Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Gaaboardmod3 on October 06, 2017, 02:11:34 PM

Poll
Question: Does this board need stricter moderation
Option 1: Yes - Ban anyone who breaches the 'incitement' rule immediately votes: 10
Option 2: Yes - But only if there is a repeated pattern votes: 49
Option 3: No - Things are fine votes: 55
Option 4: No - There should be less moderation votes: 10
Title: More Active/Stricter Moderation - Yes/No
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on October 06, 2017, 02:11:34 PM
Genuinely interested in the response to this. In the past the moderation has been seen as too 'heavy handed', now the board is struggling with threads descending into slagging matches, many provocative posts and a significant number of WUMs, Trolls and shit stirrers. Do people on the board want mods to take a much harsher line on posters? Should there be much more frequent bans handed out for those who appear to be just causing angst for the craic?
Title: Re: More Active/Stricter Moderation - Yes/No
Post by: punt kick on October 06, 2017, 02:15:26 PM
Most shit stirrers are your regulars who get a bye ball, especially those with numerous accounts who's only aim is to get a rise.
Post by: J70 on October 06, 2017, 02:22:07 PM
At least do a purge on the multiple personality accounts, starting with the ones staring you in the face.
Post by: HiMucker on October 06, 2017, 02:27:50 PM
We don't need stricter moderation ya stupid bastard!
Post by: Denn Forever on October 06, 2017, 02:40:59 PM
Leave things as they are.  As people have said there is an ignore button.  You know who annoys you, so don't read their posts even the are part of a long number quotes.
Post by: seafoid on October 06, 2017, 02:45:27 PM
The board seems to work ok. It is impossible to moderate the human need for attention. The vast majority of posters play fair.
Post by: Esmarelda on October 06, 2017, 02:48:32 PM
As much as I'd love some posters to disappear, there's a thin line between insanity and being a troll so I'd say leave it alone.

Self-control should be enough.
Post by: Orior on October 06, 2017, 02:57:17 PM
How can I block myself?
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 06, 2017, 03:07:16 PM
Quote from: punt kick on October 06, 2017, 02:15:26 PM
Most shit stirrers are your regulars who get a bye ball, especially those with numerous accounts who's only aim is to get a rise.
Post by: TabClear on October 06, 2017, 03:10:54 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on October 06, 2017, 02:40:59 PM
Leave things as they are.  As people have said there is an ignore button.  You know who annoys you, so don't read their posts even the are part of a long number quotes.

There are a number of threads that descend into anarchy because of the polarised views of the main protaginists (Anything church related, US Politics etc) but you can tell from the posters on both sides that they genuinely believe what they are posting. These should be left alone and anyone who wants to contribute knows what they are getting into.

What I would like to see a tighter rein on is the obvious shitstirrers who go onto specific  threads with the sole aim of twisting and getting a rise (Soccer threads probably the best example) and the usual suspects who will take any thread and if their hobby horse topic is even remotely connected to the new topic will turn  it into a slanging match with their usual foes from the threads above and the original topic gets lost. The Vegas Shooting thread is a prime example of this.

These punters should either be warned or told to take it back to the original thread.
Post by: bennydorano on October 06, 2017, 03:25:31 PM
Quote from: J70 on October 06, 2017, 02:22:07 PM
At least do a purge on the multiple personality accounts, starting with the ones staring you in the face.
I would second that, has to be a handy starting point from an IT point of view (double check with Syf).
Post by: armaghniac on October 06, 2017, 03:31:43 PM
Quote from: TabClear on October 06, 2017, 03:10:54 PM
There are a number of threads that descend into anarchy because of the polarised views of the main protaginists (Anything church related, US Politics etc) but you can tell from the posters on both sides that they genuinely believe what they are posting. These should be left alone and anyone who wants to contribute knows what they are getting into.

There are certain threads with certain divergent views, you can choose whether to enter these threads or not, if they have clear titles
Derailing threads on other issues is less acceptable and personal abuse of posters not acceptable at all, IMHO.
Post by: illdecide on October 06, 2017, 03:49:36 PM
What would really put manners in some is if they were banned and couldn't see the website until their ban is up, i know they can't post whilst banned but the way the Armagh forum was if you got banned you can't access any part of the site ;)
Post by: laoislad on October 06, 2017, 03:59:49 PM
Quote from: illdecide on October 06, 2017, 03:49:36 PM
What would really put manners in some is if they were banned and couldn't see the website until their ban is up, i know they can't post whilst banned but the way the Armagh forum was if you got banned you can't access any part of the site ;)
Wouldn't work as the board isn't a members only board.Anyone can still read the board if they are a member or not.

It's been mentioned before but never came to fruition but I'd be happy to pay a fee for membership.
I don't know if there is much running costs to keep the board going but if there was anything left over after paying the running costs the money could go to a different charity every year.
Post by: illdecide on October 06, 2017, 04:08:55 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 06, 2017, 03:59:49 PM
Wouldn't work as the board isn't a members only board.Anyone can still read the board if they are a member or not.

It's been mentioned before but never came to fruition but I'd be happy to pay a fee for membership.
I don't know if there is much running costs to keep the board going but if there was anything left over after paying the running costs the money could go to a different charity every year.

