Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Maguire01 on November 30, 2011, 08:35:04 PM

Title: Why is the 'Cadet' thread locked?
Post by: Maguire01 on November 30, 2011, 08:35:04 PM
 ???
Title: Re: Why is the 'Cadet' thread locked?
Post by: Minder on November 30, 2011, 08:46:23 PM
Good question.
Post by: screenexile on November 30, 2011, 09:47:09 PM
I would guess it's because Evil wankbag has hijacked it as some sort of 'ode' to Willie Frazier!
Post by: Evil Genius on November 30, 2011, 10:24:17 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 30, 2011, 09:47:09 PM
I would guess it's because Evil wankbag has hijacked it as some sort of 'ode' to Willie Frazier!
Wtf?  ???
Post by: Forever Green on November 30, 2011, 10:25:57 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on November 30, 2011, 10:24:17 PM
Wtf?  ???

You`re a wankbag. Its not that hard to understand
Post by: Evil Genius on November 30, 2011, 10:28:08 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on November 30, 2011, 10:25:57 PM
Wtf?  ???

Whatever.

Still wouldn't expain why the other thread was closed, though... ::)
Post by: oakleafgael on November 30, 2011, 10:33:22 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on November 30, 2011, 10:28:08 PM
Wtf?  ???

Whatever.

I would say at a guess because you made a crude attempt to name a poster
Post by: screenexile on November 30, 2011, 10:33:56 PM
Wtf?  ???

Whatever.

In plainer terms you hijacked the thread with your wattaboutery thus ending any reasoned debate!
Post by: Minder on November 30, 2011, 10:39:28 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on November 30, 2011, 10:33:22 PM
Wtf?  ???

Whatever.

When was that? He referred to Ulick as Donagh, as that was his previous username.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 30, 2011, 10:42:25 PM
Wtf?  ???

Nice........!
Post by: Forever Green on November 30, 2011, 10:43:57 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 30, 2011, 10:42:25 PM
Wtf?  ???

Nice........!

Thanks
Post by: Evil Genius on November 30, 2011, 10:44:24 PM
Wtf?  ???

Whatever.

How so?

Late Edit: And in any case, even if I had done some such thing, wouldn't it have been easier just to modify/delete the "offending" post, rather than locking the whole thread, without notification or explanation?
Post by: Puckoon on November 30, 2011, 10:44:48 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 30, 2011, 10:33:56 PM
In plainer terms you hijacked the thread with your wattaboutery thus ending any reasoned debate!

That's a cracker right there!
Post by: Lar Naparka on November 30, 2011, 10:52:00 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 30, 2011, 10:39:28 PM
Wtf?  ???

Whatever.

When was that? He referred to Ulick as Donagh, as that was his previous username.

Well, you were the OP and if you didn't lock it, one of the mods must have.
Somehow or another, I don't think EG can be blamed for ruining a "reasoned debate." ;D
Post by: Tyrones own on November 30, 2011, 10:58:18 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on November 30, 2011, 10:44:24 PM
Wtf?  ???

Whatever.

How so?

Late Edit: And in any case, even if I had done some such thing, wouldn't it have been easier just to modify/delete the "offending" post, rather than locking the whole thread, without notification or explanation?
Screen and Reasoned debate in the same sentence :D  Its par for
the course when they have no answer for ye EG...next thing they'll be ignoring you  ;D
Post by: Denn Forever on November 30, 2011, 11:06:07 PM
Can't be anything EG said.

He posted 3 time on that topic. 
The first one was a picture of children holding guns in front of Ti Chulainn centre. 
The second was a pisstake of the Mayor about what did he expect when present Duke of Edin. awards. 
The third was an article from the Daily Mail about a cadet who picked up a pipebomb.

Don't know how that derailed the debate.
Post by: screenexile on November 30, 2011, 11:30:44 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on November 30, 2011, 11:06:07 PM

The first one was a picture of children holding guns in front of Ti Chulainn centre. 
The second was a pisstake of the Mayor about what did he expect when present Duke of Edin. awards. 
The third was an article from the Daily Mail about a cadet who picked up a pipebomb.

What has a Cadet picking up a pipe bomb left by the Real IRA have to do with a Sinn Fein mayor not awarding a certificate to a youg girl. Is it because the word cadet appears in both instances that it's relevant?

For the record I think he should have presented the young girl with her certificate but all this talk of 'legitimate targets' smacks of Willie Frazier just ranting about all Republicans being war mongerers and tyrants and tarring us all with the same brush.
Post by: Evil Genius on November 30, 2011, 11:55:57 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 30, 2011, 11:30:44 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on November 30, 2011, 11:06:07 PM

What has a Cadet picking up a pipe bomb left by the Real IRA have to do with a Sinn Fein mayor not awarding a certificate to a youg girl. Is it because the word cadet appears in both instances that it's relevant?
In the fifth post on the original thread, "Forever Green" implied that the 14 year old Cadet snubbed by the Mayor was: "... a member of an army that has terrorised this place for years." and that he (FG) didn't "give a f**k what age they were".

It seemed to me that that was little different from the mindset which thinks it acceptable to leave a bomb disguised as a torch on the public pavement outside a TA camp, just before the local cadets were due to turn up for their training night. Never mind that any  passer-by could have picked it up, even if it was hoped by the bombers that it might be a Cadet, the fact remains that all Cadets are, by definition, children.

Quote from: screenexile on November 30, 2011, 11:30:44 PMFor the record I think he should have presented the young girl with her certificate but all this talk of 'legitimate targets' smacks of Willie Frazier just ranting about all Republicans being war mongerers and tyrants and tarring us all with the same brush.
How was I "tarring all Republicans with the same brush"?  ::)

My point was specifically directed at 'Forever Green' and the (unmistakeably) vile implications of his toxic post.

P.S. Whilst I'd like to think I'm rather more coherent than Willie Frazier [sic], I at least know  I'm more coherent than you... ::)

Post by: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 12:01:54 AM
Aye, sure handing out an award and leaving a pipe bomb at a base is very similar ffs

EG, why the f**k are you on this forum that is primarily about the GAA? You are a bitter, bitter bastard and almost all of your posts are a dig at the GAA or having a go at Nationalists

Post by: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2011, 12:06:20 AM
I suspect Forever Green's days here are numbered.
Post by: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 12:11:47 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2011, 12:06:20 AM
I suspect Forever Green's days here are numbered.

Could be Tony but it had to be said
Post by: trileacman on December 01, 2011, 12:19:58 AM
Quote from: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 12:01:54 AM
Aye, sure handing out an award and leaving a pipe bomb at a base is very similar ffs

EG, why the f**k are you on this forum that is primarily about the GAA? You are a bitter, bitter b**tard and almost all of your posts are a dig at the GAA or having a go at Nationalists
EG might be an outspoken unionist but i don't think he's particularly sore on the GAA. No more than most of us.
Post by: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 12:22:24 AM
Quote from: trileacman on December 01, 2011, 12:19:58 AM

EG, why the f**k are you on this forum that is primarily about the GAA? You are a bitter, bitter b**tard and almost all of your posts are a dig at the GAA or having a go at Nationalists
EG might be an outspoken unionist but i don't think he's particularly sore on the GAA. No more than most of us.

I have seen posts before by him and a couple of others comparing the GAA to the Orange Order, one of the most hate filled organisations in the world. That is f**king ridiculous and pretty sore on the GAA
Post by: Evil Genius on December 01, 2011, 12:26:33 AM
Quote from: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 12:01:54 AMAye, sure handing out an award and leaving a pipe bomb at a base is very similar ffs

I didn't say they were the same, nor was I criticising the Mayor (in that post, at least).

Rather I took exception to your assertion that it doesn't matter what age someone is, so long as they are wearing a Brit uniform etc. Of course, had that been all you said, I might have let it pass. However you also mentioned that you were "no fan of Sinn Fein", causing me to wonder exactly what shade of Republican you might be.

I think it safe to assume that you're not an SDLP supporter(!); does that mean your sympathies lie with those Republicans who are generally termed "Dissidents"? You know, Republicans such as the "Real IRA", who think it legitimate to blind and maim 14 year old Army Cadets. Or any old passer-by...

P.S. It wasn't a pipe bomb. Rather it was a booby-trap bomb concealed in a torch, designed to explode when someone switched it on. It was left on the public pavement, outside a TA Barrack, which itself is surrounded by Council Housing...

