GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: SCFC on March 12, 2017, 02:35:56 PM

Title: ACFL Division 1A
Post by: SCFC on March 12, 2017, 02:35:56 PM
Heath 5-12 Ballyroan 0-9
Title: Re: ACFL Division 1A
Post by: Heshs Umpire on March 12, 2017, 06:43:32 PM
O'Dempseys beat Portlaoise by three points.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on March 12, 2017, 09:06:12 PM
Graiguecullen 3.10
Arles/Killeen  2.9

http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/03/12/wins-graiguecullen-odempseys-heath-division-1/
Post by: SCFC on March 12, 2017, 11:28:13 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on March 12, 2017, 06:43:32 PM
O'Dempseys beat Portlaoise by three points.
Conor Meredith back too. Not rejoining Laois squad from what I hear though.
Post by: Helix on March 13, 2017, 11:45:28 AM
Ballyroan were poor. Missing a couple all the same as was the Heath. 2 reds and should have another conceded another 3-4 goals only for a few good saves and poor shot selection. No doubt Ballyroan will be well improved come championship.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on March 13, 2017, 09:37:04 PM
Missing 10
Post by: town1980 on March 14, 2017, 12:36:48 PM
good to have the club games back up and running,,,,portlaoise were poor over in killenard but missing a hell of amount of fellas also,,,wins for heath,,and graigcullen,,,,strad v joes ill go for joes there
Post by: O moore parklife on March 14, 2017, 06:30:01 PM
Quote from: town1980 on March 14, 2017, 12:36:48 PM
good to have the club games back up and running,,,,portlaoise were poor over in killenard but missing a hell of amount of fellas also,,,wins for heath,,and graigcullen,,,,strad v joes ill go for joes there
Was at it myself bad conditions think o dempseys were down a few as well. Lillis and brody were the 2 missing of note. 1 more loss and it's a streak 😉
Post by: Don Draper on March 14, 2017, 06:34:55 PM
Quote from: O moore parklife on March 14, 2017, 06:30:01 PM
Was at it myself bad conditions think o dempseys were down a few as well. Lillis and brody were the 2 missing of note. 1 more loss and it's a streak 😉
Ouch
Post by: SCFC on March 17, 2017, 11:21:27 AM
Quote from: O moore parklife on March 14, 2017, 06:30:01 PM
O'Dempseys weren't missing anyone significant bar Stephen O'Leary.
Post by: O moore parklife on March 17, 2017, 03:57:33 PM
Could name 3 more but I'm sure you did your homework
Post by: SCFC on March 17, 2017, 08:04:28 PM
Quote from: O moore parklife on March 17, 2017, 03:57:33 PM
Could name 3 more but I'm sure you did your homework
The key word is significant. I could name 10 lads they were missing but Stevie was the only decent one. Edit: Shane Nerney! Two then.
Post by: ollie12 on March 18, 2017, 02:20:33 PM
Brian nugent also missing. That's three starters o dempseys were missing.
Post by: town1980 on March 18, 2017, 08:01:36 PM
Anyone at the other league games???
Post by: SCFC on March 26, 2017, 03:10:21 PM
Arles/Killeen 3-4    Stradbally 7-11
B Abbey 0-6 Graigue 2-8
Portlaoise 2-11 The Heath 3-10
Joseph's 2-8 O'Dempseys 0-10

Post by: redsetanta on March 27, 2017, 10:26:34 AM
That's a bit of a trimming for Killeen!
Post by: town1980 on March 27, 2017, 10:32:48 AM
jeez big win for stradbally there,,graig and the joes 2 out of two,,i was at the portlaoise game lilis got a bad injury the ankle it was,,portlaoise for me should have won the game two mistakes cost them one from mickey noal and the other from young seale going across the goal and being dispossed,,but that happens
Post by: The Monument Road on March 27, 2017, 10:56:26 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on March 27, 2017, 10:26:34 AM
That's a bit of a trimming for Killeen! 8) :-*Cumuppence
Post by: town1980 on March 27, 2017, 04:46:15 PM
good reports on the club games on  laois Today site
Post by: SCFC on April 02, 2017, 10:16:34 PM
Ballyroan Abbey 2 - 4 O'Dempseys 2 - 7   
St Josephs 2-9 Arles Killeen 1 - 5       
The Heath 1 - 5 Graiguecullen   0 - 12   
Post by: town1980 on April 03, 2017, 09:34:38 PM
Any reports on the games??
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on April 09, 2017, 11:30:21 PM
Div. 1A

