AIF 2021 -- Maigh Eo vs Tír Eoghain

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, August 28, 2021, 06:30:37 PM

Quote from: BennyCake on September 13, 2021, 09:10:44 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 13, 2021, 08:45:47 PM
Quote from: chrissears on September 13, 2021, 06:26:56 PM
Tyrone08 was spot on about Aidan O'Shea, very overrated for a player who cannot catch a ball cleanly or pass it with hand or foot. Our management team have made a few mistakes this year with some selections but few in the county thought we would get to the AI final last year, let alone this year. That said, we cannot keep coming back each year to accept defeat so easily and making cheap excuses, any of those players who played in the AI final should have been kicking down doors to win this year. Tyrone were the better team on the day, they did the simple things well and some of their scores were top drawer, well done. You give counties like Mayo the hope that one day we will eventually get over the line but we need to change this casual mindset and stop comments like " sure we will be back next year".

100%. There will come a day when we will stop getting to finals regularly. Sure it was 38 years after 1951.

It's mad that Mayo only won 7 Connachts between 1952 and 1989.
Emigration might have had something to.do with it.
Plus Galway and Ros were strong for various stretches

Quote from: From the Bunker on September 13, 2021, 09:15:33 PM
Tyrone08 was spot on about Aidan O'Shea, very overrated for a player who cannot catch a ball cleanly or pass it with hand or foot. Our management team have made a few mistakes this year with some selections but few in the county thought we would get to the AI final last year, let alone this year. That said, we cannot keep coming back each year to accept defeat so easily and making cheap excuses, any of those players who played in the AI final should have been kicking down doors to win this year. Tyrone were the better team on the day, they did the simple things well and some of their scores were top drawer, well done. You give counties like Mayo the hope that one day we will eventually get over the line but we need to change this casual mindset and stop comments like " sure we will be back next year".

100%. There will come a day when we will stop getting to finals regularly. Sure it was 38 years after 1951.

Between 1954 and 1981 they only won 2! and won none in the 70's!

No wonder the county went mad in 1989

I was even at the send off up at Knock Airport the day before the game but didn't make the homecoming on the Monday

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=vgkr7CZ7xRI

Pure madness

shark

Quote from: seafoid on September 13, 2021, 08:00:16 PM
Quote from: APM on September 13, 2021, 07:12:35 PM
Look at the table below (last final in brackets).

In the last 50 years:

Kerry have been in 24 finals, losing 9 (2019)
Dublin have been in 20, losing 7 (2020)
Mayo have been in 11, losing 11 (2021)
Cork have been in 9 finals, losing 6 (2010)
Meath have been in 7, losing 3 (2001)
Tyrone have been in 7, losing 3 (2021)
Galway have been in 7 finals, losing 5 (2001)
Offaly have been in 4, losing 1 (1982)
Down have been in 3, losing 1 (2010)
Donegal have been in 3, losing 1 (2014)
Armagh have been in 3, losing 2 (2003)
Derry has been in 1, losing 0 (1993)
Roscommon have been in 1, losing 1 (1980)

It is very difficult to make it to an All Ireland final. In the last 50 years only 13 counties by my reckoning have reached All-Ireland finals. Outside of Dublin and Kerry, no-one has made it to more than Mayo. 

They have lost them all (shocking), but look at Meath, Galway, Cork - big beasts of the football world and 20 year gaps since the last appearance (and getting longer).  Bad and all as the last 10 years have been for Mayo, they have been at the top table and they have given a lot of joy (and heartache) to their followers. 

However, as Galway and Meath have found out, your place at the top table is not guaranteed. Some year, they won't bounce back and could very well slip into mediocrity.
Interesting. Ultimately every final has a loser. The 2 sides have to balance. Without Mayo the losses would have been distributed anongst the other teams.
In 89 Cork beat Mayo. They have the next worst record.

If Cork were in 9 and lost 6, then that means they won 3. But they won 2010, 1990, 1989 and 1973. 4 by my count.

Yeeehooo! 4th All Ireland!  8)

Very satisfied with this one have to say, the team and management showed real resolve and commitment to bring out another fantastic day for the county. We are truly indebted to everything that everyone associated with the squad went through and faced up to this year. Fantastic stuff! thanks folks!
We have been building nicely all year and obviously the Kerry match was the breakout win. The final had a few hairy moments for us, Q3 was poor enough showing in terms of scores, penalty, Mayo goal chances etc but overall (in hindsight) it was much assured win that the semi.