Quote from: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 12:01:54 AMEG, why the f**k are you on this forum that is primarily about the GAA?
Perhaps the term "Non GAA Discussion" provides a clue?   ::)

Anyhow, I like to think of my contributions here as "Unpaid Missionary Work"  ;)

Quote from: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 12:01:54 AMYou are a bitter, bitter b**tard and almost all of your posts are a dig at the GAA or having a go at Nationalists
Yep, I came here for the debate, and I stay here for the compliments... :D

Post by: Evil Genius on December 01, 2011, 12:30:08 AM
Quote from: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 12:22:24 AM

I have seen posts before by him...        ... comparing the GAA to the Orange Order, one of the most hate filled organisations in the world. That is f**king ridiculous and pretty sore on the GAA
Really? Some examples?
Post by: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 12:35:17 AM
EG, have you ever given your support to the British Army or do give your support to them? I am going to assume the answer is yes?
Post by: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 12:37:23 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on December 01, 2011, 12:30:08 AM

I have seen posts before by him...        ... comparing the GAA to the Orange Order, one of the most hate filled organisations in the world. That is f**king ridiculous and pretty sore on the GAA
Really? Some examples?

Am I f**k going to filter through all your bigoted posts just to get some examples but you have done so before in your whataboutery pish.
Post by: trileacman on December 01, 2011, 12:40:37 AM
EG and forever green, would you ever just realise youse are opposite sides of the same coin?
Post by: Evil Genius on December 01, 2011, 12:43:01 AM
Quote from: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 12:35:17 AMEG, have you ever given your support to the British Army or do give your support to them? I am going to assume the answer is yes?
Your assumption is correct.

So now that I've confirmed your suspicion, perhaps you'd do me the similar courtesy of letting me know exactly what shade of Republican you are (post #23, above). Have you ever, for instance, given your support to Dissident Republicans? Do you still?

No great hurry, btw - it can wait until you've found those posts where I've compared the GAA with the OO...  ::)
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 01, 2011, 12:44:09 AM
Say what you want about EG, I differ on much (nearly all) of what he says, and even though his posts tend to be long-winded and full of unnecessary grammatical 'finesse', he does provide good balance to this forum and always provide evidence to strengthen his arguments. Certainly not the worst poster.

As for Forever Green, I may be wrong but all you seem to go on about is Celtic.
Post by: Evil Genius on December 01, 2011, 12:48:08 AM
Quote from: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 12:37:23 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on December 01, 2011, 12:30:08 AM

Really? Some examples?

Am I f**k going to filter through all your bigoted posts just to get some examples but you have done so before in your whataboutery pish.
That's me "bang to rights", and no mistake... ::)
Post by: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 12:54:29 AM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on December 01, 2011, 12:44:09 AM
Say what you want about EG, I differ on much (nearly all) of what he says, and even though his posts tend to be long-winded and full of unnecessary grammatical 'finesse', he does provide good balance to this forum and always provide evidence to strengthen his arguments. Certainly not the worst poster.

Fair enough, a lot of what I write about is on Celtic but a lot of what EG writes about is anti-republican, anti Irish drivel so that point is pretty invalid. I just fail to understand why he comes on to a GAA forum and constantly throws digs in at the GAA and Republicans where the majority of the GAA`s support comes from. Would he not be more happier on an OWC website or some shit like that instead of coming on here and winding up the fenians?

Post by: Puckoon on December 01, 2011, 01:15:48 AM
Don't think for one second you speak for the majority when you either suggest EG should post elsewhere, or that you can call those (the majority again) who use this board as Fenians.
Post by: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 01:59:39 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 01, 2011, 01:15:48 AM
Don't think for one second you speak for the majority when you either suggest EG should post elsewhere, or that you can call those (the majority again) who use this board as Fenians.

Where did I say I do? This is my opinion, not yours and not the boards. I didn't say he should post elsewhere either, just that almost all his posts are looking for an argument and winding people up. How does he get enjoyment out of that without having some sort of bitterness towards the GAA and people of a Republican outlook?
Post by: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 02:20:08 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on December 01, 2011, 12:43:01 AM
Quote from: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 12:35:17 AMEG, have you ever given your support to the British Army or do give your support to them? I am going to assume the answer is yes?
Your assumption is correct.

So now that I've confirmed your suspicion, perhaps you'd do me the similar courtesy of letting me know exactly what shade of Republican you are (post #23, above). Have you ever, for instance, given your support to Dissident Republicans? Do you still?

No great hurry, btw - it can wait until you've found those posts where I've compared the GAA with the OO...  ::)

I would like to know then how can you constantly criticise the IRA and the Irish people for standing up for themselves when the British Army, the organisation you give support to, have committed far, far worse atrocities throughout the world including in your own land and to the people you share a country with? How can you see the IRA as any worse than the Army you support? Mistakes are made throughout war

Yes, I support Republicans in some of their actions and I disagree with some of their actions. A good few of them are senseless morons and mere criminals but there always has to be resistance until we are no longer occupied by Britain. Sinn Fein have not convinced me that they are doing enough to reunite Ireland and this is why I support these groups in some of their actions

About that GAA and OO comment, I cant be arsed reading through all your posts and perhaps it wasn't even you who said it but I do remember a poster making the comparison. I offer my apologies then for making an accusation without being able to back it up
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 01, 2011, 06:24:06 AM
Quote from: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 01:59:39 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 01, 2011, 01:15:48 AM

Where did I say I do? This is my opinion, not yours and not the boards. I didn't say he should post elsewhere either, just that almost all his posts are looking for an argument and winding people up. How does he get enjoyment out of that without having some sort of bitterness towards the GAA and people of a Republican outlook?

As a Republican and a GAA supporter I haven't noticed EG attack the GAA much. I have seen him challenge the tiny corner of Republicanism which is violent Nationalistic Republicanism and violent Socialist Republicanism but then again so does a large proportion of Republicans, Nationalists, Socialists and GAA supporters on this board.
Post by: Myles Na G. on December 01, 2011, 07:10:55 AM
Quote from: trileacman on December 01, 2011, 12:40:37 AM
EG and forever green, would you ever just realise youse are opposite sides of the same coin?
I disagree with that. Forever Green, judging by his latest posts on the cadet thread, is a hate-filled bigot. EG isn't.
Post by: haranguerer on December 01, 2011, 08:24:45 AM
I disagree also - EG tends to think about , and provoke thought with, his arguments...
Post by: AQMP on December 01, 2011, 09:29:46 AM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on December 01, 2011, 12:44:09 AM

Now hang on a minute, bang out of order, call in the Mods..."unnecessary" grammatical finesse..unnecessary?!?!?
Post by: deiseach on December 01, 2011, 09:29:54 AM
EG is not a bigot. That's not an opinion, it's a fact. If you think he is, then clearly you have a Wonderland view of language
Post by: AQMP on December 01, 2011, 09:54:28 AM
Quote from: deiseach on December 01, 2011, 09:29:54 AM
EG is not a bigot. That's not an opinion, it's a fact. If you think he is, then clearly you have a Wonderland view of language

+1.  EG has his views, I don't agree with a lot of them, some of them I do agree with.  He and I have had our jousts on the board, but he's not a bigot and his views are welcome on the board (in my opinion).  I'm sure in a few years we'll see him posting in the GAA section :P
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 01, 2011, 10:07:55 AM
Some boys letting themselves down badly on this thread with the abuse being hurled at EG. It would be a long time before he / she would stoop to such behaviour*.

It's an opinion, not a fact. That's just my opinion though.

* Apart from the time he called Fearon a fat fcuker.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 01, 2011, 10:19:02 AM
I agree. EG undoubtedly makes uncomfortable reading at times, and at other times he is completely wrong :D, but he never descends to the sort of abuse that other people seem to hurl at him, such as in this thread. Not much I agree with him on, but I feel I could have a pint and a debate with him at the golf next year.
Post by: Rossfan on December 01, 2011, 10:36:28 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 01, 2011, 10:19:02 AM
I agree. EG undoubtedly makes uncomfortable reading at times, and at other times he is completely wrong :D, .... Not much I agree with him on,....
+1.
He's a great addition to the board and in the middle of many long winded and sometimes smart alecky postings  makes many reasoned and thought provoking comments.
Sometimes he can be a bit of a pain but sure isnt that all part of the craic on a discussion board ? :D
Post by: AQMP on December 01, 2011, 10:48:14 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 01, 2011, 10:36:28 AM
I agree. EG undoubtedly makes uncomfortable reading at times, and at other times he is completely wrong :D, .... Not much I agree with him on,....
+1.
He's a great addition to the board and in the middle of many long winded and sometimes smart alecky postings  makes many reasoned and thought provoking comments.
Sometimes he can be a bit of a pain but sure isnt that all part of the craic on a discussion board ? :D

He's at home on the GAA board then! ;D
Post by: haranguerer on December 01, 2011, 11:16:56 AM

Omfg  ::)
Post by: Hardy on December 01, 2011, 11:27:50 AM
Quote from: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 12:54:29 AMa lot of what EG writes about is anti-republican

Rubbish. But he's trenchantly anti-pseudo-republican. That is, like 95% or more of us, he abhors those scum you're happy support no matter what age their victims are.

Even if he were "anti-republican" does the republican Ireland for which your heroes murder GAA members embrace the concept of censoring and silencing those who aspire to be equal enough to hold an opinion different to yours?

