GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on November 29, 2006, 08:31:08 AM

Title: Kildare GAA to move house..
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 29, 2006, 08:31:08 AM
The County Board and Clubs decided last night to move house.....

Here's last weeks report from the Kildare Nationalist..

QuoteA county board source has told the Kildare Nationalistthe template for the new county grounds. "It won't be a million miles away from the Swansea Stadium".

While plans are under wraps the Kildare Nationalist can reveal that the new stadium will have a capacity of 25,000 with seating for 5,000. The new development is not based on any stadium in Ireland and while the county development committee in charge of the proposals looked at a number of stadia across Britain and Europe, the Swansea stadium is closest to what the new Kildare GAA grounds will look like. It will be U-shaped and there will be a training pitch attached to the dressing rooms. The rooms will be very similar to the ones in Croke Park. At present the four changing rooms in St Conleth's Park are so small that Kildare teams use two of them for matches.

The Liberty stadium in Swansea is home to the Ospreys rugby team and Swansea City football team, and has a capacity of 20,000, fully seated. It took almost three years to complete the stadium in Swansea and cost £27 million. It is expected that the new stadium in Kildare will take two years to build.

The ambitious project is incorporated into the local development plan for Newbridge, with a ring road around the town expected to alleviate traffic problems. There will be provision for car parks within the ground.

County chairman Syl Merrins will make a presentation to the clubs on Tuesday next (28 November) in which he is expected to outline the design of a new 25,000 capacity stadium for Newbridge.

The new home of Kildare GAA will be built behind the Wyeth building on the Naas side of Newbridge. It is still not decided whether to present the clubs with one definite plan or to present the other options being considered by the county's development committee. They were due to meet again last night (Tuesday 21) to consider this as well as how much land the county will get on the new Greenfield site which is in excess of 25 acres. Negotiations are still taking place as to whether the county could secure more land.

Meanwhile the current grounds at St Conleth's Park are expected to fetch somewhere in the region of 25 million. There are between five and six acres in the current grounds and local estate agents believe that this area is worth up to 5 million an acre. However it is not expected that planning permission would be granted for a residential development, meaning that another shopping centre, or a 'Whitewater two might be built. 

Also link to the liberty Stadium in Swansea...

http://www.liberty-stadium.com/index.php
Title: Re: Kildare GAA to move house..
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 29, 2006, 09:46:24 AM
good old st conleths park, so many enjoyable but unhappy memories !

I am only surprised that it took this long for Kildare to sell up and move house.

they will get a nice little lift for this
now they can afford to helicopter Mickey Harte down from Tyrone three times a week after the 2007 season (which could be Harte's last with the red hands)
Post by: Bord na Mona man on November 29, 2006, 10:17:35 AM
A very nice new stadium by the looks of it, but is it more than what Kildare need?
Are they happy just to host Kildare league and qualifier matches + club games, or are they hoping to get extra games?
If there is 5,000 seats and the rest roofed terrace, then that should be fine.
However anything beyond that is probably overkill.

Still, it's good to see that the GAA's ability to purchase grounds and land back in the days when there wasn't too much spare cash, is reaping rewards.
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 29, 2006, 10:43:23 AM
QuoteAre they happy just to host Kildare league and qualifier matches + club games, or are they hoping to get extra games?

Personally I'm glad to see the back off it, worst dressing rooms ever and worst toilets of any ground bar tolka park that I have ever been in.

They are actually looking to maybe make it a commercially viable stadium and will look for their fair share of Leinster Championship Games and All-Ireland Qualifiers. Also they will be looking at the outdoor concert market. Kildare have been granted 26 acres from Kildare County Council at zero cost and the sale of Conleths Park will exceed the cost of the stadium with the balance being pumped into an udergae development programme. One member of the stadium committee is Michael Reilly, a director of Pierce Construction, the plans where thorough and well thought out.
Post by: Hardy on November 29, 2006, 10:48:28 AM
How much will the government be contributing? Or do amateur, community sports organisations not qualify? Do you have to be a tax-defaulting, economic basket-case  commercial entertainment business before the government will undertake to fund your infrastructural requirements and provide you with almost free premises. So that you can allocate your income to paying your players?

Wait, no. You can also be a well-heeled, blue-chip-property-owning commercial entertainment business and as long as you also have players to pay you can get your capital infrastructure substantially funded by the taxpayer and designated as the 'national' stadium - provided you make sure the national games are not played there. Can't be having national games at the national stadium.

[Edit]
Oops - timing. I had this posted before I saw that the KCC donated the land. Arra feckit. The point stands anyway.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on November 29, 2006, 11:00:03 AM
Quote from: Hardy on November 29, 2006, 10:48:28 AM
[Edit]
Oops - timing. I had this posted before I saw that the KCC donated the land. Arra feckit. The point stands anyway.
So long as Kildare County, with an average home gate of 285 don't lever a share of the ground!  ;D
Post by: Timothy Leary on November 29, 2006, 11:24:31 AM
Sad to see the end of St.Conleths. Played a few underage games there and lost a county u12 final in about '77. The memories of the 'Bridge and Carbury victories there in the mid 80's, going back further Monasterevin and Raheens and the perennial Sarsfields, Towers, Moorefield and Clane. Memories oF Paddy Mangan, Tommy Carew, Pa Connolly, Joe Giblin, Pat Dunny and more recently Glen Ryan, Paddy O'Donoghue and Dermot Early.  My father brought me to see Vincents of Dublin beat Raheens in the Leinster final about '76, and getting the autograph off Brian Mullins and rushing home to show the Ma. Jack O'Shea, Steven Connevy, John Courtney, Dermot Earley Snr also won  county medals playing in St Conleths. The jacks were woeful, but when your a young lad holding your fathers hand, your more interested in the woman selling the sweets from the stall.

Thanks for the memories.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 29, 2006, 11:41:06 AM
I played in and lost three intermediate county finals 86,88 and 90 I think they were
Celbridge, Suncroft and Allenwood.

memory of the tiny dressing rooms were before one of the finals, one of the mentors came around and insisted we all rubbed deep heat on our legs.
I went to the jacks immediately afterwards and then spent 10 mins washing nether regions to try and quell the burning sensation.

