Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: john mcgill on November 27, 2008, 05:11:15 PM

Title: Thanksgiving
Post by: john mcgill on November 27, 2008, 05:11:15 PM
I've just realised it's Thanksgiving in the States.  When I was there it was bigger than Christmas.  Happy Thanksgiving to our US posters and go easy on the pumpkin pie.
Title: Re: Thanksgiving
Post by: thejuice on November 27, 2008, 05:16:11 PM
Im not in the states but when I was in college I'd celebrate it with my US friends. Never pass on an excuse for stuffing  my face with turkey. Will have to make do with chicken today have a few beers and watch the NFL tonight though and send a few e-mails across the Atlantic.
Post by: Rossfan on November 27, 2008, 05:40:57 PM
May I express my condolences to the Native American peoples on this day of mourning for anniversary of the instigation of 3 Centuries of Genocide and persecution .
Post by: thejuice on November 27, 2008, 05:46:07 PM
How about an apology as it was us Europeans that inflicted all that misery on them.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 27, 2008, 06:26:33 PM
Happy Thanksgiving to all this side :)
Post by: DrinkingHarp on November 27, 2008, 06:31:46 PM
Agree Juice.

Thank the Spanish, French, English and the rest of Western Europe.

With that said, I am thankfull for -  "W"  going to be out of office soon, I am going back to school, all my family are safe and sound, a good feast with said family and that I am not a Detroit Lions fan.

Post by: maggie on November 27, 2008, 06:37:15 PM
one of our american colleagues had a thanksgiving party at the weekend.
had my first pumpkin pie experience-it was delish.

I am thankful for my family and friends....... oh and the weekends
Post by: magickingdom on November 27, 2008, 07:07:09 PM
great day - always loved it in the states turkey and football and do nothing all day! happy thanksgiving to one and all
Post by: DrinkingHarp on November 27, 2008, 11:09:54 PM
Just imagine if the Indians gave the Pilgrims a donkey instead of a turkey, we in the states would all be getting a piece of ass today.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 25, 2010, 05:01:13 PM
Happy Thanksgiving to all the yanks on here... :)
Post by: Bogball XV on November 25, 2010, 05:19:59 PM
Quote from: thejuice on November 27, 2008, 05:46:07 PM
How about an apology as it was us Europeans that inflicted all that misery on them.
surely it wasn't the ones who stayed behind?
Post by: screenexile on November 25, 2010, 05:21:24 PM
Thanksgiving was aboot a month ago you bunch of Hosers!!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 25, 2010, 05:24:51 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on November 27, 2008, 11:09:54 PM
Just imagine if the Indians gave the Pilgrims a donkey instead of a turkey, we in the states would all be getting a piece of ass today.

might be the only way some of ye boys would get yer hole out there  :D
Post by: Puckoon on November 25, 2010, 05:33:52 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 25, 2010, 05:01:13 PM
Happy Thanksgiving to all the yanks on here... :)

Thank you sir. Same to you.
Post by: ross4life on November 25, 2010, 05:37:30 PM
I just missed Thanksgiving by two days, as i'm back home now i wish all my American relations & all the posters here stateside a very happy Thanksgiving!
Post by: heganboy on November 25, 2010, 05:56:45 PM
thanksgiving = 2x christmas dinners per year
Post by: AZOffaly on November 25, 2010, 07:05:21 PM
happy thanksgiving to all our posters stateside.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on November 26, 2010, 01:13:06 AM
Had a great feast earlier in the day, now for the turkey sandwiches for the night game.

Post by: Puckoon on November 26, 2010, 05:34:49 AM
Jaysus I'm pure bursted.
Post by: tyssam5 on November 26, 2010, 06:29:56 AM
Good morning of clay pigeon and target shooting, followed by a mighty feed. Excellent!
Post by: delboy on November 26, 2010, 10:55:49 AM
Quote from: heganboy on November 25, 2010, 05:56:45 PM
thanksgiving = 2x christmas dinners per year

Do people only have one xmas dinner, we have it again on boxing day and another on new years day for good measure  ;D
Post by: tyrone girl on November 26, 2010, 12:27:30 PM
We have one on boxing day as well and on new years day. Also have what we call xmas dinner on easter sunday
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on November 26, 2010, 12:29:06 PM
what this boxing day? a day of non stop boxing on TV?