Quoteanti Irish drivel

E.G. is as Irish as you. Deal with it.

QuoteI just fail to understand why he comes on to a GAA forum and constantly throws digs in at … Republicans where the majority of the GAA`s support comes from.

Again, I’m certain you meant pseudo-republicans. And you have the neck to complain about others wrongly drawing an equivalence between the Orange Order and the GAA. It’s remarks like that that tar all GAA supporters with a very dirty brush. Get this straight – nobody but a moronic, deluded few GAA supporters has any time for the sort of “Republicans” you seem to represent.

Post by: Nally Stand on December 01, 2011, 11:37:16 AM
A thread about a thread. This place has gone to the dogs!
Post by: Forever Green on December 01, 2011, 02:11:48 PM
Fair enough lads. I have put my opinion forward in the knowing that this is the reaction I would get from it. I should have done so without the personal abuse and I apoligise to EG for that
Post by: orangeman on December 01, 2011, 02:20:10 PM
Lord Mayor Niall O Donnghaile apologises for 'offence caused'

Belfast's lord mayor has told the BBC that if he has caused offence to anyone then he apologises for it.

Sinn Fein's Niall O Donnghaile has been criticised by unionists on the council for refusing to present a Duke of Edinburgh award to a teenage army cadet.

He also said he would be prepared to meet the teenage girl.

But unionists have called for a public apology or for Mr O Donnghaile to step down.

Unionist councillors said they were "appalled" by the lord mayor's actions and they will present their demand for a public apology to the full council on Thursday evening.

Mr O Donnghaile told the BBC: "If I have caused any offence to anyone, I apologise."

He has also come under fire from a senior government minister.

Commons Leader Sir George Young said: "I very much hope we can move forward in a more consensual way than that gesture indicated."

Also speaking in the House of Commons, DUP MP Sammy Wilson called the lord mayor's refusal to present the award a "breathtaking display of bigotry".

However, Sinn Fein's Martin O Muilleor accused unionists of attempting to derail a progressive lord mayor.

"We won't be taking any lectures on inclusion from the DUP. These are the people who, for 100 years, would not have a Catholic lord mayor, never mind a Sinn Fein lord mayor," he said.

Gavin Robinson said the lord mayor's behaviour was "shameful" "Today, the DUP deputy lord mayor will not talk to the Sinn Fein lord mayor, never mind shake his hand. So whatever lessons we need to learn about outreach, and we all need to stretch ourselves in these matters, we won't be taking any lectures from the DUP."

'Petty bigotry'

The message to be delivered to council officials has been signed by members of the DUP, Ulster Unionists, PUP and independent unionist Frank McCoubrey.

It reads: "This council is appalled that the lord mayor politicised the Duke of Edinburgh Awards presentation in City Hall on 28 November by refusing to present an award to a young member of the Armed Cadet Forces; affirms that the civic position of lord mayor is about representing and respecting everyone within this city and calls on the lord mayor to publicly apologise for his actions and the gross offence caused.

"Failure to do so immediately would render his position untenable and he should resign."

Continue reading the main story
"
Start Quote
In order to avoid any unnecessary sensitivities to either party, it was arranged for the outgoing chairman of the organisation to present some of the certificates alongside me"
End Quote
Niall O Donnghaile
In a joint statement from the DUP and UUP, Aldermen Robin Newton and David Brown said that the lord mayor had brought his office into "disrepute by his actions".

They said that "such petty bigotry has no place in modern society".

On Tuesday, Mr O Donnghaile said he would be happy to meet the cadet and her family to explain his decision. He said it was "nothing personal".

"At the last minute I was informed that one of the awards was to be presented to a representative of the Army Cadet Force," Mr O Donnghaile added.

"In order to avoid any unnecessary sensitivities to either party, it was arranged for the outgoing chairman of the organisation to present some of the certificates alongside me.

"I take my responsibilities as being a mayor for all very seriously."
Post by: Nally Stand on December 01, 2011, 02:26:03 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 01, 2011, 02:20:10 PM
"Today, the DUP deputy lord mayor will not talk to the Sinn Fein lord mayor, never mind shake his hand..."

No change there then:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-13565893 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-13565893)

Taken from a BBC report back in MAY!! :
DUP backs Ruth Patterson over Sinn Féin mayor snub
(http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/53031000/jpg/_53031532_mayor3.jpg)
The DUP has supported deputy lord mayor Ruth Patterson after she snubbed the newly elected Sinn Fein lord mayor at a Belfast council meeting on Thursday.

Sinn Fein's Niall O Donnghaile, 25, offered his congratulations to Mrs Patterson but she did not acknowledge him.

"I wanted to wish her congratulations, it is unfortunate she refused to accept them," Mr O Donnghaile said."

(I'm sure someone started a thread about this at the time though, right?)
Post by: seafoid on December 01, 2011, 02:28:23 PM
I presumed the cadet thread had been drinking buckfast. 
Post by: deiseach on December 01, 2011, 02:29:55 PM
A worse-than-useless 'apology'.

Mr O Donnghaile told the BBC: "If I have caused any offence to anyone, I apologise."

"But if someone was not offended then I'm not sorry!"
Post by: Bingo on December 01, 2011, 02:31:26 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 01, 2011, 02:28:23 PM
I presumed the cadet thread had been drinking buckfast.

No it was about Cadet red lemonade and the harm it does to your teeth. Lethal stuff.
Post by: AQMP on December 01, 2011, 02:36:27 PM
Quote from: deiseach on December 01, 2011, 02:29:55 PM

The modern day political apology. 

Other forms include "Mistakes were made but no one individual was to blame" and Gordon Brown's famous "I take full responsibility for this and that's why I've sacked the person responsible" as he sacked someone else.
Post by: Orior on December 01, 2011, 04:33:03 PM
You're all a bunch of tossers.

Can one of you tell me exactly why you are offended by what the Mayor did in the first place and describe in detail the pain that it has inflicted on you.
Post by: deiseach on December 01, 2011, 04:50:28 PM
Quote from: Orior on December 01, 2011, 04:33:03 PM
You're all a bunch of t**sers.

Can one of you tell me exactly why you are offended by what the Mayor did in the first place and describe in detail the pain that it has inflicted on you.

Riiiight. So you can only comment on something if it inflicts pain on you personally. I must remember to never comment on the destination of the Sam Maguire, 'cos it's not as if it has anything to do with me
Post by: Orior on December 01, 2011, 04:58:15 PM
Quote from: deiseach on December 01, 2011, 04:50:28 PM

Riiiight. So you can only comment on something if it inflicts pain on you personally. I must remember to never comment on the destination of the Sam Maguire, 'cos it's not as if it has anything to do with me

Are are also offended because the deputy Mayor wont talk to the Mayor?
Post by: Applesisapples on December 01, 2011, 05:04:12 PM
Two comments:
I don't agree with a lot if not all of EG's posts. But this is a discussion board and as such he is entitled to enter into the discussion. On the numerous occasions where he has been talking cr*p and I can't be bothered arguing i just ignore him. but i enjoy the discussions. It wouldn't be a discussion board if we all agreed.
Secondly The Mayor in my opinion if he was presenting the DE awards should just have gone on ahead and if challenged after wards just claimed ignorance. However the actual embarrassment to the girl was caused when the UUP and Mike Nesbitt turned it into a political football. The Hypocrisy of the unionist position is clear from other posts here.
Post by: haranguerer on December 01, 2011, 05:15:22 PM
Quote from: deiseach on December 01, 2011, 02:29:55 PM

Again, what???

Post by: deiseach on December 01, 2011, 05:28:42 PM
Quote from: Orior on December 01, 2011, 04:58:15 PM

I'm not offended by either of them. But I think they're both setting out to be offensive
Post by: nifan on December 01, 2011, 06:01:35 PM

Personally rather than being offended Im embarassed that these are the sort of people that gain any sort of prominence in NI, and that there are so many who will be mortally offended by one of the twats but think the other is some sort of principled saint.
Post by: haranguerer on December 01, 2011, 06:08:30 PM
Quote from: nifan on December 01, 2011, 06:01:35 PM

Personally rather than being offended Im embarassed that these are the sort of people that gain any sort of prominence in NI, and that there are so many who will be mortally offended by one of the t**ts but think the other is some sort of principled saint.

Agreed. This is just a further example of someone who hasnt actually got a clue what he believes in or stands for, trying to do what is right by what he thinks he should believe in, or stand for. Noone seems to think for themselves any more. The whole thing is pathetic.
Post by: muppet on December 01, 2011, 06:59:51 PM

I reserve the right to be offended by people I don't know and have never met, who are talking about people I don't know and have never met, who are talking about something that may or may not have even happened and even if it did I wouldn't know it happened exactly as the people I don't know and never met say it did!
Post by: Maguire01 on December 01, 2011, 07:01:34 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 01, 2011, 11:37:16 AM
Indeed. But it's good that you joined in. Maybe you could answer the questions I asked on the other thread before it got locked?
Post by: Maguire01 on December 01, 2011, 07:05:20 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 01, 2011, 02:26:03 PM
"Today, the DUP deputy lord mayor will not talk to the Sinn Fein lord mayor, never mind shake his hand..."

