Holidays

Started by Oakleafer93, June 03, 2009, 01:17:25 PM

Quote from: ludermor on August 31, 2016, 10:45:54 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on August 31, 2016, 10:19:20 AM
Was in Riva Del Garda last week, little town at the top of Lake Garda. About 2 hours drive from Milan Bergamo.
Can't recommend it highly enough, scenery, activities and food all top notch. Can make it as expensive or as cheap as you like. Nice crowd there too, mostly Swiss and Germans, very relaxed atmosphere. Will definitely return at some stage.
It must be a very romantic place?
It's no Pontoon!

Harold Disgracey

Quote from: haranguerer on August 31, 2016, 09:54:01 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on August 31, 2016, 09:49:51 AM
Anyone any advice of affordable but reputable holiday insurance? Websites etc?

As for a lot of things, martin lewis' guide on this is excellent. Only mentions reputable ones, and then recommends based on payout history etc.

http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/insurance/cheap-travel-insurance

I used Holidaysafe as recommended in the above link, covered everything I wanted and very reasonable.

Quote from: Walter Cronc on August 31, 2016, 09:49:51 AM
Anyone any advice of affordable but reputable holiday insurance? Websites etc?

Would always tend to go with an established insurance company. One thing getting the cheapest travel insurance but the most important thing is making sure that they will  in fact pay up in the case of an emergency overseas.

Personally, would recommend you get it via your house insurance company, credit union etc to make sure that the company is reputable.

Do NOT go anywhere in Europe without your E111  ( I think) card . Worth its weight in gold if you need hospital care in the EU.

Quote from: ballinaman on August 31, 2016, 10:46:44 AM
Was in Riva Del Garda last week, little town at the top of Lake Garda. About 2 hours drive from Milan Bergamo.
Can't recommend it highly enough, scenery, activities and food all top notch. Can make it as expensive or as cheap as you like. Nice crowd there too, mostly Swiss and Germans, very relaxed atmosphere. Will definitely return at some stage.
It's no Pontoon!

are either hotel (or ballroom :) ) reopened there yet?

Thinking of spending a few days in Killarney later in the month. Usually take the car, but thought about using the train this time. Is Killarney easy to get around without the car, and is there plenty to do within walking distance of the centre of the town?

BenDover

Whilst the train station will take ye close to walking into town, to do any of the activities I'd suggest hiring a bike.

king of leon

Where would the best places to go for a European city break? Thinking of going late Nov, would like to go to a place with a good Xmas market. Any suggestions?

Quote from: rosnarun on August 31, 2016, 03:26:24 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on August 31, 2016, 10:46:44 AM
It's no Pontoon!

are either hotel (or ballroom :) ) reopened there yet?
Nope, shame. Hotel is in a great spot.

gaa.boy

Im heading to Vegas for just over a week this Wednesday. Can any posters who have been there recommend any must do attractions (and any to avoid)? Cheers

Aristo 60

Avoid buying tickets offered by taxi drivers to any event/club !

Caesars palace moving statue show, bellagio fireworks. Both free and not time consuming. We went to a show so one is probably worth doing. Gondola ride outside the venetian(or inside). Dinner inside in the venetian is very impressive too with the ceilings / lighting etc.

Grand canyon helicopter may be worth doing. We actually thought the shark aquarium in mandalay bay hotel was great.

Vegas is class. Was there a few years ago with the missus.
Stayed in the Cosmopolitan.
Would recommend eating in the tapas restaurant in the Cosmopolitan "Jaleo".
It was fab

Firstly, bring very comfortable walking shoes or runners.... well worn in ones as you will be walking miles and miles every day.

Get a 3 day  bus pass for twenty dollars which allows you to travel up and down the strip non stop........... gets you to the two shopping outlets (waste of time but no point me telling you that as every Irish person goes anyway) and to downtown also.

Bring a good sunhat .

Quote from: king of leon on September 04, 2016, 10:27:22 PM
Where would the best places to go for a European city break? Thinking of going late Nov, would like to go to a place with a good Xmas market. Any suggestions?

Not sure when it starts but Prague has a good Christmas Market and is a nice city at that time of year.