Ulster U-21 Championship 2012

Started by omagh_gael, March 13, 2012, 06:08:26 PM

Westside

Killian the Gunner also a serious doubt for Cavan. That's 3 lads from the last starting 15 out for this game. Doesn't bode well for us.

randomtask

Tyrone and Cavan double for me tonight. Tyrone may have lost their star player and captain, but they have amazing strength and depth. Either John Mc Cullagh or Shay Mc Guigan will come in as replacement and both of these on their day are game winners. Also looking at downs team from their last outing they seem to have a great team from 8-15 but in their defense they seem to be week. Tyrone's defence to date has been superb especially their full back line so i expect them to cope. Cavan had a fantastic win last time out against a star studded Armagh team, but Derry have a decent side who seem to be a good team with not to many star players. IMO Cavan's experience should pull them through this but by a very tight margin. Thought it would have been great and would have attracted a bumper crowd if these games had of been a double header in the athletic grounds pity.

sheamy

Double header on a wed night wouldn't be possible I think but your point is valid enough. It's about 80-90 miles from most parts of Derry to Enniskillen - virtually impossible to make for 8pm for most working men. You can have all the marketing campaigns you want but if you pick an idiotic venue and day it ain't gonna happen.

Maybe if the double header was on a Saturday afternoon with throw-ins at 5pm and 7pm it could of worked. I am working tonight so i'll miss the game and then a club meeting so lads inform me of the scores as they come if yer at the match!!! Luckily the match was at Celtic Pk the last time and I nipped up after work.

Quote from: sheamy on April 04, 2012, 05:53:01 PM
Double header on a wed night wouldn't be possible I think but your point is valid enough. It's about 80-90 miles from most parts of Derry to Enniskillen - virtually impossible to make for 8pm for most working men. You can have all the marketing campaigns you want but if you pick an idiotic venue and day it ain't gonna happen.

What about the men on the dole having to afford the petrol Sheamy!!!!!!!!!

So in the post thats in it (lets all sing together)....................

I'm an Ordinary man, nothing special nothing grand
I had to travel to Enniskillen for the match
I left my work in Derry and I went and collected Mary
By God it was an early start
Now they say that that time is bad and the wife's she's going mad
They say they can't get it fixed for other times
But when the whistle goes, Brewster Park will be nowhere close
Tonight we're gonna miss the match Mary!
We'll miss the match!

I never missed a match, never missed a puck or missed a catch
For 20 years the timing was always grand,
But now on a Wednesday late, I'll have to run out the gate
Enniskillen is a brave distance away
In Headquarters in Armagh, said it's not too far
But by God we live up in Derry
I don't drive a car and have run out of cigars
We'll miss the match!

It now has turned 6.30, i'm just in from work and i'm dirty
Gonna have to get a wash before we go
But now the Cred is feeble, and I can't afford the diesel
Gonna have to syphon from somewhere
Now we've reached Strabane, where a woman looks like a man
Lets get the hell out of here
We must reach Omagh quite quick or we'll be in a fix
We'll miss the match!

And so condemned I stand, just an Ordinary Derry man
Only a few of us made the journey down
I watch my darling wife, make the sandwiches with all her might
But we lost them going through Newtownstewart
Now we are faced with this terrible waste
The ham sambos have all been lost
For as long as I live I never will forgive
the Ulster Council for the venue and lost sandwiches
The lost sandwiches!

Blue06

snoopdog

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 22, 2012, 12:42:25 PM
http://www.teamtalkmag.com/ will be streaming live audio for the remainder of Tyrone's games (assuming there'll be more than one more  ;)).

Does this work. tried it but no success.
Do you need to be in the north to get it

Student Dissertation

Quote from: snoopdog on April 04, 2012, 08:23:24 PM
http://www.teamtalkmag.com/ will be streaming live audio for the remainder of Tyrone's games (assuming there'll be more than one more  ;)).

Should work snoopdog (lads all over the globe listening to it), but can't get it myself either at the minute. Tyrone leading 0-09 - 0-04 at half-time.

Edit: The radio streaming is back now, though clarity not great.

snoopdog

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 04, 2012, 08:39:43 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on April 04, 2012, 08:23:24 PM

Should work snoopdog (lads all over the globe listening to it), but can't get it myself either at the minute. Tyrone leading 0-09 - 0-04 at half-time.

Edit: The radio streaming is back now, though clarity not great.

Thanks, looks like game over though. Tyrone powering past Down as expected

Yeah what's the story with the quality of the sound on it?
Ye can hear the fans better than the commentators.

Sounds like they're not missing Ronan too much.
How the other semi going?

Quote from: Fuzzman on April 04, 2012, 09:02:17 PM
Yeah what's the story with the quality of the sound on it?
Ye can hear the fans better than the commentators.

They were saying there's something (unavoidably) different about their set-up this week, but I couldn't hear them properly because of the background noise!  ;)

0-13 to 1-08 at the minute.

Oak Leafer

Cavan 2 08
Derry  1 07

at the minute with 8 minutes to go.

15 to 1-08

bit of breathing space now