GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: mrhardyannual on August 27, 2017, 09:29:16 PM

Title: Sean Cavanagh Retires.
Post by: mrhardyannual on August 27, 2017, 09:29:16 PM
I don't like the modern habit of referring to players as legends but Sean Cavanagh has been one of the most influential players of this century. I enjoyed watching him.... the fielding, the dummy and the shooting. Will always be remembered as a great Tyrone player.
Title: Re: Sean Cavanagh Retires.
Post by: thejuice on August 27, 2017, 10:13:03 PM
Is it true he's been going 16 years at senior county? That's quite an achievement these days. Always a powerhouse for the team and if he had a bad game generally so did Tyrone. Will leave a big gap to fill but it looks like they have some impressive minors coming up so Tyrone fans shouldn't be too dispondant even after today's defeat.
Post by: T Fearon on August 27, 2017, 10:35:26 PM
Really looked past it today.Good innings but his blatant fool and taunting the Monaghan crowd afterwards in 2013 detracts.
Post by: ONeill on August 27, 2017, 10:41:38 PM
He is up there in the top 3 Tyrone in my lifetime. Peter no.1. I didn't see enough of Frank.

2008 was his season. Won that All Ireland almost on his own. Felt sorry for him today. Legs gone.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 27, 2017, 10:48:14 PM
Huge respect for him as a player and a man. His football achievements are well documented. Came to our club to present underage medals to our lads with the Cormac McAnallen Cup...the same night when The Moy won the league or championship (can't mind which) and he should have been at home with his mates on the lash.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 27, 2017, 11:04:50 PM
Big man for Tyrone past 15 year and could play a number of positions, big loss for Tyrone and would get on the best team of the past 15 years he played
Post by: orangeman on August 27, 2017, 11:37:56 PM
It's going to be impossible to replace Sean Cavanagh. One of the greatest players ever.

Enjoy the retirement away from the pitch. You leave owing Tyrone nothing.
Post by: WT4E on August 27, 2017, 11:39:35 PM
True Legend of Tyrone football - Whilst some players might have tried to have similar longevity Sean played alot of games and never seemed to be injured and was always there when we needed him. Not his best year this year but gave it everything and was key in every celtic cross earned by Tyrone.
Post by: RedHand88 on August 27, 2017, 11:41:20 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 27, 2017, 10:35:26 PM
Really looked past it today.Good innings but his blatant fool and taunting the Monaghan crowd afterwards in 2013 detracts.

Couldn't help yourself could you T
Post by: WT4E on August 27, 2017, 11:52:19 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on August 27, 2017, 11:41:20 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 27, 2017, 10:35:26 PM

Couldn't help yourself could you T

I think this shows Fearon up more than anything else. I for one didn't like Sean as a club footballer due to rivalries but can appreciate he is one of the all time GAA greats!
Post by: rrhf on August 28, 2017, 12:05:00 AM
Up there with the very best in Tyrone and Ireland Intercounty. Magnificent career privilege to watch and support on the journey. Retire happy Sean!
Post by: omagh_gael on August 28, 2017, 01:01:32 AM
An absolute legend for Tyrone and was the ultimate big game player. He can retire with his head held high and has brought me so many personal memories that I, and other Tyrone supporters will carry for a very long time. Thanks Sean.

Here's the man himself showing a touch more class than a certain Armagh troll in here...

http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/gaelic-games/41067589
Post by: tonto1888 on August 28, 2017, 07:00:45 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 27, 2017, 10:41:38 PM
He is up there in the top 3 Tyrone in my lifetime. Peter no.1. I didn't see enough of Frank.

2008 was his season. Won that All Ireland almost on his own. Felt sorry for him today. Legs gone.

