Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Iceman on August 10, 2016, 11:20:44 PM

Title: Please help Kevin
Post by: The Iceman on August 10, 2016, 11:20:44 PM
I spent a good part of a summer many years ago building houses with this man in Nicaragua with Habitat for humanity.  A bear of a man, great footballer, passionate Irish man and good friend.
If you can spare anything please consider it:

https://www.facebook.com/kevin.carey.5494?fref=ufi&pnref=story  (https://www.facebook.com/kevin.carey.5494?fref=ufi&pnref=story)

(https://www.gofundme.com/2qctufh8%20%5B/url)
Title: Re: Please help Kevin
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on August 11, 2016, 07:09:23 AM
A friend - Kevin played from juvenile through to Senior for our club Roger Casements GAC Portglenone and hurling for Cloney Gaels. Played minor Football for Antrim in 1998 and 1999.
All support welcome. Full Information on the Go fund me page and additional info on the Facebook page below.

https://www.gofundme.com/2qctufh8

https://www.facebook.com/Kevin-Careys-Fight-Against-Brain-Tumour-309639552716737/

http://antrim.gaa.ie/news/ex-antrim-player-fight-against-brain-tumour

http://www.rogercasementsgac.com/-news/casements-club-member-fight-against-brain-tumour-468
Post by: WeeDonns on August 11, 2016, 08:12:47 AM
Guys, it says to tick the gift aid box, but I couldn't see it?
Post by: Rois on August 11, 2016, 09:11:37 AM
Quote from: WeeDonns on August 11, 2016, 08:12:47 AM
Guys, it says to tick the gift aid box, but I couldn't see it?
If it isn't a registered charity then you won't be able to gift aid the payment.  My sense is that it isn't a charity but correct me if I'm wrong.
Post by: doodaa on August 11, 2016, 12:47:53 PM
Donated.  :)
Post by: The Iceman on August 11, 2016, 03:37:31 PM
phenomenal response from people so far over 68K raised in a day  - please share this with any Gaels you are connected with overseas as it makes all the difference in the world
Post by: The Iceman on August 11, 2016, 10:00:11 PM
up to 96 grand and counting  - nothing short of amazing the response from people around the world - please donate if you can
Post by: Gold on August 12, 2016, 12:08:13 AM
Done. Great lad hope he gets the money and beats it.

Some fight he's put up, fantastic

Some phenomenal support he's receiving
Post by: general_lee on August 12, 2016, 10:02:39 AM
Did I read correctly it's now reached 100k? Horrible reading about this man - hope he beats it. Can't keep a good man down
Post by: imtommygunn on August 12, 2016, 10:14:45 AM
125k. Amazing going.

One thing I would say is about the GAYE stuff. The way they are going they may get over the line but the GAYE stuff would make it a lot easier as even now they would have 150k+. I don't know the logistics of setting it up but if it's not a charity and it can be it needs to be done...

I remember this guy winning minor championships with a very good stinsons team when he was 14. I think he was a strong brute of a guy even then.
Post by: Oghams Law on August 12, 2016, 04:16:56 PM
Done
Post by: Rois on August 12, 2016, 04:58:35 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 12, 2016, 10:14:45 AM
125k. Amazing going.

One thing I would say is about the GAYE stuff. The way they are going they may get over the line but the GAYE stuff would make it a lot easier as even now they would have 150k+. I don't know the logistics of setting it up but if it's not a charity and it can be it needs to be done...

It takes A LOT to set up a charity unfortunately but there should be some sort of exemption for this sort of thing.
It is amazing how many of my FB contacts are related to or know Kevin in some way. Hope he gets what he needs.
Post by: The Iceman on August 12, 2016, 07:38:01 PM
he did a lot of charity work Rois over the years - i was in Lourdes with him one year and he came to Nicaragua with me with habitat for humanity. At that time he was going with a Maghera girl and they were heavily involved in project africa too - a real good lad
Post by: imtommygunn on August 12, 2016, 08:31:42 PM
Quote from: Rois on August 12, 2016, 04:58:35 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 12, 2016, 10:14:45 AM
125k. Amazing going.

It takes A LOT to set up a charity unfortunately but there should be some sort of exemption for this sort of thing.
It is amazing how many of my FB contacts are related to or know Kevin in some way. Hope he gets what he needs.