You're clearly a MOD looking money or you're wealthy and don't care. What about us Northerners who have no money and no one likes us ;)
Post by: laoislad on October 06, 2017, 04:12:40 PM
Quote from: illdecide on October 06, 2017, 04:08:55 PM

You're clearly a MOD looking money or you're wealthy and don't care. What about us Northerners who have no money and no one likes us ;)
Bet you have no problem giving pornhub a fiver  ;)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 06, 2017, 04:15:45 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 06, 2017, 04:12:40 PM
Quote from: illdecide on October 06, 2017, 04:08:55 PM

Bet you have no problem giving pornhub a fiver  ;)

Neither do you if you know the cost😂
Post by: Cunny Funt on October 06, 2017, 04:33:30 PM
I voted for Yes - But only if there is a repeated pattern... as its the most sensible option.

The trolling is getting a bit out of hand on here when even a WUM like syferus is getting annoyed.
Post by: Syferus on October 06, 2017, 05:19:58 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on October 06, 2017, 04:33:30 PM
I voted for Yes - But only if there is a repeated pattern... as its the most sensible option.

The trolling is getting a bit out of hand on here when even a WUM like syferus is getting annoyed.

You'd get caught out on the multiple personalities stipulation - don't be the turkey voting for Christmas.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 06, 2017, 06:26:21 PM
Not much point in having rules if they're not enforced.
Post by: T Fearon on October 06, 2017, 07:19:30 PM
Some people get away with murder,alluding by name and homeplace of convicted paedophiles who happened to be priests.People like that should be banned.

This board has lost most if not all of the early days iconic posters,so it would need to be careful it doesn't lose anymore
Post by: OgraAnDun on October 06, 2017, 07:22:58 PM
That sounds like a thinly veiled threat, Tony.
Post by: T Fearon on October 06, 2017, 07:26:33 PM
It's not.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 06, 2017, 07:31:06 PM
you wouldn't be missed
Post by: StGallsGAA on October 06, 2017, 10:01:39 PM
Whilst I'm not a WUM I'll gladly pay a fiver to buy Liverpool supporters some clothes/drugs in Oxfam/from their dealer  so they can get a job/high and spend less time on the board! 8) ;)
Post by: JoG2 on October 06, 2017, 10:13:56 PM
Are wums/trolls who declare not to be wums/trolls actually wumming or are they delusional? Case in point directly above
Post by: laoislad on October 06, 2017, 10:18:45 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on October 06, 2017, 10:13:56 PM
Are wums/trolls who declare not to be wums/trolls actually wumming or are they delusional? Case in point directly above
Posts like those above yours should get someone a ban.
Post by: StGallsGAA on October 06, 2017, 10:26:42 PM
Liverpool fans who can't take a bit of schtick about winning no league titles in the past 27 years, a total of one league cup in the past  10 years and Stevie G retiring in humiliation getting humped in a 6-1 thrashing at Stoke, who then resort to racist insults against the travelling community (kick down at those you perceive to be below you)  because they can't take the world laughing at their club's failure should be permanently banned.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 06, 2017, 10:32:54 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on October 06, 2017, 10:26:42 PM
Liverpool fans who can't take a bit of schtick about winning no league titles in the past 27 years, a total of one league cup in the past  10 years and Stevie G retiring in humiliation getting humped in a 6-1 thrashing at Stoke, who then resort to racist insults against the travelling community (kick down at those you perceive to be below you)  because they can't take the world laughing at their club's failure should be permanently banned.
Bants.
Post by: JoG2 on October 06, 2017, 10:49:25 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 06, 2017, 10:32:54 PM
Bants.

Indeed. In the good old days before Eamon's revolution he could have been called a dick, but even now if ye wanted to call him a dick, you couldn't call him a dick as you risk a ban... C'est la vie
Post by: Syferus on October 06, 2017, 10:57:38 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on October 06, 2017, 10:49:25 PM
Bants.

Indeed. In the good old days before Eamon's revolution he could have been called a dick, but even now if ye wanted to call him a dick, you couldn't call him a dick as you risk a ban... C'est la vie

Comparing what StGalls does to what Foxcommander does is like comparing a drunk lad in a kebab shop shouting about Enda Kenny ruining the country to Katie Hopkins.

I really don't know why people think painting issues in absolutes is a clever thing to do, because it's the opposite. Drawing false equivalences never is.
Post by: Lar Naparka on October 06, 2017, 11:07:32 PM
Bants.

Aye, but there's a way around all problems of you look hard enough. You could follow the logic here :"I never called you a thick ass, ya stupid donkey."
Post by: laoislad on October 07, 2017, 04:12:04 AM
Bants.

He's a bleedin weirdo is what he is. That rant above is as odd as it gets.
Post by: seafoid on October 07, 2017, 08:14:49 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 06, 2017, 07:19:30 PM
Some people get away with murder,alluding by name and homeplace of convicted paedophiles who happened to be priests.People like that should be banned.

This board has lost most if not all of the early days iconic posters,so it would need to be careful it doesn't lose anymore
You are not iconic,.Tony. You are chronic.
Post by: bamboo on October 07, 2017, 08:52:43 AM
WUMs can be easily ignored. it's the blatant racism, sexism and bigotry that needs to be clamped down on. No place for that in society or on here. Let the tough bully boys treat their wives and children how they want but keep it off here. And keep the personal abuse down too, the crossmaglen thread got pretty nasty and one board member in particular did very well to rise above it all.
Post by: BennyHarp on October 07, 2017, 08:53:36 AM
Some people take their life on here way too seriously. I enjoy the board as much as the next man but generally I wouldn't get too upset about someone I don't know, and am never likely to meet, saying something I don't like. I find when I log off I don't give the Board too much thought. So extra moderation of threads wouldn't be something I would be too bothered about.
Post by: Lar Naparka on October 07, 2017, 10:27:56 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on October 07, 2017, 08:53:36 AM
Some people take their life on here way too seriously. I enjoy the board as much as the next man but generally I wouldn't get too upset about someone I don't know, and am never likely to meet, saying something I don't like. I find when I log off I don't give the Board too much thought. So extra moderation of threads wouldn't be something I would be too bothered about.