Who would be the third? I'm an Armagh man but I think O'Neill is he best you have had
Post by: seafoid on August 28, 2017, 07:13:42 PM
Great player but Frank McGuigan is undisputed imo.   11 points and 2 sons. .  Great that he was on the 00s teams. Plus he looks good in a suit. And that foul .
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on August 28, 2017, 07:18:08 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on August 28, 2017, 07:00:45 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 27, 2017, 10:41:38 PM

Who would be the third? I'm an Armagh man but I think O'Neill is he best you have had

Dooher would have to be up there for me. Himself and Cavanagh were the go to players in what was a top team.
Post by: JoG2 on August 28, 2017, 07:29:46 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on August 28, 2017, 01:01:32 AM
An absolute legend for Tyrone and was the ultimate big game player. He can retire with his head held high and has brought me so many personal memories that I, and other Tyrone supporters will carry for a very long time. Thanks Sean.

Here's the man himself showing a touch more class than a certain Armagh troll in here...

http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/gaelic-games/41067589

Classy  interview indeed and nice scenes at the end with his girls. A colossus on the football field over an incredibly long period of time for the old enemy (the hoor!)  :D
Post by: WT4E on August 28, 2017, 07:54:04 PM
Didn't take big Sean to drop the RTE boycott - Less than 24 hours! :)
Post by: Rossfan on August 28, 2017, 07:56:23 PM
Best wishes Sean.
You were a good one.
Post by: southtyronegael on August 28, 2017, 08:06:46 PM
Best wishes to big Sean and thank you for all the memories. You left the stage with class and your head held high. Just a pity the manager hasn't the class to do the same.
Post by: macdanger2 on August 28, 2017, 10:27:24 PM
Class player and while it was a tough way to go out, he can look back proudly on a more successful career than most.
Post by: BennyHarp on August 28, 2017, 10:35:37 PM
It'll be a sad day when we see a Tyrone team line out next year without Sean. An absolute giant of the game and his greatest quality for me was ability to create great match winning moments even when not particularly having the best of games, e.g. The last 10 mins in the 05 semi final and last years Ulster Final. 2008 was obviously his peak as he sacrificed his natural game in midfield to fill a void in our attack and won player of the year. Just brilliant!
Post by: Gold on August 28, 2017, 11:35:49 PM
Legend
Post by: ashman on August 28, 2017, 11:50:23 PM
Great player .  Some turn of pace for a big man , a shimmy and a brilliant man to kick a point .
Post by: omaghjoe on August 29, 2017, 06:43:53 AM
Thanks for the memories Sean you owe us nothing. Some of the best for me where...
03 Fermanagh goal
08 Dubs
08 Final points Esp the last one
05 Nailing Francie
09 Ulster Final
13 draggin us to a semi (s/b POTY2)
16 Ulster Final
Speed Skills and Hard as nails too boot
Reinvented himself over and over and always looking to improve. Free kicks are a good example they used to be 50/50, this year they nearly all seemed to go over.
His attitude was also important, always positive and I think it infiltrated his teammates. The younger version hated tracking back but he was the last man there in 13 QF to stop a goal of which I thought said a lot about how much he improved on that as well.

16 years playing at the very top What a player.
Post by: OakleafCounty on August 29, 2017, 10:15:01 AM
Probably Tyrones greatest all round player of my lifetime and a giant on the field. Up there with the very best of the last 20 years. Great servant to the game.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 29, 2017, 10:26:38 AM
Fantastic servant, and a great player for Tyrone. A real driving force and he finishes up as easily one of the best players of the last 15 years. Enjoy the retirement.
Post by: grounded on August 29, 2017, 10:37:17 AM
Amazing he has been around for so long as a top Intercounty player. Its hard to imagine the sacrifices he and his family have made. A top top player. Good luck on your retirement, well deserved. 
Post by: stew on August 29, 2017, 10:41:01 AM
A tremendous footballer for club and county, he was as good as there was for a decade and a half, not many get to say that, enjoy your retirement big man.
Post by: sensethetone on August 29, 2017, 10:42:50 AM
Enjoy your retirement Big Sean.
Post by: Fat Angry Motorist on August 29, 2017, 11:19:13 AM
Fantastic footballer, one of the best of the 21st century.  He can now forget about Joe Brolly as a man!
Post by: screenexile on August 29, 2017, 11:29:32 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 29, 2017, 10:26:38 AM
Fantastic servant, and a great player for Tyrone. A real driving force and he finishes up as easily one of the best players of the last 15 years. Enjoy the retirement.

