GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: 5 Sams on September 27, 2009, 07:10:46 PM

Title: Liam Hayes
Post by: 5 Sams on September 27, 2009, 07:10:46 PM
Anyone else read this eejitt in the Tribune today....

He heaps praise on Jack O'Connor and the Kerry lads...he even apologises to Seamus Scanlon for what he has said about him in the past....then in the last paragraph he insults O'Connor by saying that because he was pictured in the Monday morning papers after the AIF celebrating and clenching his fist after the final whistle that "he is less gracious than he probably should be" and that "he is still not the equal of Mickey Harte".

Both men have always come across as pure gentlemen...I'd love to know the reason for this rant..

Title: Re: Liam Hayes
Post by: Jimmy14 on September 27, 2009, 07:59:20 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 27, 2009, 07:10:46 PM

He heaps praise on Jack O'Connor and the Kerry lads...he even apologises to Seamus Scanlon for what he has said about him in the past....then in the last paragraph he insults O'Connor by saying that because he was pictured in the Monday morning papers after the AIF celebrating and clenching his fist after the final whistle that "he is less gracious than he probably should be" and that "he is still not the equal of Mickey Harte".

Both men have always come across as pure gentlemen...I'd love to know the reason for this rant..
Very outspoken & critical for some reason, seen as how he never had any success as a manager himself!
Post by: comethekingdom on September 27, 2009, 08:18:27 PM
'Tis like this lads - why are ye even bothered wasting web space commenting on that pillock?
Post by: whiskeysteve on September 27, 2009, 09:27:03 PM
webspace has never been sacrosanct

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PkbB-X9654s&feature=fvst
Post by: Bogball XV on September 27, 2009, 09:38:15 PM
Quote from: Jimmy14 on September 27, 2009, 07:59:20 PM

Very outspoken & critical for some reason, seen as how he never had any success as a manager himself!
he's a journalist, a former great on the pitch and he enjoys stirring a wee bit.  People are so bloody sensitive sometimes, for what it's worth, O'Connor has never come across to be a particularly gracious man (in my humble opinion, i have had extremely limited managerial success too - mostly online).
Post by: orangeman on September 27, 2009, 09:44:50 PM
Hayes is just a shit stirrer. Trying to be better, smarter, more eloquent and qualified than Spillane - fails miserably on most counts.
Post by: INDIANA on September 27, 2009, 10:05:11 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 27, 2009, 09:38:15 PM
Quote from: Jimmy14 on September 27, 2009, 07:59:20 PM

he's a journalist, a former great on the pitch and he enjoys stirring a wee bit.  People are so bloody sensitive sometimes, for what it's worth, O'Connor has never come across to be a particularly gracious man (in my humble opinion, i have had extremely limited managerial success too - mostly online).

Hayes contradicts himself every week. Even in that article he does it twice. As a writer he has no credibility left because he can't string an article together based on sensible arguments that actually makes sense.
Post by: Bud Wiser on September 27, 2009, 10:24:22 PM
Doh!
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13871.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13871.0)

Sh&* stirrer like meself?
Post by: ONeill on September 27, 2009, 10:29:57 PM
Brolly gave him some touch in Friday's paper. Hayes seems to keep digging away at that hole.
Post by: ONeill on September 27, 2009, 10:33:47 PM
The Magic Kingdom

Kerry's dismantling of Cork has Jack O'Connor as an equal now in football terms with Mickey Harte, writes Liam Hayes

Praise for Jack O'Connor these past seven days could not be high enough. Last Sunday, by first stopping, and then clinically dismantling his All Ireland final opponents with amazing dexterity and speed, he proved beyond all doubt that his football brain was the sharpest in the land in 2009. This was not like before, when Cork have met up with Kerry in Croke Park. On this occasion Cork did not freeze. This time, a Cork football team was left in bits and pieces in an All Ireland final with almost half a game of football still to be played.

It was an astonishing piece of work brilliantly cooked up by Jack. At the end of this decade, he stands shoulder to shoulder with Mickey Harte, each with three All Irelands to their name, and the pair of them virtually inseparable for any of us attempting to judge Ireland's greatest living, breathing Gaelic football manager.

It doesn't really matter that they never got to play one another in the final game of the 2009 season! Of course, it might matter a little bit to Jack O'Connor, because he was denied the personal satisfaction of victory over Mickey Harte which, almost certainly, would have come his way had the two gone toe-to-toe last Sunday. Nevertheless, they end a long and enthralling decade as equals, and as it should be.

Last Sunday's game was, indeed, a strange one. The game itself as a contest, or as a work of sporting art, was entirely forgettable, but by the end of it, I was not only left enthralled by Jack O'Connor's excellence, I was also left applauding the four or five vastly superior individual performances within his team. And here I'm not talking about Tommy Walsh, who was once-again extraordinary in his general calmness and clinical point-scoring, or Declan O'Sullivan or Tom O'Sullivan who were both exemplary, at either end of the field. I'm actually talking about two of the characters whom, so often in the past, I have considered to be just below accepted standards for inter-county footballers.

