GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Mayo => Topic started by: Lar Naparka on July 24, 2008, 10:48:30 PM

Title: Mayo's Dream Team: (The best from '89 onwards.)
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 24, 2008, 10:48:30 PM
Me, the bro and a few other Mayo exiles were skulling a few pints one night.
(That doesn’t strictly apply to me as my doc has told me I can drink as much as I like as often as I like- as long as I don’t go over the two pint mark. But I’m digressing here.)
As usual, we got around to our favourite topic of conversation, picking a team to win the All Ireland this year, or indeed any year.
More or less by accident, we set about picking a composite side, going back to 1989. Obviously, the row soon started and the barman had to join in at times, some of the time giving his opinion and sometimes asking us to calm down.
We had great fun and of course the arguments will be picked up again next time we come together.
I wonder if anyone out there would like to join in to pass a bit of time as we count down to our next game.
Furboot obligingly posted the teams and their positions for the All Ireland sides from ’96 onwards on the Mayo Post Mortem and Qualifiers Thread.
I haven’t the line out for the ’89 team to hand as I write this but the following is taken from a photo on the Mayogaa site and people who remember the game will be able to pick out the prominent players.

Back, left to right: Dr. Frank Davey, Seamus Daly, Denis Kearney, Jimmy Burke, Pat Holmes, Kieran Carey, Peter Ford, Sean Maher, Mickey Feeney, Martin Carney, Raymond Dempsey, Gina Carney (Physio), Mick Devanney.
Centre: Christy O'Haire, John Prenty, Frank Noone, Dermot Flanagan, John Maughan, Eugene Lavin, Liam MacHale, Gabriel Irwin, T.J. Kilgallon, Willie
Joe Padden, Kevin Beirne, Charlie Collins, Kevin O'Toole.
Front: John O'Mahony, Brian Kilkelly, Kevin McStay, Miceal Collins, Michael J. Mullen, Jimmy Brown (Capt.), Noel Durkin, Michael Fitzmaurice, John
Finn, Anthony Finnerty, Michael Higgins.
On Ground: Greg Maher, Ronan Mee, Tomas O'Grady, Anthony McGarry.

We included the present panel of course in our selections.
I’m not listing my own selectionfor the present because:
A)   I forgot what I decided as the row was so good
B)   I want to keep this post relatively short in order to let have their say.
Anyone care to have a go?
Title: Re: Mayo's Dream Team: (The best from '89 onwards.)
Post by: moysider on July 24, 2008, 11:42:52 PM

I ll give it a go alright but I want to give it some thought for a day as well. Some players like Ken Mortimor, Cahill , Nallen, Mc Donald  and James Horan will be on everybody's team i expect. Midfield is a bear pit while ff wont have too many nominations.

Tell you what. I ll throw out a team to get the ball rolling but I reserve the right to edit it as undoubtedly I ll feel like revising it.

Clarke.
Mortimor.
Cahill.
Ruane.
Collins
Nallen
Butler
TJ
McHale
WJP
Danger
Horan
O Neill
Burke
Dillon
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2008, 11:46:43 PM
Hate to be a spoil-sports lads, but should this not be on the local pages (and don't deny it's definitely worth a discussion, especially with that fantastic team of '89 that despatched that other fantastic team in the semis  ;))
Post by: stephenite on July 24, 2008, 11:58:50 PM
Alright - my tuppence worth with the right to revise it when I think of who I've forgotten.

Clarke
Mortimer
Cahill
Flannagan
Finn
Nallen
Holmes
McHale
Brady
WJP (not convinced by this selection in this position, but cannot think of where to put him, maybe go for Pat Harte here)
Ciaran Mac
Horan
O'Neill
Dillon
McStay

IT's a bit rushed, there'll be changes made I'm thinking

Post by: moysider on July 25, 2008, 12:16:11 AM

Hmmmm. Have nt picked Brady or Colm Mac but can hardly drop anybody from 8 - 15. Not happy about it. Knew midfield was going to be a hard one. I also believe Stanton and Brogan could have been massive players if only .........  Tony Corcoran' s career ended by injury. And of course Ger Geraghty could have been around for some of this.My favorite line is my half b line. 2 wing men carved from the same rock. Good  hard rural footballers Mayo dont normally  have [and when they have dont pick, if they can help it] and badly need.
Post by: moysider on July 25, 2008, 12:19:52 AM

Stephenite, is that Colm Mac or MacDonald your putting in at 11?
Post by: stephenite on July 25, 2008, 12:21:42 AM
Ah yeah - Liam is the only automatic choice for centrefield I'd say, had to go for Brady myself but I'd say I might be the only one. Just thought about my forward line, JohnCasey really shouldn't be there at all, Dillon goes to 14 , our corner forward All Star from 1985 slots in at the top of the left.
Post by: stephenite on July 25, 2008, 12:23:06 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 25, 2008, 12:19:52 AM

Stephenite, is that Colm Mac or MacDonald your putting in at 11.

