Mayo manager resigns - for defo.

Started by moysider, August 27, 2018, 12:02:32 AM

Quote from: larryin89 on October 12, 2018, 05:58:58 PM
What do ye make of the trials to be held over the bank holiday weekend ?

I know it's an old panel, but I don't think you're going to make the cut all the same.

Quote from: thebackbar1 on October 12, 2018, 05:00:08 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on October 12, 2018, 03:35:34 PM
I'm not saying to ignore skill sets but as a general rule there should be a Mayo way and we should be training all teams in that.

As for the other questions
- who decides any strategy? If it was a company the CEO and board. So probably a group of experts, most likely exmayo footballers in this case. Ex-club footballers if it's a club.
- absolutely it's worth getting rid of the egos, 100%. A smart man will look at it and see how he can implement it but with his own stamp
- if the u-8 coach or the u-20 coach doesn't do it then yes, out the door. People should be appointed on the basis that they buy into it

Again, a company sets a strategy and the staff follow it, this is the same.
I don't think its the same as a company, maybe at inter-county level where you have plenty of individuals willing to coach teams. However for most clubs you just don't have the luxury of being able to replace coaches if they don't follow the approach.

I wouldn't agree with you there, there's a queue of lads to train underage teams

It also comes down to club wide buy in

Ballaghman

Quote from: Manning18 on October 09, 2018, 05:27:23 PM
Quote from: iorras on October 09, 2018, 03:41:28 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on October 09, 2018, 12:26:15 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 09, 2018, 12:18:51 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on October 09, 2018, 12:11:57 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on October 07, 2018, 03:06:05 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on October 07, 2018, 02:51:13 PM
Horan doing videos talking about Adventures, Quests and Odysseys. "Brand Mayo". Some amount of cringe. It's not the presidency he's taking over

He seems to have you rattled anyway  ;D ;D

My eyes rattled from cringing?

"Brand Mayo". He's the manager of an average rural county's amateur football team, not the owner of the Dallas Cowboys. Quests and Odysseys is even stranger again. Perhaps he's a World of Warcraft fan
who are hugely popular and successful in fundraising allowing them to compete at the top level of football for the last decade from our impoverished county rather than whinge about dublin.
Welcome to footballs real world

Should he not be trying to extract less money from people in one of the countries more impoverished counties rather than more? Brand Mayo, sounds like a racket to take yet more from loyal fans. I do agree that Mayo's fundraising from far afield has been phenomenal from a county that wouldn't exactly be known for big businessmen abroad.
Dont worry about us lad, we have plenty of big businessmen at  home and abroad. And by big businessmen I mean big as in the type with money not big as in fat lads who eat burgers. Not sure which you meant.
Another positive is that we werent found with our hands in the till like one of our neighbours!

Not quite sure what the Supermacs dig is about. A family run business that give endless amounts of money to local charities and initiatives.

Mayo have the 4th lowest disposable income per person in Ireland and a similarly low GDP per person. I'm not particularly worried about it but perhaps you should be. https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/revealed-the-richest-and-poorest-counties-in-ireland-36636317.html

Hard to know where to start with your wayward posts. As one of the lads said you obviously didn't watch his interview. He doesn't buy into the quest stuff, never has.
As for Mayo not being known for big business men at home or abroad? Have you ever been to London or New York? Full of wealthy Mayo men. At home, who do you think owns Portwest, Carraig Donn, McHale machinery, CBE, Smyths toys etc, some clever Galway lads?
Finally your understanding of economics is limited. Mayo has two of the wealthiest towns in Connacht. It also has big businesses and big backers throughout  the county. Per head GDP doesn't come into it when you're looking for serious backing, we have been blessed with rich and generous people behind the scenes, Howleys and Corcorans don't exist in every county. Look at the map on the link you sent. We are grouped with Kerry. Ranked low like ourselves but with much wealthier individual towns than most counties, thanks to tourism and a sprinkling of big business.
We'll be grand, as we always are. We'll be competitive next year and that's all of most of us are looking for, i.e. be better than last year and take it from there.

Jeez Christ , diarmuid o Connor is the greatest . He will tear the fook outta Galway next year (no matter how low Galway go in his ear ) , you heard it hear first

Beffs

Quote from: Ballaghman on October 12, 2018, 10:15:59 PM
Horan doing videos talking about Adventures, Quests and Odysseys. "Brand Mayo". Some amount of cringe. It's not the presidency he's taking over

"Brand Mayo". He's the manager of an average rural county's amateur football team, not the owner of the Dallas Cowboys. Quests and Odysseys is even stranger again. Perhaps he's a World of Warcraft fan
who are hugely popular and successful in fundraising allowing them to compete at the top level of football for the last decade from our impoverished county rather than whinge about dublin.

Should he not be trying to extract less money from people in one of the countries more impoverished counties rather than more? Brand Mayo, sounds like a racket to take yet more from loyal fans. I do agree that Mayo's fundraising from far afield has been phenomenal from a county that wouldn't exactly be known for big businessmen abroad.
Dont worry about us lad, we have plenty of big businessmen at  home and abroad. And by big businessmen I mean big as in the type with money not big as in fat lads who eat burgers. Not sure which you meant.
Another positive is that we werent found with our hands in the till like one of our neighbours!

