Armagh Club football & hurling

Started by holylandsniper, November 09, 2006, 10:44:31 PM

Francie getting the MOTM award is a joke IMO, shows the gombeen nature of our County (Board).  FFS the man played one half of a game of football as a sweeper with no marking responsibilities bar double-teaming Gareth O'Neill on ocassion.  Miceal O'Rourke did very well, but Dromintee would have been f##k all without Vincie Martin yesterday.

goh4205

Quote from: bennydorano on October 18, 2010, 10:16:46 PM
Francie getting the MOTM award is a joke IMO, shows the gombeen nature of our County (Board).  FFS the man played one half of a game of football as a sweeper with no marking responsibilities bar double-teaming Gareth O'Neill on ocassion.  Miceal O'Rourke did very well, but Dromintee would have been f##k all without Vincie Martin yesterday.
I hope you mean he was non existent Benny, like McKenna was as well. Don't know why people rave about Vince Martin, he's f**k'en useless. Thought the lad Morgan was emense, very powerful, and has pace.

true

Is it t county board who pick man of the match, I know for a good few years it was Tones who sponsored MOTM award and they had delegates who selected player, is this not still the case??????

1life 1club

Quote from: crossfire on October 18, 2010, 09:46:43 PM
Quote from: 1life 1club on October 18, 2010, 06:33:00 PM
the irish news got the man of the match spot on today..had to be michael o'rourke..he was the best player on the dromintee team yday and probably over 60mins to..but sure lets give it to heroic francie..lol.it will prob be his last year..

Did any of your lads ever get man of the match in a senior county final. :)
francie did on sunday,,im sure john donaldson or johnny murtagh got it sumtime b4
full forward son

1life 1club

Quote from: Legs11 on October 18, 2010, 10:01:52 PM
Quote from: 1life 1club on October 18, 2010, 06:22:28 PM
Quote from: thewanderer on October 18, 2010, 09:01:58 AM
took in the match and have to say that dromintee will never have a better chance of beating cross. unfortunately they don't have the belief to beat them when with 5 to go and elements in their favour they froze. the only consolation is that it ends home finals for cross. In relation to the minor final congrats to shane o neills but i have to say the standard of both teams was pretty poor not that shanes will worry. minor teams of cross, harps, killeavey, ogs and keady must regret they didn't put in a better effort as a title was there on the basis of yesterdays game. ps did either of yesterdays minor finalists defeat any of the above teams. think it could be the end of the road for a few dtee starlets, including aiden o rouke and e martin
r u forgetting cullyhanna minors,we knocked cross out in the first round..u from the bridge??lol
Whats with ur LOL all of the time..what age are u 6?plus whats with you and the bridge get over them lad....
mouth
full forward son

IVEDECIDED

Quote from: 1life 1club on October 18, 2010, 10:48:40 PM
the irish news got the man of the match spot on today..had to be michael o'rourke..he was the best player on the dromintee team yday and probably over 60mins to..but sure lets give it to heroic francie..lol.it will prob be his last year..

francie did on sunday,,im sure john donaldson or johnny murtagh got it sumtime b4

;D ;D ;D

ogshead

What's the story with that Orchard TV? Have the county board gave up on that?

lolafrola

Went to the Belleek's v St Paul's game at the weekend and wasn't a bad game considering St Paul's fielded their B team but every one that played tried their best, it was another one of those situations where had St Paul's beaten Belleeks then their neighbours EireOg would have got a play off with Belleeks. I'm sure Eire Og wasn't happy about that but this situation seems to be happening in all the divisions.

Keady like clock work every year are about 4-5 games behind everyone else and then come the end of the year when teams have nothing to play for Keady win their remaining matches and be safe, i know this happens to facilitate their hurling team but a one off yes but not every year, it's unfair on the rest of the teams. the Co Bored are going to have to get a bit stricter with some of these teams and start taking the Pt's of the teams who constantly call matches off and deduct Pt's from teams who don't field as well as fine them
Be nice to the people you meet on the way up, because you may meet them on the way back down.

Goats Do Shave

What was the problems with the playoff system a few years back - seemed to keep matches interesting all year.

IVEDECIDED

any fixtures for this weekend??

Joxer

Quote from: IVEDECIDED on October 19, 2010, 12:24:25 PM
any fixtures for this weekend??

Taken from OC:

Saturday 23 October
ACL – Div. II (3.30)
Keady v St Michael's (Frank McDonald)
Div. II (Promotion Play-Off) (3.30)
Granemore v Armagh Harps (Stephen Murray) at Ballymacnab
(Extra time, if required)
ACBFL – Southern Section Final (4.00)
Dromintee v Whitecross (Ronan Quigley) at Silverbridge

crossfire

Neither did.
John Murtagh usually got himself sent off in the county final probably as a result of the indiscipline he acquired as a young fellow with yous :D

thewanderer

Quote from: Goats Do Shave on October 19, 2010, 11:50:24 AM
What was the problems with the playoff system a few years back - seemed to keep matches interesting all year.
thats what i said goats but it suits some clubs to gain points against teams without their county players and they wont vote for it. the playoff would leave all clubs having to fulfill their fixtures in order to avoid play-offs for relegation and to get into play-offs for promotions or div1 league champs. happens in some counties successfully. some clubs delegates cant see the wood from the trees.

1life 1club

Quote from: crossfire on October 19, 2010, 12:33:39 PM

Neither did.
John Murtagh usually got himself sent off in the county final probably as a result of the indiscipline he acquired as a young fellow with yous :D
murtagh got it in an ulster final against mayobridge a few years back when he single handedly won the game for the rangers,probably as a result of the coaching he acquired as a young fellow from stpats.
full forward son

crossfire

Quote from: IVEDECIDED on October 18, 2010, 11:56:54 PM

;D ;D ;D

Dont know what your grinning about.
Your club has had a few "blow ins"over the years as well.