It was a great pitch to play on though.

Always seemed to get a big support for club games.
Clane were brilliant to watch in the early 90's.

Best performance I ever saw there though was the late great Bobby Miller of Laois and then Athy give a footballing show of centre half forward play in the final v St. Laurences ( I think it was) in the late 80's/early 90's
Title: Pa liked his spuds
Post by: Hardy on November 29, 2006, 11:52:51 AM
I'd say it was Pa Connolly in one dressingroom and the rest of the lads in the other.
Post by: Timothy Leary on November 29, 2006, 11:54:27 AM
Lynchboy, did you play for thr Clogs?
Post by: Blue Boy on November 29, 2006, 12:04:47 PM
What exactly happened at the county board meeting last night?
Post by: AZOffaly on November 29, 2006, 12:09:45 PM
Sad to see the end of Newbridge. Played a few times there, always found the pitch a bit boggy to be honest, but have some great memories of Ferbane's epic Leinster Club campaigns of the late 1980's when nearly every game seemed to be in St. Conleth's park. It was the scene of the famous Leinster Club Final victory over Portlaoise in 1986 as well, not to mention my last trip there, the Qualifier success over Kildare a couple of years ago.

Best of luck with the new stadium. I hope the facilities include a mechanism for counting substitutions as well!! :)
Post by: Gnevin on November 29, 2006, 12:13:32 PM
seems like a smart move , 25,000 capacity is grand for Kildare glad to see that haven't caught the 40,000 + bug that many county boards have
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 29, 2006, 12:49:10 PM
Quote from: Timothy Leary on November 29, 2006, 11:54:27 AM
Lynchboy, did you play for thr Clogs?

wasnt many can say they did
Have to admit I was one!
Post by: Timothy Leary on November 29, 2006, 12:55:56 PM
Lynchboy, makes two of us!!!
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 29, 2006, 01:03:24 PM
Jaysus whats with all the sentimentality it won't be gone for at least another 3 years. Clane of the early 90s were brilliant to watch though, lost a county minor final (I was marking Eddie McCormack and the fecker scored 7 points including the winner) and a Senior B final but did manage to win a minor hurling title, amazing how all those jockeys from Tipp look like 16 year olds  :D

Some more info for you..

The site is free under the new Newbridge Development plan and will be housed within the new Citygate development at Old Connell, Naas end of the town less than 1/2 a mile from the nearest pub.  The following was robbed from the Kildare GAA site

The Games Devleopment presentation was in 2 sections. The Hurling Acadamey (which started last April) and the Football Acadamey (starting in Jan 07). It really was good to hear about the work that has gone into underage hurling so far. And the plans for football is equally as good. All the info logged from the Development Squad seissions is to be logged to monitor improvements.
There is provisions at the moment for 7000 seats (which can be increased) and covered terracing for another 12000. I think some of the remainder will be uncovered.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 29, 2006, 01:21:29 PM
Quote from: Timothy Leary on November 29, 2006, 12:55:56 PM
Lynchboy, makes two of us!!!
Good man Timmy,
I dont think the Cloughs are too fond of myself of brothers any more after leaving 14 years ago.

Its a long story, but they only have themselves to blame (well mostly, greed and ambition fueled the rest for us)

I still watch the Cloughs results and checked out their website.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 29, 2006, 01:22:53 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 29, 2006, 01:03:24 PM
Jaysus whats with all the sentimentality it won't be gone for at least another 3 years. Clane of the early 90s were brilliant to watch though, lost a county minor final (I was marking Eddie McCormack and the fecker scored 7 points including the winner) and a Senior B final but did manage to win a minor hurling title, amazing how all those jockeys from Tipp look like 16 year olds  :D

Some more info for you..

The site is free under the new Newbridge Development plan and will be housed within the new Citygate development at Old Connell, Naas end of the town less than 1/2 a mile from the nearest pub.  The following was robbed from the Kildare GAA site

The Games Devleopment presentation was in 2 sections. The Hurling Acadamey (which started last April) and the Football Acadamey (starting in Jan 07). It really was good to hear about the work that has gone into underage hurling so far. And the plans for football is equally as good. All the info logged from the Development Squad seissions is to be logged to monitor improvements.
There is provisions at the moment for 7000 seats (which can be increased) and covered terracing for another 12000. I think some of the remainder will be uncovered.

Dinny,
any plans for buying in some new players !

seriously the plans sound good. A young Kildare squad will hopefully benefit from this.
Need Paidi to take them onwards I'd say
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 29, 2006, 01:37:09 PM
Anyone but JC at least the squad don't have the shadow of Glen Ryan over them.....

To be honest the players are there, the clubs are regularly contesting Leinster Club Finals, Sarsfields, Towers and now the Moors, the infrastructures are being put in place but we just need to get the management structure right....A Liam Kearns or a Luke Dempsey would have been perfect..
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 29, 2006, 01:46:57 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 29, 2006, 01:37:09 PM
Anyone but JC at least the squad don't have the shadow of Glen Ryan over them.....

To be honest the players are there, the clubs are regularly contesting Leinster Club Finals, Sarsfields, Towers and now the Moors, the infrastructures are being put in place but we just need to get the management structure right....A Liam Kearns or a Luke Dempsey would have been perfect..

still not convinced with Dempsey

you know who i'd pick

and Kildare can afford him !
Post by: Blue Boy on November 29, 2006, 02:31:29 PM
Lilywhites plan new 25,000-capacity stadium - from www.setanta.com

The Kildare county board has outlined its plans to move its county ground to a new purpose built 25,000-capacity stadium.

The Lilywhites will move from St Conleth's Park to a new venue with state-of-the-art dressing rooms, car park and a training pitch.

There are provisional plans for 7,000 seats, a 12,000-capacity covered terrace and an uncovered terrace that will hold 6,000 people, however the number of seats may even be increased.

A presentation on the new complex took place at the Hotel Kadeen in Newbridge on Tuesday night.

