GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: kerryforsam2018 on September 12, 2018, 04:00:01 PM

Poll
Question: Who is the most obsessed about Dublin GAA
Option 1: Dinny Breen votes: 5
Option 2: Syfin votes: 11
Option 3: From the Bunker votes: 5
Option 4: Pricey Reilly votes: 6
Option 5: RossFan votes: 4
Title: Why are Posters obsessed about Dublin GAA??
Post by: kerryforsam2018 on September 12, 2018, 04:00:01 PM
A lot of posters having meltdowns about Dublin Gaa blaming from money,saying they are pro to attendances. Ye need to stay off the keyboards lads. Not good for the health.Every county should have 25 lads. Look at us 37 titles. the jacks will never catch us. Mayo and ourselves have shown in recent years the dubs are not a super side. If counties invest in under age coaching rather than short term outside manager/coach they will reap the benefits. Look at Kerry, we have won 5 in a row minors. We should possibly get 8/10 lads from them teams and will be a force again in next year or two. Kerry ABU
Title: Re: Why are Posters obsessed about Dublin GAA??
Post by: priceyreilly on September 12, 2018, 04:26:01 PM
The games up! The split is coming. The coverage of this is growing and it won't end. The Dubs are losing their minds over it. You see it on social media, the amount of vicious attacks on people pointing out facts is crazy. They're even going round internet forums pretending to be from other counties.  :D They're trying to control the narrative with this huge media campaign of ex players attempting to muddy the waters. It won't work, the facts are out there now.
Post by: Hill16 Blues on September 12, 2018, 04:54:00 PM
What the fk is wrong with you. It was shown earlier that you are the same individual using two different user names. And here now with another Dublin thread where you reply to yourself. You’re one sad fkr! Mind you, you fit right in here!!
Post by: TheGreatest on September 12, 2018, 04:58:04 PM
 ;)  ;D

Hilarious.

That reminds me, I need open the Kerry 5 in a row at minor ruining gaelic games thread
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 12, 2018, 05:18:54 PM
Ha! I am obsessed with fairness and equality.

I think Dublin supporters have won back their precious tag!
Post by: weareros on September 12, 2018, 05:41:41 PM
Can't fathom why anyone would want to split Dublin. Inter county is about tradition and identity. Kill Dublin's identity, then kill GAA in Dublin. Dies in Dublin, loses its allure throughout the country.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 12, 2018, 05:44:53 PM
Quote from: weareros on September 12, 2018, 05:41:41 PM
Can't fathom why anyone would want to split Dublin. Inter county is about tradition and identity. Kill Dublin's identity, then kill GAA in Dublin. Dies in Dublin, loses its allure throughout the country.

No matter what you do now Intercounty Football has lost its allure throughout the country.
Post by: priceyreilly on September 12, 2018, 05:45:00 PM
Dublin GAA is killing our games. They took the money, no one forced them too. They were happy to accept the titles that came with it. They can't complain when the inevitable split happens.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on September 12, 2018, 05:48:48 PM
I think we'd be grand without them to be honest
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 12, 2018, 05:54:18 PM
It's a good thing the internet wasn't about when Kerry were winning all before them!

And it's strange that no one was asking Kilkenny to split in two during their domination of hurling!

Theses things come in cycles, ask Cavan Gaels Crossmaglen and Naomh Gall about dominance in their domestic club competition, it doesn't last forever, the same will be for Dublin
Post by: tonto1888 on September 12, 2018, 05:56:09 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 12, 2018, 05:44:53 PM

No matter what you do now Intercounty Football has lost its allure throughout the country.

Has it?
Post by: Syferus on September 12, 2018, 06:16:20 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 12, 2018, 05:56:09 PM

Has it?

Yes. Next question.
Post by: Rossfan on September 12, 2018, 06:24:51 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 12, 2018, 05:54:18 PM
It's a good thing the internet wasn't about when Kerry were winning all before them!

And it's strange that no one was asking Kilkenny to split in two during their domination of hurling!

Theses things come in cycles, ask Cavan Gaels Crossmaglen and Naomh Gall about dominance in their domestic club competition, it doesn't last forever, the same will be for Dublin
Kerry and Kilkenny haven't got 1.3m people within their boundaries.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on September 12, 2018, 06:28:34 PM

I wouldn't like to see Dublin  be split, but they need to get far less funding and other counties need to get far more. They already have enough built in advantages without the current funding inequality being allowed to continue. It's far more important for the GAA to be successful and alluring throughout the other 31 counties, than it is to be successful in Dublin alone.
Post by: priceyreilly on September 12, 2018, 06:34:39 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 12, 2018, 06:24:51 PM

Kerry and Kilkenny haven't got 1.3m people within their boundaries.

Or receive 2.5 million per year to fund their underage system.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 12, 2018, 07:05:52 PM

Has it?

The All Ireland Football Final was a non event in the media this year! I mean Rochford resigning as Mayo Manager that week got more coverage. Even the Dubs could not get excited about the inevitable 4 in a row.

The Super 8's were a complete failure. Teams like Roscommon end up getting a huge reality check 3 times (instead of once in an AI quarter final). The rest get to realise how far they are behind Dublin at a more prolonged rate.

The Leinster Championship will continue to deteriorate next year. Dublin supporters will dwindle more and will by pass the Leinster Championship and the Super 8's and wait for the semi final and final. The only game in the super 8's that might grab their imagination would be meeting the half dead horse Mayo with the chance of giving them a humiliating beating and putting the final nail in their coffin.
Post by: Taylor on September 12, 2018, 07:29:50 PM

The point about cycles would be correct MR2 bar one thing.
A cycle tends to be when the same players are playing and when they finish up so does the dominance.

The issue is Dublin is a conveyor belt. How many of the first 15 that started Sunday also started 4 years ago?
Post by: From the Bunker on September 12, 2018, 07:31:19 PM
Quote from: Taylor on September 12, 2018, 07:29:50 PM

A cycle tends to be when the same players are playing and when they finish up so does the dominance.

The issue is Dublin is a conveyor belt. How many of the first 15 that started Sunday also started 4 years ago?

How many started when this started 7 years ago?
Post by: Cunny Funt on September 12, 2018, 07:49:12 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 12, 2018, 07:31:19 PM

Only Cluxton, O'Sullivan and J McCarthy i think.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 12, 2018, 08:01:26 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on September 12, 2018, 07:49:12 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 12, 2018, 07:31:19 PM

Only Cluxton, O'Sullivan and J McCarthy i think.

Cody built 3 teams! And if counties like Kilkenny with lower number and even less money can dominate what the flying f**k are the other counties doing?
Post by: Gael85 on September 12, 2018, 08:10:42 PM

12/21 players that featured in 2013 played in this year final. Flynn,O'Gara,Andrews and B.Brogan are still on panel.8 players of this year starting team started in 2013 final.
Post by: tonto1888 on September 12, 2018, 08:54:24 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 12, 2018, 07:05:52 PM

Has it?

The All Ireland Football Final was a non event in the media this year! I mean Rochford resigning as Mayo Manager that week got more coverage. Even the Dubs could not get excited about the inevitable 4 in a row.

The Super 8's were a complete failure. Teams like Roscommon end up getting a huge reality check 3 times (instead of once in an AI quarter final). The rest get to realise how far they are behind Dublin at a more prolonged rate.

The Leinster Championship will continue to deteriorate next year. Dublin supporters will dwindle more and will by pass the Leinster Championship and the Super 8's and wait for the semi final and final. The only game in the super 8's that might grab their imagination would be meeting the half dead horse Mayo with the chance of giving them a humiliating beating and putting the final nail in their coffin.

