Football qualifier route 2019

Started by Blowitupref, May 22, 2019, 01:45:27 PM

The Boy Wonder

Quote from: twohands!!! on May 22, 2019, 10:37:50 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 22, 2019, 01:45:27 PM

Looking at the overall performances of the teams from Division 3 and Division 4 this year, you'd nearly swear these teams were doing their best to strengthen the case for a 2nd tier.

At the moment 8 out of the bottom 16 in the league this year are confirmed to be in the first round of the qualifiers.

None of the 8 teams that you mention would find themselves in Round 1 of the qualifiers had they been lucky enough to get a bye to Provincial Semi-Final as Sligo did this year and Roscommon last year. Also, because of the Provincial imbalance you will always have more Leinster and Ulster counties in Round 1.

Kerry and Cork enter the Munster Championship at semi-final stage this year so could never enter Round 1 Qualifiers.
Using the makeup of Round 1 Qualifiers is very shaky ground as an arguement for a 2nd tier.

Quote from: The Boy Wonder on May 22, 2019, 11:42:00 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 22, 2019, 10:37:50 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 22, 2019, 01:45:27 PM

Looking at the overall performances of the teams from Division 3 and Division 4 this year, you'd nearly swear these teams were doing their best to strengthen the case for a 2nd tier.

At the moment 8 out of the bottom 16 in the league this year are confirmed to be in the first round of the qualifiers.

None of the 8 teams that you mention would find themselves in Round 1 of the qualifiers had they been lucky enough to get a bye to Provincial Semi-Final as Sligo did this year and Roscommon last year. Also, because of the Provincial imbalance you will always have more Leinster and Ulster counties in Round 1.

Kerry and Cork enter the Munster Championship at semi-final stage this year so could never enter Round 1 Qualifiers.
Using the makeup of Round 1 Qualifiers is very shaky ground as an arguement for a 2nd tier.
Be kind, he is only trying to do Martin Breheny's job for him.

So Sligo who haven't won a match are in Round 2 of the qualifiers. Whereas Kildare, Meath, Louth who have all won a match could lose on Sunday and find themselves in Round 1 of the qualifiers. How can people defend the AI structures?

Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 23, 2019, 11:23:12 AM
So Sligo who haven't own a match are in Round 2 of the qualifiers. Whereas Kildare, Meath, Louth who have all won a match could lose on Sunday and find themselves in Round 1 of the qualifiers. How can people defend the AI structures?

And we've a 5 week wait so it'll mean we've had one game in 13 weeks facing a team that has had at least 2 and possibly 3 in the previous 7 weeks.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 25, 2019, 10:26:36 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 25, 2019, 10:13:07 PM
Much craic in here?

Same as 16, 17 and 18 I suppose.

Don't worry lads the GAA will fix it that Mayo makes the Super Duper 8's this year. Jez, the lads in Headquarters nearly had a heart-attack when Kildare knocked us out last year. The Super Duper 8's were put in place to squeeze the last drop out of the Mayo supporter.

Christ Bunker, what's your agenda? Hq bashing?

Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 26, 2019, 08:10:38 PM
Christ Bunker, what's your agenda? Hq bashing?

Yes! Get the blinkers off!

Esmarelda

Yeah remember that time they let Dublin play their Super 8 game against Tyrone in Croke Park...........

Quote from: Esmarelda on May 26, 2019, 10:07:12 PM
Yeah remember that time they let Dublin play their Super 8 game against Tyrone in Croke Park...........

Ye play one championship game away from home in the guts of 15 years. And ye think we should all say how great ye are that ye did that!

Esmarelda

Quote from: From the Bunker on May 26, 2019, 10:44:22 PM

Ye play one championship game away from home in the guts of 15 years. And ye think we should all say how great ye are that ye did that!
I think you know the point I was making. You were awfully vocal about how it wouldn't be allowed happen until it happened of course. Now it's going to be fixed that Mayo enter the last eight.  ;D

Quote from: Esmarelda on May 26, 2019, 11:02:19 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 26, 2019, 10:44:22 PM

I think you know the point I was making. You were awfully vocal about how it wouldn't be allowed happen until it happened of course. Now it's going to be fixed that Mayo enter the last eight.  ;D

Lol. Croke Park might want Mayo in super8s but you can be sure Mayo will do their best not to get there!

Ball Hopper

Louth v Antrim

Tipperary v Down

Leitrim v Wicklow

Wexford v Derry

Offaly v London

Monaghan v Fermanagh

Carlow v Kildare/Longford

Westmeath v Waterford

Quote from: Ball Hopper on May 27, 2019, 08:47:55 AM
Louth v Antrim

Tipperary v Down

Leitrim v Wicklow

Wexford v Derry

Offaly v London

Monaghan v Fermanagh

Carlow v Kildare/Longford

Westmeath v Waterford

Tough draw for the loser of kildare/Longford, they'll only have a week turn around