GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Jinxy on March 22, 2018, 10:27:08 AM

Title: "GAA is losing ground big time" - McGeeney
Post by: Jinxy on March 22, 2018, 10:27:08 AM
KIERAN McGeeney says the GAA is in danger of getting "caught sleeping one of these days" by other sports stealing the limelight and wants the number of National League games doubled.

The Armagh boss, who captained his county to their one All-Ireland success in 2002, would like to see pre-season competitions abolished in favour of a double-round league with home and away games against each opposition.

With Ireland's rugby team having won an historic Grand Slam on St Patrick's weekend, an event which contributed to the attendance at the All-Ireland club finals being halved from its' decade-long average of around 30,000, McGeeney fears that the GAA will lose out.

"I think the GAA is losing ground big time on rugby and other sports," he said.

"There seems to be an agenda against inter-county teams this past three or four years for some unknown reason.

"There's probably a very small percentage of players that don't like it but it's fair to say the majority of players love playing for their county.

"There seems to be an agenda about over-training and stuff like that. I hate to buck the trend but I can't see the over-training. I think training has got better compared to what we did.

"We used to have pre-season in September to start in October, then another pre-season in January to start in February, and then another pre-season in May to start in June. The training's much more enjoyable now, it's all football orientated.

"We've shortened the league down to nine weeks. If anything, I'd love to see the pre-cup competitions going and just play the leagues home and away, have 14 games on the trot and then go into championship.

"I think that would be more reflective of an intermediate or senior championship then, when you've 14 games. Teams might be a wee bit more open to it then, when they're getting 14 league games every year."

He feels that giving counties more high-profile games would have a double impact, in terms of redressing the training-to-match ratio while also staving off public interest in other major sports.

The Mullaghbawn native believes having a 14-round League campaign would be achievable in the window between January and April, and that counties may be more receptive to the championship being both split-up and shortened if they had the guarantee of more games.

"If you're still down to six or seven, plus one or two maybe in a championship, then why go for a second tier?

"If you're playing 14 games, you're able to try different things and try players, and it's not lengthening the inter-county season.

"It could be done in the same amount of time, but you're just replacing games that are already there. It cuts down the training load because you can't train when you're playing week in, week out, as we know this year.

"There's no hard training, it's small-sided games at the very most in between games, trying to keep boys ticking over.

"The biggest thing for me is it would raise the profile of the game. I think we're going to get caught sleeping one of these days.

"I love rugby and soccer as much as the next person, but we have our own games to promote, and the more games we have of a higher quality, the better.

"I think if you're going to do a [tiered] championship, you have to do a wee bit of groundwork before it. It's not just a matter of 'right, everybody into a 'B' championship'.

"Give teams more games, give fellas a chance to settle into a good season that won't interfere with the club. That way you can shorten the championship and it would be over at the end of July, and the clubs are happy too.

"We should be making more out of our players and giving them more high-profile games. I'd agree with what most of the experts would say – more games and less training," said the Orchard boss.

http://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2018/03/22/news/gaa-losing-ground-to-rugby-mcgeeney-1284609/ (http://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2018/03/22/news/gaa-losing-ground-to-rugby-mcgeeney-1284609/)

Is there any evidence to support the broader assertion that the GAA is losing 'market share' to rugby, or is it just more of the same thing we hear any time the rugby team do well?
Title: Re: "GAA is losing ground big time" - McGeeney
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 22, 2018, 10:59:17 AM
Kildare has 7 rugby clubs Barnhall (Leixlip/Celbridge), Naas, Cill Dara(Kildare) Newbridge, Clane, Athy, North Kildare(Maynooth/Kilcock). 1 u16 Dev Squad which feeds into the Leinster pathway.

I use to coach that u16 squad and notable professional rugby players produced are Adam Byrne, Joey Carberry, Jeremey Loughman and Adam Coyle, all who have played professionally in the last year. None of those 4 players, 2 of whom are props, with the exception of Byrne, whose brother was on the books of Man United, had shown much interest in GAA. So possibly 1 player was lost to Kildare in that period, in years gone by McFadden(Suncroft), Heaslip(Naas), Johne Murphy(Ellistown) Geordan Murphy(Naas) all showed underage GAA potential so any arguement could be made, just not a very strong one.

So player wise the GAA are not really losing out to rugby whereas Cribben, Brophy, Hurley and Flynn all tried their hand at AFL, a bigger threat if you want to call it that.