I can only speak for myself but it hasn't for me. Regardless of what happens I will continue to go to armagh games. That has lost on allure for me. I will continue to keep watching inter county games as well. Again, it has lost no allure. Maybe spending 13 years in England with no inter county games to go to has affected me but I don't think so
Post by: larryin89 on September 12, 2018, 09:13:51 PM
Why do people keep using the Kerry /Kilkenny dominance to counter the argument.  Kilkenny play hurling ,so many different factors come in to it.

Kerry died for years 86-97 , do you honestly think this monster that's been created will ever die for anything near that . No team has ever done five in a row , Dublin will. And are just slightly more than even money to do six . It's a fcooking joke, stop the nonsense please . This is unprecedented stuff in Gaelic football .

I love the county game and want it to be saved ,it's going to take some doing now though . I feel it's beyond saving . I don't blame Dublin or their silly supporters , it's not their fault .

I remember back in 2008/9 I was on a water main job in Edenderry  , used to stay in kinegad , frequented a good GAA pub most nights, former dublin player goggins and the pub owner tried to convince me one night "the country need Dublin to be winning all Irelands " I argued till the early hours asking why mostly , neither could tell me why exactly . I'll always remember that night though there was something in their tone as if they knew what was coming , so confident Dublin would be winning all Irelands in the near future . Call me what you wish but I believe this whole dublin project is all very sinister . It just doesn't sit right .
Post by: sid waddell on September 12, 2018, 09:21:15 PM
Kilkenny used 55 different players in winning All-Ireland hurling finals from 2000 to 2015.

I'd like somebody to tell me how that wasn't a conveyor belt, whether Kilkenny are dominant now, and what state hurling is in now.

People are arguing that Dublin's dominance is unprecedented. It would be unprecedented only for the fact that there is copious precedent there.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 12, 2018, 09:55:20 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 12, 2018, 09:21:15 PM
Kilkenny used 55 different players in winning All-Ireland hurling finals from 2000 to 2015.

I'd like somebody to tell me how that wasn't a conveyor belt, whether Kilkenny are dominant now, and what state hurling is in now.

People are arguing that Dublin's dominance is unprecedented. It would be unprecedented only for the fact that there is copious precedent there.

How many league titles did Kilkenny win during that period?
Post by: priceyreilly on September 12, 2018, 09:57:35 PM
The only unprecedented thing is the multi million euro professional set up within Dublin GAA. It's something that has never been seen and the results reflect that. 54 titles since 2005 at all grades and levels. Dublin won 51 titles between 1966 and 2005. So more titles in the 13 years since the huge funding than in the 29 years before that!
Post by: tonto1888 on September 12, 2018, 09:58:52 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 12, 2018, 09:55:20 PM

Did Kilkenny take the league seriously?
Post by: From the Bunker on September 12, 2018, 10:01:03 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 12, 2018, 09:58:52 PM

Do Dublin take the League seriously?
Post by: Rossfan on September 12, 2018, 10:04:29 PM
This year for the first time ever I had almost zero interest in the AI Final.
I would never pay to watch a game not involving Ros any more.
I'm afraid the Monster is devouring the whole bloody thing.
Post by: Gael85 on September 12, 2018, 10:12:17 PM

Post by: tonto1888 on September 12, 2018, 10:25:49 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 12, 2018, 10:01:03 PM

Responding to questions with questions and not answers is a sure sign your argument is flimsy. I'd say Dublin do
Post by: Syferus on September 13, 2018, 01:51:03 AM

They used 55 players over the course of fifteen fĂșcking years? Your point is?
Post by: From the Bunker on September 13, 2018, 05:19:47 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 12, 2018, 10:25:49 PM

Responding to questions with questions and not answers is a sure sign your argument is flimsy. I'd say Dublin do

And why do Dublin take the League seriously and Kilkenny did not in their hay day?
Post by: Franko on September 13, 2018, 07:48:32 AM

In what way do you believe that pointing this out helps your argument?
Post by: TheGreatest on September 13, 2018, 07:53:19 AM
Because they are winning.

People always sneered and hated the Dubs, its just gone up a notch now since the winning.

I enjoy it and prefer not to be liked. Makes winning and wiping the floor with teams all that sweater.
Post by: Franko on September 13, 2018, 08:24:56 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on September 13, 2018, 07:53:19 AM

People always sneered and hated the Dubs, its just gone up a notch now since the winning.

I enjoy it and prefer not to be liked. Makes winning and wiping the floor with teams all that sweater.

I don't think you fully understand the problem.  Unless something changes, you won't have any teams to wipe the floor with.  You are killing the goose, so-to-speak.  And that affects everyone, including the Dubs. 

2040 AIF - Dublin beat Kerry by thirteen points in front of 11,500 in Parnell Park to complete the 26 in a row.  (Croke Park was unavailable due to the One Direction revival concert)  David Clifford's son retires after the game, aged 22, declaring that he has signed a professional contract with current LoI champions Glentoran.  FM104 carry a full match report but it's a bit-part story on RTE Sport.  There are extended highlights on TG4 at 11.45pm though.  Incidentally, their hurlers have just won their third in a row, and eighth in the past ten years, having beaten Limerick in a dour affair in a dilapidated Thurles. *

*This may be a bit far fetched, but hopefully you get the point.
Post by: Tyrdub on September 13, 2018, 08:43:17 AM
Quote from: Franko on September 13, 2018, 08:24:56 AM

I don't think you fully understand the problem.  Unless something changes, you won't have any teams to wipe the floor with.  You are killing the goose, so-to-speak.  And that affects everyone, including the Dubs. 

2040 AIF - Dublin beat Kerry by thirteen points in front of 11,500 in Parnell Park to complete the 26 in a row.  (Croke Park was unavailable due to the One Direction revival concert)  David Clifford's son retires after the game, aged 22, declaring that he has signed a professional contract with current LoI champions Glentoran.  FM104 carry a full match report but it's a bit-part story on RTE Sport.  There are extended highlights on TG4 at 11.45pm though.  Incidentally, their hurlers have just won their third in a row, and eighth in the past ten years, having beaten Limerick in a dour affair in a dilapidated Thurles. *

I hope this comes true :)
Post by: TheGreatest on September 13, 2018, 09:07:07 AM

Id take that.
Post by: trailer on September 13, 2018, 09:07:20 AM
When it was first mooted that Dublin be split, the reason had nothing at all to do with Dublin's senior inter county team. The reason was to revive GAA in the capital and make it easier to administer. Splitting Dublin has been hijacked by lazy people. People who someone believe for years random counties won All-Ireland's, and small counties with no tradition in Gaelic Football competed right at the top level, frequently winning provincial and AI titles.

People should actually think about what they are saying. And if you think splitting Dublin is the answer to any of the questions around the Senior Inter-county game specifically, you fail to understand what is actually going on. Stop listening to the arsehole down the local.
Post by: snoopdog on September 13, 2018, 09:36:20 AM
Money money money
Post by: Franko on September 13, 2018, 11:09:37 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on September 13, 2018, 09:07:07 AM

Id take that.

And therein lies our collective problem.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 13, 2018, 11:19:49 AM

Dublin increasingly sneering and belittling Mayo. Explain.
Post by: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 11:49:20 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 13, 2018, 11:19:49 AM

Sorry but this forum should be retitled the Dublin bashing thread given the amount of posts dedicated to criticizing the team, players and the funding the county board receive from Croke Park. The sheer hatred from some posters to everything Dublin GAA is sad really.
Post by: JoG2 on September 13, 2018, 11:58:25 AM
Quote from: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 11:49:20 AM

Sorry but this forum should be retitled the Dublin bashing thread given the amount of posts dedicated to criticizing the team, players and the funding the county board receive from Croke Park. The sheer hatred from some posters to everything Dublin GAA is sad really.