Tommy Griffin, after such a stomach-churning beginning to the game for a full-back, gave one of the most courageous performances in true leadership which we have viewed on this great stage in almost a generation. Seamus Scanlon, however, for me, was the most inspired Kerry footballer of all on this occasion. A footballer who can give 100 per cent of his absolute ability on All Ireland final day is a rare enough breed. Scanlon is a footballer with the most basic, rudimentary skill levels, but last Sunday he must have performed at 200 per cent of his natural ability, and when Kerry needed someone to step up and stop Cork's early surge, it was Scanlon who was the first to be seen.

For so many reasons, he was my 'Man of the Match', and now is the right time for me to personally apologise to him and anyone who knows Seamus Scanlon, for being so consistently dismissive of his abilities and his role on this Kerry football team. I do so very happily. There was no score in the last 11 minutes of the game, which is one extremely strange statistic from last Sunday's final, but the real reason behind this lies in the fact that the contest had ended sometime before then.

The Cork football team did not freeze over, but their manager did appear to be incapable of doing anything about what was happening on the field, and right in front of his nose. Conor Counihan, all winter long and into the spring, will feel that the blame for this bitterly disappointing defeat lies, in the largest measure, with him. And so it does.

He watched his magnificent defence being made to look miserable, and he watched his powerful selection of footballers in the middle third of the field being entirely overpowered. Also, he watched 14 wides being kicked over the 70 minutes, most of them tame, most of them lily-livered in their execution – and one of the many, many things which will surely cross Counihan's mind in the months to come is why on earth he didn't put Michael Cussen into the middle of the field before half-time to do something about Kerry's complete authority there, and why on earth he then didn't shove Cussen into full-forward for the final 15 minutes of the game? Instead, Michael Cussen was sent onto the field in the 66th minute.

But Michael Cussen is just one of perhaps a dozen different regrets which Conor Counihan will have to labour his way through, and deal with in the best way he can, before we see him and his team again in 2010. How he deals with this self-analysis might be the making of him as an outstanding football manager. Unfortunately, however, even if Counihan comes back stronger and far smarter next year, the nature of his particular defeat is only going to be further debilitating for some of his senior footballers who should be forgiven if any of them choose to throw the towel in and forget about ever winning that one precious All Ireland medal.

Last Sunday, it was informally announced within this column, that the three or four years of domination which Cork enjoy over Kerry every quarter of a century was about to commence, if it had not already done so. Such a period of domination hinged entirely on victory, and any kind of victory at that.

This Kerry team, after five All Ireland titles in a busy, and truculent decade, is indeed pretty much over and out. Seven of the nine players who lined out last Sunday in defence and midfield are in their 30s, and some are three and four years past that point of no return. O'Connor has a whole pile of work ahead of him.

It's work, now, we know for sure, that he will enjoy – and should be allowed to enjoy, whether this work ends with further All Ireland titles or not.

In Cork, at the same time, a new team surely now has to be built, and if Counihan decides that he is the man for such a job (and he should!) then he's going to have to start thinking and planning without his most trusty warhorses, Anthony Lynch, Graham Canty, and Nicholas Murphy – and even start looking beyond the likes of Pearse O'Neill and Donnacha O'Connor, who are also moving fast to the 30-year-old mark.

Question is, will Counihan decide to regroup and afford this team one more year of a mighty, extraordinary effort? Most likely he will, and most likely that is a gamble which he or most other managers would choose to take. From looking certain for an All Ireland title in 2009, Conor Counihan is going to be into gambling with 2010.

As for domination? And domination over Kerry for three or four years? That must now be considered a giant-sized miscalculation which I and others bought into.

It was Jack O'Connor's day, and it was Jack O'Connor's year, and while he has much to do if he chooses to remain as Kerry manager for the first half of the next decade, it is now suddenly very hard to imagine any single team – outside of Tyrone – dominating Kerry in the immediate future.

The next decade will start as it should, with Kerry and Tyrone leading the way and building a whole new set of standards for everyone else. In many respects, it's tempting to think that the enthralling rivalry between the two counties is only just beginning, or is only halfway through. There's a pleasant thought to help us all through the next few months of rugby football and association football!

It was Jack O'Connor's year, and nobody else's in my view. He was gutsy and always strong when his team looked to quite distressed and disorientated in the middle of the summer. There's so much about O'Connor which I too admire. His trust and belief is made of rock. It showed, perfectly, in his answer to a big question asked of him within minutes of the final whistle last Sunday, when it was put to him that he must have been thinking twice about Tommy Griffin 10 minutes into the game when Colm O'Neill had a goal and a point scored, and a severe roasting looked on the way for the Kerry number three.

O'Connor, as an example to all up and coming manages, and club managers throughout Ireland, instantly replied that when Kerry needed Tommy Griffin's help and support by taking up the fairly treacherous offer of wearing the number three shirt in the first place, Tommy Griffin gave it to the manager and his teammates, and did so unconditionally. Last Sunday, as O'Connor rightly stated, was not a day for the Kerry management and the rest of the Kerry team to give up on Griffin after 10 lousy minutes. O'Connor and his teammates owed him more than that.

It was superbly acted, and superbly said by the Kerry football manager. It is a pity, it also has to be said, that Jack O'Connor is less gracious than he should probably be, and less respectful and humble in victory, than team bosses of his rare ability should be. Jack's big fist up to photographers, and in the face of the nation first thing Monday morning, does not do him justice. Neither does his need to instantly beat his chest in front of those of us who ever doubted him.

