Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Aye I heard glen are going to hand it back and offer a replay.

Spike

Glen are well versed in the rulebook for replays. ;D

Lár na páirce 1

Tomas red card rescinded justice prevails albeit 4 weeks too late

WattyMan

Yep, stick an asterisk beside it! Cargin can take comfort in knowing that they would of won Ulster, only for those terrible Glen boys

toby47

Jeez lads there's mistakes made by referee's in every game, forget about it. I get it might have gurt a bit at the time, but can't still be going on.

Glen would have won the game regardless.

Dunsilly King

Quote from: Silver hill on December 11, 2023, 10:51:18 PM
Quote from: Oso on December 07, 2023, 05:42:52 AM
Quote from: Silver hill on December 06, 2023, 08:12:02 PM
Quote from: Spike on December 04, 2023, 05:52:09 PMquote author=Silver hill link=msg=2237786 date=1699865270]
I was at the game and it happened right in front of us. McCann lifted his elbow into an unnatural position and caught Mcguckin on the jaw/cheek. Straight red all day long.

Silver Hill i think everyone has moved on.  Your own credibility evaporated the second you posted the above which all video and photographic evidence refutes.

Enjoy your run with Glen rather than prolonging what appears to be a niggling doubt about that side. I'm sure the derry discussion board are awaiting your wisdom

Refutes....  :-*

It irks you because you know, but you can't admit that Glen may well not have gotten through that game with 15 Cargin men on the pitch for the duration.

Your original statement of what you say you saw is just as reliable as the linesman's on the day who's originally from Foreglen and now lives in Donegal. It just lacks any credibility at all.

Serious bit of straw clutching there re the linesman. Cargin have won one ulster club game in 10 years. Could play until now and still wouldn't get enough scores to win a game in that championship. Delusional. So, by your logic I suppose you feel Cargin would have been ulster Champions today if Tomas hadn't lifted his elbow?

Silverhill now that Tomas got his red card rescinded are you still going to pedal the lie that you had a clear view it was definitely a red card. I watched that video run a number of times and couldn't see an elbow being used at all. Poor form from you.

Lár na páirce 1

Quote from: WattyMan on December 12, 2023, 08:54:01 AMYep, stick an asterisk beside it! Cargin can take comfort in knowing that they would of won Ulster, only for those terrible Glen boys

Glen fully deserving of winning Ulster again fair play to them back to back titles a real good side
No one saying we'd have won Ulster at all or even beat Glen with 15 men either but we'd have given it a fair good go is all.

Some shite talked on here this past while. The 2024 season can't come quick enough.

Spike

Quote from: JimStynes on December 12, 2023, 09:32:47 AMSome shite talked on here this past while. The 2024 season can't come quick enough.

Is Wee Pete raring to go for the new season?

bannside

https://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2023/12/11/news/tomas_mccann_s_controversial_red_card_against_glen_rescinded-3841156/?param=ds12rif76F&fbclid=IwAR1D2kH_TNX6BnEwMhsrLE_jEDNhAoJHJpK0rX2Zp6tO-SR1sLPkq_O5kzY_aem_Aek8d_6y0fEtpRWJ2PiwvmEeu9iHu4ARdCdAc7tTuXRtWipKgiIRGpf3hml29Et-oJQ

Tomas red card rescinded. For Cargin it's a case of they'll never know what would have happened had Tomas played the full game, but as Lar says, you'de have to admit it would not have been a surprise had Cargin scraped through.

That's the harshness of football, we never get to really know!

We'll never know BS but it would have been a surprise.

Spike

Antrim football isn't as far away as people would have you believe.  No easy games in Ulster as 8 county favourites and an excellent Trillick side would testify.

No Cargin are a very good team spike but it's just Glen are double ulster champions now - tbh only Kilcoo or Scotstown beating them wouldn't be a surprise. I still think Kilmacaud will beat them though.

I would expect Cargin to dominate antrim for a while now and for them to get beat would be the exception rather than the norm so they will probably build up plenty of experience in ulster.

EOC1923

Quote from: bannside on December 12, 2023, 10:04:02 AMhttps://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2023/12/11/news/tomas_mccann_s_controversial_red_card_against_glen_rescinded-3841156/?param=ds12rif76F&fbclid=IwAR1D2kH_TNX6BnEwMhsrLE_jEDNhAoJHJpK0rX2Zp6tO-SR1sLPkq_O5kzY_aem_Aek8d_6y0fEtpRWJ2PiwvmEeu9iHu4ARdCdAc7tTuXRtWipKgiIRGpf3hml29Et-oJQ

Tomas red card rescinded. For Cargin it's a case of they'll never know what would have happened had Tomas played the full game, but as Lar says, you'de have to admit it would not have been a surprise had Cargin scraped through.

No one in the stand that day thought it was red (whether they admit it or not), the Foreglen linesman had his say but its all parked now, at least Tomas has no suspension hanging over him for this new season.
What about Antrim, the Portgual training trip is bound to have a positive effect, some very winnable games in Div 3, promotion should definitely be on the agenda

Silver hill

Quote from: EOC1923 on December 12, 2023, 10:38:29 AM
Quote from: bannside on December 12, 2023, 10:04:02 AMhttps://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2023/12/11/news/tomas_mccann_s_controversial_red_card_against_glen_rescinded-3841156/?param=ds12rif76F&fbclid=IwAR1D2kH_TNX6BnEwMhsrLE_jEDNhAoJHJpK0rX2Zp6tO-SR1sLPkq_O5kzY_aem_Aek8d_6y0fEtpRWJ2PiwvmEeu9iHu4ARdCdAc7tTuXRtWipKgiIRGpf3hml29Et-oJQ

No one in the stand that day thought it was red (whether they admit it or not), the Foreglen linesman had his say but its all parked now, at least Tomas has no suspension hanging over him for this new season.
What about Antrim, the Portgual training trip is bound to have a positive effect, some very winnable games in Div 3, promotion should definitely be on the agenda

It's been discussed to death at this point but to say no one in the stand thought it was a red is a bit of a stretch. Maybe no one from Cargin but that's to be expected as we're all partisan when it comes to these things. I did think it was a red card offense when watching live. I've also seen loads of stills and videos since that wouldn't suggest that I change my mind. Tomas lost possession, he was frustrated with himself and in that split second, he raised his elbow into an unnatural position. Intent etc doesn't really come into it after that. As Roy Keane used to say when he was lined, 'did I give the ref an opportunity to send me off there?' And in Tomas's case, I personally think he did. As for the argument if had remained 15v15....as I've said previously, Cargin's style of play offensively needs to change. They simply don't score enough to win games at that level. That's my own honest opinion on it.