St Stephens Day on the otherhand....
Post by: tyrone girl on November 26, 2010, 12:33:21 PM
It does my head in more that people continue to correct the word boxing day to st stephens day. I couldnt care less what i call it or what it means. Its boxing day to me, its what ive always called it and will continue to  ::)
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on November 26, 2010, 12:57:43 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on November 26, 2010, 12:33:21 PM
It does my head in more that people continue to correct the word boxing day to st stephens day. I couldnt care less what i call it or what it means. Its boxing day to me, its what ive always called it and will continue to  ::)

Use the right one and no-one will have to correct you TG .  ;)
Post by: delboy on November 26, 2010, 01:31:45 PM
In the north the more secular 'boxing day' is the correct name for it.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on November 26, 2010, 01:43:02 PM
Quote from: delboy on November 26, 2010, 01:31:45 PM

Its a shame that you dont practise that in regards to your head of state also being head of a church.
Il take a proper secular country, naming a public holiday after a christian saint over anything named by an inherently sectarian country like yours.
Thank you very much.
Post by: delboy on November 26, 2010, 01:53:32 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on November 26, 2010, 01:43:02 PM

Its a shame that you dont practise that in regards to your head of state also being head of a church.
Il take a proper secular country, naming a public holiday after a christian saint over anything named by an inherently sectarian country like yours.
Thank you very much.

You're welcome  :-*
Post by: wherefromreferee? on November 26, 2010, 02:01:12 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 25, 2010, 05:21:24 PM
Thanksgiving was aboot a month ago you bunch of Hosers!!

I don't understand this.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 26, 2010, 02:02:40 PM
Canadian Thanksgiving is in October.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on November 26, 2010, 02:08:29 PM
Quote from: delboy on November 26, 2010, 01:53:32 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on November 26, 2010, 01:43:02 PM

Thank you very much.

You're welcome  :-*

You could have bit,even a little bit delboy,now my bait makes me look like a fool!!!  :D
Post by: The Iceman on November 26, 2010, 02:44:23 PM
Married into an Italian family over here so the dinner lasted about 4 hours.
Prosciutto with selection of cheeses on crackers to nibble on when we arrived.
Out came stuffed shells, meatballs, hot and sweet sausage, sauce and home made bread.
Then came the turkey, cranberry sauce, mash, sweet potatoe with walnuts and brown sugar, whole host of veggies and home made apple cider.
Then came apple pie, pumpkin pie, italian cookies, chocolate truffles and tea and coffee.

Think I put on half a stone.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 23, 2011, 10:56:32 PM
Happy Thanksgiving to all the yanks on here... yes, even those of
you that are extremely uncomfortable being here  ;D
Post by: ONeill on November 23, 2011, 11:03:15 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 23, 2011, 10:56:32 PM

What is Thanksgiving? (I don't mean in 1650 or whenever)
Post by: Tyrones own on November 23, 2011, 11:06:18 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 23, 2011, 11:03:15 PM

It's giving thanks!
Post by: ONeill on November 23, 2011, 11:07:22 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 23, 2011, 11:06:18 PM

It's giving thanks!

For what?

Like a feel-good thing?
Post by: ross4life on November 23, 2011, 11:09:47 PM
As heganboy said a few pages back, thanksgiving = 2x christmas dinners per year
Post by: Tyrones own on November 23, 2011, 11:14:17 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 23, 2011, 11:07:22 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 23, 2011, 11:06:18 PM

It's giving thanks!

For what?

Like a feel-good thing?
Feck you're serious  ???
Personally for me it's about giving thanks for the many many blessings in my life,
a day when I look back over the year and be extremely grateful...
then pile on the turkey & stuffing and watch football  ;D
Post by: ONeill on November 23, 2011, 11:17:38 PM
Is it the same as Christmas? Do you exchange gifts?
Post by: Jonah on November 23, 2011, 11:24:03 PM
Another reason for overweight Americans to get even more overweight.
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 23, 2011, 11:26:13 PM
I heard its all about pilgrims and Indians fighting over stuffing mines on another planet. Just what I heard.
Post by: Puckoon on November 23, 2011, 11:55:40 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 23, 2011, 11:17:38 PM

Not the same. Almost better in that you get two days off piggybacked on a weekend as opposed to Christmas where you get one day off and have to say happy holidays.

Post by: AFS on November 24, 2011, 12:30:16 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on November 23, 2011, 11:26:13 PM
I heard its all about pilgrims and Indians fighting over stuffing mines on another planet. Just what I heard.

I think that's true. I saw something about it on TV the other day.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on November 24, 2011, 03:34:59 AM

No gift exchanging. The day is celebrated because the Pilgrims carried on the tradition of the end of harvest festivals they brought with them from Europe. The day is suposed to be about giving thanks about the bountiful harvest brought in and now in modern times about what you and your family have to thankful about in your life, more of a inward reflection at your life and the ones around you.

I am thankful for a roof over my head and being able to eat three meals a day while many people struggle to feed their families a couple times a week. I am also thankful that my father is able to make this thanksgiving dinner as he was just giving less then 6 months to live.

Post by: Tyrones own on November 24, 2011, 05:15:30 AM
Feck...very sorry to hear that DH.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on November 24, 2011, 08:31:28 AM

What do you call Christmas?
Post by: deiseach on November 24, 2011, 08:48:05 AM
How does the holiday 'work'? Do ye get the Friday off to recover?
Post by: AZOffaly on November 24, 2011, 09:06:03 AM
Yes deiseach, most people have Thursday and Friday off.

