Longford Football (& Hurling) Thread

Started by North Longford, November 17, 2006, 09:47:45 AM

North Longford

A certain red headed centre back.
Couple more of the lads playing too.

Good for these lads to have a small part of a day in the Sun.

Quote from: North Longford on June 16, 2009, 10:11:00 AM
A certain red headed centre back.
Couple more of the lads playing too.

Fair play, I'm delighted for him (and the others). 

LaurelEye

First blood drawn in the Connolly Cup:

Killoe 1-12 Granard 0-8.
Leader Cup winners: 1945, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2021, 2023.

And Colmcille got a tanking from our nearest and dearest.  ::)

LaurelEye

Quote from: Billys Boots on June 22, 2009, 09:20:40 AM
And Colmcille got a tanking from our nearest and dearest.  ::)

Never mind, surely after Longford's qualifier run it'll be at least October before ye have to face Mullinalaghta.

Do Colmcille have a trainer at the moment? I saw no-one listed on the programme.
Leader Cup winners: 1945, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2021, 2023.

North Longford

They have a trainer alright. There were a good few players listed on the programme but I didn't see too many of them yesterday!!
In fairness things probably couldn't have gone any worse this year.
Donie McKeon going away and Ollie McGivey retiring would have made things tough enough but with Brian Bradys long term injury as well as big spells out for Padraig Murtagh and Dec S Reilly with injury which was then capped by Paul Kennedy's freak accident before the connollys game we are actually lucky to be able to put 6 backs outl although one of them isn't a back at all but hey come October we might be a bit more competitive.

LaurelEye

Looking more closely at that programme I see they've done a Michael Corleone on you  ;D

Was disappointed by the performance in the second half. But as I heard someone behind me saying as I was coming out of Monaduff:

"Ah well, shure we still have Mullinyarta to play and they'd be no use."

North Longford

QuoteAh well, shure we still have Mullinyarta to play and they'd be no use."
Obviously someone who last gave any thought to Longford football last September!

North Longford

What peed me off more than anything was the decision en masse to give up completely with 10 minutes to go.
Dromard would have been under more pressure at training kicking the last 5 or 6 points

LaurelEye

Quote from: North Longford on June 22, 2009, 02:17:09 PM
What peed me off more than anything was the decision en masse to give up completely with 10 minutes to go.
Dromard would have been under more pressure at training kicking the last 5 or 6 points

They seemed to be overwhelmed even earlier than that - I think it took 15 minutes of the second half before they managed to get the ball past midfield and make any sort of half-serious attack.

North Longford

To be honest they were overwhelmed for most of the game. The strongish breeze and a modicum of effort kept things at least a bit competive. Hence when they gave up with 10 to go it got embarrasing. Most of the last 6 or 7 scores Dromard got without even a tackle being put in.

LaurelEye

Quote from: North Longford on June 22, 2009, 03:48:03 PM
To be honest they were overwhelmed for most of the game. The strongish breeze and a modicum of effort kept things at least a bit competive. Hence when they gave up with 10 to go it got embarrasing. Most of the last 6 or 7 scores Dromard got without even a tackle being put in.

Admit it - youse knew we were watching and decided to lull us into a false sense of security... ;)

On balance, I still expect youse to beat us on the day.

Was impressed by Slashers last night against the Windies.

North Longford

QuoteAdmit it - youse knew we were watching and decided to lull us into a false sense of security
I'm afraid we may have lulled ourselves into a false sense of security!!!

LaurelEye

Abbey took a long time to get motoring against the Connollys. I was afraid that poor Father Campbell might have to dust off the speech that he gave at the official opening to give the ref a verbal clip on the ear but everything worked out fine in the end :) Given that he didn't have much luck at the fishing the week before it will have come as a relief for him.

Ballymahon less impressive than might have been expected against Rathcline - likewise Killoe against Granard. Wasn't able to stick around for Ardagh vs Mostrim but I believe the least said the better.