That's more or less how I feel also.
Post by: GJL on October 07, 2017, 10:46:57 AM
The key is in the name. GAA board. Some posters on here seem to have little or no interest in anything GAA and are only here to talk shite about soccer/politics/religion. They have no place here IMO.
Post by: laoislad on October 07, 2017, 10:48:25 AM
But you are constantly talking shite about soccer EC Unique..opps sorry I mean GJL
Post by: Boycey on October 07, 2017, 10:59:51 AM
Quote from: GJL on October 07, 2017, 10:46:57 AM
The key is in the name. GAA board. Some posters on here seem to have little or no interest in anything GAA and are only here to talk shite about soccer/politics/religion. They have no place here IMO.

I very rarely post on GAA should I not be here??
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 07, 2017, 11:01:22 AM
Quote from: Boycey on October 07, 2017, 10:59:51 AM

Definitely not you Manc Tyrone scum😛
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 07, 2017, 11:09:58 AM
I used to be great friends with an English guy when I was in university. He was a real Laaadaner. He would regularly call me a terrorist and I would regularly give him shit about Britain raping and pillaging their way round the world.  We had fierce debates about so many different things, particularly when we had a bottle of gin or whiskey.  Contextually though we both knew and respected each other well as we were just expressing our opinions and were very tongue in cheek about a lot of it.

In my opinion much of what goes on on this board is like that.....but some take it too far. Yes I made it personally recently with Fearon and I will stand over that because his comments were personally hurtful to me and he knew what he was at. The thing you get back in life what you put out. That is my motto and I will always stick to that. If you put out good vibes good things happen back. If you peddle in lies, deceit and nastiness don't cry when you get a box in the mouth. Leave it as it is,  most of us are big boys and girls(metaphorically speaking to Rois, Leenie and Tyrone Girl...only Tyrone women on the board...we miss anluabu...she was lovely!).
Post by: Boycey on October 07, 2017, 11:10:25 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 07, 2017, 11:01:22 AM

I'm closer to you than Tyrone ;)
Post by: BennyHarp on October 07, 2017, 11:13:14 AM

There's a non GAA section.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 07, 2017, 11:22:35 AM
Quote from: Boycey on October 07, 2017, 11:10:25 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 07, 2017, 11:01:22 AM

I'm closer to you than Tyrone ;)

Always thought you were a Tyrone scum!!! 
Post by: stew on October 07, 2017, 12:50:26 PM
Quote from: J70 on October 06, 2017, 02:22:07 PM

Shane would have a shit attack if this happened, I miss his Garden County when he was full of soup. )
Post by: stew on October 07, 2017, 12:52:56 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 06, 2017, 07:31:06 PM
you wouldn't be missed

Yes he would.
Post by: Olly on October 07, 2017, 01:57:59 PM
I vote yes because its very obvious there are people here with millions of accounts and its the same person. Whats that all about like?
Post by: magpie seanie on October 07, 2017, 02:23:25 PM
Quote from: Olly on October 07, 2017, 01:57:59 PM
I vote yes because its very obvious there are people here with millions of accounts and its the same person. Whats that all about like?

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Olly, you rarely fail to make me smile!
Post by: Armamike on October 07, 2017, 02:50:23 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on October 06, 2017, 10:01:39 PM
Whilst I'm not a WUM I'll gladly pay a fiver to buy Liverpool supporters some clothes/drugs in Oxfam/from their dealer  so they can get a job/high and spend less time on the board! 8) ;)

You think it's ok to come out with this stuff while you take offence at Laoislad's remarks about halting sites. 
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 07, 2017, 03:11:46 PM
Quote from: stew on October 07, 2017, 12:52:56 PM
you wouldn't be missed

Yes he would.
No he wouldn't.
Post by: seafoid on October 07, 2017, 04:12:04 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 07, 2017, 11:09:58 AM
I used to be great friends with an English guy when I was in university. He was a real Laaadaner. He would regularly call me a terrorist and I would regularly give him shit about Britain raping and pillaging their way round the world.  We had fierce debates about so many different things, particularly when we had a bottle of gin or whiskey.  Contextually though we both knew and respected each other well as we were just expressing our opinions and were very tongue in cheek about a lot of it.

In my opinion much of what goes on on this board is like that.....but some take it too far. Yes I made it personally recently with Fearon and I will stand over that because his comments were personally hurtful to me and he knew what he was at. The thing you get back in life what you put out. That is my motto and I will always stick to that. If you put out good vibes good things happen back. If you peddle in lies, deceit and nastiness don't cry when you get a box in the mouth. Leave it as it is,  most of us are big boys and girls(metaphorically speaking to Rois, Leenie and Tyrone Girl...only Tyrone women on the board...we miss anluabu...she was lovely!).
Great post. Most posters have limits beyond which they will not go. Others do not.
Post by: ziggysego on October 07, 2017, 08:10:43 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 07, 2017, 11:09:58 AM
and girls(metaphorically speaking to Rois, Leenie and Tyrone Girl...only Tyrone women on the board...we miss anluabu...she was lovely!).

I miss KeadyChick.......  :'(
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 07, 2017, 08:25:10 PM
Foxy's sock puppets have voted. All the more reason to ban him.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 07, 2017, 09:13:56 PM
Person with Multiple usernames will be able to vote more!
Post by: Boycey on October 07, 2017, 09:17:09 PM
I'm surprised that with approaching 100 votes half the people think the current situation is acceptable...
Post by: Syferus on October 07, 2017, 09:49:07 PM
Quote from: Boycey on October 07, 2017, 09:17:09 PM
I'm surprised that with approaching 100 votes half the people think the current situation is acceptable...