In the world of Gaelic football, Jack O'Connor is bigger than all of us who have raised small and big questions about him personally and about his team. Far bigger! In how he deports himself and presents himself, at this stage of his football life, he is still not the equal of Mickey Harte.
Post by: blanketattack on September 27, 2009, 10:59:47 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 27, 2009, 10:29:57 PM
Brolly gave him some touch in Friday's paper. Hayes seems to keep digging away at that hole.

What paper was that?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 27, 2009, 11:08:05 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on September 27, 2009, 10:59:47 PM
What paper was that?

The Gaelic Life:

Sports journalists rejoice

Liam Hayes wayward predictions reaffirmed Joe's belief in the future of GAA punditry

Sports journalists! Experiencing writers' block? Feeling glum and listless? Experiencing strong feelings that there's no point in it anymore? Doubting your abilities? Lacking self-confidence? Fear not, there is an instant cure available at the touch of a button. Simply go to 'Sunday Tribune' and read Liam Hayes' hilarious predictions from the previous weekend. I promise, your confidence will be revitalised. Within moments, your sense of self worth will soar. This year, he has already explained why Gooch isn't a great player and complained bitterly about television pundits describing Kieran Donaghy as 'Star'. He tipped the Dubs (again) and capped another masterful season with his eagerly awaited prediction for the final.

Having won the coveted Father Ted Golden Pundit Award for four years in succession, he is now virtually certain to go home with the gong again this year. Kerry may have five, but they don't have five in a row. Before the Dublin game, Liam wrote that Kerry football was "at its lowest ebb for thirty years". The Kingdom, he said, "is finished, kaput. I give Kerry no chance of winning this afternoon." He went on to give the following fascinating insight "Dublin will work solidly for fifty or fifty five minutes in a business-like manner, rather than a holiday-like manner." Holiday like manner? What the .......... is that? Anyway, he concluded as follows: "Spread the two teams out on the table in front of you, weigh them up, shake them around, hell, turn them upside down (I thought he might have added, "Put their left legs in, their left legs out, in, out, in out, shake them all about..") and whichever way you look at it this day will end up in a Dublin victory." He finished with a flourish. "Dublin will win by a magical seven or eight points."

His crystal ball has been playing up on him for years. You may recall that before the 2004 final he confidently predicted that Mayo would "coast home" against Kerry. Last weekend, he didn't disappoint. He started with his usual imperious sweep: "There is very little doubt ('unimaginable' was thrown in later) that this Cork team is poised and ready to dominate Kerry for three or four years." Later, he provided the following fascinating insight: "Nicholas Murphy, Alan O'Connor and Pearse O'Neill, between them, will outplay and finally retire Darragh Ó Sé."

His finale was positively triumphant: "Cork can win, should win, and will win, and on a perfect day they will do so by four or five points. "

It goes without saying that noone (tell me you didn't) rushed to the bookies on foot of this and staked the pile on Cork. But Liam should not be dismissed, since he serves an important function in Irish life. He reminds us how silly all punditry is. Questions like "Talk us through that goal Joe" or "Do you think it was a penalty?" Or "Who will pick up Tommy Walsh?" are fun to discuss, but nothing more.

If Liam is a racing certainty for the punditry gong, then Marty Morrissey cannot lose in the prestigious 'Sports Interview of the Year' category. His interview with Tadgh Kennelly after the game was a thing of beauty. A fortnight earlier he had gone after Brian Cody in his moment of triumph by suggesting that a very soft penalty had changed the game's outcome.
Brian went from exultation to withering anger in a blink. It was the first time the public have had the chance to experience the legendary Cody eye. I heard a story about a talented U21 hurler from the county who was invited to the senior training to play in one of their in-house matches. When he took the field, he was sporting white boots. Brian called him over and sent him home with the words "This is the Kilkenny senior hurling team. We don't wear white boots here."

Marty provoked the same treatment. 1-0 Marty.

Roy Firestone, the legendary American sportscaster had an uncanny ability to make great athletes cry during interview. When he wrote his autobiography, he gave it the title "Don't make me cry Roy." He was so famous, he actually played a cameo role as himself in the hit film Jerry Maguire, when he made Cuba Gooding's character cry on air having presented him with his new contract offer. One after the other great boxers, athletes and basketballers would appear on his show promising Roy "You're not gonna make me cry Roy." One after the other, the master would reduce them to quivering wrecks. Roy would surely have been proud of the Clare man's technique last Sunday when he got Tadgh in front of the camera. Immediately sensing the opportunity, he began with effusive praise of the 'what a year, what a story' variety. Tadgh immediately gave the warning "I'm feeling quite emotional Marty." And so he was, lip quivering and eyes down.

Marty paused and it may have seemed to most as though he would move to matters football. After various attempts, the line that finally nailed it was, "I'm sure your father is looking down from heaven smiling" stopping Tadgh in his tracks and bringing tears to the eyes. "I'm feeling very emotional now Marty" blurted Tadgh. It was a terrific interview, and a fitting end another
terrific seven months of fun.

Which is all it is.
Post by: muppet on September 27, 2009, 11:14:15 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on September 27, 2009, 10:59:47 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 27, 2009, 10:29:57 PM

What paper was that?