Oh jesus it's Ciaran, Colm Mac was a grand tough athlete but his inability to kick a football consistently goes against him for this team
Post by: moysider on July 25, 2008, 12:41:10 AM

Know what you mean but I have great time for Colm Mac and what he gave a team. I wish we had him around now. Serious engine but management could nt recognise when he ran out of gas [ last 10 mins. and no wonder with the ground he covered, it was then most of his errors were made]. Also playing him at 11 was a gaffe. Nowhere else but in Mayo would you have your no 11 as 3rd midfielder, or as he played more usually as a sweeper, and nobody else take the 40. It contributed greatly to our defeats in 96/97 as 2 journeymen of the county game - McManus and O Flaherta were made look like all time greats.That was nt Mac s fault but instead was a grave managerial/tactical error. I prefer my 11 s to play like Greg Blaney - the best I ve seen. Ciaran Mac s role I always felt should have come with a 13/15 rather than 11 on his back. Concede the 40 and there always trouble.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 25, 2008, 01:37:58 AM
Okay this is gonna be far from easy. I'll pick a best team rather than a best fifteen if you get my drift. Basically there are tons of midfielders that are in Mayo's best xv and you could put McHale at full-forward, WJP at 10 etc to get them in the team.
What I'm gonna do is pick a team that I would like to go out in the morning playing in a cohesive way.

Here goes

David Clarke

Kenneth Mortimer  Kevin Cahill  Keith Higgins

Peter Butler  James Nallen  Noel Connelly (captain)

Liam McHale  Willie Joe Padden

James Horan  Ciaran McDonald  Noel Durkin

Kevin O'Neill  Alan Dillon  Kevin McStay.

Three excellent man markers in the full-back line with Higgins able to follow a man out the field if its a two man inside line they are playing against. Two extremely tenacious wing-backs with Connelly being a pure inspirational leader and then Nallen in the middle, first name on the team sheet.

McHale and Padden would take on and beat arguably any other midfield pairing of the last 20 years.
A fine forward line then. Horan and Durkin well able to chip in with two or three points a game and Durkin would be a real nightmare to mark.
The inside line are three of the trickiest players I've ever seen and who better to pull the strings for such a forward line than McDanger. Could you imagine what a player he'd look like with players like this showing for his passes?!

But there's an awful lot you'd find hard to leave out. With that in mind how would this second XV get on if they took on the above team?

Peter Burke

Gary Ruane  Peter Ford  Dermot Flanagan

Pat Holmes  TJ Kilgallon  David Heaney

David Brady  Pat Fallon

Trevor Mortimer  Colm McManamon  Ronan McGarrity

Conor Mortimer  John Casey  Maurice Sheridan.

It'd be a good game!
Post by: Bod Mor on July 25, 2008, 01:50:27 AM
Peter Burke
Kenneth Mortimer
Kevin Cahill
Dermot Flanagan
Noel Connelly
James Nallen
TJ Kilgallon
Willie Joe Padden
Liam McHale
Colm McManamon
Ciarán McDonald
James Horan
Kevin O'Neill
John Casey
Conor Mortimer
Post by: Barney on July 25, 2008, 08:03:16 AM
feck you Lar Naparka - what is it about Mayo people and picking teams. I met a fellow Mayo man in Barcelona last December. We were out for the night. A basin of drink, and 5 o'clock in the morning we were heading for the scratcher. He turns to me and says before we finish up we have to pick the Mayo team for 2008. I got to bed at 8!

Anyway reserving the right to edit, it is early, and this is a quick stab (and i'll try and set up a poll where we can vote for the Mayo Posters team 89 - Date)

Peter Burke

Kenneth Mortimer                      Peter Forde               Fergal Costello

Peter Butler                              Jimmy Nallen              Noel Connelly

Liam McHale                              David Brady

James Horan                             Ciaran Mc                   Alan Dillon

Conor Mort                               Jimmy Burke               Kevin O'Neill

I've taken players on the merits of their entire career with the green and red and not just their performances from 1989.

