Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

InnocentByStander

Hear they need a ref for the down final.

Think as their neighbours it would only be right to send our best across the border, Cathal McDermott.

Be some laugh 🤣

Quote from: InnocentByStander on October 15, 2023, 12:41:03 PMHear they need a ref for the down final.

Think as their neighbours it would only be right to send our best across the border, Cathal McDermott.

Be some laugh 🤣

The boys would have some craic at the Down county board. And we complain about our ref's!  There's always someone worse off than ourselves

BrendanAntrim

The u19 championship is alive and well. Cargin v Naomh Brid final in a a couple of weeks.

HealthySaff

Was there an under 19 game today? Who was playing? Nothing online ?

Quote from: HealthySaff on October 15, 2023, 10:49:55 PMWas there an under 19 game today? Who was playing? Nothing online ?

Under-19A Football Championship semi final

St Enda's 0-05 Erin's Own Cargin 3-11

Cargin's under-19's followed in the footsteps of their senior counterparts when a win over St Enda's at Hightown on Sunday ensured they booked their place in the final of the competition at the expense of St. Enda's

The Toome lads had several from the senior side on duty and travelled in confidence and although they took a while to warm to the task, they were to prove successful.
conditions were excellent as the game commenced and it took Cargin a time to get up to speed but with Cahir Donnelly and Charlie McCann dominating the central zone they were first to strike with a Conan Johnston point in the 3rd minute.

The centre back was to prove prominent throughout and he was to play a part in the next score as Jack O' Neill found the net.

Hugh O' Donnell began the move with a fine interception and clearance and when Diarmuid Quinn's flick sent the corner forward in on target he finished to the back of the net with the game clock at 10 minutes.

The visitors went further ahead by the end of the first quarter with the hard grafting Jack Harney adding a point and Callum Gribbin following with a couple as they added 1-04 without reply by the 20th minute.

St Enda's finally got off the mark in the 25th minute when their hard grafting full forward Michael McKenna pointed but Cargin were quick to respond as Jack Harney's delivery and Jack O' Neill's assist opened the way for central defender Conan Johnston to add another goal.

The Toome men pressed forward in the latter stages and the home side's keeper, Seanan Nagle made a fine save to deny Diarmuid Quinn in the the 29th minute but Cargin looked in control at the end of the period when they held a 2-04 to 0-01.

St Enda's started the second half well, adding a couple of points through Pat Dornan and Michael McKenna in response to similar scores at the other end by Tom Shivers.

The impressive full forward was to add another point to Cargin's total and at 2-07 to 0-03 they were well on top at the 40th minute.

St Enda's replied with a 42nd minute point through hard working mid fielder Sean Murray but it brought swift reply at the other end as a fine fetch and delivery by Jack Harney found Diarmuid Quinn who placed Kian Scullion to fire home and the end was nigh.

Diarmuid Quinn, who had impressed throughout added a couple more points with Ben Mc Larnon and Conan Johnston adding one apiece.

The home side had the last score with a 59th minute point from full forward Michael Mc Kenna but the long blast which quickly followed signalled victory for the Cargin lads who will now go forward to meet St Brigid's in the final.

Bring back club football

Quote from: referee on October 15, 2023, 12:39:51 PMIf JMcK does or has stepped down,I can't see Pg1 ratifying that management duo(2 eejits)I think it's uncle and nephew not brothers,a lot off teams as Bannside says looking or mulling over potential managements

They're already paying their own club man a kings ransoms so why would the Kelly's be treated any different?

PGO have lost 4 or 5 semi-finals in a row?

Need to pay somebody else.

EOC1923

Quote from: Bring back club football on October 15, 2023, 11:30:22 PM
Quote from: referee on October 15, 2023, 12:39:51 PMIf JMcK does or has stepped down,I can't see Pg1 ratifying that management duo(2 eejits)I think it's uncle and nephew not brothers,a lot off teams as Bannside says looking or mulling over potential managements

They're already paying their own club man a kings ransoms so why would the Kelly's be treated any different?
Poor form there, no chance is that true. This is what you get these days for taking your own club, scandalous lies are told.

bannside

100% EOC. Very poor form indeed! JMK dosent charge take a penny from his club, and is well regarded and respected. I don't place any merit whatsoever in the rumour G&T started. Expect JMK back on the line here next year, albeit with a freshened up backroom team. I haven't heard anything else to the contrary.

Ghost+Tommy

Bs I was only saying what I was told at the schools football,I didn't  mention JMc K taking money,I personally think he's the right man for your club,freshening up his backroom team??any names who's going and who's coming in Bs

bannside

Aye surely! Do you want to know what they had for breakfast?

Can Cargin take Glen or Magherafelt, that's the main item on the agenda now. Or Glenravel / Rasharkin in the ulster club?

EOC1923

Quote from: bannside on October 16, 2023, 11:03:48 AMAye surely! Do you want to know what they had for breakfast?

Can Cargin take Glen or Magherafelt, that's the main item on the agenda now. Or Glenravel / Rasharkin in the ulster club?
Going back to Cargin v Derrygonnelly 2019, we underperformed then had a frustrating 3 long years to get another crack (covid year of 2020 and Creggans win) So getting another go at a top team so soon again has to be a good thing for possible progress. We've got one of the hardest draws we could of got but we will have had 5 weeks to prepare so cant complain and what a huge victory it would be should it come off.
Glenravel I would expect to go well in the intermediate Antrim teams have done well in recent years. Don't know so much about the junior grade tbh.

Quote from: EOC1923 on October 16, 2023, 01:20:29 PM
Quote from: bannside on October 16, 2023, 11:03:48 AMAye surely! Do you want to know what they had for breakfast?

Going back to Cargin v Derrygonnelly 2019, we underperformed then had a frustrating 3 long years to get another crack (covid year of 2020 and Creggans win) So getting another go at a top team so soon again has to be a good thing for possible progress. We've got one of the hardest draws we could of got but we will have had 5 weeks to prepare so cant complain and what a huge victory it would be should it come off.
Glenravel I would expect to go well in the intermediate Antrim teams have done well in recent years. Don't know so much about the junior grade tbh.

I don't know if you underperformed that day against Derrygonnelly, they were very good that day, as physical as yourselves and took the scores.

Gave the Donegal champions too much of a start that year and had all the momentum but ran out of time, going to be a hard game again this year, be interesting to see how Cargin approach the game, that'll be down to who they get I suppose, but keeping it tight early doors and then going at them and putting them on the back foot.. Should be a good game, might even head up to Derry (if its there and not Owenbeg)

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 17, 2023, 09:54:18 AM

I don't know if you underperformed that day against Derrygonnelly, they were very good that day, as physical as yourselves and took the scores.

Gave the Donegal champions too much of a start that year and had all the momentum but ran out of time, going to be a hard game again this year, be interesting to see how Cargin approach the game, that'll be down to who they get I suppose, but keeping it tight early doors and then going at them and putting them on the back foot.. Should be a good game, might even head up to Derry (if its there and not Owenbeg)

its down as Celtic Park as a double header with Glenravel v Glenullin/Banagher on before it.
12.00 + 2.00pm

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 17, 2023, 09:54:18 AM

Are we going for a 2 all draw after ET?  ;D