26 County General Election 2020

Started by Snapchap, January 09, 2020, 06:52:51 PM

What will be makeup of the next government?

FF/SD/Lab/Green
FG/SD/Lab/Green
FG/FF
FF/Green
FG/Independents
FG/Green
FF/SF
FF/Green/Independents
FF Minority
FG Minority
FG/SF
FF/Lab/Green
FF/Lab
FF/Lab/Green/Independents

Angelo

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 13, 2020, 12:36:17 PM
Quote from: Angelo on February 13, 2020, 12:30:22 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 13, 2020, 11:57:45 AM
Quote from: Snapchap on February 13, 2020, 11:27:00 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 13, 2020, 10:18:50 AM
Quote from: Itchy on February 13, 2020, 09:31:45 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 13, 2020, 08:47:28 AM
Quote from: Itchy on February 12, 2020, 10:17:16 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 12, 2020, 08:44:58 PM
Quote from: weareros on February 12, 2020, 06:32:26 PM
But they will still be ministers. All continue in their caretaker role, including Leo as caretaker Taoiseach, until a new government is formed. Technically he could be Taoiseach for many months including as Hound said the visit to the White House on St. Paddy's Day. Indeed, if there is a new election later if no gov can be formed, he could go to the country slightly more popular than he was in February and come back with the most number of seats. Stranger things have happened.

Another election could see both FF and FG pick up seats.
They would have refined their manifestos and would have a right go at SF's fairytale.

See that is pure rubbish! Have a right go? what do you think they did in this election. They got every media outlet in the country to attack SF, they dragged up a 13 year old murder case and manipulated a grieving mother to further their goals. And they still failed and if SF ran in an election tomorrow they could take another 6 or 7 seats. You clearly have a hatred of SF, that's fair enough, but you are talking total garbage there - the kitchen sink was already thrown at SF and it failed and done nothing but drive people towards them.

Breege Quinn raised the story, still no apology

Breege Quinn has raised the story for 13 years, it got on front pages and into debates last week! If you think that is some sort of accident then there is nothing I can do for you.

Out of the 3 parties involved in this we have SF,FF,FG

FF/FG jumped on the bandwagon for political gain-crass and shallow

SF created a lie/slur about the family and defended it. They also clearly could have done more at the time to bring killers to justice.

Both bad, but you know which is worse

1. Cop yourself on. Breege Quinn has been campaigning for 13 years. Only last month did FG/FF/RTE etc show an interest in her.
2. SF didn't 'create' what you are calling a "lie/slur". Conor Murphy only said what was in the intelligence reports, including what was published by the Independent Monitoring Commission.

You must have misread what I wrote. I said FF/FG have jumped on story, but RTE in fact have been reporting on this for years(albeit with less intensity)
Of course SF created the slur-where have you been?
To make matters worse they never withdrew it despite many calls from Quinns!  And low and behold once an election comes along, Murphy gives a half hearted retraction-Now how is that any different in terms of political gamemanship  than what we seen from other parties.

And anyhow why jesus christ oh why would Murphy stand up and excuse a murder in the first place just because he might have been a smuggler or whatever. You really need to look at yourself lad. Shameful.

What kind of country do we want to live in?

Murphy never excused the murder.

Your shrieking comes across as staged, did you ever consider the theatre?

Everyone knows that Murphy knows who was in charge in Cullyhanna. You know that is true, you will not admit it though. He qualified the killing by saying that Quinn was a criminal.

Come back to me in 5 years(maybe longer for you-slow learner) when you have worked it all out.

It was stated by intelligence agencies that Quinn was believed to involved in criminal activity. He didn't excuse the killing, he denied there was any IRA involvement. I did not once hear him qualify the killing or excuse it as you're saying.

Only half the story is being reported in the media though. There is plenty of local knowledge of the type of person Quinn was and the type of activities he was involved in. That doesn't excuse, justify or diminish the barbaric way his life ended but it does add context.

Is there ever the same outrage when a person "known to police" is murdered, sometimes brutally?
GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: Angelo on February 13, 2020, 12:50:39 PM
But they will still be ministers. All continue in their caretaker role, including Leo as caretaker Taoiseach, until a new government is formed. Technically he could be Taoiseach for many months including as Hound said the visit to the White House on St. Paddy's Day. Indeed, if there is a new election later if no gov can be formed, he could go to the country slightly more popular than he was in February and come back with the most number of seats. Stranger things have happened.

They would have refined their manifestos and would have a right go at SF's fairytale.

See that is pure rubbish! Have a right go? what do you think they did in this election. They got every media outlet in the country to attack SF, they dragged up a 13 year old murder case and manipulated a grieving mother to further their goals. And they still failed and if SF ran in an election tomorrow they could take another 6 or 7 seats. You clearly have a hatred of SF, that's fair enough, but you are talking total garbage there - the kitchen sink was already thrown at SF and it failed and done nothing but drive people towards them.

Breege Quinn has raised the story for 13 years, it got on front pages and into debates last week! If you think that is some sort of accident then there is nothing I can do for you.

SF created a lie/slur about the family and defended it. They also clearly could have done more at the time to bring killers to justice.

1. Cop yourself on. Breege Quinn has been campaigning for 13 years. Only last month did FG/FF/RTE etc show an interest in her.
2. SF didn't 'create' what you are calling a "lie/slur". Conor Murphy only said what was in the intelligence reports, including what was published by the Independent Monitoring Commission.

