Armagh Club football & hurling

Started by holylandsniper, November 09, 2006, 10:44:31 PM

Yes I Would

Have to agree with Clans boys on this one. Seen this clown in action too many times!!
This guy is a complete upstart who cant let a game be played without having to be the centre of attention. He seems to get some twisted satisfaction from getting involved with players while refereeing.
Was this guy bullied badly as a child, and is now trying to exact revenge???

Quote from: Yes I Would on May 08, 2008, 04:44:41 PM
Have to agree with Clans boys on this one. Seen this clown in action too many times!!
This guy is a complete upstart who cant let a game be played without having to be the centre of attention. He seems to get some twisted satisfaction from getting involved with players while refereeing.
Was this guy bullied badly as a child, and is now trying to exact revenge???

you're not going to believe this :D :D :D This is a cracker...after he was sent from our changing rooms into the store where he was changing he asked me could he speak to the two young lads that he had sent off, so i sent them in thinking he was gonna say "look lads i sent you off and there is nothing i can do about that but i will go easy on you in my report" or "in the heat of the moment lads you were out of control but the next time blah blah blah" but no he started to lecture them about how he was beat up when he was 19 and the blood was pouring from him lying on the street, WTF is this man on ???

Either it was a Clans man that beat him up or he just has a chip on his shoulder and is out to get revenge on the world. The best about it was he told this story to the 2 young lads and our chairman who went in with them and at the end of his story about him getting a hidding he said "I'm still putting my report in and I'll make sure you get 6 months".

Them lads are better men than me for I'd have busted the c**t there and then. Is this the same guy who is not allowed to do any Cross games??I know Crossmaglen told the county board that if a certain ref turned up to do their game that they will refuse to play, I'm not 100% sure who the ref is but I'd put money on it that its that clown

altovito

he is a shit ref.1 of the wrst in the country
wonder who beat hm up when he was 19? cud have been any1 in the county, cos he has a problem wit everyone.if ther were no shrtage of refs he wud be tld 2 sling his hook.
like p hughes, only with a bit of speed in him

qub la la la

Quote from: illdecide on May 08, 2008, 05:06:18 PM
Is this the same guy who is not allowed to do any Cross games??I know Crossmaglen told the county board that if a certain ref turned up to do their game that they will refuse to play, I'm not 100% sure who the ref is but I'd put money on it that its that clown

i said before on the board that a few weeks ago a cross underage team left the field when he turned up to referee the game. not 100% as to the details though.

qub la la la

Quote from: doire na raithe on May 08, 2008, 08:50:43 AM
Are tir na nog any good? Any chance theyll give those smug cruppen louts a hammering?

sorry dnr but dont see how cruppen have been smug. we are a division 2 club that havent had the start to the year we had hoped with a good group of young lads coming through and hopefully we'll get back to playing division 1 football in the near future. where's this smugness coming from??

diesel-smuggler

anyone from dromintee have some cheek in calling any other teams smug! they got to a few county finals recently and all of a sudden they are the best things since sliced bread!

Yes I Would

Hughes is a different character completely who applies the rules literally to the letter of the law, which is fair enough. Not alot of common sense with him but he is consistent, in my experience with him be it good or bad for both teams!
That other guy gives me the shits, and there is definetly a badness in him which is so obvious and consistent that it beggars belief!!
Guess its  a control thing with him, but my god do players suffer who are bursting their balls in training, to play to win, for this guys actions to so blatantly influence games and results.
Rant over!!

Armagh Exile

Kirwan slams abuse of referees
08 May 2008
Last year's All-Ireland hurling final referee Diarmuid Kirwan has blasted players and officials for their "over the top" criticism and abuse of referees.

The Cork whistler, whose father Gerry, from Ballyskenagh in Offaly, took charge of the 1988 All-Ireland decider between Galway and Tipperary, believes certain players show a lack of respect for the authority of the referee.

"Even at inter-county level you have certain players who have this disrespect for referees," he said.

"You wonder sometimes that if these fellas led by example, it would be a lot easier for the referees."

Kirwan himself has felt the full force of over-zealous players and officials as a referee, having received physical abuse.

"On one occasion, I was physically abused leaving the field after a championship game," he added.

