Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: brokencrossbar1 on December 02, 2017, 04:48:13 PM

Title: 5 Sams - RIP
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 02, 2017, 04:48:13 PM
One of our own 5 Sams. RIP
Title: Re: 5 Sams - RIP
Post by: laoislad on December 02, 2017, 04:52:11 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 02, 2017, 04:48:13 PM
What? Jaysis. RIP.
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 02, 2017, 05:09:09 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 02, 2017, 04:48:13 PM
Big shock, he logged on here yesterday. RIP
Post by: theskull1 on December 02, 2017, 05:10:35 PM
Thats a shock. He can't have been that old. Seen his last post a few days ago. RIP 5 Sams
Post by: Hardy on December 02, 2017, 05:16:28 PM
Ah no. That's dreadful.
Post by: BennyCake on December 02, 2017, 05:16:39 PM
Jaysus, that's terrible. RIP 5 Sams.
Post by: Hereiam on December 02, 2017, 05:18:31 PM
RIP 5 sams
Post by: AZOffaly on December 02, 2017, 05:19:11 PM
RIP 5 Sams. Hard to credit that.
Post by: No1 on December 02, 2017, 05:28:05 PM
Shocking news about 5 Sams this morning. One of life's good guys. RIP Paddy.
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 02, 2017, 05:28:59 PM
RIP 5 Sams
Post by: Denn Forever on December 02, 2017, 05:43:11 PM
 :( :( :( :(
Post by: bennydorano on December 02, 2017, 05:56:04 PM
RIP.
Post by: illdecide on December 02, 2017, 06:25:45 PM
RIP 5 Sams...very sad indeed.
Post by: seafoid on December 02, 2017, 06:31:14 PM
Gaelgeoir agus Ultach .go smior. RiP
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on December 02, 2017, 06:35:37 PM
Desperately sorry to hear about Paddy - poor fella. Awful news. Met him once - in Croke Park - and found him to be a gentleman.

He was a regular here when I joined in the Summer of 2002, so he will leave a major hole here in our own on line community.

However that is of course nothing compared to how his loss will be felt elsewhere.

My deepest sympathies to the Savage family, to Paddy's friends and to Wobbler and everyone else at Ballyholland.

May Paddy Rest In Peace.
Post by: armaghniac on December 02, 2017, 06:47:55 PM
I'm very sad to hear this, a very positive long established poster and obvious lover of the Irish language. An enormous loss to this forum.
RIP  5 Sams.
Post by: Keyser soze on December 02, 2017, 07:01:55 PM
RIP 5 Sams.
Post by: naka on December 02, 2017, 07:24:00 PM
RIP 5sams
Earliest memory of him was as a first year watching him play for the abbey rannafast team  against Maghera( I think)in Beragh circa 81/82
I remember the glasses and the head band.
Paddy was a decent player in his time .
Condolences to the Ballyholland Gaels.
Post by: StGallsGAA on December 02, 2017, 07:40:01 PM
RIP big man.  We had some seriously good night's out together.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on December 02, 2017, 07:44:13 PM
RIP 5 Sams.

Didn't know the man but he was one of us.

My sympathies to all his closest
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 02, 2017, 07:57:26 PM
RIP
Post by: southtyronegael on December 02, 2017, 08:06:52 PM
RIP
Post by: MK on December 02, 2017, 08:17:22 PM
RIP
Condolences to Family and club
Post by: Rossfan on December 02, 2017, 08:22:00 PM
RIP.
Condolences to family and friends.
Post by: Cunny Funt on December 02, 2017, 08:24:06 PM
Didn't know 5 Sams but he was a good posters on here, especially this thread for linking top tunes. https://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=3982.2115 RIP.
Post by: Minder on December 02, 2017, 08:27:18 PM
RIP Very sad. Was he ill ?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 02, 2017, 08:29:30 PM
That's terrible. Didn't know the fella outside this forum but we had cause to exchange PMs occasionally and he always seemed like a really great fella (despite his enduring love for U2). RIP and condolences to all who knew him.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on December 02, 2017, 08:31:04 PM
Shocking news. Met Paddy a few times; always struck me as a good guy.