The horseshoe shaped design is based on the Liberty Stadium in Swansea, Wales, which is home to the Ospreys rugby team and soccer outfit Swansea City.

A new site will be handed over to Kildare chiefs free of charge under the Newbridge Development plan. It will be located within the new Citygate development at Old Connell, is on the Naas side of Newbridge.

The Liberty Stadium cost STG27 million to build and the new Kildare ground is estimated to be ready for use in two years time.

St Conleth's Park, a six-acre site, is expected to fetch around EUR25 million.
Title: Some images
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 30, 2006, 10:25:35 AM
(http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o164/dinnybreen/kildare_night.jpg)

(http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o164/dinnybreen/Kildare_lake.jpg)
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 30, 2006, 10:31:43 AM
thats great
also the local lads can go snowboarding off the roof in winter...
Post by: tayto on November 30, 2006, 10:57:50 AM
Looks good, also glad to see they havent gone totally crazy with the capacity. [although the liberty stadium looks big]

The Hurling academy started before the football? Good stuff!

There's a nice stand just after the kildare on the dublin to cork train, who's is that?
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 30, 2006, 11:27:25 AM
Quote from: tayto on November 30, 2006, 10:57:50 AM
Looks good, also glad to see they havent gone totally crazy with the capacity. [although the liberty stadium looks big]

The Hurling academy started before the football? Good stuff!

There's a nice stand just after the kildare on the dublin to cork train, who's is that?

Curragh racecourse perhaps ?
Post by: tayto on November 30, 2006, 11:45:40 AM
ha ... eh no, it's a GAA pitch
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 30, 2006, 11:46:11 AM
Quote from: tayto on November 30, 2006, 11:45:40 AM
ha ... eh no, it's a GAA pitch
Moorefield then
Post by: tayto on November 30, 2006, 11:49:46 AM
impressive looking stand they have themselves, well, it looks good from the train.
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 30, 2006, 11:52:51 AM
Moorefield me bollox, that's our white elephant The Mighty Round Towers  ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 30, 2006, 11:54:31 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 30, 2006, 11:52:51 AM

jayzuz
how could I have got that wrong !

I forgot you play football down there ! ;)
Post by: tayto on November 30, 2006, 12:01:34 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 30, 2006, 11:52:51 AM

Not ful too capacity too often then?  :-\
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 30, 2006, 12:04:40 PM
Hasn't even been open yet  :-\

Should have spent the money on the pitch....
Post by: tayto on November 30, 2006, 12:55:18 PM
ah, not going to be full too often if she's not open yet!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on October 27, 2011, 04:42:39 PM
QuoteNewbridge capacity cut to just 4,000
27 October 2011

St. Conleth's Park in Newbridge has had its capacity for future championship games reduced to just 4,000.

Stunned Kildare county board chiefs have been told by health and safety officers that unless improvement work is carried out, the ageing county ground won't be able to host future championship games involving the Lilywhites, who have one of the biggest followings in the country. Until now, the town centre venue's capacity had been set at 13,000.

St. Conleth's Park isn't the only county ground in Leinster to have had its capacity greatly reduced with Pairc Tailteann in Navan also recently having its capacity halved from 20,000 to 10,000.

http://www.hoganstand.com/Kildare/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=157159 (http://www.hoganstand.com/Kildare/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=157159)

:o

Where are our home matches going to be played now?

The Curragh? Punchestown??
Post by: southsidejohnny on October 27, 2011, 06:18:36 PM
All they need now is a team.
Post by: Jinxy on October 27, 2011, 09:59:25 PM
These health and safety officers will be the death of us all.
Post by: armaghniac on October 27, 2011, 10:55:25 PM
4000 wouldn't even cater for a competitive league game.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on October 28, 2011, 10:22:29 AM
QuoteKildare have grounds for concern after safety audit

By Cliona Foley

Friday October 28 2011

KILDARE County Board are going to have to improve their home ground in Newbridge if they don't want to have its capacity slashed to just over 6,000.

The official capacity of St Conleth's Park is currently between 11,000 and 12,000, but the latest health and safety audit of the venue has threatened to halve that -- which would make hosting championship matches there virtually impossible -- unless improvements are made.

The Lilywhites' venue is not the only one under the microscope due to the most recent health and safety audits of county grounds commissioned by the GAA.

Officials from all county boards were called to Croke Park recently for a two-day event management course, where central officials stressed the importance of health and safety at all venues.

Kildare chairman John McMahon confirmed last night that they have received a draft report on St Conleth's Park and are looking to find a solution to all of the issues it raised.

"This is just a draft document and is very much subject to review," he said. "We are examining it in great detail and striving to find agreement on all of the items it has raised. We could put our heads in the sand but I agree with the association, that health and safety has to be a primary concern for us all."

Kildare are looking at the possibility of using the space underneath the stand to expand its capacity and it's also expected they will be forced to get rid of the section of grassed terrace that remains on the opposite sideline.

Kildare had planned to build a new multi-million euro state-of-the-art county ground and headquarters at Old Connell.

However, the demise of the Celtic Tiger has forced them to shelve those plans for the moment, leaving them with an ageing ground that needs urgent attention if they are to continue to be able to host major games there.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/kildare-have-grounds-for-concern-after-safety-audit-2919634.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/kildare-have-grounds-for-concern-after-safety-audit-2919634.html)

McMahon will have to go cap in hand to Kildare's wealthiest patrons - Sheikh Mohammed and the Aga Khan to get the funds for this!
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 28, 2011, 01:10:08 PM
kildare never had difficulty regarding money in the past. Were up with cavan as the weathiest county board some 20 years ago. There is still money about there with such a populous county. Recent decent seasons for the intercounty football team should help draw in cash if required.

maybe they should bite the bullet and head to the outskirts of newbridge for a new stadium.
if not, They certainly need to do something about that brutal pitch. not many worse in top county stadiums.
It has always been poor.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on October 28, 2011, 03:27:36 PM
KCB pumped a lot of money into their facility at Hawkfield so I don't know where the funds for a lick of paint for Newbridge are going to come from unless some of the wealthy supporters give them a dig-out (a la JP McManus in Limerick).

