GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: small white mayoman on August 22, 2007, 09:41:56 AM

Title: your favourite scores against the dubs
Post by: small white mayoman on August 22, 2007, 09:41:56 AM
with the week thats in it just wondering what are the other posters favourites scores against the dubs, mine in no particular order are

1) Ciaran Mac's point in the 2006 AI semi to win the match, what a score oh the memories
2) Maurice Fitz's wonderscore in the 2001 Qualifers
3) Mugsy's goal in the 2005 AI Qualifer

Question is who will silence the hill this sunday ;)
Title: Re: your favourite scores against the dubs
Post by: Frank Casey on August 22, 2007, 09:44:02 AM
Mike Sheehy's chipped free over Paddy Cullen in 78. Tee Hee
Post by: his holiness nb on August 22, 2007, 09:46:54 AM
I love the "triumpalist" talk of "silencing the hill" on these threads.
In fairness what set of fans wouldnt be quiet at moments like that?

For a combination of timing, occasion and pressure I'd have to give credit to Cian Ward this year.
Some kick.
Post by: screenexile on August 22, 2007, 09:48:28 AM
AISF 1993 Johnny McGurk's left footed point to win the game. Awesome!!!!
Post by: small white mayoman on August 22, 2007, 09:51:26 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 22, 2007, 09:46:54 AM
I love the "triumpalist" talk of "silencing the hill" on these threads.
In fairness what set of fans wouldnt be quiet at moments like that?

For a combination of timing, occasion and pressure I'd have to give credit to Cian Ward this year.
Some kick.

only a bit of craic HH :)
Post by: his holiness nb on August 22, 2007, 09:52:54 AM
Quote from: small white mayoman on August 22, 2007, 09:51:26 AM
only a bit of craic HH :)

Oh I know, if I thought otherwise I'd hardly be giving credit to a Meathman  ;)
Post by: parttimeexile on August 22, 2007, 09:53:41 AM
Mulligans goal in 2005 but I suppose that was because I am a tyrone supporter and was there to witness it!It was some goal.Two sweet dummys and what about the finish. :)
Post by: his holiness nb on August 22, 2007, 09:54:46 AM
Quote from: parttimeexile on August 22, 2007, 09:53:41 AM
Mulligans goal in 2005 but I suppose that was because I am a tyrone supporter and was there to witness it!It was some goal.Two sweet dummys and what about the finish. :)

In fairness its probably the best score I have witnessed in person against the Dubs.

The p***k  >:(
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 22, 2007, 09:59:35 AM
ciaran mc's point from the sideline in last year ai semi was some point as well as the last one he scored,watched the match on dvd again last night some match great day. Have to say that the dubs are some of the Soundest supporters around enjoyed the pints with them after the match.
Post by: Uladh on August 22, 2007, 10:18:07 AM
Quote from: small white mayoman on August 22, 2007, 09:41:56 AM
Question is who will silence the hill this sunday ;)

Put United spurs on the big screen and it'll soon take effect
Post by: his holiness nb on August 22, 2007, 10:26:56 AM
Quote from: Uladh on August 22, 2007, 10:18:07 AM

Oooh you big fecker 8)

Interesting point about the whole Dubs / soccer fans argument is the proportion of non Dubs regularly posting of the Man Utd and Liverpool threads displaying a good deal on knowledge on the subject.
I've no issue with people supporting both sports, but I have noticed a few people (not you Uladh) slagging the dubs for being soccer fans while declaring their love for english teams in the non GAA section.
Laoislad is a great defender of supporting both and declares his love for Liverpool regularly, then slags Dublin fans saying they are like soccer fans. I cant work this logic out at all.
Strange.
Post by: full back on August 22, 2007, 10:37:23 AM
It is hard to go past Maurice Fitz from '01 - unreal
Honourable mention to Ciaran Mac & Cian Ward
Post by: Rick O Shea on August 22, 2007, 11:13:59 AM
Quote from: screenexile on August 22, 2007, 09:48:28 AM

Definitely  ;D

Also, Peter Canavans 12th point in the 1995 final.....  ;)  :'(  :D
Post by: Smiler An Dun on August 22, 2007, 11:17:02 AM
James McCartans goal in the first half of the 1994 AIF  :)
Post by: screenexile on August 22, 2007, 11:17:21 AM
Quote from: Rick O Shea on August 22, 2007, 11:13:59 AM