Happy Thanksgiving to all our posters stateside. Enjoy the day, and the big Christmas practice. And of course the Football on the TV. Turkey, a few beers, plus wall to wall NFL. Great stuff. Enjoy.
Post by: ONeill on November 24, 2011, 10:02:59 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on November 24, 2011, 03:34:59 AM

No gift exchanging. The day is celebrated because the Pilgrims carried on the tradition of the end of harvest festivals they brought with them from Europe. The day is suposed to be about giving thanks about the bountiful harvest brought in and now in modern times about what you and your family have to thankful about in your life, more of a inward reflection at your life and the ones around you.

What if you've had a crap few years - lost your job, struggling to pay mortgage and fighting health problems? The wife left you for your brother. Your son has joined the KKK. Thanksgiving must be a horrid time.

Post by: magpie seanie on November 24, 2011, 12:53:57 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 24, 2011, 10:02:59 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on November 24, 2011, 03:34:59 AM

What if you've had a crap few years - lost your job, struggling to pay mortgage and fighting health problems? The wife left you for your brother. Your son has joined the KKK. Thanksgiving must be a horrid time.

There's nothing so bad it couldn't be worse so be thankful for that!

HappyThanksgiving to all State side. Enjoy the food and the football.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 24, 2011, 02:01:53 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 23, 2011, 11:55:40 PM

Not the same. Almost better in that you get two days off piggybacked on a weekend as opposed to Christmas where you get one day off and have to say happy holidays.

Surely its up to you to say whatever you want? - personally I wouldn't let anyone stop me wishing people a Happy Christmas.
Post by: FL/MAYO on November 24, 2011, 05:45:23 PM
At work today but doing a job I love so I'm thankful for that, I hope you all have a great day and that the Fins beat the fecking Cowboys ;D
Post by: mannix on November 24, 2011, 10:19:31 PM
Just enjoying the smell of a turkey roasting, drinking draught cans of Guinness and watching the godfather movies, if I got lucky in the sack tonight it would be the perfect day.  Happy thanksgiving.
Post by: armaghniac on November 25, 2011, 12:13:53 AM
I give thanks that I am not an American.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 25, 2011, 02:31:41 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 25, 2011, 12:13:53 AM
Yes, no doubt there are millions of Americans tonight
with lost appetites wishing upon wishes that they were from Arma  ;)
Post by: Puckoon on November 25, 2011, 06:03:16 AM

Get on your horse and drink your milk, pilgrim.
Post by: The Iceman on November 25, 2011, 05:48:15 PM
we hosted the thanksgiving grazing yesterday. Cooked the Turkey on the grill with the coal banked to one side and the bird cooked from indirect heat. Had apple wood chips in a smoker box for the good part of 5 hours alongside the turkey and it turned out great.

wou;snt thank you for the pumpkin pie but the mrs made a lovely apple tart
Post by: heganboy on November 26, 2011, 12:13:35 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 25, 2011, 02:31:41 AM

there's a couple of them in my house...
;-)

Post by: Tyrones own on November 26, 2011, 12:23:56 AM
Quote from: heganboy on November 26, 2011, 12:13:35 AM

;-)
From... Not in! home sickness doesn't count.
Can't for the life of me imagine anybody wishing they were from Arma to be honest ;)
Post by: armaghniac on November 26, 2011, 01:06:33 AM
QuoteCan't for the life of me imagine anybody wishing they were from Arma to be honest ;)

Milltown Row wishes he was from Cross' so that he gets to support a winning team!
Post by: Tyrones own on November 26, 2011, 01:29:10 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 26, 2011, 01:06:33 AM
QuoteCan't for the life of me imagine anybody wishing they were from Arma to be honest ;)

Milltown Row wishes he was from Cross' so that he gets to support a winning team!
Fair enough...though he is an Antrim man so
we'll hardly fault him.  :)
Post by: Groucho on November 26, 2011, 10:24:16 AM
Hope you all have your pepper spray and guns fully loaded :o

http://www.washingtonpost.com/national/shooting-pepper-spraying-other-violence-mars-black-friday-shopping/2011/11/26/gIQAuklxxN_story.html
Post by: heganboy on November 28, 2011, 11:32:22 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 26, 2011, 12:23:56 AM
Quote from: heganboy on November 26, 2011, 12:13:35 AM

;-)
From... Not in! home sickness doesn't count.
Can't for the life of me imagine anybody wishing they were from Arma to be honest ;)

Only one from Armagh in our house. One from Down incorrigible and two boys who are very definitely American but wish they were also from Armagh (not sure how that would work) and one who has no vote yet but her mum is trying to claim her as a down woman.