The proposed development at Old Connell was to be financed by the sale of St Conleth's for development so that's obviously a non-runner now.
Post by: Jinxy on October 28, 2011, 05:48:55 PM
Don't even think about crossing the border to use our superior stadium.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on October 28, 2011, 07:57:03 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 28, 2011, 05:48:55 PM
Don't even think about crossing the border to use our superior stadium.

A groundshare in Kilcock is the only sensible solution. Visiting supporters from other Leinster counties could also be accomodated using Cooney's ingenious new anti-pitch invasion plan:

(http://visboo.com/img/first/the_best_stadium_02.jpg)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3322/3641201510_469cdc639c_o.jpg)

(http://visboo.com/img/first/the_best_stadium_03.jpg)

Leinster Council - make it happen!
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 29, 2011, 11:41:41 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on October 28, 2011, 03:27:36 PM
KCB pumped a lot of money into their facility at Hawkfield so I don't know where the funds for a lick of paint for Newbridge are going to come from unless some of the wealthy supporters give them a dig-out (a la JP McManus in Limerick).

The proposed development at Old Connell was to be financed by the sale of St Conleth's for development so that's obviously a non-runner now.
are kildare supporters club not still going?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on October 29, 2011, 01:56:37 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 29, 2011, 11:41:41 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on October 28, 2011, 03:27:36 PM

are kildare supporters club not still going?

Club Kildare: http://www.kildaregaa.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=49&Itemid=174 (http://www.kildaregaa.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=49&Itemid=174)

Not as well connected as the old club when the late Michael Osborne was running the show.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on November 03, 2011, 03:10:45 PM
QuoteLilywhites tackle €200,000 deficit

By Terry Reilly

Thursday, November 03, 2011

KILDARE GAA officials will be meeting with players and managers to discuss cost-cutting measures for 2012 to wipe out a €200,000 deficit.

The Lilywhites' board have asked clubs to come up with ideas before county convention next month. County treasurer Martin Whyte broke the news to club delegates at Tuesday night's board's meeting, insisting management and players will receive the full backing of the board.

However, the process of clearing the debt will take a minimum of two years and county chairman John McMahon said no area could be ruled out for cuts and he will be meeting Kieran McGeeney and the players to discuss their options.

"There's no point in bringing in additional money on one side, and we all know how difficult and onerous that job is too, if we didn't seriously look at our expenditure on the other side," he said.

"That will cut across the board. We will examine everything, look at everything, consult with our team managers. We'll go down through the whole thing to all of our levels. Everyone is singing off the same hymn sheet. Money is tight and we will have to negotiate with all those people.

"And most of all, the most important people are our players. Be it our senior hurlers or footballers, minors or U21s, it doesn't matter. We all know the commitment and time and energy they put into their sport. They are also cognisant of how difficult things are. Some of them have lost their jobs, they've all had reductions in initial salaries so they're only too aware of the difficulties we have.

"We're expecting, when we get ready to talk to these lads as part of the bigger frame of people we'll be talking to, that they certainly will sit down and listen to us because it's their aim, it's our aim, it's every supporters' aim in Kildare to try and bring a bit of silverware back to the county for 2012."

McMahon accepted times are hard and realised the clubs would not be able to take the full burden of the costs. In examining extra ways to grow income the board hope to launch a new county jersey before Christmas in order to cash in on that market.

Plans to open a Kildare GAA shop and launch the new jersey are almost complete but the board insist this measure would not be sufficient and cost-cutting measures would have to be put in place to avert a similar deficit in the future.

"That just came fortuitously for us. As you know Tegral have been sponsors of Kildare for more years than we can remember and we're fierce appreciative of that fact," he said.

"Tegral are re-branding the product so as part of the new branding they asked us to consider their new brand and their name on the jersey.

"It was just a bit of luck that it happened. We would always comply with our sponsors' requests so we just took the opportunity to re-brand the jersey.

Once that has been achieved McMahon aims to target on three areas: expenditure, income and fundraising number three.

"Regarding expenditure, we are looking at that in detail since I took over office, during the year.

"We've been looking at different details as best we can, trying to look at it for a part year this year, which is the case, and expanding that to look at all our costs and outgoings for 2012.

"Our main source of income is our colleagues in Leinster, Croke Park and our various supporters paying at the gates at matches we have within the county and on the county scene.

"You don't need me to tell you it's hard times we're living in.

"People are looking at all the ways they are spending their money, including their leisure activities.

"We're no different from any other counties.

"Most of our gate incomes were reduced this year and part of that reason was reduced admissions. At our county football final tickets dropped from €20 to €15 and the hurling went from €15 to €10.

"Number three then was new ways of raising finance."

Kildare look to McCreevy to cut deficit

KILDARE County Board have recruited Charlie McCreevy's services to help reduce the county's growing deficit.

The former EU Commissioner and Minister for Finance has been a member of the county board's finance committee for several years and is a life-long supporter of the Lilywhites.

However, county board chairman John McMahon said McCreevy is not the only high-profile name they are planning to bring in to help them.

"Charlie has been involved in the backroom for a long time, not just today or yesterday," he said. "The man with his contacts and experience and ingenuity [would be an asset]. The fact he is already a fully committed Kildare supporter, we have to acknowledge the worth and value he can bring to the table. He wouldn't be the only one. We have several high-profile GAA supporters who are willing and able, coming from club backgrounds, willing to work for the county's success. There's a huge amount of goodwill out there."

http://www.examiner.ie/sport/gaa/lilywhites-tackle-200000-deficit-172693.html (http://www.examiner.ie/sport/gaa/lilywhites-tackle-200000-deficit-172693.html)

Ah here.....

(http://dublinopinion.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/charlie.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 08, 2011, 03:02:43 PM
Get the chequebooks out lads!  ;)

QuoteKildare GAA chiefs have turned to fans to rescue their struggling finances, by asking for 1,000 donations of €1,000.
The county's new committee for finance, led by former EU commissioner and Minister for Finance Charle McCreevy, has urged fans to help the ailing country.

