Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: DrinkingHarp on November 28, 2008, 02:04:43 AM

Title: Favourite Christmas Songs/Carols
Post by: DrinkingHarp on November 28, 2008, 02:04:43 AM
Little Drummer Boy   especially the Bing Cosby/David Bowie rendition.

Blue Christmas   Elvis

I saw mommy kissing Santa Claus    John Cougar Melloncamp

Santa Claus is coming to town     Bruce Springsteen

Grandma got ran over by a reindeer   Dr. Elmo

Title: Re: Favourite Christmas Songs/Carols
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 28, 2008, 02:21:57 AM
It might be played out but its still a classic. Here'a a live version.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=NrAwK9juhhY
Post by: Puckoon on November 28, 2008, 02:41:21 AM
Carol Strain.

The little drummer boy makes me homocidal.
Post by: Niall Quinn on November 28, 2008, 04:27:37 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on November 28, 2008, 02:04:43 AM

Little Blue Elmo ran to Elvis town    especially Cosby/David Bowie rendition.

Dr.  I saw mommy kissing Grandma    John Melloncamp

Santa Claus is coming over a reindeer     by Bruce Springsteen

Santa Claus got Christmas Cougar

Bing the Drummer Boy

Post by: Tyrones own on November 28, 2008, 04:45:36 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yce0vnw7Oy0
Post by: mhacadoir on November 28, 2008, 08:38:06 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQWXfHzOKUU

amazing version
Post by: winsamsoon on November 28, 2008, 09:50:56 AM
O Holy night

Or silent night at midnight mass with the old candles and all alight is hard to beat
Post by: thejuice on November 28, 2008, 10:23:37 AM
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=De47fjH6RKY

Oh Come All Ye Faithful - Best Version
Post by: downredblack on November 28, 2008, 10:32:31 AM
Power of Love - Frankie goes to Hollywood

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=ShN8UIk5-mw
Post by: ardmhachaabu on November 28, 2008, 10:35:34 AM
Silent Night
Away in a Manger
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 28, 2008, 10:51:38 AM
1.Once in royal Davids city
2.Away in a Manger
3.Silent night (esp in French)
4.O Come all ye faithful

while not a christmas Carols - the association with Christmas makes me fond of
1.'Fairytale of New York
2.the Power of Love' (Frankie GTH)
3. 'Please come home for Christmas' - Bon jovi
4. She wont be home this Christmas - erasure
5. Winter wonderland
Post by: Declan on November 28, 2008, 11:00:24 AM
Carols
O Holy night - and this is the best version I've ever heard http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9nrDfqoYzNo (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9nrDfqoYzNo) and its not even in English. A pure golden voice
Adestes Fideles
Silent Night
Away in a Manger

Songs
So this is christmas - Lennon
Santa Claus is coming to town - Bruce
Winter Wonderland - Ronettes
When a child is born  - Johnny Mathis
I wish it could be Christmas every day - Wizard

Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 28, 2008, 11:19:26 AM
I hate Christmas songs
Post by: Donagh on November 28, 2008, 11:19:51 AM
Bing is the King of the Christmas tunes. Watched 'Going My Way' last weekend with the wife and the Ave Maria had her in tears:

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=qedw6orMI24 (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=qedw6orMI24)

Couldn't find the video footage but this is him singing Silent Night in the same movie:

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=6_ZSUTaQCO0 (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=6_ZSUTaQCO0)
Post by: corn02 on November 28, 2008, 12:41:44 PM
My favourite is the vienna boys one in Home Alone and when he the clock strikes and it becomes all rocky. Goosebump times.

Anyone got a vidoe for that?
Post by: Square Ball on November 28, 2008, 01:09:33 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 28, 2008, 11:19:26 AM
I hate Christmas songs

get with it, Its Christmas.

Post by: johnneycool on November 28, 2008, 01:10:29 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on November 28, 2008, 01:09:33 PM
I hate Christmas songs

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=jPIbLManOzs&feature=related (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=jPIbLManOzs&feature=related)

The best ever, can't be beat at midnight mass!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 28, 2008, 01:57:54 PM
I hate Christmas songs

I would dispute that...Its not even fecking December yet!
Post by: ziggysego on November 28, 2008, 08:01:18 PM
Christmas Carols

1. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=2fe0-J1ufm0)
2. Silent Night (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=87q5dmW6zDg)
3. The First Noel (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=dX6bC71Zcos)
4. Joy to the World (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=Y5iRUABBiko)
5. Away in a Manger (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=nKj_nllFR_k)