RIP
Post by: Mickey Linden on December 02, 2017, 09:10:56 PM
Desperate news. Never met the fella but flick on to this thread from time to time but never expect to read news about a fellow poster. Rip 5 sams and god bless ur family and friends
Post by: Ball Hopper on December 02, 2017, 09:25:44 PM
Sad news indeed.  Had a fair few PM exchanges with Paddy.  He loved to spend time in Dingle and An Ghaeltacht, where his love of Irish flourished.

Condolences to his family and friends.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 02, 2017, 09:58:58 PM
Rest in peace 5 Sams... Condolences to family, dreadful to lose at any time of year, but leading up to the xmas holidays is always tough for loved ones

Second poster to have died while I've been here
Post by: Two Hands FFS on December 02, 2017, 10:05:50 PM
RIP 5 Sams.

Very sad. Condolences to his friends & family.
Post by: Itchy on December 02, 2017, 10:21:47 PM
Condolences to Family and friends. RIP.
Post by: Orior on December 02, 2017, 11:10:36 PM
I exchanged a few PMs with 5 Sams too, and used to tease him that his GAABoard name lacked ambition. We were always on the same page.

RIP.
Post by: Armamike on December 02, 2017, 11:22:39 PM
Very saddened to hear this. Awful news.  RIP.
Post by: JoG2 on December 02, 2017, 11:41:59 PM
RIP 5 Sams.
Post by: stephenite on December 03, 2017, 01:16:25 AM
Terribly sad. RIP
Post by: Oraisteach on December 03, 2017, 01:25:23 AM
That's terribly sad news.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 03, 2017, 01:32:41 AM
Christ! Wasn't expecting to see news like that when I checked in on this thread. RIP.
Post by: BennyHarp on December 03, 2017, 01:45:23 AM
Very sad news! RIP 5 Sams
Post by: J70 on December 03, 2017, 03:31:46 AM
Very sorry to hear. RIP. :'(
Post by: orangeman on December 03, 2017, 04:14:10 AM
Very sad. RIP 5 Sams
Post by: The Subbie on December 03, 2017, 04:16:54 AM
Very sad , one of the few original crew members from when I used to lurk and not post in 2002/3 ish
RIP 5 Sams, hope the tunes are pumping where you are now .
Post by: seafoid on December 03, 2017, 05:59:57 AM
5 Sams used to love going to Corca Dhuibhne in the Kerry Gaeltacht. He reminded me of  s poem by Sean Ó Riordain.

Fill arís

"Téir faobhar na faille siar tráthnóna gréine go Corca
                Dhuibhne,
Is chífir thiar ag bun na spéire ag ráthaíocht ann
An Uimhir Dhé, is an Modh Foshuiteach,
Is an tuiseal gairmeach ar bhéalaibh daoine:
      Sin é do dhoras,
      Dún Chaoin fé sholas an tráthnóna,
      Buail is osclófar
      D'intinn féin is do chló ceart."

On a sunlit evening take the cliff road out to Corca
               Dhuibhne,
and out on the horizon you will see shoaling there
the Dual Number, and the Subjunctive Mood,
and the vocative case on people's mouths:
     that is your door,
     Dun Chaoin in the evening light,
     knock and there will be opened
     your own mind and your right shape
Post by: rrhf on December 03, 2017, 07:12:50 AM
Came across as a great fella, quick witted and principled. Loved his club county and had that special love for Kerry that only a Down man can have. Shocked and saddened. RIP 5 sams.
Post by: ONeill on December 03, 2017, 07:53:01 AM
Ah that's bad news. Was a poster worth reading.
Post by: Throw ball on December 03, 2017, 09:08:11 AM
RIP 5 Sams
Post by: Rois on December 03, 2017, 09:38:00 AM
Ah that's sad news. Amazing how sad you can feel about someone whose name you didn't even know, but just know that he's one of the "family".
Post by: balladmaker on December 03, 2017, 10:17:08 AM
Very sad news.  RIP 5 Sams, condolences to his family, friends and all who knew him.
Post by: gallsman on December 03, 2017, 10:42:53 AM
RIP.
Post by: foxcommander on December 03, 2017, 11:52:11 AM
RIP 5 Sams
Post by: Billys Boots on December 03, 2017, 12:00:48 PM
Sorry to hear of the loss of one of our originals; RIP 5Sams.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on December 03, 2017, 12:11:11 PM
Very sorry to hear this. Sympathies to his family and friends.
Post by: FL/MAYO on December 03, 2017, 02:48:37 PM
RIP to 5 Sams and condolences to his family.
Post by: Puckoon on December 03, 2017, 03:35:19 PM
Sad news and condolences to his family and friends. A very respectful and measured poster and a legend on the music threads.

