Started by theticklemister, February 19, 2017, 10:55:16 PM

Quote from: Syferus on August 02, 2017, 12:38:19 AM
Quote from: Zulu on August 02, 2017, 12:32:50 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2017, 11:57:12 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 01, 2017, 11:52:50 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2017, 11:49:07 PM
Wouldn't it be some craic if there was a three way tie for second place in one of the Groups in the Super Duper 8!

The GAA could scam three more games in a round robin play off. Or would away scores come into play. That would be fun! ;)

I can only imagine how diminished Sunday's match would have been had it been a AIQF next year.

Sundays game would have meant nothing, well not as much as it did! Both would have trotted off to get ready to play another game that they probably could afford to probably draw or even lose. Exciting stuff!

Then there is the final sets of games where you have two teams already through to the Semi-finals and two teams with nothing to play for!

In other words four teams with nothing to play for!

Jesus lads, yer great craic altogether. So after drawing the first game you can afford to lose your second game, how does that work? And both groups will always end up with final rounds with nothing to play for, no other options?

The super 8 isn't perfect but is worth trying given the limitations imposed on Duffy.

Duffy's only limitation is his imagination.

Wrong again. Do you know the limitations I'm talking about?

Quote from: From the Bunker on August 02, 2017, 12:50:13 AM
Wouldn't it be some craic if there was a three way tie for second place in one of the Groups in the Super Duper 8!

The GAA could scam three more games in a round robin play off. Or would away scores come into play. That would be fun! ;)

I can only imagine how diminished Sunday's match would have been had it been a AIQF next year.

Sundays game would have meant nothing, well not as much as it did! Both would have trotted off to get ready to play another game that they probably could afford to probably draw or even lose. Exciting stuff!

Then there is the final sets of games where you have two teams already through to the Semi-finals and two teams with nothing to play for!

Jesus lads, yer great craic altogether. So after drawing the first game you can afford to lose your second game, how does that work? And both groups will always end up with final rounds with nothing to play for, no other options?

The super 8 isn't perfect but is worth trying given the limitations imposed on Duffy.

Example    Kerry Beat Galway
                Mayo draw Rossies
                Kerry beat Rossies
                Galway beat Mayo
                Kerry already through put B team out against Mayo and lose
                Rossies Beat Galway

Kerry Qualified

Mayo and Rossies finish level on points and Score difference - What do you do?

Scenario two

Kerry Beat Galway
                Mayo Beat Rossies
                Kerry beat Rossies
                Galway lose to Mayo
                Kerry already through put B team out against Mayo already through put B team
                Rossies v Galway who cares?

We all know you can have dead rubbers but you seem to be ignoring the reality that we could also have groups going down to the wire and scenarios where all teams can qualify going into the last round. There's no perfect solution but there's plenty of scope for great games in this format.

Quote from: Zulu on August 02, 2017, 12:56:36 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 02, 2017, 12:50:13 AM

Example    Kerry Beat Galway
                Mayo draw Rossies
                Kerry beat Rossies
                Galway beat Mayo
                Kerry already through put B team out against Mayo and lose
                Rossies Beat Galway

Kerry Qualified

Mayo and Rossies finish level on points and Score difference - What do you do?

Scenario two

Kerry Beat Galway
                Mayo Beat Rossies
                Kerry beat Rossies
                Galway lose to Mayo
                Kerry already through put B team out against Mayo already through put B team
                Rossies v Galway who cares?

We all know you can have dead rubbers but you seem to be ignoring the reality that we could also have groups going down to the wire and scenarios where all teams can qualify going into the last round. There's no perfect solution but there's plenty of scope for great games in this format.

Prolonging an already to drawn out Championship that will just see Kerry and Dublin in the final and give them more chances to feck up and recover along the way!

Sure why don't we scrap it altogether? The same few teams win most competitions in most sports. Like most others I want to see more football, not less. You always not watch it FtB.