No change there then:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-13565893 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-13565893)

Taken from a BBC report back in MAY!! :
DUP backs Ruth Patterson over Sinn Féin mayor snub
(http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/53031000/jpg/_53031532_mayor3.jpg)
The DUP has supported deputy lord mayor Ruth Patterson after she snubbed the newly elected Sinn Fein lord mayor at a Belfast council meeting on Thursday.

Sinn Fein's Niall O Donnghaile, 25, offered his congratulations to Mrs Patterson but she did not acknowledge him.

"I wanted to wish her congratulations, it is unfortunate she refused to accept them," Mr O Donnghaile said."

(I'm sure someone started a thread about this at the time though, right?)
That woman is indeed a disgrace as a public representative, and therefore is not someone any other public representative should measure themselves against.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 01, 2011, 07:13:20 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 01, 2011, 07:01:34 PM
Indeed. But it's good that you joined in. Maybe you could answer the questions I asked on the other thread before it got locked?

As far as I'm concerned he showed compromise. Take part in awards sponsored by what's-his-name, but not personally present awards to any British Army cadets etc. Compromise. If he had presented it to her, it wouldn't have bothered me anyway but he still showed a compromise. That's if I'm pushed for an answer because if i'm honest, this is a laughable excuse for a story. A sotrm in a little tea cup. As I say, it is a topic for the likes of yourself/trout/tonto/bingo/trileacman/minder etc to have a wee bashing session at SF. Have a ball. Nobody else cares enough outside of yourselves and the BBC. Everyone else knows well the good work Niall O'Donnghaille has been involved in.
Post by: Tonto on December 01, 2011, 07:19:10 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 01, 2011, 07:13:20 PM

As far as I'm concerned he showed compromise. Take part in awards sponsored by what's-his-name, but not personally present awards to any British Army cadets etc. Compromise. That's if I'm pushed for an answer because if i'm honest, this is a laughable excuse for a story. A sotrm in a little tea cup. As I say, it is a topic for the likes of yourself/trout/tonto/trileacman/minder etc to have a wee bashing session at SF. Have a ball. Nobody else cares enough outside of yourselves and the BBC. Everyone else knows well the good work Niall O'Donnghaille has been involved in.
As privileged as I am to be mentioned in your post, I didn't bash Sinn Fein at all!  Didn't even mention them.

I haven't particularly taken offence to what the Lord Mayor of Belfast did although I do think it was a bloody stupid thing to have done.  If he had given the award, who'd have known?! (That's a rhetorical question, btw  ;))

Actually, now that I'm here.  Still waiting for Forever Green to answer my question*.  Thanks.

*Edit: Just to clarify; that is the non-rhetorcial question on the last thread.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 01, 2011, 07:36:50 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 01, 2011, 07:13:20 PM

As far as I'm concerned he showed compromise. Take part in awards sponsored by what's-his-name, but not personally present awards to any British Army cadets etc. Compromise. That's if I'm pushed for an answer because if i'm honest, this is a laughable excuse for a story. A sotrm in a little tea cup. As I say, it is a topic for the likes of yourself/trout/tonto/trileacman/minder etc to have a wee bashing session at SF. Have a ball. Nobody else cares enough outside of yourselves and the BBC. Everyone else knows well the good work Niall O'Donnghaille has been involved in.
I'm more than happy to acknowledge the good work he has done to date. I think he showed great potential as one of SF's new breed - he was definitely very visible during Befast Music Week and I think it was no harm for Belfast to be seen to have a young Lord Mayor at this time. All of which made it all the more depressing that he made a mess of this.

And 'compromise' is a very creative way of framing it! He made a mess of it. He had to think on his feet and he got it wrong. If he was prepared to compromise his principles (a good thing here, in my opinion, in the name of progress) and present the awards, there's little logic in stopping where he did. How is it that presenting the awards not "shirking" his 'responsibilities as an Irish Republican', yet giving an award to a 14 year old Cadet is?

But it's good that he has apologised for it now.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 01, 2011, 07:43:51 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 01, 2011, 07:36:50 PM
How is it that presenting the awards not "shirking" his 'responsibilities as an Irish Republican', yet giving an award to a 14 year old Cadet is?
Compromise!

I'm glad you're happy now, it must have been hard for you!
Post by: Maguire01 on December 01, 2011, 07:52:41 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 01, 2011, 07:43:51 PM
How is it that presenting the awards not "shirking" his 'responsibilities as an Irish Republican', yet giving an award to a 14 year old Cadet is?
Compromise!
Of course it was! Did he half-shirk his responsibilities as an Irish Republican by giving out the awards he did? Where is the line drawn on principles and responsibilities?

He was caught on the hop. Simple as. If it was as simple as a compromise, he'd hardly feel the need to apologise now.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 01, 2011, 07:53:30 PM
I'm glad you're happy now, it must have been hard for you!
It wasn't.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 01, 2011, 08:28:01 PM
From Jude Collins:

The Mayor of Belfast and a shameful affair

(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-J379wD17V7c/TtdNMFU6XbI/AAAAAAAABJw/yAc8DVmt-mA/s320/Niall.jpeg)

It's good to see for once that the public of Belfast appear to be united against a shameful affair. I'm referring, of course, to the case of the British Army cadet who wasn't given  a Duke of Edinburgh award by the Lord Mayor Niall Ó Donnghaile. There really is a point where people have to say enough is enough, whether that's by words or actions – or in this case refusal to act.

Because what we have here is a 15-year-old who has been encouraged along the path of organized violence.  This child has barely reached the age of puberty, yet she has been enlisted in an organization where people are taught to kill other people – with guns, with grenades, with tanks, with rockets, with bombs. Last year cash-strapped Britain spent over £38 billion on training and equipping people to kill or threaten to kill other people. To that you can add another £34 billion for the Trident nuclear replacement, a death-programme designed to kill civilians by the million. Meanwhile there are nearly three million people out of work in Britain today, while those who are in work are having their pensions gutted and their pay slashed to fill the pockets of bankers and bond-holders.

It'll be three more years before this cadet child is allowed to vote. It'll be three more years before she can get married without his parents' consent. Yet right now, without a murmur from anyone, she is being inducted into the world of weapons, violence,  mutilation and death. Thank God someone at last has had the courage to refuse to lend his office to this corruption of the young. Maith thú, Lord Mayor – well done!
Post by: Myles Na G. on December 01, 2011, 09:02:43 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 01, 2011, 08:28:01 PM
From Jude Collins:

(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-J379wD17V7c/TtdNMFU6XbI/AAAAAAAABJw/yAc8DVmt-mA/s320/Niall.jpeg)

It's good to see for once that the public of Belfast appear to be united against a shameful affair. I'm referring, of course, to the case of the British Army cadet who wasn't given  a Duke of Edinburgh award by the Lord Mayor Niall Ó Donnghaile. There really is a point where people have to say enough is enough, whether that's by words or actions – or in this case refusal to act.

Because what we have here is a 15-year-old who has been encouraged along the path of organized violence.  This child has barely reached the age of puberty, yet she has been enlisted in an organization where people are taught to kill other people – with guns, with grenades, with tanks, with rockets, with bombs. Last year cash-strapped Britain spent over £38 billion on training and equipping people to kill or threaten to kill other people. To that you can add another £34 billion for the Trident nuclear replacement, a death-programme designed to kill civilians by the million. Meanwhile there are nearly three million people out of work in Britain today, while those who are in work are having their pensions gutted and their pay slashed to fill the pockets of bankers and bond-holders.

It'll be three more years before this cadet child is allowed to vote. It'll be three more years before she can get married without his parents' consent. Yet right now, without a murmur from anyone, she is being inducted into the world of weapons, violence,  mutilation and death. Thank God someone at last has had the courage to refuse to lend his office to this corruption of the young. Maith thú, Lord Mayor – well done!
If Niall was a pacifist - let's say a Quaker, or a Mennonite - and he'd taken his stance on the issue of organised violence, I'd have applauded his actions. But Niall isn't against violence. His party supported the so called armed struggle of the IRA, which claimed the lives of many children, and I've never heard Niall or Sinn Fein condemn the army of the Irish Republic or any other army for that matter. Niall and his party are opposed to the British Army, not organised violence per se. Jude misses the point. Deliberately so, I suspect.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 01, 2011, 09:19:08 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on December 01, 2011, 09:02:43 PM
From Jude Collins:

If Niall was a pacifist - let's say a Quaker, or a Mennonite - and he'd taken his stance on the issue of organised violence, I'd have applauded his actions. But Niall isn't against violence. His party supported the so called armed struggle of the IRA, which claimed the lives of many children, and I've never heard Niall or Sinn Fein condemn the army of the Irish Republic or any other army for that matter. Niall and his party are opposed to the British Army, not organised violence per se. Jude misses the point. Deliberately so, I suspect.