RIP 5sams
Post by: Syferus on December 03, 2017, 03:59:09 PM
That's terrible, he always carried himself with a lot of warmth and class.

RIP.
Post by: heganboy on December 03, 2017, 04:38:57 PM
Paddy was a great man, knew him 20 odd years. Always called in for a pint or two when in NYC even when he had the missus over. Great with a the board messages, always injecting sound logic into the mix  Lovely man and a huge Ballyholland and Down stalwart. Did a lot of work in the local business community. Could not have met a better guy. Condolences to his wife and friends.

RIP 5 Sams.
Post by: red hander on December 03, 2017, 06:47:27 PM
Sad news indeed. Condolences to his family
Post by: Declan on December 04, 2017, 08:49:56 AM
Sade news indeed. One of the originals. RIP and condolences to his family and friends
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on December 04, 2017, 08:53:09 AM
RIP 5 Sams. Sorry to hear this. Sympathies with his family.
Post by: maddog on December 04, 2017, 10:13:05 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on December 04, 2017, 08:53:09 AM
RIP 5 Sams. Sorry to hear this. Sympathies with his family.

Very sorry to hear that. RIP
Post by: The Gs Man on December 04, 2017, 11:23:06 AM
Very sad news.  RIP 5Sams
Post by: Dire Ear on December 04, 2017, 12:12:24 PM
R.I.P. 5 Sams-- condolences to his family and friends.  Seemed to be a strong character
Post by: ziggysego on December 04, 2017, 12:38:09 PM
Terrible news. 5 Sams will be sadly missed here. Thoughts and prayers for his family and friends. RIP Paddy.
Post by: Orior on December 04, 2017, 12:57:53 PM
Can someone print off the relevant pages of this thread and pass to a family member of 5 Sams?
Post by: ziggy90 on December 04, 2017, 02:06:47 PM
RIP 5 Sams.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on December 04, 2017, 02:07:43 PM
Quote from: Orior on December 04, 2017, 12:57:53 PM
Can someone print off the relevant pages of this thread and pass to a family member of 5 Sams?

I'll be honest, it had crossed my mind that someone of the standing of 5 Sams should have had his own thread in as prominent a place as possible. Would it be possible to do that and move the messages of condolence?
Title: 5 Sams - RIP
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on December 04, 2017, 02:13:52 PM
Rufus mentioned on the Death Notices Thread, that we should ideally have our own thread for 5 Sams, who was obviously one of our longest standing posters. It's a terrible tragedy for his family, and a loss to all of us in the GAABoard community. Many of us have never met 5 Sams, but he always was one of the best posters on this board, and by all accounts a lovely man in real life, according to the people who did know him. A proud Down man, and a lover of his football.

I'll leave this thread here so people can post their thoughts, and I will update it with funeral arrangements in case anyone is up around the Newry/Ballyholland area and wants to attend. I believe the arrangements are not finalised yet.

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam dílis.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on December 04, 2017, 02:24:55 PM
That's terribly sad news.

