Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: trailer on April 01, 2019, 04:36:39 PM

Title: ATM Thefts
Post by: trailer on April 01, 2019, 04:36:39 PM
With the recent spate of ATM thefts, does anyone think these are all a little bit too organised? There's no doubt the same gang is involved. I mean a digger is near by, CCTV is all a bit inconclusive. Are the retailers or construction workers on the take here? The buildings are insured. No one gets hurt, it's a victim-less crime.
There's so many questions it doesn't add up that's it a random target. How does this gang know where the diggers are? Are they driving around the county all week looking for targets? How do they know the ATMs with the money in them. Be an awful lot of work for say a few thousand. When they strike, they must have a safe location nearby to transfer the goods. This past few weeks we've seen incidents from Fermanagh to Antrim. They're not driving to the one safe location. Why is the money not marked or traceable?

The whole thing doesn't seem right to me, there's so many moving parts that the police should be apprehending these guys.Someone knows what's going on here.

I remember locally when we had no ATM and it was a f**king pain in hole.
Title: Re: ATM Thefts
Post by: armaghniac on April 01, 2019, 04:39:17 PM
Put a tin of paint on top of the ATM that would cope when HT by a digger. Problem solved.
Post by: BennyCake on April 01, 2019, 04:50:28 PM
It's all a conspiracy to bring us all into a cashless society.
Post by: Boycey on April 01, 2019, 04:55:03 PM
They have replacing our town mains water pipe for the last two months or so and a hot topic of conversation has been the chances of the ATM getting pinched with all the necessary machinery lying idle over each weekend. They have moved to a section right in front of the bank this morning so I reckon this is the week... :D
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on April 01, 2019, 05:16:46 PM
What towns this boycey

*checks list*
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on April 01, 2019, 05:35:18 PM
I had thought they were all protected such that the money would be inked or similar to ruin it if there was any attempt at tampering.

You'd think it wouldn't be beyond the wit of the designers to put an accelerometer into the atm so when it gets a big shake - like say - the one from a 13 tonne digger - it then ruins the cash inside - and sends a distress call to the police.
Post by: marty34 on April 01, 2019, 05:36:35 PM
Quote from: Boycey on April 01, 2019, 04:55:03 PM
They have replacing our town mains water pipe for the last two months or so and a hot topic of conversation has been the chances of the ATM getting pinched with all the necessary machinery lying idle over each weekend. They have moved to a section right in front of the bank this morning so I reckon this is the week... :D

The thing is - there are building sites very close by to these atm's.  Surely you'd think the lads in the sites would secure their diggers properly or make them hard to get at least.

With all these robberies going on, you think the cops would be issuing warning to builders etc. to secure their machinery a bit better - maybe they do?

You're right - if you have an atm and a building site nearby, you'd be worried.
Post by: trailer on April 01, 2019, 05:42:55 PM
The whole thing comes across as a complete set up. Sure all them diggers should have a kill switch or even take the battery out on Friday evening / disconnect the terminals to slow the job up. They usually have anti vandal screens that none seem to be fitted or used. These guys have the whole job done in a matter of minutes. If I was the peelers I'd start investigating those close the crime and work out. Construction teams, then shopkeeprs. The whole thing is just too easy for this to be opportunistic.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on April 01, 2019, 05:58:04 PM
Typically hire machines have a keycode immobiliser.

If you don't enter the right 4 digit code, she ain't startin.

Not saying there isn't means (that I don't know of) of working around it - but doing so would likely leave finger prints all over the place. It could also be made tamper proof with a "call the police" alarm if sensing tampering.