Fixed that for you AZ!

One of the greatest of all time of that there is no question but always went down far too easily!!
Post by: WT4E on August 29, 2017, 11:31:15 AM
Aidan O'Se is alot worse and I'd say by the time he's finished he'll counted as a modern great without that tag!
Post by: Tyrone Gaa on August 29, 2017, 11:52:36 AM
For me I think Sean shares equality with Peter as our greatest ever.  He played all over the pitch the complete player in the days of blanket defence.  That tactic may have hampered Peter's influence but still doesn't change that he remains GOD.  I do feel Cavanagh was that good and the Best player of his generation
Post by: Gaffer on August 29, 2017, 12:57:16 PM
Some fantastic tributes here from inside and outside Tyrone and so well deserved

To think now that a certain RTE pundit could be sitting somewhere thinking up a critisism of Sean as a player that he will unlease on the public next chance he gets. Same as the way Gooch was treated!!
Post by: seafoid on August 29, 2017, 01:10:10 PM
Looking back it was bad form of Tyrone to deny Monaghan the win. The end justifies the means . Not winning an all Ireland does not. Ruthless but inefficient is not a good mix.
Post by: yellowcard on August 29, 2017, 01:10:58 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on August 29, 2017, 12:57:16 PM
Some fantastic tributes here from inside and outside Tyrone and so well deserved

To think now that a certain RTE pundit could be sitting somewhere thinking up a critisism of Sean as a player that he will unlease on the public next chance he gets. Same as the way Gooch was treated!!

And then in 6 months time will probably be sitting beside him in a studio as the best of buddies.
Post by: screenexile on August 29, 2017, 01:36:31 PM
Quote from: WT4E on August 29, 2017, 11:31:15 AM
Aidan O'Se is alot worse and I'd say by the time he's finished he'll counted as a modern great without that tag!

He's not worse. . . also he's not as good as Cavanagh was!
Post by: seafoid on August 29, 2017, 01:44:37 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 29, 2017, 01:10:58 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on August 29, 2017, 12:57:16 PM

And then in 6 months time will probably be sitting beside him in a studio as the best of buddies.
TSG is a pantomime for oul lads
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 29, 2017, 02:22:38 PM
Enjoy the retirement Big Sean - well deserved.
Post by: WT4E on August 29, 2017, 02:34:19 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 29, 2017, 01:36:31 PM

Aidan O'Se has dived his way to two all ireland finals! He is definitely worse than Sean Cavanagh IMO.
Post by: screenexile on August 29, 2017, 03:19:46 PM
Quote from: WT4E on August 29, 2017, 02:34:19 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 29, 2017, 01:36:31 PM

Aidan O'Se has dived his way to two all ireland finals! He is definitely worse than Sean Cavanagh IMO.

No . . . number 1 he's not been around as long as Cavanagh and number 2 the only real diving incident I can remember him for is the Fermanagh one!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 29, 2017, 03:39:23 PM
Name change to "Broken Record" please.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on August 29, 2017, 04:36:16 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Gaa on August 29, 2017, 11:52:36 AM
For me I think Sean shares equality with Peter as our greatest ever.  He played all over the pitch the complete player in the days of blanket defence.  That tactic may have hampered Peter's influence but still doesn't change that he remains GOD.  I do feel Cavanagh was that good and the Best player of his generation
Fine footballer as Cavanagh was I  would have Eugene McKenna in front of him , it was some achievement  for him to win three allstars( at midfield centre half forward and full forward) in a decade when as a whole Ulster  football was in the doldrums
Post by: yellowcard on August 29, 2017, 04:44:53 PM
Surely Canavan is the best ever Tyrone player. Cavanagh was a powerful athlete and at his peak was near impossible to stop once he got into his stride. However Canavan in terms of pure footballing ability was out on his own. He carried Tyrone on his own for years when they had a fairly average group of players. That's not to take away from Cavanagh who was remarkably consistent over the period when Tyrone won 3 AI titles but he was lucky to come along at a time when Tyrone had a once in a generation group of players.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 29, 2017, 04:49:34 PM
I wouldn't be that familiar with the earlier vintage Tyrone players, apart from Plunkett Donaghy, Frank McGuigan and lads like that, so greatest ever is a tough one. But even in the last 20 years, the Tyrone renaissance era, there's some stiff competition. How can he be said to be better than Peter Canavan, or Stephen O'Neill? Even Brian McGuigan in his pomp, or Brian Dooher? Conor Gormley, Philly Jordan? these were all smashing footballers.
Post by: Dire Ear on August 29, 2017, 04:57:30 PM
1-- Frank McGuigan
2-- Peter Canavan
Post by: Sandy Hill on August 29, 2017, 05:47:14 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 29, 2017, 04:44:53 PM
Surely Canavan is the best ever Tyrone player. Cavanagh was a powerful athlete and at his peak was near impossible to stop once he got into his stride. However Canavan in terms of pure footballing ability was out on his own. He carried Tyrone on his own for years when they had a fairly average group of players. That's not to take away from Cavanagh who was remarkably consistent over the period when Tyrone won 3 AI titles but he was lucky to come along at a time when Tyrone had a once in a generation group of players.