Andrex.
Post by: moysider on September 28, 2009, 12:29:17 AM

Is there anything else this man can turn his hand to. I remember 20 years ago he wrote about his annoyance about being told by a Meath supporter to 'get the lead out of your arse today Hayes'. Spaceris how he was once described by a Meath fan publicly. The man is obviously away with the fairies.
Post by: Billys Boots on September 28, 2009, 09:05:25 AM
Gombeen, must be a constant source of shame to Meathmen everywhere. 
Post by: cornafean on September 28, 2009, 09:44:30 AM
Quote from: ONeill on September 27, 2009, 10:33:47 PM
In how he deports himself and presents himself, at this stage of his football life, he is still not the equal of Mickey Harte.

I couldn't imagine Mickey Harte letting himself down the way O'Connor did at the Tyrone v Kerry NFL game in Omagh last Spring.
Post by: INDIANA on September 28, 2009, 10:23:03 AM
Quote from: cornafean on September 28, 2009, 09:44:30 AM
In how he deports himself and presents himself, at this stage of his football life, he is still not the equal of Mickey Harte.

I couldn't imagine Mickey Harte letting himself down the way O'Connor did at the Tyrone v Kerry NFL game in Omagh last Spring.

Mickey is smart enough to let his players do it for him!Thats the reality - I don't know how people are fooled by Harte's pokerface visage on the sidelines.
Post by: tyroneman on September 28, 2009, 10:29:12 AM
Fooled into what?
Post by: irunthev on September 28, 2009, 11:04:11 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on September 28, 2009, 10:23:03 AM

Mickey is smart enough to let his players do it for him!Thats the reality - I don't know how people are fooled by Harte's pokerface visage on the sidelines.

I think it is fair enough to say that there aren't many things that happen during a Tyrone game that haven't been pre-orchestrated, it is all part of the master's plan. It's all smart management, but whether you like it or approve of it is entirely up to your own taste and whether you believe that Harte is above all this would be down to your own level of experience in sport. Sport at that level, be it amateur or professional, is all about winning and you do what you have to to win. I know for a fact that Harte has people he discusses these things with before hand.
Post by: blanketattack on September 28, 2009, 11:21:17 AM

Jack O'Connor's involvement in the league game was about the same as Mickey Harte's involvement in the battle of Omagh against Dublin i.e. both pretty miniscule.
In fairness to Mickey Harte he was interviewed before this year's All-Ireland final and said that Kerry were the best team of the last 10 years which I thought was very gracious. He obviously wanted to distance himself from what the Tyrone players were saying after last year's final.
Post by: ross matt on September 28, 2009, 11:32:27 AM
So O'Connor shaking his fist to the cameras at the final whistle is ungracious accoring to Liam?
Post by: INDIANA on September 28, 2009, 11:47:43 AM
Quote from: ross matt on September 28, 2009, 11:32:27 AM
So O'Connor shaking his fist to the cameras at the final whistle is ungracious accoring to Liam?

Can you not be happy after winning an all-ireland? I mean what are you supposed to do- take a few prozac to ease the gloom.
Post by: cornafean on September 28, 2009, 12:33:47 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on September 28, 2009, 10:23:03 AM

That's exactly my point.
Post by: ross matt on September 28, 2009, 02:19:18 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on September 28, 2009, 11:47:43 AM
Quote from: ross matt on September 28, 2009, 11:32:27 AM

Can you not be happy after winning an all-ireland? I mean what are you supposed to do- take a few prozac to ease the gloom.

My point exactly Indiana.
Post by: thejuice on September 28, 2009, 05:30:18 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on September 28, 2009, 09:05:25 AM
Gombeen, must be a constant source of shame to Meathmen everywhere.

Only if he became our manager.

He has done great things for Meath as a player and so he can write all the guff he wants in whatever paper he likes as far as I'm concerned. I wont be reading it anyway.

I did hear he was critical of the current Meath squad but sure let him. It's easier to ignore him than read him.
Post by: cornafean on September 28, 2009, 05:44:00 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on September 28, 2009, 11:21:17 AM

Jack O'Connor's involvement in the league game was about the same as Mickey Harte's involvement in the battle of Omagh against Dublin i.e. both pretty miniscule.

The photo here would suggest otherwise - caption "Kerry manager Jack O'Connor gets involved in a clash between Marc Ó Sé and Tyrone's Ryan McMenamin at Healy Park, Omagh, yesterday. - (Photograph: Inpho)"

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0216/1233867938958.html

Post by: heineken_on_tap on September 28, 2009, 05:55:55 PM
Ridiculous way to end the article by Hayes. Thought o'connor conducted himself very well afterwards considering the way the season had gone and just moments after winning an A.I.

He didn't mention his wrong prediction
Post by: whiskeysteve on September 28, 2009, 06:10:36 PM
poor auld liam. dublin will win the AI some year (prob the year he doesnt tip them though)

his predictions always seem like wild gambles. Quite often it is not satisfying enough for him to cautiously tip a narrow win, he seems to feel the need to flamboyantly nail a big victory/outside bet and ignores the obvious factors in favour of his own highly imaginative reasoning.