You must have misread what I wrote. I said FF/FG have jumped on story, but RTE in fact have been reporting on this for years(albeit with less intensity)
To make matters worse they never withdrew it despite many calls from Quinns!  And low and behold once an election comes along, Murphy gives a half hearted retraction-Now how is that any different in terms of political gamemanship  than what we seen from other parties.

And anyhow why jesus christ oh why would Murphy stand up and excuse a murder in the first place just because he might have been a smuggler or whatever. You really need to look at yourself lad. Shameful.

Everyone knows that Murphy knows who was in charge in Cullyhanna. You know that is true, you will not admit it though. He qualified the killing by saying that Quinn was a criminal.

Come back to me in 5 years(maybe longer for you-slow learner) when you have worked it all out.

It was stated by intelligence agencies that Quinn was believed to involved in criminal activity. He didn't excuse the killing, he denied there was any IRA involvement. I did not once hear him qualify the killing or excuse it as you're saying.

Only half the story is being reported in the media though. There is plenty of local knowledge of the type of person Quinn was and the type of activities he was involved in. That doesn't excuse, justify or diminish the barbaric way his life ended but it does add context.

Is there ever the same outrage when a person "known to police" is murdered, sometimes brutally?

Usually the perpetrators are not linked to a political party

Angelo

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 13, 2020, 12:55:36 PM
Quote from: Angelo on February 13, 2020, 12:50:39 PM

Usually the perpetrators are not linked to a political party

Are they not?

I don't think that's the issue here.

The issue seems to be that Conor Murphy said Quinn was involved in criminal activity, a claim that was also made by intelligence agencies.

Look everyone knows it was a set up to throw this Quinn case at Mary Lou live on TV. Same tactic was used on Sean Gallagher when he ran for president. If people cannot see that then they probably just dont want to see what is right i front of them.

Angelo

Quote from: Itchy on February 13, 2020, 01:41:34 PM
Look everyone knows it was a set up to throw this Quinn case at Mary Lou live on TV. Same tactic was used on Sean Gallagher when he ran for president. If people cannot see that then they probably just dont want to see what is right i front of them.

Austin Stack, Mairia Cahill etc

It's strange that we never hear about the victims of the Stardust fire still awaiting justice. The Butterly family who owned the venue were big donors to FF and had close links to Charlie Haughey.

We also hear little of the Mary Boyle case, a 6 year old girl believed to have been abused and killed by a person known to her. There is multiple allegations from Gardai who worked on the case that a prominent FF politician in the area interfered in the investigation and stopped the prime suspect being questioned.

We don't hear much about the priest murdered in the midlands after a wedding, again the main suspects had close links to FF with a FF TD in attendance on the night of. A family friend of the main suspect handled the case and gave a not guilty verdict back.

The lack of appetite to solve the Dublin Monaghan bombings etc etc.

No outrage there though.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: Angelo on February 13, 2020, 01:53:12 PM

It's strange that we never hear about the victims of the Stardust fire still awaiting justice. The Butterly family who owned the venue were big donors to FF and had close links to Charlie Haughey.

We also hear little of the Mary Boyle case, a 6 year old girl believed to have been abused and killed by a person known to her. There is multiple allegations from Gardai who worked on the case that a prominent FF politician in the area interfered in the investigation and stopped the prime suspect being questioned.

We don't hear much about the priest murdered in the midlands after a wedding, again the main suspects had close links to FF with a FF TD in attendance on the night of. A family friend of the main suspect handled the case and gave a not guilty verdict back.

No outrage there though.

Such a bad and inaccurate post

Eire90

whats this talk about free houses so will everyone be giving a free house and where are the being built is it only dublin.

Quote from: Angelo on February 13, 2020, 01:53:12 PM

No outrage there though.
Excellent post.

Snapchap

No harm to you, but you are full of shit. Come down from your castle for a second. How did SF create the "slur" when it was based on the opinions of the security/intelligence services which was published for public consumption by the Independent Monitoring Commission. And since the IMC published the same claim, does that mean they too were "excusing" the murder? Or is that just the sort of political point scoring stoop bullsh1t you like to attach to Conor Murphy?

five points

Quote from: Snapchap on February 13, 2020, 03:52:42 PM
No harm to you, but you are full of shit. Come down from your castle for a second. How did SF create the "slur" when it was based on the opinions of the security/intelligence services which was published for public consumption by the Independent Monitoring Commission. And since the IMC published the same claim, does that mean they too were "excusing" the murder? Or is that just the sort of political point scoring stoop bullsh1t you like to attach to Conor Murphy?

The Shinners once mocked the IMC as 'three spooks and a lord'. Now apparently their word is gospel. ::)

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: five points on February 13, 2020, 04:04:07 PM

The Shinners once mocked the IMC as 'three spooks and a lord'. Now apparently their word is gospel. ::)

Lol. I was just about to type that. Ó Snodaigh wasn't a fan

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

You are brainwashed sur. Plus I am not an SDLP voter, I don't know where you got that. im a republican, just not a furry white one which shite hanging from my arse.

The view in South Armagh would be a bit different.

Snapchap

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 13, 2020, 04:07:28 PM
Quote from: five points on February 13, 2020, 04:04:07 PM

Lol. I was just about to type that. Ó Snodaigh wasn't a fan

The discussion isn't about the accuracy of the IMC report. The point is (and I think you know this, but are just desperately trying to dodge), is that they (the IMC) made the claim in the first instance. So Conor Murphy did not create it.

Back on subject FF decide not to have talks with SF about Government formation.
They will talk to others though.