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 25, 2008, 08:43:56 AM
Is Cora Staunton not worth a place in there somewhere :P
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 25, 2008, 09:02:41 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 25, 2008, 08:43:56 AM
She'd definitely be considered if we were playing Armagh. I think she'd run the jocks off Francie Bellew. ;D
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 25, 2008, 09:17:25 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 25, 2008, 09:02:41 AM
She'd definitely be considered if we were playing Armagh. I think she'd run the jocks off Francie Bellew. ;D

Ye lar cora would take Francie allright
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 25, 2008, 09:28:17 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 25, 2008, 09:17:25 AM

Yeeeuucch!  The image of Cora taking Francie has just made me nearly lose my breakfast :o
Post by: moysider on July 25, 2008, 10:40:51 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 25, 2008, 09:28:17 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 25, 2008, 09:17:25 AM

Yeeeuucch!  The image of Cora taking Francie has just made me nearly lose my breakfast :o

Yeeeuuch is right crossbar.  Mayo keep any progeny that might result though. A bit of an extreme way of sorting our fullback problem in 20years time.
Post by: ildanach on July 25, 2008, 12:34:00 PM
                 Clarke

K Mortimer  K Cahill  K Higgins

P Butler      J Nallen  N Connelly

L McHale  WJP

Colm Mc   C McDonald  N Durkin

K O'Neill  M Sheridan  J Horan

All though Sheridan wnould not have had the best work ethic i had to put him in there for his free taking ability. Ya would kill for any 2 of those front 6 to be playing for us now
Post by: kevmy on July 25, 2008, 02:02:00 PM
Going to throw a wobbly here and not pick Mac at 11

Burke

Mortimer  Cahill  Flannagan

K Higgins   Nallen   Coneely

McHale   Fallon

Sheridan  WJP    Horan

Conor   Mac   McStay

Unlucky to lose out are DB, KONeill, Forde, Costello, Dillon, TJ, Pateen Holmes and Heaney
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 25, 2008, 07:54:06 PM
                       D Clarke
K Mortimer   K Cahill   K Higgins
J Finn            J Nallen    N Connelly
         L McHale     P Fallon
J Horan       WJ Padden    N Durkin
A Dillon    C McDonald  C Mortimer

It is head wrecking, isn’t it? You could come back in an hour’s time and start all over again!
Even deciding the criteria to use is difficult; do you go by sheer talent alone or by length of dedicated service or by the ability to provide leadership and inspiration to colleagues?
Some like Padden and Nallen possessed all three qualities. For me, Kevin O’Neill and David Brady lose out because they lost so many of their productive years through injury or because of managerial whims. Trevor Mortimer would have strong claims by now but his career is being continually hindered by injury. Conor may not be a good all-rounder but he does what he can do quite well and that’s clocking over points. For his ability to score consistently, I’d rate him in front of the classier but less productive McStay.
Anyway, Id best stop now or else I’ll go back and start all over again.
Post by: dodo on July 26, 2008, 12:29:08 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 25, 2008, 07:54:06 PM
                       D Clarke
K Mortimer   K Cahill   K Higgins
J Finn            J Nallen    N Connelly
         L McHale     P Fallon
J Horan       WJ Padden    N Durkin
A Dillon    C McDonald  C Mortimer

This would be very close to my selection too. My one difference would be Keith Higgins for Connelly, and Dermot Flanagan in at number 4. T'is awfull hard to be any way sure though. The more you think about it the less certain you get.
Post by: ONeill on July 26, 2008, 12:02:21 PM
Surely the permed Finnerty has to be included for his moment of fame in '89.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 26, 2008, 01:31:15 PM
QuoteThis would be very close to my selection too. My one difference would be Keith Higgins for Connelly, and Dermot Flanagan in at number 4. T'is awfull hard to be any way sure though. The more you think about it the less certain you get.

