Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 10, 2023, 09:50:51 PMI'm not seeing contact (definitely nothing more than minimal incidental) until the keeper blocks the ball away.
Forgive me but it's almost as if you're deciding foul without being able to pinpoint where the foul happens.
Yes, the attacker follows through with the kick causing him to fall head over shite but the keeper's tackle is done and dusted at that stage.

So you've asked, I've answered and it's not what you are looking for so you are going to keep asking? Hmmmmm

I've said I'd like to see it from behind the keeper, but from what I seen it's a contact on player first, he's not even low down on it.

Have you not seen that tackle given outfield?

I'll try that next season see how it goes lol

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 10, 2023, 10:25:09 PMI know that was your original thought. But back then you thought the only contact allowed in GAA was shoulder to shoulder.
Surely that changes things?

You said shoulder charge was legal when's it not!

Shoulder on shoulder is.

Your post on incidental contact was challenging the keeper on blocking the ball!

Not the keeper challenging the forward coming in.

So the only contact allowed is shoulder on shoulder.

In the small square no contact is allowed on keeper, but a player can block his kicking the ball, if there is incidental contact during that play, it's ok..

That not even close to this discussion

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 10, 2023, 10:52:13 PM"Charge" as in shoulder charge is defined in the rule book. Look it up. It is legal btw.

The rulebook also states that it is the only deliberate contact allowed. The word deliberate is there for a reason.

Incidental contact is quite obviously allowed.

Look, I get it. You ref for the same club(?) You've a bias here. I don't. I'm not even demanding that he should get it right. But having seen it back, it's clearly an error. You're trying to gaslight us that it's not.

He's a McDermotts man so again you're wrong, I've no bias, i watched it once and gave same call, it's not clearly an error. As for the gaslighting, wise up. I'm happy to stand over calls as I've seen them at the time, or in a lot of cases spoke to players when I've got it wrong..

I've this year alone overturned 2 red cards after being asked to review things.

I've no problems with that.

I've been asked to look at this, I've had a view on it.

If players started to incidentally take players out throughout the game then there'd be no frees!

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 10, 2023, 11:02:55 PMHe referees for McDermotts?
Talk me through that....

When McDermotts folded he picked a club, as you can't ref for no club. He's from McDermotts.

Why would I have bias? Talk me through that?

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 10, 2023, 11:10:49 PMWhich club did he pick to ref for?

You're like a two year old

I've asked you why are you saying I'm biased? Are you questioning my integrity?

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 10, 2023, 11:18:28 PMOk, let's set the record straight then.

When I said "You ref for the same club" and you replied that I was "wrong again". I was actually right, wasn't I?

Referees have a degree of loyalty to each other. Rightly too IMO. And of all refs, those who ref for the same club would be most likely to have each other's backs. Surely that makes sense?

I'm bored, you're saying I'm biased.

That's questioning my integrity, someone gets it wrong I've no problems calling it.

He'd be refereeing for McDermotts if they were up and running again..

He picked our club as his son plays for us.

But I'll say it one more time, watched it called it and moved on from it.

If your team loses in that fashion it's tough, but that's not a ref's fault

GAABoardMod5

Post up a link to the incident and let the board decide...

AntrimRealist

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 11, 2023, 12:03:17 AMNo foul. Great tackle
MR2 would agree with you except he has to back whatever decision the referee gave :D

Quote from: AntrimRealist on December 11, 2023, 08:44:36 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 11, 2023, 12:03:17 AMNo foul. Great tackle
MR2 would agree with you except he has to back whatever decision the referee gave :D

Trust me, I've no issues, there was a sending off recently and I was saying it wasn't (from what I seen) and the vast majority of ref's I spoke to said it was a red..

Goes both ways in fairness, I've had plenty of ref's question calls I've done, It's not a biggy or something to worry about.

There is only one whistle and one go at it. The players have plenty of chances to win or lose a game, this team coughed up 6 points in 2 minutes?

GTP

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 11, 2023, 09:04:11 AM
Quote from: AntrimRealist on December 11, 2023, 08:44:36 AM

Trust me, I've no issues, there was a sending off recently and I was saying it wasn't (from what I seen) and the vast majority of ref's I spoke to said it was a red..

Goes both ways in fairness, I've had plenty of ref's question calls I've done, It's not a biggy or something to worry about.

There is only one whistle and one go at it. The players have plenty of chances to win or lose a game, this team coughed up 6 points in 2 minutes?
I don't think anyone has said the referee cost Magherafelt the match and 3 of those 6 points did come as a direct result of the decision to give the penalty.
In the video the referee can briefly be seen in a good position on the edge of the D with a clear view of the ball as the attacker gains possession. The attacker moves left as the referee is looking at it and based on the video this would put 2 or 3 Magherafelt players in the referee's line of sight. He would also have the attacker's body blocking his view of the goalkeeper and his actions. So the referee was in position but and I appreciate this is speculating the play quickly moved in a direction were perhaps he was unsighted and unable to get himself a clear view. He will have seen the attacker go to strike his shot then almost immediately go over the top of the keeper and down. I am guessing but it probably did look like a foul and penalty from behind the play where the referee was, getting his one and only view of the incident.
I still think it was an incorrect decision, but perhaps an understandable one for the referee to make rather than a very poor one as stated previously.

Champion The Wonder Horse

My initial reaction too. Hasn't changed despite watching it several times.

BelSaft

MR2 - Haven't read back through all the comments and maybe this has been queried. But would it have been wise for the Referee to consult his umpires given such a crucial decision at an important time in the match? Although maybe the penalty only bringing it back to a 3 point game didn't seem like such a crucial decision at the time?

Would ye whist

I can see from Colm's position why he gave the call he did, however I cannot see why his umpires did not give him a nudge and say it seemed like a clean tackle, unless they also agree it was a penalty

MR2, can I ask what contact is allowed with a goal keeper within the small square? I always believed he could be tackled but not shouldered?