Armagh Club football & hurling

Started by holylandsniper, November 09, 2006, 10:44:31 PM

winsamsoon

lads had the pleasure of the great R Quigey as ref on sunday in Cruppen and h managed to surpass even his own low standards. This man is nothing short of a clown. We had a man sent off in the first half. Now the lad was blown up for over carrying and he called the ref a dick(which he shouldn'thave done) he was then given a yellow card and asked by quigley to repeat what he said so our lad repated it and quigley said at least you are man enough to repeat it and gave him a staright red our lad ill now miss the senior championship because of this. Quigley then said that he had heard we (clans) had misbehaved against cullyhanna a few weeks back and that he would fix that. He aso pointed out our number 7 and said he gave me abuse at an u-21 game. Now several of the cruppen lads witnessed this also. How can this man getaway with this. We went cruppen clubhouse after the game ad the cruppen faithful couldn't believe what Quigley had done and they were asking us what we had done on him. I was later informed that Eire Og have a complaint in about this guy also and i can tell yu there will be another forwarded. What is the story with Quiigley and Cross??????????
I never forget a face but in your case I will make an exception.

Get away with what winsam? redcarding a player that give him abuse, twice?

Quote from: fitzroyalty on August 31, 2009, 07:27:34 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 30, 2009, 06:44:09 PM
Quote from: torres on August 30, 2009, 06:39:10 PM
tir na og failed to show up for their game v granemore , ref was on the pitch .
thats no game for granemore since they played dromintee in the championship , since that game granemore have lost their corner back [ discolated shoulder ] and full back [ broken leg ]
not looking good for us with the game v st pats next week  :( .

That's a poor show from Tir na nÓg though our match with Cross didn't go ahead either. Don't like this habit of not playing matches towards the end of the season.
How come, was it not this time last year cross were whinging cos no one would play them

Not really sure if it was our fault, their fault or just mutual agreement. Possibly it may have had something to do with the Cross II's championship match the night before. Wonder if our game with Clans will be played as well. Possibly not. Think Cross played 17 of their 18 games though.

Quote from: winsamsoon on August 31, 2009, 07:34:00 PM
lads had the pleasure of the great R Quigey as ref on sunday in Cruppen and h managed to surpass even his own low standards. This man is nothing short of a clown. We had a man sent off in the first half. Now the lad was blown up for over carrying and he called the ref a dick(which he shouldn'thave done) he was then given a yellow card and asked by quigley to repeat what he said so our lad repated it and quigley said at least you are man enough to repeat it and gave him a staright red our lad ill now miss the senior championship because of this. Quigley then said that he had heard we (clans) had misbehaved against cullyhanna a few weeks back and that he would fix that. He aso pointed out our number 7 and said he gave me abuse at an u-21 game. Now several of the cruppen lads witnessed this also. How can this man getaway with this. We went cruppen clubhouse after the game ad the cruppen faithful couldn't believe what Quigley had done and they were asking us what we had done on him. I was later informed that Eire Og have a complaint in about this guy also and i can tell yu there will be another forwarded. What is the story with Quiigley and Cross??????????

Think Cross refuse to play underage matches referreed by him. At least I think that was the case last year. Not sure exactly what the row was over.

winsamsoon

maybe didn't make it clear pints he asked the player the second time to repeat what he said as the two of them were conversing. So the second time was not aimed at the ref he was simply answering the refs question. You should also try and comment on all of the incidents cited rather that selecting snippets . The how does he get away this was on al incidents. 

Quote from: winsamsoon on August 31, 2009, 07:52:11 PM
maybe didn't make it clear pints he asked the player the second time to repeat what he said as the two of them were conversing. So the second time was not aimed at the ref he was simply answering the refs question. You should also try and comment on all of the incidents cited rather that selecting snippets . The how does he get away this was on al incidents.
I dont see what other incidents there are, he said yous caused trouble against cullyhanna and pointed out a player who give him abuse before? So what?
And why or how did he ask the player to repeat himself? Tell me the whole conversation between the two of them.
Looks to me like your player give him abuse when he blew him up, red card would be harsh in my eyes, but then no ref should be expected to take abuse. 