In their heyday, I think Mortimer, Cahill and Flanagan would have matched any FB line in the land. Certainly, I have never seen a better one in the green and red at any time.
I left Flanagan out of my selection because I felt he stayed on too long for his own good. His lack of pace in his last years became evident and it was sad to see him being roasted by opponents he’d once have eaten without salt.
I can’t quite remember the occasion, but we were playing Kerry in Croker and he was marking Gene Fitzgerald.
Genie was the most diminutive player imaginable and swaggered about with a very affected gait; chest out and shoulders back, but he was a flyer and he tormented Flanagan from the start. Dermot had to resort to fouling and giving away frees. It was sad to see him just a shadow of his former self.
I picked Noel Connelly because he had the leadership quality in abundance and when he moved into the attack he could clip as point or give a pass with accuracy.  He also had the cop on to move back to his primary position when his pass was delivered.
Post by: Cllr Willie Power on July 26, 2008, 02:39:50 PM

John Madden

2                                    3                            4
Kenneth Mortimer               Kevin Cahill               Keith Higgins

5                                    6                            7
David Heaney                     James Nallen             John Finn

8                   9
                               TJ Kilgallon       Pat Fallon

10                                    11                          12
Alan Dillon                         Ciaran McDonald         Noel Durkan

13                                    14                          15
Kevin O'Neill                      John Casey                Colm MacManamon

16   David Clarke
17   Peter Butler
18   Willie Joe Padden
19   Michael Collins
20   Trevor Mortimer
21   James Horan
22   Maurice Sheridan
23   Peter Forde
24   Aidan Higgins
25   Fergal Costello
26   Dermot Flanagan
27   Noel Connelly
28   Ronan McGarritty
29   Pierce Hanley
30   David Brady

Before the complaints start, I've picked 30 players who I think that at their peak are the 30 best that I've seen playing for my county since 1989. I doubt many agree but I couldn't care less really, it's my selection and my opinion.  ;D
Post by: dodo on July 26, 2008, 02:48:03 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 26, 2008, 01:31:15 PM
QuoteThis would be very close to my selection too. My one difference would be Keith Higgins for Connelly, and Dermot Flanagan in at number 4. T'is awfull hard to be any way sure though. The more you think about it the less certain you get.

In their heyday, I think Mortimer, Cahill and Flanagan would have matched any FB line in the land. Certainly, I have never seen a better one in the green and red at any time.
I left Flanagan out of my selection because I felt he stayed on too long for his own good. His lack of pace in his last years became evident and it was sad to see him being roasted by opponents he'd once have eaten without salt.
I can't quite remember the occasion, but we were playing Kerry in Croker and he was marking Gene Fitzgerald.
Genie was the most diminutive player imaginable and swaggered about with a very affected gait; chest out and shoulders back, but he was a flyer and he tormented Flanagan from the start. Dermot had to resort to fouling and giving away frees. It was sad to see him just a shadow of his former self.
I picked Noel Connelly because he had the leadership quality in abundance and when he moved into the attack he could clip as point or give a pass with accuracy.  He also had the cop on to move back to his primary position when his pass was delivered.

He definitely stayed on a bit longer than most alright but was good enough to be picked all the same. A servant to the county might be another way to put it. His starting and the subsequent litany of changes that followed his substitution in the 1997 All Ireland final was a huge chance that backfired on Maughan. In his prime he had the strength and pace over most corner forwards and read the game very well.
Connelly had a real winners attitude and got the very best out of his God given talents. Maybe I am allowing personal opinion shadow my judgement but I would pick Keith in his stead, even though he is only a few years playing for Mayo and primarily at corner back. It's a shame he has not got the opportunity to shine at wing back yet.

My other main point of indecision is in relation to midfield, maybe the reliable and enduring TJ Kilgallon deserves selection ahead of Pat Fallon who had a relatively short stint in the senior set up.
Post by: mayo51 on July 26, 2008, 03:00:49 PM
Quote from: Cllr Willie Power on July 26, 2008, 02:39:50 PM

John Madden

Kenneth Mortimer               Kevin Cahill               Keith Higgins

David Heaney                     James Nallen             John Finn

8                   9
                               TJ Kilgallon       Pat Fallon

Alan Dillon                         Ciaran McDonald         Noel Durkan

16   David Clarke
17   Peter Butler
18   Willie Joe Padden
19   Michael Collins
20   Trevor Mortimer
21   James Horan
22   Maurice Sheridan
23   Peter Forde
24   Aidan Higgins
25   Fergal Costello
26   Dermot Flanagan
27   Noel Connelly
28   Ronan McGarritty
29   Pierce Hanley
30   David Brady