Not quite sure what the Supermacs dig is about. A family run business that give endless amounts of money to local charities and initiatives.

Mayo have the 4th lowest disposable income per person in Ireland and a similarly low GDP per person. I'm not particularly worried about it but perhaps you should be. https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/revealed-the-richest-and-poorest-counties-in-ireland-36636317.html

Hard to know where to start with your wayward posts. As one of the lads said you obviously didn't watch his interview. He doesn't buy into the quest stuff, never has.
As for Mayo not being known for big business men at home or abroad? Have you ever been to London or New York? Full of wealthy Mayo men. At home, who do you think owns Portwest, Carraig Donn, McHale machinery, CBE, Smyths toys etc, some clever Galway lads?
Finally your understanding of economics is limited. Mayo has two of the wealthiest towns in Connacht. It also has big businesses and big backers throughout  the county. Per head GDP doesn't come into it when you're looking for serious backing, we have been blessed with rich and generous people behind the scenes, Howleys and Corcorans don't exist in every county. Look at the map on the link you sent. We are grouped with Kerry. Ranked low like ourselves but with much wealthier individual towns than most counties, thanks to tourism and a sprinkling of big business.
We'll be grand, as we always are. We'll be competitive next year and that's all of most of us are looking for, i.e. be better than last year and take it from there.

If Mayo is that rich & prosperous & has so many wealthy backers, how come so many Mayo folk (including the players) have to leave it to find work?

Quote from: Beffs on October 14, 2018, 10:53:50 AM

If Mayo is that rich & prosperous & has so many wealthy backers, how come so many Mayo folk (including the players) have to leave it to find work?

Ask the politicians.

MayoBuck

Quote from: Beffs on October 14, 2018, 10:53:50 AM

We suffer emigration as much as anyone but the point was that matters little when looking for fundraising. Despite what Manning seems to think, there are plenty of wealthy individuals at home and abroad who back the county team. It's not like going round with the biscuit tin to young families in Ballina or Crossmolina and looking for money!

Beffs

Ask them yourself. A Mayo man was running the country until last year.

The very same GAA players are all able to find work in Kerry. Don't think I need to ask a politician why the Mayo ones can't.

iorras

Quote from: Beffs on October 14, 2018, 11:29:32 AM

The very same GAA players are all able to find work in Kerry. Don't think I need to ask a politician why the Mayo ones can't.
No they're not, they are all in CIT and UCC taking 10 years to do degrees or teaching in schools in Kerry. Ironically if it wasn't for Cork education institutions, Kerry would be f*cked.

iorras

Quote from: thebackbar1 on October 10, 2018, 01:28:14 PM
Now that things have settled down, does anyone have close to full story why Roachford wasn't kept on ? did the county board want him out ? or did horan make it know that he was interested in coming back and they decided he was a better option going forward ?
high stool talk alert with this but sure take what you may from it. There's a couple of wealthy backers to the county team, they weren't happy with last season and the general direction Rochy was going so they were threatening to pull the plug on the finances. They wanted Horan back to keep the funds going and the chairman knew what side his bread was buttered on so set about the required work.

Ballaghman

Quote from: iorras on October 15, 2018, 09:24:24 AM
Quote from: thebackbar1 on October 10, 2018, 01:28:14 PM
Now that things have settled down, does anyone have close to full story why Roachford wasn't kept on ? did the county board want him out ? or did horan make it know that he was interested in coming back and they decided he was a better option going forward ?
high stool talk alert with this but sure take what you may from it. There's a couple of wealthy backers to the county team, they weren't happy with last season and the general direction Rochy was going so they were threatening to pull the plug on the finances. They wanted Horan back to keep the funds going and the chairman knew what side his bread was buttered on so set about the required work.
Heard the same thing but as you say could be pub talk

Ballaghman

Quote from: iorras on October 15, 2018, 09:20:50 AM
Quote from: Beffs on October 14, 2018, 11:29:32 AM

No they're not, they are all in CIT and UCC taking 10 years to do degrees or teaching in schools in Kerry. Ironically if it wasn't for Cork education institutions, Kerry would be f*cked.
Good point. Also the amount of Mayo lads in Dublin is misleading. A good number of the panel are in college and I agree with Ed Coughlan, I think they should have chosen Galway to go to college but that's probably being a bit extreme I admit.
Some lads like Seamas O'Shea for example would struggle to find a job as an insurance underwriter in the west but most of the panel of a working age have jobs, and good jobs at that, in the west. We have the same problem as every other county west of the Shannon when it comes to construction related jobs. None of our lads have gone down the Darren O'Sullivan route of giving up work and Kerry has no more employment than ourselves. If any Mayo lad wants a job, they'll get one in Allergan, Coca Cola etc but some decide not to or in some cases have a specialised profession like SOS. They're in a privileged position of having options.
The point about fundraising is still valid. We are renowned for having wealthy business men who back us and it's one of the reasons our football team can afford to spend (you could argue blow) so much money on things like travel and accommodation on the lads living in the east for example.

Rochford rumoured to be part of Donegal management team.

Orchard park