Christmas Songs

1. Fairy Tale of New York (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=Ff3aoSyYOVs)
2. Lonely this Christmas (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=lPtrDP1E8uU)
3. White Christmas (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=Y1GPxcxrBkI)
4. Christmas Vacation (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=yif5Ds-hJS4)
5. When a Child is Born (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=RGMky4tVN7c)
Post by: Square Ball on November 28, 2008, 08:08:14 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on November 28, 2008, 01:10:29 PM
I hate Christmas songs

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=jPIbLManOzs&feature=related (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=jPIbLManOzs&feature=related)

The best ever, can't be beat at midnight mass!

an all time classic.

on a carol note, Put put me on to this one in last years thread  http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=5684.15 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=5684.15)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Jr-2eyRtV4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Jr-2eyRtV4)

Post by: pintsofguinness on November 28, 2008, 08:11:49 PM
Santa Clause is coming to town.
Post by: Square Ball on November 28, 2008, 08:15:12 PM
Good old Nat

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=6oj3jixMGaw (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=6oj3jixMGaw)
Post by: wrecked_em on November 28, 2008, 08:16:31 PM
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=V4jLfCjlYD0

superb
Post by: Square Ball on November 28, 2008, 08:18:05 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 28, 2008, 08:11:49 PM
Santa Clause is coming to town.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=iSgEDKjmT5o (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=iSgEDKjmT5o)
Post by: Square Ball on November 28, 2008, 08:21:16 PM
this is fabulous as well

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=AN3uPrJR7IY (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=AN3uPrJR7IY)
Post by: Open yer eyes Man on November 28, 2008, 08:42:50 PM
Apart from the Fairytale of New York, I hate them f++king all.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 28, 2008, 08:50:57 PM

Great song

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GOAl5pnbgHY&feature=related
Post by: rosnarun on November 29, 2008, 03:08:29 AM
Adeste Fideles with the Count

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=uixiUGpIHEM&feature=related

thank god for youtube wouldn't like to have to find the '78
Post by: ONeill on November 29, 2008, 09:16:59 AM
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=h37KQu64RY4
Post by: tyrone86 on November 29, 2008, 09:22:40 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 28, 2008, 02:41:21 AM
Carol Strain.

The little drummer boy makes me homocidal.

I concur puck

As for the song; http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=30kXXTdmGCo (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=30kXXTdmGCo)

Pretenders, 2000 miles - to keep J70 happy
Post by: The Watcher Pat on November 29, 2008, 10:24:04 AM
Litrtle Donkey...
Theres a good story about a young apprentice at Arsenal

Apparently at Arsenal all the apprentices had to get up in the bar at christmas time and sing a christmas carol....

All the pros then give the kids money for christmas...

The story goes that Ian Selley (tony Adams's apprentice(he's not related to Gerry EG)) got up and sang little donkey....

Would love to have seen TA's face then!!
Post by: maggie on November 29, 2008, 10:46:34 AM
After getting woken up by what appears to be the worst Christmas songs ever being played on loud speaker, I would have to say
Frosty the Snowman,
Mistletoe & Wine
Let it Snow
Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer
and Jingle Bells would not rate too highly on my list.

Post by: Frankie Boy on November 29, 2008, 01:17:42 PM
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=zs4OkFZWmfs
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 29, 2008, 05:23:20 PM
BAH, HUMBUG!   >:( >:(
Post by: J70 on November 29, 2008, 05:47:51 PM
Happy Xmas (War is Over) - John Lennon
Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) - Phil Spector/Darlene Love
Let It Snow - Dean Martin
The Christmas Song - Nat King Cole
Post by: the green man on November 29, 2008, 11:48:25 PM
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=PHpye0M34JQ&feature=related

Best Hymn/Carol ever.

You need to listen the whole way through
Post by: Frankie Boy on November 30, 2008, 04:14:52 AM
I had never heard Little Drummer Boy (a rump a bum bum) until I saw it posted here and searched it on youtube. Hopefully I will never hear it again (a rump a bum bum).
Out of a rump a bum bum comes shite.
Post by: J70 on November 30, 2008, 05:48:29 AM
What is with the practice of many on this board to post youtube links without any indication of what the clip is? Is there supposed to be some element of suspense and tingly anticipation as we click on the link to see what joys await us? How many people actually bother to click? (I couldn't be arsed myself)

Post the name of the song FFS!  >:(
Post by: Shortso79 on November 30, 2008, 12:11:56 PM
Holidays are coming....