Conventional wisdom is anathema to him and he will steadfastly swim against the tide of it, like the Nick Leeson of punditry
Post by: longrunsthefox on September 28, 2009, 06:24:44 PM
In his book, O'Connor comes across as very bitter and begrudging but doesn't really explain why.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 28, 2009, 08:18:26 PM

Given the disgraceful way the Tyrone players and the Tyrone crowd behaved during and after that game I think Jack was quite restrained. It was disgusting the way the Tyrone crowd were chanting like soccer hooligans and their hatred toward the Kerry team was quite obvious. Tyrone have never received such a hostile when they have visited Killarney or Tralee.
Post by: red hander on September 28, 2009, 08:43:52 PM
Such a hostile what?  Jaysus, I'm on tenterhooks...  Were you even in Omagh for that game you clown?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 29, 2009, 05:42:57 AM
No doubt it was mouthy twats like yourself that were barracking the Kerry team.....it was a disgrace and ye treated Dublin almost as badly before that. Tramps the lot of ye !
Post by: saffron sam2 on September 29, 2009, 08:35:33 AM

Mickey's columns in the Irish News are certainly going that way. He has let himself down with the obvious sour grapes eminating from them. But then Hayes wouldn't have read those. And as shown in all his ramblings, Hayes is wrong about most things.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 29, 2009, 10:18:07 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 29, 2009, 05:42:57 AM
No doubt it was mouthy t**ts like yourself that were barracking the Kerry team.....it was a disgrace and ye treated Dublin almost as badly before that. Tramps the lot of ye !

What a gracious winner.

Feed the trolls, we're the only friends they have.
Post by: cornafean on September 29, 2009, 10:42:49 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 28, 2009, 08:18:26 PM

Given the disgraceful way the Tyrone players and the Tyrone crowd behaved during and after that game I think Jack was quite restrained. It was disgusting the way the Tyrone crowd were chanting like soccer hooligans and their hatred toward the Kerry team was quite obvious. Tyrone have never received such a hostile when they have visited Killarney or Tralee.

If O'Connor finds it difficult to avoid acting like a hooligan whenever he meets one, then we can only draw our own conclusions. Thankfully Mickey Harte, and most other intercounty managers, can manage to conduct themselves more appropriately in challenging situations.
Post by: saffron sam2 on September 29, 2009, 10:45:33 AM
Quote from: cornafean on September 29, 2009, 10:42:49 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 28, 2009, 08:18:26 PM

If O'Connor finds it difficult to avoid acting like a hooligan whenever he meets one, then we can only draw our own conclusions. Thankfully Mickey Harte, and most other intercounty managers, can manage to conduct themselves more appropriately in challenging situations.

Would you consider an under 14 Vocational schools match a 'challenging situation'?
Post by: blanketattack on September 29, 2009, 11:05:42 AM
Quote from: cornafean on September 28, 2009, 05:44:00 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on September 28, 2009, 11:21:17 AM

The photo here would suggest otherwise - caption "Kerry manager Jack O'Connor gets involved in a clash between Marc Ó Sé and Tyrone's Ryan McMenamin at Healy Park, Omagh, yesterday. - (Photograph: Inpho)"

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0216/1233867938958.html

Yes, I'm sure it was Jack O'Connor that was the worst represented in that incident...

(http://dreamingarm.files.wordpress.com/2009/02/tyke.jpg?w=393&h=295)
(http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/images/tile/2009/0216/1233867938958_1.jpg)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 29, 2009, 11:24:56 AM
Quote from: blanketattack on September 29, 2009, 11:05:42 AM
Yes, I'm sure it was Jack O'Connor that was the worst represented in that incident...

Well, maybe if the Kerry players had done the decent and honourable thing and provided a Guard of Honour for the All-Ireland Champions (who so resoundingly beat them in the final), the atmosphere wouldn't have been so poisonous from the start  :P

O'Connor made an asbolute ass of himself, but I'm glad that it had the therapeutic effect of calming him down before the Championship began.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on September 29, 2009, 02:37:08 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 29, 2009, 11:24:56 AM

Well, maybe if the Kerry players had done the decent and honourable thing and provided a Guard of Honour for the All-Ireland Champions (who so resoundingly beat them in the final), the atmosphere wouldn't have been so poisonous from the start  :P

O'Connor made an asbolute ass of himself, but I'm glad that it had the therapeutic effect of calming him down before the Championship began.

Oh the irony  ::)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 29, 2009, 02:45:23 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 29, 2009, 11:24:56 AM

Guards of Honour (if they mean that much to you) should only be done in the first league game of the year, after that it just gets ridiculous...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 29, 2009, 02:52:14 PM
Maybe the both of you should learn to interpret emoticons  ;)
Post by: blewuporstuffed on September 29, 2009, 03:00:43 PM
No doubt it was mouthy t**ts like yourself that were barracking the Kerry team.....it was a disgrace and ye treated Dublin almost as badly before that. Tramps the lot of ye !
i thought we'd got rid of this tool
Post by: Sandino on September 29, 2009, 03:14:16 PM
Mike make sure and introduce yourself when you come up to Omagh.
Post by: red hander on September 29, 2009, 05:09:22 PM

So, you were you at the Dublin game too, were you?  You're a true Gael and a credit to your county...
Post by: Main Street on September 29, 2009, 08:41:49 PM
All threads lead to Tyrone.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 29, 2009, 08:42:42 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on September 29, 2009, 03:00:43 PM

why dont you stick to talking shite about soccer dipshit ...
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 29, 2009, 08:53:59 PM
from www.irishnews.com

AS I suggested in last week's column, the distinct possibility of my prediction of a Cork win being inaccurate was all too evident long before the 5pm finishing time.