Quote from: Zulu on August 02, 2017, 01:13:23 AM
Sure why don't we scrap it altogether? The same few teams win most competitions in most sports. Like most others I want to see more football, not less. You always not watch it FtB.

We will have to scrap it soon. Croke park has created a monster and we have now got to a stage where we celebrate a team losing by 9 points in a Leinster final.

Quote from: From the Bunker on August 02, 2017, 01:17:06 AM
Quote from: Zulu on August 02, 2017, 01:13:23 AM

We will have to scrap it soon. Croke park has created a monster and we have now got to a stage where we celebrate a team losing by 9 points in a Leinster final.

We only have to throw Dublin out. Monaghan/Mayo/Roscommon/Tyrone/Armagh/Kildare etc could have games among each other and you wouldn't know who would win.

Esmarelda

If the new format was to be applied to this year's championship, the first games wouldn't have been Kerry v Galway or Mayo v Roscommon. The first games would be the two provincial champions in that group playing each other.

For example, Dublin would play Tyrone this weekend. For argument's sake, say Dublin won, then Tyrone would go into their second game with zero points. Armagh would have played Monaghan and again, for argument's sake, say Monaghan won, then a provincial champion would be playing catch-up going into the second game. Depending on how the fixtures fell, we could have a situation where Tyrone would have to beat Monaghan to progress.

So as not to be as biased as some posters, it should be pointed out that of course in this scenario Dublin's last game against Armagh would be a dead rubber.

The system is not perfect and I think it will most likely ultimately fail due to the possibility of dead rubbers and the general moaning of the GAA public.

It's so much easier to moan endlessly than read the reasoning behind the proposal and give it a chance. It's going to be a long year.

It's been voted in for 3 years.
How about we see how it works out folks?

Quote from: Rossfan on August 02, 2017, 09:55:02 AM

Round robins aren't some new untested structure. We know exactly how they work without wasting three years with a transparent attempt by Duffy to paper over falling attendances.

Quote from: Syferus on August 02, 2017, 12:48:40 PM

Round robins aren't some new untested structure. We know exactly how they work without wasting three years with a transparent attempt by Duffy to paper over falling attendances.

Listen it will be great. Think of all the money that will be generated by all the extra home games for Dublin. Except for maybe their last dead Rubber game. But hey Dublin fans are so used to dead games at the moment they probably won't notice. For all the er teams just think of the novelty of playing all those games in Croker. Super Duper!

Are attendances falling that much? Rosc v Mayo will be well enough attended and the place is full on Saturday. It depends on the combination of teams involved.

Again, there were limitations imposed so the proposal is a reflection of what the membership wanted and what they didn't want. If we want a proper competition then it should be a league with (perhaps) a cup competition. But people don't want to be that drastic so we have a halfway house solution. We know you and FtB spend your days locked in a darkened room depressed at the big bad Dubs winning everything but let the rest of us enjoy the journey and see how the super 8 works out. I know everyone here will agree you've never been wrong on anything but perhaps the super 8 will buck the trend.

Quote from: armaghniac on August 02, 2017, 01:31:39 PM

Are attendances falling that much? Rosc v Mayo will be well enough attended and the place is full on Saturday. It depends on the combination of teams involved.

In the last 12 months the attendance of the exact same pairing in the Connacht final fell by about 7,000. This being a relatively competitive match-up, far removed from the one-sided drubbings Leinster has become known for. People are turning off their TVs and not bothering to attend. If you think the sport isn't shrinking you aren't really looking very closely at all.

Esmarelda

Quote from: Syferus on August 02, 2017, 02:06:41 PM

In the last 12 months the attendance of the exact same pairing in the Connacht final fell by about 7,000. This being a relatively competitive match-up, far removed from the one-sided drubbings Leinster has become known for. People are turning off their TVs and not bothering to attend. If you think the sport isn't shrinking you aren't really looking very closely at all.
What's the solution?

Quote from: Esmarelda on August 02, 2017, 02:42:08 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 02, 2017, 02:06:41 PM

What's the solution?

Dublin are the problem and the solution.