Yeah probably wasn't feasible. Looks like he could potentially make the money which would be amazing.
Post by: rrhf on August 12, 2016, 10:29:22 PM
I'm in. Come on to fcuk lads! Let's get this done.
Post by: bannside on August 13, 2016, 01:03:36 AM
This is going fantastically well. Kevin is a great lad from a great family. I am the PRO for his local gaelic club (Roger Casement, Portglenone) and I can tell you that the family are thrilled with the response and ask everyone to keep pushing this out as far as we all can.

Our club has several events lined up over the weekend which will help but Kevin and Natasha have a long road ahead and will need an awful lot of support to see if this can be beaten and they can begin to get their lives back on track.

In the meantime thanks everyone for such phenomenal support...and please do pass those links on and keep this going as long as possible. You couldn't support a better man.

Post by: imtommygunn on August 13, 2016, 11:07:09 AM
Bump. 8k to go.
Post by: bannside on August 13, 2016, 12:11:16 PM
Phenomenal response to Kevin's cause. Just checked there and the target of £205 looks achievable now in just three days. Kevin, his wife Natasha and families have been blown away by the generosity of so many people.

Our clubs own activity should swell their effort too over the weekend. We have Street collections ongoing at the minute (over £1k collected so far this morning) and a sold out juvenile disco tonight. Tomorrow we have a big breakfast in the Wild Duck and tomorrow night there is a club barbecue. All this on senior championship weekend where we play Glenavy tomorrow.

At the the same time we have over thirty men out four nights a week fundraising for our new pitch development where we have £190k gathered up with 6 weeks left.

The GAA is one fantastic organisation and it's contribution to the physical and mental wellbeing of the community cannot be over emphasised.

Post by: imtommygunn on August 13, 2016, 12:26:01 PM
Credit to everyone who is behind this bs. This has been everywhere and they did a great job putting it out there everywhere. It was even in the daily mail! The people behind this deserve immense credit here. When a loved one was in dire straits they have done everything they possibly could and it looks to have paid off. Here is hoping that the operation is successful.
Post by: bannside on August 13, 2016, 01:26:21 PM
That's the main thing ITG, that the operation goes according to plan. It's revolutionary pioneering neurosurgery so it can't  be taken for granted but it's Kevin's best hope. Thanks for your show of support.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on August 13, 2016, 03:09:17 PM
Brilliant effort by all.

Donation made.

Let's hope the 205k is surpassed....
Post by: Captain Black on August 13, 2016, 04:56:48 PM
Anecdotal only but I know a fella who has trialled the immunotherapy and it seems to be working well on him so here's hoping the same for Kevin
Post by: bannside on August 13, 2016, 05:16:22 PM
That's great news CB, thanks for letting us know. In a situation like this every single bit of positive news is welcome!

The gofundme total is almost £209k. The target has been reached and people are still donating. Though not every donator is from a Gaa background, there is no doubt that the majority are and once again shows that there is a lot of good will out there.

Meanwhile we expect today's Street Collection in Portglenone to be close to £4k.
Post by: The Iceman on August 15, 2016, 04:00:25 PM
the fundraising efforts definitely have to be highlighted  -I don't think I've seen a campaign that went viral like that and generated donations from about 6,000 people and counting - fair play to all involved!

I'm anxious now to hear about Kevin's continuing fight -  if anyone hears any news please keep us all posted!
Post by: BennyCake on August 16, 2016, 09:49:57 PM
Read about Kevin today in the Irish News. Phenomenal effort by all concerned! Hope all goes well for him.
Post by: bannside on August 17, 2016, 12:11:00 AM
I will keep you up to date with events and progress as it goes.

Our club raised £8.5k in a street collection in the town last Saturday, and almost £17k in a big breakfast on Sunday morning. Clubs there from.everywhere including full teams with all their gear etc. A humbling experience to see the GAA family at work.