Virtually all of the concerns surrounding this particular Cork team, which could have been laid to rest with one big performance, came back to haunt them – not draped in a white sheet rather dressed in that spooky green and gold.

While the psychological battle was always going to prove a major stumbling block for the Rebels, ironically, especially in the light of the intensity they brought to our game, they failed miserably in this department too.

Additionally, as I alluded to last week, Cork's launchpad for success this season had been built upon a clever and well-executed kick-out strategy. I suggested that Kerry had clearly spiked Dublin's efficiency in this area and would disrupt this aspect of Cork's game plan.

When their first two kick-outs were lost to Seamus Scanlon, the discomfort they would experience for the rest of the afternoon in this department began to unfold.

The fact that Darran O'Sullivan actually fielded the third Cork kick-out amongst the land of giants only served to exacerbate this disruption.

Scanlon, with two more possessions and Galvin chipping in with another, meant that, of Cork's first seven kick-outs, the only success they had was a free against Dara O Se on the fifth kick.

Despite the fact that Kerry weren't capitalising on this supremacy with resultant scores, you could almost sense the storm clouds gathering over the Rebel psyche. Even when Cork did get possession at this stage, from their first nine attacks they only mustered one point from play to go with an Alan O'Connor free.

Ironically, two of their next three attacks had all the hallmarks of a team about to fulfil their ambition.

Paddy Kelly kicked a magnificent point while being forced away from the goals on the wrong side for a right-footed kicker.

This was quickly followed by an amazingly confident strike for goal by young Colm O'Neill. It very much looked like this had to be Cork's day.

If the lack of composure and control being experienced on their kick-outs was psychologically damaging to this Cork team, then this five-point lead was the perfect antidote.

Remember this was a team still bearing the scars of a devastating defeat in the 2007 final and this cushion would ensure that, unlike the last time, they would at least be still in the game by half-time.

Unfortunately for Cork, and the rest of the expectant capacity crowd, that's exactly all that it achieved. From that moment of apparent strength from the Rebels' perspective, Kerry bossed virtually the rest of the game.

Cork followers, and many other neutral observers, will suggest that the Kingdom were the beneficiaries of a few of the proverbial handy frees.

Dubious or not, they steadied the ship for Kerry and when Cork's next 12 attacks only returned a meagre two pointed frees, it was obvious that the tide had turned.

With the kick-out statistics for Cork remaining bleak (three from 11 and four from 13) the confidence with which the Leesiders entered the game was visibly draining from them.

The virtual collapse of Cork's middle eight is probably the most inexplicable nature of this defeat. Graham Canty's surges forward, which were a trademark of the team all season, evaporated as he had to attend to an ever-increasing influence emanating from Tadhg Kennelly.

Miskella and O'Leary were equally occupied with Darran O'Sullivan and Paul Galvin and seldom were able to break the gain line.

With Alan O'Connor and Nicholas Murphy struggling with a vastly improved Seamus Scanlon and the hugely experienced Dara O Se, my assumption last week that Cork's middle eight would dictate matters in this department was becoming totally flawed.

Almost more unbelievably was the total absence of the quality half-forward line we had seen all season from a distance and felt the impact of ourselves at first hand in the semi-final. Paul Kerrigan, whose searing pace had burnt up defences all season made no impact and was replaced during the second half.

Paddy Kelly, despite a wonderful score in the first half, exhibited none of the industry and scavenging desire which epitomised his play all year.

When Mike McCarthy rendered Pearse O'Neill anonymous then the demise was complete. While it was always possible that some of this middle quartet would lose their potential battles, I could never have envisaged such a wipe-out.

Ironically, despite such an underachieving performance in this sector, with 15 minutes to go there was only one point in the game. When Donnacha O'Connor's attempt to equalise was blocked by Marc O Se, it was almost as if Cork accepted their fate.

From there until the final whistle, Kerry were the dominant force and I couldn't help but think this was role reversal if I ever saw it. The energy which the Rebels unleashed on us was absent from their play and was blowing in their faces.

Dubious refereeing decisions courtesy of John Bannon in the semi-final had them on the receiving end this time. Think the unpunished foul on Nicholas Murphy in the first 10 seconds of the game, the debatable rubs of the green for some of Kerry's
significant and always scoreable frees, the Darran O'Sullivan point after a clear double bounce.

Many things contribute to the outcome of a game but, as Brian Cody often reminds us, there is only one time to be ahead and that is at the final whistle. Kerry have done that for the 36th time in their history and the fifth time this decade and for that, they can only be admired.

Minors' major feat

I WOULD like to offer my sincere congratulations to the all-conquering Armagh minor team after their remarkable season.

Of course this was climaxed by them lifting the Tom Markham Cup for the first time in 60 years, but it should also be remembered that this team completed their season undefeated.