Are you a pacifist?
Post by: Myles Na G. on December 01, 2011, 09:48:32 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 01, 2011, 09:19:08 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on December 01, 2011, 09:02:43 PM
From Jude Collins:

Are you a pacifist?
No, not in the same way as the groups I mentioned, who would believe that violence is wrong in every circumstance. Respect to people who genuinely hold that view, but I believe there are some situations in which violence or force is justified.
Post by: Puckoon on December 01, 2011, 10:23:36 PM
Why's the top 5 movie thread locked?
Post by: MW on December 01, 2011, 11:01:29 PM
From Jude Collins:

Wait...Collins thinks that cadets in the ACF are taught to kill people guns, grenades, tanks, rockets and bombs?

Christ on a bike.
Post by: Orior on December 01, 2011, 11:05:25 PM
Quote from: nifan on December 01, 2011, 06:01:35 PM

Personally rather than being offended Im embarassed that these are the sort of people that gain any sort of prominence in NI, and that there are so many who will be mortally offended by one of the t**ts but think the other is some sort of principled saint.

But we (thats the royal we, hang on...., or the republican we depending on your political background) voted them in. So we're the t**ts. Drat, and double drat!

Post by: deiseach on December 01, 2011, 11:08:41 PM
I see that with his "if you were offended, I apologise" weasel apology, Niall O Donnghaile shares a place in the pantheon with Jeremy Clarkson. Maith an fear
Post by: LeoMc on December 01, 2011, 11:16:58 PM
My 2pence / cents worth

1. He made a bit of a b@lls, he apologised (kinda). it was accepted. End of story.
2. Ruth Patterson had some brass neck to lecture him about "respect for all the people of Belfast" when she could not shake hands with Belfasts First citizen.
3. Less of this leave EG alone cr@p. He is well fit to argue his own corner!
Post by: MW on December 01, 2011, 11:23:17 PM
Quote from: deiseach on December 01, 2011, 11:08:41 PM
I see that with his "if you were offended, I apologise" weasel apology, Niall O Donnghaile shares a place in the pantheon with Jeremy Clarkson. Maith an fear

They were just talking about that on Question Time - Dimbleby said it was a bit like Ken Clarke's "I'm sorry if anyone took offence" (non-)apology over his rape comments. Clarke's on the panel :D
Post by: MW on December 01, 2011, 11:24:37 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on December 01, 2011, 11:16:58 PM
My 2pence / cents worth

1. He made a bit of a b@lls, he apologised (kinda). it was accepted. End of story.
2. Ruth Patterson had some brass neck to lecture him about "respect for all the people of Belfast" when she could not shake hands with Belfasts First citizen.

Quite a pairing. Lordy.
Post by: ONeill on December 02, 2011, 12:01:40 AM
Come on Northern Ireland, come on.
There's a whole lot of work to be done.
We can make it in the end
With a little help from our friends.
So come on Northern Ireland, come on.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 02, 2011, 12:09:40 AM
Quote from: MW on December 01, 2011, 11:01:29 PM
From Jude Collins:

Wait...Collins thinks that cadets in the ACF are taught to kill people guns, grenades, tanks, rockets and bombs?

Christ on a bike.

Hmmm wherever could he have gotten the idea that British Army Cadets have any sort of training in shooting....

http://armycadets.com/become-a-cadet/what-youll-do/shooting/ (http://armycadets.com/become-a-cadet/what-youll-do/shooting/)
http://armycadets.com/become-a-cadet/what-youll-do/skill-at-arms1/ (http://armycadets.com/become-a-cadet/what-youll-do/skill-at-arms1/)
Post by: ziggysego on December 02, 2011, 12:44:55 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cycXuYzmzNg (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cycXuYzmzNg)
Post by: haranguerer on December 02, 2011, 08:56:48 AM
Quote from: MW on December 01, 2011, 11:01:29 PM
From Jude Collins:

Christ on a bike.

ffs - read. Leaving aside whether they actually are or not, where does Jude Collins say they are??
Post by: haranguerer on December 02, 2011, 09:00:10 AM

So he should specifically apologise to all those who weren't offended? What would the point in that be??
Post by: nifan on December 02, 2011, 09:15:27 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on December 02, 2011, 08:56:48 AM
ffs - read. Leaving aside whether they actually are or not, where does Jude Collins say they are??

This child has barely reached the age of puberty, yet she has been enlisted in an organization where people are taught to kill other people – with guns, with grenades, with tanks, with rockets, with bombs.
Post by: AQMP on December 02, 2011, 09:17:11 AM

O Donnaghaile had to think on his feet and got it wrong, Clarkson had to think on his feet and got it right :P
Post by: AQMP on December 02, 2011, 09:20:35 AM
Bit over the top there from Jude Collins, though I think as a society (in NI) we should certainly aim to be less militaristic in our ways and for that reason I wouldn't encourage either of my kids to join the Cadets.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 02, 2011, 12:36:32 PM
Sweet f**k the BBC are really trying to make a major story out of this rubbish. Wendy Austin on Radio Uladh has obviously been listening to Bingo on gaaboard... "what if a Unionist mayor refused to shake the hands of a young GAA player".  >:(  Unacceptable that the GAA are effectively being described as the Irish equivalent of the British Army Cadets.
Post by: sheamy on December 02, 2011, 12:39:36 PM
f**k the british army...that's all I have to say
Post by: Nally Stand on December 02, 2011, 12:49:39 PM
Quote from: sheamy on December 02, 2011, 12:39:36 PM
f**k the british army

Post by: Íseal agus crua isteach a on December 02, 2011, 01:25:37 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 02, 2011, 12:49:39 PM
f**k the british army

http://youtu.be/m2pT6EIdOWI 
Post by: haranguerer on December 02, 2011, 01:37:44 PM
Quote from: nifan on December 02, 2011, 09:15:27 AM

This child has barely reached the age of puberty, yet she has been enlisted in an organization where people are taught to kill other people – with guns, with grenades, with tanks, with rockets, with bombs.

Its a sponsored wing of the british army, I think we all know thats what hes referring to
Post by: Trout on December 02, 2011, 02:17:43 PM
f**k the british army

It's understandable you feel that way, considering the absolute defeat they handed down to you boys.
Post by: Applesisapples on December 02, 2011, 02:21:32 PM
Tout it would be refreshing to see you make a positive comment on something for a change, rather than your usual wind ups.
Post by: muppet on December 02, 2011, 02:22:33 PM
Quote from: Trout on December 02, 2011, 02:17:43 PM
f**k the british army

It's understandable you feel that way, considering the absolute defeat they handed down to you boys.

Famine was their most devastating weapon.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 02, 2011, 02:40:11 PM
f**k the british army

Is that a fact now?...

www.youtube.com/watch?v=MRJGfe0k7rI
Post by: Evil Genius on December 02, 2011, 03:01:31 PM
Well I suppose there's a sort of consistency in O'Donnghaille...

He made the following observation in his Blog in March 2009:
Ó Donnghaile condemns Short Strand British Army recruitment drive

Sinn Féin's East Belfast Representative Niall Ó Donnghaile has branded the decision to distribute recruitment literature for the British Army in the Short Strand area as both 'inappropriate' and 'deeply offensive'.
Speaking today Mr Ó Donnghaile said, "Yesterday like many other residents in the Short Strand I was surprised to find glossy recruitment literature for the British 'Territorial Army' in my letter box. I have been contacted by a number of residents highlighting their offence at this move since then.
The Short Strand is an area that has suffered greatly at the hands of numerous British Army regiments over a long number of years.
I spoke with one resident today, whose brother was gunned down by the British Army on the streets of this Parish while going about his daily business; understandably he is deeply hurt and angry that this literature would be directed at trying to recruit his sons into that same Army, I share his anger at the move.
Society in the North is moving on; even Hugh Orde accepts that there is no need for the British Army to return to our streets. There is also no need for this inappropriate and offensive attempt by the British TA to recruit young Irish people from this community under false promises of some sort of worthwhile career." CRÍOCH

Of course, if he wasn't so prone to take offence in the blink of an eye, further enquiry might have revealed that it was a simple delivery error by the (ahem) Royal Mail, as 'Level Headed Nationalist' pointed out:
This campaign was not targetted directly at Short Strand residents. In fact, the Army went out of it's way to exclude 'contentious' areas from the campaign. I know this for a fact. Parts of The Short Strand share the same postcode sector as the Albertbridge Road. Any overspill into The Short Strand was unintentional.
For those young men and women who are willing to take a broader look outside their immediate surroundings (that, in the case of the Short Strand has been turned into something of a ghetto by the selfish interests of particular groups) the Army provides a worthwhile and very well paid career option. In fact, 20% of all applicants in NI are from the Republic of Ireland because vacancies in the Irish Army are so limited.
Grow up. Northern Ireland has indeed moved on. The Army are not on the streets in this country any more. The war in Iraq has ended (we can all agree it was illegal) and they are off fighting a worthier cause in Afghanistan (trying to stop religous nuts from making the lives of ordinary people a misery and making sure northern Pakistan doesn't go the same way.) Sounds vaguely familiar eh....?
Northern Ireland has moved on, the British Army has moved on (quite literally.) If only you you could do the same.