Attendance wise at county games Kildare is way down because we are shite and living in Dublin's shadow is killing any enthusiasm for the game. However the club game is pretty vibrant, Moorefield won the Leinster Club, Naas CBS won the Br Bosco Cup (Leinster A schools) and our minor teams are competitive, 3 of the last 5 Leinsters.

The majority of Leinster season ticket holders live in Dublin and Dublin GAA seemingly is the model we should all follow.

I like McGeeney but on this he is talking shite.

Post by: Owenmoresider on March 22, 2018, 11:07:47 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 22, 2018, 10:27:08 AM"There seems to be an agenda against inter-county teams this past three or four years for some unknown reason.
If there is, then it's the likes of McGeeney and his approach to IC management and relations with the clubs that has helped contribute to that.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 22, 2018, 11:10:30 AM
There are 8 Rugby clubs in Mayo! There are 25 in Connacht!
Post by: Jinxy on March 22, 2018, 11:12:27 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 22, 2018, 10:59:17 AM
Kildare has 7 rugby clubs Barnhall (Leixlip/Celbridge), Naas, Cill Dara(Kildare) Newbridge, Clane, Athy, North Kildare(Maynooth/Kilcock). 1 u16 Dev Squad which feeds into the Leinster pathway.

I use to coach that u16 squad and notable professional rugby players produced are Adam Byrne, Joey Carberry, Jeremey Loughman and Adam Coyle, all who have played professionally in the last year. None of those 4 players, 2 of whom are props, with the exception of Byrne, whose brother was on the books of Man United, had shown much interest in GAA. So possibly 1 player was lost to Kildare in that period, in years gone by McFadden(Suncroft), Heaslip(Naas), Johne Murphy(Ellistown) Geordan Murphy(Naas) all showed underage GAA potential so any arguement could be made, just not a very strong one.

So player wise the GAA are not really losing out to rugby whereas Cribben, Brophy, Hurley and Flynn all tried their hand at AFL, a bigger threat if you want to call it that.

Attendance wise at county games Kildare is way down because we are shite and living in Dublin's shadow is killing any enthusiasm for the game. However the club game is pretty vibrant, Moorefield won the Leinster Club, Naas CBS won the Br Bosco Cup (Leinster A schools) and our minor teams are competitive, 3 of the last 5 Leinsters.

The majority of Leinster season ticket holders live in Dublin and Dublin GAA seemingly is the model we should all follow.

Yeah, I saw that Dinny.
Great achievement.
It's the first time I've even clocked them playing at 'A' level.
Have they come out of nowhere or is there a lot of work going on there?
Post by: Orchard park on March 22, 2018, 11:13:38 AM
from a manager who put county panels through the hardest possible rigours of training, who couldnt get a Physion to stay with him because of this

none so pure as a reformed whore
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 22, 2018, 11:16:27 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 22, 2018, 11:10:30 AM
Where are these 8? Ballina, Castlebar, Westport yes, and? Just the one each in Sligo and Leitrim. Doubt Roscommon has too many so it's still very much Galway-dominated.
Post by: Rossfan on March 22, 2018, 11:22:06 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 22, 2018, 11:10:30 AM
25 too effin many >:(

Instead of shooting the messenger has he a point?
Is it just media coverage we're losing out or has the abominable rubby reduced out attendances and participation rates?
Or is it just Paddy on the bandwagon ked by the nose by media cheerleaders?
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 22, 2018, 11:24:06 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 22, 2018, 11:12:27 AM

Yeah, I saw that Dinny.
Great achievement.

Naas GAA deserve a lot of the credit, they completely restructured their underage and are reaping the rewards, Naas CBS have just plugged into that. Cormac Kirwan the new Kildare GAA Operations officer I believe was the brains behind it all. Although some of the other Kildare posters (Kicking King) might have a better insight. The perception of Naas use to be rugby town but that is now definitely being challenged.
Post by: Jinxy on March 22, 2018, 11:31:46 AM
It's interesting you should say that re Naas being traditionally seen as a rugby town, Dinny.
Whatever about the merits of McGeeney's argument above, we don't tend to hear much from rugby people that are worried about the rise of the GAA in South County Dublin.
The perception is always, 'Rugby is doing well, this must be at the GAA's expense'.
Is rugby actually doing well?
If so, what metrics are we using.
Participation?
Attendances?
Viewing figures?
Post by: From the Bunker on March 22, 2018, 11:40:03 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 22, 2018, 11:24:06 AM

Yeah, I saw that Dinny.
Great achievement.

