AIQF Armagh v Monaghan

Started by tonto1888, June 26, 2023, 06:08:10 PM

Quote from: bennydorano on July 04, 2023, 02:12:14 PM
At least one of McManus's points came directly from a goalkeeping misadventure

Yes when he went on a solo run and lost the ball. He has bags of pace and is good in the air. CHF maybe ?

I've watched it back. He was fouled twice coming out with the ball.

Was watching the match with two Armagh mates on Saturday and as a neutral I wasn't sure who I wanted to win (or lose) the most despite the behaviour of most the Armagh fans during and after the Tyrone game.
I was pleased for the Monaghan fans at the end but I did feel for Armagh fans again. As Armaghmike said in his good long post yesterday, yis must be fierce frustrated and in my eyes definitely aren't playing to yer strengths.

R.O'Neill should be your top scorer and the Armagh version of Michael Murphy if ye used him right. He's gone through the season only making bad headlines whereas last year yis were playing a much more attacking style of football and he nearly got an all star.

One point I was making after the game on Sat was, do you not think teams approach extra time in the wrong mindset. Yes I can appreciate they are tired but if you know you dont want to risk penalties should you not just go for the win. How many times have we seen teams in ET just hold the ball and only maybe take on a few shots. It's as if they would rather hold off til penalties.

In general it has been a season for most teams where the fear of losing possession is really ruining the game. Kerry punished Tyrone hugely for it on Sat with so many turnovers. It will be interesting to see does Derry try to hold possession more and play a very low risk game plan.

On another note. The problem with fans drinking before matches has been around for years. Yes it would seem Armagh fans seem to maybe do it in bigger numbers than other fans but I cannot see how you can control it. Lots of them are probably not getting tickets from clubs so maybe they need to be assessed by Gardai or security staff before being allowed in. I suppose for loads of young lads in just a day out on the beer.

delgany

Quote from: mackers on July 04, 2023, 02:44:23 PM
I've watched it back. He was fouled twice coming out with the ball.

I've made this point previously,  Ethan Rafferty offers more to the team at no.11 , than he does at no.1!  He's been turned over , way too far from goals , has made a few errors under the high ball...do the team feel confident with him in goals as compared to a 'full- time' GK ? Far better footballer than GK !

AustinPowers

Quote from: OgraAnDun on July 04, 2023, 10:35:51 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on July 03, 2023, 11:22:39 PM
Quote from: marty34 on July 03, 2023, 10:45:09 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on July 03, 2023, 05:06:29 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 03, 2023, 03:13:36 PM
Quote from: trailer on July 03, 2023, 03:11:16 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 03, 2023, 02:39:24 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 03, 2023, 02:20:21 PM
Quote from: 5times5times on July 03, 2023, 11:36:25 AM
Some dive by McManus at the end, but once again, Armagh stupid fouling haunts them again,

Was it a dive or a foul?
It was a definite foul  but with McManus enhancing the drama. The script was already written for that last piece of drama, everybody knew their lines except Armagh and the ref was right on cue.

I see the GAA have stated that a wide was the correct call.

"During the Armagh v Monaghan game yesterday the Hawk-Eye score detection system returned a 'data unavailable' message. The GAA requested an explanation from Hawk-Eye who concluded that the message was a result of operator error.
The GAA is happy that the system review confirmed the on-field decision by the referee taken at the time."

I wonder what the operator error was?
And if the review showed it was in fact a point and Monaghan happened to lose the game in ET or penalties, another secret to buried in the Croke park cellars and the operator falls out of a 5th floor window?

Hawk-eye gives some bother in the GAA. Does it give the same amount of trouble in its other sporting applications? I read it costs between €7-8k per game!
Points are tricky and more frequent in GAA versus say rugby.

I don't  watch rugby  but am   I right  in saying rugby posts are higher than  GAA posts ?

Raise the height  of the posts , and that would  sort out some  of the  close calls

Or even put another crossbar at the top of the posts and the ball has to go through this rectangle.  :)

You might jest , but that was proposed  a few short years back . I think it failed

Awful proposal. Let's make it harder to score.

Something nice about seeing a booming point from out the pitch fly over the ball stopper.

Not  if it lands on  your ham sandwiches , it's not.

AustinPowers

On the issue  of drunken fans ... if they're  clearly drunk on  entry, don't let them in.  After a few  times  of refused entry   , having spent  maybe €40 or €50  a time on a  ticket , they'll learn .

Not wishing to stick the boot in out of glee but the defensive set up for that last play was píss poor. Armagh went man to man,  Monaghan players then moved to locate themselves away from the space between the 21 and 45, even players took their willing dedicated marker towards both sidelines. Once the ball got moving, then  McCarron takes his marker out of harm's way. There was so much space opened up between the 45 and 20m lines. McManus received the ball, (the clutch legend) could spin around his lone marker using the ring road bus lane. To top it all, Beggan was alone in an acre of space on the 20m.
https://youtu.be/tMVHhGj_Oh8?t=485

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Eire90 on July 03, 2023, 08:53:03 PM
is hooliganism creeping to the gaa fouled   by cocaine and the same hair cuts

Creeping in? We had dozens of rows a few summers ago, rember the auld wan braining a fella with a hurl? Wasn't dealt with then, won't be dealt with now.

