Rory McIlroy

Started by Oraisteach, February 26, 2012, 06:13:56 PM

Quote from: Puckoon on January 09, 2017, 03:52:30 PM
Only if his identity is linked to flags, emblems and so on. He appears to know exactly who he is, but his parameters of belonging aren't parameters that some can wrap their heads around.

I'd say McIllroy would be a supporter of the Mé Féin party.

Nico Rosberg identifies himself as German, though he's the son of a Finn who's lived practically all his life in Monaco. Go figure. So what's Shane Lowry's excuse for missing Rio if Zika is a red herring?

Only if his identity is linked to flags, emblems and so on. He appears to know exactly who he is, but his parameters of belonging aren't parameters that some can wrap their heads around.

Thought it was a good interview and McIlroy came across well.  Glad he's seen the light and stopped with this shite of coming out with catch phrases and lies to try to be everybody's friend.  He doesn't give a flyin fcuk about orange or green and fair play to him for it.  I hope he continues with this straight talking now.  Also, as LL pointed out, ya gotta laugh at the fools who bought the zika bullshit.

Quote from: armaghniac on January 09, 2017, 04:02:08 PM

Aren't we all when it comes down to it?

JPGJOHNNYG

Sorry but the more he goes on about this the more unlikeable he becomes. Here is an idea why doesnt he just keep his trap shut instead of changing his opinion every 2 seconds. By the way dont believe the sh1t, he pulled out like the other top pros because he thought it would be a waste of time and only now half regrets it because Rose and Stenson actually made it quite an exciting event.
The solution for him was easy either announce right at the beginning not to play or play for Ireland because thats who he represented at youth level and that his hands are kind of tied or the decision is out of his hands blah blah end of story sure even the R&A tried to help him by stating that because of the world cup appearances he could only play for Ireland and what thanks did they get he spat his dummy out and criticized them for speaking out of turn then pulled out of the world cup and hasnt played for Ireland since. The only person who has made this whole situation difficult is Rory Mcilroy. For an obvious intelligent guy he has handled this farce like a clown. As noted earlier how can the Tricolour or Union flag not represent you but the Ulster banner he likes to wrap round himself of a one party sectarian govt with no other official recognition be ok, really!! Fair play to Graeme he managed to walk the tightrope with a bit more decorum and although he ultimately let us all down by pulling out too he still avoided the surrounding circus. Even Dazza in the past handled the Irish issue with a bit of comedy, at one of the Ryder cups he, McGinley and Harrington were all posing for photos when suddenly a Tricolour appeared, did he have a strop, did he feck he just said at least give me the orange bit. To sum up Rory is a muppet - when everyone else has long moved on from the whole pantomine Rory himself decides to bring it all up again in an interview. You couldnt make it up!

Quote from: Puckoon on January 09, 2017, 04:17:06 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 09, 2017, 04:02:08 PM

Aren't we all when it comes down to it?

Well we all give them a transfer, of course, but some people also have a bigger picture.

Would everyone prefer he's some boring Jordan Spieth type who just praises everything and everybody without actually saying anything??

Big deal he came out with the PC statement of Zika when in truth his reasons for pulling out were probably a mix of the identity issue/golf not being an olympic sport and zika as well. He's still relatively young and it must be great for all you lads knocking him who never made a mistake or said something they shouldn't have!

By the time he finishes his career he will be the most decorated and most successful sportsperson ever seen on this island. . . Any wonder he's slated by his own sure we all know we're a nation of begrudgers!!

Quote from: screenexile on January 09, 2017, 04:49:03 PM
Would everyone prefer he's some boring Jordan Spieth type who just praises everything and everybody without actually saying anything??

Big deal he came out with the PC statement of Zika when in truth his reasons for pulling out were probably a mix of the identity issue/golf not being an olympic sport and zika as well. He's still relatively young and it must be great for all you lads knocking him who never made a mistake or said something they shouldn't have!

By the time he finishes his career he will be the most decorated and most successful sportsperson ever seen on this island. . . Any wonder he's slated by his own sure we all know we're a nation of begrudgers!!

Ach, a load of aul bollix.  You're allowed to criticise someone without being a 'begrudger'.  Also, did you read the article?  He basically admitted himself that the zika thing was bullshit, so I don't know why you're still talking about it here.

Quote from: Franko on January 09, 2017, 04:53:44 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 09, 2017, 04:49:03 PM

Ach, a load of aul bollix.  You're allowed to criticise someone without being a 'begrudger'.  Also, did you read the article?  He basically admitted himself that the zika thing was bullshit, so I don't know why you're still talking about it here.

We get it, you don't like him...

Could pick holes on every sports person, unfortunately for Rory he lives in a divided shit hole were your personality and loyalties are more important than actual sporting ability and achievements!!

Its sad that a fair few seem to only have taken onboard the bit about the Olympics when there is so much more to that piece

snoopdog

Quote from: Franko on January 09, 2017, 04:13:44 PM

Thought it was a good interview and McIlroy came across well.  Glad he's seen the light and stopped with this shite of coming out with catch phrases and lies to try to be everybody's friend.  He doesn't give a flyin fcuk about orange or green and fair play to him for it.  I hope he continues with this straight talking now.  Also, as LL pointed out, ya gotta laugh at the fools who bought the zika bullshit.
Eh he wraps himself in a loyalist flag. Supports Ulster rugby and norn iron football. We know well where his loyalties lie. Just grow  a pair of balls and admit it.  People would respect him more. If there is golf in the commonwealth game he won't think twice about it.

Christ almighty, he supports Ulster rugby. String him up!

Quote from: snoopdog on January 09, 2017, 05:59:29 PM
Quote from: Franko on January 09, 2017, 04:13:44 PM

Eh he wraps himself in a loyalist flag. Supports Ulster rugby and norn iron football. We know well where his loyalties lie. Just grow  a pair of balls and admit it.  People would respect him more. If there is golf in the commonwealth game he won't think twice about it.

It's not about admitting anything.  I just couldn't give a single fcuk where his political loyalties lie.