Arles/Killeen       1-13
Portlaoise           3-12

Graiguecullen      0-9
St Joseph's         0-12

O'Dempseys        0-14
The Heath           0-10

Stradbally            0-16
Ballyroan Abbey   4-10

Post by: dangerousdanmagrue on April 11, 2017, 03:23:34 PM
Have to say Ballyroan were very impressive against Stradbally. Seem to have a few of the abbeyleix lads on board too so could be a push to come this year. Have to say I was seriously impressed by Eoin Reilly, looked every bit a county footballer marking lads who have been in and around the county set up.
Post by: redsetanta on April 11, 2017, 04:05:49 PM
With both Fleming and Rowland ahead of him in the hurling maybe he can be tempted to cross over!
Post by: Keyser Söze on April 12, 2017, 09:21:32 PM
Quote from: dangerousdanmagrue on April 11, 2017, 03:23:34 PM
Have to say Ballyroan were very impressive against Stradbally. Seem to have a few of the abbeyleix lads on board too so could be a push to come this year. Have to say I was seriously impressed by Eoin Reilly, looked every bit a county footballer marking lads who have been in and around the county set up.

Welcome aboard Eoin!
Post by: BallyroanAbu on April 12, 2017, 09:50:40 PM
He was good alright only second game of football,  we will see if Ballyroan are any good in the league.  Stay up and there is something get relegated and we're not as far forward as we think we are.   Prob another depleted side next week agains Arles .
Post by: ollie12 on April 15, 2017, 09:15:13 PM
O'Dempseys beat Graigue this evening. Think it finished 2-16 to 2-08. Mark Timmons came on and scored two goals for Graigue.
Post by: Helix on April 15, 2017, 09:43:16 PM
Quote from: ollie12 on April 15, 2017, 09:15:13 PM
O'Dempseys beat Graigue this evening. Think it finished 2-16 to 2-08. Mark Timmons came on and scored two goals for Graigue.

Good win for O'Dempseys seem to be motoring well. Heath beat Stradbally 1.13 to 13. Both sides missing good few. Good to see Timmons back on field and contributing well.
Post by: BallyroanAbbey on April 16, 2017, 11:42:00 AM
Killen bet us by 4 last night, some of players positions were questionable to say the least
Post by: BallyroanAbu on April 16, 2017, 12:48:11 PM
BA who was where
Post by: dangerousdanmagrue on April 18, 2017, 04:07:58 PM
O'dempseys looking very impressive, be interesting to see now if they can carry this through to the championship.
Post by: SCFC on April 22, 2017, 01:03:44 PM
Quote from: dangerousdanmagrue on April 18, 2017, 04:07:58 PM
O'dempseys looking very impressive, be interesting to see now if they can carry this through to the championship.
They're always decent in the league to be fair. I can see them getting to the last 8 of the c'ship comfortably.
Post by: town1980 on April 22, 2017, 02:23:34 PM
yes they are and were relegated the year they got to the league final,,but i think thats the scare they needed its div one they are operating now and there results have been impressive
Post by: SCFC on April 22, 2017, 10:45:02 PM
Quote from: town1980 on April 22, 2017, 02:23:34 PM
yes they are and were relegated the year they got to the league final,,but i think thats the scare they needed its div one they are operating now and there results have been impressive
Having no county players is a huge plus.
Post by: SCFC on April 30, 2017, 10:48:31 PM
Was up in The Heath this evening. Heath 0-10 Joes 0-10.
Very boring game. Both teams operating defensive systems. No stand out players really. Denis Booth solid for The Heath at centre back. Their full back line was decent too. James Smith had some good moments for Joes in midfield.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 22, 2017, 12:59:00 AM
Some results from the two div's this weekend...                                                                                                                                        Div 1A League Table this week

(http://i68.tinypic.com/dd0t41.jpg)           (http://i67.tinypic.com/53s2f6.jpg)
Post by: Unlaoised on May 23, 2017, 11:25:47 AM
Are county player able to play the next day?

As much as I like to see them play we can't afford any injuries to the likes of Begley Kingston O'Carroll etc....
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 23, 2017, 03:26:25 PM
They say it's at the discretion of management if they can play or not....
Post by: Don Draper on May 29, 2017, 10:41:18 AM
The Portlaoise team v Stradbally over the weekend was much changed to the one you'd normally see, even for the league.

PORTLAOISE: Richard Downey; David Holland, Ronan Molloy, Darragh McAuley; Chris Finn, Dean Cullen, Jack Brown; Ciarán McEvoy, Adrian Kelly; Conor Dunphy, Benny Carroll, Shane Smyth; Ricky Maher, Scott Lawless, Kevin Fitzpatrick. Subs: Aaron Rafter for Cullen (36mins)

Post by: SCFC on May 29, 2017, 03:09:03 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on May 29, 2017, 10:41:18 AM
The Portlaoise team v Stradbally over the weekend was much changed to the one you'd normally see, even for the league.