The cash-strapped council have already revealed that they are €200,000 in debt and numerous fund-raising activities have been launches, with a new jersey being designed which has coincided with the opening of a Kildare GAA store at Whitewater Shopping centre.

Secretary Kathleen O'Neill said: "The remedial action needed was not taken and, as you are aware by now, we are facing a substantial loss this year. This is the last chance we, as a county, will get to solve our problems."

The latest initiative has saw the county lobby fans asking for a generous donation. In a further blow to Kildare, the county ground in Newbridge has had to reduce its capacity after a report found the stadium needed significant improvements.

O'Neill did praise the contribution of former chairman Padraig Ashe who stepped down in March for personal reasons.

"His contribution was immense and I would like to thank him for his dedication and commitment," added the secretary
Post by: Baling Twine on December 13, 2011, 08:00:10 PM
"This is the last chance we, as a county, will get to solve our problems."

Will they end up in NAMA or what?
Post by: Jinxy on December 13, 2011, 11:18:55 PM
Last years accounts listed 'Extra large Range Rover air fresheners' and 'Farriery' as expenses.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 14, 2011, 12:11:14 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on December 13, 2011, 11:18:55 PM
Last years accounts listed 'Extra large Range Rover air fresheners' and 'Farriery' as expenses.

The air fresheners are part of the new cost cutting regime. In previous years, we'd have just traded the 4x4 itself in for a brand new model once it began to reek a bit (e.g. after a long trek to Navan).

As for the farrier, his services were required on an almost monthly basis alright. All the players needed to be re-shod after continually galloping all over their Meath counterparts during the year.
Post by: INDIANA on December 14, 2011, 12:26:33 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on December 14, 2011, 12:11:14 AM

The air fresheners are part of the new cost cutting regime. In previous years, we'd have just traded the 4x4 itself in for a brand new model once it began to reek a bit (e.g. after a long trek to Navan).

As for the farrier, his services were required on an almost monthly basis alright. All the players needed to be re-shod after continually galloping all over their Meath counterparts during the year.

Lets hope Mc Creevy does a better job with Kildare then he did with Ireland. It sickens me to see a scoundrel like that largely escape the blame for largely fuelling the property tax based incentives that destroyed the economy.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 14, 2011, 12:36:05 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on December 14, 2011, 12:26:33 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on December 14, 2011, 12:11:14 AM

Lets hope Mc Creevy does a better job with Kildare then he did with Ireland. It sickens me to see a scoundrel like that largely escape the blame for largely fuelling the property tax based incentives that destroyed the economy.

Whilst I abhor the politics of the man, and I am slightly uncomfortable with KCB turning to him to advise on their financial matters, McCreevy was shipped off to Brussels by the Drumcondra Don when he advocated that 'some' restraint was necessary.
Post by: Jinxy on December 14, 2011, 02:01:07 PM
They should run an SSIA scheme for the clubs.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 16, 2012, 11:02:20 PM
Quote from: IndoSport‏@Indo_Sport

GAA in €300,000 bailout for Kildare - Lilywhites adamant imminent cash injection from GAA headquarters is not a loan.

We'll get a decent house in Straffan out of that
Post by: Jinxy on April 17, 2012, 12:00:19 AM
Half of that will go on shampoo & fruit for Geezer.
Post by: Syferus on April 17, 2012, 12:20:35 AM
Oh I see, it's not a loan. You don't plan on paying it back. I never knew Kildare were the cutest hoors in the entire country. Money, Seanie, Geezer and within a deer's backside of Croke Park. Unbeatable.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 17, 2012, 12:21:53 PM
Independent.ie

Kildare adamant €300,000 bailout from GAA headquarters is not a loan

KILDARE are adamant that an imminent €300,000 cash injection from GAA headquarters to help run their affairs on a shortterm basis is not a loan.

County board chairman John McMahon is adamant that it is an "advance payment" of money that would be coming to them anyway through various team and coaching grants from central and provincial level that counties always get.

"This is not a loan. This is money that would have been due to us anyway. Instead of being paid in instalments, it is being paid up front to help tide us over," he explained.

Kildare clubs were briefed on the county's financial affairs last week where the €300,000 'advance' was explained. But as part of the agreement, the GAA has insisted that former Munster Council secretary Simon Moroney be introduced as an 'overseer' who is available for advice on their financial affairs.

However, McMahon insists that Moroney's role should not be viewed as that of an administrator. "He's there to advise us if we need it," he said last night.

Kildare have been grappling with debts of up to €570,000, which were highlighted at last year's convention. Financial assistance has already been made available from Croke Park and Leinster Council.

The advance payments will help them to deal with €200,000 owed immediately to creditors. It is an unprecedented move by the GAA to enter into such an arrangement but reflects the stark nature of Kildare's financial affairs.

Most of the money will come from central funds but Leinster Council has also been asked to contribute to the 'advance.' Kildare – whose senior team are currently on a training holiday in Portugal, a trip which was paid for by the players' own fundraising efforts – have been also busy putting together the details of what is known locally as "the thousandaire", where individuals and companies can contribute €1,000 to Kildare GAA for various purposes.

"The 'thousandaire' isn't about clearing debts. It's about development of other aspects of the game in the county," said McMahon. "Obviously St Conleth's Park is in need of upgrading and we hope that this money can put us on a firmer financial footing.

"There are a lot of positive developments in Kildare football. Our seniors are in a league final, our minors and hurlers are going well too.

"There is a lot to be optimistic about and that should be reflected." Clubs who attended last week's briefing were informed that cost-cutting measures for 2012 were all on target.

"We've already done deals with creditors and have made big inroads in the last few months into the €570,000 figure made public last year," said McMahon.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 17, 2012, 12:22:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 17, 2012, 12:20:35 AM
Oh I see, it's not a loan. You don't plan on paying it back. I never knew Kildare were the cutest hoors in the entire country. Money, Seanie, Geezer and within a deer's backside of Croke Park. Unbeatable.