Naas GAA deserve a lot of the credit, they completely restructured their underage and are reaping the rewards, Naas CBS have just plugged into that. Cormac Kirwan the new Kildare GAA Operations officer I believe was the brains behind it all. Although some of the other Kildare posters (Kicking King) might have a better insight. The perception of Naas use to be rugby town but that is now definitely being challenged.

Naas CBS play Rice College Westport in the semi-final. First time Rice College have won Connacht. Westport has been always known as a strong Soccer town in Mayo, but the GAA club seems to have put in a serious shift and are reaping the rewards in underage the last couple of years, as well as winning the Intermediate All-Ireland with a very young team.
Post by: yellowcard on March 22, 2018, 11:44:20 AM
I think there is merit in McGeeneys argument but to do this you would have to accept that players will not be available to play club football in the first 6 months of the year. Also bordom levels do set in towards the end of the League once the relegation promotion issues have been settled. I'm not sure a 14 game campaign playing the same teams would have any great appeal as the League draws to a conclusion.

I don't have a problem with more games but I would scrap the provincials and split the AI series into north, south, east and west (4x8 teams) allow every team to enter the AI championship and then run off a second tier competition for teams knocked out of the main competition in the early rounds. The problem is with that of course is that because of the way the GAA is structured, the provincial councils will want to give up their cut of the gate receipts.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 22, 2018, 11:46:30 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 22, 2018, 11:31:46 AM
It's interesting you should say that re Naas being traditionally seen as a rugby town, Dinny.
Whatever about the merits of McGeeney's argument above, we don't tend to hear much from rugby people that are worried about the rise of the GAA in South County Dublin.
The perception is always, 'Rugby is doing well, this must be at the GAA's expense'.
Is rugby actually doing well?
If so, what metrics are we using.
Participation?
Attendances?
Viewing figures?

The only threat rugby ever sees the GAA as,  is that "the GAA keep seeing rugby as threat". This tends to manifest itself in seasons starting earlier, winter leagues (wtf wants to play hurling or football in November to January). Fortunately at a ground level common sense mostly prevails with training and games scheduled not to clash.

Rugby though is struggling at senior club level, senior clubs are just money pits with very little money going into infrastructure and your average AIL club costs between €150K and €500k to run, underage at Junior clubs is vibrant with increasing numbers, with the girls game showing the greatest growth. Junior adult level has shown a slight decrease in adult participation but when you play Junior rugby you are given your fixtures in June, league starts late Sept, finishes early March, all cup weekends are noted, free weekends are noted as catch up weekends, 2 week break at Christmas. Not perfect but miles ahead of the GAA.

Post by: Cunny Funt on March 22, 2018, 11:58:29 AM
14 NFL games? the NFL is grand with 7 games the tight schedule this year will have to be adjusted from now on though.
Post by: heffo on March 22, 2018, 12:02:09 PM

Yeah, I saw that Dinny.
Great achievement.
Cormac Kirwan the new Kildare GAA Operations officer I believe was the brains behind it all.

More Dubs helping out Kildare
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 22, 2018, 12:04:26 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 22, 2018, 11:58:29 AM
14 NFL games? the NFL is grand with 7 games the tight schedule this year will have to be adjusted from now on though.

Exactly. If a 14 game league was to exist it probably would be played over the summer.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 22, 2018, 12:04:41 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 22, 2018, 11:40:03 AM

Yeah, I saw that Dinny.
Great achievement.

Naas CBS play Rice College Westport in the semi-final. First time Rice College have won Connacht. Westport has been always known as a strong Soccer town in Mayo, but the GAA club seems to have put in a serious shift and are reaping the rewards in underage the last couple of years, as well as winning the Intermediate All-Ireland with a very young team.

I was only talking about this the other day, if I was involved in Kildare GAA, I would abandon development squads and start focusing on the 8 biggest secondary schools in the county all of which range from 500 boys to 1000 boys in size and pump coaching and other resources into them. Majority of these schools are touched by 5-10 clubs regardless so the clubs get the benefit as well.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 22, 2018, 12:05:24 PM
Quote from: heffo on March 22, 2018, 12:02:09 PM

Yeah, I saw that Dinny.
Great achievement.
Cormac Kirwan the new Kildare GAA Operations officer I believe was the brains behind it all.