I'm sorry but you're just plain wrong here. There's very little team / player bashing. In most cases, posters qualify their posts with 'I'm not blaming Dublin here btw...'. And the 2nd bit in bold is just ridiculous tbh

Post by: westbound on September 13, 2018, 01:54:40 PM
I want to ask the dublin posters something.....

Do ye all agree that ANY team dominating the game for too long is bad for the sport?
Post by: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 02:04:05 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on September 13, 2018, 11:58:25 AM

I'm sorry but you're just plain wrong here. There's very little team / player bashing. In most cases, posters qualify their posts with 'I'm not blaming Dublin here btw...'. And the 2nd bit in bold is just ridiculous tbh

I'm not not blaming you for your opinion, but I have to disagree.  The Money, Dublin & the gaa thread is nearly 100 pages at them moment and you can be certain it will go over 100 pages. Most of thes post posts vary from criticising dublin's funding, claims of professional players, sponsored cars to meals being delivered to players homes/workplace I could go on.

If people spent more time coming up with a plan for improving GAA participation/training/coaching in their own county/club and less time obsessing and researching how much money the dubs get, how it's spent etc it would be far more beneficial.

Why are nearly all the Dublin forwards for example two footed, but Mayo's forwards for example are not?

Why haven't Mayo brought through a top class forward in the last 15 years with all the clubs they have and underage success at minor and U21?

Derry are in division 4 of the league next year and at an all time low. What is the GAA participation rate in Derry city for GAA and what can be done to improve it?

Typical Irish attitude to knock/criticise those at the top rather try to improve your own standards
Post by: general_lee on September 13, 2018, 02:07:38 PM
Therein lies the problem. Why is it ok to throw money at Dublin but not Derry or Belfast?
Post by: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 03:01:48 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 02:04:05 PM

I'm not not blaming you for your opinion, but I have to disagree.  The Money, Dublin & the gaa thread is nearly 100 pages at them moment and you can be certain it will go over 100 pages. Most of thes post posts vary from criticising dublin's funding, claims of professional players, sponsored cars to meals being delivered to players homes/workplace I could go on.

If people spent more time coming up with a plan for improving GAA participation/training/coaching in their own county/club and less time obsessing and researching how much money the dubs get, how it's spent etc it would be far more beneficial.

Why are nearly all the Dublin forwards for example two footed, but Mayo's forwards for example are not?

Why haven't Mayo brought through a top class forward in the last 15 years with all the clubs they have and underage success at minor and U21?

Derry are in division 4 of the league next year and at an all time low. What is the GAA participation rate in Derry city for GAA and what can be done to improve it?

Typical Irish attitude to knock/criticise those at the top rather try to improve your own standards

The issue with money and Dublin is serious, very serious. We're meant to be an amateur sport, once county going professional is wrong. This needs to be faced up to.

How do you think other counties will improve their standards? How do you think all the Dublin forwards became two footed? It all goes back to finance. With the millions of euro they received, Dublin have set up a system where elite players are first identified, coached and developed to the highest standards. Their elite player pathway is designed to have a huge number of athletic, strong, fast, skillful players leaving the system and joining the senior ranks. It's basically a copy of the Leinster rugby system. That's a professional system and so is Dublin's.

So instead of criticising other counties, why aren't Dubs saying, let's spread the money out? We've got enough of it. Why are no Dubs standing up and saying, enough is enough, this can't continue. Let's have some fair play in our association?
Post by: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 03:51:22 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 03:01:48 PM

The issue with money and Dublin is serious, very serious. We're meant to be an amateur sport, once county going professional is wrong. This needs to be faced up to.

How do you think other counties will improve their standards? How do you think all the Dublin forwards became two footed? It all goes back to finance. With the millions of euro they received, Dublin have set up a system where elite players are first identified, coached and developed to the highest standards. Their elite player pathway is designed to have a huge number of athletic, strong, fast, skillful players leaving the system and joining the senior ranks. It's basically a copy of the Leinster rugby system. That's a professional system and so is Dublin's.

So instead of criticising other counties, why aren't Dubs saying, let's spread the money out? We've got enough of it. Why are no Dubs standing up and saying, enough is enough, this can't continue. Let's have some fair play in our association?

Dublin had a short term/long term plan for their funding. How many any other counties can say that? No point just throwing money at a  county and expecting them to magically improve. You only have to look at the HSE to see just throwing money into a black hole doesn't work.

If I was in charge of funding the bare minimum requirement before handing over a cent would be an outline of how the grant would be spent. I'd also have a review every few years to see if the county board are actually spending the money as they suggested and if the ir plans are working
Post by: Ball Hopper on September 13, 2018, 04:04:09 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 03:51:22 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 03:01:48 PM

Dublin had a short term/long term plan for their funding. How many any other counties can say that? No point just throwing money at a  county and expecting them to magically improve. You only have to look at the HSE to see just throwing money into a black hole doesn't work.

If I was in charge of funding the bare minimum requirement before handing over a cent would be an outline of how the grant would be spent. I'd also have a review every few years to see if the county board are actually spending the money as they suggested and if the ir plans are working

You might be on to something here...put the Dublin County Board in charge of the HSE!!!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 13, 2018, 04:21:30 PM

What underage success? Mayo have won one minor AI in the past 25 odd years and two U-21 AI's in the past 13 years. There are maybe 5 or 6 counties who have won more at underage during that time.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 13, 2018, 04:23:37 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 13, 2018, 04:21:30 PM

What underage success? Mayo have won one minor AI in the past 25 odd years and two U-21 AI's in the past 13 years. There are maybe 5 or 6 counties who have won more at underage during that time.

Shhh don't let facts get in the way of a good argument.
Post by: sid waddell on September 13, 2018, 04:31:37 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 13, 2018, 01:51:03 AM

They used 55 players over the course of fifteen fĂșcking years? Your point is?
What's anybody else's point regarding the amount of players Dublin have used in finals?
Post by: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 06:22:29 PM

So you don't think the money should be spread? Keep it all for Dublin GAA?

The GAA, Dublin county board and the government of the day (Bertie Ahern) made the plan. There was numerous highly paid people put in place to ensure the plan came to fruition. This is a major scandal, it needs to be investigated fully. It could be argued that this whole episode has seen Dublin GAA bring our games into disrepute.

Dublin GAA were granted major funding by disgraced former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern with the backing of the GAA. Most of this money comes from public funds. It was granted under the pretence of developing Gaelic Games participation in Dublin. What has happened is that Dublin GAA have set up a professional system of developing elite talent along with providing most clubs with paid full time coaches, some with more than 1.
How many new clubs have been formed in Dublin since 2005? What new areas have Dublin GAA being able to increase it's playing numbers? Where is the data on it's fight against sports such as rugby and soccer? We have seen and an investigation will show that the money has developed elite level athletes at all grades and levels. Underage hurling and football, club hurling and football, senior hurling and football in both mens and womens versions of our games.
The money has been used to create a professional set up. The Gaelic Athletic Association is an amatuer organisation. At a minimum Dublin GAA has defied the ethos of the GAA. I think it go further than that, as i said it needs to be investigated but I'm off the belief that Dublin GAA have contravened the rules of our association.
Post by: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 06:45:54 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 06:22:29 PM

The GAA, Dublin county board and the government of the day (Bertie Ahern) made the plan. There was numerous highly paid people put in place to ensure the plan came to fruition. This is a major scandal, it needs to be investigated fully. It could be argued that this whole episode has seen Dublin GAA bring our games into disrepute.