If you can't beat us, join us!!
Post by: southdown on April 17, 2012, 04:28:20 PM
Any more imagesof this? Am I the only one who thinks it looks nothing like the liberty?
Post by: sheamy on April 17, 2012, 04:33:41 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on April 17, 2012, 12:21:53 PM
"We've already done deals with creditors and have made big inroads in the last few months into the €570,000 figure made public last year," said McMahon.

That's just under four years of Geezer mileage...
Post by: sheamy on April 18, 2012, 10:54:13 AM
So Kildare get a dig out and can still send their senior team on a warm weather training camp....interesting
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 18, 2012, 01:05:28 PM
Quote from: sheamy on April 18, 2012, 10:54:13 AM
So Kildare get a dig out and can still send their senior team on a warm weather training camp....interesting

The players paid for the trip through their own fundraising - not the county board. Do keep up.
Post by: HiMucker on April 18, 2012, 01:22:45 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on April 18, 2012, 01:05:28 PM

The players paid for the trip through their own fundraising - not the county board. Do keep up.
How did the players manage that? I dont know anyone who would willing donate money in a fundraiser in aid of the players going away on holiday.  Some generous or saft folks in Kildare.  Or is it the players just paid for it out of their own pocket?
Post by: sheamy on April 18, 2012, 01:24:55 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on April 18, 2012, 01:05:28 PM

That's seriously impressive. Do you have any details how they managed that?
Post by: sheamy on April 18, 2012, 01:34:17 PM
Here's another angle in today's independent...I hope I'm fully caught up now.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/martin-breheny-if-croke-park-trusted-kildare-to-get-their-own-affairs-in-order-they-wouldnt-have-imposed-an-outsider-to-monitor-finances-3083635.html

If Croke Park trusted Kildare to get their own affairs in order, they wouldn't have imposed an outsider to monitor their finances. And, as this country knows, outsiders aren't always as understanding as the natives.

Ironically, the Kildare bail-out comes at a time when their senior football squad are on a 10-day training camp in Portugal.

The cost of the venture has, apparently, been raised by the squad itself through various fund-raising ventures.

Presumably, the vast majority of the money emanated from Kildare people or connections, since people don't tend to contribute to anything that might improve a rival county.

So here's a key question: did the squad's fund-raising make it harder for the county board to build their finances, since the same sources can't be tapped all the time? Also, didn't team costs over previous years contribute enormously to Kildare's slide into financial trouble?

And while the squad may have raised the money for this training camp, other team expenses are the county board's responsibility.

In effect, Kildare appear to have two financial systems, one run by the county board, the other for -- or by -- the senior footballers.

And if the latter is impinging on the former -- as it surely must be in terms of fund-raising, which is a finite source everywhere -- it's unfair on other counties that Kildare get bailed out when their finances spin out of kilter.

Presumably, Croke Park had no choice but to intervene when such a major constituent body as Kildare ran into trouble, but as players from other counties feel the April chill at training tonight, they will envy their Kildare counterparts, who are away in sunnier climes despite their county board's serious financial problems.

Truly, it's a paradox which even the Troika would find difficult to fathom.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 18, 2012, 01:42:56 PM
They have carried out all sorts of various fundraising ventures over the last few years. They have done the white-collar boxing in Time for a few years. They have had their own raceday at Naas. They raised €3,000 each through activities in their clubs - racenights, raffles, barbeques etc. A fraction of the proceeds from the Anthony Rainbow testimonial match went towards the players fund and I think the same with the Patrician's School's anniversary match before Christmas. The money they raised two years ago went towards their own gym in one of the old hospitality tents from the Ryder Cup at the K-Club and it was fitted out free of charge by a few of the players themselves.

The county board debt is mainly down to the money ploughed into the Hawkfield facility and various poor practices down the years.
Post by: Dont Matter on April 18, 2012, 01:44:40 PM
For most of the country it's still an amateur game but for others......... ::)
Post by: Dont Matter on April 18, 2012, 01:46:38 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on April 18, 2012, 01:42:56 PM
The county board debt is mainly down to the money ploughed into the Hawkfield facility and various poor practices down the years.

;D Good one.
Post by: screenexile on April 18, 2012, 01:47:52 PM
Holy god I just had a look through this . . . some amount of White Elephants about the place!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_GAA_Stadiums_by_Capacity
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 18, 2012, 01:49:27 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on April 18, 2012, 01:46:38 PM

;D Good one.

They pumped €3.5 million in to Hawkfield. I can't think of any other major expenditures on that scale in Kildare in recent years. Maybe you know different?
Post by: Dont Matter on April 18, 2012, 01:51:16 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on April 18, 2012, 01:49:27 PM

;D Good one.

They pumped €3.5 million in to Hawkfield. I can't think of any other major expenditures on that scale in Kildare in recent years. Maybe you know different?

Shussshhhhhhhhhhh  :-X
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 18, 2012, 01:54:02 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on April 18, 2012, 01:51:16 PM

;D Good one.

That's a no then.
Post by: HiMucker on April 18, 2012, 01:58:09 PM
They have carried out all sorts of various fundraising ventures over the last few years. They have done the white-collar boxing in Time for a few years. They have had their own raceday at Naas. They raised €3,000 each through activities in their clubs - racenights, raffles, barbeques etc. A fraction of the proceeds from the Anthony Rainbow testimonial match went towards the players fund and I think the same with the Patrician's School's anniversary match before Christmas. The money they raised two years ago went towards their own gym in one of the old hospitality tents from the Ryder Cup at the K-Club and it was fitted out free of charge by a few of the players themselves.

So any money raised by players at fundraisers would have been done under the guise of money to help the team or county out.  They wouldnt have  knew some of it would be going towards a player holiday?  I think you would agree people would rather have their money spent on something else?
Post by: Dont Matter on April 18, 2012, 02:00:58 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on April 18, 2012, 01:54:02 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on April 18, 2012, 01:51:16 PM

;D Good one.

That's a no then.