There was great performances everywhere but I feel Morgan McCurry and midfield deserve special mention for great performances, were there was questions being placed over their heads as weak areas for Tyrone. McGeary, Meyler and Sludden outstanding too as they have been all year, the latters return to form has been particularly satisfying. All the defence very solid and working as a unit, showed that they can man mark as well as anyone and repaid that trust that was shown to them. P Harte reinvented himself this year again and scored that fantastic point late on, him and Mattie Donnelly have certainly earned their Celtic Crosses, true warriors for Tyrone. Up front we seem to have rediscovered that unique special quality in players like McKenna and McShane, able to think on their feet and do ridiculous things from time to time, what they are capable off if fully fit and functioning together is kinda scary (cant imagine how the opposition must feel about facing them).

Commiserations to Mayo, I don't want to start pointing out where your lost it as I'm sure its obvious to yis but best of luck to ye next year I really do hope you get over this final hoodoo sometime soon.

Very excited for next season! Kerry will be hurting and Dublin will have something to play for again. Not to mention all of our neighbours who all seem to be having (what must be a ripple effect) surge in quality will be chomping at the bit to knock us of our perch.

We still need to push on from this as we are still only up there with the Kildare's and Tipperary's on 4. I see our just position as leading the charge on the "Big Two".

Quote from: seafoid on September 13, 2021, 09:27:39 PM

Definitely part of the story

Dermot Earley was full a blown Mayo man-even born in Castlebar and a first cousin of Publican Mick Byrne

His father got a job one mile over the border in Roscommon and slipped through our fingers

Captain of the 1983 U21 team-Gerry Geraghty emigrated to Chicago and was as good if not better than Willie Joe Padden

Pearce Hanley would have developed into one of the top 4 midfielders in the country

On the other hand more recently

Keith Higgins father was a Galway man (must be where he got his hurling skills from)

Donal Vaughan's parents both from Cork (I think)

The O'Sheas were born in Mullingar (Kerry parents) ****corrected*****

Lee Keegan-actually is English born and not a drop of Mayo blood in him

Emigration
Migration
Politics (who you were)
Money
Culture
Galway being very strong in the 60's
Roscommon being strong in the 70's
The lack of a back door.

Quote from: BennyCake on September 13, 2021, 09:05:05 PM

In the last 50 years:

It is very difficult to make it to an All Ireland final. In the last 50 years only 13 counties by my reckoning have reached All-Ireland finals. Outside of Dublin and Kerry, no-one has made it to more than Mayo. 

They have lost them all (shocking), but look at Meath, Galway, Cork - big beasts of the football world and 20 year gaps since the last appearance (and getting longer).  Bad and all as the last 10 years have been for Mayo, they have been at the top table and they have given a lot of joy (and heartache) to their followers. 

However, as Galway and Meath have found out, your place at the top table is not guaranteed. Some year, they won't bounce back and could very well slip into mediocrity.

Are you a cute Kerry hoor by any chance?? Claiming all Ireland's  that you didn't actually win

No wonder you have 37  ;D

1981 is the last final Offaly lost, the year in parentheses (1982) is the year of the last final they were in.

Cork have been in 10 finals since 73 (excl. Replays) losing 6.

shark

Quote from: whitey on September 13, 2021, 09:39:32 PM

Dermot Earley was full a blown Mayo man-even born in Castlebar and a first cousin of Publican Mick Byrne

His father got a job one mile over the border in Roscommon and slipped through our fingers

Captain of the 1983 U21 team-Gerry Geraghty emigrated to Chicago and was as good if not better than Willie Joe Padden

Pearce Hanley would have developed into one of the top 4 midfielders in the country

Keith Higgins father was a Galway man (must be where he got his hurling skills from)

The O'Sheas were born in Longford (Kerry parents)

O'Shea's were Mullingar, not Longford. Their father has a couple of Westmeath senior championship medals.

APM

Quote from: BennyCake on September 13, 2021, 09:05:05 PM

In the last 50 years:

Are you a cute Kerry hoor by any chance?? Claiming all Ireland's  that you didn't actually win

No wonder you have 37  ;D

The year in brackets was the last year they played in an AIF - not the last year they lost.  Would love to be a cute Kerry huir, but I'm not cute, I'm not from Kerry although I might be a bit of a huir alright.

I did make a mistake with Cork. 10 finals, lost 6 the f**kers. 

There are probably other mistakes in there - in fact there definitely is.  I couldn't really give a crap to be honest. If any of you want to find them, knock yourselves out  ;D

sid waddell

In the last 50 years:

I think very often winning is what allows a county to slip into long term mediocrity. Had Mayo won '96 or '97 that may well have happened to them too. They keep reaching finals because they haven't won any. It creates urgency.