PORTLAOISE: Richard Downey; David Holland, Ronan Molloy, Darragh McAuley; Chris Finn, Dean Cullen, Jack Brown; Ciarán McEvoy, Adrian Kelly; Conor Dunphy, Benny Carroll, Shane Smyth; Ricky Maher, Scott Lawless, Kevin Fitzpatrick. Subs: Aaron Rafter for Cullen (36mins)
Some of them lads won't make the Portlaoise intermediate team for championship.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 12, 2017, 07:40:22 PM
Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 1A   

The Heath 0-13 
O'Dempseys 1-12

St Joseph's 2-11
Graiguecullen 1-14

Portlaoise 2-11
Arles-Killeen 0-6

Ballyroan Abbey 1-9
Stradbally 2-13

http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/06/11/injury-time-points-salvage-draw-st-josephs/
Post by: town1980 on June 12, 2017, 08:52:24 PM
Looking like the joes and o Dempseys going threw,,,ballyroan look like the ones to go down but graigue the Heath and Killeen in the mix,,, looked like a good game between Joesphs  and graigue
Post by: The Monument Road on June 12, 2017, 10:19:35 PM
Quote from: town1980 on June 12, 2017, 08:52:24 PM
Looking like the joes and o Dempseys going threw,,,ballyroan look like the ones to go down but graigue the Heath and Killeen in the mix,,, looked like a good game between Joesphs  and graigue
The opposite...more like a scramble then a football match although St Josephs were missing a host of their best players due to summer travel fever...
Post by: BallyroanAbbey on June 12, 2017, 10:56:25 PM
Would say that we mightn't see top division football in Ballyroan for a while with relegation likely and the pitch torn to shreds after the festival
Post by: Don Draper on June 13, 2017, 04:07:51 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbbey on June 12, 2017, 10:56:25 PM
Would say that we mightn't see top division football in Ballyroan for a while with relegation likely and the pitch torn to shreds after the festival
How bad is the damage? A calculated gamble allowing such an event on in your field mid season, any backlash expected?
Post by: The Monument Road on June 15, 2017, 10:36:24 PM
To nights results.

Graiguecullen     2 - 12 O'Dempseys 1 - 8    
Ballyroan Abbey 1 - 8 Kileen 0-13
Stradbally 0 - 10 The Heath 0-12

Kileen and Ballyroan relegated
Josephs through to  final with a ODs,Portlaoise and Graigue fighting for the second spot
Post by: town1980 on June 15, 2017, 10:48:13 PM
Portlaoise to qualify I think
Post by: O moore parklife on June 16, 2017, 12:14:03 AM
Quote from: town1980 on June 15, 2017, 10:48:13 PM
Portlaoise to qualify I think
Ah good man you have surfaced after being shown up as the liar you are. Any comments on the peter o leary lies you told ???.
Post by: town1980 on June 16, 2017, 09:05:32 AM
hahaha good man,,sure what i have been saying all year has happened,,laois to win on sunday but get hammered in two weeks time,,short summer
Post by: O moore parklife on June 16, 2017, 09:30:11 AM
Wow who needs critics and opposition when you have "supporters" like this. If you light a few candles maybe wicklow will win and you can sit in the corner of the manhatten mixer slobbering on yourself saying I told you so. Just make sure you don't get dribble on your mick lillis for president t shirt. Run along there now we will hear from you in 2 weeks. Ah faceless scurge.
Apologies to all people who actually use this forum for discussion and supporting laois
See ye in aughrim Laois abú
Post by: town1980 on June 16, 2017, 09:47:55 AM
only my opinion you eejit, you just sit at home while i watch it  all sitting in the corner of the mixer as you say,,i dont think you like the little fact that that happened ???or has been happening all year
Post by: The Monument Road on June 16, 2017, 03:22:40 PM
Ah lads ACFL Div1A is the heading on this topic.
Post by: SCFC on June 22, 2017, 10:36:34 AM
Heath can relegate Killeen tonight. O'Dempseys need a win over Strad to keep ahead of Portlaoise.
Post by: The Monument Road on June 22, 2017, 04:12:24 PM
Quote from: SCFC on June 22, 2017, 10:36:34 AM
Heath can relegate Killeen tonight. O'Dempseys need a win over Strad to keep ahead of Portlaoise.
I think Kileen are in trouble anyway. Even if they win their remaining games and the Heath lose theirs the score difference between them is huge. I could be incorrect on that
Post by: town1980 on June 22, 2017, 11:15:51 PM
O Dempsey s bottlers my town to get over graig and win the league
Post by: The Monument Road on June 23, 2017, 02:29:33 PM
Quote from: town1980 on June 22, 2017, 11:15:51 PM
A jasus Town1880 we could all throw similar comments like that around. Such as, Portlaoise bottled the ten in a row or that one of Portlaoise's marquee players bottled a 14 meter free in front of goals in a club leinster final a couple of years back. We could say Portlaoise bottled both league games against O Dempseys this year. Their are many reasons why teams lose games but to say they bottled is silly, do you agree Town????
Post by: O moore parklife on June 23, 2017, 02:51:35 PM
Bottling is when you have a full team and don't produce a performance.
Not when there is 7 first team players missing and 4 junior c players jump in to give a team a hand out.
Very easy to be vocal while supporting a club which would never have to face a scenario  like that.
They did themselves and club proud.
I'd say the town 1980 would be the first to cut the back of his own club and players.
If they  get to the final best of luck to the players on the portlaoise team.
Not to the faceless keyboard warrior slobbering on himself in the corner of the mixer
Post by: town1980 on June 23, 2017, 08:45:16 PM
Sure lads they did bottle it they needed to beat a shite graig side and a depleted strand side what's the problem??? Remember it's only my opinion ;D
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 24, 2017, 12:28:08 AM
When did they need to beat a "shite graigue side", and what right do you have to call any club side "shite" when they all train as hard as ye but don't have half the pick of players ye have. Portlaoise are a class club but clowns like you destroy their name and promote hatred among the other clubs...

