Joe Brolly

Started by randomtask, July 31, 2011, 05:28:31 PM

Quote from: Jinxy on June 03, 2015, 09:54:53 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 03, 2015, 09:43:22 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 03, 2015, 08:48:50 AM
personally don't see why people get so annoyed by him.

because people need to be annoyed. It's what fuels the new age of social media. Typey typey type. Will be something else tomorrow, and something else the day after.

Or maybe, just maybe, it was a completely unnecessary and hurtful thing to say about a colleague on live television?
A colleague who by all accounts is a very decent chap, despite the fact that he gives me a pain in my head as a commentator.
It's a decency issue I suppose.
Some people think you should be able to say whatever you like, about whoever you like, so long as it doesn't affect them.

And there was me thinking the mighty men from Meath were tough. Pale softie!

Some people have an axe to grind with Brolly and they'll use whatever they can against him.
Me?
I was a big fan of his, but now I find I like him less and less as the weeks go by.
He's in danger of going the Davy Fitz route and becoming a caricature of himself.

Quote from: Walter Cronc on June 03, 2015, 10:03:15 AM

because people need to be annoyed. It's what fuels the new age of social media. Typey typey type. Will be something else tomorrow, and something else the day after.

Or maybe, just maybe, it was a completely unnecessary and hurtful thing to say about a colleague on live television?
A colleague who by all accounts is a very decent chap, despite the fact that he gives me a pain in my head as a commentator.
Some people think you should be able to say whatever you like, about whoever you like, so long as it doesn't affect them.

I would have no problem with him elbowing Marty in the ribs, like a man.

Quote from: Jinxy on June 03, 2015, 10:05:11 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on June 03, 2015, 10:03:15 AM

I would have no problem with him elbowing Marty in the ribs, like a man.

That a boy! Up the Royals.

winghalfun

Someone asked on the Sunday game thread "Why are the night time men much better analysts. The day time live programme has the 3 amigos who just look for headlines and cheap jibes, whereas the night programme actually does attempt to analyse the games"

I think the simple answer is that the '3 Amigos' do not have the ability to analyse a game subjectively in tactical terms in real time and resort to rehearsed cliches.

I use to watch the half-time and full-time analysis but don't anymore because it is of no value.

Analysis should be just that, 'a detailed examination of the elements or structure of something'. I don't feel I am getting that. Just a load of hyperbole.

They are no better or worse than these guys.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AH8VrAWvnCc

The ad breaks don't help either.

I'm not sure where to put it but Darragh O'Se is some man his column's are fantastic!!!!

maigheo

Todays colum by OShea is a must read.Laugh out funny.

Quote from: screenexile on June 03, 2015, 11:21:42 AM
I'm not sure where to put it but Darragh O'Se is some man his column's are fantastic!!!!

Very good.

It is a terrible pity they didn't get a 45 that day.

Any craic

Youse would miss Brolly if he quit RTE today. He might annoy you at times but people love to watch him, and I don't just mean people on here. He's the most popular by far, and maybe it's interesting that the following he has outside GAA diehards love him more because they don't take it as seriously. As for the others, think back to Spillane's ridiculous Kerry rant on the Sunday Game evening Show after last year's All Ireland Final. Would you really prefer that crap if Joe left. O'Rourke can be ok but jaysus he can dull.

If by 'dull' you mean he generally talks sense without insulting people or shouting then yes, he is a bit dull.

Quote from: Any craic on June 03, 2015, 12:22:45 PM
Youse would miss Brolly if he quit RTE today. He might annoy you at times but people love to watch him, and I don't just mean people on here. He's the most popular by far, and maybe it's interesting that the following he has outside GAA diehards love him more because they don't take it as seriously. As for the others, think back to Spillane's ridiculous Kerry rant on the Sunday Game evening Show after last year's All Ireland Final. Would you really prefer that crap if Joe left. O'Rourke can be ok but jaysus he can dull.

I actually try not to watch the RTE Panel at all. Spillane and Brolly are both hobby horse specialists, who just happen to play the bad cop/worse cop roles. I happened to see Brolly's comment about Morrissey, but I'd say I've watched RTE football analysts probably 8 times in the last 5 years.

I had the telly on with the sound off for the Cavan v Monaghan game and I left it off at half-time.
Newstalk's radio coverage was far better.

Quote from: Jinxy on June 03, 2015, 12:54:30 PM
I had the telly on with the sound off for the Cavan v Monaghan game and I left it off at half-time.
Newstalk's radio coverage was far better.

You see I'd have Wooly worse than Brolly. I can't have the man at all and his voice goes right through me. I know lot's of people from Laois but none of them sound like him.

He's got a tweet up at the minute about Laois and Kildare clashing with the Champions League Final... who gives a shiny shite?!! Watch the Gaelic or watch the soccer it's up to you!

Was he even that good? I think he was a decent Club player but he was never decent at County level. Was he even playing when Laois last won Leinster?

Ah he was a decent inter county player, but you're right he's done well to make a media career on the back of that. In fairness I find he talks more and more sense on the radio these days. His twitter account is a bit mental, and so I don't follow him any more. Not sure if he played in 2003, he was one of these lads always falling out with them. But in fairness he laughs at himself now.

Quote from: Jinxy on June 03, 2015, 12:24:36 PM
If by 'dull' you mean he generally talks sense without insulting people or shouting then yes, he is a bit dull.

A man who said he would eat his hat if a player as bad as Brian Dooher won an All Ireland... he wasn't talking too much sense that day, and he was being gratuitously insulting