In this day and age, when you could incorporate a "mobile phone" into an alarm system for a few quid and when manufacturers can wirelessly stop tractors when they want to (i.e. farmers behind on finance) - there isn't much excuse for some £50k+ machinery being stolen.
Post by: Dire Ear on April 01, 2019, 07:34:53 PM
How hard would it be to put a small tracking device in each ATM??
Post by: Puckoon on April 01, 2019, 07:38:43 PM
Quote from: trailer on April 01, 2019, 05:42:55 PM
The whole thing comes across as a complete set up. Sure all them diggers should have a kill switch or even take the battery out on Friday evening / disconnect the terminals to slow the job up. They usually have anti vandal screens that none seem to be fitted or used. These guys have the whole job done in a matter of minutes. If I was the peelers I'd start investigating those close the crime and work out. Construction teams, then shopkeeprs. The whole thing is just too easy for this to be opportunistic.

Why the shopkeepers?

Surely it's much too inconvenient for them at best. Insurance needs to be super up to date and inclusive, not to mention the decreased footfall from not having the ATM at the premises, as well as the repair job?
Post by: Sportacus on April 01, 2019, 08:29:52 PM
It's not a victimless crime.
Post by: Ambrose on April 01, 2019, 08:52:32 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on April 01, 2019, 07:34:53 PM
How hard would it be to put a small tracking device in each ATM??

There are supposed to be tracking devices in them but they can be easily blocked. There was one stolen in Camlough a while back which was found a couple of hours later while they were trying to get the money out.
Post by: Jim Bob on April 01, 2019, 10:46:47 PM
Why is it so easy to steal a digger ?
Post by: Franko on April 02, 2019, 08:39:09 AM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on April 01, 2019, 05:58:04 PM
Typically hire machines have a keycode immobiliser.

If you don't enter the right 4 digit code, she ain't startin.

Not saying there isn't means (that I don't know of) of working around it - but doing so would likely leave finger prints all over the place. It could also be made tamper proof with a "call the police" alarm if sensing tampering.

In this day and age, when you could incorporate a "mobile phone" into an alarm system for a few quid and when manufacturers can wirelessly stop tractors when they want to (i.e. farmers behind on finance) - there isn't much excuse for some £50k+ machinery being stolen.

You are assuming that all machinery is new.  Most of the diggers operating round here are at least 10 years old.  And from looking at the photos, the one used in this robbery could have been twice that age.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 02, 2019, 08:54:23 AM
Aye a big conspiracy 😂....as one of the resident tin-foil hat wearers on the board this is one of the more absurd conspiracy theories I've heard!  Trust me the people involved in this are no technological or criminal geniuses. They drive a big f**k off digger in front of an isolated ATM and did the f**ker out of the wall....simples!!
Post by: johnnycool on April 02, 2019, 10:14:58 AM
A lot of the older diggers only need one of these yolks to start them;

(https://www.lsengineers.co.uk/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/400x/182f32e2d87bea3de93b46718dd460f4/k/e/key-99.jpg)

Two to a penny in those circles.

Post by: Hound on April 02, 2019, 10:30:23 AM
Paramilitaries collecting "tax" on these robberies (or at least on the ones they are not doing themselves) according to the cops!
Post by: GetOverTheBar on April 02, 2019, 10:34:58 AM
I thought ATM's were fitted with the same anti robbery/tamper paint you can't get off that the Securicor men are?
Post by: WeeDonns on April 02, 2019, 11:29:32 AM
As johnnycool says, most can be started with the same key, even different manufacturers use the same key
& the key code (if its relatively new) will no doubt be written on the inside of with machine with a marker - that's if it has been changed from the default, 1066, 1945 etc
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 02, 2019, 11:37:34 AM
Quote from: WeeDonns on April 02, 2019, 11:29:32 AM
As johnnycool says, most can be started with the same key, even different manufacturers use the same key
& the key code (if its relatively new) will no doubt be written on the inside of with machine with a marker - that's if it has been changed from the default, 1066, 1945 etc

If it's a Prod one then the code will be 1690...
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on April 02, 2019, 11:42:13 AM
Quote from: Franko on April 02, 2019, 08:39:09 AM
You are assuming that all machinery is new.  Most of the diggers operating round here are at least 10 years old.  And from looking at the photos, the one used in this robbery could have been twice that age.