;D Say nothing.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 18, 2012, 02:04:24 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on April 18, 2012, 01:58:09 PM
So any money raised by players at fundraisers would have been done under the guise of money to help the team or county out.  They wouldnt have  knew some of it would be going towards a player holiday?  I think you would agree people would rather have their money spent on something else?

The money raised went towrads the players fund. They can use it as they see fit as far as I'm concerned. I've no problem with them going off to Portugal with the funds they raised themselves. If people had a problem with how the players fund was spent then I'm sure the response among people in Kildare would not be as generous.

The county board debt and the players training trip to Portugal are two completely seperate issues despite the Indo trying to tie them together. Are the players supposed to fundraise for KCB because they cannot manage the county's finances correctly?
Post by: sheamy on April 18, 2012, 02:21:33 PM
You're completely missing the point DH...there is a finite amount of resources in any county. Presumably the county board pay all other expenses for the senior team? Or are the senior footballers self-financing?

If those finite resources are taken and spent on something non-essential like warm weather training, and at the same time, central GAA money has to be given to bail the county out, then that's wrong and unfair on other counties. You cannot separate the county board from the senior team and run two financial systems. I think that's the point Martin Breheny is making and I think many will agree with. The GAA won't let that happen either as Kildare might soon find out.

Good luck!
Post by: Jinxy on April 18, 2012, 02:39:42 PM
Is Seanie going on this?
Post by: sheamy on April 18, 2012, 02:46:05 PM
Fitzpatrick or Johnston?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 18, 2012, 02:47:17 PM
Quote from: sheamy on April 18, 2012, 02:21:33 PM
You're completely missing the point DH...there is a finite amount of resources in any county. Presumably the county board pay all other expenses for the senior team? Or are the senior footballers self-financing?

If those finite resources are taken and spent on something non-essential like warm weather training, and at the same time, central GAA money has to be given to bail the county out, then that's wrong and unfair on other counties. You cannot separate the county board from the senior team and run two financial systems. I think that's the point Martin Breheny is making and I think many will agree with. The GAA won't let that happen either as Kildare might soon find out.

Good luck!

I take on board your point but the players fund also contributes to the expense of their own training at home so that is not solely the county board's burden. They decided to forgo a team holiday at the end of last year to go on this training trip so I think it is unfair of the likes of Breheny to drag them into this debate. They are not at fault for financial mismanagement by the county board.

Quote from: Jinxy on April 18, 2012, 02:39:42 PM
Is Seanie going on this?

Nope. He can't afford it. The house in Straffan and the daily round trip through the M3 tolls have hit the Cavanman hard in the pocket!
Post by: seafoid on April 18, 2012, 02:48:38 PM
What other ambitious GAA stadium plans have collapsed following the end of the Tiger ?
I bought "the Pope's children" at the weekend and the first page is from a different age.
Post by: HiMucker on April 18, 2012, 03:06:14 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on April 18, 2012, 02:47:17 PM

Good luck!

I take on board your point but the players fund also contributes to the expense of their own training at home so that is not solely the county board's burden. They decided to forgo a team holiday at the end of last year to go on this training trip so I think it is unfair of the likes of Breheny to drag them into this debate. They are not at fault for financial mismanagement by the county board.

Is Seanie going on this?

Nope. He can't afford it. The house in Straffan and the daily round trip through the M3 tolls have hit the Cavanman hard in the pocket!
What does this include.  I can only think of gym membership?
Post by: Bingo on April 18, 2012, 03:27:02 PM
Leaving Kildare to one side at the minute, I can see one of these player training funds becoming a problem at some stage down the line.

On one hand, what a few posters have said is true, that they will surely cut across normal funding and no doubt the players fund is a more attractive fund to contribute to. Also, the water must be muddy as to what they contribute to and what they don't contribute to. Who holds these funds and in what way are they transparent.

I know in Monaghan when Banty was in charge he gathered alot of funding directly and their was all sorts of rumours going round to what this money was used for.

This training camp probably costs in the region of €50k, at least. I'm sure its great for the players and all that but in a so called amateur game is this sort of money really helping the games as a whole. Would that money be more useful employing 2 GAA coaches in Kildare for the year and see longer term benefits. You could argue an All-ireland would be just as useful for long term benefits I suppose.

Its a very grey area and one that few counties can maintain.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on April 18, 2012, 05:21:53 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on April 18, 2012, 03:06:14 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on April 18, 2012, 02:47:17 PM

Good luck!

Is Seanie going on this?

What does this include.  I can only think of gym membership?

They built and equipped their own gym
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 21, 2018, 12:10:43 PM
The New GAA - a proper stadium revamp with a realistic capacity

https://www.leinsterleader.ie/news/home/330894/kildare-s-st-conleth-s-park-gets-green-light-for-massive-6-5m-redevelopment.htm (https://www.leinsterleader.ie/news/home/330894/kildare-s-st-conleth-s-park-gets-green-light-for-massive-6-5m-redevelopment.htm)
(http://kildaregaa.ie/wp-content/uploads/sites/31/2018/05/C1.png)

(http://kildaregaa.ie/wp-content/uploads/sites/31/2018/05/C2.png)

(http://kildaregaa.ie/wp-content/uploads/sites/31/2018/05/C3.png)

(http://kildaregaa.ie/wp-content/uploads/sites/31/2018/05/C.png)

Post by: TheGreatest on August 21, 2018, 01:01:13 PM
Looks great

Couple of Qs, the article doesn't state where the money will come from and 2, if the capacity will increase?

Post by: Jinxy on August 21, 2018, 01:14:29 PM
'VIP Area'.
Notions...
Post by: Jayop on August 21, 2018, 01:22:45 PM
Idiotic to build one now that doesn't have one.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 21, 2018, 01:24:24 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 21, 2018, 01:14:29 PM
'VIP Area'.
Notions...

Its for the Sheik.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 21, 2018, 01:27:22 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on August 21, 2018, 01:01:13 PM
Looks great

Couple of Qs, the article doesn't state where the money will come from and 2, if the capacity will increase?

The usual, CP, Exchequer, club levies and fund-raising.