More Dubs helping out Kildare

Need all the help we can get.
Post by: Orchard park on March 22, 2018, 12:05:54 PM
half Kidare is dubs now sure.

Naas is big enough to be supporting 2 vibrant clubs realistically. Look at what newbridge can do, but in fairness to Naas they are equally promoting hurling
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 22, 2018, 12:08:21 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on March 22, 2018, 12:05:54 PM

Naas is big enough to be supporting 2 vibrant clubs realistically. Look at what newbridge can do, but in fairness to Naas they are equally promoting hurling

2? Naas has a population of 25k.
Post by: Jinxy on March 22, 2018, 12:12:34 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on March 22, 2018, 11:44:20 AM
I think there is merit in McGeeneys argument but to do this you would have to accept that players will not be available to play club football in the first 6 months of the year. Also bordom levels do set in towards the end of the League once the relegation promotion issues have been settled. I'm not sure a 14 game campaign playing the same teams would have any great appeal as the League draws to a conclusion.

I don't have a problem with more games but I would scrap the provincials and split the AI series into north, south, east and west (4x8 teams) allow every team to enter the AI championship and then run off a second tier competition for teams knocked out of the main competition in the early rounds. The problem is with that of course is that because of the way the GAA is structured, the provincial councils will want to give up their cut of the gate receipts.

The 'beauty' of the current league structure is that more often than not every game counts.
You're going to the final day with at least one promotion & relegation slot up for grabs.
It's probably the best 'real gaa' day of the year, as usually in addition to needing your own team to win, you're praying for someone else to beat your closest rival, whether it's at the top or bottom of the table.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 22, 2018, 12:21:18 PM
Agree with Jinxy.

Remember the pre-season comps are run over 4 weeks (apart from the O'Byrne Cup which is longer than War and Peace) so where could you shoehorn in another 7 games as well as club matches is beyond me.

I think there is a bi of Chicken Licken here cos the rugby lads took a few thousand off the AICFs in Croke Park. It's a blue moon thing so no need to panic. Heard it all before with Italia 90, USA 94 yada yada yada.

#savetheobyrnecupbutplaythefeckinfinalwillye
Post by: Rossfan on March 22, 2018, 12:27:13 PM
14 NFL games is certainly not a runner anyway.
Post by: Orchard park on March 22, 2018, 12:31:04 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 22, 2018, 12:08:21 PM

and the majority are young families are they not.

How does Newbridge support Moorefield and Sarsfields then with a population of circa 23000
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 22, 2018, 12:34:38 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 22, 2018, 12:12:34 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on March 22, 2018, 11:44:20 AM

The 'beauty' of the current league structure is that more often than not every game counts.
You're going to the final day with at least one promotion & relegation slot up for grabs.
It's probably the best 'real gaa' day of the year, as usually in addition to needing your own team to win, you're praying for someone else to beat your closest rival, whether it's at the top or bottom of the table.

NFL is the best format the GAA have but those at HQ will likely chop and change that in the years ahead  ::)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 22, 2018, 12:35:40 PM
14 competitive league games, a semi and a final. At least 17-18 weeks to run off plus a preseason etc. Why would anyone want to put amateurs through this unless there is some benefits to that person directly or to the players....like making the progressive argument that the 'elite' are effectively now professional and need to be treated as such. Trust me, there is a simple agenda of creating elitism and money backed players. And as someone else said it's that time of year when there is limited things to write about so let's get a mouth piece and create a bit of shit for a few weeks
Post by: armaghniac on March 22, 2018, 12:40:31 PM
While the 14 games is too much, perhaps there is a case for a 3 division structure, with a bit less of the preseason stuff.

The GAA must also concentrate on areas of growing population and areas of limited participation and get new clubs going and broader participation schemes.
Post by: lurganblue on March 22, 2018, 12:45:44 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on March 22, 2018, 12:31:04 PM

How does Newbridge support Moorefield and Sarsfields then with a population of circa 23000

Serious? Lurgan has a similar population and 5 clubs. Half the population would have a dislike of all things GAA too!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 22, 2018, 12:46:09 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 22, 2018, 12:40:31 PM
While the 14 games is too much, perhaps there is a case for a 3 division structure, with a bit less of the preseason stuff.

