GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Tony on October 14, 2016, 11:01:43 AM

Title: Laois Senior Football 2017
Post by: Tony on October 14, 2016, 11:01:43 AM
The championship draw has been made for 2017 so probably a good idea to set up a new thread for discussion - from now until the O'Byrne Cup. A very decent draw and one I'm looking forward to. Certainly not easy, however, I think we should be targeting promotion from Division 3 and Leinster Final. That doesn't mean we'll get it but you can be sure it will be a target for Peter Creedon and his background team.

The 2017 Leinster Football Championship draw is as follows:

1st Round:
Louth v Wicklow
Laois v Longford
Carlow v Wexford

Quarter-Finals:
A: Louth or Wicklow v Meath
B: Laois or Longford v Kildare
C: Carlow or Wexford v Dublin
D: Offaly v Westmeath

Semi-Finals:
Winner Q/Final A v Winner Q/Final B
Winner Q/Final C v Winner Q/Final D
Title: Re: Laois Senior Football 2017
Post by: El Jefe on October 14, 2016, 11:36:43 AM
Every team on the opposite side of the draw to Dublin will be targeting the Leinster Final but considering how bad Laois have done in the last few years can you really see them beating Kildare & Meath to get there? Have to target it of course but going to be very tough. Getting out of Division 3 has to be the main priority
Post by: Tony on October 14, 2016, 12:58:02 PM
It all depends. Kildare and Meath have seriously under-performed the last few years as well. Of course it'll be tough. Hopefully the likes of Healy will come back. Quigley, O Loughlin, Timmons etc are 30 or thereabouts - they deserve a good setup after the shambles of last year. Creedon sounds like a great appointment but will he deliver?
Post by: The Monument Road on October 14, 2016, 01:33:07 PM
Quote from: Tony on October 14, 2016, 12:58:02 PM
It all depends. Kildare and Meath have seriously under-performed the last few years as well. Of course it'll be tough. Hopefully the likes of Healy will come back. Quigley, O Loughlin, Timmons etc are 30 or thereabouts - they deserve a good setup after the shambles of last year. Creedon sounds like a great appointment but will he deliver?
A few of our lads will be 32+ plus come next summer, Begley,Timmons,Quigley so it may be their last hurrah at reaching a Leinster final so hopefully they will give it a good go.JOL, Kingston, Meredith, Boyle, Cahalane,Walsh will be 28 or there about and the rest are farther back age wise. The squad have a lot of experience and physical strength so im hopefull of a good year. The league will tell us a lot. I cant see Healey ever making a comback as he lives in the UK. Gylynn likewise. Cotter had to retire from the game. Ross and Meaney are probably retired so we need to unearth a few during the league ....i have a snekey feeling we will reach a leinster if the new set up is as profesional as they are being made out to be. Lots of money being spent i hear
Post by: Tony on October 14, 2016, 02:37:22 PM
Begley, Timmons Quigley will be in the 30 - 31 bracket in my recollection, not 32+.

But yeah lot of money spent, and we're doing it right - or at least trying. The fact that Creedon will be the manager of the 21's also is huge. He will also have an interest in the minor set up. This is what we wanted : focus on a good senior set up but also for the underage setup to be improved by someone who knows what they're doing. We're putting a lot of faith in him but by all accounts himself, Toomey & McGeehin are serious operators.

I hear the whole set up is being financially backed by a few select businessmen in Laois.
Post by: SCFC on October 14, 2016, 03:15:15 PM
Strong, Donoher also 31 next year.
Post by: Tony on October 14, 2016, 04:49:14 PM
There are 4-6 very good prospects coming in, though. I'm not so worried that the core of the team is late 20's / 30's. If there are young lads coming up through minor and u21, they supplement the older talent. We don't necessarily need to be winning minors and u-21s for 4/5 of the team to be good senior prospects. Hopefully we can continue to bulid after the decent minor football year we had this year. 
Post by: OTF on October 14, 2016, 10:29:12 PM
Quote from: Tony on October 14, 2016, 12:58:02 PM

Kildare and Meath !!! Do we not have to play Longford first.
Post by: Tony on October 15, 2016, 08:14:51 AM
Yep obviously we do. As i say, it'll be tough but we should not fear anyone on our side of the draw. We should be targeting the leinster final and that's not unrealistic if our prep goes very well from now till may.
Post by: Thewildcat on October 15, 2016, 06:50:23 PM
don't write off longford, laois have been knock out of the championship by Clare and Antrim the past two years,
Post by: Joeythelips on October 15, 2016, 09:54:19 PM
I don't think anyone is taking anything for granted, the fact is Laois are on a side of the draw that Dublin are not, Dublin have won Leinster 10 times in the last 11 years so are clearly dominating the province, the team who makes it through this section will have a few wins, some momentum and confidence under their belt before they face them.

But it wont be just Laois who will be thinking that, Longford, Kildare, Meath, Louth and Wicklow will all think the same way and fancy their chances. With the exception of Wicklow their is not too much between those sides talent wise.

Meath under new management will probably be favourites to advance and themselves and Kildare will have a slight edge as they are competing in Div 2 but Laois will surely see this as a huge opportunity to show how good they are after a disastrous campaign this year. They are more than good enough to get promotion from Div 3 which would build confidence going into the championship. If all available players put the shoulder to the wheel un the new management set-up 2017 could be a good year for Laois.
Post by: Clubber Lang on October 18, 2016, 01:36:18 PM
The spine of the Laois team for next year will pretty much have 10 years intercounty experience-Timmons, Begley, O'Loughin, Quigley and Kingston with plenty of lads around them that have been there for a good number of years now as well. If ever they are going to deliver it is now. Hopefully the new management team can get the best of out these lads and that they show the necessary drive and determination to end their inter-county careers on a high and achieve some success. These lads are all still highly rated outside of the county despite Laois badly underachieving in championship football for the last decade with some abject defeats to the likes of Tipperary, Clare, Antrim etc... 
Post by: SCFC on October 28, 2016, 07:44:53 AM
Quote from: The Monument Road on October 14, 2016, 01:33:07 PM
.JOL, Kingston, Meredith, Boyle, Cahalane,Walsh will be 28 or there about and the rest are farther back age wise.
Meredith won't be around. He left the country the other day for a year.
Post by: Don Draper on October 28, 2016, 08:41:36 AM
Quote from: SCFC on October 28, 2016, 07:44:53 AM
Quote from: The Monument Road on October 14, 2016, 01:33:07 PM
.JOL, Kingston, Meredith, Boyle, Cahalane,Walsh will be 28 or there about and the rest are farther back age wise.
Meredith won't be around. He left the country the other day for a year.
A kick in the hole to O'D's tilt at Leinster.
Post by: Tony on October 28, 2016, 08:43:29 AM
Pity about that - he was one of our top performers in 2016 in my opinion. We can't afford many high level drop outs this year. Hopefully we'll have some strong new faces on board to offset the loss of Merideth.
Post by: les Antiques on November 02, 2016, 08:52:21 AM
Meredith will be back in the Spring .
Post by: les Antiques on November 02, 2016, 09:26:25 AM
Gary Kavanagh and Kieran Kehoe added to Creedons back room team .
Post by: Unlaoised on November 02, 2016, 02:53:07 PM
Who is Kieran Kehoe ...excuse my ignorance?
Post by: SCFC on November 02, 2016, 03:21:40 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on November 02, 2016, 02:53:07 PM
Presume he's the ex O'Dempseys player. Played Laois minor. Related to Robbie Kehoe.
Post by: Don Draper on November 02, 2016, 03:39:12 PM
Quote from: SCFC on November 02, 2016, 03:21:40 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on November 02, 2016, 02:53:07 PM
Presume he's the ex O'Dempseys player. Played Laois minor. Related to Robbie Kehoe.
Correct.

Post by: the sash on November 02, 2016, 07:44:46 PM
Bit of a strange one with kieran kehoe being added. I don't think he has trained a senior team? There obviously wasn't too many interested in it if that's the case. In fairness to Gary at least he has trained a senior team in the county n at juvenile aswell so he knows most players in the county n their capabilities.
Post by: SCFC on November 02, 2016, 08:19:20 PM
Quote from: the sash on November 02, 2016, 07:44:46 PM
Bit of a strange one with kieran kehoe being added. I don't think he has trained a senior team? There obviously wasn't too many interested in it if that's the case. In fairness to Gary at least he has trained a senior team in the county n at juvenile aswell so he knows most players in the county n their capabilities.
He took over O'Dempseys after the players got rid of Mick Moore last year. They were then relegated.
Post by: town1980 on November 03, 2016, 03:57:21 PM
hardly an inspired choice kehoe,,,jeez selectors are men you should look up to and our lads wont even no this man,,garry is a good choice i think that 03 group are the lads who we need involved in pur teams there attitude for them years was unreal and nothing like what went before of after them
Post by: Unlaoised on November 09, 2016, 04:21:34 PM
Panel have been assembled already I'm hearing Gary Walsh Pauric McEvoy and James Finn are gone back in after not been involved last year but Cahilanne and Lillis have not committed thus far.....

I hope it's not going to be another year of Portlaoise lads not going with the county as we need Brody Healy Lillis Dillion Boyle Cahillane Seale etc......
Post by: The Monument Road on November 09, 2016, 04:43:25 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on November 09, 2016, 04:21:34 PM
Panel have been assembled already I'm hearing Gary Walsh Pauric McEvoy and James Finn are gone back in after not been involved last year but Cahilanne and Lillis have not committed thus far.....

I hope it's not going to be another year of Portlaoise lads not going with the county as we need Brody Healy Lillis Dillion Boyle Cahillane Seale etc......
Gary Walsh was involved last year...Remember the Mick Lillis confrontation in Kilkenny ;D> Portlaoise's Dillon  is still involved
Post by: Unlaoised on November 09, 2016, 05:23:57 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on November 09, 2016, 04:43:25 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on November 09, 2016, 04:21:34 PM

Gary Walsh was involved last year...Remember the Mick Lillis confrontation in Kilkenny ;D> Portlaoise's Dillon  is still involved

Sorry My mistake yes I remember now sorry there is someone else gone in that wasn't involved last year I heard a few names on Saturday and I can't remember....

I know Dillion and Brody from Portlaoise have committed but not sure who else....

I just hope likes of Strong Timmons Quigley Donoher Begely etc give it one big push this year just to see where it could take us...

again I think we will lack quality defenders if seale doesn't commit and Cotter is injured its a big blow to the options...

I wonder could John Scully from annanough be approached ???
Post by: BallyroanAbbey on November 09, 2016, 05:33:58 PM
I wonder could John Scully from annanough be approached ???

Not this again
Post by: Tony on November 09, 2016, 06:06:09 PM
Cue High Fielder.
Post by: The Monument Road on November 09, 2016, 09:08:35 PM
Quote from: Tony on November 09, 2016, 06:06:09 PM
Cue High Fielder.
I hear Ross is back in again ....I didnt hear anything about Meaney. Donie and his brother Paul are in as is Matty Campion.Nothing about any of the other Josephs players. I think a few of them should get a chance such as James Kelly, Doyle, Adam and Kevin Campion, Hickey. They all had as good a championship as many already in.Sean O Shea Kileen should also get a chance. Ballylinan have 4 in. Walsh. 2 Farrells and Mcevoy. Mark Timmons is in but injured and cannot train.
Post by: town1980 on November 09, 2016, 09:33:46 PM
Ross still in dare is a joke bn honest his legs are gone he has done a lot for laois but it's time for him to go,, all over the country lads are retiring and his taken a place of the new breed,,, save yourself from critics and bad press please Ross u don't deserve it
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on November 09, 2016, 10:38:17 PM
Ross is still a great option from the bench

Came off it last year and kicked 2 points to win the armagh match

Hope lillis commits, has improved a lot in last 12 months

Meredith a big loss ..

Good bunch there if things are done right
Post by: Don Draper on November 10, 2016, 12:43:46 AM
Quote from: town1980 on November 09, 2016, 09:33:46 PM
Ross still in dare is a joke bn honest his legs are gone he has done a lot for laois but it's time for him to go,, all over the country lads are retiring and his taken a place of the new breed,,, save yourself from critics and bad press please Ross u don't deserve it
Ross can stay as long as he likes. Any young lad on the panel will learn a tonne from him. He's earned the right to call it himself anyway
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 10, 2016, 01:02:42 AM
Good to see Paul Kingston in, a great prospect if handled right..
Post by: les Antiques on November 10, 2016, 09:09:24 AM
Early stages yet . Door closed on nobody until the end of November .  Having Munnelly around can only be a good thing .
A major factor for the new season will be the fitness levels which were below par for most of last year . Cant imagine it been a problem this year !!
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 10, 2016, 12:56:02 PM
Unfortunately I disagree with many here in regards to Ross been part of the county panel.  I would have no problem with him been part of the set up/backroom.  His time has passed and while a great servant it's time to let go.  This is no slur on Ross who for the past 15 years has been one of Laois's most dedicated players but father time waits for no one.  Over the last two years he has been a shadow of the player he was.  I don't think he adds anything to us any longer from a playing point of view.  Backroom/Coaching no problem with him been part of the set up.
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on November 10, 2016, 02:15:34 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on November 10, 2016, 12:56:02 PM
Unfortunately I disagree with many here in regards to Ross been part of the county panel.  I would have no problem with him been part of the set up/backroom.  His time has passed and while a great servant it's time to let go.  This is no slur on Ross who for the past 15 years has been one of Laois's most dedicated players but father time waits for no one.  Over the last two years he has been a shadow of the player he was.  I don't think he adds anything to us any longer from a playing point of view.  Backroom/Coaching no problem with him been part of the set up.

Of course it's not a slur. When you're done, you're done. It was the same a few years back when Garvan was over the hill. The way some people were talking, he had earned the right to stay on the team/panel until he was 70!

Sport is cruel in that regard and when you're time is over, you're cut. If the manager has other ideas on your usefulness backstage, that's another matter altogether.

Post by: Butch Cassidy on November 10, 2016, 02:42:32 PM
Ross owes Laois nothing as just shows the passion he has for Laois that he still wants to play and feels he can still offer something. He'd make a great development officer for Laois as there's no one as commited as him.

Based on what I say during the club championship he's still in the top 10 forwards in the county so it's up to the younger lads to step up
Post by: Pat Spillall on November 10, 2016, 07:43:08 PM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on November 10, 2016, 02:42:32 PM
Ross owes Laois nothing as just shows the passion he has for Laois that he still wants to play and feels he can still offer something. He'd make a great development officer for Laois as there's no one as commited as him.

Based on what I say during the club championship he's still in the top 10 forwards in the county so it's up to the younger lads to step up

I don't think Ross knows anything about greyhounds and I don't think he would play for Stradbally so a job as a Laois Development Officer would be out ;)
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on November 11, 2016, 10:12:02 AM
Quote from: Pat Spillall on November 10, 2016, 07:43:08 PM

I don't think Ross knows anything about greyhounds and I don't think he would play for Stradbally so a job as a Laois Development Officer would be out ;)

Controversial.
Post by: Tony on November 11, 2016, 10:58:09 AM
If Ross wants to play,I say bring him in. The positive influence he has with the players is immense. What a good role model, too. Playing senior football for Laois over 14 years and still wants to contribute. Why not give 1 more year - who knows what Creedon can do with him. Likely an impact sub but nothing wrong with that. He knows his body best so if he feels like he can give something to laois in 2017, I'd welcome him immediately.
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on November 11, 2016, 11:05:54 AM
Quote from: Tony on November 11, 2016, 10:58:09 AM
If Ross wants to play,I say bring him in. The positive influence he has with the players is immense. What a good role model, too. Playing senior football for Laois over 14 years and still wants to contribute. Why not give 1 more year - who knows what Creedon can do with him. Likely an impact sub but nothing wrong with that. He knows his body best so if he feels like he can give something to laois in 2017, I'd welcome him immediately.

Fine, if he knows his place. If he's reduced to a part-player but is ok doing that, getting on for 10 mins here and there, then he can only be a positive influence on younger lads. If it's bitching about how he's not getting game-time, then the manager has to make a call.

