Laois Under 21 Football championship 2016

Started by Hospital Pass, October 18, 2016, 12:16:58 AM

Keyser Söze

Quote from: BobbyBoucherJr on October 31, 2016, 07:46:24 PM
No players have been "POACHED" by portlaoise. It's easy to accuse the club of poaching players. The facts are the players themselves requested a  transfer to portlaoise. There is not scouts going around to matches looking for players.  Portlaoise have lost players to other clubs in the past but because they left portlaoise for another club, that is not considered as poaching.  Get your facts right lads before ye start posting about portlaoise just because you don't like them.  >:(

Are there any grounds on which Portlaoise can object to lads who request a transfer to another club in Laois? Am I correct in thinking that they are powerless to stop such transfers?
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled.......

Ballyroan Abbey

No players have been "POACHED" by portlaoise. It's easy to accuse the club of poaching players. The facts are the players themselves requested a  transfer to portlaoise. There is not scouts going around to matches looking for players.  Portlaoise have lost players to other clubs in the past but because they left portlaoise for another club, that is not considered as poaching.  Get your facts right lads before ye start posting about portlaoise just because you don't like them.  >:(
[/quote

Well i know 2 lads who transfered in that were asked by portlaoise members to join them, as i said far from the only ones at it, but to say it doesnt exist is either nieve or hiding the truth

clonadmad

Portlaoise spending the guts of €2k to get the DRA to hear a case involving an u16 from Park who they wanted to transfer into them must have happened in a parallel universe then?

Downtheroad

Quote from: Helix on October 31, 2016, 08:10:49 PM
I'd say it down to parents at juvenile level looking for transfers rather than juveniles. You hardly expect 10-12 year olds going putting in requests? Haven't seen our club gain lads coming from Portlaoise anyways. I know Portlaoise lost 2 lads to Trumera in 2016. The main loss Portlaoise has is the lads choosInt football over hurling for obvious reasons.
There's a combination of factors at play. You often have the situation where parents send their Johnny out to the rural school to keep him away from the rest of the town folk. Picking a sporting club is a logical progression as nothing but the best for Johnny when the rural club isn't big enough. To be honest all clubs engage in targeting players in both subtle and crude ways. It's the lack of transparency at how County Board arrive at decisions that can be a concern. I will give you an example. There is a byelaw that includes proximity as possible criterion. Proximity has merit in cases where a player is up beside a pitch of a club that is outside catchment area but the player is miles away from what should be his "Home club".  But what actually constitutes proximity? is it one mile, 2 miles or the just over half way point in distance between the player and the 2 clubs.

Don Draper

The facts are the players themselves requested a  transfer to portlaoise.
All players need to put in the transfer request themselves. This means nothing.

Keyser Söze

Quote from: Downtheroad on October 31, 2016, 09:07:13 PM
Quote from: Helix on October 31, 2016, 08:10:49 PM
I'd say it down to parents at juvenile level looking for transfers rather than juveniles. You hardly expect 10-12 year olds going putting in requests? Haven't seen our club gain lads coming from Portlaoise anyways. I know Portlaoise lost 2 lads to Trumera in 2016. The main loss Portlaoise has is the lads choosInt football over hurling for obvious reasons.
There's a combination of factors at play. You often have the situation where parents send their Johnny out to the rural school to keep him away from the rest of the town folk. Picking a sporting club is a logical progression as nothing but the best for Johnny when the rural club isn't big enough. To be honest all clubs engage in targeting players in both subtle and crude ways. It's the lack of transparency at how County Board arrive at decisions that can be a concern. I will give you an example. There is a byelaw that includes proximity as possible criterion. Proximity has merit in cases where a player is up beside a pitch of a club that is outside catchment area but the player is miles away from what should be his "Home club".  But what actually constitutes proximity? is it one mile, 2 miles or the just over half way point in distance between the player and the 2 clubs.

Good point. This could be the next byelaw to cause a problem!
I'd imagine there are lots of people in Laois who live nearer to a neighbouring club grounds than they do to their own club grounds.

BallyroanAbu

Sorry but if a player wants to transfer that's his own choice,   I feel there could be a 1 year holding period but after that I do not think any GAA club has the right to hold players once they comply with the byelaws of the county.   The idea that a club can dictate the playing future of any player for an indeterminate period of time is completely wrong.

High Fielder

This isn't the Premier League. The GAA wasn't formed with this sort of shit in mind. Many good players were proud to play for smaller clubs and wouldn't just desert them for personal gain. So what if a club is 1 mile away from you but not within your boundary line? That's just the way it goes. Suck it up. Get on with it. There are many more opportunities nowadays to make yourself known without prostituting yourself around the county. Bye laws tend to be the brain child of greedy executives or Chairmen with pull. They won't commit to anything long term just in case it goes belly up. Consequently, they get bye law after bye law pushed through and we are where we are. Open season.

