Armagh Club football & hurling

Started by holylandsniper, November 09, 2006, 10:44:31 PM

Real1995

nah fullback nothin to do wit that, no one is talkin here about big clubs......

The incident arose from our abondone game with cullovile.....

One of our players received a broken leg in the game, putting him out of work for 6 months.  When the incident happend mr quigley tried to get him and our physio off the pitch and get the game back on.  The player was in obvious agony, but no pity from Mr Quigley, however when an ambulance was called for and mr quigley finally saw the seriousness of the situation he gave Mullaghbawn penalty and sent off the cullovile goalkepper... however the ambulance took 40 mins to come and the player could not be moved so game was called off....

What i am annoyed about was in his match report he accused our manager of head butting him and shoulder charging him...this consequently left him with a two year ban from the county board. 

The culloville goalkeeper as far as i know received a 4month ban.  From a mullaghbawn point of view we feel that this was harse on the keeper.  He and his chairman both travelled to the Royal to see Rory mcdonnell during his week in hospital.

But the thing is lads......The match was being videoed and the incident shows very very clearly that Mr quigley was telling porkies (SURPRISE SURPRISE)....no head butt or shoulder charge was shown...it was lies from Quigley...and finally this so called excuse of a referee has been shown up for what he really is....and lets be honest it has been coming to him, would we all not agree??? ;D

Nice guys always finish second!

gaapunter

Quote from: Real1995 on August 05, 2008, 03:37:44 PM

One of our players received a broken leg in the game, putting him out of work for 6 months.  When the incident happend mr quigley tried to get him and our physio off the pitch and get the game back on.  The player was in obvious agony, but no pity from Mr Quigley, however when an ambulance was called for and mr quigley finally saw the seriousness of the situation he gave Mullaghbawn penalty and sent off the cullovile goalkepper... however the ambulance took 40 mins to come and the player could not be moved so game was called off....

What i am annoyed about was in his match report he accused our manager of head butting him and shoulder charging him...this consequently left him with a two year ban from the county board. 

The culloville goalkeeper as far as i know received a 4month ban.  From a mullaghbawn point of view we feel that this was harse on the keeper.  He and his chairman both travelled to the Royal to see Rory mcdonnell during his week in hospital.

But the thing is lads......The match was being videoed and the incident shows very very clearly that Mr quigley was telling porkies (SURPRISE SURPRISE)....no head butt or shoulder charge was shown...it was lies from Quigley...and finally this so called excuse of a referee has been shown up for what he really is....and lets be honest it has been coming to him, would we all not agree??? ;D

real I and most of the county agrees with you- He needs to be put out of football before he gets somebody killed.

i trust Mullaghbawn will have a well prepared appeal coming in due course?

pats-mc

Doesnt surprise me at all and just shows some of the idiots that are refereeing at the top level in Armagh. We had  a similar situation at our game vs Pearse Ogs where our so called county referee(self-appointed authority on justice for all clubs and players that he doesnt like) refused our manager the chance to attend to our player Paul Toner who was very seriously injured at the time. Our physio who approached him at half time about the incident the venerable MR Hughes proceeded to lecture him with his finger pointing in his face. Our man said something along the lines of F-off back to him he abandoned the match and requested an escort back to his car even though nobody went next or near him. Result two points lost, fine for the club and physio suspended for 12 months. Well done Paidi the suspension is as long as our player could possibly be out of football. I notice that he didnt abandon the tyrone game when Brian Mc Guigan approached him at half time in the westmeath game.

stpauls

Quote from: Real1995 on August 05, 2008, 03:37:44 PM

some thing needs to be done about the standard of refereeing overall in the country! in our game last friday, our full back got a box in the mouth, and went down in a heap. the ref neither went over to the umpires to find out what happened or if they had seen anything, or to our player to see if he was alright. he just stood on the 45 not wanting anything to do with it. i would have assumed it was his responsibility to do bothof these things. i also found out after the game that he didn't even want it to go ahead. it was due to start at 7.00, but he sat in his car watching us warm up, to see if we would leave the pitch due to the weather, and when he realised it was going to stop raining, and we weren't going anywhere, he finally managed to make it on to the pitch, at 7.30. he admitted his little secret to our players during the coin toss!! Twat!

Real1995

Oh yes we wil bring him to the book and about time too...i have heard too many stories about him......the man is in love with himself!!!

bubbles

lads i understand the frustration at some of the referees in armagh but what happens to our club football when noone volunteers to become a referee anymore due to the criticisim. There are no perfect referees out there. they all have their favourite teams and teams they do not like as they are only human. games are won and lost as a result of poor refereeing decisions but there is nothing we can do about it.