You can assume most if not all of the WUM alt accounts like Foxcommander have voted for one of the no options, and you can pretty much double their votes because nearly all will have more than a single account at hand.

It's actually a relatively comprehensive vote for Yes, probably something in the region of 70% plus.
Post by: foxcommander on October 08, 2017, 01:52:34 AM
Quote from: Syferus on October 07, 2017, 09:49:07 PM
Quote from: Boycey on October 07, 2017, 09:17:09 PM

You can assume most if not all of the WUM alt accounts like Foxcommander have voted for one of the no options, and you can pretty much double their votes because nearly all will have more than a single account at hand.

It's actually a relatively comprehensive vote for Yes, probably something in the region of 70% plus.

Thanks for the reminder. Just did now.

Vote early, vote often.

Vótáil Níl
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 08, 2017, 02:38:33 AM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on October 06, 2017, 02:11:34 PM
Genuinely interested in the response to this. In the past the moderation has been seen as too 'heavy handed', now the board is struggling with threads descending into slagging matches, many provocative posts and a significant number of WUMs, Trolls and shit stirrers. Do people on the board want mods to take a much harsher line on posters? Should there be much more frequent bans handed out for those who appear to be just causing angst for the craic?

The clues are in the questions.

Seriously. If you have noticed that things have gone downhill then why do you need to take a poll? The rules are there in black and white and the penalties are spelled out in plain English. Enforce them.
Post by: stephenite on October 08, 2017, 04:41:36 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 08, 2017, 02:38:33 AM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on October 06, 2017, 02:11:34 PM

The clues are in the questions.

Seriously. If you have noticed that things have gone downhill then why do you need to take a poll? The rules are there in black and white and the penalties are spelled out in plain English. Enforce them.

Leave
Post by: tonto1888 on October 08, 2017, 08:49:55 AM
Am I the only person who doesn't know who the multiple accounts are? I feel like I'm missing out now
Post by: AZOffaly on October 08, 2017, 09:24:31 AM
Eamon you frequently call people cretins and other such charming terms. Do you think you should be banned or only those who call you names?
Post by: Boycey on October 08, 2017, 09:37:01 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on October 08, 2017, 08:49:55 AM
Am I the only person who doesn't know who the multiple accounts are? I feel like I'm missing out now

Me too  ;D
Post by: laoislad on October 08, 2017, 10:25:21 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 07, 2017, 02:23:25 PM
Quote from: Olly on October 07, 2017, 01:57:59 PM

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Olly, you rarely fail to make me smile!
Really? I don't find him funny at all.
Post by: theskull1 on October 08, 2017, 10:27:27 AM
Dry wit there
Post by: OgraAnDun on October 08, 2017, 10:27:32 AM
Quote from: Boycey on October 08, 2017, 09:37:01 AM

Me too  ;D

There are quite obviously a number of accounts set up to cause division and controversy (look at the amount of stupid Mayo threads in the run up to the AI Final) that are almost definitely other posters on the board operating a second/third account. However, I too lack the detective skills needed to be able to identify who the original account is.

I think I remember BCB or one of the other Armagh posters highlighting a post from an account with a large number of posts that was at the time commonly accused of being a WUM. He stated that a word used by the WUM had only been used once before on this forum (must have searched for it), and it was said by another account with an even larger number of posts.
Post by: BennyHarp on October 08, 2017, 11:14:56 AM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on October 08, 2017, 10:27:32 AM

Me too  ;D

There are quite obviously a number of accounts set up to cause division and controversy (look at the amount of stupid Mayo threads in the run up to the AI Final) that are almost definitely other posters on the board operating a second/third account. However, I too lack the detective skills needed to be able to identify who the original account is.

I think I remember BCB or one of the other Armagh posters highlighting a post from an account with a large number of posts that was at the time commonly accused of being a WUM. He stated that a word used by the WUM had only been used once before on this forum (must have searched for it), and it was said by another account with an even larger number of posts.

Oh ffs, seriously? Firstly, who can be arsed registering multiple accounts? Secondly, who gives enough of a shit to cross reference words used by multiple accounts to catch them out? I've said it before, some people take their lives on here way too seriously.  Is this forum not just for mild amusement to pass a bit of time? It's not something to get deeply upset about. Those with serious issues with this board should ask Syferus for the link to his forum which by all accounts (his own acount) is a perfectly moderated utopia. I'm sure life over there is everything you wish it to be.
Post by: whitey on October 08, 2017, 11:50:25 AM
Some people on here have completely lost the run of themselves when it comes to looking for things to be offended about

Just yesterday a poster was reminiscing about the good old days when the top flight English squads were dominated by English, Irish, Welsh and Scottish players

A poster called him to account and implied that his views were both xenophobic and rascist.

Thats how a lot of these rows start.....people making legitimate points, then others jumping down their neck outraged at some supposed slight......happens me all the time  :)
Post by: OgraAnDun on October 08, 2017, 12:08:40 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on October 08, 2017, 11:14:56 AM

Me too  ;D

Oh ffs, seriously? Firstly, who can be arsed registering multiple accounts? Secondly, who gives enough of a shit to cross reference words used by multiple accounts to catch them out? I've said it before, some people take their lives on here way too seriously.  Is this forum not just for mild amusement to pass a bit of time? It's not something to get deeply upset about. Those with serious issues with this board should ask Syferus for the link to his forum which by all accounts (his own acount) is a perfectly moderated utopia. I'm sure life over there is everything you wish it to be.

