GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: mrhardyannual on November 28, 2017, 11:13:09 AM

Title: Alan Dillon Retires
Post by: mrhardyannual on November 28, 2017, 11:13:09 AM
Alan Dillon has called time on his inter-county career with Mayo. Continuously involved since playing minor in 1999 he has been a great servant to Mayo. A genius at finding time and space on the ball. I have often been told by a physio who treated him that he (the physio) never understood how he could perform to the level he did considering the injuries he was carrying. A dual All-Star who never stinted in his dedication to his club, Ballintubber, he will always be held in high regard by Mayo supporters. As I can't abide the term "legend" I won't use it but suffice it to say that his contribution as a link-man was vital to Mayo's successes  in the past decade and more.
Title: Re: Alan Dillon Retires
Post by: rosnarun on November 28, 2017, 11:52:26 AM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on November 28, 2017, 11:13:09 AM
Alan Dillon has called time on his inter-county career with Mayo. Continuously involved since playing minor in 1999 he has been a great servant to Mayo. A genius at finding time and space on the ball. I have often been told by a physio who treated him that he (the physio) never understood how he could perform to the level he did considering the injuries he was carrying. A dual All-Star who never stinted in his dedication to his club, Ballintubber, he will always be held in high regard by Mayo supporters. As I can't abide the term "legend" I won't use it but suffice it to say that his contribution as a link-man was vital to Mayo's successes  in the past decade and more.
well said . bits must be dropping off him now if hes going to retire. he has looed like he was help together by glue for the last few years.
yet another sporting tradgey he has to retire with out an all Ireland medal . imagine going just one year too soon
Post by: highorlow on November 28, 2017, 12:21:17 PM
A good servant. Enjoy the retirement, he gave it everything.
Post by: sligoman2 on November 28, 2017, 01:10:17 PM
Great player, great heart, great ambassador.

Post by: seafoid on November 28, 2017, 01:17:14 PM
Mayo have been playing at a very high level in recent years thanks to the skill levels and experience of people like Dillon. A real pity that the Dubs played keep the ball and pass it back to Clucko this September. 
Whenever a team wins Sam they do it carried on the shoulders of those who wore the jersey before them and didn't win. Alan Dillon is one of those men.
Post by: From the Bunker on November 28, 2017, 02:32:10 PM
A good time of the year to announce his decision. He is a private person and with GAA almost in shut down for the month he has given himself the chance to walk away peacefully. He and Andy are symbols of the relentless pursuit of the Holy grail. His retirement has been annually predicted by the media since 2013.

One of my favourite memories of Dillon was the 2000 AI semi final replay against Westmeath. The game was played in Carrick on Shannon. That day Dillon and Conor Mortimer gave an exhibition of play living of scraps in the forward line.

http://www.mayonews.ie/sports/30416-the-2000-mayo-minors-where-are-they-now (http://www.mayonews.ie/sports/30416-the-2000-mayo-minors-where-are-they-now)

A great servant!

Post by: Rossfan on November 28, 2017, 03:20:00 PM
Best wishes on your retirement.
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 28, 2017, 08:07:44 PM
What age is he? always thought he was one of the most naturally gifted footballers on the Mayo panels he played on.
Post by: From the Bunker on November 28, 2017, 08:51:11 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on November 28, 2017, 08:07:44 PM
What age is he? always thought he was one of the most naturally gifted footballers on the Mayo panels he played on.

Post by: macdanger2 on November 28, 2017, 10:40:05 PM
Class player and a great servant to Mayo
Post by: theskull1 on November 29, 2017, 02:41:22 PM
A super player ... really enjoyed watch him
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 30, 2017, 09:14:57 PM
Fine Gael in talks with Alan.  ::)
Post by: Syferus on December 01, 2017, 01:43:28 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on November 30, 2017, 09:14:57 PM
Fine Gael in talks with Alan.  ::)

He's well used to sitting on the bench.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on December 01, 2017, 09:08:51 AM
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/mayo-gaa-star-in-talks-to-replace-enda-kenny-on-the-fine-gael-ticket-36369434.html (https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/mayo-gaa-star-in-talks-to-replace-enda-kenny-on-the-fine-gael-ticket-36369434.html)
Post by: macdanger2 on December 01, 2017, 09:10:19 AM
Is there not a general discussion thread for those last few posts lads?
Post by: mrhardyannual on December 01, 2017, 10:53:24 AM
There's a tidy "All-Star" corner-back in Westport by the name of "Ringo" who will defend his territory with vigour.

Post by: TheGreatest on December 04, 2017, 10:31:52 AM
He lost 6 All Ireland finals.

Post by: Gael85 on December 04, 2017, 10:43:44 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on December 04, 2017, 10:31:52 AM

Was still a very good player and always gave Dublin a bit of bother. Had great against Dublin in 2012
Post by: Tubberman on December 04, 2017, 10:44:43 AM

He lost more than that sadly
Post by: theskull1 on December 04, 2017, 10:56:48 AM
As if that matters whether he himself was a great player or not. He was a very talented footballer
Post by: Gael85 on December 04, 2017, 11:28:23 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on December 04, 2017, 10:44:43 AM

He lost more than that sadly

Did he lose 2 minors and a u21 as well?
Post by: maigheo on December 04, 2017, 12:05:57 PM
Yes and I think a Schools final as well
Post by: Rossfan on December 05, 2017, 09:26:49 AM
The teams he played for lost those finals.
Medals are a sign you had 14 good players along with you.
Post by: Syferus on December 05, 2017, 03:08:58 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 05, 2017, 09:26:49 AM

