Tyrone vs Mayo AISF Semi-Final - August 25th

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, August 03, 2013, 08:45:26 PM

Quote from: Sidney on August 26, 2013, 01:02:17 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on August 26, 2013, 12:52:13 AM

5.22 To block or attempt to block with the boot when an opponent is kicking the ball from the hand(s).
5.23 To prevent or attempt to prevent an opponent from lifting or kicking the ball off the ground by striking an opponent's hand, arm, foot or leg with the boot.
5.24 To engage in any other form of rough play.
PENALTY FOR THE ABOVE FOULS -
(i) Caution the offender; order off for second cautionable foul.

It's only a foot block if you block the the foot or the natural arc of where the foot is going. The foot wasn't blocked or the natural arc where the foot was going wasn't blocked, the ball which was by then at least a yard away from the natural arc of the foot was what was blocked.

So, not a foot block, not a foul.

Ah man, I give up on this one - natural arcs? FFS!

SkillfulBill

Firstly congratulations to Mayo fully deserving of their victory today. Mayo showed they have the gears to go on and win an All Ireland.  I felt that Maurice Deegan had an awful day today.  His decisions throughout were inconsistent . The frees awarded to Mayo for their first 3 scores were dreadfully poor. The free awarded to Mayo and the cancellation of Mayos goal was mind boggling. His decision for the penalty was soft and outside the area and had a massive bearing on the outcome of the game. I really think it's time that the Gaa radically looks at how our games are refereed.

On the game itself Mayos second half performance showed tremendous determination and skill to come through a great test of their credentials today and passed with flying colours.

On Tyrone I was extremely pleased with how they performed. Tyrone look like a team who needed that experience on what is required to win these big games and I have seen enough to believe there is an all ireland or two in them.

But today is Mayos and I sincerely hope that they now go on and win it. I think they really need that level of game today which will stand to them in a few weeks time. Good luck in the final.

Come on Mayo

Sidney

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 26, 2013, 01:05:16 AM

Ah man, I give up on this one - natural arcs? FFS!
Well, do explain your view of the rule in less flowery language, so.

If a shot is blocked by a foot 20 yards away from the player who struck the ball, do you think that's a foot block?

If the player is 1 yard away, is it a foot block?

What do you think?

Interesting stat - it was 0-10 apiece from play today!

Sidney

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 26, 2013, 01:12:53 AM
That statistic really does show up Tyrone's fouling tactics, doesn't it?

Quote from: hardstation on August 26, 2013, 01:14:38 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 26, 2013, 01:05:25 AM
5 secs?

1.5 secs
Ye can't go back on a free in ffs. The fact that it wasn't a free doesn't matter a jot.
'Tis like Conor McManus getting up and putting it in the net.

He was wrong to call a free.

Quote from: Sidney on August 26, 2013, 01:13:49 AM
That statistic really does show up Tyrone's fouling tactics, doesn't it?

It sure does Sidney. And nothing to do with inept refereeing. ::)

Took Mayo over thirty minutes to score from play if they do that in the final it will be up hill task.

Quote from: hardstation on August 26, 2013, 01:18:34 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 26, 2013, 01:16:24 AM
5 secs?

1.5 secs
Ye can't go back on a free in ffs. The fact that it wasn't a free doesn't matter a jot.

Yes. Tyrone should have lost by 5.

Oh, aye, they missed it......justice.

Would've been a goal +3
Wasn't a penalty - 3
Was a free +1
2 bounces -1

TF15

Not all doom and gloom for Tyrone. The age profile of this team is very young, today will stand to a lot of the lads. McCurry, Ronan O'Neill, McAliskey, Coney, P.Harte, Conor Clarke, Mattie Donnelly, Ryan McKenna, Niall Morgan are all 22 or under. Bodes well for the future. I think today showed how important Morgan is going to be for us. In these chess matches where kick out placement is paramount; Packie struggled heavily. Whereas Rob Hennelly was able to consistently and accurately hit the wings. Best of luck to Mayo in the final, I hope you win but I have the feeling Cillian O'Connor missing could be too big a blow.

Quote from: hardstation on August 26, 2013, 01:26:47 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 26, 2013, 01:21:28 AM
5 secs?

1.5 secs

Would've been a goal +3
Wasn't a penalty - 3
Was a free +1
2 bounces -1
Had the ref not blown a free.....who knows....
Wasn't a pelanty -3
Was a pelanty for Tyrone + 3
3 early Mayo soft frees -3
etc

So ref =

SkillfulBill

Quote from: ONeill on August 26, 2013, 01:28:57 AM
Quote from: hardstation on August 26, 2013, 01:26:47 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 26, 2013, 01:21:28 AM
5 secs?

1.5 secs

Would've been a goal +3
Wasn't a penalty - 3
Was a free +1
2 bounces -1
Had the ref not blown a free.....who knows....
Wasn't a pelanty -3
Was a pelanty for Tyrone + 3
3 early Mayo soft frees -3
etc

So ref = A BOLLIX

SkillfulBill

How does an intercounty referee manage to miss not one but two double bounces in an all ireland semi.  Colm Boyle on 33min 35 sec. And then seamus o sheas for Mayo first point second half. Such basic errors by officals should not be tolerated Deegan should not be allowed to officiate at this level. It won't surprise me if they give him tge final.