P.S. I quite liked this comment on another site: "I dont know why Mayor Niall O'Donalhsag@#*&^%&* is getting so worked up about a wee girl in the army cadets. Both his parents were in the Provos. The chances are fairly high that at least one of them was also working for the British security services in one form or other."
Post by: Nally Stand on December 02, 2011, 03:11:09 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 02, 2011, 02:40:11 PM
f**k the british army

Is that a fact now?...

www.youtube.com/watch?v=MRJGfe0k7rI

Yes is that a fact Trout?? Cos the British Army have publically disgreed with that assertion:

Army paper says IRA not defeated
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/6276416.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/6276416.stm)
Post by: HiMucker on December 02, 2011, 03:42:27 PM
"This guy is not a dick, far from it. Lets's look at the facts. He agreed to present Duke of Edinburgh Awards to my mind a step forward. During the course of the organisation some one pointed out that one of the award winners was in the Army Cadets. Given his constituency and the still raw sensitivities in some nationalist areas regarding the behaviour of the army during the conflict he quietly arranged for the presentation to be shared with the Chairman of the organisers. The girl was unaware that this was not the original intention. The real dick here is Mike Nesbitt and the UUP who brought this to the media's attention thus singling this girl out. Now personally it wouldn't bother me if he had presented her with her award but it does to the people he represents and would give further ammo if you'll pardon the pun to the dissidents. I have watched this guy closely and he is continuously stretching out the hand of friendship... what do the Unionist's do? they attack him disingeniously. He recent visited the cenotaph with a VIP, I can't remember the exact circumstances, the response from unionists was to pillory him for not attending remembrance Sunday. The Unionist parties only want a shared future on their terms...no Irish need apply, croppies lie down, take your pick."

This post my apples is the most sensible I have read on this matter and it would be difficult for anyone, even the the gifted word smiths on here to counter it.
Post by: Trout on December 02, 2011, 04:06:25 PM
So tell me then how did that work out about unifying Ireland, ah I forgot that was never the aim it was only so we could have houses and jobs and smash the orange state. What was it a score draw ? I would say the Brits were a lot happier with how things concluded. Union intact and the IRA bogeymen doing their bidding in Stormont.

Not defeated? You couldn't make it up. As for the YouTube link, do you think he would hold that opinion now?
Post by: Maguire01 on December 02, 2011, 04:31:27 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on December 02, 2011, 01:37:44 PM

Its a sponsored wing of the british army, I think we all know thats what hes referring to
He was being sensationalist and disingenuous to say the least. It's not part of the British Armed Forces.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 02, 2011, 04:33:43 PM
Quote from: Trout on December 02, 2011, 04:06:25 PM
As for the YouTube link, do you think he would hold that opinion now?

Well, the British Army's own review of 'Operation Harvest', which concluded that they did not and could not defeat the IRA, was written in 2007. So I'd say he probably would still say that yes :D
Post by: Maguire01 on December 02, 2011, 04:33:53 PM
From Jude Collins:

I assume, given the Mayor's climbdown, that Collins doesn't consider him to be just as courageous anymore.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 02, 2011, 04:39:00 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 02, 2011, 04:33:53 PM
From Jude Collins:

I assume, given the Mayor's climbdown, that Collins doesn't consider him to be just as courageous anymore.

Not being Jude Collins, I have no idea if your assumption is correct.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 02, 2011, 04:48:56 PM
Compromise!
Was listening to Máirtín O'Muilleoir on Radio Uladh this morning - he's being a bit more honest in his assessment of how the whole incident has played out, referring to it as a 'slip up' and admitting it was badly handled. That's what we need to see in politicians - an ability to put their hands up where appropriate - it's a lot easier to respect than continuous spin.

And speaking of O'Muilleoir, surely it's only a matter of time before he's up in Stormont? He appears to be miles ahead of any of the current 5 West Belfast MLAs.
Post by: sheamy on December 02, 2011, 04:55:29 PM
Máirtín is too saft...when Mike Nesbitt comes to an Easter commemoration, we'll know we have parity of esteem.

(read Máirtín's book - Belfast's Dome of delight. Very funny in parts and gives a great account of life on Belfast Council in the 80-90's. Especially the bits about breeding gondolas and giving the city hall a coat of durex)
Post by: Trout on December 02, 2011, 05:16:48 PM
Right Nally, and whoever else wants to answer, so you see the IRA as "undefeated", so what did they win, considering their political wing and former members ended up in a British Institution in Stormont. Even Sinn Fein can't spin that as victory, well not to anyone with more than two brain cells.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 02, 2011, 07:02:45 PM
Quote from: Trout on December 02, 2011, 05:16:48 PM
Right Nally, and whoever else wants to answer, so you see the IRA as "undefeated", so what did they win, considering their political wing and former members ended up in a British Institution in Stormont. Even Sinn Fein can't spin that as victory, well not to anyone with more than two brain cells.

You said they were defeated by the british army. I only said you were talking shite. The british army seemingly would agree that you were talking shite. The IRA didn't win either. I never claimed they did. Militarily, neither side could defeat eachother. What the IRA did do however, was force the british government to sit down and talk. Without the IRA campaign, we would not have near the level of equality and peace that we currently have.
Post by: Trout on December 02, 2011, 07:24:37 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 02, 2011, 07:02:45 PM
Quote from: Trout on December 02, 2011, 05:16:48 PM

You said they were defeated by the british army. I only said you were talking shite. The british army seemingly would agree that you were talking shite. The IRA didn't win either. I never claimed they did. Militarily, neither side could defeat eachother. What the IRA did do however, was force the british government to sit down and talk. Without the IRA campaign, we would not have near the level of equality and peace that we currently have.

Sunningdale?????????

So it looks like a principled stance by the Lord Mayor then, well maybe not him but by someone in HQs

Mick Fealty on Slugger

"Just heard the whole event was delayed 45 minutes while The Mayor called base for further instructions. As Máirtín said this morning no one in SF will be putting this on their CVs."
Post by: ziggysego on December 02, 2011, 08:01:43 PM
The Unionist are getting their own back

http://www.u.tv/News/Row-over-Irish-language-festive-sign/b288bca8-61e1-40c5-917c-ec9f995f472b (http://www.u.tv/News/Row-over-Irish-language-festive-sign/b288bca8-61e1-40c5-917c-ec9f995f472b)
Post by: LondonCamanachd on December 02, 2011, 08:08:56 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 02, 2011, 08:01:43 PM

http://www.u.tv/News/Row-over-Irish-language-festive-sign/b288bca8-61e1-40c5-917c-ec9f995f472b (http://www.u.tv/News/Row-over-Irish-language-festive-sign/b288bca8-61e1-40c5-917c-ec9f995f472b)

I guess someone from the island of GB saying "why can't they just live and let live!?" is insensitive and patronising?  And if it is, does it still mean i'm wrong?
Post by: Tonto on December 02, 2011, 08:22:03 PM

Urgh.  Why would the word 'unionist' have a capital U in that article?
Post by: ardal on December 02, 2011, 08:24:26 PM
It's being used as a proper noun? ???
Post by: Rossfan on December 02, 2011, 08:38:21 PM

A lot of masks slipping these days it would seem.
Some bitter twisted oul cnuts alright.
Do Unionists get a shoe allowance for all this walking out they indulge in a lot?
Post by: Tonto on December 02, 2011, 08:41:34 PM
Quote from: ardal on December 02, 2011, 08:24:26 PM
It's being used as a proper noun? ???
But it's not, is it? If you're referring to the Ulster Unionists or Democratic Unionists fair enough, but 'unionist' by itself doesn't need a capital just as 'nationalist' or 'libertarian' wouldn't have a capital letter either.