I don't know him personally, so I can't say. He's been a brilliant servant for the county. Our all-time top scorer and one of the highest appearances numbers too.
Post by: Giovanni on November 11, 2016, 11:09:18 AM
I would have thought that everyone who is willing to commit should be welcomed, especially lads that have a proven track record. If, in the end, there are 10 forwards in Laois that are better than Ross and also willing to commit, then fair enough. I don't think he's the kind of lad that will stand in the way of younger fellas coming through (and certainly not the kind of lad that will be bitching about serving as a sub). In any case, his commitment should be applauded.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 11, 2016, 12:02:38 PM
I would imagine Ross would come in every day till his 100, however when your done your done there is no nice way of ending this.  Ross won't be happy it won't end nicely because the last person to know that your finished is the player.  There are endless examples of this.  I don't know how anyone had him in the top 10 forwards in club this year.
Post by: Don Draper on November 11, 2016, 01:31:03 PM
Ross showed he still had something to contribute last year when he came off the bench against Armagh. Until he shows he can't, and he still has the stomach for it, he's very welcome to stay. We have a shocking habit in this country of trying to retire lads.
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on November 11, 2016, 02:41:57 PM
Well said Don.. If he's not good enough anymore Creedon wont play him.
Post by: Tony on November 11, 2016, 03:08:50 PM
Exactly - this is a non-issue - in fact if anything it's a good issue. Some People will always find the negative. It's fantastic news that Ross is there for 2017. If he's not good enough, he doesn't get played. If he is good enough, he gets played, makes a difference, adds experience and helps the overall morale of the team as always. Quit your whinging. To the person who said Ross will throw his toys out of the pram if he's on the bench....you clearly don't know anything about the man.
Post by: steven seagal on November 11, 2016, 04:29:31 PM
QuoteI don't think Ross knows anything about greyhounds and I don't think he would play for Stradbally so a job as a Laois Development Officer would be out ;)

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 11, 2016, 09:44:18 PM
Really unfair.  With some on here it's be positive always regardless of the horseshit been provided or just because someone was a great player does not mean he now is a great player.   Ross is done no issue with him been a selector/mentor or development officer more luck to him.  Thanks for been a great player and best of luck with rest of your life. 
Post by: High Fielder on November 12, 2016, 12:34:14 PM
Leave him be for fucks sake. It's insulting this talk of being finished. Bar stool stuff. Go and find me these 10 better forwards than Ross and I'll give you a county that isn't in decline anyway. We're not in a position to turn anyone who wants to commit away. Not now. Not ever. Cop on.
Post by: Don Draper on November 12, 2016, 01:14:04 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on November 12, 2016, 12:34:14 PM
Leave him be for f**ks sake. It's insulting this talk of being finished. Bar stool stuff. Go and find me these 10 better forwards than Ross and I'll give you a county that isn't in decline anyway. We're not in a position to turn anyone who wants to commit away. Not now. Not ever. Cop on.
Thats the internet for you.
Post by: Tony on November 12, 2016, 05:35:49 PM
Idiotic stuff from Ballyroan Abu in fairness. We don't even know the full panel yet or who will or wont show up. He's putting himself forward for selection. Respect to him. Whether he gets picked or not is another matter. Leave it be.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 12, 2016, 08:07:57 PM
Anymore idiotic when your were cheerleading after the Dublin game last year?  Anyone up for a proposition bet what price will you give me Ross does not play 1 minute of championship this year.  Bet cancelled if he gets injured.  I am not wishing bad on him but I just don't think he is a shadow of the player he was 5 or 6 years ago.
Post by: town1980 on November 12, 2016, 08:16:32 PM
I'm with broan Abu on this one,,, look Ross has been xcellent we all no that but his legs are gone  simple as that ,,, nyone thinks nytn else is either blind or just day dreaming,,,
Post by: Zooming around on November 12, 2016, 09:42:53 PM
Quote from: Pat Spillall on November 10, 2016, 07:43:08 PM

Christ that's a low blow but a fairly accurate one nonetheless
Post by: Tony on November 13, 2016, 05:05:15 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on November 12, 2016, 08:07:57 PM
Anymore idiotic when your were cheerleading after the Dublin game last year?  Anyone up for a proposition bet what price will you give me Ross does not play 1 minute of championship this year.  Bet cancelled if he gets injured.  I am not wishing bad on him but I just don't think he is a shadow of the player he was 5 or 6 years ago.
You don't even know the full panel for 2017 or the full list of forwards that will commit 100%. He's putting his name forward for selection and will give 100% despite his family and other commitments, leave him be.

As for your bet, it's probably time you stopped playing with your toy keyboard and give the internet a break for a while. ;D
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 13, 2016, 06:13:58 PM
"the thing is, i believe we've a fine group of players. They have huge potential. If we get a tactical expert, in addition to a decent background set up, we can realise our potential. At our highest potential, i think we're a top 8 team - that's if we're firing on all cylinders. Look what Jim m did with an average enough donegal team. I'm also convinced the likes of mayo are not all that much better than us, when it comes to raw talent. It's the system, the momentum and training. I hope we get a cheap under rated manager with passion for laois and great tactics. I know it's a long shot but it's what we should aim for. It will unlock the undeniable potential of this team. Sure, we mightn't be up with the Dublins and kerrys but there's no reason that, with a good brain in charge, that we can't make leinster finals or 4th rnd/quarters"

That was you Tony at beginning of last season when you continued with the same bull to the level where I asked if you were Peter O Neill as a joke.  Your back at it again this year have you any objectivity?  I don't doubt your heart is with Laois, but seriously even you must think things are not great at the moment.  You have not commented negatively once all year even as the ship went sailing merrily into an iceberg.  I just don't get it.

Post by: Tony on November 13, 2016, 07:13:25 PM
My last comment was a joke but if you're actually looking through my past post history in your spare time, you seriously need to get a life mate.

I was clearly one of the most vocal of the "Lillis out" negative campaigners last year - I was calling for his head from early on in the year due to his clear incompetence. So I'm not sure what you were actually reading there.

I'm off to enjoy the evening now, I hope you can sign out for a while and do the same. Leave Ross alone though - If he wants to give hours of the week to see if he's good enough to still play for Laois, leave him at it. It's a lot better than giving hours of the week to anonymously posting to a gaa board, like we're doing, don't you think. Good luck.
Post by: Ballyroan Abbey on November 13, 2016, 10:41:19 PM
Does anyone have any idea as to who if any are invited into the county panel, personally id like to see knowles and comerford from stradbally and murphy from cretty in

Post by: les Antiques on November 14, 2016, 09:05:27 AM
Quote from: Ballyroan Abbey on November 13, 2016, 10:41:19 PM
Does anyone have any idea as to who if any are invited into the county panel, personally id like to see knowles and comerford from stradbally and murphy from cretty in

I believe the three mentioned above have been asked .O'Byrne Cup panel will be quite large and will be whittled down the week before the league  kicks off against Louth .
Post by: The Monument Road on November 14, 2016, 03:35:31 PM
Im reluctant to judge anybody but i think Knowles would be way out of his debt at intercounty level. The chap may have had a bad day yesterday but he got absolutley roasted by the Sarsfield full forward in the u21 semi final.Murphy is similar i think. Good free taker though. Stradballys centre back,Buggy is a shoe in for a permanent spot. Comerford is a semi professional soccer player so i cant see him commiting. I hear he has ambitions to try his luck in the UK
Post by: Don Draper on November 14, 2016, 03:47:37 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on November 14, 2016, 03:35:31 PM
Im reluctant to judge anybody but i think Knowles would be way out of his debt at intercounty level. The chap may have had a bad day yesterday but he got absolutley roasted by the Sarsfield full forward in the u21 semi final.Murphy is similar i think. Good free taker though. Stradballys centre back,Buggy is a shoe in for a permanent spot. Comerford is a semi professional soccer player so i cant see him commiting. I hear he has ambitions to try his luck in the UK
Was the Sarsfields Full Forward Sean Moore? If so, I'd give him a pass. I dont know the Knowles chap, but anyone deserves a pass for getting roasted by Moore.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on November 14, 2016, 05:42:50 PM
What age is Moore now? Is he in with the seniors?
Post by: Ballyroan Abbey on November 14, 2016, 08:41:54 PM
This was his first year out of minor, realistically laois should have a junior team/u23 to develop the likes of murphy, knowles, buggie, moore, daly from barrowhouse, crowley of emo etc
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 15, 2016, 02:28:36 AM
Murphy would have good blood in him, his Da was a former Laois star ...
Post by: Don Draper on November 15, 2016, 08:52:00 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 15, 2016, 02:28:36 AM
Murphy would have good blood in him, his Da was a former Laois star ...
And his grandad.
Post by: les Antiques on November 15, 2016, 09:08:41 AM
Is  Pa Murphy who was on the Laois u21 team in 94 that chaps Dad ?
Post by: Don Draper on November 15, 2016, 11:06:13 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on November 15, 2016, 09:08:41 AM
Is  Pa Murphy who was on the Laois u21 team in 94 that chaps Dad ?
Gog
Post by: Unlaoised on November 15, 2016, 03:25:34 PM
I'd hope that Sean Moore and Bracken from Port along with Daly from Barrowhouse might be called in to the senior set up!
Post by: Laoislad80 on November 15, 2016, 04:02:52 PM
Darragh Connolly from ballyfin would be worth a try in my opinion
Post by: Ballyroan Abbey on November 15, 2016, 07:00:42 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on November 15, 2016, 03:25:34 PM
I'd hope that Sean Moore and Bracken from Port along with Daly from Barrowhouse might be called in to the senior set up!

Suprised killen havnt snooped for daly yet
Post by: The Monument Road on November 15, 2016, 11:26:27 PM
Quote from: Ballyroan Abbey on November 15, 2016, 07:00:42 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on November 15, 2016, 03:25:34 PM

Suprised killen havnt snooped for daly yet
Maybe they already have....although the chap always seems to have a Josephs top on him these days....strange.
Post by: Unlaoised on November 16, 2016, 11:58:11 AM
Panel seems to becoming along nicely with everyone available and asked committing to so far.

Creedon seems to have the players very interested in the way he is going about things!!!

I'm hearing good vibes!!!!!
Post by: Unlaoised on November 17, 2016, 04:49:18 PM
Anyone know if many stradbally lads were called up I know Begley will be there but what about Eoin Buggie?Jody  Dillion comerford Barney Maher ??I think them and Joe's have a few players worth looking at...Sean Ram from Timahoe was superb as well this year would he be in with a shout?

Rory Bracken from O'Dempseys?
Sean O'Shea from Kileen?

Stuart Nearney from Portlaoise?

Post by: Uisce on November 17, 2016, 06:33:41 PM
I wouldn't think those players you mentioned are of the required level, Buggie would be worth a shot alright and Comerford (but he will probably play soccer). Sean Ramsbottom is in there as far as I know.
Post by: les Antiques on November 18, 2016, 09:10:09 AM
Buggie and Knowles should get a run in January along with Shiels if he is fit .
Post by: Unlaoised on November 18, 2016, 10:28:53 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on November 18, 2016, 09:10:09 AM

Should or will?Are they involved with the squad?

Good to hear Sean Ram is in there...He is a quality player and could have a part to play if he knuckles down and gets to peak fitness!
Post by: les Antiques on November 18, 2016, 10:37:40 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on November 18, 2016, 10:28:53 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on November 18, 2016, 09:10:09 AM

Should or will?Are they involved with the squad?

"SHOULD"

Post by: Don Draper on November 18, 2016, 10:50:03 AM
Good to hear Sean Ram is in there...He is a quality player and could have a part to play if he knuckles down and gets to peak fitness!
And controls the rest.
Post by: Unlaoised on November 18, 2016, 12:53:13 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 18, 2016, 10:50:03 AM
And controls the rest.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Unlaoised on November 18, 2016, 12:53:55 PM
Any chance we could talk Cahie healy around to kicking ball what a plus he would be in the back line!!
Post by: Heshs Umpire on November 18, 2016, 09:27:54 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 18, 2016, 10:50:03 AM
And controls the rest.
Exactly. His temperament has let him down too many times. Superb footballer on his day though. Best player in the intermediate final this year.
Post by: SCFC on November 20, 2016, 10:16:58 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on November 18, 2016, 12:53:55 PM
Any chance we could talk Cahie healy around to kicking ball what a plus he would be in the back line!!
Doubt it tbh.
Post by: Unlaoised on November 22, 2016, 09:56:17 AM
I wonder will Colm Poole of Rosenallis or Darragh Connolly of Sarsfields Or kehoe of St Joes be considered to be pack of the set up going forward after such good recent performances?
Post by: les Antiques on November 22, 2016, 10:03:46 AM
I dont see why not any of those guys will not be given an opportunity in January !!
Post by: Unlaoised on November 22, 2016, 12:10:06 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on November 22, 2016, 10:03:46 AM
I dont see why not any of those guys will not be given an opportunity in January !!

I agree its not like we have an abundance of talent waiting in the wings!
Post by: High Fielder on November 22, 2016, 01:43:13 PM
Everyone deserves a chance. Sometimes, players improve for being in better company, so for that reason, I've learned not to write anyone off. It often amazes me as well how much regard is given to a player's underage form. Generally if they are good at underage, a coach will go through hell and high water to translate that form to Senior level. I much prefer to see a lad slowly developing in terms of ability and physicality. There was a corner back playing for Josephs the other day (not sure of his name) who I saw before and didn't think much of. The other day however. he was a different player and had clearly developed. Looked like a decent prospect to me.
Post by: Unlaoised on November 22, 2016, 05:09:33 PM
I hear we got Meath DIT and Wicklow in the O'Byrne cup ...

Can anyone confirm ?
Post by: The Monument Road on November 22, 2016, 05:40:51 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on November 22, 2016, 01:43:13 PM
Everyone deserves a chance. Sometimes, players improve for being in better company, so for that reason, I've learned not to write anyone off. It often amazes me as well how much regard is given to a player's underage form. Generally if they are good at underage, a coach will go through hell and high water to translate that form to Senior level. I much prefer to see a lad slowly developing in terms of ability and physicality. There was a corner back playing for Josephs the other day (not sure of his name) who I saw before and didn't think much of. The other day however. he was a different player and had clearly developed. Looked like a decent prospect to me.
corner back....either James Baldwin who got MOM or co an Maher a cousin of Karl Lacey of Donegal..
Post by: High Fielder on November 22, 2016, 05:46:55 PM
No it wasn't one of the Baldwins. Must have been Maher so. Fairly big lad with black hair. Carried well if a little suspect with distribution. Aggressive enough and tackled well. He improved a lot from the last time I saw him. Others stood out more but I liked what he was doing and looks capable of developing further
Post by: The Monument Road on November 22, 2016, 09:47:23 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on November 22, 2016, 05:46:55 PM
No it wasn't one of the Baldwins. Must have been Maher so. Fairly big lad with black hair. Carried well if a little suspect with distribution. Aggressive enough and tackled well. He improved a lot from the last time I saw him. Others stood out more but I liked what he was doing and looks capable of developing further
Cian Maher....yea i am of the same belief....A fine strapping lad who runs straight at players with power. I think he is stiil eligable for u21 next year also. He has pedigree as he is closely related to Karl Lacey and also of the same family blood line as Beano. Kingstons, Donie Brennan, his team mate James Doyle and Damien Murphy of Stradbally. His uncles played with St Josephs, Joe, Fergal and Aidan Lacey. So he certainly has pedigree.
Post by: Unlaoised on November 23, 2016, 04:40:07 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on November 22, 2016, 09:47:23 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on November 22, 2016, 05:46:55 PM
Cian Maher....yea i am of the same belief....A fine strapping lad who runs straight at players with power. I think he is stiil eligable for u21 next year also. He has pedigree as he is closely related to Karl Lacey and also of the same family blood line as Beano. Kingstons, Donie Brennan, his team mate James Doyle and Damien Murphy of Stradbally. His uncles played with St Josephs, Joe, Fergal and Aidan Lacey. So he certainly has pedigree.

Holy Moley if that lad doesn't become a Laois county player what hope is there for anyone else ha ha...

anyone here anymore about these Players meet us or whats going on....I've been told its all very positive and the players really like Creedon already!!
Post by: Unlaoised on November 30, 2016, 03:08:09 PM
I know the O'Byrne cup is first and the first game is DIT at home on the 8th of Jan followed by Wicklow away on the 11th(wednesday) and then Meath at home the following Sunday the 25th and it will surely be a case of looking at players in these games...The League starts just three weeks later with a Saturday night home fixture against Louth (4th Feb)

Looking at our fixtures in the League they could have been easier ...Antrim and Sligo away are ones you'd like to have at home and would guarantee nearly four points whereas away they will be tricky games away with such travelling.

Armagh away is also a tough game especially after what happened last year although we have a great record against the Orchard county in recent meetings.

Louth Tipperary and Longford are all winnable games at home but still not easy.Then the last Sunday is the Biffo's in Tullamore.

I'd be hoping for something like this

Laois v Louth win 2 points(should beat Louth at home)
Armagh v Laois loss 0 points(I fear we could be up against it early in Creedon's reign here)
Laois v tipperary win 2 points(difficult but winnable Creedon should know them well)
Sligo v Laois draw 1 point(Will be a crucial game 4 games in must not loose)
Antrim v Laois win 2 points will again be hard but fancy two points here)
Laois v Longford win 2 points(we should beat them at home)
Offaly v Laois Win 2 points (I like Laois playing in tullamore and we will have no fear of Offaly)

11 points from 14 might seem optimistic but thats what i'd be aiming for.

The vital games will be game week 3 and 4 with Tipp at home and Sligo away if we can get 3/4 points here I think we will be right in the shake up for promotion.

Armagh and  Tipperary will be probably in the shake up but Longford have got nice home fixtures and could feature as well .

All to play for I for one can't wait!!!

Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on December 01, 2016, 01:13:32 PM
Fair play Unlaoised. Nice bit of enthusiasm for next year ..
Hard to know how it will go .. it should be between 3 teams

Armagh 2/1
Tipp 2/1
Laois 10/3
Biffos 10/1
Longford 14/1

If i was a betting man i'd be keeping my hands in my pocket.
Armagh will be a different animal if Clarke comes back ..
We have a decent squad, depending on who commits etc (meredith a big loss).
Will be 4th or 5th league game before we can judge i'd imagine.
At least we have a decent mgmt setup this year ..

Post by: OTF on December 02, 2016, 12:11:13 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on November 30, 2016, 03:08:09 PM
I know the O'Byrne cup is first and the first game is DIT at home on the 8th of Jan followed by Wicklow away on the 11th(wednesday) and then Meath at home the following Sunday the 25th and it will surely be a case of looking at players in these games...The League starts just three weeks later with a Saturday night home fixture against Louth (4th Feb)

Looking at our fixtures in the League they could have been easier ...Antrim and Sligo away are ones you'd like to have at home and would guarantee nearly four points whereas away they will be tricky games away with such travelling.

Armagh away is also a tough game especially after what happened last year although we have a great record against the Orchard county in recent meetings.

Louth Tipperary and Longford are all winnable games at home but still not easy.Then the last Sunday is the Biffo's in Tullamore.

Armagh v Laois loss 0 points(I fear we could be up against it early in Creedon's reign here)
Laois v tipperary win 2 points(difficult but winnable Creedon should know them well)
Offaly v Laois Win 2 points (I like Laois playing in tullamore and we will have no fear of Offaly)

The vital games will be game week 3 and 4 with Tipp at home and Sligo away if we can get 3/4 points here I think we will be right in the shake up for promotion.

Armagh and  Tipperary will be probably in the shake up but Longford have got nice home fixtures and could feature as well .

Have to get off to a fast start here first 3 games very tough, I think I'd take survival at this point.
Post by: Unlaoised on December 02, 2016, 03:33:48 PM
Quote from: OTF on December 02, 2016, 12:11:13 PM

Have to get off to a fast start here first 3 games very tough, I think I'd take survival at this point.

Surely we are better than that I know results haven't proved it over the last few years but we still are better than the Antrims,Louth's Offaly's and Sligo's of this world in my opinion!
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 02, 2016, 05:10:03 PM
We should be better than those teams with the quality of players we have and hopefully the new management team will get the best out of them..
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 03, 2016, 01:01:20 PM
What do people think of our new jersey...

(http://img2.thejournal.ie/inline/3116657/original/?width=375&version=3116657)
Post by: Thewildcat on December 03, 2016, 05:14:55 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on December 02, 2016, 03:33:48 PM
Quote from: OTF on December 02, 2016, 12:11:13 PM

Surely we are better than that I know results haven't proved it over the last few years but we still are better than the Antrims,Louth's Offaly's and Sligo's of this world in my opinion!

after losing to Clare in 2016 and Antrim in 2015, and drop down to division 3 this year don't see where the form is that laois are any better than louth, sligo, and offaly i'd say they are all at the same level.
Post by: steven seagal on December 04, 2016, 10:14:44 PM
QuoteLaois v Louth win 2 points(should beat Louth at home)

How do you have us losing to Armagh but beating Tipperary?
Post by: High Fielder on December 05, 2016, 03:47:32 PM
All bets are off until we see who commits and how well the new Management gel with the players. We are short of good backs in the county, and what we have, we certainly can't afford to lose through injury or suspension because we have no strength in depth. Predictions are pure pie in the sky because we're very unpredictable. This is our level just now, and in my opinion, Tipperary, based on what they showed in the Championship, should be clear favourites. They are not a great League side though
Post by: Unlaoised on December 05, 2016, 04:19:40 PM
Quote from: steven seagal on December 04, 2016, 10:14:44 PM
QuoteLaois v Louth win 2 points(should beat Louth at home)

How do you have us losing to Armagh but beating Tipperary?

Because its at home and tipp generally are very poor in the league especially away from home.

Armagh are hard to beat up there and will have it in for us over loosing twice last year and not getting the second game at home!

Thats all ...Its only an early prediction of how I think we might fair if we can get things right and get everyone on board...

Only an opinion and a very early one just to get us up talking about the season ahead.....

Not sure about the new jersey i'm a traditionalist and like the Hoop in the middle but it ain't bad.
Post by: Unlaoised on December 07, 2016, 03:52:28 PM
Anyone here how things are going ....

I believe all the u21's are in training with the seniors must be a big panel so far?
Post by: Tony on December 12, 2016, 09:02:17 AM
Not sure Unlaoised, haven't heard much apart from people saying it's going very well. Would like to hear who's 100% involved this year but we'll shortly find out I suppose, O Byrne Cup just around the corner. League is really where we'll see how we're going to pan out. I'd like to see a few new faces in the panel - we could do with some cover for the full back line, especially. I hear most of our core experienced players are back + Merideth back in Feb / March.
Post by: les Antiques on December 12, 2016, 11:15:37 AM
The panel is been cut a week before the opening league match against so Louth so we should expect to see quite a few fringe players been given the opportunity during the OByrne Cup .
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 13, 2016, 01:30:09 AM
Mark Timmons just had a double hip surgery done...

https://twitter.com/timmo_57/status/808429092785836032
Post by: Unlaoised on December 13, 2016, 10:48:30 AM
Great servant to Laois and a massive Loss at full back hopefully he recovers well.
Post by: Giovanni on December 13, 2016, 11:52:06 AM
A very underrated player both inside the county and outside it. Best of luck to him on his recovery.

Not sure what full back options we have now? Meaney was playing there for Leinster last weekend although I didn't think he was very comfortable there when he played in the past. Not sure what other options we have?
Post by: redsetanta on December 13, 2016, 12:39:46 PM
Again as a small county it's nigh on impossible to replace the likes of Timmons and we have a dearth of decent backs particularly the full back line as has been stated here many times.
We will have to start to prepare though because Timmons is moving on in years and injuries aside he won't be around for a whole lot longer with the demands of the game.
CB needs to put a plan in place to develope good defensive players as all of the bright hopes in recent years have been forwards. We can have all the forwards we want but if we cannot prevent scores down the other end what is the point.
Post by: LaoisHeart on December 13, 2016, 03:27:06 PM
we have a lot of talent coming through but to convert them to senior footballers is the problem, there is to much of a gap between the development squads of 16 and then until they reach senior level, if we want to be more successful we need to continue coaching right through until they are 20 as some of the minor coaching is shocking, we also are very mentally weak, a lot of younger players seem to be injured all the time, are they really injured or are they just mentally weak?
Post by: Unlaoised on December 14, 2016, 11:26:08 AM
Meaney got hooked at half time last weekend for Leinster was suppose to be shakey but its the only option bar maybe Begley that I can see.
Post by: Tony on December 15, 2016, 09:54:37 PM
Quote from: LaoisHeart on December 13, 2016, 03:27:06 PM
we have a lot of talent coming through but to convert them to senior footballers is the problem, there is to much of a gap between the development squads of 16 and then until they reach senior level, if we want to be more successful we need to continue coaching right through until they are 20 as some of the minor coaching is shocking, we also are very mentally weak, a lot of younger players seem to be injured all the time, are they really injured or are they just mentally weak?
these kind of posts annoy me to be honest. Do you really think a load of players in laois are faking injuries because they are . . "mentally weak". Really? If you don't know what you're talking about and are just typing nonsense, what's the point in posting. Save us all the time and your own to be honest. Utter nonsense.
Post by: Ballyroan Abbey on December 16, 2016, 01:44:45 AM
Quote from: LaoisHeart on December 13, 2016, 03:27:06 PM

Id rather a young mind himself than be broke up by the time they are in their 30s, just look at Tom Kelly and Joe Higgins in Joesphs, theres plenty of higher profile players from other counties too
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on December 16, 2016, 01:50:24 PM
Well said Tony ..

Hopefully he might be back for the championship ..  one of the best FB in the country .. model of consistency ..

The overall vibes coming out are positive and hopefully for the first time in a long time  we have a mgmt
team that will give the lads the platform to be the absolute best they can be ..

Post by: Unlaoised on December 16, 2016, 03:19:12 PM
Quote from: ILikeStrawberryJam on December 16, 2016, 01:50:24 PM
Well said Tony ..

Hopefully he might be back for the championship ..  one of the best FB in the country .. model of consistency ..

The overall vibes coming out are positive and hopefully for the first time in a long time  we have a mgmt
team that will give the lads the platform to be the absolute best they can be ..

I'm hearing this the players are loving Creedon and his staff and that they are hungry to give it a right go this year...

The under 21s in is addding a freshness to the whole set up and is a positive factor so far.

One player told me its the best set up he has been involved in and he is there a nice few years!
Post by: south Laois on December 19, 2016, 12:00:59 PM
Great to hear all the good vibes about the set-up. It's good news that all our main players are committed to the set up. Mark Timmons is going to be a huge loss while he's out. I don't suppose Cahir Healy is moving home any time soon.
Post by: Tony on December 19, 2016, 12:27:49 PM
Quote from: south Laois on December 19, 2016, 12:00:59 PM
I don't suppose Cahir Healy is moving home any time soon.
Wouldn't that be great? And then when Timmons is back, move Healy into the corner. Strong sounding full back line in the making. I hear some of the u-21's are really coming on well training with the seniors. Great to hear they're all pulling together after a poor season. I know it's early days but credit where it's due : the CB and selection team seem to have made a proper good appointment with Creedon & his background team. It's huge that he's also overseeing the u-21's, we'll likely see a lot of new younger faces to the senior squad during 2017.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 19, 2016, 01:16:33 PM
It all seems to be heading in the right direction and its great to hear everyone sounding a bit positive for a change.
The fact that Creedon is linked with the U-21s is the most positive thing to come out off this setup. It really is the most obvious way to move forward and should have been done years ago.

If you look at all successful clubs in all sports they have academy's that bring on young players with the sole aim of strengthening their senior teams.
That essentially is what U-21 players are and it stands to reason that the senior manager has input and access to them so he knows what he has coming on.

Well done to the Co.Board for a bit of forward thinking. Even if we don't have success with the senior team this year it is a positive move and should lead to better things in the future.
Post by: merman on December 19, 2016, 05:14:21 PM
Quote from: south Laois on December 19, 2016, 12:00:59 PM
I don't suppose Cahir Healy is moving home any time soon.

I understand Cahir has committed exclusively to the hurlers for 2017.
Post by: Unlaoised on December 22, 2016, 12:13:58 PM
I hear Laois played a game against Limerick during the week anyone hear how it went?
Post by: Laoiseabu on December 22, 2016, 01:29:45 PM
Limerick won by a few points and Laois had most of there first team out it would make you think
Post by: Unlaoised on December 23, 2016, 10:38:17 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on December 22, 2016, 01:29:45 PM
Limerick won by a few points and Laois had most of there first team out it would make you think

Ahh its very early days and all lads were out at the weekend....

I heard it was 16-14 did anyone play well ?
Post by: Tony on December 26, 2016, 08:57:23 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on December 22, 2016, 01:29:45 PM
make you think what? that it's not even the new year yet? I wouldn't think a whole lot about a christmas game before even the o'byrne cup has started now myself.
Post by: Laoiseabu on December 26, 2016, 06:18:13 PM
Tony , there is no magic cure your trying to make yourself believe that a miracle will happen it doesn't work like that unfortunately. A lot of the lads that were playing against Limerick don't even play well for their clubs. Limerick are in division 4. But their is good news , I can tell you that somewhere in this county ( not mentioning any clubs )there is hidden gems that aren't even recognised by their own clubs yet that are waiting to explode on the scene in the near future I have been informed by a reliable source. Someone of the Kingston / OCarroll type
Post by: BallyroanAbu on December 26, 2016, 06:28:22 PM
Some on here think Laois are going to improve all of a sudden it's taken 4 years to get to here not even sure if we are at bottom, but if improvements do come they will be small and we just have to get some consistency.
Post by: Laoiseabu on December 26, 2016, 06:37:33 PM
A lot of our core players are moving on and a lot of new lads that are being tried out are a waste of time if I'm being honest. A few new lads would want to stand up soon and I'm not talkin bout Mickey Mouse Obyrne cup players I'm talkin bout proper county standard MEN!!
Post by: Tony on December 27, 2016, 08:41:11 AM
I never said we're going to improve all of a sudden but i certainly believe we have a decent background set-up this year. I believe having a good background set-up is vital for the teams's performance (just like any county) so I'm looking forward to the season but it remains to be seen if we will improve. My earlier post was in relation to someone judging the team's potential based on a Christmas Challenge game, which I think we can all agree is a little premature. Let's see how they're going by League time anyway.
Post by: gaastats on December 27, 2016, 01:25:01 PM
Did you know that Laois are in the top-11 scoring counties in SFC history?
Post by: Tony on December 27, 2016, 09:06:53 PM
The top 33%? Wow, so high. In a province that has the most counties, the most matches, so statistically will have higher scoring teams? That's so unbelievable.
Post by: gaastats on December 27, 2016, 10:47:14 PM
Quote from: Tony on December 27, 2016, 09:06:53 PM
The top 33%? Wow, so high. In a province that has the most counties, the most matches, so statistically will have higher scoring teams? That's so unbelievable.

Knob.

Laois are the only non-All Ireland winning team in the top-11 and are one of only 4 Leinster teams.

If being a Leinster team was a pre-requisite, there are 8 other counties that should stake a claim.
Post by: Tony on December 28, 2016, 08:51:34 AM
Wow, in the top 4 in Leinster? With giants such as Carlow, Longford, Westmeath, Wicklow, Louth and my all time favourite, Kilkenny in there  :o? You really are an interesting stat man; my mind is officially blown. Any more interesting facts? Maybe Galway are in the top 3 highest scoring in Connaught of all time, and maybe Derry are in the top 4 in Ulster?!

I'm sure your intentions are good but so far the stats aren't interesting, just very plausible. Anyway I'm sure you've some good ones so i'll get off your back and happy new year.
Post by: tcrilly on December 28, 2016, 11:21:04 AM
Laois pissed its so called golden generation through the cracks, tipp got further on the back of one all ireland win than we did in the 4 years or so we flirted with the eliete... cb still a sense of delusion that were good
Post by: SCFC on December 28, 2016, 02:01:27 PM
Quote from: tcrilly on December 28, 2016, 11:21:04 AM
Laois pissed its so called golden generation through the cracks, tipp got further on the back of one all ireland win than we did in the 4 years or so we flirted with the eliete... cb still a sense of delusion that were good
To be fair we got a provincial title out of it. Tipp didn't. Yet.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on December 28, 2016, 03:08:33 PM
Quote from: gaastats on December 27, 2016, 01:25:01 PM
Who are the all time top scorers?
Post by: Don Draper on December 28, 2016, 04:27:17 PM
That golden generation pissed a fair bit away as they'll admit themselves. But its good to know Offaly men were watching.
Post by: Keyser Söze on December 28, 2016, 05:52:42 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 28, 2016, 04:27:17 PM
That golden generation pissed a fair bit away as they'll admit themselves. But its good to know Offaly men were watching.

I reckon he's closer to home than you think  ;D
Post by: Don Draper on December 28, 2016, 05:56:45 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on December 28, 2016, 05:52:42 PM

Gracefield?
Post by: justinn on December 28, 2016, 06:09:18 PM
Best of luck to the laois Senior footballers in 2016. Sorting out the full back line will be a huge task with the loss of timmons, cotter, and keogh.
Post by: Keyser Söze on December 28, 2016, 06:16:13 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 28, 2016, 05:56:45 PM

Gracefield?

No, he seems to be very well acquainted with the Junior Hurling scene in Laois over the past 10-15 years!
Far too well acquainted for a Roscrea player!
Post by: Tony on December 28, 2016, 06:30:18 PM
Quote from: justinn on December 28, 2016, 06:09:18 PM
Best of luck to the laois Senior footballers in 2016. Sorting out the full back line will be a huge task with the loss of timmons, cotter, and keogh.
Yes best of luck to them in 2016, those 3 days will be tough  8). Timmons should be back by March - We'll need him! I would personally put C. Begley in the full-back line, at least while Timmons is out. Possibly Meaney in at FB, even though I know it's not his best position. We'll have to make do and ad-lib in the FB line for now. Merideth could also do a job there from Feb onwards. It'll be interesting to see the way the team pans out by feb/march. A few newer faces in the team by then 100%.
Post by: O moore parklife on December 28, 2016, 08:39:34 PM
Meridith will not be back in febuary spoke to a fella involved with donegal new York and he will be togging with them by all accounts. Massive loss to laois and o dempseys
Post by: gaastats on December 29, 2016, 08:09:06 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on December 28, 2016, 03:08:33 PM
Quote from: gaastats on December 27, 2016, 01:25:01 PM
Who are the all time top scorers?

