Armagh Club football & hurling

Started by holylandsniper, November 09, 2006, 10:44:31 PM

Sam of the Sarsfields

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 09, 2010, 11:08:27 AM
Quote from: Sam of the Sarsfields on September 09, 2010, 11:00:13 AM
I see on armaghgaa.net there that the Championship Final is fixed for Crossmaglen.

This is nothing short of scandalous. Granted they're not in the final yet but it is highly likely that they will be and the County board are giving them an advantage yet again.

They train on that ground, they play there week in week out and they'll have all their home support in their own back yard if they reach the final. This is surely worth 3 points at least to any team. How can this be allowed to happen? There are many other grounds capable of holding the game, shouldn't it be a neutral ground, decided on as and when the finalists are known?

I doubt there is any other county in Ireland where this sort of thing goes on.

Because we told the county board they had to play the Final in Cross and that was that ::)

Don't be so childish, no one is saying that. I just believe in creating a level playing field for all participants and no team should be given home advantage for a championship final.

Quote from: Sam of the Sarsfields on September 09, 2010, 11:16:09 AM
I see on armaghgaa.net there that the Championship Final is fixed for Crossmaglen.

This is nothing short of scandalous. Granted they're not in the final yet but it is highly likely that they will be and the County board are giving them an advantage yet again.

They train on that ground, they play there week in week out and they'll have all their home support in their own back yard if they reach the final. This is surely worth 3 points at least to any team. How can this be allowed to happen? There are many other grounds capable of holding the game, shouldn't it be a neutral ground, decided on as and when the finalists are known?

Because we told the county board they had to play the Final in Cross and that was that ::)

Don't be so childish, no one is saying that. I just believe in creating a level playing field for all participants and no team should be given home advantage for a championship final.

The same shit happens every year that the Final is played in Cross.  There are regulations in relation to playing county finals and they have to be played at designated County grounds simple as that.  We never bitched when we had to play the Ogs in the Athletic Grounds.  The County Board have not been able to get teh Athletic Grounds finished therefore it has to be played in Cross.  Whether or not a field is capable of holding the game is completely different from the rules that surround the fixture.  if you or anyone else has a problem with this go to the Armagh convention, raise it as an issue, have the county delegates vote on it, if it is passed then it can go before HQ and let them make the decision as it is from the top that the directive has come.  If you don't want to do that shut your whinging mouth and get over it.

What date(s) are the semis & final down for?

Sam of the Sarsfields

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 09, 2010, 11:24:49 AM

The same shit happens every year that the Final is played in Cross.  There are regulations in relation to playing county finals and they have to be played at designated County grounds simple as that.  We never bitched when we had to play the Ogs in the Athletic Grounds.  The County Board have not been able to get teh Athletic Grounds finished therefore it has to be played in Cross.  Whether or not a field is capable of holding the game is completely different from the rules that surround the fixture.  if you or anyone else has a problem with this go to the Armagh convention, raise it as an issue, have the county delegates vote on it, if it is passed then it can go before HQ and let them make the decision as it is from the top that the directive has come.  If you don't want to do that shut your whinging mouth and get over it.

Typical bullying Cross attitude.

So the if the Granemore lads get past Dromintee they'll have put out two of the bigger Div 1 teams and they'll then be expected to go Crossmaglen and try and beat them in their backyard with all the trappings and advantages that brings for Cross.

A venue that may involve a participating team should be the first to be ruled out. If there are directives in place meaning it has to be played at a county ground then in these extraordinary circumstances - and they are extraordinary circumstances, only people in our county won't recognise so - then it should be brought to the Marshes.

Quote from: Sam of the Sarsfields on September 09, 2010, 11:41:40 AM

So the if the Granemore lads get past Dromintee they'll have put out two of the bigger Div 1 teams and they'll then be expected to go Crossmaglen and try and beat them in their backyard with all the trappings and advantages that brings for Cross.

A venue that may involve a participating team should be the first to be ruled out. If there are directives in place meaning it has to be played at a county ground then in these extraordinary circumstances - and they are extraordinary circumstances, only people in our county won't recognise so - then it should be brought to the Marshes.
#

I would have no problem with that whatsoever.  Get your club delegate to propse it at the next AGM.

lolafrola

There are designated county grounds in Armagh and 2 out of the 3 are under construction so that just leaves Crossmaglen, with new H&S laws and other red tape it rules out any other venue other than Crossmaglen. So thats where the match is and as BC! said "build a bridge and get over it". The teams in the semi finals will (at this stage) only be too glad to be playing a championship final in Crossmaglen.

Next year it will be back to the Athletic grounds so thats that
Be nice to the people you meet on the way up, because you may meet them on the way back down.

AFS

According to yer man Centre Half:

Armagh Senior Football Championship – Semi-finals & Final Details

Saturday 25 September
Armagh Senior Football Championship – Semi-final (5.00)

Dromintee v Granemore at Crossmaglen

Sunday 26 September
Armagh Senior Football Championship – Semi-final (5.00)

Crossmaglen v Maghery/St Patrick's at Cullyhanna or Silverbridge

Sunday 17 October
Armagh Senior Football Championship – Final
Dromintee/Granemore v Crossmaglen/Maghery/St Patrick's at Crossmaglen

Sam of the Sarsfields

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 09, 2010, 12:03:51 PM

#

I would have no problem with that whatsoever.  Get your club delegate to propse it at the next AGM.

I will do! But theres surely nothing now restricting them from holding it in the Marshes so long as the Down county board agreed to it?

