Official Cavan GAA Thread

Started by BallyhaiseMan, November 10, 2006, 01:47:12 PM

anglocelt39

Quote from: RednBlack on March 31, 2009, 08:19:17 AM
Quote from: cavan4ever on March 31, 2009, 08:13:33 AM
Quote from: RednBlack on March 31, 2009, 12:02:23 AM
Quote from: Babe Ruth 47 on March 30, 2009, 03:53:04 PM
Was at the Cavan match (Desperated crowd by the way) and as previously stated not a huge pile can be read into it. I was impressed by the Gunner though, thought he had a powerful game.

With regard to the full back line, is it just me or does anyone else brake out in a fit of skakes and  cold sweats when a high ball is launched it and there is panic stations below in the full back line awaiting its arrival. This line as a unit will be dismantled come championship. I don't mean to harp on about it either but i heard that, (hopefuly 'RednBlack@ can confrim it) Eoin Smith, had a powerful game for Killygarry at fullback. I think he may be on the Cavan Junior panel but is there any hope he will get a run at the senior position. Is it too late at this stage for a call up?

Ted's has had three top class games at FB against Gowna, Castlerahan and Lavey and his 15 minute cameo at midfield against Lavey swung the game for us. Also did v well on Junior County team so well worth a look at Senior.

This is like a broken record on this board,  either the management dont rate him or else they are stupid.   I find it hard to believe that their is a full back out their playing well every week and he isnt on the panel when we are crying out for one.  Could someone from your club not talk to someone to get them to have a look at him, or does anyone know do they even go to games.  Well Peter doesnt for obvious reasons.

Rumour has it the club are going to transfer him to Cuchullains to get him a run!!!!!!!!!!!!

Eh? a trek across town to Terry Coyle Park mightn't go amiss either
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

Swadman

QuoteWalsh has helped Larry lose the weight and get fit with a personal fitness programme.
Now if he could only get him to look up and pass to a blue jersey once in a while !!! ;D

Celt_Man

Think I broke even with the last round of perdictions although there were a fair few draws across the 3 divisions....
For what its worth, here's how I think it might pan out this weekend, board has gone quiet the last few days anyway...

Imperial Bar A.C.F.L. Division 1 Round 4
Castlerahan v Cavan Gaels - CG by a few scores
Belturbet v Killygarry - tough one to call
Ramor Utd. v Crosserlough - Clough were terrible last week in the wee bit I saw before our game, Ramor to win
Gowna v Ballinagh - Gowna to bounce back after last week
Lavey v Cuchulainns - Not too sure at all, maybe cucu to sneak it
Redhills v Mullahoran - Gonna go for a home win here
Lacken v Denn - Lacken by a few points

Cathal Brady Audi A.C.F.L. Division 2 Round 4
Drumgoon v Killeshandra - Goonies to bounce back but only by a point or two
Ballyhaise v Cavan Gaels - Would expect Ballyhaise to shade it but CG will cause problems and will
Drung v Kingscourt - Must win for drung so expect them to take points off K'court, home win
Shercock v Killinkere - tough one to call, great result for shercock last wk
Knockbride v Drumlane - draw wouldn't be a shock but expect knockbride by a score
Kill v Cootehill - Not touching this one at all, local derbies can be a lottery
Drumalee v Crosserlough - Drumalee win by 4 or 5

John Brady Insurances Ltd A.C.F.L. Division 3 Round 4
Templeport v Ballymachugh - Templeport by a few
Corlough v Butlersbridge - exect the bridge to win
Cornafean v Shannon Gaels - home win
Laragh Utd v Swanlinbar - Laragh to continue good form but will get it tough against Swad
Bailieboro v Kildallon - Bailieboro  by a few points
Arva v Munterconnacht - not sure at all, go for home win
Killygarry v Mountnugent - Mountnugent, killygarry are looking like certs to drop this year
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

Last weeks predictions
Division One

Mullahoran V Ramor           M'horan by 3       Right
Ballinagh V Denn               Ballinagh by 5       Right
Cavan Gaels V Gowna        Draw                   Wrong
Cuchullains V Castlerahan    Cucu's by 4          Wrong
Killygarry V Lavey               K'Garry by 2          Right
Crosserlough V Belturbet    C'lough by 4          Wrong
Redhills V Lacken               Redhills by 1           Right

Div Two
Kingscourt V B'Haise          K'Court by 2          Wrong (thankfully)
Crosserlough V Cootehill     Cootehill by 7         Right
Kil'shandra V Drumalee       Drumalee by 2        Wrong
Cavan Gaels B V Drumgoon  Drumgoon by 5      Wrong
Killinkere V Drung               K'Kere by 8             Right
Drumlane V Sherock           Drumlane by 2         Wrong
Knockbride V Kill                 Knockbride by 10     Right

Div 3
Ballymachugh V Munnterconnacht    B'mchugh by 5    wrong
Buttlersbridge V Templeport           Bbridge by 4        wrong
Shannon Gls V Corlough                  S Gaels by 3        right
Swad V Cornafean                         Swad by 4           wrong
Killdallon V Laragh                          Draw                   wrong
Mountnugent V Baileborough          B'boro by 3          Right
Killygarry V Arva                             Arva by 6            Match postponed

9/20  :-[ , not a good start.