No one loses that many finals without having multiple chances to get one over the line. The problem wasn't talent of the supporting cast in a good few of those.
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 05, 2017, 08:30:04 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 05, 2017, 03:08:58 PM

No one loses that many finals without having multiple chances to get one over the line. The problem wasn't talent of the supporting cast in a good few of those.
Would you care to name any that comes to (your) mind?  I mean if you discount the talent of the supporting cast, which I take to be his team mates, you are saying it his fault that he (and they) didn't get over the line.
The fact that he kept coming back time after time, says a lot for his determination, same as can be said for his former colleagues on the county senior panel.
You can say the same about his football ability also- right into his early thirties, he was an automatic selection; he wasn't there to make up numbers.
Post by: Syferus on December 05, 2017, 08:45:54 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on December 05, 2017, 08:30:04 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 05, 2017, 03:08:58 PM

Would you care to name any that comes to (your) mind?  I mean if you discount the talent of the supporting cast, which I take to be his team mates, you are saying it his fault that he (and they) didn't get over the line.
The fact that he kept coming back time after time, says a lot for his determination, same as can be said for his former colleagues on the county senior panel.
You can say the same about his football ability also- right into his early thirties, he was an automatic selection; he wasn't there to make up numbers.

I mean it's the grey matter of the 15 on the field and the management that have conspired to ensure Mayo didn't win even a single AI in 2012, 2013, 2014 (not even a final but probably the worst of all), 2016 or 2017. It wasn't lack of talent. That's why it's hard for me to fell sorry for Mayo's supposed plight.
Post by: From the Bunker on December 05, 2017, 08:54:43 PM
Ok we have come to the conclusion that he was not much good and the teams he played on were not much good. It's all based an AI titles after all! Can we leave it at that?
Post by: ONeill on December 05, 2017, 09:43:24 PM
Fine player who would have won 3 AIs with Tyrone had he been born in Trillick or something.
Post by: From the Bunker on December 05, 2017, 10:08:53 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 05, 2017, 09:43:24 PM
Fine player who would have won 3 AIs with Tyrone had he been born in Trillick or something.

He'd probably have 4! Cos he would have not been playing for the 04 Mayo team! Get it?
Post by: ONeill on December 05, 2017, 10:37:33 PM
I was trying to be nice. Mickey wouldn't have had that lack of pure dirt around him back then.
Post by: Maroon Manc on December 07, 2017, 01:41:35 PM
Where would he rank in terms of Mayo's best forwards the last 25 years?
Post by: From the Bunker on December 07, 2017, 03:33:25 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 05, 2017, 10:37:33 PM
I was trying to be nice. Mickey wouldn't have had that lack of pure dirt around him back then.

No, you were being smug! And I'm ok with that. Just had to give you a dig back!
Post by: stephenite on December 08, 2017, 03:45:05 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on December 07, 2017, 01:41:35 PM

For me (and without thinking about it too much) ;

1. Ciaran Mc
2. Dillon
3. Kevin O'Neill
4. C O'C
5. James Horan

Some will argue against Kevin O'Neill ahead of C O'C but for me O'Neill was unlucky with injuries and was probably on a par with Ciaran Mc in terms of raw talent - an All Star in '93 when we were shite
Post by: Syferus on December 08, 2017, 04:25:09 AM
Quote from: stephenite on December 08, 2017, 03:45:05 AM

For me (and without thinking about it too much) ;

1. Ciaran Mc
2. Dillon
3. Kevin O'Neill
4. C O'C
5. James Horan

Some will argue against Kevin O'Neill ahead of C O'C but for me O'Neill was unlucky with injuries and was probably on a par with Ciaran Mc in terms of raw talent - an All Star in '93 when we were shite

Surely Mayo's only ever PotY forward is ahead of Dillon, or does he count as Roscommon?

Seriously though, of even those on the Mayo panel this year both Moran and Kevin McLoughlin are overall better forwards than him and in the case of COC, while definitely lesser as a footballer, his importance as a free-taker makes a strong case for taking him over Dillon as well. In terms of sheer skill there's a big gap between him and Ciaran Mc too.
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 08, 2017, 11:02:41 PM
I wouldn't include him in my list. Good but never inspirational and could go missing in high pressure situations.
Ciaran Mac would top my list, followed by James Horan. Kevin O'Neill would rank next and in terms of class I'd put him right behind Ciaran but his effectiveness was curtailed by injuries. Andy Moran has to be included also and the same is true of Kevin McLoughlin.
CO'C is an enigma. He has everything but lacks speed off the mark. In recent games, he shown more willingness to scrap for dirty ball and throw himself about more but in his early years I thought he could go missing unless he had possession, a bit like Dillon in fact.
Post by: Rossfan on December 09, 2017, 12:09:29 AM
Ciaran Mac was one of the most talented I've ever seen.
Ye had a Joe Corcoran and Tom (?) Langan who oul lads tell me were  something else.
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 09, 2017, 12:57:18 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 09, 2017, 12:09:29 AM
Ciaran Mac was one of the most talented I've ever seen.
Ye had a Joe Corcoran and Tom (?) Langan who oul lads tell me were  something else.
Know nothing about Tom but he made the team of the millennium in 1999 so he must have been pretty good.
Joe was something else. He had mesmerising ball control and even the opposition fans would give him a round of appluase after a  good solo run. There was a buzz of anticipation every time he got the ball and headed for goal.
But he wasn't particularly effective because he could over elaborate and wind up losing the ball or having to shoot from awkward angles. Mind you, this mightn't have been his fault entirely it could have been that the other forwards kinda expected Joe to do the business and, often as not, there was  no one for him to lay off the ball to.
Still, he was the best ball carrier I have seen.