Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Karl Kennedy on November 18, 2017, 09:21:19 PM

Title: Beam Vaccum System
Post by: Karl Kennedy on November 18, 2017, 09:21:19 PM
Is there anyone on here have the Beam Vacuum system installed in their homes? Is it reliable?
Got quote other day for nearly £1500 for the installation of the power unit and tools.
The ducting is already fitted in the house.
Title: Re: Beam Vaccum System
Post by: rrhf on November 18, 2017, 09:34:43 PM
Good job. There are other providers but they a great
Product.
Post by: Itchy on November 18, 2017, 10:04:09 PM
What happens if you suck something up and it blocks a pipe. Factory I used to work in had such a system, stopped using it and bought "Henry " vacuum cleaners instead. I don't see the point in them.
Post by: Hereiam on November 18, 2017, 10:04:24 PM
An ole Henry only £99. U have too much money sir
Post by: balladmaker on November 18, 2017, 10:11:56 PM
Yes, have a Beam system fitted.  I was dubious before going for it but glad I did.  Powerful system, much more powerful than any standard vacuum I've seen.  Have been using it for 5 years and have had no issues with it. 
Post by: Owen Brannigan on November 18, 2017, 10:33:42 PM
Any issues about it becoming a way in for mice, etc?
Post by: laoislad on November 18, 2017, 10:40:18 PM
Have wired a few of these systems. Wasn't impressed with any of them that I have seen working.
Better off with your Henry or similar as mentioned above imo.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 19, 2017, 08:33:44 AM
10 years on the go and no bother with the main system. Have had to replace the hose due to the small button getting broken but all in all a good job. I can't say it's worth the money though as a small vacuum cleaner like the aforementioned Henry would do the same job for a fraction of the price.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 19, 2017, 08:48:42 AM
My dad, lord rest him , died 19 years ago. He bought a Henry just before he went into the hospital. No doubt it was probably about £60 back then. Henry still motoring with just 2 changes of hose for small money. £1500 for a hoover system....away and catch yourself on.
Post by: johnneycool on November 19, 2017, 09:25:20 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 19, 2017, 08:48:42 AM
My dad, lord rest him , does 19 years ago. He bought a Henry just before he went into the hospital. No doubt it was probably about £60 back then. Henry still motoring with just 2 changes of hose for small money. £1500 for a hoover system....away and catch yourself on.

I've the Beam system and it's the dogs danglies, didn't pay £1500 for it though. 10 years I've had it and no real bother.
Get the dustpan attachment which fits into the kitchen kickboard.
As for stuff blocking it, narrowest part of the system is the feed from the hoover head. If it gets past that then it will make its way to the main system, no issues.

Henry's are good too.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on November 19, 2017, 09:32:12 AM
Just bought a Dyson cordless. Great cleaning and no lugging a hose and cleaner around the house and up and down 4 flights of stairs. Particularly handy on the stairs. Can do whole house on one charge including tiles and wooden floors. Not as dear as a Beam but much dearer than Henry.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 19, 2017, 09:34:24 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on November 19, 2017, 09:25:20 AM
My dad, lord rest him , does 19 years ago. He bought a Henry just before he went into the hospital. No doubt it was probably about £60 back then. Henry still motoring with just 2 changes of hose for small money. £1500 for a hoover system....away and catch yourself on.

I've the Beam system and it's the dogs danglies, didn't pay £1500 for it though. 10 years I've had it and no real bother.
As for stuff blocking it, narrowest part of the system is the feed from the hoover head. If it gets past that then it will make its way to the main system, no issues.

Henry's are good too.

I have no doubt that it is the canine cahones but the thing is if Karl is paying £1500 for it now thatbto me is excessive. It's his money and he can do as he will but on a pure logical sense I don't understand it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 19, 2017, 10:03:07 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 19, 2017, 09:34:24 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on November 19, 2017, 09:25:20 AM

Henry's are good too.

I have no doubt that it is the canine cahones but the thing is if Karl is paying £1500 for it now thatbto me is excessive. It's his money and he can do as he will but on a pure logical sense I don't understand it.
Would agree. Spend 100 on Henry and 1400 quid on the hip sounds like a good deal to me.
Post by: Karl Kennedy on November 19, 2017, 10:57:08 PM
I definitely can't justify spending the £1500 quoted as I knew it was too expensive but was wondering did anyone else have it installed at this price. I will get the output covers for the wall and fit them and that will take bad look of the walls.

Surely the whole system doesn't cost that amount. Would £500 jot be a more realistic price and then possibly £100 for labour to install it.
Post by: armaghniac on November 20, 2017, 12:45:09 AM
Buy a Henry and use  the other £1400 to hire a cleaner to operate it.
Post by: Up The Middle on November 20, 2017, 08:33:46 AM
The worst thing i ever put in the house. Constantly blocked, charged £50 everytime for someone to come out and unblock it. Waste of money. Buy a decent hoover.
Post by: johnneycool on November 20, 2017, 08:42:16 AM
Quote from: Up The Middle on November 20, 2017, 08:33:46 AM
The worst thing i ever put in the house. Constantly blocked, charged £50 everytime for someone to come out and unblock it. Waste of money. Buy a decent hoover.