Hope i do better this week.
Castlerahan v Cavan Gaels - Cavan Gaels
Belturbet v Killygarry - Belturbet
Ramor Utd. v Crosserlough - Ramor
Gowna v Ballinagh - Ballinagh
Lavey v Cuchulainns - Cuchullains
Redhills v Mullahoran - Mullahoran
Lacken v Denn - Lacken

Drumgoon v Killeshandra - Drumgoon
Ballyhaise v Cavan Gaels - B'Haise
Drung v Kingscourt - Kingscourt
Shercock v Killinkere - draw
Knockbride v Drumlane - Knockbride
Kill v Cootehill - Cootehill
Drumalee v Crosserlough - Drumalee

Templeport v Ballymachugh - Templeport
Corlough v Butlersbridge - Buttlersbridge
Cornafean v Shannon Gaels - Shannon Gaels
Laragh Utd v Swanlinbar - Laragh
Bailieboro v Kildallon - Bailieboro 
Arva v Munterconnacht - Munnterconnacht
Killygarry v Mountnugent - Mountnugent,

Babe Ruth 47

Shur I might as well give it a rattle too....

Castlerahan v Cavan Gaels - Cavan Gaels
Belturbet v Killygarry - Killygarry
Ramor Utd. v Crosserlough - Crosserlough
Gowna v Ballinagh - Draw
Lavey v Cuchulainns - Cuchullains
Redhills v Mullahoran - Mullahoran
Lacken v Denn - Lacken

Drumgoon v Killeshandra - Drumgoon
Ballyhaise v Cavan Gaels - Ballyhaise
Drung v Kingscourt - Kingscourt
Shercock v Killinkere - Shercock
Knockbride v Drumlane - Knockbride
Kill v Cootehill - Cootehill
Drumalee v Crosserlough - Drumalee

Templeport v Ballymachugh - Draw
Corlough v Butlersbridge - Buttlersbridge
Cornafean v Shannon Gaels - Cornafean
Laragh Utd v Swanlinbar - Larah
Bailieboro v Kildallon - Bailieboro
Arva v Munterconnacht -Arva
Killygarry v Mountnugent - Killygarry

Bongo

Anywhere online that I would be able to see the league tables?

I mean the club league in cavan..... (Actually I wouldn't mind having a look at the NFL tables too?)

cavan.gaa.com is meant to have current tables up, but it seems like that site hasn't been updated in a while.

Quote from: RednBlack on April 03, 2009, 07:55:10 PM
Quote from: Bongo on April 03, 2009, 07:01:35 PM
Anywhere online that I would be able to see the league tables?

I mean the club league in cavan..... (Actually I wouldn't mind having a look at the NFL tables too?)

cavan.gaa.com is meant to have current tables up, but it seems like that site hasn't been updated in a while.

www.killygarry.com for up to date league tables

Your site only has 3 division tables 1,3 & 6 but its 3 more than the county homepage which is a joke. Have a look at sligos in comparison...

http://www.sligogaa.ie/

Bongo

That's a great website yis have there RednBlack. It's a dread that I had to look there to see the championship draw for my own club, Bailieboro.
All the clubs should get their fingers out and have something like that.... and as for the county website... enough said!! :-X

I see we got Drumgoon, Drung and Ballymachugh in the c'ship.... It wont be easy.... The lads seem to have gotten a good start in Division 3. Hopefully that will do the confidence the world of good. Are Gerry Sheridan, Jimmy Clarke & Flash toggin out this year? I heard Coleman quit again and Donnellan is away again. Hopefully the young lads won't get carried away with a wee run of form.... it is Div3 after all, big step up to Intermediate Champ, although in fairness we've held our own in that comp over the last few years. Thought we were unlucky to drop to Div 3 anyway.

Anyway hopefully 2009 will bring some small bit of sucess back to the shamrocks, we badly need it.

Lawrence of Knockbride

Quote from: RednBlack on April 04, 2009, 06:09:20 PM
Belturbet 2-07 Killygarry 2-11

Castlerahan Cavan Gaels off

Isn't it just great the way the throw-in time for a game is changed? That game was down for 5:30 in the celt and I arrive two hours late for it. Sure only the players and the boys need to know.

>:(

Why was the other game off?

anglocelt39

Fair play to ya bongo a few Shamrocks lads on board now, mind you some of us are long retired and in exile. I think it's long gone time Gerry, Lambo, Flash etc were given an honourable discharge. Like a lot of clubs probably a few fellas stayed around too long and the long term effects aren't great. On the topic of websites the Shamrocks website was great craic up to about two years ago when it folded, I know POD was probably fairly involved as well as, I think, young Halton, But sure like GAA clubs themselves you are relying on the efforts of a small few, who are often taken for granted, to deliver on these things.
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

Babe Ruth 47

How did 'Ted' aka Andy Ried do today RednBlack. Was he on Jayo? Did Jayo score much/at all.

cavan4ever

Quote from: Babe Ruth 47 on April 05, 2009, 01:31:08 AM
How did 'Ted' aka Andy Ried do today RednBlack. Was he on Jayo? Did Jayo score much/at all.

Is there something going on between yourself and this lad ?

I assume he calls him Andy Reid as he's been left out in the cold even though he appears to have the makings of a county man.

cavan4ever

Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 05, 2009, 01:10:06 PM
I assume he calls him Andy Reid as he's been left out in the cold even though he appears to have the makings of a county man.

Is he not a she?