I couldn't really care less and I find a lot of the duplicate accounts amusingly obvious, I'm just adding my two cents that I don't know who it is behind them.
Post by: Rossfan on October 08, 2017, 12:20:56 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on October 08, 2017, 11:14:56 AM

Me too  ;D

Sure everything's wonderful in Syferworld. ;D
Post by: JimStynes on October 08, 2017, 01:42:40 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on October 07, 2017, 03:11:46 PM
you wouldn't be missed

Yes he would.
No he wouldn't.

Yes he would
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 08, 2017, 01:47:55 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on October 08, 2017, 01:42:40 PM
you wouldn't be missed

Yes he would.
No he wouldn't.

Yes he would
After scrolling back to see who we were talking about, I can conclude no he wouldnt.
Post by: laoislad on October 08, 2017, 02:15:24 PM
you wouldn't be missed

Yes he would.
No he wouldn't.

Yes he would
No he wouldn't.
Post by: T Fearon on October 08, 2017, 02:34:00 PM
Given nearly 93% voted for soft or no increased moderation,surely this poll should be brexited now.The people have spoken overwhelmingly.
Post by: stew on October 08, 2017, 03:06:00 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 08, 2017, 02:15:24 PM
you wouldn't be missed

Yes he would.
No he wouldn't.

Yes he would
No he wouldn't.

I hate to break it to you kid, he would be missed far more then you or I, who would not be missed at all.
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on October 09, 2017, 10:46:17 AM
Hi Lads,

I've done a bit of digging and thinking on this, and I take on board the point about enforcing rules we have in place. If you report a post, I will moderate it based on the rules we have published. I will not proactively trawl through posts on every thread to make sure everything is in order, but if I see something myself that is unreported I will follow up just as if it were reported.

I will refer to the following rules a lot of the time as my guide, and I will adhere to their penalties and try my best to implement the spirit of the rules.

1. Personal abuse.
    Personal abuse is one of the most common problems on internet boards. Known sometimes as 'playing the man', whether foul language is used or not, this behaviour is
    not allowed.
    e.g. Calling someone a fat fool is the same as calling someone something more vulgar. This rule applies even in situations where another user has breached this, or
    another rule. Retaliation is still a breach of the rule.

Penalties- 1st Offence - Warning,  Second Offence - 2 Day Ban, Third Offence - 10 Day Ban, Fourth Offence - Permanent Ban

I hope this is self explanatory. To me this is the just as bad as 'trolling' in bringing threads into an unreadable state. And many posters have been guilty of this. It stops now. If you can't reply to a poster without insulting them, then either ignore their posts completely, or you will be subject to the above. That goes for everyone.

2. Libellous/insulting posts about a real person

In this day and age, many more people are becoming aware of the existance of boards such as this. While this is generally a good thing, it also means that the posts are
   more likely to be read by a casual visitor to the site. In these circumstances, the board must protect itself against allegations of libel, or defamation and so any posts
   which make derogatory remarks about a named, or clearly implied, individual, are a serious breach of the rules, and dangerous to the board itself. This particularly applies
   to individuals' private lives, finances, legal issues etc etc. This also applies to unwarranted abuse of GAA players and officials.

Penalties - 1st Offence - Warning, Second Offence  - 5 Day Ban, Third Offence - Permanent Ban

This one I freely admit is not consistent in its application. Where the topic of conversation is Irish, or particularly part of the GAA community, then you are treading on very dangerous ground and that will be a red flag item for Moderators. However, that doesn't mean you have carte blanche to talk about other people, and if posts are reported, you will also be subject to the above.

4. Inappropriate posts, incitement or racist posting.
   This is a very broad topic, and can be the most subjective in the way the moderators view things. In general, it would be the 'good manners' rule. Specific examples of
    inappropriate posts would be the following. (This list is by no means conclusive)
      - Abusive posts between fans of soccer teams, clearly not part of good humoured banter. Mentions of Hillsborough, Munich, Heysel or alluding to these incidents in a
        way designed to incite other posters to break forum rules.
      - Sectarian posts, or posts advocating violence against any community or person. Some of the topics under discussion from the different cultures on this island have
        come close to this. That will not be allowed or accomodated.
      - Racist posts, including posts propogating racist views about any race or community.
      - inappropriate posts such as the Maddie McCann jokes etc.

Penalties - 1st Offence - Warning, Second Offence - 10 Day Ban, Third Offence - Permanent Ban

This rule was brought into effect because this board was almost ruined by soccer threads descending into madness. It is obvious that we need to reiterate this rule, not just for soccer, but for far wider areas. With the current refugee crisis, and other social issues, posts about groups like Refugees, Asylum Seekers, Racial Groups or the Travelling Community are all covered by this rule. If you make a racist or insulting post about any such group, you will be pulled up on it. This is subjective in certain areas, as mentioned above, but it is objective in those specific areas.  This does not mean that you cannot have an opinion that Refugees or Asylum Seekers should/should not be allowed into the country etc, but if you have such an opinion, you cannot use racist terms, or stereotypes to back up that sort of position. You'll have to tread a fine line and debate it properly. If your opinions are distasteful to many, you should expect to be challenged on them, and if you veer into this territory, you will be subject to this rule.

8. Joining up to cause trouble, or to annoy people.
   Occasionally, some people join the board simply to post something abusive, or to 'flame' the board. These people are generally easy to spot (see the F365 invasion last
   year) and have no real interest in the GAA Board. Also some people, who have been banned permanently, rejoin under different usernames and continue with the
   behaviour that led to the ban. By tracking IPs, behaviour and other items, we can sometimes tell this fairly easily, and these users will be banned again.