Kevin's family would like to pass on their sincere thanks to everyone who contributed no matter how small. This gives Kevin a fighting chance now that he didn't think was possible just this time last week.
Post by: seafoid on October 23, 2016, 11:52:12 AM
How is Kevin doing? I hope it's going well
Post by: T Fearon on October 23, 2016, 12:01:50 PM
Is Kevin Fearghal Sharkey's cousin?
Post by: bannside on October 23, 2016, 12:41:24 PM
https://m.facebook.com/Kevin-Careys-Fight-Against-Brain-Tumour-309639552716737/#!/story.php?story_fbid=337000936647265&id=309639552716737&__tn__=%2As

Keep up to date with progress on his own Facebook page.
Post by: Gaffer on October 23, 2016, 11:45:42 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 23, 2016, 12:01:50 PM
Is Kevin Fearghal Sharkey's cousin?

Not funny at all!!
Post by: The Iceman on May 03, 2017, 12:32:54 PM
Kevin has sadly lost his fight. Updates from past few weeks from his Wife, Natasha:
April 2017: Treatment has suddenly stopped working 💔

In March, very suddenly, literally over the space of a few days, Kevin became very seriously unwell. We got an urgent scan, and received absolutely devastating news. Kevin's treatment has suddenly stopped working...the tumour is back again...and there is nothing that can stop it this time. Kevin's medical team are devastated, and as shocked as we are. Kevin was doing so incredibly well.

Kevin is so strong, so calm and is comfortable, I am so proud of him...and we are being really brave, in facing this devastating news, and stage of Kevin's courageous fight.

Please pray for Kevin that he doesn't suffer, and please pray for strength for him... his family, mine, and all those who love him. Please pray for all the brave souls fighting a brain tumour today, especially those reading this news...I know Kevin is a huge inspiration, and he wants you to keep going...to keep getting out of bed each day, to love, live and laugh...even when you don't feel like smiling.

Thank you for all your love, prayers, company and support. I am so sorry to have to tell you this heart breaking news, it has been so hard to take in 💔Xxxx

We respectfully please ask for some privacy for Kevin..his family, mine and his loved ones at this time, whilst we come to terms. Thank you so much 💙xx
- - - - - - - - -
3rd May 2017: 🌈💙

💔There's no easy way to say this.. my beautiful gladiator has been set free. Kevin fought the most courage fight to the end, and won, he kept his gorgeous sweet personality and will be forever young.

There are no words. My everything

RIP
Post by: seafoid on May 03, 2017, 06:24:56 PM
Very sad news. Poor Natasha and kids.
Post by: BennyCake on May 03, 2017, 06:45:50 PM
Sad news. RIP
Post by: BennyHarp on May 03, 2017, 07:17:19 PM
Very sad news! RIP Kevin
Post by: orangeman on May 03, 2017, 10:30:08 PM
He fought hard. RIP.
Post by: Kickham csc on May 04, 2017, 08:12:14 PM
Can't help to follow Kevin's journey with a sense of joy and optimism .

As I sit in a hotel, watching news about Obamacare repeal, Brexit, French elections with NF in contention, you do wonder about the spiritually of man, and their lack of ability to look at others with compassion and respect. Totally depressing.

Then you follow Kevin's story where the love between husband and wife, between Kevin and his family, the local community and the wider community (especially wider GAA community), is clearly evident as is the esteem Kevin was held in.

This was no more evident in the lengths his friends and strangers went to in supporting him to fund his treatment. A true, pure example of generosity and compassion for a friend / stranger.

I understand that tears will be shed, and that the feeling of loss will be devastating, but this story is a shinning example of how full life can be with love and friendship, and how you live your life and affect others around you will be how your are remembered eventually, and Kevin will be remembered fondly.

So I will try and forget about the negative news that surrounds me at the moment and focus on the joy and optimism that Kevin's example can provide.
Post by: bannside on May 04, 2017, 10:07:59 PM
Just back home from the wake. One very sad house.

Well put Kickham.

Post by: gallsman on May 04, 2017, 11:03:59 PM
Have recently had a glioblastoma diagnosis within the family. It really turns your life upside down. A terrible disease. RIP Kevin.
Post by: GJL on May 04, 2017, 11:17:54 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 04, 2017, 11:03:59 PM
Have recently had a glioblastoma diagnosis within the family. It really turns your life upside down. A terrible disease. RIP Kevin.

I wish your family well Gallsman. No family deserves it. ☹️
Post by: grounded on May 05, 2017, 10:25:37 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 04, 2017, 11:03:59 PM

That's terrible news for you and your family. I hope to God things turn out well for you all. My thoughts and prayers go out to you.