Dublin GAA were granted major funding by disgraced former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern with the backing of the GAA. Most of this money comes from public funds. It was granted under the pretence of developing Gaelic Games participation in Dublin. What has happened is that Dublin GAA have set up a professional system of developing elite talent along with providing most clubs with paid full time coaches, some with more than 1.
How many new clubs have been formed in Dublin since 2005? What new areas have Dublin GAA being able to increase it's playing numbers? Where is the data on it's fight against sports such as rugby and soccer? We have seen and an investigation will show that the money has developed elite level athletes at all grades and levels. Underage hurling and football, club hurling and football, senior hurling and football in both mens and womens versions of our games.
The money has been used to create a professional set up. The Gaelic Athletic Association is an amatuer organisation. At a minimum Dublin GAA has defied the ethos of the GAA. I think it go further than that, as i said it needs to be investigated but I'm off the belief that Dublin GAA have contravened the rules of our association.

Did I use too many words and you got tired reading and couldn't get to the end???

I made the perfect reasonable point that before a county board is given a grant they should have to show how they'd spend it.

It's what state agencies do if you apply for a grant and I think it makes sense. When you grow up and start work you'll learn things like budgeting and planning. You can't live off mammy and daddy forever. It's a big bad world out there once you leave the classroom. It must be nice to still have your innocence like you though
Post by: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 07:04:02 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 06:45:54 PM
Did I use too many words and you got tired reading and couldn't get to the end???

I made the perfect reasonable point that before a county board is given a grant they should have to show how they'd spend it.

It's what state agencies do if you apply for a grant and I think it makes sense. When you grow up and start work you'll learn things like budgeting and planning. You can't live off mammy and daddy forever. It's a big bad world out there once you leave the classroom. It must be nice to still have your innocence like you though

Personal abuse - check
Deflection - check
The usual Dub response.  ;D

I'll have to spell it out for you. Other counties went to Croke Park with costed plans but the door was slammed shut on them. This was for money within the association. You and others can try to ignore it all you like but the majority of Dublin's windfall has been provided by public money, by ordinary citizens. This was not possible for any other county as none of them disgraced former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern on their side. He was the king of dodgy deals and this one has bought Dublin 54 titles since 2005.
Post by: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 07:21:23 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 07:04:02 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 06:45:54 PM

Personal abuse - check
Deflection - check
The usual Dub response.  ;D

I'll have to spell it out for you. Other counties went to Croke Park with costed plans but the door was slammed shut on them. This was for money within the association. You and others can try to ignore it all you like but the majority of Dublin's windfall has been provided by public money, by ordinary citizens. This was not possible for any other county as none of them disgraced former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern on their side. He was the king of dodgy deals and this one has bought Dublin 54 titles since 2005.
So it's like Scooby doo then??? Dubs would have got away with of it wasn't for you pesky kids. Can you list the 54 titles the dubs have WON? That would make an awesome screensaver for my computer in work. If you could spread them out to fill the screen that would be great
Post by: larryin89 on September 13, 2018, 07:35:08 PM
Is there any advantages and disproportionate funding the dubs will concede on ?
Post by: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 08:08:46 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 07:21:23 PM
So it's like Scooby doo then??? Dubs would have got away with of it wasn't for you pesky kids. Can you list the 54 titles the dubs have WON? That would make an awesome screensaver for my computer in work. If you could spread them out to fill the screen that would be great

;D You can't even attempt to argue against the case I put forward. I know it's hard to accept. Everyone wants their county to win things fairly. Unfortunately it's not the case with Dublin. 54 titles have an asterisk beside them. If a proper investigation is undertaken then Dublin could get stripped of them all.
Post by: sid waddell on September 13, 2018, 08:21:55 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 06:22:29 PM

To quote the psychiatrist in Fawlty Towers, "there's enough material there for an entire conference".

And that's without even getting to the rest of your posts.

You could probably base an entire year's worth of lectures on them.
Post by: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 08:34:17 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 08:08:46 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 07:21:23 PM

;D You can't even attempt to argue against the case I put forward. I know it's hard to accept. Everyone wants their county to win things fairly. Unfortunately it's not the case with Dublin. 54 titles have an asterisk beside them. If a proper investigation is undertaken then Dublin could get stripped of them all.

I just asked you to list the 54 titles won so I could turn them into a screensaver. No need to go off on a mad rant. You've got way too much time on your hands.

Have the dubs really 54 titles since 2005? You have to list them out otherwise how can anyone belive you. Could be just one of those urban myths like the dub players don't have jobs.
Post by: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 08:40:55 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 13, 2018, 08:21:55 PM
To quote the psychiatrist in Fawlty Towers, "there's enough material there for an entire conference".

Fighting injustice is a complicated matter. It's never straight forward.
Post by: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 08:46:25 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 08:34:17 PM
I just asked you to list the 54 titles won so I could turn them into a screensaver. No need to go off on a mad rant. You've got way too much time on your hands.

Have the dubs really 54 titles since 2005? You have to list them out otherwise how can anyone belive you. Could be just one of those urban myths like the dub players don't have jobs.

No, you came in with another of the Dub responses, question why every other county hasn't tried to emulate Dublin's regime. I kindly informed you of why. You had no response to this.
Also, you are clearly uninformed on this whole topic. 54 titles is easy to back up, in fact I have a table done on it.
Post by: sid waddell on September 13, 2018, 08:51:37 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 08:40:55 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 13, 2018, 08:21:55 PM

Fighting injustice is a complicated matter. It's never straight forward.

"Fighting injustice" ;D

Bloody hell  ;D

You're obviously somebody grounded in reality. It's just that it's some sort of alternate reality.
Post by: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 09:08:01 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 13, 2018, 08:51:37 PM
"Fighting injustice" ;D

Bloody hell  ;D

You're obviously somebody grounded in reality. It's just that it's some sort of alternate reality.

They shot Martin Luther King dead, they locked up Nelson Mandela for years, they sent Gerry Adams to Louth. What punishment will they have for PriceyReilly, hero of the common GAA man?

We must stand up against Dub tyranny!
Post by: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 09:52:18 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 08:46:25 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 08:34:17 PM

No, you came in with another of the Dub responses, question why every other county hasn't tried to emulate Dublin's regime. I kindly informed you of why. You had no response to this.
Also, you are clearly uninformed on this whole topic. 54 titles is easy to back up, in fact I have a table done on it.
Well let's see this table.

Thats one serious injustice you habe taken on considering you could be putting all your energy into tackling something trivial like homelessness in the country
Post by: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 10:36:12 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on September 13, 2018, 09:52:18 PM

Thats one serious injustice you habe taken on considering you could be putting all your energy into tackling something trivial like homelessness in the country

This is the biggest issue in Gaelic Games. We can't have one county continuing to compete at a professional level while the sport is amatuer. Because it's obvious what will happen and we see it already. The only way to keep up with a professional outfit is to become professional yourself, to invest as much as they do. That will mean that only counties with money can compete. This will kill Gaelic Games in many counties. We see it with the increased calls for a B championship. This isn't what the GAA is about. We need to claim our games back.
The establishment are all about money and are neglecting the games in many counties. This can't continue and we can't let one counties greed get in the way. The monster must be slain. Once this is done we can look at repairing Gaelic Games.

Oh and here's the 54 titles, it's a comparison of the 13 years post funding to the 13 years pre funding.:

(http://i64.tinypic.com/2irw7sl.jpg)
Post by: tonto1888 on September 13, 2018, 10:45:27 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 13, 2018, 05:19:47 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 12, 2018, 10:25:49 PM

And why do Dublin take the League seriously and Kilkenny did not in their hay day?