Post by: Newbridge Exile on December 04, 2017, 02:28:04 PM
Condolences to his family RIP
Post by: Maximus Marillius on December 04, 2017, 02:28:19 PM
been a member since 2006, haven't posted nor been reading in a while, for some reason I decided to pop in today and found this....RIP 5 Sams
Post by: haranguerer on December 04, 2017, 02:28:27 PM
Thats made me sad. RIP 5 Sams, you always came across as a gentleman
Post by: Asal Mor on December 04, 2017, 02:36:19 PM
When I moved back from China to Ireland and my wife and daughter were still there, awaiting visas , passports etc, there was a problem with my daughter's passport application and I needed a new form quickly but couldn't get one in the Republic as it's a form for non-Irish residents. I stuck a thread on here asking for help from the northern posters and Paddy/5 Sams was the first to reply. Told me to to pm my address and he posted the form the next morning. A small but very kind and very important favor that I'll always remember. I never met the man but he seemed a real gent. I'd been thinking lately that I must pm him again to wish him a Happy xmas and tell him how well my daughter is doing in Ireland. Rest in peace Paddy.
Post by: easytiger95 on December 04, 2017, 02:39:54 PM
Rest in peace 5 Sams
Post by: gortnaleck on December 04, 2017, 03:37:28 PM
R.I.P.5 Sam's and sincere sympathy to family
Post by: aontroim on December 04, 2017, 03:42:07 PM
RIP 5 Sams. Condolences to family & friends.
Post by: sid waddell on December 04, 2017, 03:43:42 PM
RIP 5 Sams and condolences to his loved ones. One of the great names and posters from the golden era of this forum back in the 00s, and had a smashing taste in music.

Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 04, 2017, 03:51:22 PM
RIP

Sad news.
Post by: PW Nally on December 04, 2017, 04:07:53 PM
Always enjoyed his contributions, will be missed around here. Condolences to family, friends and club mates.

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 04, 2017, 04:17:25 PM
RIP - Sad news.

Condolences to friends and family
Post by: sensethetone on December 04, 2017, 04:24:10 PM
RIP
Post by: AhNowRef on December 04, 2017, 04:30:36 PM
RIP ...

sorry to hear this..
Post by: yellowcard on December 04, 2017, 04:57:54 PM
RIP
Post by: dec on December 04, 2017, 05:17:01 PM
Is this the right information, if not I'll delete

http://www.funeraltimes.com/paddysavage464479490

Savage ( Ballyholland Newry ) died 2nd December 2017 suddenly Paddy R.I.P. beloved son of the late Paddy and Kathleen, and much loved brother of Mary, Mark, Anita, Sean and Paul. Sacred Heart of Jesus have mercy on his soul. His remains will leave his home 22 Rockfield Heights on Thursday at 11:00am for 12:00 noon funeral Mass in St Patrick & Colman's Cathedral. Interment afterwards in Monkshill cemetery.Deeply regretted by his sorrowing brothers, sisters, nephews, nieces uncles, aunts, family circle and friends.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 04, 2017, 05:20:45 PM
That's the right info.
Post by: theskull1 on December 04, 2017, 05:25:32 PM
https://twitter.com/HarpsGAC/status/937058388483198983

A life well lived I'd say
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 04, 2017, 05:56:55 PM
Spent an enjoyable bit of time yesterday reading through some of his posts here and his Twitter account. But, as others have said, it was the conversations away from the glare that marked him out; the conversations via PM on here and on Twitter were always insightful and extremely useful.

RIP
Post by: omaghjoe on December 04, 2017, 08:25:32 PM
 Just read this thread
Shocked to say the least! Very sad news, a great poster and a loss to the board
Thoughts and prayers are with his family
Post by: Targetman on December 04, 2017, 08:46:30 PM
RIP 5 Sams, being a fellow Down man I always paid particular attention to his posts, will be missed!
Post by: The Iceman on December 04, 2017, 09:03:22 PM
he was a good man. helped me out 10 years ago when we were launching a business back home and in England..nothing in it for him either - just a good fella.
RIP
Post by: Farrandeelin on December 04, 2017, 10:03:06 PM
RIP. I know nothing about him, but the tributes on here from those who did, he obviously was a good genuine person. Someone else mentioned the same thing, the way this board is a community in itself and he will be missed.
Post by: trileacman on December 04, 2017, 10:25:48 PM
Didn't know him personally but came across as an insightful, measured and rational individual. Attributes found in ever decreasing quantities on the board and in society in general. A loss to all of us here and no doubt a greater loss to his circle of family and friends.