Definitely  ;D

OH YES!!!!  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: orangeman on August 22, 2007, 11:39:29 AM
Not only is Mugsy's goal the best scored against Dublin, I'd say it was the best goal ever scored in Croke Park and that's a big statement.
Post by: Will Hunting on August 22, 2007, 11:40:11 AM
Quote from: screenexile on August 22, 2007, 11:17:21 AM
Quote from: Rick O Shea on August 22, 2007, 11:13:59 AM

Definitely  ;D

OH YES!!!!  ;D ;D ;D ;D

Who was it that scored that 'point' against Dublin in the 1995 final - was it Sean McLaughlin??

It gets my vote  :D ;D :D ;D :D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 22, 2007, 11:49:37 AM
Quote from: Will Hunting on August 22, 2007, 11:40:11 AM
Who was it that scored that 'point' against Dublin in the 1995 final - was it Sean McLaughlin??

Yep, can't even get the twisted facts straight!  :P

Any more Muckers for the toddlers losers' laughing line thread?
Post by: orangeman on August 22, 2007, 11:50:14 AM
It was a  Paddy Russell assist ! For Dublin I mean.
Post by: Gnevin on August 22, 2007, 11:59:22 AM
Have agree Mugsy's goal  , he was pretty poor all season and then turns it on against us  >:(  :)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 22, 2007, 12:00:33 PM
Taken from "Paidi's Army": ( :-[ :-[ :-[)

"It's 37 years since Westmeath defeated Dublin in the Leinster Championship, they're on the verge of it at the moment, Connaughton, O'Donoghue, Keane, Dolan and O'Shaughnessey all playing well. The ball is with O'Shaughnessey in the middle of the field, he takes a long high one, and Paul Conway goes to the clouds, he comes back to terra firma, he turns around, IT'S A POINT!!!"

One of them all too rare occasions where u lose the run of yourself...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 22, 2007, 03:22:50 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 22, 2007, 10:26:56 AM
Quote from: Uladh on August 22, 2007, 10:18:07 AM

Oooh you big fecker 8)

Interesting point about the whole Dubs / soccer fans argument is the proportion of non Dubs regularly posting of the Man Utd and Liverpool threads displaying a good deal on knowledge on the subject.
I've no issue with people supporting both sports, but I have noticed a few people (not you Uladh) slagging the dubs for being soccer fans while declaring their love for english teams in the non GAA section.
Laoislad is a great defender of supporting both and declares his love for Liverpool regularly, then slags Dublin fans saying they are like soccer fans. I cant work this logic out at all.
Strange.

Yes very strange isn't it  :D

Anywho back to the topic of the thread,My favourite Laois score against Dublin would be any score we get against them,but if i was to pick one i would say Padraic Clancys point from play from at least over 50 yards in the 2003 Leinster Semi Final
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 22, 2007, 03:30:43 PM
I seem to remember a savage point scored by that big ginger midfielder Clancy from Laois in the 2003 Leinster Final - caught the ball from his own kick-out, soloed it and let fly from over 50 yards out right over the black spot
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 22, 2007, 03:34:27 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on August 22, 2007, 03:30:43 PM
I seem to remember a savage point scored by that big ginger midfielder Clancy from Laois in the 2003 Leinster Final - caught the ball from his own kick-out, soloed it and let fly from over 50 yards out right over the black spot

You mean the one i just posted right above your post ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 22, 2007, 03:37:27 PM
my personal favourite
Big McGilligan got one the same day-  any time Brian McGilligan scored was a collectors item.

Also have to say Eoin Mulligans goal was superb for many reasons - the atmosphere in croker that day, the skill , timing and the execution of it.

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 22, 2007, 03:42:03 PM
I never saw that  :D
Post by: sligeach on August 22, 2007, 04:11:17 PM
Maurice Fitz in 2001, Unbelievable.
Mike Sheehy v Paddy Cullen, priceless.