Do you not have the ability to answer simple questions? Cheerio
Post by: chrissears on September 17, 2018, 10:50:10 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 10:36:12 PM

This is the biggest issue in Gaelic Games. We can't have one county continuing to compete at a professional level while the sport is amatuer. Because it's obvious what will happen and we see it already. The only way to keep up with a professional outfit is to become professional yourself, to invest as much as they do. That will mean that only counties with money can compete. This will kill Gaelic Games in many counties. We see it with the increased calls for a B championship. This isn't what the GAA is about. We need to claim our games back.
The establishment are all about money and are neglecting the games in many counties. This can't continue and we can't let one counties greed get in the way. The monster must be slain. Once this is done we can look at repairing Gaelic Games.

Oh and here's the 54 titles, it's a comparison of the 13 years post funding to the 13 years pre funding.:

Post by: manfromdelmonte on September 19, 2018, 10:04:52 AM
Obsessed because the rest of us are funding the Dublin GAA
Post by: TheGreatest on September 19, 2018, 11:21:13 AM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 13, 2018, 10:36:12 PM

Thank you for that table, makes great viewing, well done Dublin, put the work in and paying dividends, long may it continue.
Post by: priceyreilly on September 19, 2018, 05:59:07 PM
 ;D No problem, it's a table that shows clearly what money can buy. It really is startling the change from 14 titles to 54. It's also a good reminder for all the Dubs who start celebrating their trophies and then boom! They remember they've been bought them all.
Post by: tonto1888 on September 19, 2018, 06:19:53 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 19, 2018, 05:59:07 PM
;D No problem, it's a table that shows clearly what money can buy. It really is startling the change from 14 titles to 54. It's also a good reminder for all the Dubs who start celebrating their trophies and then boom! They remember they've been bought them all.

Because hard work and talent has nothing to do with it
Post by: priceyreilly on September 19, 2018, 10:41:25 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 19, 2018, 06:19:53 PM

54 titles since 2005 in all grades and levels. 14 in the previous 13 years. And it just so happened that the enormous funding disparity begun 13 years ago. Some sort of freak coincidence or instringently linked? Let's get real here. It's all bought. I haven't even added in the club titles for clubs in Dublin, it's gone up from 4 to 17 in the past 13 years compared to the 13 before.
I'd like a good laugh so can anyone come up with a reasonable explanation for the huge increase in titles since 2005 which coincided with the huge increase in funding for Dublin GAA?
Post by: dublin7 on September 19, 2018, 11:24:41 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 19, 2018, 10:41:25 PM

54 titles since 2005 in all grades and levels. 14 in the previous 13 years. And it just so happened that the enormous funding disparity begun 13 years ago. Some sort of freak coincidence or instringently linked? Let's get real here. It's all bought. I haven't even added in the club titles for clubs in Dublin, it's gone up from 4 to 17 in the past 13 years compared to the 13 before.
I'd like a good laugh so can anyone come up with a reasonable explanation for the huge increase in titles since 2005 which coincided with the huge increase in funding for Dublin GAA?

Ah go on, add em up. You love them tables. I'd have thought you'd have one done already. I used your original one to make a screensaver for my computer. Thanks for that. Club titles not as impressive a screensaver. But I'm sure it'll still look good.

Post by: OffTheDeck on September 20, 2018, 01:51:04 AM
Jesus I don't like seeing the dubs win as much as the next man but to put the whole thing down to money is ignorance at its finest. There are a lot more factors at play than just money. Population, commitment, facilities and management. They have clearly utilised all these factors and are at a clear advantage for doing so but how do we combat all those things? Start by matching the standard set by them for those other factors and the money may not even matter.
Post by: tonto1888 on September 20, 2018, 09:05:56 AM

So you think hard work and talent have no bearing on this at all? And cut the bought titles shite will ye
Post by: TheGreatest on September 20, 2018, 09:22:13 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 20, 2018, 09:05:56 AM

So you think hard work and talent have no bearing on this at all? And cut the bought titles shite will ye

Wasting your breath on these guys Tonto, multiple threads on the Dubs, they are more obsessed with Dublin than their own team or clubs.

I stated before, people always hated the Dubs, now its gone up 10 fold since the senior footballers have  a good team, which is only a small part of Dublin GAA.

Could you imagine if or when the  Hurlers win an All Ireland, there will be marches through the streets, or fields in some cases.

Long may it continue.
Post by: priceyreilly on September 20, 2018, 10:04:38 AM
Quote from: dublin7 on September 19, 2018, 11:24:41 PM
Ah go on, add em up. You love them tables. I'd have thought you'd have one done already. I used your original one to make a screensaver for my computer. Thanks for that. Club titles not as impressive a screensaver. But I'm sure it'll still look good.

Quote from: OffTheDeck on September 20, 2018, 01:51:04 AM
Jesus I don't like seeing the dubs win as much as the next man but to put the whole thing down to money is ignorance at its finest. There are a lot more factors at play than just money. Population, commitment, facilities and management. They have clearly utilised all these factors and are at a clear advantage for doing so but how do we combat all those things? Start by matching the standard set by them for those other factors and the money may not even matter.

Quote from: TheGreatest on September 20, 2018, 09:22:13 AM
Wasting your breath on these guys Tonto, multiple threads on the Dubs, they are more obsessed with Dublin than their own team or clubs.

I stated before, people always hated the Dubs, now its gone up 10 fold since the senior footballers have  a good team, which is only a small part of Dublin GAA.

Could you imagine if or when the  Hurlers win an All Ireland, there will be marches through the streets, or fields in some cases.

Long may it continue.

4 posters couldn't even attempt to answer the question! Here it is again:

Can anyone come up with a reasonable explanation for the huge increase in titles since 2005 which coincided with the huge increase in funding for Dublin GAA?

Go on, give it a go!
Post by: manfromdelmonte on September 20, 2018, 11:08:50 AM
If the financial tap was turned way back what would Dublin GAA do?

They'd have to fund their coaching set up from their own funds. Or fundraise to cover costs (which they currently don't have to do)

The county teams and development system would suffer cutbacks (like most counties have done).

So the funding is giving them a big advantage
Post by: TheGreatest on September 20, 2018, 02:11:09 PM
@Priceyreilly

In answer to your question,

Hard work by thousands of volunteers, good coaching structures put in place, a long term plan by visionaries, more of the population playing GAA , at underage anyway, a good recruitment drive from clubs, clubs bettering themselves with structures and facilities,  Good corporate governance, good club Community spirit, historical competing and in regards specifically to the senior footballers, Jim Gavin and the structures and mindset he put in place along with some of the naturally gifted footballers the country has produced and some of the hardworking group of footballers every produced in the country.

There you go, have a great day. 

Post by: Dire Ear on September 20, 2018, 02:28:12 PM
Would only question one phrase there TheGreatest , " some of the naturally gifted footballers the country"  They are highly trained in Gavins system, but I really think if most counties had the same "opportunities", time ,etc, they may do the same.  There may be more " naturally gifted footballers" in other counties --and no I'm not anti-Dub ......( runs for cover )
Post by: Syferus on September 20, 2018, 02:29:35 PM
The usual troll accounts out in full force I see. The sad part is seperating the shallow, one note WUM accounts from the actual opinion of the average Dublin supporter has become less and less obvious as the years have went by.
Post by: TheGreatest on September 20, 2018, 02:47:31 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on September 20, 2018, 02:28:12 PM
Would only question one phrase there TheGreatest , " some of the naturally gifted footballers the country"  They are highly trained in Gavins system, but I really think if most counties had the same "opportunities", time ,etc, they may do the same.  There may be more " naturally gifted footballers" in other counties --and no I'm not anti-Dub ......( runs for cover )

Maybe.