As an aside it's great to see so many boards stalwarts, many of whom I haven't noticed posting in a while, comment on the thread. It has that same strange effect as when you attend a funeral or wake and see faces that you'd long since forgotten.
Post by: macdanger2 on December 04, 2017, 11:23:37 PM
RIP, sad news
Post by: stew on December 05, 2017, 12:04:18 AM
Desperately sad to hear about this, we knew people that knew us both and by all accounts he was a great lad, very sad to hear of his passing!
Post by: Well on December 05, 2017, 12:37:17 AM
Rest in peace
Post by: Gold on December 05, 2017, 12:48:18 AM
I'm on this over 10 years id say although longer as a lurker. I'm mostly into Antrim football but have always followed his posts. A gentleman
RIP
Post by: rosnarun on December 05, 2017, 09:35:44 AM
RIP 5Sams

Post by: oakleaflad on December 05, 2017, 09:41:06 AM
I did not know 5 Sams personally but he came across as a gentleman. His posts always seemed well reasoned and enjoyed him in the music/songs thread. From the stories on here he took time to help others out and seemed like a truly great person. RIP.
Post by: GJL on December 05, 2017, 10:32:27 AM
Just looked back through my messages and realised I had a few PM conversations with him about his car. Seemed a nice guy. RIP.
Post by: Aristo 60 on December 05, 2017, 11:10:12 AM

I too had a few email conversations with him and all about Down of course. I didn't know him in life but from his emails he was, like me, a Down optimist.

RIP 5 Sams
Post by: passedit on December 05, 2017, 11:14:26 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on December 04, 2017, 02:36:19 PM
When I moved back from China to Ireland and my wife and daughter were still there, awaiting visas , passports etc, there was a problem with my daughter's passport application and I needed a new form quickly but couldn't get one in the Republic as it's a form for non-Irish residents. I stuck a thread on here asking for help from the northern posters and Paddy/5 Sams was the first to reply. Told me to to pm my address and he posted the form the next morning. A small but very kind and very important favor that I'll always remember. I never met the man but he seemed a real gent. I'd been thinking lately that I must pm him again to wish him a Happy xmas and tell him how well my daughter is doing in Ireland. Rest in peace Paddy.

Quote from: The Iceman on December 04, 2017, 09:03:22 PM
he was a good man. helped me out 10 years ago when we were launching a business back home and in England..nothing in it for him either - just a good fella.
RIP

You couldn't really get a better epitaph than these posts. Condolences to his clubmates and mates on here.
Post by: downredblack on December 05, 2017, 11:54:10 AM
Very sorry to hear this news . RIP 5 Sams and condolences to his family and Club .
Post by: tonto1888 on December 05, 2017, 03:13:19 PM
Sad to hear this. RIP
Post by: maggie on December 05, 2017, 07:40:58 PM
Very sorry to hear this.
RIP 5 Sams
Post by: Muck Savage on December 05, 2017, 08:48:28 PM
Sad to hear this, always a good read when he posted. RIP
Post by: illdecide on December 06, 2017, 08:47:05 AM
Great article on Paddy in today's Irish News, show's his photo and a brief write up of basically what was written on here about him. Def seemed like a nice man and i'm sure his family are proud of him...RIP Paddy
Post by: AQMP on December 06, 2017, 09:55:31 AM
Very sad about Paddy.  Only 53, he was a "grade A" gent.  He loved the GAA, the Irish language, sport, music and Ballyholland Harps.  Condolences to the many on the board here who knew him, his family, friends and work colleagues in InterTradeIreland. 
Post by: snoopdog on December 06, 2017, 08:23:38 PM
https://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2017/12/06/news/ballyholland-mourns-loss-of-two-stalwarts-1203682/
Rest in peace 5sams.
Post by: armaghniac on December 06, 2017, 08:44:56 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on December 06, 2017, 08:23:38 PM
https://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2017/12/06/news/ballyholland-mourns-loss-of-two-stalwarts-1203682/
Rest in peace 5sams.

