Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: David McKeown on May 25, 2010, 10:39:05 PM

Title: Passport Dispute
Post by: David McKeown on May 25, 2010, 10:39:05 PM
Going away on holiday in the middle of June with a group of friends.  One of them doesnt have and has never had a passport so about 4-5 weeks ago they applied for an Irish passport via the passport express service.  About 10 days after sending the application, it is returned to him as the photos aren't right.  He immediately goes out and gets proper photos and re-submits.  Now with the strike hes not sure if hes going to be able to go on the holiday.  Anyone any recent experience with the passport office that could offer some advice.  Would he be served going down and seeing them and/or bringing proof of travel.  I know a few years back I went down on a Monday with proof I was flying on a Wednesday and as a result they had the passport for me on the Tuesday but I don't think theyd do that now
Title: Re: Passport Dispute
Post by: mournerambler on May 25, 2010, 11:12:36 PM
I personally had cause to go to the Passport office for my own Passport renewal 4 years ago, as long as he has proof of travel he should be able to get it on the same day, I left my forms in at 9am & was told to come back at 4pm & it would be ready, I had to pay an extra fee as far as I can remember but I got sorted thankfully.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 25, 2010, 11:21:22 PM
David your quandry has reminded me of this epic thread.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=9024.0

RIP ONL.
Post by: fingerbob on May 25, 2010, 11:24:41 PM
How long does it take to get an Irish passport back after sending the application? Goin away on the 20th of July and will be sending the application on Friday. First Irish one too.
Post by: Hank Everlast on May 25, 2010, 11:43:50 PM
I sent the childs away last week, ye can track it's progress on line. The estimated time is 22 working days!
Post by: fingerbob on May 25, 2010, 11:48:56 PM
Quote from: Hank Everlast on May 25, 2010, 11:43:50 PM
I sent the childs away last week, ye can track it's progress on line. The estimated time is 22 working days!

Should be plenty of time then, nice one, cheers!
Post by: David McKeown on May 26, 2010, 02:45:21 AM
Quote from: mournerambler on May 25, 2010, 11:12:36 PM
I personally had cause to go to the Passport office for my own Passport renewal 4 years ago, as long as he has proof of travel he should be able to get it on the same day, I left my forms in at 9am & was told to come back at 4pm & it would be ready, I had to pay an extra fee as far as I can remember but I got sorted thankfully.

Yeah I had something similar although there are two problems with this in our case, first this isnt a renewal and secondly the website says they wont do this at the minute unless theres death or serious ill health of a family member requiring travel.
Quote from: fingerbob on May 25, 2010, 11:48:56 PM
Quote from: Hank Everlast on May 25, 2010, 11:43:50 PM

Should be plenty of time then, nice one, cheers!

Should be but my mate reckons everytime he gets closer to that estimated time it keeps getting extended.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 26, 2010, 09:18:12 AM
I sent my application in about 6 weeks ago, every time I log on to track the progress it says " Applicaton has been registered" which basically means it has been logged in the system but nothing done with it yet.
I don't need it till September so not that worried yet but still I thought it be sorted by now
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on May 27, 2010, 08:18:31 AM
Applied for a passport for our little fella (1 year old) about 4 weeks ago and got the passport on Tuesady this week.  I know from checking it online that it was on status "Application has been registered" until late last week and then it progressed to "Printed" status and was finally posted out 2 or 3 days later.  Its no harm to give the Passport office a call but be prepared to be on hold for an eternity until someone finally takes the call.  It does state on the website now that the current time to process a passport application is about 25 days assuming all paperwork is correct.  Up until mid last week the processing time advised was 21 working days. 
Post by: hound of ulster on May 27, 2010, 09:23:49 AM
with passport express its taking about 4 weeks at the minute.
Post by: the waffler on May 27, 2010, 11:24:07 AM
waiting on passport renewal going start of July 25 days wait on passport express but still only registered on the tracker doesn't look good as they said could take up to ten weeks on normal service
Post by: Tyrones own on May 27, 2010, 11:45:09 AM
I think they'll still issue you an emergency passport with proof of travel docs,
I went to the embassy and got mine one time on the morning of travel day.
It was just a piece of paper with the photo on it but it got the job done!
Post by: illdecide on May 27, 2010, 12:28:13 PM
Lads I'm renewing my passport at the minute and have everything ready to go, the problem is I'm not overly happy with the photos (no smart remarks please). I believe the photo was taken standing too far away from the camera and if it goes and they reject it and send it back to me by the time i get them retaken and the details sent over again i may miss my trip to Barcelona (the chemist reckon the photos are OK but i don't)
Post by: the waffler on May 27, 2010, 03:37:48 PM
the chemist should have a youk for checking the photos with lines to line up your mug make sure they re 100%
Post by: illdecide on May 27, 2010, 04:34:38 PM
Quote from: the waffler on May 27, 2010, 03:37:48 PM
the chemist should have a youk for checking the photos with lines to line up your mug make sure they re 100%

Aye he did use it and said it was ok but when i got home and checked them they're border line and could as easy be turned down as passed ???
Post by: Puckoon on May 27, 2010, 05:12:50 PM
So you have decided they are not good enough, while he has decided that they are?  I tell you what - show them to me and illdecide.
Post by: illdecide on May 27, 2010, 05:18:29 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 27, 2010, 05:12:50 PM
So you have decided they are not good enough, while he has decided that they are?  I tell you what - show them to me and illdecide.