Down, Derry, Donegal, Armagh, Meath, Cork and Galway all fell away to varying degrees, probably because subconsciously they were sated by victory.

So did Offaly after 1982.

I actually think Mickey Harte's tenure since the 2003-2008 team broke up has been quite under rated in that regard because Tyrone have consistently stayed a top four team. They never fell away like those other counties, which could easily have happened.

Jayop

Final ranking of the year from Laoisman with Tyrone at their rightful place at the top of the ladder!!  8) 8)

#|Δ Rank|Team|Rating|Δ Rating

1|▲2|Tyrone|110.14|3.64

2|=|Dublin|107.58|0.00

3|▼-2|Mayo|106.06|-3.64

4|=|Kerry|101.23|0.00

5|=|Donegal|93.40|0.00

6|=|Galway|92.84|0.00

7|=|Monaghan|92.56|0.00

8|=|Kildare|91.10|0.00

9|=|Meath|90.84|0.00

10|=|Cork|89.48|0.00

11|=|Armagh|89.25|0.00

12|=|Cavan|85.32|0.00

13|=|Derry|85.25|0.00

14|=|Roscommon|85.01|0.00

15|=|Down|82.93|0.00

16|=|Clare|82.33|0.00

17|=|Westmeath|80.86|0.00

18|=|Offaly|78.50|0.00

19|=|Longford|76.71|0.00

20|=|Tipperary|76.17|0.00

21|=|Laois|72.46|0.00

22|=|Limerick|72.10|0.00

23|=|Antrim|72.05|0.00

24|=|Fermanagh|71.77|0.00

25|=|Louth|68.39|0.00

26|=|Wexford|65.63|0.00

27|=|Wicklow|64.12|0.00

28|=|Carlow|63.34|0.00

29|=|Leitrim|62.00|0.00

30|=|Sligo|59.04|0.00

31|=|New York|58.08|0.00

32|=|Waterford|57.60|0.00

33|=|London|50.93|0.00

Quote from: Jayop on September 13, 2021, 10:06:22 PM
Final ranking of the year from Laoisman with Tyrone at their rightful place at the top of the ladder!!  8) 8)

#|Δ Rank|Team|Rating|Δ Rating

1|▲2|Tyrone|110.14|3.64

2|=|Dublin|107.58|0.00

32|=|Waterford|57.60|0.00

33|=|London|50.93|0.00

Would be good to see movement since last year's final

Jayop

This is from just after last years final.

1 | = | Dublin | 112.28 | 1.29
2 | = | Mayo | 104.17 | -1.29
3 | = | Kerry | 101.95 | 0.00
4 | = | Donegal | 98.77 | 0.00
5 | = | Tyrone | 98.15 | 0.00
6 | = | Cavan | 97.87 | 0.00
7 | = | Galway | 93.47 | 0.00
8 | = | Meath | 92.45 | 0.00
9 | = | Roscommon | 92.30 | 0.00
10 | = | Armagh | 90.76 | 0.00
11 | = | Cork | 86.53 | 0.00
12 | = | Monaghan | 86.52 | 0.00
13 | = | Laois | 85.56 | 0.00
14 | = | Tipperary | 85.05 | 0.00
15 | = | Kildare | 83.49 | 0.00
16 | = | Westmeath | 81.93 | 0.00
17 | = | Down | 80.98 | 0.00
18 | = | Clare | 79.52 | 0.00
19 | = | Derry | 76.64 | 0.00
20 | = | Longford | 74.96 | 0.00
21 | = | Offaly | 72.49 | 0.00
22 | = | Fermanagh | 71.36 | 0.00
23 | = | Wicklow | 70.21 | 0.00
24 | = | Antrim | 69.34 | 0.00
25 | = | Limerick | 68.18 | 0.00
26 | = | Leitrim | 67.85 | 0.00
27 | = | Carlow | 65.06 | 0.00
28 | = | Louth | 64.87 | 0.00
29 | = | Sligo | 61.82 | 0.00
30 | = | Wexford | 60.16 | 0.00
31 | = | Waterford | 56.59 | 0.00
32 | = | New York | 55.07 | 0.00
33 | = | London | 50.10 | 0.00

Cavan declined quite a bit in that year, but there are 7 Ulster teams in the top half and Antrim have moved off the bottom in Ulster.

Quote from: whitey on September 13, 2021, 09:39:32 PM

The O'Sheas were born in Mullingar (Kerry parents) ****corrected*****

Are Keegan's parents Irish then?

I remember reading a book about some of the unfortunate incidents involving Mayo players. Wasn't one fella working in the garda and was shot during an armed robbery? Then another fella Ted Webb was killed crossing the train tracks. Both great prospects it seems.