Let's hope there is an afterlife in which P. O'Sé is serving him pints and having the craic as Gaeilge.
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 06, 2017, 08:45:50 PM
Rest in peace 5sams.
That is a lovely tribute to an exceptional man.
May he rest in peace.
Post by: Mac Eoghain on December 06, 2017, 08:53:29 PM
RIP Paddy
Post by: seafoid on December 06, 2017, 09:26:37 PM
Rest in peace 5sams.
That is a very nice tribute.
Post by: bannside on December 06, 2017, 10:16:25 PM
Rest easy Paddy. Obviously a man of huge stature in his community who will be badly missed. Only 53, far too young. May God be gentle on his soul.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 06, 2017, 10:25:52 PM
Without meaning to pry was this very sudden or was he ill?
Post by: Dougal Maguire on December 06, 2017, 10:40:53 PM
I understand it was sudden. RIP.
Post by: clarshack on December 06, 2017, 10:44:00 PM
Very sad. RIP.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 06, 2017, 10:46:14 PM
Poor lad.
Post by: JBM on the 21 on December 06, 2017, 10:47:14 PM
May he Rest In Peace.
Post by: Cunny Funt on December 06, 2017, 10:55:37 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 06, 2017, 10:25:52 PM
Without meaning to pry was this very sudden or was he ill?
Short illness i think it was said on his club FB page.
Post by: Ball Hopper on December 06, 2017, 11:43:01 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on December 06, 2017, 08:45:50 PM
Rest in peace 5sams.
That is a lovely tribute to an exceptional man.
May he rest in peace.

Agreed.  Seems he used to give Dingle's Tommy Griffin the salutation "only 5". 
Post by: Goldengreen on December 07, 2017, 11:53:37 AM
RIP 5 Sams
Post by: Ambrose on December 31, 2017, 11:21:24 PM
Paddy was buried on St. Ambrose's day,  the community of Ballyholland gave him a wonderful send off, he meant the world to them and they did to Paddy. His life was celebrated in Newry Cathedral and what a life it was, he lived it to the full in his 53 short years. Club Chairman, Kevin Loughran's, communion testament was a wonderful example of the esteem in which Paddy was held. He would have been so proud of his fellow club men, from under age right through to senior who gave him such a fitting send off. Every club in the county and beyond came out to show their respect and admiration to such a wonderful GAA man. He is a huge loss. not just to the community of Ballyholland, to his family and friends, in Newry, County Down and in his adopted home of Kerry, but also to his online friends here on the GAAboard on twitter and elsewhere.
I sincerely hope that his friends and fellow posters can add something here on the board to tell us a little bit more about Paddy's great life. I saw him win a Macrory Cup when I was a in second or third year in the Abbey CBS, I didn't know him at the time, but I knew him to see as a senior pupil, I'm pretty sure he was a 'sixer' at our dinner table at a time. He won various honours during his playing days with Ballyholland Harps and served his club as secretary for as many years as any of us care to remember.
He was a fan of the Four of Us, I met him in the Spirit Store when they played with the late Bap Kennedy, a massive U2 fan and he was fond of a pint or two of the black stuff.  He was a great man for an oul ticket, wether you were giving one away for the season ticket attendance or needed one for an All Ireland final. I know we'll all miss his contributions here and on twitter and wherever he happened to make friends. The interweb is a lesser place in his absence. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

5ive Times.

Post by: Jim Bob on December 31, 2017, 11:36:58 PM
Great post.
I didn't know who 5 Sams was until he passed away but I have since learned he was a great Gael and a great Down man.
RIP 5 Sams !
Post by: orangeman on January 01, 2018, 02:10:57 AM
Nice tribute Ambrose.

Well deserved.
Post by: T Fearon on January 01, 2018, 03:07:44 AM
Sorry to be pedantic but he didn't win a Mc Rory medal but a runners up medal.
Post by: Smokin Joe on January 01, 2018, 08:47:58 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 01, 2018, 03:07:44 AM
Sorry to be pedantic ........

No you're not Tony.  You love being pedantic.
Of all threads too.
Post by: J70 on January 01, 2018, 12:28:13 PM
Nice tribute.