Post by: Star Spangler on August 22, 2007, 04:21:55 PM
Quote from: sligeach on August 22, 2007, 04:11:17 PM

Wasn't that back in the days when the opposition didn't say things to opposing players to try to put them off their game?  ;)
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 22, 2007, 04:27:17 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on August 22, 2007, 04:21:55 PM

Wasn't that back in the days when the opposition didn't say things to opposing players to try to put them off their game?  ;)

It was back in the days when your oppenents would miss an open goal from 3 yards out ;) ;)
Post by: Star Spangler on August 22, 2007, 04:41:52 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 22, 2007, 04:27:17 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on August 22, 2007, 04:21:55 PM

It was back in the days when your oppenents would miss an open goal from 3 yards out ;) ;)

Sure that still happens.  Twice in some games (Doire abu  :D)
Post by: ziggysego on August 22, 2007, 04:57:37 PM
Any scores against Dublin is something special. Scores into Hill 16 are something which brings great joy to the remaining 31 counties, plus London and New York.

For me, Mulligan's goal in the 2005 AI 1/4 Final was that little bit special, though I could be biased on that ;)
Post by: Gnevin on August 22, 2007, 06:45:50 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 22, 2007, 04:57:37 PM
Any scores against Dublin is something special. Scores into Hill 16 are something which brings great joy to the remaining 31 counties, plus London and New York.

For me, Mulligan's goal in the 2005 AI 1/4 Final was that little bit special, though I could be biased on that ;)
We had this discussion before your forgetting the 6 other British counties .
Post by: ziggysego on August 22, 2007, 07:18:39 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 22, 2007, 06:45:50 PM

I believe they are included in the 31 counties ;)

However, not to be picky, should that not be 5 other British Counties? ;)
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on August 22, 2007, 07:19:27 PM
Gnevin hope you're not trying to refer to the "six counties" in the north in your last post, if so a bit of a cheap shot for a "gaa" man.  >:(
Post by: galla on August 22, 2007, 07:37:01 PM
Kevin Foleys goal
Post by: Jinxy on August 22, 2007, 08:48:19 PM
The Kevin Foley/David Beggy double whammy by an absolute country mile.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on August 22, 2007, 09:01:32 PM
Who remembers Padraig Brogan's goal in the A.I semi-final 1985. One of the best goals ever scored in croker. Jaysus i'm getting old!!!
Post by: oakleaf stateside on August 22, 2007, 09:19:50 PM
wat a point it was

also paul murphys first and derrys first of the day was a class of skill
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on August 22, 2007, 09:20:58 PM
If we're talking about "silencing the hill" then Mugsy's goal in the 2005 quarter final replay is a better call than his great goal in the first game ;D The Dubs had just hit 5 points in quick succession to close to just a goal behind and there was some noise in Croker with the momentum suddenly very much with Dublin. Then Big Sean made an interception, galloped forward and passed to Mugsy who used his backside to get a couple of Dubs defenders out of his way then slotted it past Cluxton...then just walked in front of the Hill glaring at them, brilliant :D :D
Post by: Gnevin on August 22, 2007, 09:53:09 PM
Quote from: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on August 22, 2007, 07:19:27 PM
Gnevin hope you're not trying to refer to the "six counties" in the north in your last post, if so a bit of a cheap shot for a "gaa" man.  >:(

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_GAA
Gloucestershire- Hertfordshire- Lancashire- Scotland- Warwickshire- Yorkshire are the 6  other Counties and London makes 7  British Counties in total  ;D
Post by: Gnevin on August 22, 2007, 09:56:49 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 22, 2007, 07:18:39 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 22, 2007, 06:45:50 PM

I believe they are included in the 31 counties ;)

However, not to be picky, should that not be 5 other British Counties? ;)
Nope 6
Post by: cill_dara on August 22, 2007, 10:43:31 PM
For me as a Kildare man it has to bee the 2000 leinster final replay, 5 points down at half time to the dubs and hitting them with two goals by Earley and Fennin to take the lead and go on to win  and yes silence the hill  ;D
Cill Dara Abú!
Post by: Sandy Hill on August 22, 2007, 11:13:37 PM
QuoteMulligan's goal in the 2005 AI 1/4 Final was that little bit special,

Was that the one where he carried the ball illegally for about 10 steps before he sold his first dummy? So apart from the fact that it should've been a free out - a great goal!
Post by: Balboa on August 22, 2007, 11:14:36 PM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on August 22, 2007, 11:13:37 PM

Was that the one where he carried the ball illegally for about 10 steps before he sold his first his first dummy? So apart from the fact that it should've been a free out - a great goal!