I don't think it's necessarily a 'give every advantage to Cross' type of thing either by the way, just our county board officials are so arrogant and would never go to Down admitting they have no suitable ground to hold our county final in.

Sam of the Sarsfields

Quote from: lolafrola on September 09, 2010, 12:05:01 PM
There are designated county grounds in Armagh and 2 out of the 3 are under construction so that just leaves Crossmaglen, with new H&S laws and other red tape it rules out any other venue other than Crossmaglen. So thats where the match is and as BC! said "build a bridge and get over it". The teams in the semi finals will (at this stage) only be too glad to be playing a championship final in Crossmaglen.

Next year it will be back to the Athletic grounds so thats that

So semi-finals are exempt from these laws and rules then?  ::)

1life 1club

cross have to get to the final first sammy son,then they,l be in their backyard,,anyway teams relish goin into the lions den and we for 1 never feared goin to cross and had some mighty battles through the years with them,home and away.. ;D id gladly play in a county final wherever the venue
full forward son

Aghdavoyle

Playing the county final in cross if they are involved is another in a catelogue of disgraceful incidents of pandering to crossmaglen in the last ten years.

If the county board's answer is that its the only county ground available, then it is tantamount to putting their hands up and admitting they are incompetant fools. Everyone knew a year ago the athletic grounds and davitt would be closed. it is very simple to pass any number of other grounds in the county as a county venue - carrickcruppen for one. further, its is quite simple to get a ground passed under short notice as armagh have done a few times in the past with crossmaglen and carrickcruppen.

County final venue being a county ground is not in fact decreed from the official guide. It is adopted, or not, within county byelaws. each county makes it's own byelaws.

taking that all into consideration, the county executive have options in front of them.
1 - fix the final for cross
2 - have carrickcruppen passed (again) as a county ground
3 - fix the final for some other county ground - the marshes, dowdal's hill, blayney, etc.

3 would obviously be an embarrassment for them but they should have had a bit of foresightedness.

By the way, arguing that Cross playing the ogs in the athletic grounds last year is the same thing are wide of the mark. the athletic grounds are the county grounds and no club plays there. i doubt more than a handful of ogs players would have played a senior game in the athletic grounds when it was a home venue for them.

Quote from: Aghdavoyle on September 09, 2010, 01:00:42 PM
Playing the county final in cross if they are involved is another in a catelogue of disgraceful incidents of pandering to crossmaglen in the last ten years.

If the county board's answer is that its the only county ground available, then it is tantamount to putting their hands up and admitting they are incompetant fools. Everyone knew a year ago the athletic grounds and davitt would be closed. it is very simple to pass any number of other grounds in the county as a county venue - carrickcruppen for one. further, its is quite simple to get a ground passed under short notice as armagh have done a few times in the past with crossmaglen and carrickcruppen.

County final venue being a county ground is not in fact decreed from the official guide. It is adopted, or not, within county byelaws. each county makes it's own byelaws.

taking that all into consideration, the county executive have options in front of them.
1 - fix the final for cross
2 - have carrickcruppen passed (again) as a county ground
3 - fix the final for some other county ground - the marshes, dowdal's hill, blayney, etc.

3 would obviously be an embarrassment for them but they should have had a bit of foresightedness.

By the way, arguing that Cross playing the ogs in the athletic grounds last year is the same thing are wide of the mark. the athletic grounds are the county grounds and no club plays there. i doubt more than a handful of ogs players would have played a senior game in the athletic grounds when it was a home venue for them.

Aghdavoyle, you contradict yourself badly in your post.  Firstly you state that the CB is panderingf to Cross is a disgraceful way then you back it up by stating that the CB are incompetent by not having a viable alternative.  By your logic Cross have put a gun to the head of the CB and told them not to finish off Davitt or the Athletic Grounds so that the County Finals could be placed in Cross.  You all have to get over the conspiracy notion that Cross have control of the CB.  I have said it before and will say it again, we won the county in Cross, Armagh and the Bridge, it didn't matter.  If we are lucky enough to make it this year then I personally would rather it somewhere else than Cross, but it won't be and that is the CB fault and not Cross's so take the issue up with them about their incompetence rather than making the argument that they are doing it to me it easier for Cross.

Aghdavoyle

We are agreed on the county board's shortsightedness and incompetence.

However, the pandering to cross comes from the decision to not prepare a viable alternative county final venue. The "ah sure we'll hold it in cross" attitude is more than lazy administration, its an insult to every other competing club and no doubt as much a sop to cross as was the agreement to keep hosting national league games there when the athletic grounds is available. those behind close door deals are the type of shite that sickens everyone in the county about the administrators we're lumbered with.

Sam of the Sarsfields

Quote from: 1life 1club on September 09, 2010, 12:56:17 PM

cross have to get to the final first sammy son,then they,l be in their backyard,,anyway teams relish goin into the lions den and we for 1 never feared goin to cross and had some mighty battles through the years with them,home and away.. ;D id gladly play in a county final wherever the venue

And during these occasions when you mighty and fearless warriors went into the 'lion's den' who came up top on the all important scoreboard?

1life 1club

Quote from: Sam of the Sarsfields on September 09, 2010, 02:07:38 PM
Quote from: 1life 1club on September 09, 2010, 12:56:17 PM

And during these occasions when you mighty and fearless warriors went into the 'lion's den' who came up top on the all important scoreboard?
weve had a share of the spoils usually until senior level.lol. ;D yes playing then final would be an advantage to cross at home but if st pats were to get there and thats an if we would get on with it,county finals are county finals no matter the venue..  you know any1 looking to back sarsfields in the ifc final..il take a bet as i fancy culloville to clinch it this year???
full forward son