Don Draper

Quote from: High Fielder on November 01, 2016, 09:46:03 AM
This isn't the Premier League. The GAA wasn't formed with this sort of shit in mind. Many good players were proud to play for smaller clubs and wouldn't just desert them for personal gain. So what if a club is 1 mile away from you but not within your boundary line? That's just the way it goes. Suck it up. Get on with it. There are many more opportunities nowadays to make yourself known without prostituting yourself around the county. Bye laws tend to be the brain child of greedy executives or Chairmen with pull. They won't commit to anything long term just in case it goes belly up. Consequently, they get bye law after bye law pushed through and we are where we are. Open season.
While I agree wholeheartedly with you, we are dealing with another generation here, and a lot of the morals of our association have been muddied and forgotten. Young lads, and by extension, their parents, don't generally give a f**k about Clubs and tradition. Barring your core families in an area, many others don't buy in in the way they used to and as a result, we have a pick and mix attitude to Clubs and the Association. Of course this has been chipped away at for some number of years now, and what we now have among Clubs now lamenting transfers, is something that they turned a blind eye to when it was happening to their rivals over the years.

First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Socialist.

The time to speak is gone.

High Fielder

You're spot on there. An excellent summary of where we are.

Keyser Söze

Quote from: BallyroanAbu on November 01, 2016, 09:01:31 AM
Sorry but if a player wants to transfer that's his own choice,   I feel there could be a 1 year holding period but after that I do not think any GAA club has the right to hold players once they comply with the byelaws of the county.   The idea that a club can dictate the playing future of any player for an indeterminate period of time is completely wrong.

The ethos of the association dictates that players cannot just pitch up and play where they like. Presenting this as clubs "dictating" is not in line with the ethos of the association.
Both the spirit and the rules of the association determine that players cannot freely move between clubs- they are the rules and should you bring a motion forward to change this I would suspect you will find little support.
We have a unique association. I certainly wouldn't agree with changing this aspect of it. Nobody is enslaved to the GAA. If they don't want to play with their local side and don't meet the criteria for transferring well then they should take up a different sport. Simple as.

Keyser Söze

Quote from: Don Draper on November 01, 2016, 09:55:02 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on November 01, 2016, 09:46:03 AM
While I agree wholeheartedly with you, we are dealing with another generation here, and a lot of the morals of our association have been muddied and forgotten. Young lads, and by extension, their parents, don't generally give a f**k about Clubs and tradition. Barring your core families in an area, many others don't buy in in the way they used to and as a result, we have a pick and mix attitude to Clubs and the Association. Of course this has been chipped away at for some number of years now, and what we now have among Clubs now lamenting transfers, is something that they turned a blind eye to when it was happening to their rivals over the years.

First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out—
Because I was not a Socialist.

The time to speak is gone.

I wouldn't be as doom and gloom as you are.
It has been happening for years.
On the hurling side of things Portlaoise and Camross benefited for years from transfers from within the county. What is happening now is no worse. You cannot control everyone and if they go to the rounds of changing their personal circumstances in order to meet the criteria then you cannot stop it.

But make the criteria clear, fair and water tight.
Laois is a small county. Not too many players want to be known as "runners".

Don Draper

Your place should mean something. Club sizes never held some of the greats of GAA back, a noble spirit embiggens the smallest man.

One of the greatest strengths of the GAA is that it can make ordinary places extraordinary. If you'd passed through Killeagh any other week of the year, it wouldn't have looked any different from 100 other hamlets. But the achievements of Landers and Deane mean that, from now on, whenever Killeagh is mentioned, GAA fans will nod their heads knowingly and say 'Ah yeah, Joe Deane and Mark Landers' homeplace.' ... Hurling and football keep the one-horse towns alive, practically give them a reason to be.'

Eamonn Sweeney, The Road to Croker (2004)

SCFC

I'd say Laois is one of the more difficult counties in which to get an internal transfer.

The Ramsbottom Bowe Langton transfers still piss me off 20 years on. Park could've been senior with them three lads. Strad would have won f***all without them.

clonadmad

If you get a transfer in Tipp,you and your family can sell up such is the strength of ill feeling towards anyone that transfers

I know of  1 extreme case in Tipp of an u14 who transferred to a club across the border in another county,he was killed 6/7 years later in a car crash and his former team mates refused to do a guard of honour  at his funeral.