verde
Cambodia
Cameroon
Canada
Central African Republic
Chad
Chile
China

Colombia
Comoros
Congo, Republic of the
Cook Islands
Costa Rica
Croatia
Cuba
Cyprus
Czech Republic

Denmark
Djibouti
Dominica
Dominican Republic
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2024, 03:27:19 PM
Dominican Republic, many moons ago
Cyprus
Croatia
Post by: lurganblue on May 08, 2024, 03:42:23 PM
Just Canada for me in the C&Ds.  I'd defo have Croatia on my list for the future.
Post by: gerrykeegan on May 08, 2024, 04:06:27 PM
Canada and Denmark only in that section
Post by: Taylor on May 08, 2024, 04:28:19 PM
Not sure I like this game.
No C or D for me either
Post by: AustinPowers on May 08, 2024, 04:39:38 PM
Quote from: Taylor on May 08, 2024, 04:28:19 PMNot sure I like this game.
No C or D for me either

Feel free to add any others that are  not A - D
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 08, 2024, 04:47:22 PM
Conclusion to this thread is the international man of mystery is well traveled.
Post by: AustinPowers on May 17, 2024, 05:55:49 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 08, 2024, 04:47:22 PMConclusion to this thread is the international man of mystery is well traveled.

I've not been to  that many actually   ;D