The Official Tennis Thread

Started by Doogie Browser, January 26, 2010, 11:25:28 AM

Well done Andy.  No one can say that one was a gimme.

Was further impressed by him when he was in the audience of Mock the Week after losing in Wimbledon.  Took the ribbing from the panel well (there was a lot).

Quote from: Denn Forever on September 11, 2012, 09:28:11 AM
Well done Andy.  No one can say that one was a gimme.

Was further impressed by him when he was in the audience of Mock the Week after losing in Wimbledon.  Took the ribbing from the panel well (there was a lot).

Dara O'Briain is on twitter taking credit for the win. :)

Fair play to him for seeing that one out. good mental strength

Not bad going for a lad who doesn't even like tennis, but is scared to tell his mother.

Quote from: LeoMc on September 11, 2012, 08:46:25 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on September 11, 2012, 02:12:45 AM
Top 4 won all 4 grand slams this yr, unreal stuff from murray, character and mental resolve, delighted for him....yes

4 Grand slams with 4 different winners and no-one looking like dominating. Keeps it fresh.

Nadal has missed a lot this year though.  When he is back from injury the next few years will be dominated by himself and Djokovic.

I will never make it as a tennis analyst.

I sat up until Andy had lost the fourth set, and thought, ah, he's gonna loose again. So i went on to bed. D'oh!

Quote from: nrico2006 on September 11, 2012, 10:47:50 AM
Top 4 won all 4 grand slams this yr, unreal stuff from murray, character and mental resolve, delighted for him....yes

4 Grand slams with 4 different winners and no-one looking like dominating. Keeps it fresh.

Nadal has missed a lot this year though.  When he is back from injury the next few years will be dominated by himself and Djokovic.

I wouldnt be so sure - theres no guarantee that Nadal will come back from injury to be the force he was and I have a feeling that Murray could go from strength to strength after this. His improvement over the last 12 months has been immense and if he can keep improving he could maintain an equal place amongst the big 2 (or 3) for the next few years.

QuoteNot bad going for a lad who doesn't even like tennis, but is scared to tell his mother.

Whatever about the first part I'd say you could add the tennis Mom phenomenon to the well known tennis Dad one in  this case

Quote from: BennyHarp on September 11, 2012, 10:55:29 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on September 11, 2012, 10:47:50 AM

I wouldnt be so sure - theres no guarantee that Nadal will come back from injury to be the force he was and I have a feeling that Murray could go from strength to strength after this. His improvement over the last 12 months has been immense and if he can keep improving he could maintain an equal place amongst the big 2 (or 3) for the next few years.
Ya nadals game is based on power and wearing down his opponent in a very physical way, he uses every fibre of his body to the max and it was eventually gonna break down although he has improved his serve and volley to win easier points, but usually its rally after rally shootouts, hes out for a few more months and will take a while to get back to full form, the other thing is he is world no4 and dropping the longer he is out so it means it will get harder draws, Murray is on the up, hes had some summer, wimbledon final, gold at olympics and now winning US open, murrays or Djokovic are in line for world no1 by the end of the yr as federer hasnt much ranking points to get (and hes 31 so hasnt too much left in tank), and bearing in mind the masters finals are on hardcourt in london and Australian open is one of murray best tournaments every year hes in a great position especially mentally. In fairness considering his history of losing finals and djokovic coming back to level at 2-2 sets all, that some last set.

Quote from: Declan on September 11, 2012, 11:39:30 AM
QuoteNot bad going for a lad who doesn't even like tennis, but is scared to tell his mother.

Whatever about the first part I'd say you could add the tennis Mom phenomenon to the well known tennis Dad one in  this case

I have to confess it wasn't original - I saw some stand-up use it on the Edinburgh festival highlights.

Another bloke had a very good line on soccer: It draws the poison from Saturday afternoons, so that decent people can go shopping, safe in the knowledge that the dangerous unsocialised have been lured into vast holding pens on the outskirts of town, where those wearing different colours go at each other like budgies at a mirror.

Same bloke: John terry always reminds me of skiing: a waste of money, likely to break your leg and the eyes are too close together.

Forever Green

Andy Murray is one dour looking bastard. I feel sorry for his lovely looking women

Must be time (at last) for the Monty Python Scottish Tennis Players sketch(es).  Voila!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sVbb6pZLfzU

front of the mountain

Frankie Boyle on twitter: Brilliant Andy Murray. "When we think of this date we will always remember your historic victory"