The untapped global potential of Gaelic games

Started by Eamonnca1, February 27, 2014, 06:49:40 PM

North Longford

Its a brilliant weekend. I'd never have believed how seriously it's taken until I came out here. I've trained teams at home and there is no difference in what goes on out here Just far more work involved getting pitches and the whole organisation of the weekend trip is phenomenal.  We have a tour coordinator who will probably sleep for a week!!!.  3 times training a week, only it's in 30+degrees. All geared towards 1 weekend. I've been in co. Final dressing rooms and there was every bit as much tension with our lads on Sunday. Thankfully we kept the best till last.
ladies final was seriously tense. And our B team losing the intermediate final on a sudden death pt after xtra time was tough. A lot of them lads would have trained as much as the A team.....

Fair play it looks like a very well run event... how could it not be with a Screen man in charge!!!

GAA managers tend to wear polo shirts, but the manager of the University of Connecticut HC is taking his attire seriously by wearing a suit:

Sharp suit says so much in a GAA world without any frills

I interviewed his brother last year and asked "So... about your suit..." 

He answered me with a total straight face and let me know he was taking his job very seriously, said "it's just a way for me to be more competitive." I almost felt bad about asking the question!  At 3:20 here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rMsz75iFLqU

North Longford

I'd love to see the state of me in a suit after a day of 37 degrees in KL....couldn't even wear my banisteor t-shirt on Sunday because of the rancid smell of sweat coming off it from Saturday. ...was dire. Funny seeing lads taking off their jerseys between games and hanging them on a railing to try and dry the sweat off them!!

Any craic

Video report on the European Finals in Maastricht at the weekend, with Rovigo Gaelic Football and Belgium featuring prominently..   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l8jT6KPMgLU

Any craic

Video: The GAA goes Global! From Melbourne to Asia to Maastricht, President Liam O'Neill is excited for the future.. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtaM4ZU7_x4

Great to see others enjoying it.  Hate the title of the thread though.  It reads as if the GAA is a brand and should be making more money (I know it isn't).

How about "Spreading the Joy.  The Global appeal of Gaelic Games."

Quote from: Any craic on October 21, 2014, 07:14:58 PM
Video: The GAA goes Global! From Melbourne to Asia to Maastricht, President Liam O'Neill is excited for the future.. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtaM4ZU7_x4

Did he crack a smile yet?

Quote from: Denn Forever on October 22, 2014, 11:06:30 AM
Great to see others enjoying it.  Hate the title of the thread though.  It reads as if the GAA is a brand and should be making more money (I know it isn't).

How about "Spreading the Joy.  The Global appeal of Gaelic Games."

The title of the thread is 100% spot on. There should be millions of people around the world playing the games, they should not be languishing in obscurity.

It was the phrase "untapped" that doesn't sit well with me i.e. the word "untapped" suggests that hasn't been exploited enough. 

To me, football, hurling etc. is a Joy so we need to spread the Joy.  It has no "Potential", it is fully formed.

Anyway, it was a semantic problem to me.  So keep doing the Trojan work and spreading the Joy.

There was thing there on the news about Michael D visiting some GAA thing in South Africa. Some team called "Mayo" won, this indicates just how unlike Ireland abroad is!

Quote from: armaghniac on November 16, 2014, 09:21:22 PM
There was thing there on the news about Michael D visiting some GAA thing in South Africa. Some team called "Mayo" won, this indicates just how unlike Ireland abroad is!

You'd better believe it.

There the Free State is Orange.

munchkin

Quote from: armaghniac on November 16, 2014, 09:21:22 PM
heres the clip from the news.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/player/809/659905/

Local TV news gives an "all star" award to former servicemen adjusting to civilian life and playing hurling at the University of Montana...

http://www.abcfoxmontana.com/story/28766562/abc-all-stars-griz-hurlers-and-military-veterans