Orchard23

A lot of comments about armagh fans and rightly so but I was also on the hill Saturday (sober!) and it was the monaghan ones around us causing grief. Groups of hammered lads - not even that young, mid to late 20s- giving a lot of aggro and shouting abuse and nasty personal things at a group of armagh girls beside us. Had to move away from 2 groups of monaghan lads for ott aggressive behaviour. Also saw a good few monaghan lads escorted off for having flares. Majority of comments blaming armagh but there were 2 counties at it.

McManus bought that last free kick, he done the exact same in Newry 2 years ago from a similar position in the dying seconds to win 2 free kicks. To me it looked like a ploy by Monaghan to get him on the ball in order to try and work the free kick. You could see Corey trying to get instructions onto the players during the injury delay. It would have been much better if Grugan had just let him go and have the shot as I doubt he would have got the score as he faced another Armagh body. But tired minds and bodies can lead to bad decision making and mistakes so it's hard to fault Grugan too much, he's not a natural defender. But it has happened us too often now.

Morgan fouled McGuigan late on in the Ulster final and the same thing happened as we failed to see the game out in the closing stages. The same thing also happened against Galway last year as Donaghy waved everyone back behind the 45m line on the Galway kick out only for McDaid to ghost in for a late equaliser at the death. The fear of losing always seems to take over with this Armagh side and it shows in the way they defend deep and mark zones. When we had the opportunity to stick the knife into Monaghan for that first period of extra time we couldn't push up and pressure the man with the ball because that was alien to how we have defended all season. As someone else said earlier it was almost an identical situation to the Ulster final against Derry when Rogers was sent to the bin. We learned nothing because we couldn't adopt as the defensive plan was much too rigid.

The problem when you suffer those kind of narrow defeats is that the scar tissue builds up and the anxiety increases further. We put far too much emphasis on the opposition instead of focusing on our own strengths. It looks very much to me like management decided over the winter that we better try to shield our defensive weaknesses by dropping loads of bodies back and going zonal but it came at the expense of our attacking play. Outside of the division three sides we scored 2 goals all season from 11 matches, one being a Beggan mistake and the other being a Gleeson mistake against Galway. I don't know what Kieran Donaghys role is but we have gone backwards as an attacking force this season and were one of the dullest teams to watch.   

Quote from: yellowcard on July 04, 2023, 04:18:44 PM
McManus bought that last free kick, he done the exact same in Newry 2 years ago from a similar position in the dying seconds to win 2 free kicks. To me it looked like a ploy by Monaghan to get him on the ball in order to try and work the free kick. You could see Corey trying to get instructions onto the players during the injury delay. It would have been much better if Grugan had just let him go and have the shot as I doubt he would have got the score as he faced another Armagh body. But tired minds and bodies can lead to bad decision making and mistakes so it's hard to fault Grugan too much, he's not a natural defender. But it has happened us too often now.

Morgan fouled McGuigan late on in the Ulster final and the same thing happened as we failed to see the game out in the closing stages. The same thing also happened against Galway last year as Donaghy waved everyone back behind the 45m line on the Galway kick out only for McDaid to ghost in for a late equaliser at the death. The fear of losing always seems to take over with this Armagh side and it shows in the way they defend deep and mark zones. When we had the opportunity to stick the knife into Monaghan for that first period of extra time we couldn't push up and pressure the man with the ball because that was alien to how we have defended all season. As someone else said earlier it was almost an identical situation to the Ulster final against Derry when Rogers was sent to the bin. We learned nothing because we couldn't adopt as the defensive plan was much too rigid.

The problem when you suffer those kind of narrow defeats is that the scar tissue builds up and the anxiety increases further. We put far too much emphasis on the opposition instead of focusing on our own strengths. It looks very much to me like management decided over the winter that we better try to shield our defensive weaknesses by dropping loads of bodies back and going zonal but it came at the expense of our attacking play. Outside of the division three sides we scored 2 goals all season from 11 matches, one being a Beggan mistake and the other being a Gleeson mistake against Galway. I don't know what Kieran Donaghys role is but we have gone backwards as an attacking force this season and were one of the dullest teams to watch.   

Funny thing is, and it was a foul, but if Grugan had of had 2 or 3 other players with him slapping at McManus all at the same time, McManus would have been done for over carrying.

Quote from: JoG2 on July 04, 2023, 04:22:36 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 04, 2023, 04:18:44 PM

Funny thing is, and it was a foul, but if Grugan had of had 2 or 3 other players with him slapping at McManus all at the same time, McManus would have been done for over carrying.
Criminal defensive set up, man to man marking  with armagh players following their man on walkabout.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on July 04, 2023, 04:11:11 PM
Yeah, I'm pretty sure there were crazier scenes with the Dub supporters in a game against Tyrone in the mid 80s.
Derry as well, pitch invasion and slaps

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on July 04, 2023, 05:39:11 PM
Yeah, I'm pretty sure there were crazier scenes with the Dub supporters in a game against Tyrone in the mid 80s.

Of course there was worse, but there were no mobile phones and gobshites posting their idiocy on Instagram and the like.

Quote from: armaghniac on July 04, 2023, 05:48:46 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on July 04, 2023, 05:39:11 PM

Of course there was worse, but there were no mobile phones and gobshites posting their idiocy on Instagram and the like.
While on the other hand people in general these days are a bit more polished