The man isn't fit to referee IMO. Regardless of the obvious chip on his shoulder he has with Clans, he is inconsistant, slow to react and seemingly unable to count.

qub la la la

Quigley was ridiculous. at half time cruppen were winning 5 4. but quigley said clans were winning. even one of the clans selectors said to quigley cruppen are winning, to which quigley replied "Im the ref, Clans are winning". What a clown. The clans man was targeted by quigley and he blew him up for over-carrying just to get a reaction, which he got. There is no way in heaven or earth that he had over-carried as he was only after soloing the ball. Quigley is an absolute farce. He shouldnt be allowed to referee anything.

This was also the second time this year that a referee has got the score wrong in Carrickcruppen, its crazy the stuff they get away with. Who monitors these men and allows them to destroy our games?

winsamsoon

So you think it is acceptable for a ref to bring things up during a totally different game pints. Surely then this only highlights the fact that he has came into the game with a hatred for my club. He more or less said it.

On the incident the lad was blown up for over carrying , after which he called the ref a dick. The ref then called him and booked him no further words were exchanged until the ref asked him to repeat what he had said so our lad repeated it. Quigley then produced a straight red for apparently the same offence that had only warranted a yellow moments earlier.

I also forgot about the score issue but i would have said if the game would have been close he would have then said that Cruppen won by 1. So we counted it as 5-4 to cruppen anyway.

Quote from: winsamsoon on August 31, 2009, 09:04:10 PM
So you think it is acceptable for a ref to bring things up during a totally different game pints. Surely then this only highlights the fact that he has came into the game with a hatred for my club. He more or less said it.

On the incident the lad was blown up for over carrying , after which he called the ref a dick. The ref then called him and booked him no further words were exchanged until the ref asked him to repeat what he had said so our lad repeated it. Quigley then produced a straight red for apparently the same offence that had only warranted a yellow moments earlier.

I also forgot about the score issue but i would have said if the game would have been close he would have then said that Cruppen won by 1. So we counted it as 5-4 to cruppen anyway.
I find that hard to believe to tbh, he went from calling the ref a dick to being as quiet as a mouse? 

As for the ref bringing things up from other games, I dont think he should but then I don't really see the big deal.  You say he hates your club but he had yous ahead at half time when you say you werent? Yes, real hatred there.

Rufus T Firefly

Wasn't at the game, so I can't comment on the specific incidents referred to.

What I will say is that I hate to see fellow Armagh Gaels come in for personal abuse on this public forum. It is well out of order.

As for others encouraging the ref to jack it in, or stating that he is not fit for the job, a word to the wise - we are not exactly coming down with referees in the County! And with discussions like this, that is not likely to change anyway soon! 

Off The Fence

Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on August 31, 2009, 09:26:08 PM

What I will say is that I hate to see fellow Armagh Gaels come in for personal abuse on this public forum. It is well out of order.

As for others encouraging the ref to jack it in, or stating that he is not fit for the job, a word to the wise - we are not exactly coming down with referees in the County! And with discussions like this, that is not likely to change anyway soon! 

So nobody is allowed to comment on an absolute p***k who thinks he is god gift.  The list on Quigley is as long as your and I'd nearly rather see a game not played than refereed by this idiot.

IVEDECIDED

Yes Rufus but thats the point referees know this and they use it to thier advantage, they think they are untouchable. ive stated before that referees inArmagh have too much status and power they are not held accountable for their actions which is why they can do whatever they like. the 2 teams should decide the outcome of a match not some t**t in the middle with a hot poker up his ass because he has 60 mins of authority every week.

IVEDECIDED

I also agree with this criticism of Quigly specifically - he is an absolute menace to this sport. A complete idiot!!

Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 31, 2009, 09:16:47 PM
As for the ref bringing things up from other games, I dont think he should but then I don't really see the big deal.  You say he hates your club but he had yous ahead at half time when you say you werent? Yes, real hatred there.
Sheer incompetence on his behalf maybe? FFS he had the scoreboard turned off at half time because it displayed the correct score, insulting everyone else's intellegence in the process  ???

Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on August 31, 2009, 09:26:08 PM

Everyone knows without refs we'd have no games. You'd really need to have been at the game on Sunday to appreciate how big a tube Quigley is. At the very least he should not officiate any Clan na Gael games in future.

How did he get the scoreboard turned off at half time??