Any of the hire machines we'd have been using would be around 15 year old at this point... if not older.
Post by: trailer on April 02, 2019, 11:43:10 AM
Ok Machines are all started with the same key. Some of them are older, grand. But surely if you were working in a town with a ATM machine you'd secure your digger? Or at least make an attempt to. Fit the anti vandal screens, when i worked on sites in Belfast 25 years ago all machines had anti vandal panels. Perhaps you could disconnect the battery or remove it altogether. Why, given the spate of similar robberies, are these diggers left relatively unsecured? There's nothing opportunistic about this. It's well planned and my guess is there are more people involved than just the gangs themselves.

Someone knows when the ATMs are filled. I doubt they are hitting half empty ones. Is that the retailers? Few quid  ;) ;) let us know. It's insured sure.
Diggers left unsecured, few quid  ;) ;)

The fecking peelers are looking like keystone cops at this stage, running around chasing shadows.
Post by: Boycey on April 03, 2019, 08:28:37 AM
https://www.rte.ie/news/ulster/2019/0403/1040328-atm-robbery/

Told yis 😂, I have an alibi....
Post by: general on April 03, 2019, 09:04:46 AM
Quote from: Boycey on April 03, 2019, 08:28:37 AM

your town Boycey? 😂😂
Post by: Harold Disgracey on April 03, 2019, 09:48:24 AM

That's the only one in the Main Street isn't it? I take it the only other ATMs in Blayney are in SuperValu and Watters'?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 03, 2019, 10:01:51 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on April 03, 2019, 09:48:24 AM

That's the only one in the Main Street isn't it? I take it the only other ATMs in Blayney are in SuperValu and Watters'?

Bad old week for Blayney

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/large-amount-of-cattle-stolen-in-castleblayney-raid/

Post by: Boycey on April 03, 2019, 10:37:43 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 03, 2019, 10:01:51 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on April 03, 2019, 09:48:24 AM

Bad old week for Blayney

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/large-amount-of-cattle-stolen-in-castleblayney-raid/

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=2647853045229874&id=100000156143731&sfnsn=mo

Maybe you have to be his Facebook friend to see videos, I'd say they knew the lie of the land.... No video of ATM robbery yet!!!
Post by: trailer on April 03, 2019, 11:03:11 AM
Talk about a setup. Digger parked outside the bank by all accounts, nice and handy  ;) ;) Sure it was probably left running ffs.

Post by: pbat on April 03, 2019, 02:56:55 PM
Only thing I dont get, if you lose your phone within minutes you can track it, how can a machine with maybe 40k in it not have a tracker,
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 03, 2019, 03:05:23 PM
Quote from: pbat on April 03, 2019, 02:56:55 PM
Only thing I dont get, if you lose your phone within minutes you can track it, how can a machine with maybe 40k in it not have a tracker,

They arent supposed to move.
Post by: Boycey on April 03, 2019, 03:12:00 PM
Quote from: trailer on April 03, 2019, 11:03:11 AM
Talk about a setup. Digger parked outside the bank by all accounts, nice and handy  ;) ;) Sure it was probably left running ffs.

Sure I told yis there was a digger outside it on Monday  ;D. It's not the digger they used though, they brought their own. In and gone in 3 minutes I believe. They used the fact that half the town is blocked off to stymie the Guards .
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 03, 2019, 06:40:00 PM
Quote from: Boycey on April 01, 2019, 04:55:03 PM
If there is a 10 grand reward for information leading to your an arrest then I'm afraid this post will be reported. 
Post by: Hereiam on April 03, 2019, 10:06:22 PM
I will go with Trillick for the next one. Nice and handy along side the road
Post by: MasterShake on April 03, 2019, 11:48:08 PM
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2019/04/03/diggers-to-be-banned-from-atm-queues-under-new-measures/

Feeding into Trailer's conspiracies...
Post by: GetOverTheBar on April 04, 2019, 10:59:47 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on April 03, 2019, 10:06:22 PM

There is one in Dromore wouldn't take too much bother to shift - couple of nice exits, takes awhile to get down the Dromore Road from Omagh at best of times  :-X :-X
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 04, 2019, 11:49:43 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on April 03, 2019, 10:06:22 PM

Have you got your plan sorted?  Asking for a friend....
Post by: Franko on April 04, 2019, 05:39:56 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on April 02, 2019, 11:42:13 AM
Quote from: Franko on April 02, 2019, 08:39:09 AM

Any of the hire machines we'd have been using would be around 15 year old at this point... if not older.