The GAA must also concentrate on areas of growing population and areas of limited participation and get new clubs going and broader participation schemes.

I think that should be the case with the same layout as reflects most club scenes with junior intermediate and senior.
Post by: Jinxy on March 22, 2018, 12:46:46 PM
I love the idea of plenty of high-quality, competitive home & away fixtures during the spring/summer but that will only happen when we make the league the primary competition.
Post by: shark on March 22, 2018, 01:02:45 PM

21000 in Mullingar and effectively 4 clubs pulling from it due to no parish rule. The rugby club are not majorly strong and don't pull huge numbers away from GAA. However, the very talented youngsters who are good at all sports often lean towards rugby. Quality rather than quantity. Conor O'Brien (Leinster), Conor Gilsenan (London Irish) and Mark Flanagan (Saracens) are all from Mullingar and were all outstanding footballers. O'Brien especially would be a huge addition to the Westmeath team right now.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 22, 2018, 01:25:06 PM

I was questioning why only 2? It could sustain easily 4 clubs, likewise Newbridge.
Post by: Taylor on March 22, 2018, 01:31:37 PM
Who is he kidding? If the league starts earlier and has 14 games it means pre seaosn will start earlier.
Given how soon McGeeney has the Armagh players starting pre season it would mean pre season eating into the end of the club scene in Armagh no doubt.

In order to make any changes the Provincial Councils need to be appeased. Give them enough money and the Provincials can easily be disposed of and lets get a real knockout competition going
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 22, 2018, 01:33:22 PM
Quote from: shark on March 22, 2018, 01:02:45 PM

21000 in Mullingar and effectively 4 clubs pulling from it due to no parish rule. The rugby club are not majorly strong and don't pull huge numbers away from GAA. However, the very talented youngsters who are good at all sports often lean towards rugby. Quality rather than quantity. Conor O'Brien (Leinster), Conor Gilsenan (London Irish) and Mark Flanagan (Saracens) are all from Mullingar and were all outstanding footballers. O'Brien especially would be a huge addition to the Westmeath team right now.

A question re parish rule in Westmeath, is there no parish rule in Westmeath or is it just the fact that the 4 clubs are from the same parish?
Post by: shark on March 22, 2018, 01:39:00 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 22, 2018, 01:33:22 PM

A question re parish rule in Westmeath, is there no parish rule in Westmeath or is it just the fact that the 4 clubs are from the same parish?

None whatsoever. It's a free for all.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 22, 2018, 01:42:05 PM
Quote from: shark on March 22, 2018, 01:39:00 PM

Really? So a young lad from Ballinagore can decide to play with Tyrellspass or Rochfortbridge?
Post by: shark on March 22, 2018, 01:48:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 22, 2018, 01:42:05 PM

Really? So a young lad from Ballinagore can decide to play with Tyrellspass or Rochfortbridge?

Nothing stopping him. There are examples throughout the county, but generally it doesn't happen too much. However, actually transferring from one club to another is much more difficult and much rarer than in other counties, as far as I can tell.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 22, 2018, 01:55:22 PM
What may have prompted this is that there are a few lads on the Royal School Armagh team playing the Schools Cup last week, who have very obviously Irish names and a fair smattering are from a GAA background. There was a lot of coverage of the match in the area and it was certainly remarked upon to me about the names of the players.
Post by: Jinxy on March 22, 2018, 02:02:22 PM
We need a few more lads with high-falootin names picking the GAA.
Does Stuart McKenzie-Smith have any kids playing yet?
Post by: Orchard park on March 22, 2018, 02:13:16 PM
Quote from: Taylor on March 22, 2018, 01:31:37 PM
Who is he kidding? If the league starts earlier and has 14 games it means pre seaosn will start earlier.
Given how soon McGeeney has the Armagh players starting pre season it would mean pre season eating into the end of the club scene in Armagh no doubt.

In order to make any changes the Provincial Councils need to be appeased. Give them enough money and the Provincials can easily be disposed of and lets get a real knockout competition going

Mcgeeney busy planning for 2019 and will have preseason as soon as the twelfth is out of the way
Post by: Taylor on March 22, 2018, 02:29:01 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on March 22, 2018, 02:13:16 PM

Mcgeeney busy planning for 2019 and will have preseason as soon as the twelfth is out of the way

The level ye are at that should be more than possible
Post by: johnnycool on March 22, 2018, 03:58:39 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 22, 2018, 01:55:22 PM
What may have prompted this is that there are a few lads on the Royal School Armagh team playing the Schools Cup last week, who have very obviously Irish names and a fair smattering are from a GAA background. There was a lot of coverage of the match in the area and it was certainly remarked upon to me about the names of the players.