Anyway, just a wee pet hate of mine!  :-[
Post by: ardal on December 02, 2011, 08:59:11 PM
Like myself not liking sentences which begin with "But", but getting back to the point. Although I would tend to agree with you regarding the capital "U", the possibility still exists that it's being used as a proper noun. Without a greater context it's not possible to be sure. The poster is therefore innocent until shot in the back of the head
Post by: JUst retired on December 03, 2011, 07:23:49 AM
The lady deputy mayoress has some neck on her to lecture wee Martin,about manners. She refused to shake hands with him when he was elected.The old blood is getting up leading up to the centenary of the signing of the covenant,which by the way they want to hold in Stormont. Is this claiming the ground back after a Poc Fada was held there last year. They did the same with a rally in the Ulster hall a few years back after a Sinn Fein rally was held there.
Post by: sammymaguire on December 03, 2011, 07:45:14 AM
Are youse still rattling on about a nothing incident on here? This thread is truly riveting folks  ::)
Post by: haranguerer on December 03, 2011, 09:11:28 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 02, 2011, 04:31:27 PM

He was being sensationalist and disingenuous to say the least. It's not part of the British Armed Forces.

For all intents and purposes, it is
Post by: Maguire01 on December 03, 2011, 10:48:39 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on December 03, 2011, 09:11:28 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 02, 2011, 04:31:27 PM

For all intents and purposes, it is
'Inextricably linked' probably sums it up. But the Cadets, as I understand, aren't messing around with tanks, grenades, bombs etc, which is what that blog might lead some to believe.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 03, 2011, 10:49:33 AM
Quote from: JUst retired on December 03, 2011, 07:23:49 AM
The lady deputy mayoress has some neck on her to lecture wee Martin,about manners.
I think you're confused.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 03, 2011, 10:52:38 AM
Quote from: JUst retired on December 03, 2011, 07:23:49 AM
The old blood is getting up leading up to the centenary of the signing of the covenant,which by the way they want to hold in Stormont. Is this claiming the ground back after a Poc Fada was held there last year. They did the same with a rally in the Ulster hall a few years back after a Sinn Fein rally was held there.
I don't you can accuse the unionists of copying SF when it comes to holding a rally in the Ulster Hall! SF are very much playing catch-up on that one.
Post by: MW on December 03, 2011, 12:50:23 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 02, 2011, 04:33:43 PM
Quote from: Trout on December 02, 2011, 04:06:25 PM
As for the YouTube link, do you think he would hold that opinion now?

Well, the British Army's own review of 'Operation Harvest', which concluded that they did not and could not defeat the IRA, was written in 2007. So I'd say he probably would still say that yes :D

Have you got a source for that claim?

Btw you seem pretty poorly informed given that "Operation Harvest" was the IRA's name for an earlier, also failed, "campaign".
Post by: JUst retired on December 04, 2011, 07:05:35 AM
Maguire, I think you missed my point,I am aware that they used the hall long before the shinners. What i`m saying is they are decontaminating it because the shinners sullied it in some way by being there. :) 
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 06, 2011, 02:47:19 PM
Courtesy of @markdevenport

Martin McGuinness describes Belfast mayor's refusal to give army cadet a Duke of Edinburgh certificate "undoubtedly a mistake"

Comments on a postcard from all you Shinners that defended the decision...
Post by: sammymaguire on December 06, 2011, 03:06:18 PM
What about, maybe Marty's wrong on this one?   ???  ::)
Post by: ziggysego on December 06, 2011, 03:30:59 PM
Quote from: Tonto on December 02, 2011, 08:22:03 PM

To me a small u is all people of a unionist persuasion, where as capital U is a unionist member of a Unionist party. Hope that explains Tonto :)
Post by: Evil Genius on December 06, 2011, 04:31:40 PM
Hmmm. No doubt His Honour the Mayor, and the Shinners on this Board, deplore the British Army for sponsoring the Combined Cadet Force, seeing as it "militarises" children etc.

Yet while searching for something else on the "CAIN" list of deaths during The Troubles, I chanced upon the following references:

O'Donnell, Dwayne 03 March 1991, (17) Catholic
Status: Irish Republican Army (IRA), Killed by: Ulster Volunteer Force (UVF)
Shot in car park next to Boyle's Bar, Cappagh, County Tyrone.

O'Hare, Gerard 23 September 1971, (17) Catholic
Status: Official Irish Republican Army (OIRA), Killed by: Official Irish Republican Army (OIRA)
Killed in premature bomb explosion at house, Merrion Street, Lower Falls, Belfast.

O'Neill, James 12 February 1976, (17) Catholic
Status: Irish Republican Army Youth Section (IRAF), Killed by: Irish Republican Army (IRA)
Died when badly burnt during arson attack on furniture warehouse, Antrim Road, New Lodge, Belfast.

O'Riordan, Sean 23 March 1972, (13) Catholic
Status: Irish Republican Army Youth Section (IRAF), Killed by: British Army (BA)
Shot during petrol bomb attack on British Army (BA) foot patrol, Cawnpore Street, Falls, Belfast.
http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/sutton/alpha/O.html

The above four "cadets" were only those whose names begin with the letter "O" and who actually died whilst "on active service" [sic].

Therefore I'd guess that the IRA must have recruited and used hundreds, if not thousands, of youngsters under the age of 18 in various of their operations, including street rioting, information collecting, weapons transporting and lookout duties etc, right up to bombings and attacks.

Which makes the leadership every bit as bad as bloody paedophiles, in my book.  >:(

Then again, we now know that some of them were both...  :o

"Gerry Adams, the president of Sinn Féin and MP for Belfast West, today revealed that his late father had "emotionally, physically and sexually" abused members of their large family...          ... Since the 1940s, Gerry Adams senior has been a figure venerated in the movement. As a young IRA activist he was shot and wounded by the RUC at the age of 16."
http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2009/dec/20/gerry-adams-reveals-abuse-father
Post by: Agent Orange on December 06, 2011, 04:34:00 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 06, 2011, 03:30:59 PM

To me a small u is all people of a unionist persuasion, where as capital U is a unionist member of a Unionist party. Hope that explains Tonto :)

Are you an English teacher Ziggy?
Post by: orangeman on December 06, 2011, 04:35:18 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 06, 2011, 02:47:19 PM

Martin McGuinness describes Belfast mayor's refusal to give army cadet a Duke of Edinburgh certificate "undoubtedly a mistake"

Martin promises to be a good boy from now on.

O Donnghaile award action a mistake: Martin McGuinnness

Sinn Fein's Martin McGuinness has said Belfast Lord Mayor Niall O Donnghaile's refusal to present an award to a young Army cadet was "undoubtedly a mistake".

He was replying to a question in the assembly from Ulster Unionist leader Tom Elliott.

On Monday night, Mr O Donnghaile apologised to the council for refusing to present the Duke of Edinburgh award to the teenager.

Mr McGuinness, the deputy first minister, welcomed the mayor's apology.

The Sinn Fein deputy leader said Mr O Donnghaile had made a clear commitment that the mistake would not be repeated.

Post by: ziggysego on December 06, 2011, 04:46:39 PM
Quote from: Agent Orange on December 06, 2011, 04:34:00 PM

Are you an English teacher Ziggy?

:D No, far from it. Some would say I'd need one.
Post by: AQMP on December 06, 2011, 05:20:14 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 06, 2011, 04:35:18 PM

Sinn Fein's Martin McGuinness has said Belfast Lord Mayor Niall O Donnghaile's refusal to present an award to a young Army cadet was "undoubtedly a mistake".

He was replying to a question in the assembly from Ulster Unionist leader Tom Elliott.

On Monday night, Mr O Donnghaile apologised to the council for refusing to present the Duke of Edinburgh award to the teenager.

The Sinn Fein deputy leader said Mr O Donnghaile had made a clear commitment that the mistake would not be repeated.

Is it not Niall who is promising to be a good boy?
Post by: orangeman on December 06, 2011, 05:34:36 PM
Quote from: AQMP on December 06, 2011, 05:20:14 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 06, 2011, 04:35:18 PM

Is it not Niall who is promising to be a good boy?

Doesn't really matter who said it - Martin was prepared to say it on Niall's behalf. Niall got himself into the corner - Martin backed him out of it.
Post by: Minder on December 06, 2011, 05:41:02 PM
Niall was only following orders from HQ.
Post by: Tonto on December 06, 2011, 06:22:39 PM

Yes, Ziggy.  Thank-you. ::)
Post by: Myles Na G. on December 06, 2011, 06:28:26 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on December 06, 2011, 04:31:40 PM
Hmmm. No doubt His Honour the Mayor, and the Shinners on this Board, deplore the British Army for sponsoring the Combined Cadet Force, seeing as it "militarises" children etc.

Yet while searching for something else on the "CAIN" list of deaths during The Troubles, I chanced upon the following references:

O'Donnell, Dwayne 03 March 1991, (17) Catholic
Status: Irish Republican Army (IRA), Killed by: Ulster Volunteer Force (UVF)
Shot in car park next to Boyle's Bar, Cappagh, County Tyrone.

O'Hare, Gerard 23 September 1971, (17) Catholic
Status: Official Irish Republican Army (OIRA), Killed by: Official Irish Republican Army (OIRA)
Killed in premature bomb explosion at house, Merrion Street, Lower Falls, Belfast.