Not installed properly then Up the Middle. The angled bends all need to be facing towards the vacuum unit. I thin whoever installed yours has put in too many tight bends and probably the wrong way round.

Karl,
where are you based? I'll give you the contact details of the lad who supplied my stuff and see if he's cheaper.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on November 20, 2017, 11:02:18 AM
I have a beam vac in
Better than conventional Hoover's
Main reason is a conventional Hoover can not filter all the dust
The exhaust is recycling some of the smaller stuff(+germs) back into the room
Beam vac everything not collected goes outside
Suction is better to
I wouldn't go back to a Hoover
Post by: stew on November 20, 2017, 12:29:35 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on November 20, 2017, 11:02:18 AM
I have a beam vac in
Better than conventional Hoover's
Main reason is a conventional Hoover can not filter all the dust
The exhaust is recycling some of the smaller stuff(+germs) back into the room
Beam vac everything not collected goes outside
Suction is better to
I wouldn't go back to a Hoover

A Dyson is your only man.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 20, 2017, 12:40:18 PM
Lads, is this some sort of clever wind up, or are we actually discussing vacuum cleaners?

Holy Good Jaysus.
Post by: lurganblue on November 20, 2017, 12:48:24 PM
Never heard of this yoke and i am now hoping that the wife doesn't hear about it fs

We've a Dyson cordless. handy job. good for hoovering the car out too
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 20, 2017, 12:52:57 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 20, 2017, 12:40:18 PM
Lads, is this some sort of clever wind up, or are we actually discussing vacuum cleaners?

Holy Good Jaysus.

If it is a wind up we've been well sucked in....
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 20, 2017, 12:55:58 PM
Although it is good to be hoovering up ideas from other people....
Post by: Itchy on November 20, 2017, 01:28:35 PM
Quote from: Karl Kennedy on November 19, 2017, 10:57:08 PM
I definitely can't justify spending the £1500 quoted as I knew it was too expensive but was wondering did anyone else have it installed at this price. I will get the output covers for the wall and fit them and that will take bad look of the walls.

Surely the whole system doesn't cost that amount. Would £500 jot be a more realistic price and then possibly £100 for labour to install it.

No chance £500 would cover it. Look at the amount of pipe your vacuum needs to pull through hence you need a bigger motor than in a  normal hoover. Its a gimmick in my opinion, even if it worked perfect what is the benefit of it? That vacuum motor will also fail at some point, they all do and then its more big bucks to replace that.
Post by: laoislad on November 20, 2017, 02:41:53 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 20, 2017, 12:48:24 PM
Never heard of this yoke and i am now hoping that the wife doesn't hear about it fs

Are they good? Was thinking of getting the wife one for her 40th.
Post by: lurganblue on November 20, 2017, 02:45:06 PM
Quote from: laoislad on November 20, 2017, 02:41:53 PM

No better present for her i'd say
Post by: paddyjohn on November 20, 2017, 03:08:15 PM
Beams are superb job in a house.. Keeps the roof from falling in.
Post by: TabClear on November 20, 2017, 03:09:20 PM

Holy Good Jaysus.

Dont worry, give it an hour or so and someone will be claiming the bible has outlawed vacuum cleaners or Trump sold the technology to the Russians etc etc etc and it will go down the normal route
Post by: north_antrim_hound on November 20, 2017, 09:09:43 PM

Holy Good Jaysus.

are calling my beam system a vacuum  cleaner. dude your way outa line here  :)

Post by: north_antrim_hound on November 20, 2017, 09:16:12 PM

your thinking of getting the mrs something that she can clean the house with for her birthday
you should practice catching a dyson at high speed as well
Post by: laoislad on November 20, 2017, 09:22:56 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on November 20, 2017, 09:16:12 PM

your thinking of getting the mrs something that she can clean the house with for her birthday
you should practice catching a dyson at high speed as well
Either that or a new washing machine.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 20, 2017, 10:23:37 PM
Dyson cordless are grand but not worth the money in my eyes. We got the v8. Good for pulling out and running around the room quickly. But we find we still pull out the bigger vac every wkend. Suction isn't as good as the wired vac. Regretted getting t to be honest.
Post by: theskull1 on November 20, 2017, 11:50:28 PM
I sold my Dyson......it was just gathering dust   :o

Post by: Tony Baloney on November 21, 2017, 12:23:05 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 20, 2017, 11:50:28 PM
I sold my Dyson......it was just gathering dust   :o

That sucks.
Post by: theskull1 on November 21, 2017, 12:40:15 AM
as does Tim Vine plagiarism  ::)