Cop on and get off this forum, go back to Hogan Stand or other forums that you and the like of you have managed to ruin down through the years...
Post by: Keyser Söze on June 24, 2017, 12:37:40 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 24, 2017, 12:28:08 AM
other forums that you and the like of you have managed to ruin down through the years...

He talks a lot of shite, but i'd like to take you up on that point. If it's LaoisTalk you are referring to, the only reason that finished was that it wasn't making money! Nothing to do with trolls etc
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 24, 2017, 01:11:00 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on June 24, 2017, 12:37:40 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 24, 2017, 12:28:08 AM
other forums that you and the like of you have managed to ruin down through the years...

He talks a lot of shite, but i'd like to take you up on that point. If it's LaoisTalk you are referring to, the only reason that finished was that it wasn't making money! Nothing to do with trolls etc

No, I understand what happened to Laoistalk, that was a very well run forum and sadly missed. 

I've been on a few other forums where clowns like him do nothing but run down guys who have nothing but respect for their counties and have to put up with insults when they express their opinions. All that serves to do is to make genuine posters leave and not waste their time reading trash like that.

Tony is a genuine guy and I don't know how he puts up with some of the stuff that's thrown at him. Whether you agree or disagree with his opinions is up to each individual but he has an opinion and sticks to it and you have to respect that. I think he speaks a lot of sense and Creedon will come good given time. He has had a horrible start but if the lads believe in him that's good enough for me.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on June 24, 2017, 10:21:20 AM
In fairness O Dempsey's are a bit watery, Graigue are too. Never going to forgive O Dempseys for being relegated the year I backed them to win County.
Post by: The Monument Road on June 24, 2017, 12:39:49 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on June 24, 2017, 10:21:20 AM
In fairness O Dempsey's are a bit watery, Graigue are too. Never going to forgive O Dempseys for being relegated the year I backed them to win County.
. In fairness most clubs are a "bit watery" these days. Clubs nowadays are defined mostly on how successful they are on the field.If clubs/teams are decimated by this "travel bug" that's widespread these days they are deemed watery/weak. The club that avoids disruptions are generally successful. O Dempseys have been one of those clubs, when they have a decent run they suddenly lose a load of players to travel and they then fail. Bally roan were also affected by player travel ( And they will again due to the young age profile of their squad). St Josephs are another club presently effected by the "Travel bug".( I hear at least 8 of their players are presently touring North& South America). The older the age profile of teams the better. Prime example were Kileen and Arles when they were reaching County finals. Stradbally's age profile  last year was high so they didnt suffer any disruptions through their year long preparations.
Post by: The Monument Road on June 24, 2017, 12:42:53 PM
Quote from: town1980 on June 23, 2017, 08:45:16 PM
Sure lads they did bottle it they needed to beat a shite graig side and a depleted strand side what's the problem??? Remember it's only my opinion ;D
Right Town 1880. You have dragged me down to your level.  :-*Portlaoise bottled the ten in a row to a very aging and average Stradbally team last year. DO you agree Townie...
Post by: town1980 on June 24, 2017, 09:52:30 PM
Nice little win this evening ,in fairness I was surprised by graigcullen they stayed in the game all the way threw and look fit and organised,, but portlaoise are gonna win the league as I predicted
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 24, 2017, 11:49:00 PM
Quote from: town1980 on June 24, 2017, 09:52:30 PM
Nice little win this evening ,in fairness I was surprised by graigcullen they stayed in the game all the way threw and look fit and organised,, but portlaoise are gonna win the league as I predicted

This was the result, great report as usual town1980

Portlaoise: 0-17
Graiguecullen: 1-11

From Laoistoday.ie
Portlaoise 0-17 to 1-11 win over Graiguecullen puts Portlaoise into second place in ACFL Division 1A. St Joseph's are already guaranteed a place in the final and Portlaoise will join them if they beat an already-relegated Ballyroan-Abbey side in their final game next week. The result also ended Graigue's slim hopes of making the final.
O'Dempsey's are also in the hunt for a final place but they need to beat Arles-Killeen in their final game and hope that Portlaoise slip up.