Iggy Jones anyone? Ask your father!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 29, 2017, 07:07:14 PM
What a great servant for Tír Eoghain, from his days as an outstanding Minor to the days as an equally outstanding Senior, we're extremely indebted to this sporting icon, go raibh míle maith agat a Sheáin, and enjoy that retirement... Sláinte. 
Post by: rrhf on August 29, 2017, 07:16:00 PM
Canavan crowns them all lads. Duration and continuation through hard times and good. singleminded determination to bring Sam to Tyrone and he done it. He had all the skills and saw it through.
Jones, Mc kenna, Mc guigan sean and the legends of the noughties were all time Tyrone greats as well. I'd say the following:
Canavan
Mc guigan cavanagh Mc guigan and Dooher
Mc kenna, gormley, Jordan, o Neill, jones
Mc Menamen mulligan mc anallan
I expect the next Tyrone captain to be Colly cavanagh and if he leads us to the promised land he makes that list.
Post by: heffo on August 29, 2017, 07:22:26 PM
Top class player who had a fantastic career.
Post by: seafoid on August 29, 2017, 08:35:12 PM
I was listening to 2 injured swans by the sawdoctors.
To never have considered losing. As if to win was by your choosing

https://youtu.be/0ver0lMNMgw

That was what that team brought to Tyrone.
None of the romance of 95.

As that Donegal scribe said he will be remembered by his people
Post by: Captain Scarlet on August 29, 2017, 08:38:19 PM
The man was the driving force and really took up the mantle from Canavan and drove them on so many times. As noted even when he wasn't playing brilliantly he could lift his game just at the right time.
Any man that retires with a decent shout of being regarded as the greatest ever to wear his county colours has to be lauded.

Another thing is that having to come through Ulster each year meant he got a lot more 'attention' than the marquee players in the other provinces. That makes his longevity for a big man all the more impressive in my mind.

Post by: illdecide on August 30, 2017, 11:09:39 AM
As an Armagh man i thought he was fantastic and one of the greatest players Tyrone have had, I've never actually met the man but he seems a right fella and any man that put's that amount of commitment to the cause for so long deserves all the credit he's getting. Yes, this last 2 seasons his legs could not do the same amount of work that he was used to but none the less he still contributed and i'd say his influence around the squad was priceless for the younger lads.

Best of luck on your retirement...

As for who was best i still think we Pete was the best player Tyrone ever had and probably ever, Stevie O'Neill was pure class too but kinda lost out a bit due to them bad knees and of course Sean Cavanangh for me is up at 2nd or 3rd place. I know Frank the Tank was some player and scored 11pts in one game but for me Pete and Sean are at the top.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 30, 2017, 04:05:05 PM
Brilliant player who did it all for Tyrone and will go down as one of their and the game's all time greats. In our clubs greatest year, 2005, he joined us with Sam at our club dinner and it was a pleasure to meet him. Really incredible to have played for 16 years. Well done Seán and thanks for the memories.
Post by: tbrick18 on August 30, 2017, 05:34:38 PM
A seriously good player, but for me nowhere near the top player in that team that came through the noughties.
Canavan, Dooher, Ricey, Gormley, McGinley, Stevie O'Neill and possibly mugsy all to my mind did more for Tyrone that Sean "not a man"  :P Cavanagh.