Ireland win a Grand Slam for the third time in its history and it's all over the D4 based media, no big deal IMO.

McGeeney and his type of intercounty management need an all year round type role and with compacted leagues and if Armagh don't make the super 8's then the season could be over for him sooner than he'd like.

Does he have a 9 to 5 job?
Post by: tonto1888 on March 22, 2018, 04:17:48 PM

And how long does he have them pre seasoning?
Post by: BennyCake on March 22, 2018, 06:57:11 PM
If you're choosing to watch that rugby bollix rather than attend a GAA match, well you're not much of a GAA fan.

I don't understand the hype in this country with a game that many people have never had any connection or affiliation to, nor know the rules of. It's nearly like you're being unpatriotic if you dont watch the Ireland rugby team playing.
Post by: Rossfan on March 22, 2018, 07:50:40 PM
It's like Katy Taylor, various golfers etc
The media blow it up and Paddy jumps aboard  a winning bandwagon.
Post by: thewobbler on March 22, 2018, 08:13:47 PM
Geezer could do with coming out from his bubble for a few weeks. He's going a bit demented in there.

1. He believes that there are enough (suitable quality) players in every county in Ireland who want to forego their clubs for at least 6 months, to play county league football. No doubt he himself would have. But I think he's in the minority.

2. He believes that there are enough (suitable quality) players in every county in Ireland who will happily forego their every weekend of half the he year to travel Ireland playing football. I'm really not so sure he has thought this out. Lads we don't own you.

3. He is willing to ignore the cold hard truth that postponements in winter time are inevitable, and the only place to stack them is at the other end, which means going to war with the clubs.

4. He might as well hold up a placard saying "feck the Sigerson".

5. Maybe largely because it's how he was treated as a player, but he wouldn't appear to grasp that county boards have no money, and putting on a series of dead rubber fixtures across Ireland in winter is only going to exacerbate the situation.
Post by: Orchard park on March 22, 2018, 08:23:57 PM
Geezer will never be accused of club focus anyways
Post by: Throw ball on March 22, 2018, 10:17:55 PM
I was at a talk night in Derrynoose a couple of years ago. The panel included Peter Caravan, Martin McHugh , John McEntee. Geezer was in the audience. There was discussions on that night about GAA clubs losing players to Rugby. It was particularly relevant to Derrynoose as a small country club had a few young fellas playing rugby. One young dual player was with the Ulster Rugby academy and was not seemingly allowed to play any other sport. He was 15 or 16 at the time. He now plays for Armagh in rugby but does not play GAA as far as I know. Maybe Geezer listened to the discussion that night and has noticed increases in this trend.
Post by: Main Street on March 22, 2018, 10:23:29 PM
"big time"?  I hate that expression big time.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on March 22, 2018, 10:55:53 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 22, 2018, 01:42:05 PM

yes
some clubs are very good at getting young lads and parents to switch clubs
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 22, 2018, 11:21:44 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 22, 2018, 03:58:39 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 22, 2018, 01:55:22 PM

Ireland win a Grand Slam for the third time in its history and it's all over the D4 based media, no big deal IMO.

McGeeney and his type of intercounty management need an all year round type role and with compacted leagues and if Armagh don't make the super 8's then the season could be over for him sooner than he'd like.

Does he have a 9 to 5 job?
Dunno but he was driving a decent Beemer last week.
Post by: David McKeown on March 23, 2018, 01:02:01 AM
Anecdotally I coach youth soccer in the Belfast and after the 09 slam there was a big drop in player numbers for a year or two. The local parents put it down to the growth of rugby. Be interesting to see in the next year or two whether it was coincidence or not
Post by: CJ2017 on March 23, 2018, 06:09:56 AM
Jinxy on rugby in Meath, I would be interested in what you thought about Conor Nash who said he did have an academy contract on the table with Leinster before he left for Oz and Cillian O'Sullivan for Meath who's brother Hugh is on the Ireland U20 Rugby team.