Post by: Keyser Söze on June 25, 2017, 11:48:53 AM
Don't forget the link Junior  :D ;D
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 25, 2017, 12:01:41 PM
Oh lord, I forgot. I'm in for a rough time now ... >:(
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 26, 2017, 11:32:20 PM
Weekend Results:

ACFL Div 1A

23/06/2017
St Joseph's: 0-12
Ballyroan Abbey: 0-12

22/06/2017
O'Dempseys 0-17
Stradbally 1-16

The Heath 1-14
Arles/Killeen 0-10

19/06/2017
St Joseph's 2-4
Portlaoise 2-11
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 30, 2017, 01:15:42 AM
Thursdays Results:

Arles/Killeen 3-8
O'Dempsey's 4-11

Graiguecullen 1-15
Stradbally 0-8

St Joseph's 0-11
The Heath 1-11

Table with one game left, if Portlaoise beat Ballyroan they are in the final against St. Joseph's

(http://i63.tinypic.com/1zgt6b4.jpg)
Post by: town1980 on June 30, 2017, 10:28:59 AM
we wont slip up tonight last weeks win against graigcullen put us in the final,,and i see they got a good result against stradbally last night,could be a little team to watch come championship but time will tell,,again the town to win the final
Post by: Laois fan on June 30, 2017, 01:53:38 PM
Seems plaois are placing a big emphasis on winning league,their second team conceded to port last night which means they are automatically relegated even when they were doing well in league
Post by: SCFC on June 30, 2017, 02:29:27 PM
Quote from: Laois fan on June 30, 2017, 01:53:38 PM
Seems plaois are placing a big emphasis on winning league,their second team conceded to port last night which means they are automatically relegated even when they were doing well in league
No, they are not relegated. They keep whatever points they had.
Post by: The Monument Road on June 30, 2017, 04:43:13 PM
What way do's it go now. Is it,Top team through to final and 2nd/3rd play a semi.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 30, 2017, 07:05:50 PM
Think it's a final between 1 and 2
Post by: ollie12 on June 30, 2017, 09:20:35 PM
Town 1980 how did the match go tonight😁😁😁😁.
Post by: Toomanygaels on June 30, 2017, 09:43:25 PM
Why would that matter. Sure Portlaoise have won the Final according to him already.😂😂
Post by: The Monument Road on June 30, 2017, 10:59:25 PM
Plenty of bottlers in the Mixer tonight Townie1880. The bloody cheek of you....fools seldom differ and your town is full of them...Hope ye didnt cancel next years paddy's day parade..
Post by: town1980 on June 30, 2017, 11:46:54 PM
I deserve all the criticism but let me just say to put out the intermediate team that wouldn't play last night against port and played tonight is just pure disrespectful to the league and to the supporters,, I'll take all the criticism no problem but lads read the team sheet and come back to me,, again I didn't expect malachy to be doing that shite,, and I hope it doesn't come back to bite us,,, I was wrong
Post by: O moore parklife on June 30, 2017, 11:59:14 PM
Very unfortunate for the portlaoise players tonight it was a very entertaining league and 2 watery teams meet in the final best of luck of luck to them. It looks like the town 1980 has the knives out for his senior team management I'd love to say I'm shocked but you really can't buy class. Stick on the bib get comfy in the corner of the mixer slap on you're mick lillis for president t shirt and talk absolute nonsense you troll maybe show people the picture of you as a sub on the junior A 2005 team .
Portlaoise as a club don't deserve to have "supporters" like you cutting them to shreds. To all the real supporters best of luck In the championship. OR as the blow in second generation dub the Town 1980 calls it CHAMPO
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 30, 2017, 11:59:43 PM
Big slip-up from Portlaoise tonight.