O'Neill, James 12 February 1976, (17) Catholic
Status: Irish Republican Army Youth Section (IRAF), Killed by: Irish Republican Army (IRA)
Died when badly burnt during arson attack on furniture warehouse, Antrim Road, New Lodge, Belfast.

O'Riordan, Sean 23 March 1972, (13) Catholic
Status: Irish Republican Army Youth Section (IRAF), Killed by: British Army (BA)
Shot during petrol bomb attack on British Army (BA) foot patrol, Cawnpore Street, Falls, Belfast.
http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/sutton/alpha/O.html

The above four "cadets" were only those whose names begin with the letter "O" and who actually died whilst "on active service" [sic].

Therefore I'd guess that the IRA must have recruited and used hundreds, if not thousands, of youngsters under the age of 18 in various of their operations, including street rioting, information collecting, weapons transporting and lookout duties etc, right up to bombings and attacks.

Which makes the leadership every bit as bad as bloody paedophiles, in my book.  >:(

Then again, we now know that some of them were both...  :o

"Gerry Adams, the president of Sinn Féin and MP for Belfast West, today revealed that his late father had "emotionally, physically and sexually" abused members of their large family...          ... Since the 1940s, Gerry Adams senior has been a figure venerated in the movement. As a young IRA activist he was shot and wounded by the RUC at the age of 16."
http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2009/dec/20/gerry-adams-reveals-abuse-father
Recruiting teenagers is a bit of republican tradition.

The Patriot Game

Lyrics by Dominic Behan

Come all ye young rebels, and list while I sing,
For the love of one's country is a terrible thing.
It banishes fear with the speed of a flame,
And it makes us all part of the patriot game.

My name is O'Hanlon, and I've just turned sixteen.
My home is in Monaghan, and where I was weaned
I learned all my life cruel England's to blame,
So now I am part of the patriot game.

This Ireland of ours has too long been half free.
Six counties lie under John Bull's tyranny.
But still De Valera is greatly to blame
For shirking his part in the Patriot game.

They told me how Connolly was shot in his chair,
His wounds from the fighting all bloody and bare.
His fine body twisted, all battered and lame
They soon made me part of the patriot game.

It's nearly two years since I wandered away
With the local battalion of the bold IRA,
For I read of our heroes, and wanted the same
To play out my part in the patriot game.

I don't mind a bit if I shoot down police
They are lackeys for war never guardians of peace
And yet at deserters I'm never let aim
The rebels who sold out the patriot game

And now as I lie here, my body all holes
I think of those traitors who bargained in souls
And I wish that my rifle had given the same
To those Quislings who sold out the patriot game.
Post by: ziggysego on December 06, 2011, 06:28:56 PM
Quote from: Tonto on December 06, 2011, 06:22:39 PM

Yes, Ziggy.  Thank-you. ::)

You can take it as I meant it, or use it to think it's a conspiracy against you. Either way, it'll have no impact on my life. :)
Post by: Maguire01 on December 06, 2011, 07:26:22 PM
Jim McVeigh was on Nolan this morning as well, saying that in the same situation again, a SF rep would present the award. When Nolan questioned him further, he said they wouldn't not attend such an event to avoid being put in that situation.

At least there's some progress out of this incident.

I wonder if Nally and Jude Collins are still as convinced that the Lord Mayor did the right thing... and whether they now consider SF to have abandoned their principles.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 06, 2011, 07:29:28 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 06, 2011, 05:34:36 PM
Doesn't really matter who said it - Martin was prepared to say it on Niall's behalf. Niall got himself into the corner - Martin backed him out of it.
It was reported that the event was delayed for 45 minutes whilst the Mayor sought advise, so it's possibly a bit harsh that the Mayor himself is taking the public flack for what may well have been a direction from HQ.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 06, 2011, 07:34:30 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 06, 2011, 07:26:22 PM
Jim McVeigh was on Nolan this morning as well, saying that in the same situation again, a SF rep would present the award. When Nolan questioned him further, he said they wouldn't not attend such an event to avoid being put in that situation.

I wonder if Nally and Jude Collins are still as convinced that the Lord Mayor did the right thing... and whether they now consider SF to have abandoned their principles.

I never said whether I was convinced either way. I offered a possible explanation for his motivation and said that as far as I am concerned, that would be a fair enough reason. I really couldn't give two shits about this story, as I have said numerous times. As i've previously stated, it's a non-story to everyone but the usual boring sdlp folk and the shameless unionists who dragged the girl into the public debate for their own cynical purposes. If they didn't, would anyone really give a toss about these awards and who made what individual presentations!
Post by: Maguire01 on December 06, 2011, 07:50:17 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 06, 2011, 07:34:30 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 06, 2011, 07:26:22 PM

I never said whether I was convinced either way. I offered a possible explanation for his motivation and said that as far as I am concerned, that would be a fair enough reason. I really couldn't give two shits about this story, as I have said numerous times. As i've previously stated, it's a non-story to everyone but the usual boring sdlp folk and the shameless unionists who dragged the girl into the public debate for their own cynical purposes. If they didn't, would anyone really give a toss about these awards and who made what individual presentations!
You seemed convinced it was a compromise, rather than a mistake. And i'm not sure why you posted the Jude Collins piece without comment or qualification if you didn't agree with it.

As for saying it's a non-story to everyone but the 'boring sdlp folk' and 'shameless unionists', what you're actually saying is that it was a story for pretty much everyone other than Sinn Féin - and that's understandable.

But to be fair, they've dealt with it reasonably well, after a slow start, and if the unionist Councillors persist on this one, they'll be the ones looking stupid. I think even last night's meeting was unnecessary, given that the apology was made before last week's meeting.
Post by: Minder on December 06, 2011, 07:56:19 PM
As Mairtin O Muilleoir said, nobody in Sinn Fein would be putting that episode on their CV.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 06, 2011, 07:58:39 PM
Have to say as well, listening to Nolan this morning, he had a DUP Councillor on to counter McVeigh, I think he was called Reynolds - one of the most inept media performances i've heard in a while. He had no answers for Nolan's challenge that the DUP aren't exactly implementing Robinson's strategy to end the 'us and them' mentality. His responses (or lack thereof) when challenged on the Irish languauge Christmas signs issue were pretty pathetic.
Post by: trileacman on December 06, 2011, 08:19:56 PM
SF have apologised and explained the same would not happen again, case closed here. In the end they done the right thing.
Post by: MW on December 06, 2011, 11:17:24 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 06, 2011, 07:58:39 PM
Have to say as well, listening to Nolan this morning, he had a DUP Councillor on to counter McVeigh, I think he was called Reynolds - one of the most inept media performances i've heard in a while. He had no answers for Nolan's challenge that the DUP aren't exactly implementing Robinson's strategy to end the 'us and them' mentality. His responses (or lack thereof) when challenged on the Irish languauge Christmas signs issue were pretty pathetic.

Lee Reynolds. Remember the "stalking colt" who (perhaps fatally) damaged Jim Molyneaux's UUP leadership back in 1995?
Post by: armaghniac on December 07, 2011, 03:39:42 PM
Well it is not as if the British Army are trying to entice young people into violence, is it?

(http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/multimedia/dynamic/00642/4194b61a584e389efd9_642368g2.jpg)
Post by: Main Street on December 07, 2011, 07:10:37 PM
I agree. EG undoubtedly makes uncomfortable reading at times, and at other times he is completely wrong :D, but he never descends to the sort of abuse that other people seem to hurl at him, such as in this thread. Not much I agree with him on, but I feel I could have a pint and a debate with him at the golf next year.
I don't know about discussing matters over a pint, EG would be lost for words without access to selected parts of Wikipedia.

Post by: Maguire01 on December 07, 2011, 08:07:11 PM
Quote from: Main Street on December 07, 2011, 07:10:37 PM
I don't know about discussing matters over a pint, EG would be lost for words without access to selected parts of Wikipedia.
You'd have a job pulling that level of detail off the top of your head!
Post by: Maguire01 on December 10, 2011, 11:19:42 AM
Quote from: hardstation on December 10, 2011, 02:02:21 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 02, 2011, 04:48:56 PM
Compromise!
Was listening to Máirtín O'Muilleoir on Radio Uladh this morning - he's being a bit more honest in his assessment of how the whole incident has played out, referring to it as a 'slip up' and admitting it was badly handled. That's what we need to see in politicians - an ability to put their hands up where appropriate - it's a lot easier to respect than continuous spin.

And speaking of O'Muilleoir, surely it's only a matter of time before he's up in Stormont? He appears to be miles ahead of any of the current 5 West Belfast MLAs.
No chance. His chances of getting any such position were blown about 30 years ago. He'll sit in the rear forever.

Better than the "black bag Concession Road" he may have got.
You've lost me there - can you elaborate?