Connolly and Fenton would be natural.

Cluxton had to work hard and mastered it over a very long playing career.

I don't think Jack Mc Pace can be coached?

Etc.
Post by: TheGreatest on September 20, 2018, 02:49:53 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 20, 2018, 02:29:35 PM
The usual troll accounts out in full force I see. Then sad part is seperating the shallow, one note WUM accounts from the actual opinion of the average Dublin supporter has become less and less obvious as the years have went by.

I agree, I think GAA-Board should start banning some of the anti Dub brigade WUM's.
Post by: Jaden on September 20, 2018, 03:57:27 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on September 20, 2018, 02:49:53 PM
I agree, I think GAA-Board should start banning some of the anti Dub brigade WUM's.

I would respectfully disagree.

These WUM accounts are like farts, sure they stink, but still better let out than left in.
Post by: priceyreilly on September 20, 2018, 06:46:17 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on September 20, 2018, 02:11:09 PM
@Priceyreilly

Hard work by thousands of volunteers, good coaching structures put in place, a long term plan by visionaries, more of the population playing GAA , at underage anyway, a good recruitment drive from clubs, clubs bettering themselves with structures and facilities,  Good corporate governance, good club Community spirit, historical competing and in regards specifically to the senior footballers, Jim Gavin and the structures and mindset he put in place along with some of the naturally gifted footballers the country has produced and some of the hardworking group of footballers every produced in the country.

;D We have an answer!!! One that can be ripped apart but an answer at least. Here we go:

Hard work by thousands of volunteers - Every county has hard working volunteers
good coaching structures put in place - Highly financed coaching structures. Paid regional development officers overseeing the work by paid coaches under elite pathway programs
a long term plan by visionaries - A plan devised by the GAA Review Committee and impossible without Bertie support
more of the population playing GAA - Dublin have always had more population playing GAA
at underage anyway - Underage and senior
a good recruitment drive from clubs - This was apart of the plan overseen by the highly paid officers
clubs bettering themselves with structures and facilities - Again, the money provided paid coaches which pushed this
Good corporate governance - The increased success off the back of the financial doping attracted numerous new sponsors worth millions more
good club Community spirit - Same in every county
historical competing and in regards specifically to the senior footballers - Senior footballers moved from a top 8 team to unbeatable, hurlers went from minnows to provincial champions and All Ireland contenders, underage results went from hopeless to dominant, again all bought
Jim Gavin and the structures and mindset he put in place along with some of the naturally gifted footballers the country has produced and some of the hardworking group of footballers every produced in the country - Gaelic Games first professional team! Players created through the multi million euro development system and then coached and prepared by an extensive backroom team consisting of some highly paid coaches. 

So fair play for actually attempting an answer but unfortunately for you, I just batted it out of the park.  :)
Post by: TheGreatest on September 21, 2018, 08:42:03 AM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 20, 2018, 06:46:17 PM
@Priceyreilly

;D We have an answer!!! One that can be ripped apart but an answer at least. Here we go:

good coaching structures put in place - Highly financed coaching structures. Paid regional development officers overseeing the work by paid coaches under elite pathway programs
a long term plan by visionaries - A plan devised by the GAA Review Committee and impossible without Bertie support
more of the population playing GAA - Dublin have always had more population playing GAA
a good recruitment drive from clubs - This was apart of the plan overseen by the highly paid officers
clubs bettering themselves with structures and facilities - Again, the money provided paid coaches which pushed this
Good corporate governance - The increased success off the back of the financial doping attracted numerous new sponsors worth millions more
historical competing and in regards specifically to the senior footballers - Senior footballers moved from a top 8 team to unbeatable, hurlers went from minnows to provincial champions and All Ireland contenders, underage results went from hopeless to dominant, again all bought
Jim Gavin and the structures and mindset he put in place along with some of the naturally gifted footballers the country has produced and some of the hardworking group of footballers every produced in the country - Gaelic Games first professional team! Players created through the multi million euro development system and then coached and prepared by an extensive backroom team consisting of some highly paid coaches. 

So fair play for actually attempting an answer but unfortunately for you, I just batted it out of the park.  :)

Alternative Universe response and not worth a reply. Enjoy your ignorance.

Post by: Farrandeelin on September 21, 2018, 08:47:33 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on September 21, 2018, 08:42:03 AM
@Priceyreilly

I waa expecting better than that from you.
Post by: mup on September 21, 2018, 08:51:20 AM
@Priceyreilly

Great post.

Don't expect a coherent rebuttal from some of the ostriches on here. I actually like this Dublin team. It's the steadfast refusal by most of their supporters to acknowledge that the upturn in finances is linked to their success is what makes me laugh. Of course there are other reasons but to dismiss the finance one is pathetic.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 21, 2018, 09:45:41 AM
@Priceyreilly

(https://media.tenor.com/images/d7a9af5145c38a90ca7ac6414d0b1e8f/tenor.gif)
Post by: dublin7 on September 21, 2018, 11:03:54 AM
Quote from: mup on September 21, 2018, 08:51:20 AM
@Priceyreilly

Great post.

Don't expect a coherent rebuttal from some of the ostriches on here. I actually like this Dublin team. It's the steadfast refusal by most of their supporters to acknowledge that the upturn in finances is linked to their success is what makes me laugh. Of course there are other reasons but to dismiss the finance one is pathetic.

Of course money is an important factor, but to put it all down to funding is just rubbish.

If population is such a key fact why don't China dominate in every sport. All the top clubs in dublin these days have a few country players on the team. These players spot youg dublin players from playing senior football. Can you imagine the outcry if Dublin county board banned all non-dublin players from playing for dublin clubs to get more young players coming through. Either way they can't win.

People can bitch and moan about the dubs all they long (and some do on this forum) but what's the alternative? At least the dubs play an attractive to watch style of football. The majority of the remaing teams (especially the northern teams) play such a defensive boring brand off football that watching these teams play each other has become a form of torture.

I've seen Johnny Cooper practicing his kicking on his own in Na Fianna's pitch in Glasnevin. Cluxton is incredibl focused on his training. These players put the work in to maintain and improve their skills.

finally their is possbily good news for Dublin football fans and every other county who wants to compete with the dubs, that former player Rory O'Carroll is back in Ireland after spending time in New Zealand. Hopefully he gets back into the football. Dubs are spoilt for chice in the forwards but not as much quality in the defensive cover.
Post by: TheGreatest on September 21, 2018, 11:33:28 AM
Or even worse Dublin 7 , ban all culchies all together from being members of Dublin clubs. People from the country that move to Dublin are part of the life blood of Dublin clubs. A lot of the GDO's are from the country. The last manager I played under was a club man from Tipp that has volunteered in the club for the last 50 years.

Anyway I enjoy reading the negative posts, it gives me pleasure winning makes you all so miserable and jealous. Long may it continue.

Post by: mup on September 21, 2018, 11:57:37 AM
Oh dear. I'm embarrassed for you.

Talk about contradicting oneself.
Post by: TheGreatest on September 21, 2018, 12:16:23 PM
Quote from: mup on September 21, 2018, 11:57:37 AM
Oh dear. I'm embarrassed for you.

Talk about contradicting oneself.