In that case, it'll be fitted with a system that an apprentice mechanic could bypass in a few minutes.

It's like the padlock on the gate... only there to keep an honest man out.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on April 07, 2019, 09:44:25 AM
Dungiven last night....
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on April 07, 2019, 10:08:56 AM
Ach sur!
Post by: trailer on April 08, 2019, 10:35:23 AM
Dungiven on Sat night. What are the police doing? I do think that contractors have more to do here in securing their plant. Although this yoke was driven up the road, you'd wonder how someone didn't see what was going on....

Post by: GetOverTheBar on April 08, 2019, 10:52:43 AM
Quote from: trailer on April 08, 2019, 10:35:23 AM
Dungiven on Sat night. What are the police doing? I do think that contractors have more to do here in securing their plant. Although this yoke was driven up the road, you'd wonder how someone didn't see what was going on....

It happened at 0430. Not even Belfast has people walking the streets at that stage.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on April 08, 2019, 10:57:32 AM
Quote from: Jim Bob on April 01, 2019, 10:46:47 PM

AFAIK diggers before say 2007 had one of about seven keys which would start any of them.

It seems absurd that the police aren't sticking GPS devices to these ATMs
Post by: NAG1 on April 08, 2019, 11:14:33 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on April 08, 2019, 10:57:32 AM
Quote from: Jim Bob on April 01, 2019, 10:46:47 PM

AFAIK diggers before say 2007 had one of about seven keys which would start any of them.

It seems absurd that the police aren't sticking GPS devices to these ATMs

You think they arent? I would have thought its only a matter of time for this crowd.
Post by: Keyser soze on April 08, 2019, 11:22:10 AM
Time to throw a few recalcitrant digger owners in jail methinks, as they are clearly facilitating these crimes.

It appears to be mostly Komatsus that are being used in these raids so I would start by rounding up all Komatsu owners. Well definitely all owners of machines of 10 tonne or over as a 6 tonne machines don't tend to be used for cash machine raids.
Post by: themac_23 on April 08, 2019, 12:11:16 PM
Just outta curiosity what sort of money would be kept in them machines, ie how often are they filled? will they soon start to run them tighter so less money in the machine and possibly making it less attractive to thieves?
Post by: johnnycool on April 08, 2019, 12:16:35 PM
Quote from: themac_23 on April 08, 2019, 12:11:16 PM
Just outta curiosity what sort of money would be kept in them machines, ie how often are they filled? will they soon start to run them tighter so less money in the machine and possibly making it less attractive to thieves?

Surely if you were a shop owner you'd be emptying the thing at night and publicising it to prevent these morons from wrecking the feckin shop??
Post by: GetOverTheBar on April 08, 2019, 12:20:29 PM

There isn't that much in the ATM's that were robbed for precisely that reason.....they are/have always been marked 'risky' as opposed to the likes sitting on Royal Avenue in Belfast etc. That's why they've had to hit so many so quick....I wonder what political party might 'launch' in the coming months now with a bankroll  :-X

They are filled when the level gets to X amount, like Petrol pumps at shops will automatically trigger the refill.

Amount wise, that's entirely up to the owners of the ATM but I'd hazard a refil anything between 5-20k. Insurance involved etc means it pretty much is a victimless crime - bar the obvious structural and social effect - that is by no means me saying it is fine either. I'm assuming a shop would be insured for that sort of thing, but I would be guessing there.

Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 08, 2019, 12:48:43 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on April 08, 2019, 12:16:35 PM

Surely if you were a shop owner you'd be emptying the thing at night and publicising it to prevent these morons from wrecking the feckin shop??
I know our local shop has a sign up to that effect.
Pretty much every local town around us has been hit at this stage, so I wouldn't hold my breathe as to if that is a good enough deterrent
Post by: MoChara on April 08, 2019, 12:49:02 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on April 08, 2019, 12:20:29 PM

There isn't that much in the ATM's that were robbed for precisely that reason.....they are/have always been marked 'risky' as opposed to the likes sitting on Royal Avenue in Belfast etc. That's why they've had to hit so many so quick....I wonder what political party might 'launch' in the coming months now with a bankroll  :-X

They are filled when the level gets to X amount, like Petrol pumps at shops will automatically trigger the refill.

Amount wise, that's entirely up to the owners of the ATM but I'd hazard a refil anything between 5-20k. Insurance involved etc means it pretty much is a victimless crime - bar the obvious structural and social effect - that is by no means me saying it is fine either. I'm assuming a shop would be insured for that sort of thing, but I would be guessing there.

This Rabbit Hole a thread is getting deeper, we're only a few pages away from Opus Dei and inevitably the illuminati all getting involved lol
Post by: GetOverTheBar on April 08, 2019, 01:00:34 PM
Quote from: MoChara on April 08, 2019, 12:49:02 PM

This Rabbit Hole a thread is getting deeper, we're only a few pages away from Opus Dei and inevitably the illuminati all getting involved lol

;D ;D ;D
Post by: trueblue1234 on April 08, 2019, 01:06:11 PM
I'll know never to bother hiring a digger out the next time I've a bit of work to get done.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 08, 2019, 01:36:22 PM
I see there is CCTV out of the latest theft which shows the thieves dropping the ATM machine into the back of a van through a pre-cut hole in the van roof.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on April 08, 2019, 01:38:43 PM

FFS, It's not a victimless crime though, we f**king pay for it, the insurance company will jack up premiums which will be passed onto us
The people who won't lose out are the insurance company
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 08, 2019, 02:01:35 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on April 08, 2019, 01:38:43 PM

FFS, It's not a victimless crime though, we f**king pay for it, the insurance company will jack up premiums which will be passed onto us
And when we see shop owners taking ATMs out of the walls and into the shops it'll become a right pain in the arse.
Post by: screenexile on April 08, 2019, 02:09:08 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 08, 2019, 02:01:35 PM

And when we see shop owners taking ATMs out of the walls and into the shops it'll become a right pain in the arse.

It already is!!! 3 shop ATM's in our Town at the minute and they all charge 95p per transaction as of the last couple of weeks!!
Post by: trailer on April 08, 2019, 02:28:55 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 08, 2019, 02:09:08 PM

It already is!!! 3 shop ATM's in our Town at the minute and they all charge 95p per transaction as of the last couple of weeks!!

Sure banks charge you for lodging cash. It takes man power to process then move it up and down the country.
It's not a victimless crime and we will all pay for it. Especially if it is difficult to access cash it hits the most vulnerable in our society. That's why I am pissed about it. That's why the police should be making arrests and whatever paramilitary organisation that is facilitating or taxing it should be under political pressure to stop it.
This directly effects rural communities and and it's time it was stopped.

Post by: GetOverTheBar on April 08, 2019, 02:31:58 PM
Yes lads, I fully understand your points about victim less crime and how that is incorrect.

I appreciate that, I also agree.

The police however do not give a shite, it's one more headache....nobody was hurt, nobody was kidnapped, nobody was even so much as shouted at loudly. It's down the list of priorities.