The fact that this feat includes the Ulster Minor League, the Ulster Championship and the All-Ireland series in addition to challenge matches says a lot about their determination to succeed.

To achieve this with any team would be commendable but to do it with a minor team, an age group who are notorious for having great performances followed by others not nearly of that standard, is a credit to them and their management team led by Paul McShane.

I wish them well in the future just as Benny Tierney would wish for Tyrone teams!

what a mendacious gobshite this fellas is....basically he is saying that Cork didnt show up and Kerry were favoured by the ref
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 29, 2009, 08:56:40 PM
Quote from: Sandino on September 29, 2009, 03:14:16 PM

next game is in Kerry....maybe you Tyrone lads might get a taste of your own medicine. For far too long other counties have been welcoming and respectful while ye behave like thugs.

Post by: Midman on September 29, 2009, 10:07:41 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 29, 2009, 08:53:59 PM
from www.irishnews.com

AS I suggested in last week's column, the distinct possibility of my prediction of a Cork win being inaccurate was all too evident long before the 5pm finishing time.

Virtually all of the concerns surrounding this particular Cork team, which could have been laid to rest with one big performance, came back to haunt them – not draped in a white sheet rather dressed in that spooky green and gold.

While the psychological battle was always going to prove a major stumbling block for the Rebels, ironically, especially in the light of the intensity they brought to our game, they failed miserably in this department too.

Additionally, as I alluded to last week, Cork's launchpad for success this season had been built upon a clever and well-executed kick-out strategy. I suggested that Kerry had clearly spiked Dublin's efficiency in this area and would disrupt this aspect of Cork's game plan.

When their first two kick-outs were lost to Seamus Scanlon, the discomfort they would experience for the rest of the afternoon in this department began to unfold.

The fact that Darran O'Sullivan actually fielded the third Cork kick-out amongst the land of giants only served to exacerbate this disruption.

Scanlon, with two more possessions and Galvin chipping in with another, meant that, of Cork's first seven kick-outs, the only success they had was a free against Dara O Se on the fifth kick.

Despite the fact that Kerry weren't capitalising on this supremacy with resultant scores, you could almost sense the storm clouds gathering over the Rebel psyche. Even when Cork did get possession at this stage, from their first nine attacks they only mustered one point from play to go with an Alan O'Connor free.

Ironically, two of their next three attacks had all the hallmarks of a team about to fulfil their ambition.

Paddy Kelly kicked a magnificent point while being forced away from the goals on the wrong side for a right-footed kicker.

This was quickly followed by an amazingly confident strike for goal by young Colm O'Neill. It very much looked like this had to be Cork's day.

If the lack of composure and control being experienced on their kick-outs was psychologically damaging to this Cork team, then this five-point lead was the perfect antidote.

Remember this was a team still bearing the scars of a devastating defeat in the 2007 final and this cushion would ensure that, unlike the last time, they would at least be still in the game by half-time.

Unfortunately for Cork, and the rest of the expectant capacity crowd, that's exactly all that it achieved. From that moment of apparent strength from the Rebels' perspective, Kerry bossed virtually the rest of the game.

Cork followers, and many other neutral observers, will suggest that the Kingdom were the beneficiaries of a few of the proverbial handy frees.

Dubious or not, they steadied the ship for Kerry and when Cork's next 12 attacks only returned a meagre two pointed frees, it was obvious that the tide had turned.

With the kick-out statistics for Cork remaining bleak (three from 11 and four from 13) the confidence with which the Leesiders entered the game was visibly draining from them.

The virtual collapse of Cork's middle eight is probably the most inexplicable nature of this defeat. Graham Canty's surges forward, which were a trademark of the team all season, evaporated as he had to attend to an ever-increasing influence emanating from Tadhg Kennelly.

Miskella and O'Leary were equally occupied with Darran O'Sullivan and Paul Galvin and seldom were able to break the gain line.

With Alan O'Connor and Nicholas Murphy struggling with a vastly improved Seamus Scanlon and the hugely experienced Dara O Se, my assumption last week that Cork's middle eight would dictate matters in this department was becoming totally flawed.

Almost more unbelievably was the total absence of the quality half-forward line we had seen all season from a distance and felt the impact of ourselves at first hand in the semi-final. Paul Kerrigan, whose searing pace had burnt up defences all season made no impact and was replaced during the second half.

Paddy Kelly, despite a wonderful score in the first half, exhibited none of the industry and scavenging desire which epitomised his play all year.

When Mike McCarthy rendered Pearse O'Neill anonymous then the demise was complete. While it was always possible that some of this middle quartet would lose their potential battles, I could never have envisaged such a wipe-out.

Ironically, despite such an underachieving performance in this sector, with 15 minutes to go there was only one point in the game. When Donnacha O'Connor's attempt to equalise was blocked by Marc O Se, it was almost as if Cork accepted their fate.

From there until the final whistle, Kerry were the dominant force and I couldn't help but think this was role reversal if I ever saw it. The energy which the Rebels unleashed on us was absent from their play and was blowing in their faces.

Dubious refereeing decisions courtesy of John Bannon in the semi-final had them on the receiving end this time. Think the unpunished foul on Nicholas Murphy in the first 10 seconds of the game, the debatable rubs of the green for some of Kerry's
significant and always scoreable frees, the Darran O'Sullivan point after a clear double bounce.