He is still living off that goal, hasnt kicked a ball since.
Post by: ONeill on August 22, 2007, 11:41:46 PM
No, he kicked 1-7 against Dublin a week later.
Post by: ONeill on August 22, 2007, 11:45:22 PM

Was that the one where he carried the ball illegally for about 10 steps before he sold his first dummy? So apart from the fact that it should've been a free out - a great goal!

Does that include the solo?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iwV4ZCITrnc
Post by: muppet on August 23, 2007, 02:03:53 AM

1) Padraig Brogan's goal from 30 yards past John O'Leary in 1985 semi replay
2) Mossy Fitz sideline point
3) Sheehy's quick free goal
4) Supermacs winner (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xNDEGm5z0qk)
5) Mugsy's goal
Post by: nrico2006 on August 23, 2007, 04:43:56 PM
QuoteIf we're talking about "silencing the hill" then Mugsy's goal in the 2005 quarter final replay is a better call than his great goal in the first game  The Dubs had just hit 5 points in quick succession to close to just a goal behind and there was some noise in Croker with the momentum suddenly very much with Dublin. Then Big Sean made an interception, galloped forward and passed to Mugsy who used his backside to get a couple of Dubs defenders out of his way then slotted it past Cluxton...then just walked in front of the Hill glaring at them, brilliant 

True!  The goal in the first game is for me the best goal ever in Croke Park.  But for timing and significance, the one in the replay gets it.  The Dubs were definitely in the ascendency until this point.  The Eric Cantona-esque strut to the hill was amazing!!
Post by: thebandit on August 23, 2007, 05:17:09 PM
John McEntee v Dubs in the AI quarter final '03

Oisin's fisted winning point AISF '02
Post by: heffo on August 23, 2007, 05:33:42 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 22, 2007, 11:45:22 PM

Does that include the solo?

After his second toe-tap he caught the ball with his right hand. Changed it to his left hand and dummied the defender by showing him the ball. All ok so far, but then he changed it back to his right hand to bounce. So he changed hands twice between the toe-tap and the bounce which is a foul.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2007, 09:28:29 PM
QuoteDoes that include the solo?

The first dummy was a rock solid "changing of hands" ..I dont know how anybody can argue with that. He "presented" it to the defender with is left hand and then clearly transferred it to his right before bouncing it.
For the second dummy he does the same thing but it's less clear from the clip as the camera zooms out and the transfer from one hand to the other is more fluid but it definitely was a change of hands also.

If he had simply hopped it with his left hand after doing the dummy, caught it with both hands then dropped it for the solo using his right hand then that would have been ok, I assume, and could not be regarded as changing hands.

His mistake was not combining the dummy with the hop. If he was from Kerry he would probably have pulled it off but is clearly lacking the necessary skills  :D

Still, he got away with it and thats all that matters I suppose.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 23, 2007, 10:02:39 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2007, 09:28:29 PM
If he was from Kerry he would probably have pulled it off but is clearly lacking the necessary skills

Yeah, that's why he passed it to Canavan in the 2005 final!  :D
Post by: we are blue... etc on August 23, 2007, 10:26:53 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 22, 2007, 03:34:27 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on August 22, 2007, 03:30:43 PM

You mean the one i just posted right above your post ;)

That was gonna be my choice too. Savage score.
Post by: thewingedlady on August 24, 2007, 03:14:57 AM
Cosgrove hitting the post in '02.
As good as a score! ;D
Post by: maddog on August 24, 2007, 12:53:48 PM
Not a spectular score but McGranes point v dublin in the 2003 qualifier, was one of those "we have you now" scores.
Great second half performance.
Post by: Louth Exile on August 24, 2007, 01:41:37 PM
When you look at it there are some amazing scores for me it would have to be....

1- M Fitz point in Thurles - the time in the game, the distance, the angle, Carr shouting in his ear, he stood up and took it as if it was a training session, a genius, my fav score of all time.
2- Sheehy goal in 1978 - another genius, the thinking behind it, Cullen ran back into the goal like a woman who realised that she had left the cooker on (or words to that effect from the mighty Micheal), my sec fav score of all time
3- Mugsys goal - the greatest goal of this millennium at a minimum
4- Ciaran Mc point - the best score of the greatest game of this millennium
5- Foley's goal in 1991 - I'll never forget standing on the steps of Hogan watching Meath literally cutting the Dubs apart as they moved up the field, a great move in its own right, but the significance and timing were massive.
6- Mc Guirk point in 1993 - I think the most amazing thing about this one is that most Doire fans would have been willing him to pass to one of the two lethal corner forwards as wee Johnny was not renowned for his shooting ability!