Navan Rugby club made the U20 All Ireland Rugby final last year and their captain McKeever said
"It's unheard of for a Navan U20 team to go up and be in an All-Ireland final, it's usually for the likes of Lansdowne, Clontarf, Cork Con, Munsters and all those,"

Ashbourne has jumped to the top of the Leinster League Division 1A for the first time in the club's history (Oct 2017)
North Meath Rugby club was founded in 2007 too, I wonder should all of this cause a concern for Meath GAA county board?! What will it be like in 5 years' time?! looks like a competition, a battleground for sports?

http://www.the42.ie/navan-rugby-club-promotion-3325055-Apr2017/
https://www.sportsjoe.ie/rugby/looks-though-meath-gaa-lost-real-talent-rugby-138839
https://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/leinster-rugby/leinster-club-rugby-meath-boys-top-of-table-36265382.html
Post by: Rossfan on March 23, 2018, 09:08:29 AM
Sure the Meath crowd were playing rugby in Croke Park in 2010.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 23, 2018, 09:11:45 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on March 23, 2018, 01:02:01 AM
Anecdotally I coach youth soccer in the Belfast and after the 09 slam there was a big drop in player numbers for a year or two. The local parents put it down to the growth of rugby. Be interesting to see in the next year or two whether it was coincidence or not
Rugby obviously popular at the city grammar schools but we have found their numbers poor at minis level. Quins better than Malone but it is surprising considering location and catchment.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 23, 2018, 11:08:24 AM
Quote from: Orchard park on March 22, 2018, 08:23:57 PM

Exactly. His opinion is close to worthless.
Post by: Rossfan on March 23, 2018, 11:16:40 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 23, 2018, 11:08:24 AM

Unlike us  lot here ;D ;D
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 23, 2018, 07:14:14 PM
Somebody needs to tell Geezer there are limits to what you can do with amateur athletes.
Post by: David McKeown on March 23, 2018, 08:53:17 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 23, 2018, 09:11:45 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on March 23, 2018, 01:02:01 AM
Rugby obviously popular at the city grammar schools but we have found their numbers poor at minis level. Quins better than Malone but it is surprising considering location and catchment.

Yeah my involvement is currently with 18/19 year olds at the time I was running the league and but was still only dealing with 11-19 year olds so I've no idea if it had my impact on younger ones.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 26, 2018, 12:36:18 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 23, 2018, 11:16:40 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 23, 2018, 11:08:24 AM

Unlike us  lot here ;D ;D

Actually no. I'd say the vast majority would have a more holistic, complete view of the GAA the McGeeney.
Post by: Solo_run on March 28, 2018, 12:05:55 AM
I can see where he is coming from. There are loads of references to rugby players playing gaelic football or hurling in their youth but never really hear any reference to rugby switching to gaelic football.

I don't think it will be long before GAA players are paid or they are going to have to enforce some serious restrictions on budgeting especially with there being a massive gap between county teams.

If the players do start getting paid would it be a better idea to allow this incentive at County level?
Post by: screenexile on March 28, 2018, 10:57:10 AM
Quote from: Solo_run on March 28, 2018, 12:05:55 AM
I can see where he is coming from. There are loads of references to rugby players playing gaelic football or hurling in their youth but never really hear any reference to rugby switching to gaelic football.

I don't think it will be long before GAA players are paid or they are going to have to enforce some serious restrictions on budgeting especially with there being a massive gap between county teams.

If the players do start getting paid would it be a better idea to allow this incentive at County level?

Here you go . . .

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/some-class-rugby-players-who-chose-the-gaa-instead-155055?utm_content=buffer6203b&utm_medium=Social+organic&utm_source=Twitter&utm_campaign=Buffer
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2018, 11:48:22 AM
To be fair, that's more a list of GAA players who dabbled in a bit of rugby on the side.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 28, 2018, 11:58:34 AM
Any good rugby player who is on a professional contract is unlikely to be allowed play GAA while under contract. When they finish up, or if they are cut loose, they may well come back, but they'd not be the better known lads anyway.

Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2018, 12:33:39 PM
Eric Miller is the only high-profile rugby player I can recall that played football at a decent-ish level after retiring.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 28, 2018, 12:41:06 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 28, 2018, 12:33:39 PM
Eric Miller is the only high-profile rugby player I can recall that played football at a decent-ish level after retiring.