01. Kerry
02. Dublin
03. Cavan
04. Meath
05. Mayo
06. Kildare
07. Cork
08. Galway
09. Louth
10. Armagh
11. Laois

Laois also 15th in average scoring. Laois punched above their weight for year (against population), when you consider that we have one of the 10 smallest population bases between 1891 - 1979. We only climbed out of the bottom 10 from 1981 and felt the commuter effect from 1996 onwards, passing Offaly out in 2011 for the first time since 1871.

All of the counties above us have either much larger population bases or are essentially a single-sport county ie Cavan.

We're 11th on the SHC scoring charts too.

01. Kilkenny
02. Cork
03. Tipperary
04. Limerick
05. Dublin
06. Wexford
07. Offaly
08. Galway
09. Clare
10. Waterford
11. Laois

Only Cork, Dublin, Galway & Laois appear in the top 11 in both lists. Galway have always had one of the 5 biggest population bases in the country. Even divided in two for either sport, as their county is, they still would have 50% more than we have, in total, for both codes.
Post by: Thewildcat on December 31, 2016, 06:44:00 PM
shows you what a county offaly are won  7 all irelands between hurling and football in the last 45 years, only Cork and Galway have won them in both codes since then. and look at the size of cork and Galway to offaly. also laois who had great football and hurling teams in the early 80's and were unlucky not to make a breakthrough them times.
Post by: SCFC on December 31, 2016, 08:16:50 PM
Quote from: Thewildcat on December 31, 2016, 06:44:00 PM
shows you what a county offaly are won  7 all irelands between hurling and football in the last 45 years, only Cork and Galway have won them in both codes since then. and look at the size of cork and Galway to offaly. also laois who had great football and hurling teams in the early 80's and were unlucky not to make a breakthrough them times.

You still pretending to be from Camross not Gracefield?
Post by: gaastats on January 01, 2017, 01:53:43 AM
Laois have played a total of 517 league matches since 1925, winning 221, drawing 59 and losing 237. Score difference is about -340.

Records v opponents:
Louth........P28 W9 D6 L13. Last win/draw/loss: 2014-2013-2000.
Armagh......P19 W11 D0 L8. Last win/draw/loss: 2016-never-2014.
Tipperary....P14 W8 D2 L4. Last win/draw/loss: 2010-2002-1977.
Sligo.........P13 W9 D0 L4. Last win/draw/loss: 2011-never-2004.
Antrim.......P8 W4 D2 L2. Last win/draw/loss: 2011-1989-1982.
Longford....P9 W5 D1 L3. Last win/draw/loss: 2013-1938-1990.
Offaly........P27 W5 D5 L17. Last win/draw/loss: 1990-1977-1991.
Post by: gaastats on January 01, 2017, 02:13:25 AM
NFL

Biggest win: 23 - 1986 Laois 5-11 Kilkenny 0-3
Biggest loss: 29 - 1979 Laois 0-0 Kerry 6-11

Highest Laois score: 28 - 1978 Laois 4-16 Wicklow 1-7
Lowest Laois score: 0 - 1979 Laois 0-0 Kerry 6-11

Highest opp score: 34 - 1949 Laois 2-5 Mayo 7-13
Lowest opp score: 0 - 1946 Laois 1-0 Offaly 0-0
*one unknown scoreline v Kilkenny 1925

59 draws in NFL matches. Most against Galway (9 times) from 36 matches....a draw rate of 25%.

Highest match score: 50 - 2016 Laois 1-22 Derry 5-10
Lowest match score: 3 - 1946 Laois 1-0 Offaly 0-0

Most goals match: 9 - 1949 Laois 2-5 Mayo 7-13 & 1950 Laois 3-4 Mayo 6-10
Least goals match: 0 - occurred on 55 occasions, with one unknown scoreline.

Most w/flags match: 37 - 2009 Laois 0-23 Fermanagh 1-14
Least w/flags match: 0 - 1946 Laois 1-0 Offaly 0-0
Post by: tcrilly on January 03, 2017, 09:01:30 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on December 28, 2016, 06:16:13 PM

Gracefield?

No, he seems to be very well acquainted with the Junior Hurling scene in Laois over the past 10-15 years!

Certainly not an offaly man, and played for roscrea but live in laois since i was 13, 37 years old now and iv always followed laois hurling as i jave relatives that play for rathdowney errill, kyle and ballacolla, i wasnt being nasty when i said that about Laois football i remember seeing billy sheehan and padraic clancy mangled drunk in club 23 during championship season in portlaoise about 10-11 yeara ago and thinking to myself why the hell are you doing this?
Post by: Don Draper on January 03, 2017, 09:18:07 PM
Quote from: tcrilly on January 03, 2017, 09:01:30 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on December 28, 2016, 06:16:13 PM

Gracefield?

Certainly not an offaly man, and played for roscrea but live in laois since i was 13, 37 years old now and iv always followed laois hurling as i jave relatives that play for rathdowney errill, kyle and ballacolla, i wasnt being nasty when i said that about Laois football i remember seeing billy sheehan and padraic clancy mangled drunk in club 23 during championship season in portlaoise about 10-11 yeara ago and thinking to myself why the hell are you doing this?
You're some **** to be having a cut off two of the best servants to Laois Football in a longh number of years.
Post by: town1980 on January 03, 2017, 09:25:50 PM
As as I no TCRILLY for a fact billy sheehan does not drink so that statement on a site like this is pure disrespect and as long as I no padraig Clancy that lad didn't put a foot wrong in his 12-14 ?year career,,so get up off your junior stool and get your facts straight and quit trying to defame good Laois men
Post by: Don Draper on January 03, 2017, 09:45:37 PM
Quote from: town1980 on January 03, 2017, 09:25:50 PM
As as I no TCRILLY for a fact billy sheehan does not drink so that statement on a site like this is pure disrespect and as long as I no padraig Clancy that lad didn't put a foot wrong in his 12-14 ?year career,,so get up off your junior stool and get your facts straight and quit trying to defame good Laois men
This fella is a horrible bastard
Post by: SCFC on January 03, 2017, 10:30:20 PM
What a shitty lie to post. As stated above Billy Sheehan (and I have no time for his footballing abilities) doesn't drink. Pauric Clancy was a model of behaviour in his Laois career. I saw him taking dogs abuse one night in Portlaoise while stone cold sober off some drunken smart arses and he never as much as opened his mouth.
Post by: Don Draper on January 03, 2017, 10:39:20 PM
Quote from: SCFC on January 03, 2017, 10:30:20 PM
What a shitty lie to post. As stated above Billy Sheehan (and I have no time for his footballing abilities) doesn't drink. Pauric Clancy was a model of behaviour in his Laois career. I saw him taking dogs abuse one night in Portlaoise while stone cold sober off some drunken smart arses and he never as much as opened his mouth.
I've said it before, this p***k has been trying to stir for sometime now. He's got Offaly written all over him.
Post by: town1980 on January 03, 2017, 11:23:41 PM
As I said facts are in my statement,, a silly stool sitter and obviously a jealous -----,,,, billy sheehan now trains cork senior side and p Clancy is on his second club with graigcullen both outstanding servants to all us Laois people enough said
Post by: beano on January 03, 2017, 11:33:56 PM
 Lads any news on the panel? Hopefully Sean Moore is involved, I'm expecting big things from this guy>
Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 03, 2017, 11:45:42 PM
Can T Crilly please  pis--s off, could he have picked two more honest county men.  I don't think Sheehan drinks ( I hated the fact he played for Laois) but the guy killed himself to play county football and Clancy in fairness we all know he gave everything for Laois.  In fairness most lads that play county football have to give up alot, extremely tough when things are not going well.
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 04, 2017, 01:27:06 AM
Quote from: tcrilly on December 29, 2016, 12:06:36 AM
watch out for keyser soze here, turns most threads into a "im better than you and know it all kind of guy but the rest of the people here are respectful

He doesn't like being called out on his bullshit posts either! Expect him to disappear soon!
Post by: Don Draper on January 04, 2017, 10:32:13 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on January 04, 2017, 01:27:06 AM
Quote from: tcrilly on December 29, 2016, 12:06:36 AM
watch out for keyser soze here, turns most threads into a "im better than you and know it all kind of guy but the rest of the people here are respectful

He doesn't like being called out on his bullshit posts either! Expect him to disappear soon!
With a bit of luck
Post by: smcder on January 04, 2017, 01:32:55 PM
Seeing some of the childish wind ups being posted make you miss laois talk and the ability for them to be removed.   
Post by: OTF on January 04, 2017, 03:24:26 PM
  " GOUL " is a word used a lot in the West and Midwest to describe a man  (a cross between a bollix and an eegit ) among other uses. Its a great word to have, you don't need to say anything else just "Goul"   or if he's a particularly irritating individual  " Gouuuuul"  that's it no need to say any more.

Just occurred to me it might be useful on this forum from time to time.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 04, 2017, 04:42:43 PM
Well News is timmons and Quigley are out for a good while while Paul Kingston is also injured .Evan O'Carroll is college tied for the O'Byrne cup and Paul cahillane has not commited to the panel this year which is a real shame.

I don't think conor boyle has come back either and Meridth won't be around for a while.We are really lacking backs but im hopeful the two farrells will come on this year and maybe O'Loughlin or Begley can fill a gap in the backs?

The first game is Sunday in crettyard!
Post by: hurlingmad on January 04, 2017, 07:35:29 PM
Quote from: smcder on January 04, 2017, 01:32:55 PM
Seeing some of the childish wind ups being posted make you miss laois talk and the ability for them to be removed.
Why was laois talk removed? Was a good intresting forum
Post by: Tony on January 04, 2017, 09:02:21 PM
Quote from: hurlingmad on January 04, 2017, 07:35:29 PM
Laoistalk was an interesting forum but it constantly had to be moderated. This forum is fine, just ignore the idiots like the guy who said Billy Sheehan was off his face drunk, even though it's well known that Billy does not drink. Now we know that guy is an idiot, just ignore him. That's how this forum will work without moderation.
Post by: smcder on January 04, 2017, 09:52:35 PM
I think in the end it was costing money and time so the owner took it down. I think it was up for nearly 10 years at that stage so it was fair enough really.   
Post by: Unlaoised on January 05, 2017, 10:43:04 AM
Quote from: hurlingmad on January 04, 2017, 07:35:29 PM

Yes the guy hadn't enough time to run it so it folded which was a pity ...There is a lot of ex Laois talk people here which can only be a good thing.

I'm hearing there is many newcomers in an experimental line-up for this Sunday!
Post by: Don Draper on January 05, 2017, 10:45:09 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on January 05, 2017, 10:43:04 AM
I'm hearing there is many newcomers in an experimental line-up for this Sunday!
Cretty will be very familiar for one of the forwards anyway. The bloodline is also strong in him.
Post by: El Jefe on January 05, 2017, 11:06:54 AM
1. Graham Brody (Portlaoise)

2. James Kelly (St Joseph's)

3. Denis Booth (The Heath)

4. Eoin George (Mountmellick)

5. Stephen Attride (Killeshin)

6. Alan Farrell (Ballylinan)

7. Colm Begley (Stradbally)

8. Kevin Meaney (Arles-Kilcruise)

9. James Finn (Ballyfin)

10. Cormac Murphy (Crettyard)

11. Ambrose Doran (Graiguecullen)

12. Seán Ramsbottom (Timahoe)

13. Donal Kingston (Arles-Killeen)

14. Brian Daly (Barrowhouse)

15. Niall Donoher (Courtwood)
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on January 05, 2017, 01:56:55 PM
Youd miss Laoistalk as Ed took no crap with the moderating but 90% of poster on here are
decent football heads ..just have to ignore the odd waster .. they'll get bored and go elsewhere ..

Good to see Finn and Booth back .. always rated Booth .. we badly need him

Timmons, Quigley, Meredith, Keogh all big loses .. Is Keogh gone indefinitely ?

Post by: Don Draper on January 05, 2017, 02:16:12 PM
Quote from: ILikeStrawberryJam on January 05, 2017, 01:56:55 PM

Good to see Finn and Booth back .. always rated Booth .. we badly need him

Booth pucking the head off Earley one day in O'Moore Park in an O'Byrne Cup game will always be a favourite of mine. Earley was throwing the weight around, Booth was new enough to the scene, and decided enough was enough.

(http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/67/97/1d/c47dcab701df7b532e4f061eea6497edee1618983a/INPHO_00402594.jpg)

(http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/f9/77/95/f05c1c35af3065500bf27bcf5977d516c8f0fbff39/INPHO_00402174.jpg)
Post by: Tony on January 05, 2017, 02:46:48 PM
Booth is a hard worker and great to have him in the squad, but I personally think he's a good while off Timmons at FB. We can do with more backs so good to have him on board. He's experienced now too at around the 29 / 30 age mark.
Post by: O moore parklife on January 05, 2017, 03:54:39 PM
Saw  one of the under 21 footballers shane nurney from o dempseys or port not sure had a seriously good game in full back against roscommon in a match last week. Only 19 so a good prospect for the future 
Post by: steven seagal on January 05, 2017, 04:11:43 PM
Timmons is going to miss the whole league at least, so hopefully Booth can find a bit of form. This time of year usually suits him.

I'm looking forward to seeing how Daly gets on, saw him playing years ago as a juvenile and thought he was very impressive, but he didn't have a great couple of years at minor level. Hopefully Creedon can help bring him on, because he has pucks of potential. Murphy is very light for senior football, himself and Sean Moore are two fine forwards but they'll need a lot of gym work if they want to survive at intercounty level.
Post by: Laoiseabu on January 05, 2017, 04:34:09 PM
O Moore parklife     he's from Odempseys I know the uncle well. Comes from a very good football family although the three lads are still very young . His younger brother Eoghan is on the Laois u15 panel and is supposed to be a nice player. The older brother Gavin is supposed to be a serious, serious player but has suffered with bad anxieties since he was a child which hinder him a lot . Shane himself is a fine footballer has a lot to learn but certainly has good potential too.
Post by: SCFC on January 05, 2017, 04:35:42 PM
Quote from: O moore parklife on January 05, 2017, 03:54:39 PM
Saw  one of the under 21 footballers shane nurney from o dempseys or port not sure had a seriously good game in full back against roscommon in a match last week. Only 19 so a good prospect for the future
His father Frankie was a good one anyway. Haven't seen much of Shane but he was poor in the intermediate final last year.
Post by: Laoiseabu on January 05, 2017, 04:38:32 PM
Yeah was poor in the intermediate final has a lot to learn but does have potential I hear. Yes Frankie is the father a good football man lives and breathes the game.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on January 05, 2017, 08:30:59 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on January 05, 2017, 04:34:09 PM
O Moore parklife     he's from Odempseys I know the uncle well. Comes from a very good football family although the three lads are still very young . His younger brother Eoghan is on the Laois u15 panel and is supposed to be a nice player. The older brother Gavin is supposed to be a serious, serious player but has suffered with bad anxieties since he was a child which hinder him a lot . Shane himself is a fine footballer has a lot to learn but certainly has good potential too.
He'd have a great pedigree alright. His cousins would be Stewart Nerney of Portlaoise and Jimmy and JP of The Heath.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 06, 2017, 10:44:12 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 05, 2017, 09:10:20 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on January 05, 2017, 08:30:59 PM
He'd have a great pedigree alright. His cousins would be Stewart Nerney of Portlaoise and Jimmy and JP of The Heath.
We're a great County for tradition.

Would he be anything to Gerry Nerney of Annanough now there was one of the hardiest men I ever had the pleasure of marking on the football field.A very underated player at that.

Be interesting to see how we fair...Ambrose Doran at Centre forward is interesting he always looked decent to me and I hope he can fulfill his potential good to see James Finn back he adds a bit of size and Physicality there when O'Loughlin and Quigley are not around he can also kick a score from distance which we don't have much off in the squad.

I'd like to know the Subs for Sunday has anyone got the list?

Post by: Ballyroan Abbey on January 07, 2017, 12:56:04 PM
Surely first time a laois 15 was named where every player came from a different club
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 07, 2017, 03:07:34 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on January 06, 2017, 10:44:12 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 05, 2017, 09:10:20 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on January 05, 2017, 08:30:59 PM
We're a great County for tradition.

Would he be anything to Gerry Nerney of Annanough now there was one of the hardiest men I ever had the pleasure of marking on the football field.A very underated player at that.

Is he anything to the great Declan?
Post by: Unlaoised on January 08, 2017, 05:11:25 PM
Laois 1-15 DIT 0-8

Good start big Donie on fire decent showing to be fair enjoyed the game
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on January 08, 2017, 05:56:20 PM
Any of the new lads stand out Unlaoised?
Post by: on the hop on January 08, 2017, 06:15:29 PM
Finished with a very young team, a lot of u-21's. In terms of the younger players, daly has a bit about him but needs a bit of coaching and building up. Moore is very accurate but is still very light as would be expected at this stage, very good player. Nerney was solid in the backs. Ambrose Doran finished very strong kicking 3 points in the second half. It was older players that pushed it on.
Post by: O moore parklife on January 08, 2017, 07:55:38 PM
Sounds promising was it the o dempseys lad nurney thst started ???
Post by: Giovanni on January 08, 2017, 09:25:34 PM
Really didn't notice Donie being on fire to be honest!