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=PjuUrPdnSrM

Post by: Square Ball on November 30, 2008, 12:25:56 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 29, 2008, 05:23:20 PM

never heard that one, who sings it?
Post by: rosnarun on December 03, 2008, 01:21:16 AM
Quote from: Square Ball on November 30, 2008, 12:25:56 PM

one for laoislad
untitled for j70
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=aCxACwG7O0Y
Post by: J70 on December 03, 2008, 04:00:38 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on December 03, 2008, 01:21:16 AM
Quote from: Square Ball on November 30, 2008, 12:25:56 PM

one for laoislad
untitled for j70
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=aCxACwG7O0Y

I had to look... :)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on December 03, 2008, 02:52:24 PM
Downloaded Sinatra, Bing Crosby and Johnny Cash christmas albums there, listened to a good bit, how songs should be sang!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 04, 2008, 04:47:52 PM
There is a new radio station in the Dublin area called Xmas FM  :o
24hr back to back Christmas songs....Oh Jesus roll on January is all I can say
Post by: Treasurer on December 04, 2008, 05:14:13 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 04, 2008, 04:47:52 PM

You could just turn the dial ..........
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 04, 2008, 05:15:32 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on December 04, 2008, 05:14:13 PM

I could but then every other station is playing them too...Bah Humbug  >:(
Post by: Treasurer on December 04, 2008, 05:35:09 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 04, 2008, 05:15:32 PM

There's always Midlands 103...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 04, 2008, 05:36:33 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on December 04, 2008, 05:35:09 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 04, 2008, 05:15:32 PM

There's always Midlands 103...

Oh jesus..I'D rather have Johnny Barry on KCR  :D
Plus I can't ever get 103 up here in Jackeen land
Post by: armaghniac on December 04, 2008, 05:40:01 PM
All this Christmas stuff is a bit much.
Post by: the milkman on December 23, 2008, 11:17:37 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xoJf-9j2kNs (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xoJf-9j2kNs)

Feed the world....great song
Post by: 5 Sams on December 23, 2008, 11:39:32 PM
Nothing wrong with Christy Rea

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=THcbQyFtCqg

Post by: ONeill on December 23, 2008, 11:40:52 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 23, 2008, 11:21:29 PM
Houl your whist.
This is without doubt the best. Bates the shite out of Fairytale of New York. Hard to get it on Youtube.
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=jDJ0IGRByQk (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=jDJ0IGRByQk)

Bloody brilliant.
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on December 24, 2008, 02:51:41 AM
I've always thought that Paul Brady's version of "Arthur McBride" the best Christmas song. A traditional song with amazing lyrics.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=cBGkhPx529g
Post by: Billys Boots on December 24, 2008, 09:30:58 AM
Christmas Morning - John Montague (on the front of the Irish Times this morning)

Lights outline a hill
As silently the people,
Like shepherd and angel
On that first morning,
March from Altcloghfin,
Beltany, Rarogan,
Under rimed hawthorn,
Gothic evergreen,
Grouped in the warmth
cloud of their breath,
Along cattle paths
Crusted with ice,
Tarred roads to this
Grey country chapel
Where a gas-lamp hisses
To light the crib
Under the cross-beam's
Damp flaked message:
GLORIA IN EXCELSIS
Post by: Square Ball on December 17, 2010, 10:59:28 PM
Posted it previously bur its classm Celine Dion singing Oh Holy Night

http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSPuP20RZom83AFu79euutMeKvnD4Hkn-Xm9cexyKG9_u9h9b3BiA (http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSPuP20RZom83AFu79euutMeKvnD4Hkn-Xm9cexyKG9_u9h9b3BiA)
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 17, 2010, 11:07:35 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 17, 2010, 11:02:53 PM
This will never be bettered...

It's Christmas time in Palestine.... (http://www.youtube.com/watch?gl=US&hl=uk&v=jDJ0IGRByQk)

Tis a great tune but maybe a little depressing for the masses, now where is my shakin stevens cd...
Post by: ONeill on December 17, 2010, 11:25:11 PM
Cheery effort - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HzvQr8fidLo
Post by: Orangemac on December 17, 2010, 11:34:21 PM
Must be getting old because I seem to like the ole carols more very year.

Agree Arthur McBride is a great tune all right.

Like "Is that you Santa Claus?"by Louis Armstrong also.