Many things contribute to the outcome of a game but, as Brian Cody often reminds us, there is only one time to be ahead and that is at the final whistle. Kerry have done that for the 36th time in their history and the fifth time this decade and for that, they can only be admired.

Minors' major feat

I WOULD like to offer my sincere congratulations to the all-conquering Armagh minor team after their remarkable season.

Of course this was climaxed by them lifting the Tom Markham Cup for the first time in 60 years, but it should also be remembered that this team completed their season undefeated.

The fact that this feat includes the Ulster Minor League, the Ulster Championship and the All-Ireland series in addition to challenge matches says a lot about their determination to succeed.

To achieve this with any team would be commendable but to do it with a minor team, an age group who are notorious for having great performances followed by others not nearly of that standard, is a credit to them and their management team led by Paul McShane.

I wish them well in the future just as Benny Tierney would wish for Tyrone teams!

what a mendacious gobshite this fellas is....basically he is saying that Cork didnt show up and Kerry were favoured by the ref

Maybe a wee touch of paranoia there Mikey, I'll give him the frees bit (Cork maybe had to work a wee bit harder for them) but that wouldnt have affected the final outcome. He basically says Kerry had a stranglehold on Corks middle 8 where all the threat was supposed to come from. I think he called it right , Kerry didnt let Cork function and won all the crucial battles. Jesus man ye won, be happy ;D
Post by: omagh_gael on September 29, 2009, 10:29:17 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 29, 2009, 08:56:40 PM

next game is in Kerry....maybe you Tyrone lads might get a taste of your own medicine. For far too long other counties have been welcoming and respectful while ye behave like thugs.

According to our local paper in Omagh the schedule for fixtures has changed this year and we are due to play yourselves, the dubs and cork in omagh. I'm sure you'll look forward to that  ;)

http://www.nwipp-newspapers.com/UH/free/309365751951157.php
Post by: longrunsthefox on September 29, 2009, 10:47:24 PM
I doubt if Mike would have the balls to come to Omagh  :o
Post by: omagh_gael on September 29, 2009, 11:25:05 PM
The aul jock straps will be selling well round the kingdom this winter no doubt  :D
Post by: red hander on September 29, 2009, 11:32:53 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 29, 2009, 08:56:40 PM

'welcoming' and 'respectful' are not two words I'd associate with a bitter wee ballix like you.  Why not enjoy the fact you have Sam rather than continuing to cut yourself up over 2003, 2005 and 2008 ... and see if you do come to Omagh, can you maybe put as much money into the Tyrone economy as we do the Kerry economy every time we play you down there ... thanks
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2009, 04:36:56 AM
Tyrone economy  :D :D

you silly bollix...everybody knows ye're nothing but dole scroungers up there. Probably claiming it on both sides of the border.
Post by: Sandino on September 30, 2009, 07:41:46 AM
Good Grief Mike our 3 All Irelands (few tho they are) have really got to you. I can assure you I will introduce myself to you anytime. I have to say the main trouble I had anytime I have been down in Kerry boosting your econemy at a game was trying to find a Kerry supporter the night before the game. Those I did meet displayed a lot more manners than you have just done.
Post by: longrunsthefox on September 30, 2009, 07:45:44 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2009, 04:36:56 AM

you silly bollix...everybody knows ye're nothing but dole scroungers up there. Probably claiming it on both sides of the border.

The time of your post says it all about the sad, bitter, lonely individual you are. Get out and make some friends.   
Post by: AFS on September 30, 2009, 08:27:38 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on September 30, 2009, 07:45:44 AM

The time of your post says it all about the sad, bitter, lonely individual you are. Get out and make some friends.

...or it could say that he doesn't live in Ireland.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on September 30, 2009, 09:06:35 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 29, 2009, 08:42:42 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on September 29, 2009, 03:00:43 PM

why dont you stick to talking shite about soccer dipshit ...
maybe if you stuck to posting about something you actually know something about
Post by: longrunsthefox on September 30, 2009, 02:44:57 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 30, 2009, 08:27:38 AM

Right enuff. Didn't think he would leave the kingdom  ::)  he drools about so much
Post by: BennyHarp on September 30, 2009, 02:49:22 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on September 30, 2009, 02:44:57 PM

Right enuff. Didn't think he would leave the kingdom  ::)  he drools about so much

He must have moved to the states or somewhere after being run out of Kerry by the decent folk who live there who were sick of him embarrassing them!
Post by: red hander on September 30, 2009, 04:32:34 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 30, 2009, 02:49:22 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on September 30, 2009, 02:44:57 PM

He must have moved to the states or somewhere after being run out of Kerry by the decent folk who live there who were sick of him embarrassing them!

That would certainly explain it... any Kerry folk I ever met down in Killarney or Tralee on the weekend of games have been the salt of the earth
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2009, 08:53:08 PM
Lads , I'm sensing some hostility  ;D 

you need to calm down. Honestly, if I had known you were taking your pathetic defence of an AI this badly I would have eased up on you.

poor dears..they are so sensitive.
Post by: longrunsthefox on September 30, 2009, 09:09:25 PM
...still doesn't explain why you turned your back on your beloved kingdom if it mean so much to you...