Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Itchy on December 31, 2018, 07:41:16 PM

Title: Celebrities that you admire
Post by: Itchy on December 31, 2018, 07:41:16 PM
It's been said many a time here and elsewhere that the Irish are a crowd of begrudgers. Don't believe that myself so I'm hoping people can list a few celebrity type people they admire and why?
Title: Re: Celebrities that you admire
Post by: Itchy on December 31, 2018, 07:46:53 PM
Conor McGregor- he might not be everyone's cup of tea and sometimes he makes me cringe but I do admire how he got himself where he is from bring a mediocre boxer to one if the best known faces in sport.

Angelina Jolie- Fine actress but also someone who does massive work for charities and important causes and in my opinion doesn't seek to make it about her. I don't know why she gets such bad press sometimes. I've always found her to be very articulate and caring when I've heard her speak.
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 31, 2018, 07:48:56 PM
Bono and U2. Great band and fella.
Post by: ONeill on December 31, 2018, 07:57:24 PM
Dana. Changed the face of Irish music and national psyche for decades.
Post by: Boycey on December 31, 2018, 08:07:39 PM
3 posts in and already it's a cnutfest  ;D

I'm not sure I 'admire' anyone but I quite like wee MickeyD and the way he represents us, of course having a Rory Gallagher photo in his office the day I was there hekped.

Can I add something - who's the nicest celebrity you met? Paul McGrath, absolute gent. Met him on a back Street near OT one night. He stopped and engaged in conversation for ages we had to make our excuses eventually as we were late for our lift.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on December 31, 2018, 08:12:39 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 31, 2018, 08:07:39 PM

I'm not sure I 'admire' anyone but I quite like wee MickeyD and the way he represents us, of course having a Rory Gallagher photo in his office the day I was there hekped.

Can I add something - who's the nicest celebrity you met? Paul McGrath, absolute gent. Met him on a back Street near OT one night. He stopped and engaged in conversation for ages we had to make our excuses eventually as we were late for our lift.
What about Stevie G Boycey
Post by: Boycey on December 31, 2018, 08:41:48 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on December 31, 2018, 08:12:39 PM

What about Stevie G Boycey

?
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on December 31, 2018, 09:26:01 PM
Mel Gibson.
Post by: general_lee on December 31, 2018, 10:08:00 PM
Keanu Reeves
Post by: LooseCannon on December 31, 2018, 11:10:13 PM
Not necessarily a celebrity.

Paul Rouse.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 01, 2019, 01:22:39 AM
Katy Perry.
Post by: ziggysego on January 01, 2019, 02:51:16 AM
Ollie
Post by: Don Johnson on January 01, 2019, 01:27:10 PM

What a round about way to humblebrag you were in the President of Ireland's office.
Post by: laoislad on January 01, 2019, 01:30:03 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 01, 2019, 01:22:39 AM
Katy Perry.
There's probably two things you admire about her......
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 01, 2019, 02:33:06 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 01, 2019, 01:30:03 PM
Katy Perry.
They are the main attributes alright.
Post by: From the Bunker on January 01, 2019, 02:38:18 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 01, 2019, 02:33:06 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 01, 2019, 01:30:03 PM
Katy Perry.
They are the main attributes alright.

(https://media.giphy.com/media/k1aqPYqLste1i/giphy.gif)
Post by: HiMucker on January 01, 2019, 02:47:26 PM
James McLean
Carl Frampton
Dennis Berkamp
Bill Gates
Warren Buffet
Brandi Love
Post by: ziggysego on January 01, 2019, 04:27:22 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on January 01, 2019, 02:47:26 PM
Brandi Love

Genuinely had to Google this name.
Post by: HiMucker on January 01, 2019, 04:57:23 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 01, 2019, 04:27:22 PM
Brandi Love

Ziggy she does a tremendous amount for equal rights for women in her industry, including support for single mothers etc. Genuinely one of the good guys and I try to support her as much as possible.
Post by: ziggysego on January 01, 2019, 05:08:55 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on January 01, 2019, 04:57:23 PM
Brandi Love

Ziggy she does a tremendous amount for equal rights for women in her industry, including support for single mothers etc. Genuinely one of the good guys and I try to support her as much as possible.