Very good Puck :D
Post by: orangeman on June 02, 2010, 02:43:16 PM
Lads,

My mate has an Irish passport which he has just doscovered has expired.

He's booked to go to USA in about 10 days or so.

Can he still go to passport office in Dublin and get it renewed there and then ????

Thanks for your help.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on June 02, 2010, 03:12:59 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 02, 2010, 02:43:16 PM
Lads,

Can he still go to passport office in Dublin and get it renewed there and then ????

Thanks for your help.

In short...no.  But he should contact the PO immediately to discuss his options.
Post by: orangeman on June 02, 2010, 03:15:11 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on June 02, 2010, 03:12:59 PM
Lads,

Thanks for your help.

In short...no.  But he should contact the PO immediately to discuss his options.

Thanks for that. Doesn't sound good for him then.
Post by: bingobus on June 02, 2010, 03:16:51 PM
Lads,

Thanks for your help.

I do wonder about people at times, has he been aware of the recent shite over passports at all??
Post by: orangeman on June 02, 2010, 03:28:39 PM
Quote from: bingobus on June 02, 2010, 03:16:51 PM
Lads,

Thanks for your help.

I do wonder about people at times, has he been aware of the recent shite over passports at all??

Clearly not.

I've told him to contact the Passport office or just go down and sit and hope for the best - It's all he can do I suppose.
Post by: thebigfella on June 02, 2010, 03:46:29 PM
Can he not swear allegiance to the Queen and get a Brit one  ;)
Post by: Cde on June 02, 2010, 04:28:05 PM
if he is in the North, take his ticket to the passport office in Belfast and he will have a much better chance of getting a passport there
Post by: orangeman on June 02, 2010, 04:34:21 PM
Quote from: Cde on June 02, 2010, 04:28:05 PM
if he is in the North, take his ticket to the passport office in Belfast and he will have a much better chance of getting a passport there

They won't do it for a new passport application - there has to be an interview etc  - he's always had Irish passport.

Post by: Cde on June 02, 2010, 04:48:53 PM
he may be in luck

remembered reading about this last week

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0528/passport.html

they are sorting out passports for people who are traveling soon
Post by: orangeman on June 02, 2010, 05:33:09 PM
Quote from: Cde on June 02, 2010, 04:48:53 PM
he may be in luck

remembered reading about this last week

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0528/passport.html

they are sorting out passports for people who are traveling soon

Thanks for that. Some hope alright.
Post by: David McKeown on June 02, 2010, 09:57:53 PM
My mate got in touch today and has been informed of a partial resolution to the dispute which should see emergency applications dealt with within 48 hours
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2010, 08:16:42 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on June 02, 2010, 09:57:53 PM
My mate got in touch today and has been informed of a partial resolution to the dispute which should see emergency applications dealt with within 48 hours

Do you reckon you would have to prove you were travelling?
I don't need my passport till september,but my application as been sent nearly 7 weeks now,I was gonna ring and say I have a funeral to go to or something.
I know its wrong but I am half worried I still won't have it come September
Post by: David McKeown on June 03, 2010, 08:24:39 AM
Yeah you would have to a flight confirmation if it's anything like the last time I made an emergency application.
Post by: Hardy on June 03, 2010, 09:20:00 AM
Yes - show them your ticket and say it's for a funeral in September.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 03, 2010, 09:24:27 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2010, 08:16:42 AM

I don't need my passport till september,but my application as been sent nearly 7 weeks now,I was gonna ring and say I have a funeral to go to or something.

Jezuz LL don't tempt fate with that excuse.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2010, 01:50:35 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 03, 2010, 09:24:27 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2010, 08:16:42 AM

Jezuz LL don't tempt fate with that excuse.

I know GDA just concerned it might not come by september, I thought if you didn't have to show travel documents I would come up with some story maybe not a funeral one but something.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 05, 2010, 08:43:56 AM
Passport finally came this morning!
Post by: illdecide on July 05, 2010, 09:32:40 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 05, 2010, 08:43:56 AM

How long was it away? I sent mine in three weeks ago and apparently it's registered and thats as far as it got ::) Good job I'm not going away until september
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 05, 2010, 09:38:35 AM
Quote from: illdecide on July 05, 2010, 09:32:40 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 05, 2010, 08:43:56 AM

How long was it away? I sent mine in three weeks ago and apparently it's registered and thats as far as it got ::) Good job I'm not going away until september

It was first registered in April, so it's after taking almost 3 months to get it
Post by: illdecide on July 05, 2010, 11:38:48 AM
Feck as long as that...i'm not going to September but FFS that's enough to make me panic a bit, they told me in the post office that there was a 3 1/2 week waiting list not 3 1/2 month