I also am embarrassed for priceoreilly
Post by: Lar Naparka on September 21, 2018, 01:15:05 PM

I have no problem whatever with your question but you follow up is a bit iffy. It takes hard work and training to win titles of any sort and having talented young players helps a lot too. But all that is not the full story, as some Dubs claim.
I mean why does a side full of talented players need to train harder than any other county when there are plenty of talented players available?  A second string Dub side would probably beat any other team in the country.
Is the reason why they can train harder and  for longer because they don't have to travel long distance to their training grounds?
That's the usual answer you'll get from Dublin supporters here. However, that's not the full story.  The Dublin clubs are structured in a way that's biased towards the gifted players.
The way they operate can be compared to a pyramid- scores, maybe hundreds, of young players but only be one senior side at the top.
All sorts of field sports have a wastage rate when players drop out as they get older but the bigger the club, the more that leave is because there are no places for them as they move up the age levels.
In other words, some leave because they want to but many leave because they have to.
As Hound pointed out, the standard of Dublin club football is very high. It couldn't be otherwise as only the better ones are kept as the players move up a grade.
As well as that they have an excellent scouting system where gifted players are spotted at an early stage of their careers are discovered and get extra coaching to develop their talent long before they get to player in adult competitions.
No wonder Dublin has so many youngsters pressing inclusion on the senior panel. That means in turn that those already on the team are always in fear of losing their places if they don't train hard.
While their operate the megaclub system, Dublin will never be short of players who work hard and of talented younger ones trying to knock them out of their way.
Post by: tonto1888 on September 21, 2018, 03:18:50 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 20, 2018, 10:04:38 AM
Quote from: dublin7 on September 19, 2018, 11:24:41 PM

Quote from: OffTheDeck on September 20, 2018, 01:51:04 AM

Quote from: TheGreatest on September 20, 2018, 09:22:13 AM

Long may it continue.

4 posters couldn't even attempt to answer the question! Here it is again:

Can anyone come up with a reasonable explanation for the huge increase in titles since 2005 which coincided with the huge increase in funding for Dublin GAA?

Go on, give it a go!

My answer was in the question I asked you which you are unwilling or unable to answer. FWIW I'm not from Dublin and yes I think the money they got is unfair but it is stupid to put that down as the sole reason for their success

Oh, and syf complaining about WUM accounts is really funny
Post by: tonto1888 on September 21, 2018, 03:24:06 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on September 21, 2018, 01:15:05 PM

I have no problem whatever with your question but you follow up is a bit iffy. It takes hard work and training to win titles of any sort and having talented young players helps a lot too. But all that is not the full story, as some Dubs claim.
I mean why does a side full of talented players need to train harder than any other county when there are plenty of talented players available?  A second string Dub side would probably beat any other team in the country.
Is the reason why they can train harder and  for longer because they don't have to travel long distance to their training grounds?
That's the usual answer you'll get from Dublin supporters here. However, that's not the full story.  The Dublin clubs are structured in a way that's biased towards the gifted players.
The way they operate can be compared to a pyramid- scores, maybe hundreds, of young players but only be one senior side at the top.
All sorts of field sports have a wastage rate when players drop out as they get older but the bigger the club, the more that leave is because there are no places for them as they move up the age levels.
In other words, some leave because they want to but many leave because they have to.
As Hound pointed out, the standard of Dublin club football is very high. It couldn't be otherwise as only the better ones are kept as the players move up a grade.
As well as that they have an excellent scouting system where gifted players are spotted at an early stage of their careers are discovered and get extra coaching to develop their talent long before they get to player in adult competitions.
No wonder Dublin has so many youngsters pressing inclusion on the senior panel. That means in turn that those already on the team are always in fear of losing their places if they don't train hard.
While their operate the megaclub system, Dublin will never be short of players who work hard and of talented younger ones trying to knock them out of their way.

The point of my follow up is that Procey seemingly discounts hard work and talent from contributing to the success of this Dublin team. Do I think the money they get is unfair? I do. Does money automatically guarantee success ? It doesn't. Is it the sole reason for Dublin's success? Certainly not

You make good points regarding travel and what not and Dublin undoubtedly have other natural advantages over other counties. We can't be blaming them for that tho can we?
Post by: priceyreilly on September 21, 2018, 04:00:31 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on September 21, 2018, 08:42:03 AM

(http://www.sherv.net/cm/emo/laughing/crying-laughter-smiley-emoticon.gif) (http://www.sherv.net/)
Post by: From the Bunker on September 21, 2018, 04:07:21 PM
Lads it's a one off golden generation that is winning these 54 titles! Money had nothing to do with it. It was all about hard work. Other counties are lazy and talentless and can't be bothered going out raising money.

(https://qqcitations.com/images-citations/citation-s-ils-n-ont-pas-de-pain-qu-ils-mangent-de-la-brioche-marie-antoinette-d-autriche-114706.jpg)
Post by: priceyreilly on September 21, 2018, 04:07:54 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on September 21, 2018, 11:03:54 AM
Of course money is an important factor, but to put it all down to funding is just rubbish.

If population is such a key fact why don't China dominate in every sport. All the top clubs in dublin these days have a few country players on the team. These players spot youg dublin players from playing senior football. Can you imagine the outcry if Dublin county board banned all non-dublin players from playing for dublin clubs to get more young players coming through. Either way they can't win.

People can bitch and moan about the dubs all they long (and some do on this forum) but what's the alternative? At least the dubs play an attractive to watch style of football. The majority of the remaing teams (especially the northern teams) play such a defensive boring brand off football that watching these teams play each other has become a form of torture.

I've seen Johnny Cooper practicing his kicking on his own in Na Fianna's pitch in Glasnevin. Cluxton is incredibl focused on his training. These players put the work in to maintain and improve their skills.

finally their is possbily good news for Dublin football fans and every other county who wants to compete with the dubs, that former player Rory O'Carroll is back in Ireland after spending time in New Zealand. Hopefully he gets back into the football. Dubs are spoilt for chice in the forwards but not as much quality in the defensive cover.

You basically went off on a tangent because the financial doping can't be defended.

Maybe if Dublin GAA used the millions of euro to create new clubs and really take the fight to other sports like rugby and soccer, then more children in Dublin would be involved in GAA. The plan to split Dublin in 4 will assist in doing this. Each of the 4 county boards can target specific areas directly and have far more underage players choosing GAA in our capital. The 4 new counties will obviously offer more players a route to playing inter county football also. This and the increased number of clubs will fight against the drop off rate in Dublin.
Post by: priceyreilly on September 21, 2018, 04:12:46 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 21, 2018, 03:18:50 PM
My answer was in the question I asked you which you are unwilling or unable to answer. FWIW I'm not from Dublin and yes I think the money they got is unfair but it is stupid to put that down as the sole reason for their success

The answer to your question is this part:

Senior footballers moved from a top 8 team to unbeatable, hurlers went from minnows to provincial champions and All Ireland contenders, underage results went from hopeless to dominant, again all bought.

The money has brought huge change. Dublin would not have won any of the 6 recent All Ireland's without the conveyor belt of talent who came through the system. You can't underestimate it. As I've been pointing out, the footballers get all the headlines but the improvements in other areas like hurling, underage and club is just as huge.
Post by: tonto1888 on September 21, 2018, 04:30:24 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 21, 2018, 04:12:46 PM

Senior footballers moved from a top 8 team to unbeatable, hurlers went from minnows to provincial champions and All Ireland contenders, underage results went from hopeless to dominant, again all bought.

The money has brought huge change. Dublin would not have won any of the 6 recent All Ireland's without the conveyor belt of talent who came through the system. You can't underestimate it. As I've been pointing out, the footballers get all the headlines but the improvements in other areas like hurling, underage and club is just as huge.