I dont think he deserves the eulogising about being a legend, at least not any more than the players mentioned above.

Post by: omagh_gael on August 30, 2017, 08:36:26 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on August 30, 2017, 05:34:38 PM
A seriously good player, but for me nowhere near the top player in that team that came through the noughties.
Canavan, Dooher, Ricey, Gormley, McGinley, Stevie O'Neill and possibly mugsy all to my mind did more for Tyrone that Sean "not a man"  :P Cavanagh.

I dont think he deserves the eulogising about being a legend, at least not any more than the players mentioned above.

D- effort there, surely there are better trolling efforts out there?
Post by: Main Street on August 30, 2017, 11:02:01 PM

Considering that list of modern Tyrone legends, young Sean did well to not just hold his own in 2003-05 but also stand beside them as a legend.
Personally i'm reluctant to call him big Sean because i'm taller than him.
I might not want to shake his hand because I'd be on the floor in a flash, yellow carded to boot. Referees might now have a fond glance at the ear buds in the their kit bag, reminiscing on those Tyrone match days when such apparel was essential when Sean was playing. Despite all that, he had all the football ability and inspiring leadership that you'd want in your midfielder (the rugby tackle was a bonus).

I hope his voice breaks soon.
Post by: WT4E on August 30, 2017, 11:09:12 PM
I won't miss the way he says 'the guys' all the time
Post by: T Fearon on August 31, 2017, 06:27:32 AM
I'm not saying Mc Guigan wasn't a great player,but he was hardly a great servant for Tyrone,spending many years in the states in his prime.Did he really ever have a great game or impact on Tyrone,apart from the 11 points in 1984 Ulster Final? The likes of Mc Kenna,Mc Cabe,Donaghy gave Tyrone much greater service
Post by: tbrick18 on August 31, 2017, 10:57:49 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on August 30, 2017, 08:36:26 PM

D- effort there, surely there are better trolling efforts out there?

??
All I'm saying is that there wasn't the same amount of talk around those other players when they retired, and in my opinion, they all had a greater impact on that Tyrone team than Cavanagh did.
I started my post by saying he was A seriously good player.
Not sure how any of that is trolling, it's just opinion.
Post by: screenexile on August 31, 2017, 11:11:05 AM
Talent wise was he the best?? Probably not but he's in that bracket and then when you factor in his longevity, Allstars, Leadership, titles won he's definitely for me the best footballer Tyrone has had. Maybe he was helped by the fact he played when Tyrone had their best ever teams but that's not his fault. One of the best players of all time to be fair to him.

It's a pity he had to dive all the time.
Post by: Walter Cronc on August 31, 2017, 11:12:42 AM
Quote from: screenexile on August 31, 2017, 11:11:05 AM
Talent wise was he the best?? Probably not but he's in that bracket and then when you factor in his longevity, Allstars, Leadership, titles won he's definitely for me the best footballer Tyrone has had. Maybe he was helped by the fact he played when Tyrone had their best ever teams but that's not his fault. One of the best players of all time to be fair to him.

Did he really dive that much? I've had him more as someone who feigned injury than a diver!
Post by: screenexile on August 31, 2017, 11:48:13 AM
You're probably right I'm just equating them as the same!
Post by: tbrick18 on August 31, 2017, 12:03:26 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on August 31, 2017, 11:12:42 AM
Quote from: screenexile on August 31, 2017, 11:11:05 AM

Did he really dive that much? I've had him more as someone who feigned injury than a diver!

He did do a fair bit of diving and feigning injury.
But worst of all, I've never seen a grown man do so much crying and blubbering on a pitch. Poor wee Sean.

Where's omagh_gael when you need him to watch for the trolling?????
:P :P :P :P :P :P
Post by: Walter Cronc on August 31, 2017, 12:05:44 PM
I'm outta here before the cavalry arrive. You Screen men can deal with them now your gona win the Derry Champ ;)