Of the new lads, apart from those mentioned already, I thought Cormac Murphy did well especially in the first half. The Kelly lad (before injury) and George from Mountmellick both did well in the corner back positions. I also thought Farrell looked very comfortable at 6.

Opposition were pretty poor though it has to be said.......
Post by: Unlaoised on January 08, 2017, 10:21:55 PM
Moore was decent kinda feel when he turns for a score you know its going over he did well to set up Donie for the goal.

Kingston did some really nice things todayi thought he was excellent .

Finn and meaney were good in first half but both looked shattered after 25 mins

Doran finished strongly with three super scores .

George murphy and Nerney were all good but DIT werent up too much to be honest .

Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 09, 2017, 12:01:10 AM
Thought it was a good competitive game  and most of the lads performed well. We seem to be working to a plan with loads of encouragement coming from the sideline and Creedon in particular.
I don't agree that DIT were poor, we defended very well and most of the time they were shooting under pressure.

On the negative side I thought midfield were poor under the high ball and I only counted one mark being given to us, Meaney didn't catch one clean ball throughout the whole game despite the majority of kickouts going down on top of him. We only managed to stay three points in front of them for most of the game until Doran kicked three great points from distance and put a bit of daylight between us.

Young Moore worked himself into position very well for the goal and showed great composure picking out Donie when he could have had a go himself. He looks a great prospect as long as he doesn't let it go to his head like some of our former "stars" did when they were young..

Overall I enjoyed it and I love the way they all worked and fought as if it were a championship game. Creedon certainly seems to be doing something right and it looks like he has the respect of the players from what I could see there today.
Post by: on the hop on January 09, 2017, 07:37:00 AM
probably a sign of what's to come, they broke every kickout, they had a lot of big men in that area. there have to be a better strategy than lumping it into the middle going forward.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 09, 2017, 10:32:30 AM
Meaney was off his game catching wise Finn caught one great ball....But they were outnumbered in there with bodies and size...Hopefully with Quigley and O'Loughlin back and maybe Finn as a half forward and Lillis there you'd have more of a presence around that area still thought two midfielders worked very hard especially in the first half.

Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 09, 2017, 01:03:22 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on January 09, 2017, 10:32:30 AM
Meaney was off his game catching wise Finn caught one great ball....But they were outnumbered in there with bodies and size...Hopefully with Quigley and O'Loughlin back and maybe Finn as a half forward and Lillis there you'd have more of a presence around that area still thought two midfielders worked very hard especially in the first half.

Will Quigley be back? Suggestion from previous post that he wouldnt.
Post by: steven seagal on January 09, 2017, 02:26:08 PM
No, Quigley will be out for two months or possibly more
Post by: Ballyroan Abbey on January 09, 2017, 09:06:45 PM
Is their any truth to the rumour that sean george was asked back? Wouldbt of thought so personally but seeing his brother playing the other day gave it a small bit of creditbility
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 10, 2017, 01:33:45 AM
What do lads think of this?  Is it going too far I wonder ???

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C1vo-z3W8AI8fgQ.jpg)
Post by: redsetanta on January 10, 2017, 09:47:57 AM
For an intercounty team you might understand it somewhat but for a club team.
Post by: steven seagal on January 10, 2017, 10:24:58 AM
Wasn't it St Brigid's that brought their U-14 team away for a training camp before the Féile a few years ago? Plenty of notions up there. The idea of playing football just to enjoy it seems to be dying out, which is very sad I think
Post by: Tony on January 10, 2017, 11:47:11 AM
It is going a bit far in my opinion. Reading that contract is like reading a work contract. Clubs ought to remember that lads are getting zero pay for this. They also should be careful what they wish for. Giving your players a nice amount of flexibility to enjoy their life outside GAA is surely better than players not showing up next year as it is too strict & they don't have a life outside GAA (like some potential Laois players and other county pleyers have done).

Of course, a good balance can be achieved. But this is taking the fun out of it - lads have 40 hour work week, too. They don't want to be signing up for another work contract that they don't get paid for. At the end of the day, as an earlier poster commented : playing GAA is a hobby and should be fun, first and foremost. Of course it's nice to have a dedicated panel but a panel that is not enjoying themselves will not succeed.
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 10, 2017, 05:58:32 PM
TBH, there is very little in the document that wouldn't be expected of most serious Senior Club footballers.
The story really is that it was "written down" in the form of a "contract".
It's probably some manager wanting to make an early impression that has backfired.
Post by: The Monument Road on January 10, 2017, 09:16:23 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 10, 2017, 01:33:45 AM
What do lads think of this?  Is it going too far I wonder ???

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C1vo-z3W8AI8fgQ.jpg)
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/15895222_1457234860967174_8543112774006734096_n.jpg?oh=2b5e48c52b7e875eb9897a4916b1d254&oe=591985B7
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 11, 2017, 12:53:34 AM
Brilliant Monument Road, just had to put them both up together...

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C1vo-z3W8AI8fgQ.jpg)(https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/15895222_1457234860967174_8543112774006734096_n.jpg?oh=2b5e48c52b7e875eb9897a4916b1d254&oe=591985B7)
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 11, 2017, 12:59:53 AM
Back to more serious things, here is the team for tomorrow night v Wicklow..

(http://sportlomo-userupload.s3.amazonaws.com/uploaded/galleries/7069_uploaded/e16822f234ce4975e3a134548cc10e508578f068.png)
Post by: High Fielder on January 11, 2017, 11:19:36 PM
A game of two halves this evening. They played with the wind and the slope in the first half, and individual mistakes from us handed them a half time lead. Our full back line looked dodgy under the high ball, but in fairness, I'm not sure any of the three who were in there are suited to those positions. Second half and our superior ability and athleticism took over. They too looked vulnerable at the back and we were kicking some nice scores. They offered little against the breeze and up the slope.

Best for us Begley, Jamie Farrell and O Connor, but that's just my opinion. I'd like to see us more patient with ball in hand, but overall, we looked much better than Wicklow. The incident for the sending off happened off the ball and there were a couple of other skirmishes, but it was mostly played in good spirit. The bobble on the pitch caught both sides out at times, but it's January and you'll get that. The players look happy and committed, and that'll do for me.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 11, 2017, 11:52:56 PM
Good win and it makes for a great tussle against Meath in Stradbally at the weekend. Is O'Loughlin on the panel or what's going on there ??
Who was sent off tonight??
Post by: Don Draper on January 12, 2017, 12:40:33 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 11, 2017, 11:52:56 PM
Good win and it makes for a great tussle against Meath in Stradbally at the weekend. Is O'Loughlin on the panel or what's going on there ??
Who was sent off tonight??
Johns grandmother passed away this week, she's responsible for quite a lot of footballers in this county.

Doran got the red.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 12, 2017, 01:08:32 AM
Thanks Don. Pity about Doran's red, he played very well last Saturday and seems to be a good addition to the panel.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 12, 2017, 09:49:56 AM
Decent performance tonight in the second half the first half we struggled with the conditions .

Ruairi O'connor was excellent a constant thorn in the Wicklow defence I think he ended up with 1-5 in the end.

Farrell was also a standout  he showed great composure on the ball that others didn't

Colm Begley looks in great shape and as fit as ever.He is a great tackler and this often gets over looked when people talk about him and how he plays.

Donie was in and out of it and Meaney still hasn't shaken off the rustiness as regards judging the catch but that will come.

Gary walsh took his goal well.

Doran will be dissapointed with the red the Wicklow guy beside me said he struck out alright I didn't see it he was playing well up to that.

Others to impress its hard to say they did all try hard ...Lillis not suited to full back and looked a bit of the pace but thats understandable with being only back in and would prob better with Brody behind him .Kehoe didn't do much wrong but Brody is a far better vocally .

That said Timmons is a massive loss to the full back line and we will need to get someone in their soon to fill the gap.

Hard to know what work Wicklow have done but Laois looked a yard faster and fitter all over the field.

I lost track of the subs that came in and to be honest I was so cold I left before we got the last 3 points.

One things for sure Gareth Dillion is not cut out for corner back but God the boy gives everything.

Infact Laois as a team are as hungry as I've seen them since Mcnulty .

Meath will be an altogether different test on saturday I see they had nearly 4,000 at their game again.

Will Stradbally be suitable to hold this game now if say Meath bring down 800-1200 ?Which they could as there is a massive buzz up there in the county with all their big wins in friendlies before christmas.
Post by: redsetanta on January 12, 2017, 10:47:02 AM
Very good score to put up at this time of year.

Saturday night will be tasty now as Meath really fancy themselves this year and McEntee seems to have everyone on board including the supporters who are attending in big numbers. It's the O'Byrne cu p but I would think this game will be as close to a league encounter as you'll get so we'll learn alot more from Laois. Expect a hard hitting game with plenty of good football and our lads will have to be on the ball from the start as Meath are flying at the minute.
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on January 12, 2017, 11:33:11 AM
Thanks for the match reports lads .. Thinking of going along Saturday .. will Stradbally take a couple of thousand supporters?
Is there a bit of a stand there?
Post by: steven seagal on January 12, 2017, 12:29:40 PM
No, there are two banks either side of the pitch, and one narrow road in and out of the place, which will make any sort of crowd attending a traffic nightmare. You'll be as well off parking somewhere on the main street and walking up, I would think.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 12, 2017, 02:13:44 PM
It's a disaster fixing that match for Stradbally, no way will it take the crowds that will attend this one. Hope sense prevails and its moved to O'Moore Park before it's too late.

Here is a report on the game from Leinster Express..
http://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/sport/230617/o-byrne-cup-laois-make-it-two-wins-from-two-as-they-see-off-wicklow.html
Post by: Don Draper on January 12, 2017, 02:50:09 PM
Lunacy to put Laois v Meath in Stradbally. Its grand f**king a college team into Crety or Park, but Meath into Stradbally is mental.
Post by: Helix on January 12, 2017, 03:05:31 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 12, 2017, 02:50:09 PM
Lunacy to put Laois v Meath in Stradbally. Its grand f**king a college team into Crety or Park, but Meath into Stradbally is mental.

I wouldn't be surprised if venue changed to OMP at last minute. Meath generally bring a decent crowd. Winner takes all battle might draw more than normal and of course the CB love to make as much money possible. Time will tell
Post by: Don Draper on January 12, 2017, 03:16:11 PM
Quote from: Helix on January 12, 2017, 03:05:31 PM

I wouldn't be surprised if venue changed to OMP at last minute. Meath generally bring a decent crowd. Winner takes all battle might draw more than normal and of course the CB love to make as much money possible. Time will tell
Amusingly if it were a club cship game, it'd never have been fixed for there in the first place
Post by: steven seagal on January 12, 2017, 03:22:52 PM
As far as I know, Stradbally are using Saturday's game as a chance to officially unveil their floodlights, so I can't see them changing it, considering who controls these things in our county board.

The only way it'll be changed, I would think, is if the weather forces it, because things are supposed to turn nasty in the next few days. There's no shelter anywhere in Stradbally, so if it horses rain or snow it'd be a scandal to leave it there
Post by: Don Draper on January 12, 2017, 03:25:37 PM
Quote from: steven seagal on January 12, 2017, 03:22:52 PM
As far as I know, Stradbally are using Saturday's game as a chance to officially unveil their floodlights, so I can't see them changing it, considering who controls these things in our county board.

The only way it'll be changed, I would think, is if the weather forces it, because things are supposed to turn nasty in the next few days. There's no shelter anywhere in Stradbally, so if it horses rain or snow it'd be a scandal to leave it there
If it horses rain or snow the foot fall will tear the grounds to shit, so it could very well be moved.
Post by: High Fielder on January 12, 2017, 03:30:50 PM

100% agree. Looks like a money making racket and no thought given to the spectator, the majority of which will be Meath supporters. They'll be delighted I'm sure to stand on the bank in Stradbally. Get some sense County Board and just change it to OMP. When you've seen one set of lights, you've basically seen them all
Post by: Don Draper on January 12, 2017, 03:36:17 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on January 12, 2017, 03:30:50 PM

100% agree. Looks like a money making racket and no thought given to the spectator, the majority of which will be Meath supporters. They'll be delighted I'm sure to stand on the bank in Stradbally. Get some sense County Board and just change it to OMP. When you've seen one set of lights, you've basically seen them all
I doubt Stradbally make much if anything out of this, but someone can confirm. This is most likely a vanity exercise.
Post by: clonadmad on January 12, 2017, 04:07:00 PM
Does the gate not go into a players injury fund?
Post by: Giovanni on January 12, 2017, 04:57:42 PM
Fair play to the lads who went to Greystones on a cold Wednesday night. I wasn't able to get to it myself.

Would agree that it doesn't make much sense to have it in Stradbally although I'd be surprised if there were thousands going to it to be honest.
Post by: High Fielder on January 12, 2017, 05:04:35 PM
Stradbally just isn't a good venue for this match. They will hardly want their practice pitch cut up with cars, so potentially it's out onto the road and around the green there. Nowhere for people in wheelchairs to watch the match comfortably and even for able bodied people, who really wants to stand on a bank in the freezing cold in January? It's a lovely set up over there, and on a summer's evening, parking the car on the bank and watching a match is just grand. This isn't the time or the place.
Post by: Don Draper on January 12, 2017, 06:32:13 PM
The game will not be moved
Post by: clonadmad on January 12, 2017, 06:46:06 PM
Sounds like the attendance is going to be Yuge!!!

Any of the experts on here care to make a prediction beforehand.

Winner gets a Clonad Jersey (non flammable)
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 12, 2017, 07:31:17 PM
(https://scontent-ams3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/15965925_1178695728917491_383139207784540619_n.png?oh=5399f1069be764111b4d24b2600e0292&oe=58DD86BD)
Post by: BallyroanAbbey on January 12, 2017, 08:05:35 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on January 12, 2017, 06:46:06 PM

If you cant get a bit of heat out of it what use is it, even your own players will be wearing colt jerseys by the summer
Post by: Tony on January 12, 2017, 09:38:19 PM
Meath to win by 4-7 points. Meath are giving it a right go this year under improved set up. As are we. But meath are at a far more advanced stage for this time of year, so I hear. They're absolutely flying and will be in great shape for the league. Also, they've a stronger panel as we have numerous injuries and players otherwise away. Hard to replace timmons, quig, merideth etc

That's Tony's prediction. Meath by 4-7.
Post by: Helix on January 12, 2017, 10:17:33 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbbey on January 12, 2017, 08:05:35 PM

If you cant get a bit of heat out of it what use is it, even your own players will be wearing colt jerseys by the summer

Some younger colt lads will probably have clonad jerseys on their back at some stage in the year ahead  so it'll all balance out.
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 12, 2017, 10:44:09 PM

Imagine his reaction if I posted that?! >:( ;D
Post by: clonadmad on January 13, 2017, 08:45:11 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on January 12, 2017, 10:44:09 PM

Imagine his reaction if I posted that?! >:( ;D

Lads around here are well used to you at this stage Keyser
Post by: OTF on January 13, 2017, 10:34:13 AM
Quote from: Tony on January 12, 2017, 09:38:19 PM
Meath to win by 4-7 points. Meath are giving it a right go this year under improved set up. As are we. But meath are at a far more advanced stage for this time of year, so I hear. They're absolutely flying and will be in great shape for the league. Also, they've a stronger panel as we have numerous injuries and players otherwise away. Hard to replace timmons, quig, merideth etc

That's Tony's prediction. Meath by 4-7.

If we assume the three above named wont be available for the league, would you have a go at naming our league 15 more or less.
Post by: redsetanta on January 13, 2017, 10:51:22 AM
OTF the Meath game will give a much clearer indication as to how Creedon will pick his team for the league opener injuries permitting. Two very different teams for the previous two games. 
Post by: Unlaoised on January 13, 2017, 11:54:26 AM
I hope Gerry Kavanagh bites the bullet on this one now and moves it to O'Moore Park not fair on spectators to have to try and watch it from a freezing cold bank especially if there is a big crowd.Meath will travel in numbers talking to one guy today from Kells says they are getting a bus down ...Joe Sheridan being named in goals will only add to the hype that is already building for this Meath side this year.

DO THE SENSIBLE THING LAOIS ...Where would people park...wheelchair access ,older people,kids view of the game?

As previously said stradbally is lovely on a summers evening but not in Jan...
Post by: Tony on January 13, 2017, 12:09:45 PM
I hear it will not be moved, Unlaoised.
Post by: redsetanta on January 13, 2017, 12:19:01 PM
Weather's not supposed to be too bad on Saturday. If Strad organise a fella selling cups of tay and soup they'll make a fortune for the war chest!
Post by: Don Draper on January 13, 2017, 01:17:15 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on January 13, 2017, 11:54:26 AM
I hope Gerry Kavanagh bites the bullet on this one now and moves it to O'Moore Park not fair on spectators to have to try and watch it from a freezing cold bank especially if there is a big crowd.Meath will travel in numbers talking to one guy today from Kells says they are getting a bus down ...Joe Sheridan being named in goals will only add to the hype that is already building for this Meath side this year.