Before the complaints start, I've picked 30 players who I think that at their peak are the 30 best that I've seen playing for my county since 1989. I doubt many agree but I couldn't care less really, it's my selection and my opinion.  ;D
no liam mchale?
Post by: stephenite on July 31, 2008, 05:13:01 AM

John Madden

8                   9

16   David Clarke
17   Peter Butler
18   Willie Joe Padden
19   Michael Collins
20   Trevor Mortimer
21   James Horan
22   Maurice Sheridan
23   Peter Forde
24   Aidan Higgins
25   Fergal Costello
26   Dermot Flanagan
27   Noel Connelly
28   Ronan McGarritty
29   Pierce Hanley
30   David Brady

Your opinion is wrong - John Maden wouldn't even make the best Ballycastle team since 1989.
Post by: theskull1 on July 31, 2008, 07:36:18 AM
(http://www.bbc.co.uk/gloucestershire/festivals/lit_fest/2004/dom_joly/tubs_body_150x180.jpg)

NOT LOCAL? This is a local shop for local people....theres nothing for you here  :)
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 08, 2008, 09:53:15 PM
1. Clarke
2. K Mortimer
3. Cahill
4. Flanagan
5. Heaney
6. Nallen
7. Connelly
8. McHale
9. Fallon
10. Colm Mc
11. Ciaran Mc
12. Horan
13. Dillon
14. Sheridan
15. O'Neill

I notice not much have Nestor in there on their teams! :P

If I could I would have picked Brogan and Dempsey in the full forward line as I still rate them and O'Neill the best certainly club full forward line I've seen.

I was only 2 in 89, so apologies to those ones who didn't make it from that time.
Post by: gaagaa on August 18, 2008, 01:39:29 AM
ciaran mcdonald couldnt score on a slate - never counted in any ai final he played in
wjp a better pllayer any day of the week
Post by: gaagaa on August 18, 2008, 01:40:54 AM
Quote from: kevmy on July 25, 2008, 02:02:00 PM
Going to throw a wobbly here and not pick Mac at 11
Burke  ;D ;D ;D ;D

Mortimer  Cahill  Flannagan ;D ;D ;D ;D

K Higgins   Nallen   Coneely

McHale   Fallon

Sheridan  WJP    Horan

Conor   Mac   McStay

Unlucky to lose out are DB, KONeill, Forde, Costello, Dillon, TJ, Pateen Holmes and Heaney
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 27, 2010, 05:42:34 PM
1. Gabriel Irwin
2. Kenneth Mortiomer
3. Kevin Cahill
4. Dermot Flanagan
5. Keith Higgins
6. David Heaney
7. Noel Connelly
8. David Brady
9. Liam McHale
10. Colm McManamon
11. Ciaran McDonald
12. Micheal Fitzmaurice
13. Kevin O'Neill
14. John Casey
15. Kevin McStay
Post by: mayo51 on September 27, 2010, 05:48:24 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 27, 2010, 05:42:34 PM
1. Gabriel Irwin
2. Kenneth Mortiomer
3. Kevin Cahill
4. Dermot Flanagan
5. Keith Higgins
6. David Heaney
7. Noel Connelly
8. David Brady
9. Liam McHale
10. Colm McManamon
11. Ciaran McDonald
12. Micheal Fitzmaurice
13. Kevin O'Neill
14. John Casey
15. Kevin McStay
what happened to james nallen or james horan?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 27, 2010, 05:53:18 PM
Quote from: mayo51 on September 27, 2010, 05:48:24 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 27, 2010, 05:42:34 PM
1. Gabriel Irwin
2. Kenneth Mortiomer
3. Kevin Cahill
4. Dermot Flanagan
5. Keith Higgins
6. David Heaney
7. Noel Connelly
8. David Brady
9. Liam McHale
10. Colm McManamon
11. Ciaran McDonald
12. Micheal Fitzmaurice
13. Kevin O'Neill
14. John Casey
15. Kevin McStay
what happened to james nallen or james horan?