Behind all the bollocks and discussion on the board, everyone here has real lives that touch many real people, mostly in a positive way I'm sure.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 02, 2018, 02:07:14 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on December 02, 2017, 07:44:13 PM
RIP 5 Sams.

Didn't know the man but he was one of us.

My sympathies to all his closest

Couldn't have put it better. It seems that those of us that hadn't the pleasure of knowing him are the poorer for that. My condolences to his family, friends and clubmates. I can't believe I missed this thread until now. RIP 5 Sams.
Post by: Rossfan on January 02, 2018, 03:25:42 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 02, 2018, 02:07:14 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on December 02, 2017, 07:44:13 PM
My condolences to his family, friends and clubmates. I can't believe I missed this thread until now. RIP 5 Sams.
Same here.
RIP.
Post by: Over the Bar on January 03, 2018, 08:46:44 PM
First met Paddy at Jordanstown Union around 89.    Spent many's a great day and night with him since.   United and Down fanatic and he was the first man to call me to congratulate when Tyrone won their first All Ireland in 2003.   Think the fact we bate Armagh gave him 2 reasons to celebrate.   ;D
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2018, 01:12:58 AM
I couldn't sleep tonight and starting reading old threads. I came across this post.

Quote from: 5 Sams on January 24, 2011, 12:42:03 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 20, 2011, 08:02:48 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 20, 2011, 08:01:27 PM
There's one or two on here I'd love to "bump" into.

I'm led to believe, we've met.

Just to wreck your head Zigg... I have met you as well....I will have an opportunity to meet you again in the next few weeks and I will make myself known... ;) ;)

I'd forgotten 5 Sams introduced himself to me one day many years ago at my workplace. Sadly our paths never crossed again.

RIP Paddy.
Post by: Ambrose on August 15, 2018, 11:04:13 PM
A few days late with this post, but it's nice to see his club and the community are remembering 5Sams in such a fitting way.

The inaugural Paddy Savage under-10 football tournament takes place this morning/afternoon in Fr Lynch Park.
After the tournament, Cathal Dixon will be on stage for an hour or two in the club, followed by the AISF semi final between Dublin and Galway at 5pm.
Football, music, more football, and a few pints. It's the kind of day Paddy would have loved. Call over and be a part of it.

Below is a photo from the 1982 Macrory semi final Paddy is on the goal line, wearing glasses. I'd have been at that game myself.

(https://scontent.fdub5-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/39161536_10216369988546662_4404104871712653312_o.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=6f857984aa20288eadbe55d8329768c5&oe=5C0FC522)
Post by: charlieTully on August 16, 2018, 12:38:11 AM
Quote from: Ambrose on August 15, 2018, 11:04:13 PM
A few days late with this post, but it's nice to see his club and the community are remembering 5Sams in such a fitting way.

The inaugural Paddy Savage under-10 football tournament takes place this morning/afternoon in Fr Lynch Park.
After the tournament, Cathal Dixon will be on stage for an hour or two in the club, followed by the AISF semi final between Dublin and Galway at 5pm.
Football, music, more football, and a few pints. It's the kind of day Paddy would have loved. Call over and be a part of it.

Below is a photo from the 1982 Macrory semi final Paddy is on the goal line, wearing glasses. I'd have been at that game myself.

(https://scontent.fdub5-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/39161536_10216369988546662_4404104871712653312_o.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=6f857984aa20288eadbe55d8329768c5&oe=5C0FC522)

I didn't realise who 5sams was until after he passed away. I would have been friends with his brother at school and stayed in his family home on a few occasions. It's a small world as the saying goes.
Post by: Targetman on August 16, 2018, 01:28:29 PM
I would have been at that match myself, another player in the photo who has also passed away Malachy Murdock, was great craic at them games, I think Abbey won this one!
Post by: Ambrose on December 01, 2018, 04:10:48 PM
Paddy's anniversary mass takes place tomorrow morning at 11am in St Mary's Chapel, Newry. Tea and biscuits afterwards in Ballyholland club.
Hard to believe a year has passed so quickly.