DO THE SENSIBLE THING LAOIS ...Where would people park...wheelchair access ,older people,kids view of the game?

As previously said stradbally is lovely on a summers evening but not in Jan...
It'll not be moved.
Post by: Giovanni on January 13, 2017, 01:38:03 PM
Do you know why not?
Post by: Don Draper on January 13, 2017, 02:50:55 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on January 13, 2017, 01:38:03 PM
Do you know why not?
I think we all know why not.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 13, 2017, 03:35:53 PM
Team news: Sheridan in goals for Meath

Meath manager Andy McEntee has named his team to take on Laois in the third round of the Bord na Mona O'Byrne Cup.

Former attacker Joe Sheridan has been named as goalkeeper. The Meath team is a mix of the last two starting XV's that defeated Wicklow and DIT. David McQuillan, Brian Power and Donal Lenihan are the three survivors from the Wednesday night win over the Dublin college side.

Sheridan last lined out for Meath in the 2013 All-Ireland qualifier against Tyrone.

The winner of this game will qualify for the semi-final. Throw in at Stadbally on Saturday night is at 7.00pm.

Meath (O'Byrne Cup v Laois)

Joe Sheridan (Seneschalstown)

Donal Keogan (Rathkenny), David McQuillan (St Patrick's), Mickey Burke (Longwood)

Conor Downey (Na Fianna), Brian Power (Ratoath), Sean Curran (Donaghmore/Ashbourne)

Bryan Menton (Donaghmore/Ashbourne), Cian O'Brien (Ratoath)

Cillian O'Sullivan (Moynalvey), Graham Reilly (St Colmcille's), Paddy Kennelly (Dunderry)

Bryan McMahon (Ratoath), Kevin Ross (Castletown), Donal Lenihan (Dunboyne).

Subs - Jack Hannigan (Donaghmore/Ashbourne), Alan Forde (Navan O'Mahonys), Willie Carry (Drumbaragh), David Toner (Curraha), Declan Smyth (Dunsany), Adam Flanagan (Clonard), Bobby O'Brien (Ratoath), Sean Tobin (Simonstown), Fiachra Ward (Wolfe Tones).
Post by: redsetanta on January 13, 2017, 03:42:56 PM
It will be some evening for Farrell trying to contain Reilly who's done us damage in the past.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 13, 2017, 04:41:14 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on January 13, 2017, 03:42:56 PM
It will be some evening for Farrell trying to contain Reilly who's done us damage in the past.

Id say Strong will move out on him or Begley!
Post by: redsetanta on January 13, 2017, 04:44:06 PM
Reilly would be delighted to see Strong marking him during the odd period of time he's not heading towards the Meath posts! Need someone alot tighter than Strong!
Post by: Giovanni on January 13, 2017, 06:45:58 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 13, 2017, 02:50:55 PM
Do you know why not?

I think you're trying to diplomatically connect the Stradbally contingent on the County Board to the wish to play the game in Stradbally. What I don't understand is what advantage this brings Stradbally. As far as I understood all O Byrne Cup gate receipts went to a players injury fund so I don't really see how this is helping Stradbally very much.

On a separate note, Crettyard club should be commended for the excellent organisation and preparation of the pitch the previous Sunday. The whole place looked fantastic on the first week of January, which is no mean achievement.
Post by: Don Draper on January 13, 2017, 07:57:59 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on January 13, 2017, 06:45:58 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 13, 2017, 02:50:55 PM
Do you know why not?

I think you're trying to diplomatically connect the Stradbally contingent on the County Board to the wish to play the game in Stradbally. What I don't understand is what advantage this brings Stradbally. As far as I understood all O Byrne Cup gate receipts went to a players injury fund so I don't really see how this is helping Stradbally very much.

On a separate note, Crettyard club should be commended for the excellent organisation and preparation of the pitch the previous Sunday. The whole place looked fantastic on the first week of January, which is no mean achievement.
Stradbally obviously requested a game to open their new floodlights and were given this one, which is their right. No one cared a month ago to say anything, not even on here. Why should they have all their prep done only for it to whipped from them 24 hours out from the game? It wouldn't happen to any club, but it sure as shit won't happen to this club.

It's only a f**king O Byrne Cup game, you'd think lads were being asked to go to watch it in a swamp by the way some are going on here. You'll be grand lads, wrap up warm, bring the proper footwear, and maybe a hip flask. Call to DUNNE's after for a pint and tell people for years to come how you survived the snowstorm in Stradbally of 2017
Post by: High Fielder on January 13, 2017, 08:26:22 PM
It never looked like a good idea. It still doesn't. Most of these games are restricted to a challenge game. Stradbally and the people hosting the game obviously feel like they have a venue capable of holding the match. They don't. Just a bad idea. I'll still be there and hopefully so will a lot of people. They'll all get to see the match in one way or another. Still a terrible venue for the game. Simple as.
Post by: Tony on January 14, 2017, 03:24:17 PM
Quote from Don Draper: "It wouldn't happen to any club, but it sure as shit won't happen to this club.

It's only a f**king O Byrne Cup game, you'd think lads were. ."

Don must be channeling Samuel l. Jackson in pulp fiction  8). Is there any need for that language really when trying to get a basic point across. Young laois kids might be tuning into the forum for updates etc, it'd be a pity to disencourage them. I know you must be as cold as ice don but tone it down a bit.

Looking like decent weather for the match later. Get there early!
Post by: Don Draper on January 14, 2017, 04:27:27 PM
Quote from: Tony on January 14, 2017, 03:24:17 PM
Quote from Don Draper: "It wouldn't happen to any club, but it sure as shit won't happen to this club.

It's only a f**king O Byrne Cup game, you'd think lads were. ."

Don must be channeling Samuel l. Jackson in pulp fiction  8). Is there any need for that language really when trying to get a basic point across. Young laois kids might be tuning into the forum for updates etc, it'd be a pity to disencourage them. I know you must be as cold as ice don but tone it down a bit.

Looking like decent weather for the match later. Get there early!
They'll hear worse at any football match they go to. And a few curses is on a GAA forum is the least of a parents concerns when they consider what their children could be exposed to on the internet.
Post by: redsetanta on January 14, 2017, 07:46:13 PM
Decent comeback from Laois coming up to half time after being 8 points down early on. Reilly tormenting us as usual.
Post by: redsetanta on January 14, 2017, 08:09:22 PM
Seems like a cracking affair. Laous gone a point up now just 4 minutes into second half.
Post by: redsetanta on January 14, 2017, 08:51:42 PM
Tough on Laois but cracking comeback. Probably should have tagged on a couple more to make it safe as they had the chances (same ol same ol). Anyhow undefeated in 2017 so far and roll on the league.
Post by: High Fielder on January 14, 2017, 10:06:16 PM
Don was right and I was wrong. Stradbally coped well and it was a great occasion and a good match. Loved watching the fightback and it's good to see lads playing for each other and enjoying it. Donie Kingston. That is all.
Post by: Don Draper on January 14, 2017, 10:54:00 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on January 14, 2017, 10:06:16 PM
Don was right and I was wrong. Stradbally coped well and it was a great occasion and a good match. Loved watching the fightback and it's good to see lads playing for each other and enjoying it. Donie Kingston. That is all.
No harm no foul. Much like Croke Park, its always good to bring games back to grass roots whenever you can. We'll see less and less of this when the Training Grounds are fully operational. We should cherish these occasions when we can. Fair play to Stradbally. Am I right in thinking we'd have met Louth had we gone through? I think tonight was the ideal result. Roll on the League.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 15, 2017, 12:08:09 AM
This is a quote from the Meath Hogan Stand page and it sums it up nicely, we were the better team for all the game bar the first 20 mins. No-one, and I mean NO ONE around me including Meath supporters know how the (Offaly)ref gave that penalty. The ball was in play on the half way line and he runs in and gives a peno...??
Personally I'm very happy with what I saw tonight and given some of the tackles that went in from our lads we really seem to have bought in to this management team. It was an all round committed team performance.

This is the quote:
QuoteWe were jammy. Freakish enough penalty decision I think I ever saw. Not complaining though. Laois took 25 mins to get going. Much bigger and more physical than us. They moved the ball well and took their scores well after a slow start. They outmustled meath. We were trying to run through them in the second half and ended up running into a brick wall. Trying to get to close to their goals to get scores instead of picking off longer range scores.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts:1211 - 14/01/2017 22:26:24   
Post by: Unlaoised on January 15, 2017, 02:37:51 AM
Apart from the first 21 minutes Laois were superb

It early doors but i like what im seeing thus far ...
Post by: Tony on January 15, 2017, 10:05:31 AM
Fantastic match - you'd probably not get that high scoring in June or July. Both teams to be commended but I thought we deserved the win. A draw is fair enough, doesn't make much difference. Begley and kingston were my picks. Very committed by all and conditioning / fitness looks good, especially for this time of the year. What a difference a good set-up makes. This time last year the lads were still way off the pace and didn't catch up till april or may. We're ahead of the pace now it seems. Cardio, conditioning, aggression and match sharpness is so important for challenging the top 10 teams, looks like this setup knows a thing or 10 more than last years. Finally, well done to Stradbally for holding and organising a great occasion.
Post by: High Fielder on January 15, 2017, 10:25:14 AM
I'd agree with that Tony. This game can look very simple when you up your work rate and support the man in possession. They exposed our obvious defensive frailties in the first half where too many times lads were left exposed to runners. When there was nowhere to go in the second half, they started going from side to side and allowed us to push up. That all happened because lads were tracking back and working hard. When we did get hold of the ball, we looked a bit classier and certainly more patient, which is not something I've seen in a long time. Now they were shocking naïve to give Donie that much space, but that's their problem. It just goes to show what Donie can do with the right service. We forced their hand late on when they made changes and put in the sweeper, but that only served to make things easier further out the pitch. We were calling the shots at that stage, which was amazing when you consider what was going on in the first half. There is no doubt that signs of improvement are there. The attitude from the players just seems a lot more focused. The work rate too. We have problems at the back and we could do with finding natural fits in one or two positions, but it might just mean we have to work harder for each other for the time being. That's no bad thing if last night is anything to go by.
Post by: Don Draper on January 15, 2017, 03:55:50 PM
As I suspected, Meath have gotten Louth. I'm delighted we've avoided that in advance of the league opener.
Post by: Tony on January 15, 2017, 04:04:01 PM
Wouldn't have made much difference in my opinion, Don. One could argue that 1/2 more games before the league would increase our match sharpness, rather than training. 99% of GAA players prefer matches to training, also (me included). The only downside I can see is that Louth would have a bit of homework done on us, but that works both ways.
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 15, 2017, 07:32:03 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 15, 2017, 04:11:16 PM
Quote from: Tony on January 15, 2017, 04:04:01 PM
Wouldn't have made much difference in my opinion, Don. One could argue that 1/2 more games before the league would increase our match sharpness, rather than training. 99% of GAA players prefer matches to training, also (me included). The only downside I can see is that Louth would have a bit of homework done on us, but that works both ways.
You're entitled to that opinion. We've had good games, and we'll get practice ones if needs be. We dont need to be f**king about playing Louth twice in a few weeks. Time to put in a few decent training sessions now, let the U21's play as a unit, and let the management go about their business now in peace. The Byrne Cup has served its purpose for 2017. Its all about getting out of that f**king division now.

Will somebody please think of the children!!
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 16, 2017, 12:18:47 AM
Don, you make some valid points here but you really don't have to swear to make them. Foul language does nothing to reinforce your point and just makes the poster seem very juvenile.

We don't want to turn this forum into another Hogan Stand type one where every second post was full of ridiculous accusations and swear words. That was one of the reasons we all went to Laoistalk where we could talk seriously about the game we love without having to see all that stuff.

When Laoistalk shut down I redirected everyone to this forum in the hope that we could keep it going as most of the posters on Laoistalk were true Laois gaels and had something genuine to say without turning to petty insults and foul language. It has been going really well since and I agree with Tony regarding the language. There's no-one asking guys to be saints but just to keep it civilised and sensible and remember there are parents reading these comments who might like their kids to get involved in discussions about the game they love.
Post by: Tony on January 16, 2017, 07:41:31 AM
Yeah agreed. Don is one of the best posters on here in my opinion. That stuff is just unnecessary and the point is still the point with or without. Leaving it out will not reduce the quality of the post.

Personal attacks on players / mngmt is another that we should self moderate. Everything else seems like fair game. Just trying to promote a fun and functional chat for all, including our kids if they want to have a look or post. Cheers

Post by: SCFC on January 16, 2017, 09:13:29 AM
Is Damien O'Connor involved this year? Haven't seen his name to date...
Post by: Don Draper on January 16, 2017, 09:46:50 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on January 15, 2017, 07:32:03 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 15, 2017, 04:11:16 PM
Quote from: Tony on January 15, 2017, 04:04:01 PM
You're entitled to that opinion. We've had good games, and we'll get practice ones if needs be. We dont need to be f**king about playing Louth twice in a few weeks. Time to put in a few decent training sessions now, let the U21's play as a unit, and let the management go about their business now in peace. The Byrne Cup has served its purpose for 2017. Its all about getting out of that f**king division now.

Will somebody please think of the children!!
It seems I flipping deleted the flipping post when trying to flipping edit it. Don't flipping drink and flipping type kids.
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on January 16, 2017, 09:59:47 AM
Thought Begley, Donie and Attride were excellent.
Gary Walsh, Booth, JOL and David Conway were also good.
Defensively we were OK considering we were down so many ..
Interesting to see the mark in operation .. I think it will be a success .
Looks like we are gonna play a tyrone style counter attacking game.
For the first time in years we seemed to know what we were doing.
Properly drilled, decent fitness for this time of year and good enthusiasm from the boys ..
Some great foot passing on display. Nice cross field balls into Donie.
Left one on one with any defender he is so dangerous. Great goal ..
If we can get our spine back , timmons,keogh,quigley,ocarroll (meredith gone for the year?)
and blood a few more U21's  we could have a decent year.
Fair play to Stradbally .. ran like clockwork .. great atmosphere ..

I think we can let Don back off the naughty step .. one of the most knowledgeable posters on here .. 

Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 16, 2017, 10:32:03 AM
This all reads quite well. Anyone care to hazard a guess at what the team will look like for the Louth game?
Post by: Giovanni on January 16, 2017, 10:39:02 AM
As one of those that questioned playing the game in Stradbally, would like to add my thanks to all those Stradballians who made it an enjoyable evening. As it turned out, the atmosphere of the place would have been lost in OMP. We were lucky with the weather but it was a great evening.

Apart from that, I also thought that there were hugely encouraging signs from our lads. It's the first time in years that I thought we looked like a TEAM (in the way that Tyrone usually looks like a team). The defensive aspect was very impressive and, in my opinion, we saw a much more sophisticated defensive system there than we saw during McNulty's time.  Begley was excellent again and Meaney, I thought, was superb. Some of the passes he sprayed around were top quality. Gary Walsh was very good in the first half when and Donie was good in the second half. Sean Ramsbottom also had a strong impact when he came on. Denis Booth looked very strong at full back and Stephen Attride has matured into a really good player.

On the downside, I think Brody just had one of those days when a lot of things went wrong. I think he's one of the 3 or 4 best keepers in the country but on Saturday night kick outs were poor and the first Meath goal was soft enough. I'm not entirely sure about the idea of Darren Strong and Kieran Lillis at corner back but the excellent defensive system protected them this time. Maybe Darren will end up being our Philly McMahon? Don't know. The other worrying thing was the damage that Graham Reilly did when running from deep. Not easy to counteract that I suppose. Last thing was I thought JOL does a lot of calling for the ball in positions where he really shouldn't. We were turned over a few times when lads in possession were trying to force passes to him that were basically impossible.

Overall though I think we're definitely heading in the right direction and the team looks like it is being properly prepared.
Post by: town1980 on January 16, 2017, 11:34:16 AM
i was at the gaem saturday also but for the first 20 mins laois wer all out of sorts so game plan wise i dont think we actually had a massive plan to combat them,,there pace our plan leaving two lads inside on there own clearly wasnt working ,,i do think the players themselves stumbled upon there game plan to a certain extent,,,i totally enjoyed the game fitness levels were good commitmant to the game each other was good,,begly was immense as was donie with cute runs and quick delivery,,not like first 20 mins,,signs are positive so fair play to peter creedon he has excitement and def has a positive impact,,happy camper i am after that game ,,enjoyed the atmosphere and support for the lads
Post by: Laois Laois on January 16, 2017, 12:10:13 PM
Atmosphere was great ... fair play to all involved in Stradbally ... really impressive set-up. Same with Crettyard

Pity that the early rounds of the Laois SFC/SHC Championship up the the Quarter Finals are not taken out of OMP as the atmosphere would be so much better. CB could do the gates themselves if they are worried about revenue dropping by moving games outside of OMP ... revenue might even increase as might attract more neutrals to games. Plus an added incentive to players that they need to reach a quarter final in order to play in OMP
Post by: Tony on January 16, 2017, 01:37:10 PM
No need to take the wee wee, Don.  8)

I'd love to see us work on our pace. Our fitness looks good but the difference between good teams and great teams is proper tactics and pace (and yeah talented players). The likes of donegal, dublin and mayo clearly work on their pace. There are lots of training drills that work, even to give you an extra half yard of pace, such as resistance sprinting and fast running with weighted loads. Rugby players often do it. I'd say creedon and co would be smart enough to implement it. A half yard and increased power and acceleration may seem insignificant but it's a not so obvious trait we've been lacking the past few years.