Yeah, I was a big fan of Laura Lee's. She did a lot of great work too.
Post by: laoislad on January 01, 2019, 05:13:39 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on January 01, 2019, 04:57:23 PM
Brandi Love

And also has a massive pair of......
Post by: Boycey on January 01, 2019, 05:34:11 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on January 01, 2019, 01:27:10 PM

What a round about way to humblebrag you were in the President of Ireland's office.

There's free tours every week  :D the wee man himself wasn't there. Its interesting, if youre into that sort of thing.
Post by: From the Bunker on January 01, 2019, 05:36:29 PM
I admire any Soccer player who plays regularly in the English Premiership.
To get to that position in a world wide popular sport such as soccer is an achievement.

Glen Whelan played 9 consecutive seasons in the Premiership. No mean feat. Some would say he was a limited player. That makes this achievement even more worthy of respect and admiration is he made the most of what he had.

If he was a Rugby international playing in a smaller cocoon sport with Club and Country he'd be hailed and admired from a high.
Post by: Insane Bolt on January 01, 2019, 06:24:40 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on January 01, 2019, 05:36:29 PM
To get to that position in a world wide popular sport such as soccer is an achievement.

Glen Whelan played 9 consecutive seasons in the Premiership. No mean feat. Some would say he was a limited player. That makes this achievement even more worthy of respect and admiration is he made the most of what he had.

If he was a Rugby international playing in a smaller cocoon sport with Club and Country he'd be hailed and admired from a high.

He's no Terry Phelan😜
Post by: imtommygunn on January 01, 2019, 06:29:05 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on January 01, 2019, 05:36:29 PM

Pulis has some quote about him saying something like he tried to replace him every year but the b**tard kept playing his way back into the team.

Boys like him and kilbane i would admire. Dogged work rate and determination even when they don't have the ability of stars around them.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 01, 2019, 09:36:19 PM
JJ Watt
Post by: bogball88 on January 01, 2019, 09:51:41 PM
Shane Macgowan- poetic genius and loves his gargle
Post by: AZOffaly on January 01, 2019, 09:55:58 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 01, 2019, 09:36:19 PM
JJ Watt

Larry Fitzgerald
Post by: seafoid on January 01, 2019, 10:02:10 PM
Michael Duignan
Cody
Klopp
Iarla O Lionaird
Martin Hayes
Post by: From the Bunker on January 01, 2019, 10:16:13 PM
Quote from: bogball88 on January 01, 2019, 09:51:41 PM
Shane Macgowan- poetic genius and loves his gargle

I have always loved Shane but never admired him! I've paid into gigs to see him perform and ended up listening to Terry Woods, Phil Chevron, Spider Stacey or someone dragged on from the support Band to do a song or two.
Post by: Seany on January 02, 2019, 10:17:30 AM
Steve Coogan
Rob Brydon
Blindboy out of the Rubber Bandits
Brian May
Noel Gallagher
Mary McAleese
Post by: TwoUpTwoDown on January 02, 2019, 10:18:03 AM
Some people can't stand him, but I really admire Graeme McDowell. A very successful professional and really has got the best out of his talent, given that he was not necessarily the most naturally gifted. On top of that his charitable work is admirable, especially considering he wanted to help children either side of the border and on the island as a whole.
Post by: Itchy on January 02, 2019, 12:29:53 PM
Michael O Leary

OK, not everyones cup of tea. However, look at the colossal changes his company have made to aviation. Trips possible to the UK and further afield for the price of a train ticket. Ryanair the biggest airline in Europe coming out of a country with 5m inhabitants. Every other airline out there scurrying to keep up with the innovations of low fare flying. I see my parents have traveled on city breaks to cities all over Europe on a shoe string budget, something they could never have dreamed off when they were young.

Surely Ireland's greatest ever business man and he pays his taxes in Ireland too.
Post by: Insane Bolt on January 02, 2019, 01:33:12 PM
Eamonn McCann
Post by: magpie seanie on January 02, 2019, 01:56:09 PM
Alyssa Milano.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2019, 05:50:05 PM
Quote from: Itchy on January 02, 2019, 12:29:53 PM
Michael O Leary

OK, not everyones cup of tea. However, look at the colossal changes his company have made to aviation. Trips possible to the UK and further afield for the price of a train ticket. Ryanair the biggest airline in Europe coming out of a country with 5m inhabitants. Every other airline out there scurrying to keep up with the innovations of low fare flying. I see my parents have traveled on city breaks to cities all over Europe on a shoe string budget, something they could never have dreamed off when they were young.