Well I have Fitzmaurice for the frees and I want to keep McManamon and McDonald.
I could easily have Jimmy Nallen as a sub for either Cahill or Heaney
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 14, 2015, 02:59:44 AM

John Madden

8                   9

16   David Clarke
17   Peter Butler
18   Willie Joe Padden
19   Michael Collins
20   Trevor Mortimer
21   James Horan
22   Maurice Sheridan
23   Peter Forde
24   Aidan Higgins
25   Fergal Costello
26   Dermot Flanagan
27   Noel Connelly
28   Ronan McGarritty
29   Pierce Hanley
30   David Brady

Not even space for the Mort on the bench?
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 14, 2015, 03:04:10 AM
1) Peter Burke

2) Ken Mort
3) Cahill
4) Higgins

5) Lee Keegan
6) Pat Holmes
7) Noel Connelly

8) Liam McHale
9) Willie Joe Padden

10) James Horan
11) Billie Joe Padden
12) Trevor Mortimer

13) Con Mort
14) Aidan O'Shea
15) McDonald

Quick pick, sorry if I forgot anyone
Post by: Tubberman on August 14, 2015, 09:17:55 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on August 14, 2015, 03:04:10 AM
1) Peter Burke

2) Ken Mort
3) Cahill
4) Higgins

5) Lee Keegan
6) Pat Holmes
7) Noel Connelly

8) Liam McHale
9) Willie Joe Padden

10) James Horan
11) Billie Joe Padden
12) Trevor Mortimer

13) Con Mort
14) Aidan O'Shea
15) McDonald

My God....

You have Pat Holmes ahead of James Nallen?
Billie Joe Padden at CHF? Instead of McDonald?
McDonald at 15 instead of Cillian?

They're the glaring ones, then you have Trevor Mort at 12 instead of Dillon for example?
Post by: mayo 4 eva on August 14, 2015, 09:33:42 AM
1.  David Clarke

2.  Kenny Mortimer
3.  Kevin Cahill
4.  Kieth Higgins

5.  Lee Keegan
6.  James Nallen
7.  Noel Connelly

8.  Liam Mchale
9.  David Brady

10.  Willie Joe Padden
11.  Ciaran McDonald
12.  James Horan

13.  kevin O Neill
14.  Aidan O Shea
15.  Conor Mortimer

Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 14, 2015, 10:44:30 AM
Anyone know the where abouts of Barney?
Post by: Tubberman on August 14, 2015, 11:14:06 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on August 14, 2015, 10:44:30 AM

Did he set up his own blog under another name by any chance? Did he not disappear around the time mayogaablog began?
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 14, 2015, 11:14:26 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on August 14, 2015, 09:17:55 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on August 14, 2015, 03:04:10 AM
1) Peter Burke

2) Ken Mort
3) Cahill
4) Higgins

5) Lee Keegan
6) Pat Holmes
7) Noel Connelly

8) Liam McHale
9) Willie Joe Padden

10) James Horan
11) Billie Joe Padden
12) Trevor Mortimer

13) Con Mort
14) Aidan O'Shea
15) McDonald

My God....

You have Pat Holmes ahead of James Nallen? Sorry he complety slipped my mind.

Billie Joe Padden at CHF? Instead of McDonald?
McDonald at 15 instead of Cillian?

Ciarán McDonald > Cillian O'Connor IMO

They're the glaring ones, then you have Trevor Mort at 12 instead of Dillon for example? That's probably just Me being biased
Post by: muppet on August 14, 2015, 11:20:02 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on August 14, 2015, 11:14:06 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on August 14, 2015, 10:44:30 AM

Did he set up his own blog under another name by any chance? Did he not disappear around the time mayogaablog began?

I don't know if that is Barney. He had a great correspondence with John Maughan and then the PRO of the County Board contacted him through the internet with an hilarious post.

It is not the same without him. Although Farr goes some way to replace Barney's sense of impending doom.
Post by: moysider on August 15, 2015, 12:07:56 AM

Tis late so a quick pick. What a difference 7 years make!

Clarke
Mortimor
Cahill
Higgins
Keegan
Nallen
Boyle
McHale
Parsons
McLoughlin
McDonald
Horan
O Connor
Aidan
Dillon
Post by: Never beat the deeler on August 17, 2015, 10:41:39 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 15, 2015, 12:07:56 AM

Tis late so a quick pick. What a difference 7 years make!

Clarke
Mortimor
Cahill
Higgins
Keegan
Nallen
Boyle
McHale
Parsons
McLoughlin
McDonald
Horan
O Connor
Aidan
Dillon

Strong team, the only one I'd take issue with is Parsons. While a fine footballer, I don't think he has done enough yet to merit inclusion.