Penalty - Immediate Permanent Ban

This may be the most subjective of all, and was actually created to counter a very specific scenario where we had posters from F365 joining, posting highly inflammatory material, and then being banned. This was not a 'trolling' rule. However as people have pointed out, it could easily be interpreted in that manner and so that is a valid perspective. Trolls are hard to legislate for, because as long as they do not post abuse, do not post racist or vulgar material, and argue their position in a logical manner, then it is hard to call them trolls. Of course if a pattern of contrarian behaviour emerges, then the likelihood is that these are not genuinely held positions (no matter how abhorrent they appear to a lot of us) but they are actually trolling.

So what does all that mean? It means that I cannot and will not ban someone for having a contrary position, even if it is a horrible one, as long as that person adheres to board rules about posting of material.

I encourage people who do not want to engage or read such posts to ignore, or alternatively to report them if they are in clear breach of one of the rules, especially the ones mentioned here.

If a poster or posters are seen to have a pattern of 'stirring it up' across several topics, then the moderator will make a subjective decision on whether the poster is a troll and can take action according to Rule 8.

Finally, as for myself, I will commit to reviewing all reports within as quick a time as possible, and I will use those rules as a guideline. I think we do need to tighten things up to make this board more usable, and that has been a bit lax recently. I won't please everyone. Some of your reports will be not acted on, but I will try explain why. Some bans will annoy people, but I hope this post explains the rationale.

I hope this post explains my thinking on this, other moderators and the admin may have a different view, but until told otherwise, this is the direction I will take.

Cheers
Post by: Franko on October 09, 2017, 11:14:12 AM
Ironic that the poster who initiated this whole debate would undoubtedly be permanently banned by now if the rules were followed rigidly.

As someone else said - everyone needs to lighten up a bit and take themselves a little less seriously.  It's an anonymous internet discussion forum, not international diplomacy.
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on October 09, 2017, 11:22:19 AM
Quote from: Franko on October 09, 2017, 11:14:12 AM
Ironic that the poster who initiated this whole debate would undoubtedly be permanently banned by now if the rules were followed rigidly.

As someone else said - everyone needs to lighten up a bit and take themselves a little less seriously.  It's an anonymous internet discussion forum, not international diplomacy.

Harsh, I started the thread!

A rule of thumb I think is treat it like the local pub. If you wouldn't say something there for fear of getting a well deserved box on the mouth, then don't say it here.
Post by: Franko on October 09, 2017, 11:34:13 AM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on October 09, 2017, 11:22:19 AM

A rule of thumb I think is treat it like the local pub. If you wouldn't say something there for fear of getting a well deserved box on the mouth, then don't say it here.

I said the debate - not the thread!

As for your second point - yeah that's probably fair enough.  But boys do spout some awful shite in the local pub!
Post by: omaghjoe on October 10, 2017, 05:29:23 AM
Just catching up with this now.... Jaysus its like the Arab Spring but then a good deal of threads on here are like the Syrian Civil War

Does my vote still count... not even sure how to vote..... has the mod made his decision anyway despite the majority saying no?

On the one hand more moderation is needed because good discussions can quickly descend into pure crap sometimes.

On the other does this mean I cant call the Derry wan inbreds anymore? Tony Fearon is gonna get a lot of people banned at this rate.

Why is ad hominen the only logical fallacy that is being targeted when there are countless ones.

Is there a danger of stifling debate here with contrary opinions being labels as trolls and getting banned.

I fear that a lot of people want posters they disagree with to be booted off? What the point in having a discussion or argument anyway? Do you just want everyone to think the same as you at the end of it or can you not just leave it when you see that its not going anywhere. I do it because I enjoy thrashing around ideas, hearing the news, and learning from others

There are threads that will tend towards inevitable stupidity anyway like the Derry football thread ... I never go near it. ;-)

Do we want everyone to be as pious as J70 & AZOffaly anyway? How f**king boring would that be we need all sorts IMO

...Still tho with all that said I think Im gonna vote for better moderation.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 10, 2017, 08:33:39 AM
Hey!!! Pious, that's a new one for me :)
Post by: J70 on October 10, 2017, 02:44:39 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 10, 2017, 08:33:39 AM
Hey!!! Pious, that's a new one for me :)

He should see me behind the wheel on the streets of NYC!  ;D
Post by: Orchard park on October 10, 2017, 03:33:38 PM
were the comments on Margaret Keady  in an appalling post ever moderated or even checked
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 10, 2017, 05:25:38 PM
Let's get one thing straight. The old "you want to ban anyone who disagrees with you" fallacy is BS. I disagree with plenty of people here on various topics but I don't feel the urge to get into abusive name-calling or stalking every one of their posts about some pet topic that I want to hassle them about. However this is precisely what Fox does on a daily basis in flagrant violation of rules that are posted up there in black and white and with very specific penalties prescribed. What's so unreasonable about demanding that the rules, as written, be enforced?
Post by: omaghjoe on May 10, 2018, 10:51:37 PM
Thought I would bump this thread

Some of the posts in the 8th amendment thread are shocking. The playing the man rule and a whole lot more is not just being enforced.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 11, 2018, 04:19:51 PM
Have you reported any of the offending posts?