Don't remember Brogan's goal in 1985, but there are some amazing scores from some great games, thanks for the memories
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 24, 2007, 03:16:52 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 22, 2007, 12:00:33 PM
Taken from "Paidi's Army": ( :-[ :-[ :-[)

"It's 37 years since Westmeath defeated Dublin in the Leinster Championship, they're on the verge of it at the moment, Connaughton, O'Donoghue, Keane, Dolan and O'Shaughnessey all playing well. The ball is with O'Shaughnessey in the middle of the field, he takes a long high one, and Paul Conway goes to the clouds, he comes back to terra firma, he turns around, IT'S A POINT!!!"

One of them all too rare occasions where u lose the run of yourself...

To put music to the lyrics and sure I added in a bit of action as well, just for the hell of it, sure what else would u be at on a Friday???

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I-R8ZOckJSM (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I-R8ZOckJSM)
Post by: stibhan88 on August 24, 2007, 04:37:56 PM
Quote from: Balboa on August 22, 2007, 11:14:36 PM

Was that the one where he carried the ball illegally for about 10 steps before he sold his first his first dummy? So apart from the fact that it should've been a free out - a great goal!

Kicked 1-7 in the next game, MOTM (even though McGuigan should have got it) against Kerry in the final and sure he scored a few goals last year as well against Laois IIRC. This year he was shite, had the worst game I've seen anyone play against Meath and still scored something like 1-1. Weird player, great when he's on form.
Post by: oakleaf stateside on August 24, 2007, 08:13:57 PM
paul murphys 1st point pure skill
Post by: new devil on August 24, 2007, 08:15:46 PM
Quote from: Balboa on August 22, 2007, 11:14:36 PM

What about the 1-7 a week later ballbag  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: small white mayoman on January 17, 2008, 11:46:23 AM
Ah the memories

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=xNDEGm5z0qk
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 17, 2008, 07:24:41 PM
your not really from Mayo are you ?
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 17, 2008, 07:26:00 PM
Why would you say that mike sheehy?
Post by: muppet on January 17, 2008, 11:57:54 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 17, 2008, 07:24:41 PM
your not really from Mayo are you ?

I think he is but he's probably too young to remember even 2004......so its probably his only memory.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on January 18, 2008, 08:58:19 AM
top two

Johnny Mc Gurks winner in 93 semi final and of course the one that really rubs the salt in...Sheehys goal from the free....class
Post by: orangeman on January 18, 2008, 09:59:51 AM
I would say this anyway but Mulligans will NEVE be bettered.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 18, 2008, 10:35:00 AM
Those who laugh at Dubs and call them paranoid about a so called persecution complex might want to explain where the "favourite score against Kerry" or "favourite score against Armagh" etc etc threads are.

Ye just love to talk about us dont ye, go on, admit it  ;)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 18, 2008, 12:33:40 PM
All of them!
Post by: gaagaa on January 18, 2008, 12:37:35 PM
what about Foley's goal in 1991?
Post by: thejuice on January 18, 2008, 04:18:01 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 18, 2008, 10:35:00 AM

Ye just love to talk about us dont ye, go on, admit it  ;)

Jeesus lads yis have to stop posting these threads, your making the dubs here all feel rightous and all that.  I think there's also an ulterior motive to this thread for Mayo fans to relive former, semi-final glories.

Must read that house of pain book, it got a good review in the paper.
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 18, 2008, 04:29:20 PM
Ye your probably right Juice , the book itself is a good if depressing read for a mayoman anyway :(
Post by: his holiness nb on January 18, 2008, 04:29:34 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 18, 2008, 04:18:01 PM
Jeesus lads yis have to stop posting these threads, your making the dubs here all feel rightous and all that.

Its just nice to be popular Juice  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on January 18, 2008, 05:29:40 PM
It's quite simple. If you enjoy seeing pain, anguish and complete despair and desolation on the faces of the Hill 16 denizens (and lets face it, who doesn't) then there is one score (well technically 2) that stand head and shoulders above the rest and that's the Foley/Beggy combo. The perfect end to a monumental saga which saw Good triumph over Evil (just like '96 ;)). It dominated the '91 football season to the extent that to this day no one is really sure who actually won the All-Ireland (I think it was Roscommon).
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 18, 2008, 07:08:56 PM
QuoteWhy would you say that mike sheehy?