Saying something must be done? Where is the pressure going to come from? Our glorious elected representatives at Stormont? Nobody gives a toss unless they are directly affected by this spate of crime. I'm sorry, but that's the reality of the situation.
Post by: GJL on April 08, 2019, 03:08:51 PM
I don't know about anyone else but I do 99% of my business now cashless. I only use atm once a month at the most.
Post by: Franko on April 08, 2019, 03:41:40 PM
Quote from: trailer on April 08, 2019, 02:28:55 PM

Sure banks charge you for lodging cash. It takes man power to process then move it up and down the country.
It's not a victimless crime and we will all pay for it. Especially if it is difficult to access cash it hits the most vulnerable in our society. That's why I am pissed about it. That's why the police should be making arrests and whatever paramilitary organisation that is facilitating or taxing it should be under political pressure to stop it.

I reckon you're about 2 posts (max) from the inevitable SF mention here.
Post by: trailer on April 08, 2019, 04:15:08 PM
Quote from: Franko on April 08, 2019, 03:41:40 PM
Quote from: trailer on April 08, 2019, 02:28:55 PM

I reckon you're about 2 posts (max) from the inevitable SF mention here.

lol
Even I don't think they are to blame.
Post by: BennyCake on April 08, 2019, 06:35:28 PM
Quote from: GJL on April 08, 2019, 03:08:51 PM
I don't know about anyone else but I do 99% of my business now cashless. I only use atm once a month at the most.

I'm the opposite. I rarely use credit or debit cards, unless it's impossible not to (concert tickets, flights etc). I've never used contactless and I don't intend to start. It's cash all the way for me.
Post by: armaghniac on April 08, 2019, 06:45:42 PM
Dye on the money is the way forward.
There was an expert on the radio at lunchtime today and he implied there might be dye on the money and some of the robbers would get nothing. They should announce that there was invisible dye on the money and put the frightners on the robbers and dissuade copy cat robberies.
Post by: general_lee on April 08, 2019, 07:03:51 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 08, 2019, 06:45:42 PM
There was an expert on the radio at lunchtime today and he implied there might be dye on the money and some of the robbers would get nothing. They should announce that there was invisible dye on the money and put the frightners on the robbers and dissuade copy cat robberies.
There's a guy on Twitter, self described security consultant & surveillance/intelligence specialist. Seems to suggest the ones behind it are three gangs all based along the border. Curious to know how dye would work on new plastic notes?
Post by: armaghniac on April 08, 2019, 07:16:12 PM
Quote from: general_lee on April 08, 2019, 07:03:51 PM
There's a guy on Twitter, self described security consultant & surveillance/intelligence specialist. Seems to suggest the ones behind it are three gangs all based along the border. Curious to know how dye would work on new plastic notes?

I hadn't thought about the plastic notes. I'm sure something will stick to them and stop money "laundering".
Post by: imtommygunn on April 08, 2019, 08:20:58 PM
Just watched a video I saw on Facebook there showing the dungiven one. 4 minutes in total. They fairly wrecked the place too. Scumbags.
Post by: LeoMc on April 09, 2019, 04:45:34 PM
Quote from: GJL on April 08, 2019, 03:08:51 PM
I wouldn't get to the pub much more than that either.
Post by: MoChara on April 11, 2019, 08:52:31 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 08, 2019, 07:16:12 PM

I hadn't thought about the plastic notes. I'm sure something will stick to them and stop money "laundering".

You could use some sort of acid I suppose that'd destroy the notes., not sure if you'd still want to do the bit where you spray the robber with it too lol
Post by: sensethetone on April 11, 2019, 11:13:44 AM
Quote from: MoChara on April 11, 2019, 08:52:31 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 08, 2019, 07:16:12 PM

You could use some sort of acid I suppose that'd destroy the notes., not sure if you'd still want to do the bit where you spray the robber with it too lol

So Police Academy 6
Post by: themac_23 on April 16, 2019, 10:33:47 AM
And another one, Bushmills last night, making fools out of the police
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on April 16, 2019, 12:08:44 PM
Quote from: themac_23 on April 16, 2019, 10:33:47 AM

Ah, but they have a task force of highly trained donut eaters on it.