Capacity will be 15K, perfect for all occasions from League to Championship to County finals.
Post by: Jayop on August 21, 2018, 01:31:19 PM
There's loads of money in Kildare and in this day and age you need to be able to pamper the sponsors the way Dublin can using their home stadium to get the most of out them. Every new county ground or ground being done up should have this as much as it annoys me that this separation happens.
Post by: Hound on August 21, 2018, 01:42:28 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 21, 2018, 01:27:22 PM
Looks great

The usual, CP, Exchequer, club levies and fund-raising.

Capacity will be 15K, perfect for all occasions from League to Championship to County finals.
Looks great alright. Link not working for me, when do they expect it'll be ready and how long will Newbridge be out of action for? (thinking about a potential Leinster QF next year of KE v Dubs)
Post by: Jinxy on August 21, 2018, 01:49:55 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 21, 2018, 01:24:24 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 21, 2018, 01:14:29 PM
'VIP Area'.
Notions...

Its for the Sheik.

(https://www.irishtimes.com/polopoly_fs/1.3532412.1529091072!/image/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/box_620_330/image.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 21, 2018, 02:24:50 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 21, 2018, 01:42:28 PM
Looks great alright. Link not working for me, when do they expect it'll be ready and how long will Newbridge be out of action for? (thinking about a potential Leinster QF next year of KE v Dubs)

Timeline as of last December's County Convention:

QuoteThe project is expected to take around 29 months, with the completion of the new stand pencilled in for April 2020. The planners are hoping to appoint a design team at the beginning of January 2018.

My understanding is that there will be no games played in Newbridge after the completion of next year's league.

Financial breakdown:

QuoteThe total cost of the project, as outlined by Padraig McManus at the Kildare GAA County Convention on Thursday night, will come in at around €6.85 million, though the project managers are putting plans in place for the event of the fees rising up to €7.5 million. The construction phase of the project will be the most costly, coming in at an estimated €5.4 million, while VAT at 13.5 pc means that it will rise to just under €6.2 million. The additional costs involved in the project are for professional fees, with McManus stating that they will be around 8.9 pc of the cost, which would amount to €486,000, and when allowing for specialist services and VAT at 23 pc, this would rise to just under €650,000.

The county board aim to raise a third of the money for the redevelopment themselves through fundraising, another third from grants and the rest through loans. They are confident that Croke Park will front up a sizeable amount of money to put towards the project, while they will also look to the government for assistance.

The target is for Club Kildare to raise €2.3 million.

The capacity will rise to 15,000 at the completion of the project. Opening up the entrance down by Ryston which is currently blocked up will ease access from the south of the ground.
Post by: seafoid on August 21, 2018, 02:40:40 PM
Good news if it goes ahead. 15000 is a decent capacity and hopefully Kildare will make more progress in the years ahead.
Post by: mup on August 21, 2018, 03:27:09 PM
Surely naming rights will be sold..

Emirates?
Dubai Duty Free?
Land Rover?
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 21, 2018, 04:56:36 PM
Quote from: mup on August 21, 2018, 03:27:09 PM
Surely naming rights will be sold..

Emirates?
Dubai Duty Free?
Land Rover?
Acme Robotics
Creatine
Ben Dunne Gyms
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 21, 2018, 05:52:36 PM
Pitman-Moore Park.
Post by: Jinxy on August 21, 2018, 07:27:32 PM
Sex Park.
Post by: The Subbie on August 23, 2018, 01:01:50 PM
Páirc McGeeney O'Dwyer has a nice ring to it
Post by: seafoid on August 23, 2018, 01:04:40 PM
Stáid Shergar
Post by: Maroon Manc on November 06, 2018, 09:18:39 AM
Daniel Flynn not committed to Kildare for next season yet and according to Colm Keys there are others too; After the progress they made this year I'm surprised at that.
Post by: TheGreatest on November 06, 2018, 11:47:57 AM
Quote from: The Subbie on August 23, 2018, 01:01:50 PM

Brown Envelope Stadium, has a nice ring to it and some truth.
Post by: mup on November 07, 2018, 07:45:41 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on November 06, 2018, 11:47:57 AM
Quote from: The Subbie on August 23, 2018, 01:01:50 PM

Brown Envelope Stadium, has a nice ring to it and some truth.

Pot, kettle, black
Post by: Hound on November 09, 2018, 09:59:06 AM
Disappointing that Mick O'Grady and Johnny Byrne are opting out this year along with Daniel Flynn being doubtful (not that any individual should be criticised for giving something more important in their life some priority!)

I presume O'Grady and Byrne would both be regarded as big losses by Kildare lads?

Going to be difficult to continue to progress if losing players.
Post by: heffo on November 09, 2018, 11:12:12 AM
Great to see a Dublin ref got the Kildare Football championship final
Post by: fearsiuil on November 09, 2018, 11:39:28 AM
Quote from: heffo on November 09, 2018, 11:12:12 AM

Billy O'Connell a very good ref, living in Kildare a good while now also.
Post by: heffo on November 09, 2018, 11:51:56 AM
Quote from: fearsiuil on November 09, 2018, 11:39:28 AM
Quote from: heffo on November 09, 2018, 11:12:12 AM

Billy O'Connell a very good ref, living in Kildare a good while now also.

Three years.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on November 09, 2018, 05:37:16 PM
Quote from: Hound on November 09, 2018, 09:59:06 AM
Disappointing that Mick O'Grady and Johnny Byrne are opting out this year along with Daniel Flynn being doubtful (not that any individual should be criticised for giving something more important in their life some priority!)

I presume O'Grady and Byrne would both be regarded as big losses by Kildare lads?

Going to be difficult to continue to progress if losing players.

O'Grady will be a loss. He has developed into a fine full back. Mark Dempsey should come through although it's a big step into the senior ranks.

Byrne finished the year strongly but it's an area where we should have enough options. James Murray, Ruadhan O Giollain and Shea Ryan have the potential to make an impact like Kevin Flynn did this year.

Flynn opting out would be a blow. The consolation would be it would allow us to move Brophy back to the full forward line where he is more at home.