Portlaoise 0-7
Ballyroan Abbey 2-6

http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/06/30/ballyroan-stun-portlaoise-friday-nights-laois-gaa-results/
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 01, 2017, 12:47:06 AM
Mal is not overly mad about League doubt we will see O Dempsey's or Josephs anywhere near county final, not saying I will see BallyroanAbbey there either.
Post by: The Monument Road on July 01, 2017, 01:43:33 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on July 01, 2017, 12:47:06 AM
Mal is not overly mad about League doubt we will see O Dempsey's or Josephs anywhere near county final, not saying I will see BallyroanAbbey there either.
Looked at the Plaois team on Laoistoday and they had very few if any first team players so id take that result tonight with a pinch of salt...someone though has to reach a county final and everyone is in the hat
Post by: SCFC on July 01, 2017, 01:45:22 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 30, 2017, 11:59:43 PM
Big slip-up from Portlaoise tonight.

Portlaoise 0-7
Ballyroan Abbey 2-6

http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/06/30/ballyroan-stun-portlaoise-friday-nights-laois-gaa-results/
Very strange team from Portlaoise there. There's a fair chance only 2 of that team starts in the senior championship for them.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 01, 2017, 01:55:37 PM
We needed a win, and will take the confidence boost it gives to a lot of chaps.   Probably more of a Portlaoise intermediate team but they prob would knock around quite well in Senior Championship.  After the some of the trimmings we have had this year am happy to be going forward.
Post by: SCFC on July 06, 2017, 07:15:41 PM
Is Daly eligible for Joe's in the final?
Post by: O moore parklife on July 06, 2017, 10:48:33 PM
Fairly confident he is. Name was sent in for the match day programme anyway. Best of luck to both teams both are short a few key players but I think daly will tip it Josephs way. Can't see him getting  a Josephs player dropped a big thing as he played with them all the way underage
Post by: Don Draper on July 06, 2017, 10:59:23 PM
Quote from: O moore parklife on July 06, 2017, 10:48:33 PM
Can't see him getting  a Josephs player dropped a big thing as he played with them all the way underage
Have you ever been involved in a sports team?
Post by: O moore parklife on July 06, 2017, 11:07:08 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on July 06, 2017, 10:59:23 PM
Can't see him getting  a Josephs player dropped a big thing as he played with them all the way underage
Ya I certainly have. I just think seeing as the lads on the team know each other from underage and the fact they wanted him and he wanted to join them a different scenario.
If he was a complete stranger walking into a dressing room id agree with your snipe.
Context don
Post by: Don Draper on July 07, 2017, 05:15:10 AM
Quote from: O moore parklife on July 06, 2017, 11:07:08 PM
Ya I certainly have. I just think seeing as the lads on the team know each other from underage and the fact they wanted him and he wanted to join them a different scenario.
If he was a complete stranger walking into a dressing room id agree with your snipe.
Context don
Context is he'll always be a blow in. Perform or else.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 10, 2017, 01:30:46 AM
Great result for O'Dempseys in the final tonight..

St Joseph's    0 - 10
O'Dempsey's  1 - 11

http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/07/09/finlay-magic-sees-odempseys-acfl-division-1a-glory/

(http://www.laoistoday.ie/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/Division-1A-Final-09-07-2017-2-640x480.jpg)

Post by: Pablo Escobar on July 10, 2017, 07:07:14 AM
Context don

You obviously don't know Joseph's. It's an extremely unwanted distraction for a club that was going well. The Barrowhouse man missed a crucial penalty last night too.
Post by: Don Draper on July 10, 2017, 09:29:01 AM
Quote from: Pablo Escobar on July 10, 2017, 07:07:14 AM
Context don