You know a lot more about it than me. I will give you that. However, I'm gonna have to disagree with you. The money helped. That's for sure. But money does not give that Dublin team the desire they have to win. It does not give them their work ethic and it certainly doesn't give them the natural talent that a lot of their players have
Post by: dublin7 on September 21, 2018, 05:01:58 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 21, 2018, 04:07:54 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on September 21, 2018, 11:03:54 AM

You basically went off on a tangent because the financial doping can't be defended.

Maybe if Dublin GAA used the millions of euro to create new clubs and really take the fight to other sports like rugby and soccer, then more children in Dublin would be involved in GAA. The plan to split Dublin in 4 will assist in doing this. Each of the 4 county boards can target specific areas directly and have far more underage players choosing GAA in our capital. The 4 new counties will obviously offer more players a route to playing inter county football also. This and the increased number of clubs will fight against the drop off rate in Dublin.

So it's that simple is it? Just throw s**t load of money at a county and success is guaranteed. I tried to offer reasons and you just ignored them. Classy

Where exactly should these new clubs be established and who is going to pay for it? Don't think AIG are going to spend big bucks to sponsor Dublin West. Have you any idea how expensive land is in Dublin at the the moment? You have no problem with the GAA spending millions (and that's not an exaggeration) to buy land for all these new club's, pitches, clubhouse etc.

I imagine all our country cousins will be supportive and wouldn't even consider complaining
Post by: From the Bunker on September 21, 2018, 05:08:32 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 21, 2018, 04:30:24 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on September 21, 2018, 04:12:46 PM

You know a lot more about it than me. I will give you that. However, I'm gonna have to disagree with you. The money helped. That's for sure. But money does not give that Dublin team the desire they have to win. It does not give them their work ethic and it certainly doesn't give them the natural talent that a lot of their players have

Money buys you the top people you can employ to have and teach these ethics. Money buys and gets you the top people for strength and conditioning. Money buys you decent coaches. And that is just at the end stage!

Money helps the whole way up. How can it not?

You make it sound like being on the Dublin panel is a great sacrifice?

Post by: Lar Naparka on September 21, 2018, 07:26:41 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 21, 2018, 03:24:06 PM

The point of my follow up is that Procey seemingly discounts hard work and talent from contributing to the success of this Dublin team. Do I think the money they get is unfair? I do. Does money automatically guarantee success ? It doesn't. Is it the sole reason for Dublin's success? Certainly not

You make good points regarding travel and what not and Dublin undoubtedly have other natural advantages over other counties. We can't be blaming them for that tho can we?
have no problem whatever with what you say. But as an old says goes, the devil is in the detail.
I accept that Dublin footballers have an incredible work ethos and train harder and longer than any other team in the land. I'd do the same if I was a Dublin panellist, knowing damn well that my next game could be my last.
Like I  said, the Dublin club structure is designed to discover and develop the more talented players from an early age up to the highest level they can possibly get to. It's like sifting wheat from chaff as their country cousins might put it. The chaff, the less talented players, get cast aside.
That means that there are plenty of top class club players who'd get a place on most other intercounty teams but will never get close to a place on the Dub panel.
It's alright saying that Dublin panellists train very hard but the impression that they do all their hoofing about at the Fingallians club grounds is wide of the mark.
About a fortnight ago, a controversy erupted when the Dublin team management announced it was removing s the "advanced training machinery" that that had been left with the National Sports Complex in Abbotstown. What bugs me a little is this: the machinery was taken back when the Dubs couldn't use it any time they wanted to.
They have hardly moved this gear out to Fingallians so where is it now and what use is it to the Dub footballers? Their training regime is a bit more complicated that you might think from what Dub fans here are saying.
I say, deal with a full deck or put the cards away.There's no point in half telling the truth.
My main gripe with the Dubs is that their club  system is totally unsuited when it comes to widening their playing and support base.
If you were to take a typical Dublin club and split it in two, one immediate advantage is that twice as many players could make it to the highest level possible - senior team for many.  Twice as many players would stay on until they would be assets to the club- volunteer work, fundraising socialising etc.
The massive subventions of funds those clubs need to stay in operation is an indication that all is not well at club level and never will be as long as you have, say, one club to cater for a population the entire size of some other counties.
THe irony is that much of the money GAA HQ does out to counties for development come for the gate receipts the Dubs generate every time they play.
They are attractive to watch and the association needs the Dubs for the colour and excitement that follows them and the money they earn for th association.
So, I know we need the Dubs in top order for the good of the entire association. But the downside is that you also need a few other teams capable of holding their own with the Dubs.
Few people would be prepared to pay premium prices to go see the Dubs wipe the floor with the opposition.
All present indications would show that this isn't going to happen. It's way of avoiding meltdown by ignoring it and that can only be a short term measure.
Post by: tonto1888 on September 21, 2018, 09:36:20 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on September 21, 2018, 07:26:41 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 21, 2018, 03:24:06 PM

have no problem whatever with what you say. But as an old says goes, the devil is in the detail.
I accept that Dublin footballers have an incredible work ethos and train harder and longer than any other team in the land. I'd do the same if I was a Dublin panellist, knowing damn well that my next game could be my last.
Like I  said, the Dublin club structure is designed to discover and develop the more talented players from an early age up to the highest level they can possibly get to. It's like sifting wheat from chaff as their country cousins might put it. The chaff, the less talented players, get cast aside.
That means that there are plenty of top class club players who'd get a place on most other intercounty teams but will never get close to a place on the Dub panel.
It's alright saying that Dublin panellists train very hard but the impression that they do all their hoofing about at the Fingallians club grounds is wide of the mark.
About a fortnight ago, a controversy erupted when the Dublin team management announced it was removing s the "advanced training machinery" that that had been left with the National Sports Complex in Abbotstown. What bugs me a little is this: the machinery was taken back when the Dubs couldn't use it any time they wanted to.
They have hardly moved this gear out to Fingallians so where is it now and what use is it to the Dub footballers? Their training regime is a bit more complicated that you might think from what Dub fans here are saying.
I say, deal with a full deck or put the cards away.There's no point in half telling the truth.
My main gripe with the Dubs is that their club  system is totally unsuited when it comes to widening their playing and support base.
If you were to take a typical Dublin club and split it in two, one immediate advantage is that twice as many players could make it to the highest level possible - senior team for many.  Twice as many players would stay on until they would be assets to the club- volunteer work, fundraising socialising etc.
The massive subventions of funds those clubs need to stay in operation is an indication that all is not well at club level and never will be as long as you have, say, one club to cater for a population the entire size of some other counties.
THe irony is that much of the money GAA HQ does out to counties for development come for the gate receipts the Dubs generate every time they play.
They are attractive to watch and the association needs the Dubs for the colour and excitement that follows them and the money they earn for th association.
So, I know we need the Dubs in top order for the good of the entire association. But the downside is that you also need a few other teams capable of holding their own with the Dubs.
Few people would be prepared to pay premium prices to go see the Dubs wipe the floor with the opposition.
All present indications would show that this isn't going to happen. It's way of avoiding meltdown by ignoring it and that can only be a short term measure.
I don't know much, if anything, about their club system so you have me there. I don't see any reason for you to make it up so I'm if the impression things aren't great going by what you say.
I know it's not fair that the dubs got all this money from the GAA but re I genius to say that's the only reason they are successful. That's my only point. Would they be as successful? We won't know. What I am certain of is that crop of players would have come through regardless. The nucleus of the team.
That's my only argument here. Now, im gonna bask in the glory of the imminent return to the Armagh panel of a certain Crossmaglen native who is also a lover of coffee.
Your posts are great by the way. Very informative without the needless talking down and name calling of so many others on here