Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

EOC1923

15-20 years of hard work by Lavey coaches to get there and all blown in days.
Of course the u19 is doomed to failure, how it even got changed fromU20 to 19 is a unclear. Apparently it happened at the Convention but people who were there didn't seem aware of it and no one has explained the reason for it.
Can only be an U19 for 1 single year presumably with the change to U18 in 2024. So whoever wins it will go down in history (if any of the games take place)

Quote from: EOC1923 on September 12, 2023, 01:13:03 PM
Of course the u19 is doomed to failure, how it even got changed fromU20 to 19 mystery. Apparently it happened at the Convention but people who were there didn't seem aware of it and no one has explained the reason for it.
Can only be an U19 for 1 single year presumably with the change to U18 in 2024. So whoever wins it will go down in history (if any of the games take place)

Its disappointing but clubs lose players for lots of reasons that are out of their control.

We have lost in recent years lads to soccer, plenty potential but hey ho, the club moves on

Didn't realise that it was under19 either, and next year the team that wins Minor will be same team again at under18!

But those that went to the convention it must have been voted for? Are clubs just sending ones that aren't really listening or did they not get the committee to give them more details on it?

What would have been better? stay at under 20 or move 21 early?

EOC1923

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 12, 2023, 01:26:20 PM
Quote from: EOC1923 on September 12, 2023, 01:13:03 PM
Of course the u19 is doomed to failure, how it even got changed fromU20 to 19 mystery. Apparently it happened at the Convention but people who were there didn't seem aware of it and no one has explained the reason for it.

Its disappointing but clubs lose players for lots of reasons that are out of their control.

We have lost in recent years lads to soccer, plenty potential but hey ho, the club moves on

Didn't realise that it was under19 either, and next year the team that wins Minor will be same team again at under18!

But those that went to the convention it must have been voted for? Are clubs just sending ones that aren't really listening or did they not get the committee to give them more details on it?

What would have been better? stay at under 20 or move 21 early?
The best thing would have been never to touch the age grades, too late for that. Next best thing would been change back to way it was, which I think we are doing in 2024. We couldn't even do that right we changed the 20/21 again for one random season in between the two above events happening.

country bumpkin

Quote from: NAG1 on September 12, 2023, 11:48:46 AM
Think I opened the Derry thread here  ::)

Not to worry, at least one individual on this thread is on lots of gaaboard outlets......

antrimman667

who is the four remaining in IFC and JFC and is there dates for these?

country bumpkin

Quote from: antrimman667 on September 12, 2023, 04:28:40 PM
JFC
(semi finals) 24th Sept

Cardinal O'Donnells v Eire Og

St Mary's Rasharkin v St Malachys

IFC
(semi finals) 23rd Sept

Patrick Sarsfields v Con Magees Glenravel

All Saints Ballymena v St Teresa's

Quote from: country bumpkin on September 12, 2023, 05:09:45 PM
Quote from: antrimman667 on September 12, 2023, 04:28:40 PM
JFC
(semi finals) 24th Sept

Cardinal O'Donnells v Eire Og

St Mary's Rasharkin v St Malachys

IFC
(semi finals) 23rd Sept

Patrick Sarsfields v Con Magees Glenravel

All Saints Ballymena v St Teresa's

IFC
(semi finals) 23rd Sept

Patrick Sarsfields v Con Magees Glenravel @ Cargin 4PM

All Saints Ballymena v St Teresa's @ St Endas 4PM

Junior teams have home advantage

antrimman667

Why are they on the same time?
for iFC

paddyjohn

Can we leave the Lavey nonsense to the wee wans over the river.

South West Treble again looming in the football?

Would ye whist

On that point do we have dates for the JFC/IFC and SFC finals?

Ghost+Tommy

BS I thought you said JMcK had new men in place,just curious,Cackal o Kane said C Mc Geary was assisting him along the line,intriguing game between Dunloy and Yourselves BS,big opportunity for both off yous to get to a county final,what price for a Dunloy Double,St Bs won't fear Cargin,although that could be a blessing for cargin,can't see them being as poor next day out

Ghost+Tommy

Bannside is GOD still involved

Quote from: Would ye whist on September 13, 2023, 09:59:09 AM

been posted twice

Would ye whist

Apologies HH, however I can only see the semi final dates not the final

Quote from: Hoof Hearted on September 13, 2023, 11:28:10 AM

been posted twice

SaffronSports

Quote from: Would ye whist on September 13, 2023, 11:51:29 AM
Apologies HH, however I can only see the semi final dates not the final

Quote from: Hoof Hearted on September 13, 2023, 11:28:10 AM

been posted twice

I'm not certain but I think it's the weekend 7th/8th October going by the way it's been one week football, one week hurling right through.