I didnt know that mark quinn was in oz and so my prediction of the harps goin down is not so clear cut. mullabawn have 2 tough games. if they lose both and the harps beat maghery and are beaten by the ogs then i assume there will be a playoff? if this is the case i believe the harps will beat mullabawn as they will not be forced to play such an important match without all their county players.

There are bad refs in every county and you just put up with it when it comes along.

however, there are two vindictive little hitlers in armagh football - quigley and Hughes. quigley has been nothing short of a disgrace for years now.
unfortunately hearty and thon big tube from clonmore think they should be the centre of attention too.

Quote from: Uladh on August 05, 2008, 04:32:17 PM

There are bad refs in every county and you just put up with it when it comes along.

however, there are two vindictive little hitlers in armagh football - quigley and Hughes. quigley has been nothing short of a disgrace for years now.
unfortunately hearty and thon big tube from clonmore think they should be the centre of attention too.

Dont mind Ollie
What about that boy from Killeavey?

The simple solution is to make them referee in different county's where they will have no favouritism (plus they will good mileage from the gaa ;)), this was spoke about before and it needs to happen more so in championship games where players seasons are finished if some balloon does not like his club or that individual for some reason or another.

Where is pints to defend Mr Quigley and to state he's the best ref in Armagh (take a red neck son)

Yes I Would

Quote from: full back on August 05, 2008, 04:48:19 PM
Quote from: Uladh on August 05, 2008, 04:32:17 PM

Dont mind Ollie
What about that boy from Killeavey?

In fairness to him, he is new and tries his best. Of course he is gonna make mistakes but i dont think he can be accused of bias or vindictiveness, which Quigley and Hughes so blatantly get turned on by.

That report by Real does not surprise me one bit. Only regret is that it has taken an unfortunate incident of a player sustaining a serious injury for him to be so publicly found out. I honestly believe that his ego and quest for a bit of control comes before any respect or thought for player well being.
I would also add that 99% of the referees in the county do an admirable job and long may they continue.

winsamsoon

Part of the duty of a ref is to remain impartial. So unlike some of the posters here who can find it in their hearts to forgive refs for having bias, I can't. It doesn't matter what they think of any club or individual player they should treat all with the same stick. But here was me again thinking it was only the "clans lads that cried about the rerferee's" Oh the sweat music.

Real lad i think you are living in a fantasy world. You see that appeal and the video you took. It will be argued that the incident in question was missed by the camera man and our fella Quigley will not even be questioned about the incident. If Quigley is challenged over the incident then the rest of the referees will meet in their secret society and they will decide like the muskateers to go on strike. Once they have achieved the all for one and one for all status, the higher power  :D :D "the county board"  :D :D will shite themselves and bow down to their recommendations. meanwhile the players and the lad that was seriously hurt will once again come out of it with egg on their faces. It is a disgrace real but what needs to happen is for all the clubs to get together and forward a separate set of recommendations for referees. the county board should then examine this with the referees and a code of conduct for both players and referees should be implemented right across the board. Then there will be guidlines set down for both players and refs. At the minute the disciplinary procedures all seem to be coming in one direction and all is takes is a muppet like quigley to tell a lie resulting in a lad or in some circumstances a team being severly punished or in the case of the bawn Injured. The issue needs to be addressed and soon before something really serious happens.
I never forget a face but in your case I will make an exception.

Quoteour full back got a box in the mouth, and went down in a heap. the ref neither went over to the umpires to find out what happened or if they had seen anything, or to our player to see if he was alright.

In fairness, since both the umpires were probably from the clubs involved, there's not an awful lot of point in a referee asking their opinion, no doubt both will have an entirely different opinion, based solely on what would favour their own club.

Sounds like a disgrace what's happened to Mullaghban. If its true that the ref wsn't going to give a penalty until he saw how injured the player was, then that shows how incompetent he is.

Killeavy beat Dromintee by two the other day - probably should have been a lot more but our keeper once again pulled off some fantastic saves.

Mark Stanfield is a danger to players, but I suspect he wouldn't try some of that shit if certain players were playing on teams.

Trying the hard act with a Dromintee player who just laughed at him the other day and against Mullaghabwn a few weeks back he was at it with probably the quietest boy on the Mbawn team which I am sure Real will verify.

Real1995

Yeah corn is rite...stanfield has waltzed in2 armagh club football and has acted the tr**p on several occasions...in both games against us this year i saw him punch, nip and verablly abuse players...not a likeable child at all...