Gavan Duffy played a small bit of IC with Mayo didn't he?
Post by: mrdeeds on March 28, 2018, 12:43:47 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 28, 2018, 11:58:34 AM
Any good rugby player who is on a professional contract is unlikely to be allowed play GAA while under contract. When they finish up, or if they are cut loose, they may well come back, but they'd not be the better known lads anyway.

Sean O Brien played in Carlow recently enough.
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2018, 12:44:52 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/gavin-duffy-dropped-from-mayo-panel-having-not-played-a-competitive-game-1.2111128 (https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/gavin-duffy-dropped-from-mayo-panel-having-not-played-a-competitive-game-1.2111128)
Post by: AZOffaly on March 28, 2018, 12:49:02 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 28, 2018, 12:44:52 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/gavin-duffy-dropped-from-mayo-panel-having-not-played-a-competitive-game-1.2111128 (https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/gavin-duffy-dropped-from-mayo-panel-having-not-played-a-competitive-game-1.2111128)

What level did Eric Millar play at?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 28, 2018, 01:13:21 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 28, 2018, 12:49:02 PM

Played in a challenge game for a Dublin development side:

(https://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF295/230551.jpg)
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on March 28, 2018, 01:15:17 PM

Pretty sure he played to U21 level with Dublin and played senior club with Ballyboden SE.  Not sure if he ever got a run with the Dub seniors?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 28, 2018, 01:17:28 PM
Johne Murphy (Ellistown) and Fionn Carr (Straffan) are currently playing intermediate football in Kildare having finished up playing pro-rugby. I think Carr is still lining out for Naas in the AIL.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 28, 2018, 01:18:38 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 28, 2018, 01:13:21 PM

Played in a challenge game for a Dublin development side:

(https://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF295/230551.jpg)

Then Gavan Duffy playing challenge matches is at least as much as Millar did after he returned.
Post by: CJ2017 on March 28, 2018, 01:39:48 PM
GAA gaining ground in Adelaide tho.

Adelaide Crows Eddie's Betts playing sevens in South Australia, dont know if he will be giving up the
$650,000 a year contract tho!

(https://indaily.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/Gaelic-Eddie-Betts-IIIa-e1510275444624-850x455.jpg)(http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/Samples/552268-tlslargelandscape.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2018, 03:31:08 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 28, 2018, 01:17:28 PM
Johne Murphy (Ellistown) and Fionn Carr (Straffan) are currently playing intermediate football in Kildare having finished up playing pro-rugby. I think Carr is still lining out for Naas in the AIL.

You'd think he'd spell his name properly now that he's retired from rugby.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on March 29, 2018, 01:06:31 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 28, 2018, 01:17:28 PM

Murphy hasn't played for Ellistown since 2015 I'm almost sure, he was very poor in his comeback. He would definitely have made it for Kildare before bulking up for Rugby. He destroyed Clane as an 18/19 year old in the senior championship when Clane were a good team and Ellistown were producing a good batch.
Post by: screenexile on March 29, 2018, 08:11:50 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 28, 2018, 12:33:39 PM

I was playing with Boden when he first came back out... he was a big unit and they shoved him in full forward but he was very rusty I'm presuming he improved before he made it to the Dubs development squad!
Post by: Jinxy on March 29, 2018, 10:05:33 PM
Probably not that much.
Think he only played one game for them.
Similar to Gavin Duffy with Mayo, I doubt he got the call up primarily as a result of his football ability.
Post by: Rossfan on March 30, 2018, 11:31:53 AM
https://m.independent.ie/sport/rugby/ewan-mackenna-theres-a-little-secret-behind-why-rugby-gets-so-much-coverage-and-its-nothing-to-do-with-popularity-36757687.html
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 30, 2018, 12:00:53 PM
I am going to have to block you Rossfan.
Post by: Jinxy on March 30, 2018, 12:07:17 PM
(http://c2.thejournal.ie/media/2017/07/bernard-brogan-with-kevin-feely-390x285.jpg)
Post by: DuffleKing on March 30, 2018, 12:37:14 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 30, 2018, 11:31:53 AM
https://m.independent.ie/sport/rugby/ewan-mackenna-theres-a-little-secret-behind-why-rugby-gets-so-much-coverage-and-its-nothing-to-do-with-popularity-36757687.html

Accurate and insightful
Post by: magpie seanie on March 30, 2018, 01:08:00 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on March 30, 2018, 12:37:14 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 30, 2018, 11:31:53 AM

Accurate and insightful

I don't see any problem with that....quite measured in fact.