"It was a minor assault - unfortunately the problems now with what is happening in the GAA, you might have a lot of local derby championship matches."

www.hoganstand.com

Yes I Would

I agree entirely, and i think rugby is a fine example where refs are treated with utmost respect! If we could get anywhere near close to this level will be a fine day for the gaa.
However, this respect needs to be 2 way, and a referee (and majority do) need to have respect for what the players are doing, in terms of training, preperation etc.
Honest mistakes will always be made by players and refs and this is the nature of any team sport!Players need to accept this, as do referees.
My problem is when a referee sees his position as something more central to what he is there to do, and shouldnt be there to pass snide remarks to players during the course of a game, or deliberately attempt to influence a games result, or upon whos word can affect a young players season.
Its a common sense thing and in my experience the best ref are the ones who call it as they see it and arent blowing a whistle and brandishing a yellow card every time they hear a swear word uttered on the field. Its a fast physical game and when players deliberately cross the line they should be punished.

i'lldecide
QuotePints i swear to God that man is a complete tube. Again in the space of 2 weeks he gives us nothing, 1 of our players asked after the game had he something against the clans and he gave him a red card then another guy said something to him and he red carded him as well. Things got pretty heated at the end when he thought he would come into our changing rooms to lecture us on discapline after red carding 2 players and having been beaten in the championship, what was he thinking. Needless to say he was escorted out.
So did your player go up to him and say "excuse me Mr Quigley, I was just wondering, would you have anything against the Clans?" - and he give him a red card?  That would be harsh. 
What did the second player say?

Both you and and winsam have talked about him going into the changing room to lecture but it doesn't sound like he'd a chance to open his mouth so I'm not sure how you know what he was going to do or say.

Quoteyou're not going to believe this  This is a cracker...after he was sent from our changing rooms into the store where he was changing he asked me could he speak to the two young lads that he had sent off, so i sent them in thinking he was gonna say "look lads i sent you off and there is nothing i can do about that but i will go easy on you in my report" or "in the heat of the moment lads you were out of control but the next time blah blah blah" but no he started to lecture them about how he was beat up when he was 19 and the blood was pouring from him lying on the street, WTF is this man on
That's strange again illdecide and I've a feeling you're not telling the whole truth.  Did he just bring up this story out of no where or did he use a personal experience to try and connect with the lads?  It doesn't sound like someone who was going to "crawl back to silverbridge with a smile on his face knowing it was a job well done".  Trying to speak to lads twice or three times? seems strange for a man that's apparently happy to get one over the Clans. 

Yous are complaining here about him dishing out red cards when he was verbally abused, yous were complaining last year about him sending off players who were fighting, very few are harder on referees than me but if you verbally abuse and fight you have to expect the consquences.  Clans wouldnt have a spectacular discipline record anyway, how man sending offs had you in the last year?

Quote from: crossfire on May 08, 2008, 03:23:26 PM
Have the usual Cullyhanna posters no comment to make about the alleged thuggery by their fellow club members at the wekend ?

I think it took them about 10 months to break their silence over the last issue, give them time.

i won't have a word said about Paudie Hughes, if anyone does Wicked Gene will get ye! >:(  Paudie, as has been posted, is a consistent, literal referee and if players respected the like of him more things would be better.  In many ways he reminds me of Jimmy McKee, expect he is not an annoying little B*llix who always booked me ;)

Now Roisin Quigley is another story altogether.  It is a good things for failed footballers to make a go at refereeing, but try to learn the rules first and leave your issues in the gear bag please.  I know myself and refs never really, except maybe Big Sam, Rory Robinson and Brendan Gorman, the odd time, but I tried to respect them and never got sent off for abusing them.  I seriously think that the GAA should have a regular sit down between refs and club managers to ensure everyone knows what way things should be played and maybe then there could be mutual respect built up.

Roisin Quigley?

Is that what you've been reduced to BC?  We've illdecide acting like a silly teenager on another thread and now you're going to start acting like one on this one.

I think Quigley is one of the better referees in armagh.

Pints when I wa spalying I frankly didn't think much of him.  As a player he was poor as  ref he is inadequate.  My opinion.

come on now though, stop being such a frigging dramatist about acting like a teenager.  You really need to lighten up a bit, the whole Victor Meldrew is a bit played out at this stage.