How is Ziggy Gaaboardmod3 supposed to know about abusive posts if he doesn't know about them?
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 11, 2018, 07:29:35 PM
SeaninKerry should be taken aside.
Post by: bennydorano on May 11, 2018, 08:06:59 PM
Most emotive threads tend to descend into embarrassing nonsense at some point. Some posters who think they're poster boys for modern Liberalism are the most fascistic in outlook on the board.

Having the tenacity and endurance to outlast fellow posters in a discussion doesn't mean you're right or you've won.
Post by: StGallsGAA on May 11, 2018, 10:48:02 PM
If Liverpool win the UCL the mods can retire for a while as the vast majority of complaints are due to overly-sensitive 'pool fans not being able to take a bit of 'schtick over their failure to win as much as a teapot in 7 years and just one pathetic league cup in 11 years.  This leads to either (a) the wee scallys bleating to the mods for the rest of us for laughing at them or (b) them resorting to personal insults and incurring bans.   Bless.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 11, 2018, 11:08:28 PM
 ;D two weeks still to go and someone seems a little nervous already! Poor fella!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 12, 2018, 04:22:13 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on May 11, 2018, 10:48:02 PM
If Liverpool win the UCL the mods can retire for a while as the vast majority of complaints are due to overly-sensitive 'pool fans not being able to take a bit of 'schtick over their failure to win as much as a teapot in 7 years and just one pathetic league cup in 11 years.  This leads to either (a) the wee scallys bleating to the mods for the rest of us for laughing at them or (b) them resorting to personal insults and incurring bans.   Bless.

Oh wow - f**king hell lolololololoolololololoolololololololololoololololololololololololololololololololololol

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: laoislad on May 13, 2018, 07:50:28 PM
Only just seen this rant now. Priceless  ;D
What a toolbag.
Post by: sid waddell on May 14, 2018, 10:24:49 AM
Quote from: Windmill abu on May 13, 2018, 08:26:37 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on May 13, 2018, 11:52:19 AM
Quote from: grounded on May 13, 2018, 11:19:42 AM
Quote from: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 10:51:34 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 12:35:06 AM
Quote from: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 12:30:18 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 12:12:04 AM
Smile will be on the other side of Eurovision's face tomorrow when they discover every telephone vote cast for Israel reversed the charges

Really? A jews are tight with money joke?
Yes. A bit of light humour. Have you some point to make?

Yes. It was a joke in poor taste that reinforces old antisemitic tropes.

That sort of thing is ok around here though.

Shi#te, thats me in trouble then. Told a similar joke at work last week but it was a scottish person instead.
         Come to think of it, someone else was slagging off Cavan(sorry anyone from Cavan on here) people for being tight during another discussion. I shall be reporting him first thing tomorrow.
Has there been a genocide perpetrated against Scottish people or Cavan people, in which the portrayal of them as "money grabbers" was used to mobilise the widespread, systemic hatred and prejudice against them which enables genocide to happen?

The Halocaust was carried out by the Nazis but the Jews try to make everybody feel guilty for it. Anyone criticizing the Jews is accused of antisemitism to the point that they can carry out atrocities of their own with impunity.

As far as the money grabber title is concerned, it is well deserved

So, is this blatant anti-semitism going to be allowed to stand?

Will this forum's descent into the far right gutter be allowed to continue?
Post by: longballin on May 14, 2018, 10:30:28 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on May 14, 2018, 10:24:49 AM
Quote from: Windmill abu on May 13, 2018, 08:26:37 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on May 13, 2018, 11:52:19 AM
Quote from: grounded on May 13, 2018, 11:19:42 AM
Quote from: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 10:51:34 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 12:35:06 AM
Quote from: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 12:30:18 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 12:12:04 AM
Smile will be on the other side of Eurovision's face tomorrow when they discover every telephone vote cast for Israel reversed the charges

Really? A jews are tight with money joke?
Yes. A bit of light humour. Have you some point to make?

Yes. It was a joke in poor taste that reinforces old antisemitic tropes.

That sort of thing is ok around here though.

Shi#te, thats me in trouble then. Told a similar joke at work last week but it was a scottish person instead.
         Come to think of it, someone else was slagging off Cavan(sorry anyone from Cavan on here) people for being tight during another discussion. I shall be reporting him first thing tomorrow.
Has there been a genocide perpetrated against Scottish people or Cavan people, in which the portrayal of them as "money grabbers" was used to mobilise the widespread, systemic hatred and prejudice against them which enables genocide to happen?

The Halocaust was carried out by the Nazis but the Jews try to make everybody feel guilty for it. Anyone criticizing the Jews is accused of antisemitism to the point that they can carry out atrocities of their own with impunity.

As far as the money grabber title is concerned, it is well deserved

So, is this blatant anti-semitism going to be allowed to stand?

Will this forum's descent into the far right gutter be allowed to continue?

To suggest a whole ethnic group share the same personality (in this case negative) is racist. I have met many money grabbers who are Irish and of course many who are not.
Post by: omaghjoe on September 03, 2018, 10:46:33 PM
Think this needs a bump.
Accusations against Mickey harte and insensitive comments about Cancer need sorted out
Post by: Hereiam on September 03, 2018, 11:40:11 PM
Agree. No place for them type of comments on this forum or any forum for that matter
Post by: Syferus on September 03, 2018, 11:53:05 PM
Ulster says no to offending Mickey, but yes to not prosecuting rape and rumour and insinuation about a victim.

This place sometime tells you more about itself than it intends to.
Post by: tiempo on September 03, 2018, 11:57:26 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 03, 2018, 11:53:05 PM
Ulster says no to offending Mickey, but yes to not prosecuting rape and rumour and insinuation about a victim.