You obviously don't know Joseph's. It's an extremely unwanted distraction for a club that was going well. The Barrowhouse man missed a crucial penalty last night too.
The club have no one to blame but themselves. Imagine letting him take the f**king penalty and he only in the door, Jesus, some slap in the puss to their own players.
Post by: Pablo Escobar on July 10, 2017, 10:12:29 AM
Dan Dunne or even the Hickeys would be very good penalty takers. Very very strange they let him take it is right.
Post by: steven seagal on July 10, 2017, 10:14:51 AM
Had he been training with Joseph's, or been involved with them in any way before the final?
Post by: Pablo Escobar on July 10, 2017, 11:22:28 AM
Oh he'd hardly do that   ::)
Post by: SCFC on July 10, 2017, 12:16:13 PM
First half was dreadful stuff.
Picked up a bit in the second. Extra man eventually killed Joe's. Hard to pick out county players!
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 10, 2017, 12:49:20 PM
I honestly nearly fell asleep looking at the two matches it was that dreadful stuff.
Post by: O moore parklife on July 10, 2017, 01:05:07 PM
Not a great match Josephs set up extremely negative and got 13 behind the ball. Not much you can do against those tactics bar be patient and grind out a result. Disappointed in the sending off spitting at another player is the pit's.
Post by: The Saint on July 10, 2017, 04:00:23 PM
Pretty poor stuff alright. Thought both teams were very defensive, very hard look at a team filtering everyone back with almost no-one looking or interested in the opposition bringing out a turned over ball, as in, just get into your position irrespective of where or who has the ball. Us being down to 14 men after ten mins was the real killer, not the missed penalty. We've all seen penalties missed by the very best at the highest of levels, don't see what the shock and horror is about Brian Daly taking and missing this one.... He kicked a sweet free off the ground from out on the sideline at the end of the first half...and no-one horrified he took that?? Overall josephs have really felt the miss of the 5 or 6 summer tourists, not just last night but for the past 3 or 4 games. Disappointing game and result, good crowd present though.
Post by: The PRO on July 10, 2017, 05:28:43 PM
As above. Tough viewing. Joe's will be better when their missing travellers return. Odempseys did well and have some lads to come back in too. There was a big lad up front for them carrying an extra bit of timber but he did well.
Think the championship is pretty open this year.
Post by: Pablo Escobar on July 10, 2017, 05:31:24 PM
I believe the presence of the new recruit will end up being more of a hindrance for Josephs. It's unwanted pressure.
Post by: The Monument Road on July 10, 2017, 06:22:26 PM
Horrible horrible game and it really hi-lights the standard and lack of talent within the county. Why are teams trying to adopt this mass defence system especially when they dont have the playelrs capable of doing it.  Both were missing loads and someone told me Josephs were missing 9 of the team that done ok against Portlaoise in last years championship. Thats a lot to try and replace. Daly was a bit unlucky with the penalty , struck it hard but it cannoned off and nearly broke the crossbar. (I did notice a couple of people near me that i recognised cheer his miss and they were not from O Dempseys. Not nice to see). That young Nerney at full back is a solid defender and worth a try at county level next year. Barry Kelly is also one that should be tried. A bit like his dad Eddie was in his day.
Post by: Saint 1963 on July 11, 2017, 01:49:32 AM
Couldn't agree more with The Saint about yesterdays game and Brian Daly in particular. There seems to be a couple of people, at least, on this topic would love to believe that Brian's transfer will cause division in the camp. Dream on lads!
Post by: The PRO on July 11, 2017, 07:58:44 AM
Quote from: Saint 1963 on July 11, 2017, 01:49:32 AM
Couldn't agree more with The Saint about yesterdays game and Brian Daly in particular. There seems to be a couple of people, at least, on this topic would love to believe that Brian's transfer will cause division in the camp. Dream on lads!
Enjoy your new player. If ye win anything with him it will be tainted no more than any of Stradbally's recent titles.
Post by: Saint 1963 on July 11, 2017, 11:49:07 AM
Will do. Thanks.
Post by: Pablo Escobar on July 11, 2017, 12:37:38 PM

That's not what  Im hearing but sure what would I know.
Post by: The Monument Road on July 11, 2017, 01:50:24 PM
Pablo. You haven't contributed much to this forum recently bar a few comments, mostly about this transfer. Why i wonder?. My advice to you is, its over/closed and move on. Its not good for your health !! As the "Real "Pablo Escobar once said " Life is full of surprises, some good, some not so good"
Post by: The Monument Road on July 11, 2017, 01:53:12 PM
Quote from: Pablo Escobar on July 11, 2017, 12:37:38 PM

Believe half what you see and nothing what you hear. You remind me of Liverpool soccer supporters, obsessed.
Post by: SCFC on July 11, 2017, 01:57:11 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on July 11, 2017, 01:53:12 PM
Quote from: Pablo Escobar on July 11, 2017, 12:37:38 PM

Believe half what you see and nothing what you hear. You remind me of Liverpool soccer supporters, obsessed.
There's a tinge of soccer about this whole thing alright.
Post by: Pablo Escobar on July 11, 2017, 02:07:07 PM
You'll never beat Arles/Killeen
Post by: OTF on July 11, 2017, 05:07:09 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on July 11, 2017, 01:50:24 PM
Pablo. You haven't contributed much to this forum recently bar a few comments, mostly about this transfer. Why i wonder?. My advice to you is, its over/closed and move on. Its not good for your health !! As the "Real "Pablo Escobar once said " Life is full of surprises, some good, some not so good"

or he might say

La verdad es que todo somos bandidos.
Post by: The Monument Road on July 11, 2017, 05:43:13 PM
Quote from: Pablo Escobar on July 11, 2017, 02:07:07 PM
Grow up and get a life will you with your school yard childish taunts. I wouldnt mind if you would debate issues but you are too focused on your own narrow minded locality trying to find themselves. No wonder the real Arles walked ( and went and won a championship :P)
Post by: Pablo Escobar on July 11, 2017, 10:24:56 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on July 11, 2017, 05:43:13 PM
Grow up and get a life will you with your school yard childish taunts. I wouldnt mind if you would debate issues but you are too focused on your own narrow minded locality trying to find themselves. No wonder the real Arles walked ( and went and won a championship :P)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/1867593247/arles.jpg)

