Galway v donegal

Started by cornetto, July 18, 2017, 02:44:24 PM

Manning18

Quote from: Syferus on July 23, 2017, 03:50:39 PM
Quote from: ck on July 23, 2017, 08:49:18 AM
Was at the game. Donegal were shocking. A shambles of an outfit.
Galway are best team in Connacht despite their blip against Rossies. If they can get a win in Croke they could be hard to top.

Galway are the third beat team in Connacht.

What's the logic you're using here?

Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2017, 09:10:55 AM
Donegal have landed about 7 or 8 players into the starting team without any real Championship experience.

Look at the team yesterday - Ward, McGee, Brennan, Gallagher all started when it would have been their first year of Championship football. In addition to that they've also had Ciaran Thompson, Michael Carroll and Cian Mulligan starting Championship football this year who are in the same boat.

Kieran Gillespie saw a few appearances last year in Championship but isn't experienced at this level, even the likes of Hugh McFadden and Eoghan McHugh haven't seen much before last year so you're looking at a side where two thirds of it have been mostly unexposed to Championship football.

You have to lay the blame at Gallagher's door with this, I think some of these lads should have seen more time and been phased into the side when they had a lot of experienced players around them. Now there doesn't seem to be any real leaders on the side - Lacey and McGlynn were two magnificent players whose legs have given out, Michael Murphy looks in danger of being flogged to death, if a manager wants to play him in the middle of the pitch he simply can't expect him to be going box to box, it's simply not his game and he's not mobile enough. McBrearty is up front trying to do everything himself. They are a shambles.

Donegal could do a lot worse than Pete McGrath right now, he was able to organise Fermanagh and set them up very well defensively. I'm sure Lacey and McGlynn will now call it a day but if Donegal get MacNiallais and McLoone back in might help in some way.

There seems to be a huge age gap between the Donegal team, you have McGlynn, Lacey and McGee now over 30. Then you have the likes of Murphy, McElhinney and McGrath who were part of the u21 side which lost to Dublin in the final. Apart from that, there seems to be a massive gap in any sort of talent until you hit McBrearty and Ryan McHugh. If you look at the majority of top sides now they will nearly all have the nucleus of their team in the age group around 24-30, there's not much in Donegal there.

There is definitely some blame to be attached to McGuinness for this as the number of lads that he gave championship debuts to during his time in charge was miniscule - he took a very short-term approach and didn't bother at all in terms of bringing through younger players into the squad - it was always a matter of when this was going to catch up with Donegal.

There is an interview with Gallagher on Donegal Daily and it doesn't sound like he had any notion of resigning.

maigheo

Quote from: Manning18 on July 23, 2017, 04:11:52 PM
Galway are best team in Connacht despite their blip against Rossies. If they can get a win in Croke they could be hard to top.

Logic and Syferus do not go together so do not hold your breath waiting for a logical answer

Galway are the third best team in Connacht.

Mayo's two AI finals last year, Galway's hammering to Roscommon. Simple, clean and obvious.

You'd think you'd be happy the hype train  was gone from your county, it did wonders for us.

The logic of the parallel Rossiverse

Good team performance last night and it was badly needed after that Debacle in the stadium a few weeks ago.  Donegal were poor enough in all fairness and the game was over by HT to all intents and purpose.  Great to see Meehan getting a run and by all accounts his influence within the panel is hugely appreciated by all involved.  We don't have the defence to handle Kerry but it's our own fault we are in this position, so we may as well make the best of it. 

Makes you wonder how good Tyrone actually are

StephenC

Well done Galway. Terrific performance and well-worth the lop-sided scoreline. Best of luck against Kerry.

Not sure where we can go now. We have had no defined style of play all year. We bring numbers back but our defense has been poor. We are trying to play a running game but end up in cul-de-sacs pretty much every time. Tough to take TBH.

Brilliant to see Mikey Meehan back. Some embarrassment of riches ye have in terms of forwards in Galway. Ye have your defensive frailties but in the modern game, especially in Croke Park, you need to be able to score heavily and I think ye can. Galway were always going to get a tough draw but always seem to perform against Kerry. I expect they'll do well the next day. Need to come up with some way of avoiding goals to give themselves a chance.

Yeah it was great to see Mikey back in a Galway jersey.
No more passionate or committed player has represented the county.
Cannot see any way our back line can hold that Kerry forward line though.

skeog

Good to see Michael Meehan return Saturday doubt he will play next Sunday.Kerry will be a different animal.

Is Meehan playing much club football or is he back in the panel on reputation alone?