E.g. once a quisling always a quisling.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 04, 2018, 07:25:04 AM

Jesus lad you're some pup, any chance you get..
Post by: magpie seanie on September 04, 2018, 03:06:57 PM
How about people take responsibility for themselves and don't reply to arseholes most of us have on our ignore lists?
Post by: Syferus on September 04, 2018, 03:08:18 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 04, 2018, 07:25:04 AM

Jesus lad you're some pup, any chance you get..

It's interesting which posters don't like the obvious hypocrisy being pointed out.
Post by: omaghjoe on September 04, 2018, 03:15:09 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 04, 2018, 03:06:57 PM
How about people take responsibility for themselves and don't reply to arseholes most of us have on our ignore lists?

I have plenty on my ignore list but the poster on the Mickey Harte is a relative newbie who I never seen posting before and his comments are way beyond the pale.
The mod needs to step in
Post by: omaghjoe on September 04, 2018, 03:17:12 PM
And while I am at it, what is going on with personal abuse?

Is it just a case of f**k it now let them tear away? Joining in seems to be the only way I wonder how much we can get away with now?

Its getting worse and worse
Post by: magpie seanie on September 04, 2018, 03:38:30 PM
I agree omaghjoe but you can limit the amount of it by just ignoring the obvious ones. The new ones are more difficult I agree and I personally find a lot of the commnets a bit much.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on September 04, 2018, 03:54:37 PM
im on a watchlist for giving stgalls gaa or someone guff months ago; reported a couple of things since then which were along same lines as my 48hr ban but no response.

and agree. some of the sh1t on here recently is a joke. compared to what I was at its laughable
Post by: Under Lights on September 04, 2018, 04:28:25 PM
Reported a few personal information breaches recently myself.

Post by: Syferus on September 04, 2018, 11:26:01 PM
I would point out both instances required moderation, but anyone who thinks what Mickey is getting is worse than what happened in the rape trial thread is off their rockers and rolling down a hill of self-deception.
Post by: Orchard park on September 04, 2018, 11:31:31 PM
Wasv that the rape trial where 3 named men were found  totally innocent  by their peers despite you and others declaring them guilty at every opportunity
Post by: Syferus on September 04, 2018, 11:34:14 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on September 04, 2018, 11:31:31 PM
Wasv that the rape trial where 3 named men were found  totally innocent  by their peers despite you and others declaring them guilty at every opportunity

I think you need to look up what 'not guilty' means if you think it equals 'totally innocent'.. none of which makes the rumour and insulations about the victim any better, by the way.
Post by: Orchard park on September 04, 2018, 11:42:20 PM
Here you go again.

Totally innocent of the charges proferred .

You find it hard to accept you were wrong. You should be used to it at this stage.....

And yes I agree the character assault of the accuser was very wrong but the "justice" system that allows innocent people be named is terrible and allows a free reign to biased keyboard junkies
Post by: Syferus on September 04, 2018, 11:47:20 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on September 04, 2018, 11:42:20 PM
Here you go again.

Totally innocent of the charges proferred .

You find it hard to accept you were wrong. You should be used to it at this stage.....

And yes I agree the character assault of the accuser was very wrong but the "justice" system that allows innocent people be named is terrible and allows a free reign to biased keyboard junkies

Still totally incorrect, and the rest highlights what is a callow attempt to change the focus away from the blatant hypocrisy on display.

My point stands well enough no matter what you try to say.
Post by: Hereiam on September 06, 2018, 09:23:44 AM
Why has the "building a house" thread been locked
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on September 06, 2018, 09:44:33 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on September 06, 2018, 09:23:44 AM

No Planning Permission
Post by: laoislad on September 06, 2018, 09:49:22 AM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on September 06, 2018, 09:44:33 AM

No Planning Permission
Post by: illdecide on September 06, 2018, 11:17:26 AM

No Planning Permission

Got a chuckle...lol.

Was wondering that myself, surely that thread was straight forward.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 06, 2018, 12:22:35 PM
Quote from: illdecide on September 06, 2018, 11:17:26 AM

No Planning Permission

Got a chuckle...lol.

Was wondering that myself, surely that thread was straight forward.

Sure discussing someone beating cancer would seem straight forward  ::)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 06, 2018, 01:22:50 PM
Ban everyone under 30 as they, by and large, lack sense.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 06, 2018, 01:42:40 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 06, 2018, 01:22:50 PM

My grandfather used to say "everytime you see a young lad, give him a clip around the ear. He's either going to do harm, or he's coming from doing harm."
Post by: omaghjoe on September 06, 2018, 09:28:31 PM

That's just plan bizarre... unless Jim locked it?
Post by: playwiththewind1st on September 06, 2018, 09:29:52 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 06, 2018, 01:22:50 PM

Do that & soon the only thing left on here will be the Death Notices thread.
Post by: bogieman on September 11, 2019, 11:45:48 AM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on October 09, 2017, 11:22:19 AM

Good rule of thumb
what about saying it in the local pub of the boyo or club you are slagging ?

mod Q - on this thread, the latest posts come up first, on others I have to go to the end of all the pages to get the latest post, is this a default setting i can change for the threads I read ?
thanks in advance
Post by: Billys Boots on September 11, 2019, 12:02:36 PM
QuoteOthers have prostituted themselves to a fizzy orange drink company for a sullied Irish pound.

Now you are talking!  ;)
Post by: Main Street on September 11, 2019, 07:55:00 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on September 11, 2019, 12:02:36 PM
QuoteOthers have prostituted themselves to a fizzy orange drink company for a sullied Irish pound.

Now you are talking!  ;)
You're not talking about Oohh Ahh Mirinda?