Official Gooners Thread - A New Hope

Started by Dinny Breen, November 10, 2006, 09:10:06 AM

Still awaiting the first attempt on target in this game? (in open play)

Quote from: ross4life on December 08, 2010, 08:19:58 PM

Have you not counted all the throw-ins?

Paper-lite Van Persie. What's the betting he pulls something.

Why are you waiting?

Quote from: lurganblue on December 08, 2010, 08:18:21 PM
I always thought it was an arsenal policy that if you were fouled for a penalty you didn't take it? Or was that an Henry thing?

They abandoned that a while ago.

every time rvp goes down you think that the stretcher coming on

Van Persie very rusty tonight.

Presuming he gets back on top form and fitness where does he fit into the Arsenal team or who loses out?
Does Wenger know his best first 11 this season?

Quote from: ONeill on December 08, 2010, 08:23:07 PM
Paper-lite Van Persie. What's the betting he pulls something.

Why are you waiting?

With players like Chamakh,Van Persie,Nasri,Arshavin i shouldn't be waiting at all.. you would expect better v a team with 0 pts?

When is fibreglass back? he sure looks cold tonight.

Quote from: ross4life on December 08, 2010, 08:36:57 PM

With players like Chamakh,Van Persie,Nasri,Arshavin i shouldn't be waiting at all.. you would expect better v a team with 0 pts?

No. It's cold.

Quote from: ExiledGael on December 08, 2010, 08:31:29 PM
Presuming he gets back on top form and fitness where does he fit into the Arsenal team or who loses out?

That is what has kept me awake for a couple of months now. I'm not sure at all where to play him. Chamakh is a tougher nut and can ship punishment. RVP is miles more talented but plays about 3 games in succession before breaking down with a new ailment.

After scoring the penalty, RVP slid along on his knees on the turf.
I'm a big fan of his, but that was a crazy thing to do for an injury-prone player.

Quote from: Aaron Boone on December 08, 2010, 08:50:28 PM
I'm a big fan of his, but that was a crazy thing to do for an injury-prone player.

Exactly. I think he hurt himself before doing that. He also was out for ages in the act of scoring against Utd one year.

A goal for Donetsk still desirable.

Quote from: Aaron Boone on December 08, 2010, 08:50:28 PM

Me neither.

I wear shin guards at home in case I bump them off a coffee table or something. Can't be too careful.

Quote from: ONeill on December 08, 2010, 08:40:50 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on December 08, 2010, 08:31:29 PM

That is what has kept me awake for a couple of months now. I'm not sure at all where to play him. Chamakh is a tougher nut and can ship punishment. RVP is miles more talented but plays about 3 games in succession before breaking down with a new ailment.

RVP's positioning is totally different to Chamakh's too. One or the other leading the line makes the entire shape up front completely different.
I far prefer Van Perise as a player but it may actually be the case that they are a better attacking unit without him. Van Perise drifts into positions that Fabregas, Walcott, Nasri, Rosicky, Arshavin and others all also do but Chamakh may be the only man to give them a proper point of attack. Suppose they could work as a partnership but someone's losing out somewhere.

Feck me. 1-1.

Arsenal very predictable. Get Walcott on as even he doesn't know what he's gonna do.