Surely Ireland's greatest ever business man and he pays his taxes in Ireland too.

He does a decent job of running a profitable low-cost airline, although it seems it took him a while to figure out how to embrace positive publicity. There's a good video here explaining how low-cost airlines are able to keep their costs down, and it's not all about nickel-and-diming your passengers and treating them like cattle:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=069y1MpOkQY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=069y1MpOkQY)

O'Leary might come across as a gobshite but then nobody's forcing you to fly with him. My only problem with O'Leary is that when he strays out of his lane he comes across as an opinionated London taxi driver who thinks he has to have an opinion on everything whether he understands it or not. If he sticks to running his airline, I'm all right with that.
Post by: Kidder81 on January 02, 2019, 05:57:05 PM
Harvey Weinstein
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 02, 2019, 05:58:59 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2019, 05:50:05 PM
Michael O Leary

He does a decent job of running a profitable low-cost airline, although it seems it took him a while to figure out how to embrace positive publicity. There's a good video here explaining how low-cost airlines are able to keep their costs down, and it's not all about nickel-and-diming your passengers and treating them like cattle:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=069y1MpOkQY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=069y1MpOkQY)

O'Leary might come across as a gobshite but then nobody's forcing you to fly with him. My only problem with O'Leary is that when he strays out of his lane he comes across as an opinionated London taxi driver who thinks he has to have an opinion on everything whether he understands it or not. If he sticks to running his airline, I'm all right with that.

He's also doing alright with his hobby of horse racing.
Post by: Dolph1 on January 02, 2019, 06:13:48 PM
Donald Trump
Post by: Insane Bolt on January 02, 2019, 06:20:15 PM
Quote from: TwoUpTwoDown on January 02, 2019, 10:18:03 AM
Some people can't stand him, but I really admire Graeme McDowell. A very successful professional and really has got the best out of his talent, given that he was not necessarily the most naturally gifted. On top of that his charitable work is admirable, especially considering he wanted to help children either side of the border and on the island as a whole.

I like GMac, comes across as a very genuine person, also love Padraig Harrington.....always plays with a smile on his face.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2019, 07:20:23 PM
Richard Branson
Post by: Itchy on January 02, 2019, 08:32:39 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2019, 05:50:05 PM
Michael O Leary

Only a decent job? What would an excellent job look like?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2019, 09:42:49 PM
One that doesn't involve trying to squeeze a few extra Euros out of wheelchair users who want to board his planes.
Post by: Itchy on January 02, 2019, 10:37:03 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2019, 09:42:49 PM
One that doesn't involve trying to squeeze a few extra Euros out of wheelchair users who want to board his planes.

I'd consider tgat a very small blight in terms of the success story Ryanair is and that's not me condoning it.
Post by: Orchard park on January 02, 2019, 10:53:30 PM
Michael O Leary

About the only thing going for him paying tax in Ireland, but the most ignorant Anti worker silver spoon in mouth clongowes boy grotesque sc**bag tgat the country has ever produced.....
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2019, 11:20:08 PM
Quote from: Itchy on January 02, 2019, 10:37:03 PM

I'd consider tgat a very small blight in terms of the success story Ryanair is and that's not me condoning it.

I could quote all sorts of horror stories about how poorly treated his customers are, but I was hoping that one example would have been enough to cover it.
Post by: Itchy on January 02, 2019, 11:23:04 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2019, 11:20:08 PM

I could quote all sorts of horror stories about how poorly treated his customers are, but I was hoping that one example would have been enough to cover it.

So explain why his airline is so successful if so many are treated so badly. I fly quite a lot and I can't even remember the last issue I had with them. Flew Scandinavian few weeks ago and they were a disaster. I'd take Ryanair over aer lingus any day too.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 03, 2019, 12:13:50 AM
I'm not arguing about whether or not his airline is successful, it clearly is. I just don't like the way he has treated his customers over the years and only recently came around to the idea that you can be profitable without being a dick.