Currently staking out Upper Arthur street. Sure the bank is next door and the ATM on the far side of the building. What more enticing a target could there be? Only a matter of time...
Post by: GetOverTheBar on April 16, 2019, 12:30:18 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on April 16, 2019, 12:08:44 PM
Quote from: themac_23 on April 16, 2019, 10:33:47 AM

Ah, but they have a task force of highly trained donut eaters on it.

Currently staking out Upper Arthur street. Sure the bank is next door and the ATM on the far side of the building. What more enticing a target could there be? Only a matter of time...

Just looking at the map.....if they have any kind of OCD Newry must not be far away....it's not been targeted yet.

Saying that....the old saying goes, don't sh!t on your doorstep  ;)
Post by: nrico2006 on April 16, 2019, 04:29:53 PM
What year was the first ATM stolen?  How many thefts in total?  Is it likely to be the same gang?
Post by: Over the Bar on April 16, 2019, 07:27:47 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 16, 2019, 04:29:53 PM
What year was the first ATM stolen?  How many thefts in total?  Is it likely to be the same gang?

Not the same gang at all.  Numerous criminal gangs who had never done an ATM job watched on at the ineptitude of the PSNI to even catch a cold and they jumped on the gravy train.  My neighbor was the subject of a violent burglary a few months back and called 999. The cops came out the next day
Post by: downtown on April 19, 2019, 09:21:00 AM
Another 4 done last night , Armagh Antrim and 2 in Kells co Meath
Post by: rrhf on April 25, 2019, 07:40:48 AM
Noticing an increase in free range egg vending machines particularly in rural areas. Could the free range game offer a more sophisticated next step for the cash machine robbers..
Post by: trailer on April 30, 2019, 09:09:07 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-48102259 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-48102259)

Excellent news. Hopefully they catch the remaining gangs shortly as well.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on April 30, 2019, 09:26:46 AM
Quote from: trailer on April 30, 2019, 09:09:07 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-48102259 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-48102259)

There will be a few men lucky to sleep in their own beds tonight now.

Looks like they have been given up  :-X
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on April 30, 2019, 10:04:48 AM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on April 30, 2019, 09:26:46 AM
Quote from: trailer on April 30, 2019, 09:09:07 AM

There will be a few men lucky to sleep in their own beds tonight now.

Looks like they have been given up  :-X

Good - f**k the lot of them in a cell and throw away the key.
Post by: Ambrose on April 06, 2020, 04:09:05 PM
Two remanded in custody in the north after an audacious heist in Dundalk over the weekend.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AUifY9h4ek8
Post by: armaghniac on April 06, 2020, 04:12:44 PM
Surely they have started putting dye into these machines by now?
Post by: JoG2 on April 06, 2020, 04:14:21 PM
Quote from: Ambrose on April 06, 2020, 04:09:05 PM
Two remanded in custody in the north after an audacious heist in Dundalk over the weekend.

why do so many people take videos and pics in portrait?
Post by: BennyCake on April 06, 2020, 04:29:43 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on April 06, 2020, 04:14:21 PM
Quote from: Ambrose on April 06, 2020, 04:09:05 PM

why do so many people take videos and pics in portrait?

Why do so many people take videos and pics?!
Post by: Ambrose on April 08, 2020, 12:42:31 PM
And the main man gets away yet again  ::)
Post by: Taylor on April 08, 2020, 12:49:12 PM
Quote from: Ambrose on April 08, 2020, 12:42:31 PM
And the main man gets away yet again  ::)

??
Post by: dec on February 18, 2022, 08:56:27 PM
https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2022/0218/1281645-daniel-ocallaghan-court/

"O'Callaghan denied all charges but was convicted of 16 offences at the Special Criminal Court today, including theft, money laundering, possession of stolen cash and being involved with a criminal gang.

He was remanded in custody for sentencing next month.

One gang member, Niall Finnegan, has already been jailed for three years, while three brothers - Ciaran, Stephen and Gerard Duffy - have pleaded guilty and are awaiting sentencing."