Post by: SCFC on January 16, 2017, 10:26:30 PM
Quote from: SCFC on January 16, 2017, 09:13:29 AM
Anyone? I think he's a valuable player. Hope he's on board.
Post by: Laoisabu on January 16, 2017, 10:57:27 PM
Yes he is on the panel but currently injured. Not sure how serious it is.
Post by: Tony on January 17, 2017, 10:43:07 AM
Quote from: SCFC on January 16, 2017, 10:26:30 PM
Quote from: SCFC on January 16, 2017, 09:13:29 AM
Anyone? I think he's a valuable player. Hope he's on board.
Agreed - he's a massive player for us - he's very comfortable in multiple positions, too, which is great to have. I would personally put him at corner back because of his speed and aggression in the tackle. Corner back is vital for pace - if you put a slow man in there, prepare to leak goals. For a corner forward, they prey on slower corner backs. Anyway, he's back shortly within a week to full training. Will hopefully see him against Louth.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 17, 2017, 10:45:09 AM
Damien O'Connor should be back in this week...We might have to wait a bit longer for Quigley and certainly a longer again spell for Timmons.

James Finn got injured the first day but is on the mend.

I'm not sure how bad Ruari O'Connors ankle is after the other night but I heard Evan O'Carroll got a nasty injury playing for Maynooth on Sunday I hope it's not as its sounds.

Gareth Dillion is okay as well and is back in contention.

It was a decent performance the other night and it shows that the players are in much better shape than they were this time last year.

Ratings
Brody 7 - Kickouts were decent unlucky with the goal but may feel he might have stopped it.Did well overall

Strong 8 -Very impressive at corner back where I thought he would be too loose to play there

Booth 7-Good in spells looks in decent shape and used the ball he got well.

Lillis 5-Not a position he ws used to and got cleaned out early doors did come into the game.Centre back will be his spot !!

Attride 7- Did very well and grew into the game I think he has this spot nailed down esp on this form

Farrell 5-Maybe harsh but Reilly ran riot in the first half and the gap here was just too much.Did do better in the second half.

Begley 9 -Best player on the park I thought full of running great in the tackle and two fine points off the trusty left boot

O'Loughlin 7-Started slow but again grew into the game needs to offer more from Kickouts but still a key player

Meaney 7-Scored the point of the game and held his own in the middle against Menton.Can't ever fault him for effort

Murphy 5-Not on very long to rate coughed up a few balls but scored one lovely point .Will grow as a player!

P Kingston 7-Thought he was bright in most things he did might look for Donie too much but is a real asset to the forwards.

Walsh 8-Constant threat even when Meath were on top,scored 4 points and is going to be a handful for any back

R.O Connor 6-Unlucky to get injured was showing well for the ball .certainly there is more to come form him.

D.Kingston 9-Started slow but as the ball into him improved so did he had a 5 minute spell of magic and Meath couldn't cope

Donogher 7-Played everywhere looked to be moving well .Used the ball well and scored a beautiful point.Great servant!

Subs

D.Conway 7-Showed well should have got a goal but got on plenty of ball and showed hunger and passion as always

S Ramsbottom 7-Did well scored two great points and hit hard in the tackle ran out of steam.

J farrell 7 -carried the ball well on the break in the latter periods of the game.

R.Munnelly,C Lennon,S Moore,D.Luttrell weren't really on long enough to rate but Moore did get on a few balls and found a Laois man with every pass.

All in all a good night for Laois I know Meath were missing a few but it still was a strong team they had out and it will be interesting to see how Louth(our first League opponents)do against a team who are certainly after putting in a lot of work early doors.

I like what I see from the Creedon set up!

Post by: Unlaoised on January 17, 2017, 05:22:27 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SY1R85jqPjs

Never been as sick as I was that day ....some terrible calls against Laois....

We had some support back then listen to the roars as we score!!
Post by: Don Draper on January 17, 2017, 09:04:38 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on January 17, 2017, 05:22:27 PM

That effing pick up.
Post by: Don Draper on January 17, 2017, 10:54:48 PM
Fook sake, I've only gone and watched the U21 final highlights as well, now I'm really pissed off.
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 17, 2017, 11:59:42 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 17, 2017, 09:04:38 PM
That effing pick up.

Quote from: Don Draper on January 17, 2017, 10:54:48 PM
Fook sake, I've only gone and watched the U21 final highlights as well, now I'm really pissed off.

Ah come on now!! You are taking the f**cking urine now.
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on January 18, 2017, 07:46:55 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on January 17, 2017, 05:22:27 PM

Not shown was that before the goal, Whelan got the ball earlier in the move, out on the sideline. Higgins turned the wrong way first and Whelan got a run on him. If Higgins had met him right and pulled him down, that would have been that.

The pick-up is typical of the calls Dublin have got against us.

Remember the finish to 2005? The foul not given before the non-free against Derek Conroy, the dive by Senan whathisface and the 45, when it should have been a free out.
Post by: Don Draper on January 18, 2017, 09:29:42 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on January 17, 2017, 11:59:42 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 17, 2017, 09:04:38 PM
That effing pick up.

Quote from: Don Draper on January 17, 2017, 10:54:48 PM

Ah come on now!! You are taking the f**cking urine now.
You can't expect any man with a soul not to fup and blind after being subjected to recalling those two defeats again.
Post by: Tony on January 18, 2017, 10:30:30 AM
Big man behind a keyboard.

I'll repeat : I have kids, an u-16 lad and an u-14 girl who tune into this forum occasionally as I'm sure there are others here too.

Out of respect I asked for the easy task of simply making your point without unnecessary language.

If you want to go ahead and act like you're a tough guy, a man not in control and who has no respect for younger viewers while hiding behind his keyboard, that's your choice. I simply asked out of respect.
Post by: Don Draper on January 18, 2017, 10:31:04 AM
Quote from: Tony on January 18, 2017, 10:30:30 AM

I'll repeat : I have kids, an u-16 lad and an u-14 girl who tune into this forum occasionally as I'm sure there are others here too.

Out of respect I asked for the easy task of simply making your point without unnecessary language.

If you want to go ahead and act like you're a tough guy, a man not in control and who has no respect for younger viewers while hiding behind his keyboard, that's your choice. I simply asked out of respect.
Do you bring them to football matches?

I'll refrain from posting in future out of respect to your childer. But I'd like you to answer the above question.

Post by: les Antiques on January 18, 2017, 10:31:40 AM
Talking of pick-ups ' I recall that Ian Robertson moment in 99 that broke our hearts . Up there with the best Croke Park performances from Laois . Cribben had Laois Laois superbly drilled that day.
Post by: Don Draper on January 18, 2017, 10:33:20 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on January 18, 2017, 10:31:40 AM
Talking of pick-ups ' I recall that Ian Robertson moment in 99 that broke our hearts . Up there with the best Croke Park performances from Laois . Cribbed had Laois Laois superbly drilled that day.
I'll never forget it. Cribben was a decent sort. We should have gotten over the line that bloody day, with or without the pick up. We weren't  cute enough though and we paid the price. Like a lot of the hard luck stories we've subjected ourselves to over the years.
Post by: les Antiques on January 18, 2017, 10:43:18 AM
Yeah exactly . We lacked that bit cuteness to get over the line that day . Stephen Kelly destroyed them The next day in the reply in the first half until he was pole axed . Alas the dream was over !
Post by: Tony on January 18, 2017, 10:45:14 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on January 18, 2017, 10:31:40 AM
Talking of pick-ups ' I recall that Ian Robertson moment in 99 that broke our hearts . Up there with the best Croke Park performances from Laois . Cribben had Laois Laois superbly drilled that day.
It was a great performance, especially haven gone 6 points down in the opening third. It definitely was a pickup from Robertson but we should have closed out that game, fouled if necessary etc. To have a 4 point lead cut at the end, it's heartbreaking but we needed that bit more experience. It was an incredibly young team we had at the time, apart from Maher, G. Doyle and a couple of others. The likes of S.Kelly, Fitzgerald, Rooney etc were pretty much just starting out senior at that point. M. Lawlor looked very dangerous when he came on and was pivotal for us. Great pace in the team back then and natural fitness. Cribben was and still is a decent manager.
Post by: les Antiques on January 18, 2017, 10:57:13 AM
I remember the moment Sweeney kicked that great point and saluted the Hogan and Laois folk started to believe that this could happen . The weather definetly didn't help Laois the second day but as Don said we did lack the cuteness to close out a major championship win back then . Apart from Navan 92 I can't think of another .
Post by: redsetanta on January 18, 2017, 11:01:45 AM
Padge Conway was brilliant that day from what I recall. He was always able to read the game very well and anticipate where the ball would be. I remember Hughie scoring a monstrous point from under the stand to put us either 3 or 4 points up and thinking 'we're going to beat these' alas not to be and leaving Croke Park that day it was the old cliche of 'leaving it behind us'. We never really looked like winning the replay and Dublin were the better team on the day. The first day was also the first time I really heard the 'Laois, Laois Laois' chant. Like unlaoised said the noise from the Laois people was as good as i'd ever heard in Croke Park. Just another bad luck story in the end. We should count our blessings though as we could be from Mayo and have one of these every year! How do they keep going?
Post by: Don Draper on January 18, 2017, 11:15:13 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on January 18, 2017, 11:01:45 AM
Padge Conway was brilliant that day from what I recall. He was always able to read the game very well and anticipate where the ball would be. I remember Hughie scoring a monstrous point from under the stand to put us either 3 or 4 points up and thinking 'we're going to beat these' alas not to be and leaving Croke Park that day it was the old cliche of 'leaving it behind us'. We never really looked like winning the replay and Dublin were the better team on the day. The first day was also the first time I really heard the 'Laois, Laois Laois' chant. Like unlaoised said the noise from the Laois people was as good as i'd ever heard in Croke Park. Just another bad luck story in the end. We should count our blessings though as we could be from Mayo and have one of these every year! How do they keep going?
Getting to All Ireland Finals wouldn't be that bad. Great weekend to be had. Up to 5PM on Sunday. But they're well used to the process of getting over it and getting baloobas and moving on to next year. Gives them something to do.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 18, 2017, 11:52:09 AM
I hear Laois have a friendly tonight against a Top four side...
Post by: Butch Cassidy on January 18, 2017, 12:26:53 PM
Who is that Unlaoised? Where's it on?
Post by: les Antiques on January 18, 2017, 01:14:53 PM
Heard someone say last it was Kerry in Clomel . Could be off the mark though
Post by: les Antiques on January 18, 2017, 01:27:18 PM
January has been certainly encouraging for Laois and Creedon bit it's still only January . I still think we are weak enough on the line . If we get a couple of injuries down the spine of the team ... I just don't see the adequate replacements there . We have blooded a few lads this January but realistically how many will start against Louth and then even more importantly in May . We are still relying on the same few lads and in fairness they wear there heart on their sleeves for Laois .
Great to have Booth  back particularly with Timmons out for the league .Moore is a lovely footballer but is he ready for the rough and tumble of inter county footbal . I think he will be eventually but not this year . Looking forward to the league , it will tell us a lot about this current set up . You can see that a lot more organisation and preparation during the winter has gone into this Laois compared to this time last year .
Post by: Zooming around on January 18, 2017, 02:15:45 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on January 18, 2017, 01:14:53 PM
Heard someone say last it was Kerry in Clomel . Could be off the mark though

It's Mayo in Athlone
Post by: Unlaoised on January 18, 2017, 03:53:26 PM
Yes Mayo in Athlone where I don't know! ,Playing Cork and an Ulster team in next few weeks as well.
Post by: Don Draper on January 18, 2017, 04:31:04 PM
Much better options than Louth in the Byrne Cup, who we'll see soon enough.
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 18, 2017, 07:29:09 PM
Quote from: Tony on January 18, 2017, 10:30:30 AM

You should probably turn off the internet, just to be safe.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 18, 2017, 08:17:45 PM
Fair play to Creedon, they are the quality of challenge games you need. No point it hammering weaker teams and going into the league with a false sense of security, then losing to teams you should be beating.

Playing teams who should be beating you is much better for everyone, especially if you can pick up a few wins which I believe we are well capable of doing..
Post by: Tony on January 18, 2017, 08:42:52 PM
Yeah agreed; playing higher standard teams improves the standard of your own team. If you play lower standard teams, they lower your level. Obviously it's just how it works. Unfortunately, that's why it's so important to be in Div 1 or Div 2 in the league if a team has any chance in the championship. It's great that we're playing Mayo, Cork etc. Creeden and co seem like a very pro active setup, just complete opposite to last year. Up to Saturday we were planning on playing the next game in O' Byrne cup but now all of a sudden we have organised 3 good games in the space of a few days. Last year we couldn't even find a suitable pitch to train in. At this point, I'd fancy our chances of getting top 2 in division 3, but as a previous poster said, it does depend on injuries as we don't particularly have strength in depth, especially with our backs. Right now we're bookies 3rd favourites behind tipp & armagh.
Post by: town1980 on January 18, 2017, 11:18:42 PM
How did Tonight's practice match go against mayo  go???
Post by: les Antiques on January 19, 2017, 12:12:15 AM
Ok so playing Cork in Tipp next week .
Post by: Butch Cassidy on January 19, 2017, 08:20:36 AM
Where is that on in Tipp?
Post by: les Antiques on January 19, 2017, 09:23:58 AM
Not exactly sure where Butch !
Post by: Laoisabu on January 19, 2017, 09:32:14 AM
Got hammered by mayo last night. Not sure of the score but they scored something like 3-21.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 19, 2017, 09:57:28 AM
Don't think it was a hammering Laois kicked 19 or 20 points as well...

Great game by all accounts!
Post by: Don Draper on January 19, 2017, 10:08:42 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on January 19, 2017, 09:57:28 AM

If Laois scored 19 or 20 points though, and Mayo scored 3-21 or so, that'd still be in the wheelhouse of a 10 or more point defeat.

Which to be fair, depending on the team Mayo has out, is about where we are right now I'd say.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 19, 2017, 10:15:49 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 19, 2017, 10:08:42 AM

If Laois scored 19 or 20 points though, and Mayo scored 3-21 or so, that'd still be in the wheelhouse of a 10 or more point defeat.

Which to be fair, depending on the team Mayo has out, is about where we are right now I'd say.

Mayo had a decent team out ...it's these sort of games where you learn things !!
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 19, 2017, 10:30:12 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on January 19, 2017, 10:15:49 AM

Mayo had a decent team out ...it's these sort of games where you learn things !!

Yes - I would say that we learned that we have a dodgy full back line if we conceded 3 goals. Anyone actually at the game?
Post by: Don Draper on January 19, 2017, 10:30:50 AM

I agree 100%. When you compare it to the turds we were playing this time last year, its a huge step up.
Post by: SCFC on January 19, 2017, 10:36:32 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 19, 2017, 10:30:50 AM

I agree 100%. When you compare it to the shit we were playing this time last year, its a huge step up.
What a complete waste of a year last year was.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 19, 2017, 03:16:16 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on January 19, 2017, 10:30:12 AM

Yes - I would say that we learned that we have a dodgy full back line if we conceded 3 goals. Anyone actually at the game?

No I wasn't but Pauric McMahon started a corner back he is back in!He is sure to be rusty.

Dillion Freeman and O'Connor was Mayo full forward line according to twitter!
Post by: Giovanni on January 19, 2017, 03:23:06 PM
Good news if that's true.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 19, 2017, 03:26:43 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on January 19, 2017, 03:23:06 PM
Good news if that's true.

It is for certain he is back in!
Post by: redsetanta on January 19, 2017, 04:43:18 PM
For years the only man who could put the ball in the net for us. Quite often the only spark for us!
Post by: Clubber Lang on January 19, 2017, 05:08:40 PM
Hopefully he will can regain his pace of old. Crucial if he is to re-establish himself in Laois starting team after a few years away. Good addition all the same. If Timmons can be right by time championship comes around then the Laois full-back line will have some decent options along with Booth, O'Connor etc to choose from. All we need now is Cahir Healy to give it one more go with footballers as well.

