FAI...New Manager Hunt continues

Started by CĂșig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

How did we get the second leg at home by the way?

dec

Quote from: AZOffaly on October 19, 2015, 01:42:02 PM
How did we get the second leg at home by the way?
Luck of the draw, there was no seeding for order of games, only who who would play who.

shark

Sure jaysus, in that case we were as good as seeded :)

An Watcher

Ukrainians and Swedes were out first.  Thought we were gonna end up with the Hungarians.  Even that would have been tricky though.  Not one bit confident but then again I wasn't one bit confident about getting anything from the Germans

Quote from: mylestheslasher on October 18, 2015, 09:55:53 PM
Can people stop calling Argentina "Argies", its that type of shite the british red tops printed during the falklands war.

plus 1.

Think it is a generational thing tbf . Younger posters here mightn't remember the sneery snide way the term began.

A pig ignorant way imo to describe Argentina.

Rugby lads on TV3 were using it yesterday at times.

Quote from: Canalman on October 19, 2015, 02:51:21 PM
Can people stop calling Argentina "Argies", its that type of shite the british red tops printed during the falklands war.

plus 1.

Think it is a generational thing tbf . Younger posters here mightn't remember the sneery snide way the term began.

Very inappropriate. Argy bargy is a sloppy term as well.

Quote from: seafoid on October 19, 2015, 08:56:06 PM

plus 1.

Aussie off the books then?? Indians? And don't head to the chinkys for a Chinese.. Taffs??

I thought Argie came from the 1978 World Cup, still has it's origins in a British love of nicknames/shorthand and penchant for casual racism (am I allowed to say Brit on this thread now btw ???).

Think Argy-bargy is nowt to do with Argentina, Indian origins or something.
Edit: Quick google suggests Scots origin

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 19, 2015, 09:13:17 PM

plus 1.

Aussie off the books then?? Indians? And don't head to the chinkys for a Chinese.. Taffs??

Would you call a Welsh chap a taff?

Quote from: JoG2 on October 19, 2015, 10:31:16 PM

plus 1.

Three lads I was on a course with for over a year were taffs, I was a paddy.. No one died or harboured any ill feeling... Does that answer your question??

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 19, 2015, 10:40:02 PM

plus 1.

Three lads I was on a course with for over a year were taffs, I was a paddy.. No one died or harboured any ill feeling... Does that answer your question??

No.  Having a bit of craic  among friends is one thing,  calling  a Welsh person you don't know a taff is completely different. 

Taff is the River that runs through Cardiff, hardly a huge insult in the grand scheme.

Quote from: JoG2 on October 19, 2015, 10:50:14 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 19, 2015, 10:40:02 PM

plus 1.

No.  Having a bit of craic  among friends is one thing,  calling  a Welsh person you don't know a taff is completely different.

Saying anything out of context would piss someone off... If you look to be annoyed over anything you'll do it... Some people are easy offended...