To answer your question, there are always going to be some people who will put up with a certain amount of crap (at least the first time around) if they're going to save enough money, although I'd be surprised if they went back to Ryanair again if they had the option of another carrier like EasyJet for the same or a similar route. Just because the majority of people don't have problems doesn't change the fact that there are some people who are treated badly.
Post by: Capt Pat on January 03, 2019, 12:43:29 AM
Hitler was very successful at what he did and had a lot of supporters. It doesn't mean I should admire him.
Post by: fearbrags on January 03, 2019, 03:01:02 AM
Wille Joe   ;)
Post by: red hander on January 03, 2019, 04:34:53 AM
Quote from: Orchard park on January 02, 2019, 10:53:30 PM
Michael O Leary

About the only thing going for him paying tax in Ireland, but the most ignorant Anti worker silver spoon in mouth clongowes boy grotesque sc**bag tgat the country has ever produced.....

+1 Odious little cnut
Post by: imtommygunn on January 03, 2019, 08:52:56 AM
Yeah - O'Leary treats all his employees like crap and tries to squeeze as much out of everyone as possible while flaunting workers rights everywhere. There is absolutely nothing to admire about him. It is no coincidence all the strikes for first of all pilots and then other crew now.  Horrible horrible man.
Post by: Itchy on January 03, 2019, 09:19:43 AM
Ye are entitled to your opinion. Please bear in mind that the majority of Ryanairs 13,000 employees are sub contracted in and so their terms are set by a 3rd party. I assume with all this disgust at them as a company ye are doing the honourable thing and refusing to fly with them and pay that extra 20% to their competitors. Thank God no one strikes in Aer Lingus for example and they have such superb employee relations.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 03, 2019, 09:27:40 AM
Correct Itchy.

Ah sure if it's done by a third party then O'Leary is innocent of it all then ;D
Post by: Orior on January 03, 2019, 09:31:09 AM
Celebrities that you admire. Me.
Post by: Itchy on January 03, 2019, 10:21:10 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 03, 2019, 09:27:40 AM
Correct Itchy.

Ah sure if it's done by a third party then O'Leary is innocent of it all then ;D

Well fair play if you have the courage of your convictions. How come the head of Aer Lingus, who have also been cutting costs, is never held up the same scrutiny despite numerous strikes over the years. I can only think of it being down to the brash way O Leary deals with questions etc.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 03, 2019, 10:50:39 AM
Pretty depressing seeing some of the names on here. Some obvious wind ups but even still.
Post by: ziggysego on January 03, 2019, 11:11:35 AM

(https://craicto.files.wordpress.com/2015/04/yer-an-eejit.jpg)
Post by: imtommygunn on January 03, 2019, 11:17:01 AM
Quote from: Itchy on January 03, 2019, 10:21:10 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 03, 2019, 09:27:40 AM
Correct Itchy.

Well fair play if you have the courage of your convictions. How come the head of Aer Lingus, who have also been cutting costs, is never held up the same scrutiny despite numerous strikes over the years. I can only think of it being down to the brash way O Leary deals with questions etc.

There are many forums etc round pilot rights and then the paying employees out of the country he chooses so they never get healthcare contributions etc just isn't very nice. Then there's stunts like his taxi stunt , paying to go to the toilet etc. I think it's how he presents himself to a degree. He doesn't really care what people think about him whereas others try to present something different. What you see tends to be what you get there.

The jokes about the pint and extra for the glass etc etc are always about him and not about easyjet / aer lingus etc so I guess he has made a name for himself.

You have a point on why him and not other ones as there are possibly other people who mask it better than he does but he's just not a man who conducts himself in a way that I think merits any respect.

I have seen easyjet do the wheelchair thing too incidentally. I did witness speedy boarding go on before wheelchair users. I don't think it happens with them any more but I saw it on a flight from liverpool about 10 or a dozen years ago.
Post by: haranguerer on January 03, 2019, 11:25:36 AM
O'Leary doesn't come across as a likeable character, and some of his business practices are questionable, but his company is one of the most successful Irish businesses there is, and has revolutionised air travel. I think he can be afforded some admiration for that.

Post by: haranguerer on January 03, 2019, 11:26:11 AM

Whats this about?
Post by: imtommygunn on January 03, 2019, 02:09:27 PM
Speedy boarders getting on before wheelchair users
Post by: spuds on January 03, 2019, 02:29:08 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 03, 2019, 02:09:27 PM

I'm hearing this in a Frankie Boyle voice.
Post by: haranguerer on January 03, 2019, 02:38:29 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 03, 2019, 02:09:27 PM

I don't understand. Does this cause problems?