The real Arles ? Just look at the crest. Fair play to kilcruise and best of luck to them. Don't be trying to stir up old wounds. All playing underage  together again and it's great to see. Just worry about who ye are going to poach next  and for gods sake mind yourself .
Post by: BallyroanAbbey on July 12, 2017, 12:05:06 AM
Quote from: Pablo Escobar on July 11, 2017, 10:24:56 PM

The real Arles ? Just look at the crest. Fair play to kilcruise and best of luck to them. Don't be trying to stir up old wounds. All playing underage  together again and it's great to see. Just worry about who ye are going to poach next  and for gods sake mind yourself .

Michael Leigh (St Josephs)
Enda O'Rourke (Graiguecullen)
Niall O'Rourke (Graiguecullen)
Brendan O'Shea (Arles/Kilcruise)
Sean O'Shea (Arles/Kilcruise)
Donie Kingston (Barrowhouse)
Paul Kingston (Barrowhouse)
John Dunphy (Spink)
Podge Kelly (Spink)
Post by: Pablo Escobar on July 12, 2017, 01:33:00 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbbey on July 12, 2017, 12:05:06 AM

John Dunphy (Spink)
Podge Kelly (Spink)

Leigh is one of our own transferred to Josephs but came back.
Enda and Niall live in our catchment area.
Sean and Brendan too live in the parish.
Donie and Paul live in the housing estate in Killeen.
John and Podge great mates with the Kingstons also live in the house with Donie and Paul.
None of them are caretakers in the local Quarry.
It's all legit and above board.
Post by: O moore parklife on July 12, 2017, 08:35:32 AM
Quote from: Pablo Escobar on July 12, 2017, 01:33:00 AM

John Dunphy (Spink)
Podge Kelly (Spink)

John and Podge great mates with the Kingstons also live in the house with Donie and Paul.
Fair go lads I'm presuming the irony of this tit for tat exchange hasn't been lost on ye ill start the cliché festival off.
Two wrongs don't make a right.
People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones
Pot kettle black
Feel free to add away.
Simply put a few clubs have bent the rules and tested the morality of players which they failed, not the club's fault just human nature to feather your own nest or club in this scenario.
County board have weak laws and bye laws in place to protect smaller clubs who will eventually fade away into existence which deep down not even the poachers of the county want.
We can argue the "above board" and occupancy of houses (they'll need bunk beds in that house in kileen soon) scenarios clubs try to justify getting sloppy transfers through but in the end any victory will be tainted by whispers and the under current of unfairNess from the beaten teams.
You have to wonder will the victors actually care.
Myself I honestly think after the pints have been drank from the cup it'll leave a bitter taste.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on July 12, 2017, 04:51:40 PM
Quote from: O moore parklife on July 12, 2017, 08:35:32 AM
Quote from: Pablo Escobar on July 12, 2017, 01:33:00 AM

John Dunphy (Spink)
Podge Kelly (Spink)

Fair go lads I'm presuming the irony of this tit for tat exchange hasn't been lost on ye ill start the cliché festival off.
Two wrongs don't make a right.
People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones
Pot kettle black
Feel free to add away.
Simply put a few clubs have bent the rules and tested the morality of players which they failed, not the club's fault just human nature to feather your own nest or club in this scenario.
County board have weak laws and bye laws in place to protect smaller clubs who will eventually fade away into existence which deep down not even the poachers of the county want.
We can argue the "above board" and occupancy of houses (they'll need bunk beds in that house in kileen soon) scenarios clubs try to justify getting sloppy transfers through but in the end any victory will be tainted by whispers and the under current of unfairNess from the beaten teams.
You have to wonder will the victors actually care.
Myself I honestly think after the pints have been drank from the cup it'll leave a bitter taste.
I think you nailed it there O moore parklife with your last line.
Post by: town1980 on July 12, 2017, 07:19:44 PM
What is the point of all this shite talk the chaps gone to the joes so shut up and get on with minding yere  own clubs business
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 12, 2017, 09:48:20 PM
What does all this crap have to do with ACFL Division 1A ???
Post by: town1980 on July 12, 2017, 11:33:07 PM
I agree junior as I said a load of shite talk
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 13, 2017, 08:51:42 AM
In fairness to Joe's quite a feat to lure a player from a neighbouring club, who they refused to amalgamate with and who they played juvenile football with for the past 10 years.  It's like knocking off your wifes sister.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 13, 2017, 11:54:38 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on July 13, 2017, 08:51:42 AM
It's like knocking off your wifes sister.

Wow... IS it ? ? ? ?