It's great to see the players involved in a proper set-up this year. Furthermore, with age profile of our key players Quigley 31, Strong 31, Timmons 30, O'Loughlin 28, Begley 30, Kingston 26, Meaney 30ish I think there is a realisation that it's now or never for them to achieve something in their inter-county careers. The combination of hunger/determination and a proper set up will hopefully lead to an upturn in our fortunes for the year ahead-Promotion to Division 2, Leinster final appearance and reaching the 1/4 final of All-Ireland series should be realistic targets for the coming year.   
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 19, 2017, 08:10:16 PM

Were the 2016 Mayo Senior Football panel not in South Africa until 3/4 days ago?
Post by: town1980 on January 19, 2017, 08:18:01 PM
They were and we're rusty out macmahon great to have him back performed great for ballyabbey  last two years let's hope we see some of that from him and more,, nice fella and great to have him around
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 20, 2017, 01:35:32 AM
Mayo 3-21
Laois 0-19

Mayo fielded a very strong team from what I hear and they were flying fit. The holiday must have been more of a training camp, no sign of rustiness anyway..
Scoring 19 points against top class opposition is very good, don't forget its early days yet and its looking really good in my opinion. I'm as optimistic as I have been for many a year, roll on the league...
Post by: les Antiques on January 20, 2017, 09:56:45 AM
Great indeed to have McMahon back on board but has naturally lost some pace since the last time he togged out for Laois .
Post by: Unlaoised on January 20, 2017, 11:52:25 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on January 20, 2017, 09:56:45 AM
Great indeed to have McMahon back on board but has naturally lost some pace since the last time he togged out for Laois .

Maybe but he is so athletic that I would say its only a slight bit...His know how will get him through a great option in the backs...

Welcome back Pauric!
Post by: Tony on January 20, 2017, 02:04:04 PM
No finer man you'd meet than Padraig. Sound as them come. EXCELLENT for team morale to have him back as he's a great man to have around for motivation & he's also brilliant at bringing younger players on and giving them personal support and encouragement - he's like Ross that way. Personally speaking, I doubt he has the pace required for corner back anymore. If Strong works out in the corner, I'd rather have Padraic on the wing. Regardless, great to have him back and it just shows his hunger and desire to play for Laois because it's a huge commitment & it's not as if he doesn't have a lot of other things going on in his life at present. Respect to him and very welcome back Padraig.
Post by: redsetanta on January 23, 2017, 10:14:21 AM
Louth beating Meath by 7 points should be a warning to our lads coming into the league. Meath played with 14 men for the second half but it shouldn't detract from a decent win for the wee county. We will need to be very focused for the game and come out firing from the start. While we were all very happy with the Laois performance last week it shows what we have to do so no complacency.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on January 23, 2017, 11:04:07 AM
Laois playing Cork this week?
Post by: Don Draper on January 23, 2017, 01:07:54 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on January 23, 2017, 10:14:21 AM
Louth beating Meath by 7 points should be a warning to our lads coming into the league. Meath played with 14 men for the second half but it shouldn't detract from a decent win for the wee county. We will need to be very focused for the game and come out firing from the start. While we were all very happy with the Laois performance last week it shows what we have to do so no complacency.
Its very difficult to reach much into any of those games re opposition given the amount of changes etc that would be made. I'd hope our lads wouldn't take anyone for granted these days.
Post by: redsetanta on January 23, 2017, 01:28:46 PM
The tone this time last week was positve which is great and like you say we shouldn't read too much into these games but we did last week.
Post by: Don Draper on January 23, 2017, 01:36:13 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on January 23, 2017, 01:28:46 PM
The tone this time last week was positve which is great and like you say we shouldn't read too much into these games but we did last week.
I meant re the opposition. We can tell a bit from our own, because we know what we have and don't have to a much greater extent. But Meath ran the bench in a lot of their games and did so again yesterday.

Whats far more depressing is how far Dublin's 3rd team is ahead of most teams they met.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 24, 2017, 01:20:35 AM
It really is hard to read too much from these games, only the previous week Carlow were two points ahead of Louth with 8 minutes left on the clock. Louth did beat them in the end but Louth would have really been up for the Meath game for obvious reasons. The Meath keeper was sent off and Joe Sheridan stepped into the goals for the penalty kick which was scored by Louth... I'd say that was a sweet moment for every Louth man...
Post by: Laoisguy on January 24, 2017, 10:32:53 AM
Hugely optimistic about this year

Really love the way Creedon talks about the county and players on the media.

Grounded Honest Fair Smart...... breath of fresh air
Post by: Unlaoised on January 24, 2017, 10:34:13 AM
Playing Cork this week I think and Donegal  next week or maybe the other way around I had a few on board when I was told last Saturday night! ;D
Post by: Tony on January 24, 2017, 05:42:10 PM
Quote from: Laoisguy on January 24, 2017, 10:32:53 AM
Hugely optimistic about this year

Really love the way Creedon talks about the county and players on the media.

Grounded Honest Fair Smart...... breath of fresh air
Agreed - you can tell he has a very good head on his shoulders. Smart man & he speaks very well. Players seems to be really getting behind him also. It's one thing to have good ideas but another to be able to communicate those effectively to your players. He definitely has good communication, he's very proactive; let's just hope he has good ideas  :)   https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/peter-creedon-post-meath
Post by: Butch Cassidy on January 24, 2017, 05:44:28 PM
Any flash backs to Saturday night Unlaoised to tell you where the matches are on??

U21s playing Limerick tomorrow night so presume isn't on then
Post by: The Monument Road on January 24, 2017, 09:49:48 PM
The panel has been cut considerably this week. Any one know of who is gone....
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 29, 2017, 11:58:39 PM
Jack Nolan discusses the possible changes to the Laois Senior Football Championship and reveals injury worries to some big players ahead of Saturday night's game against Louth.

https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/laois-sfc-changes-ahead
Post by: High Fielder on January 30, 2017, 10:05:56 AM
Who dreams up this shite? Talking about the top 8 teams in the county as if they were powerhouses. They're very ordinary football teams in a county that is struggling overall. The hurling structure is very different because of the amalgamations, but fair play to Jack, he did his best to sell it to us. Lest he and all of us forget, our current county champions were looking at relegation the year before last, and one player has turned them around. Top 8 me bollix.

Post by: redsetanta on January 30, 2017, 11:13:28 AM
Johnno is a big loss for Saturday. Hopefully Kingstons knock isn't too bad!
Post by: Ballyroan Abbey on January 30, 2017, 12:01:27 PM
Theres 27 clubs between senior and junior a, it makes absolutely no sense that 16 of them are senior, it actually devalues the status of been a senior club, at the moment despite the county final portlaoise are still ahead of the rest, one loss in 10 years doesnt change that, theres probably 2 or 3 teams a bit below them, after that everyone is on a simular level with no chance of competing, splitting the championship should give every club with something to play for and provide an ultra competitive second tier
Post by: High Fielder on January 30, 2017, 01:34:45 PM
And 5 teams in the first tier with no chance according to your own logic Ballyroan. And you still have the proportionately small amount of clubs in Intermediate and Junior. Change for changes sake. Achieves nothing except make the dinosaurs feel like their doing something.
Post by: Ballyroan Abbey on January 30, 2017, 02:03:46 PM
The point is you give 8 clubs a chance of actually winning something instead of just surviving, creates a competitive championship(senior b) it strengthens laois in the leinster club championship, if i was to harbour a guess your club is probably one that is in danger of been regraded. What do clubs want, to be competing for championships or for quarter finals, then clap themselves on the back and say good year.
Post by: High Fielder on January 30, 2017, 02:18:09 PM
And 5 clubs in A with no chance, so what's the point? To facilitate 8 clubs who can't win Senior, along with the other 5, making 13. This solves nothing. A plaster over a gaping wound
Post by: Ballyroan Abbey on January 30, 2017, 02:30:49 PM
Whats your suggestion?
Post by: High Fielder on January 30, 2017, 02:39:58 PM
There isn't one. It is what it is. Portlaoise are dominant and will continue to be because they have the numbers. Same as Dublin. Suck it up and get on with it. Nothing in this will make clubs better.
Post by: justinn on January 30, 2017, 05:47:08 PM
Looks like we will be without O Connor, Timmons, Meridith, Quigley, O loughlin, Cahilane, Cotter, O Carroll from last years championship team.
Post by: beano on January 30, 2017, 06:53:26 PM
I think it should be given a try, nothing to lose everything to gain! Interesting to note only 7 teams have reached a Semi final since 2000 so it's not like clubs have a chance of winning! With the senior b the champions have a decent chance in leinster which would give them a chance of achieving! A Laois club in Croke park in an intermediate final who soon change attitudes towards a new format! It's a win win for clubs in my opinion!
Post by: rodney trotter on January 30, 2017, 07:07:12 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on January 30, 2017, 02:39:58 PM
There isn't one. It is what it is. Portlaoise are dominant and will continue to be because they have the numbers. Same as Dublin. Suck it up and get on with it. Nothing in this will make clubs better.

There should be more then one club in the town of Portlaoise given its size. Most big towns have a couple of clubs.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 30, 2017, 08:49:02 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on January 30, 2017, 07:07:12 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on January 30, 2017, 02:39:58 PM

There should be more then one club in the town of Portlaoise given its size. Most big towns have a couple of clubs.

This
Post by: the sash on January 30, 2017, 09:11:00 PM
I don't agree with reducing the laois championship to 8 teams, but if they did should they not wait an extra year and when this year is finished take the quarter finalists ,seed them back into the 4 groups of 4 so that the worst teams will sink to the bottom then you could drop your 8. The way the  structure is at the moment the bottom 8 teams might not necessarily be the worst 8 teams. For example if portlaoise draw stradbally and arles kilèen draw st joes in the first round. Then two of those losers draw each other then 1 of the  above teams is automatically a senior b team. So i don't think its quite fair
Post by: O moore parklife on January 30, 2017, 11:23:17 PM
Short note. Any club that have amalgamated should automatically be put into this senior b championship. That's 3 straight away. They obviously feel they can't contest on there own so give them a level they can
Post by: Saint75 on January 30, 2017, 11:25:20 PM
I agree we need less Senior teams.

Why create a new 2nd level?

Just relegate 3 teams every year to intermediate.

I'm not sure if it makes much of a difference overall.

I would dump the Gaels idea.

Create 3 or 4 area teams made up of all clubs bar senior clubs.

All clubs keep there identity and gives every footballer in Laois a chance to play senior football.

Nothing wrong with being a junior or intermediate club.
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 30, 2017, 11:31:50 PM
Quote from: the sash on January 30, 2017, 09:11:00 PM
I don't agree with reducing the laois championship to 8 teams, but if they did should they not wait an extra year and when this year is finished take the quarter finalists ,seed them back into the 4 groups of 4 so that the worst teams will sink to the bottom then you could drop your 8. The way the  structure is at the moment the bottom 8 teams might not necessarily be the worst 8 teams. For example if portlaoise draw stradbally and arles kilèen draw st joes in the first round. Then two of those losers draw each other then 1 of the  above teams is automatically a senior b team. So i don't think its quite fair

This to me, is the most important point made so far.
The current system does not really "seed", and luck could play a huge part in this.
Post by: Don Draper on January 31, 2017, 08:59:37 AM
Quote from: Saint75 on January 30, 2017, 11:25:20 PM

I assume "Saint" means St Josephs, and I think we all know what happened the last time they tried to relegate 3 teams in one year.
Post by: SCFC on January 31, 2017, 10:59:52 AM
I see the football clubs are happy enough with the SFC structure.

"Insanity - doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results".

Post by: Ballyroan Abbey on January 31, 2017, 11:50:39 AM
No club was going to potentially sacrifice their senior status, decisions like these should probably be left out of clubs hands as bad as that sounds
Post by: OTF on January 31, 2017, 12:45:38 PM
I agree we need less Senior teams.

Why create a new 2nd level?

I'm not sure if it makes much of a difference overall.

I would dump the Gaels idea.

Create 3 or 4 area teams made up of all clubs bar senior clubs.

All clubs keep there identity and gives every footballer in Laois a chance to play senior football.

Nothing wrong with being a junior or intermediate club.

Exactly call it intermediate as it should be.
It never fails to amaze me our capacity as GAA people to delude ourselves, same with the All Ireland championship there's at lease 24 counties with absolutely no chance of wining  Sam, simply  because they don't  have  enough bodies to pick from.

Post by: Downtheroad on January 31, 2017, 03:17:27 PM
Kerry have 8 club teams taking part in their SFC proper. Laois has 16. Kilkenny have a shocking competitive 12 team senior hurling championship. Even their Intermediate is dog eat dog.  From speaking to players, officers and supporters over the years, some think they have a divine right to remain senior. I don't think this attitude is going to change for a while yet.
Post by: clonadmad on January 31, 2017, 03:34:01 PM
Tipperary have as of this year split their 29 senior hurling teams in two

The top 16 teams play for the county championship,the next 13 can only enter into this competition if they win their divisional championship,2 up 2 down in these divisions.

Kerry,Kilkenny now Tipperary obviously these counties know less than the success story that is Laois.
Post by: Downtheroad on January 31, 2017, 04:01:48 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on January 31, 2017, 03:34:01 PM
Tipperary have as of this year split their 29 senior hurling teams in two

The top 16 teams play for the county championship,the next 13 can only enter into this competition if they win their divisional championship,2 up 2 down in these divisions.

Kerry,Kilkenny now Tipperary obviously these counties know less than the success story that is Laois.
The Laois Senior hurling championship in 2016 will long live in the memory for the number of tight games crowned by a superb drawn final.  The local Senior Football championship badly needs a competition with a real edge where teams have no choice but prepare. Both Clonaslee  (poor effort at training) and Ballyfin (pulling out of the league) deserved to go down last year. Only the class of a couple of their young players in the case of Ballyfin saved them.  Mind you they are taking no chances this year as they are even taking part in the Kelly cup.   
Post by: High Fielder on January 31, 2017, 04:22:34 PM
The last 10 years have seen Portlaoise dominate in football. That may change if results at underage are anything to go  by. My guess is it won't because where competition exists at underage level, it evaporates when clubs go back (split) to Senior. The key to the GAA at all levels is numbers. Numbers give you the ability to pick a better 15 than those clubs/counties who have to cobble together a team. It's simple enough really, and fellas who think tinkering around with structures, or worse still, believing they can compete with Portlaoise or Dublin, are deluding themselves. There will be occasions (rare) when teams get a good crop, and we in Laois know about that. More often than not though, numbers will always win out. I'm afraid our county is far too divided and far too stubborn to acknowledge the patently obvious. For that reason, it really is just best to get on with it, do your best, but don't be too disheartened when the inevitable happens.
Post by: Saint75 on January 31, 2017, 09:41:06 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 31, 2017, 08:59:37 AM

I assume "Saint" means St Josephs, and I think we all know what happened the last time they tried to relegate 3 teams in one year.

Good man very helpful input👍🏻
Post by: Don Draper on January 31, 2017, 09:56:46 PM
Quote from: Saint75 on January 31, 2017, 09:41:06 PM

Your input contributed hugely to Stradballys title in 2016, credit where its due.
Post by: The Monument Road on January 31, 2017, 10:01:18 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 31, 2017, 09:56:46 PM

Your input contributed hugely to Stradballys title in 2016, credit where its due.
Grow up the pair of ye... :'( :o
Post by: Saint75 on February 02, 2017, 11:42:00 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on January 31, 2017, 10:01:18 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 31, 2017, 09:56:46 PM

Your input contributed hugely to Stradballys title in 2016, credit where its due

I happen to think all 3 clubs should have played the relegation playoff that year.

I'm not sure how you're comment enhances the discussion.

Try to make some sort of valid or helpful point the next time.

Good man👍🏻
Post by: Don Draper on February 03, 2017, 07:56:43 AM
It's "your" not "you're".

Post by: The Monument Road on February 03, 2017, 12:46:56 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on February 03, 2017, 07:56:43 AM
very valid and helpful. ..we have ta make sure dat we get our spellin correct  :'( :-X
Post by: Don Draper on February 03, 2017, 01:08:01 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on February 03, 2017, 12:46:56 PM
very valid and helpful. ..we have ta make sure dat we get our spellin correct  :'( :-X
Well he did ask.
Post by: town1980 on February 03, 2017, 08:06:21 PM
Probably in my opinion the weakest Laois team on paper I have ever seen,, I no we have a lot of injuries but Louth have to be favourites... I fear for them tmw  night .. a bad result will have moral very low for the rest of the league.. hope we win but I think it'll be to big of an ask even against louth
Post by: Saint75 on February 03, 2017, 11:44:24 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on February 03, 2017, 01:08:01 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on February 03, 2017, 12:46:56 PM
Well he did ask.

Online forums have the potential for great discussion but unfortunately seem to attract fools.
Post by: Jellyfish on May 18, 2017, 05:19:00 PM
Team due to be named tonight or tomorrow, injuries seem to be clearing up! Wonder has many left the panel since the league?
Post by: Tony on May 18, 2017, 07:26:44 PM
Might be ocd kicking in jellyfish but make sure you're posting in the correct forum thread. Which is the leinster senior football championship 2017 forum.
Post by: Jellyfish on May 18, 2017, 07:34:35 PM
Oops Tony my bad