Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

paddyjohn

Quote from: stiffler on November 23, 2016, 04:48:24 PM
How come the st endas Rossa U21 semi has been postponed tonight ?

Surely there is a facility which could have been used tonight (the dub, UUJ?)

Celtic in the champions league is what I've been told.

paddyjohn

Quote from: hardstation on November 23, 2016, 05:25:46 PM
Quote from: paddyjohn on November 23, 2016, 05:01:55 PM
Quote from: stiffler on November 23, 2016, 04:48:24 PM
How come the st endas Rossa U21 semi has been postponed tonight ?

Surely there is a facility which could have been used tonight (the dub, UUJ?)

Celtic in the champions league is what I've been told.
That must have been St Enda's request as it certainly wasn't ours.

Our request was due to Villa niteclub doing 90p drinks on a Wednesday night.

What time are you lifting me?

According to Atowns news the county board gave st endas the option to play the game under lights midweek, which they relinquished.

Game now to be played at St Pauls on Sunday.

country bumpkin

Where is the B final being played?

bannside

That's a big scalp HS. Having said that a lot of your players excelled a few years ago in the Paul Mc Girr tournament, as did St Endas the year before. So maybe not a massive surprise. You've got few clinkers.  Deaghlan Murphy one the Saffron watch list!

Should be a great final.  Aghagallon a well drilled outfit.

Mickey Linden

Good win HS fair play. I only follow Antrim football from a far but all the chat seemed to be about st endas so you must have a great side. Congratulations

bogieman

Quote from: bannside on November 27, 2016, 07:29:44 PM
That's a big scalp HS. Having said that a lot of your players excelled a few years ago in the Paul Mc Girr tournament, as did St Endas the year before. So maybe not a massive surprise. You've got few clinkers.  Deaghlan Murphy one the Saffron watch list!

Should be 2 good finals. If it's a double header, hope the first gets finished...

Ps. Well done to slaughtneil, unreal

Is Rossa the only ones capable of this in Antrim ?
This is not Irish dancing. -RH

Quote from: bogieman on November 28, 2016, 06:53:11 PM

Should be 2 good finals. If it's a double header, hope the first gets finished...

We got to both county finals at senior a few years  ago, lost to Cushendall in the hurling...

I'd say Rossa have a chance if they start bringing those lads wholesale onto the senior team and let them develop into senior players, obviously some experience is required from a few older players but it's defo possibility.. keeping them together in the city seems to be harder than our country brethren

country bumpkin

Quote from: hardstation on November 28, 2016, 09:10:33 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 28, 2016, 07:49:25 PM

We got to both county finals at senior a few years  ago, lost to Cushendall in the hurling...

Youse are missing a camogie team though.....

We won a few ladies football titles! And an Ulster title  ;)

bogieman

One all Ireland senior final is plenty for a club every generation...

Should the below list not include senior handball ? Maybe it needs corrected...
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/O'Donovan_Rossa_GAC_Belfast
O'Donovan Rossa GAC Belfast
CLG Ó Donnabháin Rosa Béal Feirste
Founded:   1916
County:   Antrim
Nickname:   Rossa
Colours:   Blue and Gold
Grounds:   Rossa Park
Senior Club Championships
          All Ireland   Ulster champions   Antrim champions
Football:   0   0   15
Hurling:   4   4   16

Are there any all Ireland rounders in Antrim ?

Well done cargin for making their pitch available.
hope we can see the second game this time around...
This is not Irish dancing. -RH

Why would the first not get finished?  I'm confused!   :o

Na Glinntí Glasa

outside of the football we have won both the ulster camogie & hurling in the same year, 1994 and 2003. be a long time before we are in a senior football final  ;D

club wise, Rossa is the only club who compete at Div 1 in all 3 codes which is credit to the clubs itself.

Dunloy are Div 1 hurling & camogie - Div 2 Football
St Johns are Div 1/2 hurling (who knows) div 1 football, Div 2 Camogie
Ballycastle are Div 1 hurling & camogie, Div 3 football

a few other clubs do compete in the camogie like St Pauls (div3), rasharkin (div3), Creggan (Div2), Tir Na nOg (Div2), Ahoghill (Div3) who play all 3 codes but not at the top level.
hurl like f**k boi!

Hectic

Still say Aghagallon for U21 and possibly with something to spare.  Not surprised St Endas were beaten - a lot of good PR coming from there but you need to be able to walk the walk which they have yet to do.

As for the B final - Aldergrove will win it at a canter - good local rivalry all the same.

As such clean sweep of football honours for the Culchies this year:
Senior: Erins Own
Intermediate: St Marys
Junior: Con Magees
U21 A: St Marys
U21 B: St James
Minor: Cuchullains

We could maybe do with Croke Park extending their generosity from Dublin City to Belfast City in order to turn potential into winners.  Now I am not being controversial here - even if the City teams get back in front next year they are probably way off their top end with all things being maxed.

paddyjohn

Quote from: Hectic on November 29, 2016, 11:04:36 AM
Still say Aghagallon for U21 and possibly with something to spare.  Not surprised St Endas were beaten - a lot of good PR coming from there but you need to be able to walk the walk which they have yet to do.

As for the B final - Aldergrove will win it at a canter - good local rivalry all the same.

As such clean sweep of football honours for the Culchies this year:
Senior: Erins Own
Intermediate: St Marys
Junior: Con Magees
U21 A: St Marys
U21 B: St James
Minor: Cuchullains

We could maybe do with Croke Park extending their generosity from Dublin City to Belfast City in order to turn potential into winners.  Now I am not being controversial here - even if the City teams get back in front next year they are probably way off their top end with all things being maxed.

People would argue that St Endas are a south west club now despite where they are located.