Because the  signature at the bottom of his posts say "All Ireland champions 2006 & 2007"
Post by: Canalman on January 19, 2008, 11:14:40 AM
Just a few points about Muligan's goal in 2005. I was in Hogan stand level with the 21 yard line on the Canal End goal and had a great view of goal.

1 The goal looked alot better on the TV
2 The goal was always on when Mulligan slipped Paddy Christie creating a 4 on 2 overlap and momentum forward..
3 Mulligan's jinxes were created as a result of the 2 man overlap on the inside and imo in particular the brilliant off the ball running of Stephen O'Neill.
4 The Dublin backs were made look particularly silly as the tv coverage never showed the overlaps inside.

Only a slight quibble on what was a very well taken goal.

Just wanted to defend the Dublin backs who in any event were never slated by the Dublin fans who knew exactly what happened.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 19, 2008, 11:36:58 AM
The goal Paddy McKeever threw into the net into 02. Although it didn't really have much impact on the game since it was immediately cancelled out.
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 19, 2008, 11:53:08 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 18, 2008, 07:08:56 PM
QuoteWhy would you say that mike sheehy?

Because the  signature at the bottom of his posts say "All Ireland champions 2006 & 2007"

God bless him Mike i know he is grasping at straws but he is in fact correct ,mayo have won the over 40's Ai the past two years so there you have it mayo Ai champions 2006 & 2007 happy days hope we do the three in a row ;)   
Post by: Jinxy on January 19, 2008, 01:00:36 PM
I never bought into the hype surrounding Mulligans goal for some reason. Something not quite right about it! ???
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on January 19, 2008, 01:38:08 PM
I too was at the game and new immediately that Id witnessed a special goal. Anybody who disputes the quaity of that goal needs their head seen to. If there's been a better goal in croke park I havent seen it. The importance of that goal in terms of that 2005 championship cant be overstated.
Post by: Jinxy on January 19, 2008, 01:43:26 PM
I think it was the fact that the Dublin defenders were doing star jumps. Looked very undignified. Sure thats the Dubs for you I s'pose. Fayser would never have bought it.
Post by: Plain of the Herbs on January 19, 2008, 03:08:00 PM
I'm surprised none of the Offaly boys here have mentioned Matt's goal in the 1980 Leinster final.
Post by: Tyrones own on January 19, 2008, 10:19:10 PM

Lads, the fact that it's the Meath, Armagh and Kerry contingent on this thread that can't bring
themselves to admit Mulligans goal was indeed one of the best witnessed in Croke park tells
me just one thing, that it was  just that :P ;D
Post by: Owenmoresider on January 19, 2008, 10:57:37 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on January 19, 2008, 10:19:10 PM

Lads, the fact that it's the Meath, Armagh and Kerry contingent on this thread that can't bring
themselves to admit Mulligans goal was indeed one of the best witnessed in Croke park tells
me just one thing, that it was  just that :P ;D
You'll find that, good and all as Mulligan's goal was (and it was quality), Foley's goal, that was on TV tonight, coupled with Beggy's winning point from the kickout, tops all others. The perfect end to a remarkable tie.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 20, 2008, 04:23:08 AM
QuoteLads, the fact that it's the Meath, Armagh and Kerry contingent on this thread that can't bring
me just one thing, that it was  just that

The fact that he clearly fouled the ball disqualiifies it as a great score. End of argument.
Post by: Tyrones own on January 20, 2008, 05:36:45 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 20, 2008, 04:23:08 AM
QuoteLads, the fact that it's the Meath, Armagh and Kerry contingent on this thread that can't bring
me just one thing, that it was  just that

The fact that he clearly fouled the ball disqualiifies it as a great score. End of argument.

No whistle Mike... Great score, End of argument :'(
Post by: blast05 on January 20, 2008, 07:03:27 PM
I haven't read through the whole debate so may have missed another strong contender - Padraic Brogans burst through the middle and placement / bullet of a shot into, into the top corner.
Won goal of the season that year - some strike
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 21, 2008, 11:31:22 AM
1985 blast, super goal, my favourite of all time
Post by: stephenite on January 21, 2008, 11:54:35 AM
Best goal ever scored at HQ